Control GX Shampoo Reviews

Control GX Shampoo

Overall Rating

1.7

117 Customer Reviews

Summary

Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men uses a formulation that reacts with air and traps color in the hair shaft, gradually reducing your numbers of gray hairs.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 117 Reviews
5 Star:11% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:76%
17% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Control GX Shampoo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 1, 2022

Started to turn me ginger

By Joseph W., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I used to love this product but the last 3 I have bought have started to turn my hair ginger.

Won't be buying it again.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It changed, don't like anymore

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2022

New formula disaster

By Gary M., Scunthorpe, England, Verified Reviewer

The new formula turned my hair orange. Will never buy again.

Previously was very happy with the old formula, which had a purple color.

Is Control GX listening to its customers?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I liked the old formula

New formula is a disaster

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

Changes to product?

By Matthew M., England, Verified Reviewer

Not good. Something has changed, leaving my hair orange! This product has changed recently. Not good! It is now not fit for purpose, it leaves my hair orange. It was perfect, and a number of my friends think the same and will no longer purchase it.

Change it back!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Was perfect, great, usable, fantastic

The changes

Orange tinge

Not fit for purpose

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

So disappointing, change it back!

By Kieran K., Staffordshire, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Why oh why would a company mess with a successful formula? Has worked perfectly for 3-4 years at hiding my grey simply and naturally but now my hair looks a very weird color. As per previous reviews, it has an orange tint.

Change it back or lose sales!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Used to work

No longer works as it should

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 30, 2021

Dreadful effect of new formula

By Steve M., Brighton, England, Verified Reviewer

Cannot describe the dreadful effect this new formula has. My hair is now an orange/copper/green tint.

After using the old formula without issue, I’ve used the new formula (not advertised as such) with devastating effect. I have no idea how they are getting away with still marketing.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The result

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2021

New version terrible

By Brian M., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used the original version for the last 5 years and it was perfect and looked very natural. I recently bought it and the 2021 version dyed my hair orange and has to be used every day, but my hair is still orange and grey! Nightmare, what are they thinking? I will have to stop this product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2021

New 118ml tubes turn hair orange

By Mark M., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

Have used it for years, this was an amazing product, worked well. Then they changed it and now it just makes you look like Trump.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Nothing it is junk not only did they decrease the size but they wrecked it

It is junk

Not only did they decrease the size but they wrecked it

Orange hair

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2021

Terrible now

By Gordon T., Dunfermline, Scotland, Verified Reviewer

I agree with all the other reviews. I have used this product for about 2 years and it worked extremely well. I was very happy with it. However, it is now (within the last 3–4 months) turning my hair a strange orange/goldish color. I've had to stop using it. A real shame since it was great before. I thought that it was just me until I read these other reviews. Why on earth have they changed the formula? I won't buy this again unless they go back to the way it was.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turns hair a weird gold/orange color

Unusable unless you want to look ridiculous

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2021

Orange

By William S., England, Verified Reviewer

Been using this for 3 years. Was quite satisfied with it, until recently. Some clever so and so decides to change it and now makes my hair orange. Don't buy this product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

New 118ml version is awful - orange hair

By Matthew A., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Been using Control GX for around 4 years. After previously suffering allergic reactions to any hair color product I tried, finding Control GX was a godsend: no allergic reactions at all and gave my hair a perfectly natural color (and my hair is black).

Fast forward to September 2021. I brought a bottle and noticed the packaging was different and had gone from 147ml bottles to 118ml bottles. Didn't think anything of it, however, after 2 applications, I noticed my hair was orange/bronze and I was having a severe allergic reaction on my scalp, which has caused hair loss!

It can't be a coincidence as every review I've read about the new product says the same thing! Did JFM even test the product?! They had the best product on the market and they have completely destroyed it! I've now reverted to buying the old 147ml bottles with the original formula off eBay and it's working like a dream again.

JFM need to address this fast. If it's not broken, don't fix it!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turns hair orange

Allergic reactions

Hair loss

Smaller bottles

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 4, 2021

Orange orange orange

By Tom B., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

I can only describe the new color or my hair as orange/grey since the new formula came in to the market!

What was the problem with the old one that we all liked; does the consumer have a say? Am I missing something, should the orange be the new grey for older men and be cool about this? Does the company that makes Control GX read and take notes of the unhappiness that it causes to us consumers?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

New smaller size

Too many different packaging for the same orange look

Cool orange look

Constant explanation about my new look

Funny looks from general public

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2021

Why?!

By David A., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

New formula, dreadful results.

I have used this for over 4 years and the new formula turns hair orange. Please don't use this product, unless you want to look like an Oompa Loompa.

Just For Men, please revert back to the original formula or lose all your clients.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Was once a great product

Now dreadful

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 25, 2021

New formula turns hair orange

By Ranbir K., Manchester, England, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been using this product for years and it was great. Why have they changed the formula? It’s terrible and it will turn your hair to an unnatural orange color! Sadly, I’m going to have to stop using it. I hope they change the formula back!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange hair

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 24, 2021

New formula is awful

By Alfonse B., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used Control GX for several years and liked it, but the new formula is terrible. It makes my hair go a strange orange color. It does not work anymore!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

New formula

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 23, 2021

Turning orange

By Francis P., London, England, Verified Reviewer

It used to work well, and I was quite happy about it, until recently. It leaves an unnatural orange color. They must have changed the formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange color

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 27, 2021

Orange color

By Michael B., Leixlip, Ireland, Verified Reviewer

Why oh why have you changed the formula? It was a great product but no way can I use it anymore. I can't leave my house now without my head completely covered.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The color

Easy to use

No mixing

Awful new color

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2021

"New improved" formula turns hair orange

By Gerald T., Leeds, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

When Control GX first appeared on the market I was so pleased that at last, I could have natural-looking hair. I felt that it had saved me at the 11th hour from a life as the "Grey Man". For the past 4 years, I have been more than happy with the product but then recently the "new improved" version came onto the market and I was eager to try it to see how much better it could be, however, I have been noticing that my hair has started to turn orange where I have used the shampoo mainly around the back and sides as the top of my head is still mostly brown so doesn't need as many applications.

Very disappointed, have had to go back to eBay and try to identify, and purchase, the old stock and buy that, but the old stock won't last forever. Do the manufacturers not test their product before launching it? Obviously not in this case.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The old formula

The new improved formula turns your hair orange

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2021

Effective but ultimately causes hair loss

By Paul P., Scotland, Verified Reviewer

Going bald suddenly since using this. Very unhappy and not worth it in the long run. Using caffeine shampoo now and hoping for the best. Will never use again.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Grey reduced

Hair loss

Greasy

Chemical feel

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 5, 2021

Altered product disaster

By Alan B., England, Verified Reviewer

The product has been changed and is now an awful orange effect. Please revert to the previous one or no more sales!

Also, the amount has been reduced, so in summary, a terrible new product and less of it!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

What it used to be

Awful new product

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2021

New formula is terrible

By Ben R., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used this for almost 4 years now and the new stuff is making my hair orange. Don't buy it! I've had to shave my hair off, it's that bad.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It used to work

It is now making my hair orange

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2021

New stuff is orange

By James W., Andersonville, TN, Verified Reviewer

The older formula has a purplish tint that works better for brown hair.

The new formula is terrible. Turns brown to orange. I used to like the older product. The new one with the extra goodies is terrible.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turning brown orange now

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 11, 2021

Terrible

By Ray H., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The old formula was much better. I will not buy this again.

It left an orange color. The old formula used to leave a nice dark color.

Why the heck did they change this? If it's not broken why fix it?

I want compensation.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 31, 2021

New formula doesn't work

By Elis K., London, England, Verified Reviewer

As most have stated here, the new formula turns grey into a D.Trump kind of orange.

Very disappointing, as is their customer service.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2021

Orange look

By Mahmut B., London, England, Verified Reviewer

I have been using the product for the last three years and I was happy with it.

But the new formula is just terrible, it made my hair orange.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

Color was good

Good value

Orange look

It dyes hands and nails

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 10, 2021

New formula is bad

By David B. , Stroud, United Kingdom

Used to work - now hair goes orange. Please revert to the old formula or do a lot more research and trials. Can we get compensation?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Old formula used to work

Silly color

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 26, 2021

The new formula turns your grey hair orange.

By David C., Cambridge, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Please be warned, I've been using this product for years now and have always felt it did exactly what it stated on the box, gradually turn grey hair back to my original color - dark brown. However, more recently since the new formula was released the same can not be said. Grey hair turns an orange/light brown color that looks ridiculous.

Please only regard reviews for this product since June this year, 2021, anything earlier will be completely misleading.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange/light brown where the grey was.

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 25, 2021

New version is awful

By Mark C., Manchester, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Don't usually write product reviews but am so disappointed with the new version that I am taking the trouble. I completely endorse other reviewers about the orangy brown color. The old version (which looked sort of purple when you rinsed it) left a much blacker more natural color. Please bring the old formula back or have the two as alternatives - old = natural, new = unnatural!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Old version was great - gave a natural color

Easy to use

Slowly, discretely changed hair color

Makes your fingernails look dirty

Causes a bit of scalp irritation

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted
Showing 55-81 of 117

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.