Control GX Shampoo Reviews

Control GX Shampoo

Overall Rating

1.9

87 Customer Reviews

Summary

Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men uses a formulation that reacts with air and traps color in the hair shaft, gradually reducing your numbers of gray hairs.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.9 Stars out of 87 Reviews
5 Star:14% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:71%
23% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Control GX Shampoo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on May 12, 2022

Why?

By Dave F., Warrington, England, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been using it for a couple of years now and it’s been fantastic. Why have they changed it? I bought one from Amazon and thought it was the blonde in the wrong bottle. I bought another one from a chemist and it was the same. The foam isn’t the normal purple and it started turning the grey yellow. Even my normal darker hair started going lighter. Total disaster. I’m gutted. Bring back the old formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It turned the grey yellow

It turned the dark hair lighter

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 6, 2022

Ginger hair from a crap new formula

By Jeff H., Sheffield, England, Verified Reviewer

Used this product for years with great results and some great compliments from friends saying how it took years of me.

Not anymore. The only comments I get now is, "Why have you changed your hair color to Ginger?" Oh dear, not good.

This has knocked my confidence to no end. Someone came up with the stupid idea of changing the formula and now they will be losing lots of money because like many of you I spent alot of money on this product and now they've lost me as a customer.

Thanks Just For Men for the stupid idea of changing the formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ginger hair

The words "new formula"

The idiot who changed it

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 4, 2022

It does not work as it used to

By Charly G., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

I used Control GX for over 6 years and I loved it. I could control the color of my hair with the frequency of use. In the last few weeks, I noticed that there are some areas of my hair that simply do not get the color and also it seems that Control GX is not as effective as it used to be. After looking at the reviews it seems that this is related to a change of formula in the product.

Not sure if this is the reason or not, but the product is not working for me anymore, the same way it was working before.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The product is not useable. I will have to stop using it

It totally changed the way the product works. The product is not useable. I will have to stop using it.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2022

Don't buy

By John C., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

Like many, I loved this product for a couple of years and had it perfectly tailored to my needs. But since they have changed it to this orange color, it just turns my hair a burnt orange/brown. It has left me embarrassed and stressed, not to mention buying a second as I thought the first was a faulty one. I first bought the 118 ml, then saw these reviews and sought out a 147 ml, but it's the same, so it's clearly the new formula that is way off. I can only say to believe the reviews and don't buy any thinking it will be ok. JFM needs to sack whoever decides on these changes, change it back, clowns, or face a product recall or worse. Absolutely shocking treatment of people's trust.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turns hair orange/brown

Formula change done wrong

Waste of money

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 11, 2022

Agree with others on new formulation

By Martin D., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Like others, I have been using this for years and was really impressed with the results. I have dark hair and grey around the sides so just used it for blending really.

Straightway noticed a different color of foam in the hair, sort of a red plum color, unlike the previous black. The box also now says this is for any shade of hair, whereas before you could get a version for dark hair. It doesn't work and I have left it on for longer than with the original formula, and yes, even my dark hair is getting a yellow golden tinge to it!

Don't get it. I can't find the original product for sale anywhere and the box design has changed several times since the new product was introduced, by the looks of it, I guess due to complaints to throw people off the scent. Bring back the original version or I think there may be a class action on the horizon!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Doesn't work anymore

Gives a golden tinge to even dark hair

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 10, 2022

What on earth have you done?

By G S., Surrey, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used Control GX for years and it was amazing. It changed my life, literally!

The new formula is horrendous and turned my hair ginger/brown.

I managed to find a small chemist with old stock. I emptied their shelves but once that is gone, I will not be buying again.

It is tragic!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It was brilliant

It was easy to use

It was clean and looked very natural

The new formula is rubbish

The color makes you look ridiculous

It turned me ginger

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 7, 2022

Why change?

By Sean O., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

The new formula is rubbish and looks terrible. Why change it? Was using the old formula for years and it worked great, more natural, etc. Now a horrible blonde/ginger type color. Noticed by everyone. Please revert back to the old formula. Listen to your customers.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 3, 2022

New formula? Please change back.

By Stephen J., Sussex, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Like so many other recent reviewers, I’ve used this product for years but now it’s stopped working for me. People are asking me why my hair is going pink.

In the old days when I washed it out after shampooing the wastewater was purple. Now it’s orange. What have they done?

After years of happy use, will not buy again.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Used to work very simply and effectively

Now it doesn’t, I do not want pink hair

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 2, 2022

New formula is rubbish

By Paul W., Hampshire, England, Verified Reviewer

Have been using this product for many years and was completely happy with it.

The new formula is, however, rubbish. Less effective and leaves hair an unnatural ginger color. Barber commented on how awful it looked.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ineffective

Unnatural

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 31, 2022

Absolute rubbish

By Frank L., Manchester, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used Control GX for many years now. Then they boasted a new improved formula. When I bought this new formula my hair color changed to a gingery color from what before with the old formula always looked quite natural.

Thinking this might be a bad batch, I purchased another, but it is still as bad. It now changes your hair to a totally unnatural ginger color.

I have now stopped using it and am waiting for this obnoxious color to grow out.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The new improved formula is terrible

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 18, 2022

Orange!

By Mark R., Merseyside, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Been using Control GX for 6 or more years, was pleased with results.

However, the "new formula" is dreadful, don't buy it, unless you want an orange/copper look.

I'm quickly looking for an alternative.

A company-ruining decision was made right there.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of use

Changing to new formula

Completely changing color

Not realizing a terrible business decision

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 4, 2022

Legal action

By Bedraj R., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

This product is now terrible. I have been using Control GX for many years with no problem at all. Now for some reason, the company decided to change its formula and it has changed my hair to an orange/copper color.

Going to get advice from a solicitor to see if I can take legal action against the company as it has affected my wellbeing!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Was very good before the change of formula

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 4, 2022

Bring back old formula

By Bee R. , United Kingdom

I used Just For Men Control GX for many years with no problem at all. Recently the formula has been changed and the product is totally useless, it left my hair looking a copper orange color!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Previously it worked very well

Will not purchase the product with the new formula

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 3, 2022

Orange hair

By Phil H., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Been using this product for a few years and always had a great effect. Since late last year, I notice the familiar purple water no longer appears when I wash my hair and the darkening effect has been replaced with an orange tint. I thought I'd gotten a bad batch and tried another one from another shop but the results were the same! My hair now looks completely fake and it's frankly embarrassing. I'm going to have to stop using it. Have they changed the formula or something? And if so, why!?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Previously it worked great

Since late last year it now tints my hair orange

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 24, 2022

Ginger

By Noel L., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

Like everybody else on this forum, I've been a long-time user of Control GX with great results initially. However, since January 2021 I started to notice the new formula has begun to turn my hair ginger.

I wrote to the company and they dismissed my claims. Have since stopped using it. Avoid unless you want to have orange hair.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange hair

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 23, 2022

Ginger snap!

By Stephen J., Somerset, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Used the product for years and up to now I was very pleased, but something drastic has recently changed with the formula. My hair is now turning ginger!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ginger hair

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2022

New improved formula - rubbish

By Peter B. , United Kingdom

I, like many, have used this shampoo for a number of years without a problem, until now. This new improved formula is absolute rubbish, it leaves your hair orange or brassy, brittle, and hair loss is the norm. I have emailed the company with an official complaint and would urge others to do the same.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange or brassy hair

Brittle hair

Hair loss

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2022

Control GX new formula

By Peter M. , United Kingdom

I have used the original Control GX product for a few years now and found it to be effective and natural-looking. I purchased the new formula last month and like many other recent reviews, I have also experienced the same problem with my hair color changing to an unpleasant orangey color. I no longer have confidence in the product and hopefully, they will revert back to the original version.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turned hair an unnatural color

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2022

Changes have made this product unusable

By Kevin B. , Cheshire, United Kingdom

Been using this product since 2016 and worked great. The recent changes have turned my hair orange! I threw it away thinking it was a bad one-off, but the new one is the same.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turned my hair orange

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2022

What have they done to it?

By Dan H. , England

Been using this for 3 years and all of a sudden hair has gone ginger. What idiot decided to change a great formula? Change it back quickly!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It used to work

It turned hair ginger

Never again will I buy this

Terrible new formula

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2022

If you want to have orange hair – look no further

By Axl S. , United Kingdom

Been using Control GX for years – fantastic stuff. This new version, as many have said, turns your hair a totally unnatural orange color.

A great way to ruin a decent product, what were they thinking? Won't be using this anymore.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Used to be great

Orange flavor hair

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2022

Turns your hair ginger/orange

By Adam B., South Yorkshire, England, Verified Reviewer

I've been using this for a couple of years and had been very happy. However, more recently, it's been turning my hair a ginger/orange color.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 3, 2022

Orange hair!

By Paul S., Windsor, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

What has happened? I have been using this shampoo for years and have been very happy with it. Recently it hasn't worked and my hair is going orange/copper (much to the amusement of my friends!). I note a few other people saying the same. Please change it back! I tried to find a number to contact the company originally before writing this - with no joy (as yet). Hopefully, the company realizes its mistake. I thought it was a "bad batch".

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It no longer works

Orange hair

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2022

Totally ruined it

By Paul S., Glasgow, Scotland, Verified Reviewer

I have used Control GX since it was launched, even my hairdresser was impressed by it, it was perfect!

Now it is terrible. It will turn your white/grey hair orange! Do not use it!

No idea why they have chosen to ruin a perfect product, but indeed they have.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Previously turned hair a darker grey

The more you used it, the darker it got

Ease of use, very controllable, perfect color

Since the change it now turns your hair orange

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 1, 2022

Started to turn me ginger

By Joseph W., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I used to love this product but the last 3 I have bought have started to turn my hair ginger.

Won't be buying it again.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It changed, don't like anymore

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2022

New formula disaster

By Gary M., Scunthorpe, England, Verified Reviewer

The new formula turned my hair orange. Will never buy again.

Previously was very happy with the old formula, which had a purple color.

Is Control GX listening to its customers?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I liked the old formula

New formula is a disaster

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

Changes to product?

By Matthew M., England, Verified Reviewer

Not good. Something has changed, leaving my hair orange! This product has changed recently. Not good! It is now not fit for purpose, it leaves my hair orange. It was perfect, and a number of my friends think the same and will no longer purchase it.

Change it back!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Was perfect, great, usable, fantastic

The changes

Orange tinge

Not fit for purpose

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 87

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.