Control GX Shampoo Reviews

Control GX Shampoo

Overall Rating

1.7

104 Customer Reviews

Summary

Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men uses a formulation that reacts with air and traps color in the hair shaft, gradually reducing your numbers of gray hairs.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 104 Reviews
5 Star:12% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:75%
19% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Control GX Shampoo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

New formula dyes hair ginger

By David H., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The new formula dyes hair an awful tobacco tone. I've used Control GX for years and have been very happy with it. Now forced to look for an alternative.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I used to love it

Dyes hair ginger

Posted on Jun 21, 2022

Why have they clearly changed the recipe?

By Robert W., Berkshire, England, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been using this product for a number of years now and was always very happy with the results. About 6 months ago I noticed that the whole experience of using the shampoo had altered and the resulting effect is noticeably poorer. In fact, there is virtually no effect whatsoever.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It is virtually ineffectual

Posted on Jun 21, 2022

I used to love it, just the right shade. Now it turns my hair red.

By Nigel H., South Yorkshire, England, Verified Reviewer

I was using this and it was great on my hair, a lovely dark gray for some two years, then someone pointed out that my hair was going red. I wish you would explain to me what happened to a great product I no longer use.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The old formula was great

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 17, 2022

Hair loss

By Julio A., Silver Spring, MD, Verified Reviewer

I have been using Control GX and noticed that my hair is falling, and my hairline is receding. I wonder if my hair will come back.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Hair loss

Posted on Jun 17, 2022

Doesn't work anymore

By Graham C., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

I used this when it first came out. I have used other products however some have an unpleasant odor.

It worked perfectly well until they changed the formula.

Now if I use it hair turns red/ginger.

Avoid this product until they sort the formula out again.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

1st formula was good

Turns hair red

Newest formula no good

Wasted money as I bought 6 tubes

Posted on Jun 12, 2022

Great if you want ginger hair!

By Geoff B. , United Kingdom

Change of formula, now does not produce your original color. Makes your hair ginger. See lots of other comments. Worked well before. Please change it back to the previous recipe.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Does not work

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2022

Very disappointing now

By W M., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Why would you change such a brilliant formula? I have used this product for years and have been very happy with it. The new color is just awful — it's somewhere between orange and ginger. Please bring back the original formula as until then I'm not buying anymore and I'd rather be gray.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 10, 2022

Control GX new formula does not work

By Michael D., Scarborough, England, Verified Reviewer

This was once a brilliant product that worked perfectly; however, since you changed to the new formula it no longer works. This has left my hair a dirty copper/orange color. The product has been totally ruined. I will no longer be purchasing this product until you revert back to the original formula that always worked.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Old formula worked fine

The new formula does not work

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 10, 2022

I didn't expect ginger hair!

By Richard C. , Wiltshire, United Kingdom

What have they done to this shampoo, as I have ended up with a light ginger color? The old formula worked fine and I had used it for a few years. I purchased the current shampoo about 2 months ago. Don't they test this on people before it goes on sale? Avoid at all costs, unless you like being a ginger.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Having ginger hair

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 5, 2022

Awful!

By Chris R., Somerset, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Why oh why have they changed the formula? The original product worked so well. The new (and smaller package but same-priced tube) formula is utterly useless, leaving hair a gingery pale color. I shall not be buying it again. Please reintroduce the old product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Doesn't work

More expensive than original product

Smaller tube

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 5, 2022

Awful

By Brian T., Newcastle, England, Verified Reviewer

After using it for years with terrific results, they have ruined it with a new formula that actually makes you look stupid. I complained and they promised me a replacement but I never received it, even after me prodding them several times. Like someone else has asked, does anyone know of an alternative?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 4, 2022

Orange hair

By Richard O., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

This product has changed the formula and my previously dark hair is not brow/orange. Do not use!

If it’s not broken, why change it?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2022

Pink hair, anyone?

By Dr. James V., Durham, England, Verified Reviewer

I had used this reasonably satisfactorily, but it seems that there is a "new formula". The old version produced a foam which quickly turned grey, then dark greyish blue, it worked. The new version produces a coral pink foam which, apart from being quite disturbing, appears to do little else. Quite useless, and should be removed from sale. I cannot recommend this product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The fact that it turns pink, whereas the old version was grey-blue

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 30, 2022

Very disappointed

By David B., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

What’s happened? This new formula just does not work.

I hope Control GX reintroduces the original product. Until they do I won't be buying anymore.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Its old formula

The new formula

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 29, 2022

Any alternative?

By Martin J. , Pembrokeshire, Wales, United Kingdom

Same problem, absolutely gutted. Has anyone found an alternative?

Used this product for years with good results. Please bring back the old formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Wrong color

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2022

Was once a great product

By Simon G., Sydney, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I have used this product for years and have loved it, but it seems like the manufacturer has changed the formula and my hair now has a "piss yellow" tinge to it.

So disappointing because this product was once really great.

Please bring back the old formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2022

New formula failure

By Stephen B., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

The product used to be brilliant, but since the new formula was introduced the shampoo is useless. I wanted to darken my grey hair, not go ginger!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I liked the old formula

Bottle looks nice

New formula is terrible and does not darken hair, changes color to orange-tinted brown

Daily use does not darken hair to dark brown/black but changes color to light brown/ginger

Useless for intended purpose, looking for alternative product that works, any suggestions for people in my position would be very much appreciated

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 12, 2022

Why?

By Dave F., Warrington, England, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been using it for a couple of years now and it’s been fantastic. Why have they changed it? I bought one from Amazon and thought it was the blonde in the wrong bottle. I bought another one from a chemist and it was the same. The foam isn’t the normal purple and it started turning the grey yellow. Even my normal darker hair started going lighter. Total disaster. I’m gutted. Bring back the old formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It turned the grey yellow

It turned the dark hair lighter

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 6, 2022

Ginger hair from a crap new formula

By Jeff H., Sheffield, England, Verified Reviewer

Used this product for years with great results and some great compliments from friends saying how it took years of me.

Not anymore. The only comments I get now is, "Why have you changed your hair color to Ginger?" Oh dear, not good.

This has knocked my confidence to no end. Someone came up with the stupid idea of changing the formula and now they will be losing lots of money because like many of you I spent alot of money on this product and now they've lost me as a customer.

Thanks Just For Men for the stupid idea of changing the formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ginger hair

The words "new formula"

The idiot who changed it

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 4, 2022

It does not work as it used to

By Charly G., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

I used Control GX for over 6 years and I loved it. I could control the color of my hair with the frequency of use. In the last few weeks, I noticed that there are some areas of my hair that simply do not get the color and also it seems that Control GX is not as effective as it used to be. After looking at the reviews it seems that this is related to a change of formula in the product.

Not sure if this is the reason or not, but the product is not working for me anymore, the same way it was working before.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The product is not useable. I will have to stop using it

It totally changed the way the product works. The product is not useable. I will have to stop using it.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2022

Don't buy

By John C., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

Like many, I loved this product for a couple of years and had it perfectly tailored to my needs. But since they have changed it to this orange color, it just turns my hair a burnt orange/brown. It has left me embarrassed and stressed, not to mention buying a second as I thought the first was a faulty one. I first bought the 118 ml, then saw these reviews and sought out a 147 ml, but it's the same, so it's clearly the new formula that is way off. I can only say to believe the reviews and don't buy any thinking it will be ok. JFM needs to sack whoever decides on these changes, change it back, clowns, or face a product recall or worse. Absolutely shocking treatment of people's trust.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turns hair orange/brown

Formula change done wrong

Waste of money

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 11, 2022

Agree with others on new formulation

By Martin D., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Like others, I have been using this for years and was really impressed with the results. I have dark hair and grey around the sides so just used it for blending really.

Straightway noticed a different color of foam in the hair, sort of a red plum color, unlike the previous black. The box also now says this is for any shade of hair, whereas before you could get a version for dark hair. It doesn't work and I have left it on for longer than with the original formula, and yes, even my dark hair is getting a yellow golden tinge to it!

Don't get it. I can't find the original product for sale anywhere and the box design has changed several times since the new product was introduced, by the looks of it, I guess due to complaints to throw people off the scent. Bring back the original version or I think there may be a class action on the horizon!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Doesn't work anymore

Gives a golden tinge to even dark hair

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 10, 2022

What on earth have you done?

By G S., Surrey, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used Control GX for years and it was amazing. It changed my life, literally!

The new formula is horrendous and turned my hair ginger/brown.

I managed to find a small chemist with old stock. I emptied their shelves but once that is gone, I will not be buying again.

It is tragic!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It was brilliant

It was easy to use

It was clean and looked very natural

The new formula is rubbish

The color makes you look ridiculous

It turned me ginger

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 7, 2022

Why change?

By Sean O., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

The new formula is rubbish and looks terrible. Why change it? Was using the old formula for years and it worked great, more natural, etc. Now a horrible blonde/ginger type color. Noticed by everyone. Please revert back to the old formula. Listen to your customers.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 3, 2022

New formula? Please change back.

By Stephen J., Sussex, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Like so many other recent reviewers, I’ve used this product for years but now it’s stopped working for me. People are asking me why my hair is going pink.

In the old days when I washed it out after shampooing the wastewater was purple. Now it’s orange. What have they done?

After years of happy use, will not buy again.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Used to work very simply and effectively

Now it doesn’t, I do not want pink hair

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 2, 2022

New formula is rubbish

By Paul W., Hampshire, England, Verified Reviewer

Have been using this product for many years and was completely happy with it.

The new formula is, however, rubbish. Less effective and leaves hair an unnatural ginger color. Barber commented on how awful it looked.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ineffective

Unnatural

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 31, 2022

Absolute rubbish

By Frank L., Manchester, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used Control GX for many years now. Then they boasted a new improved formula. When I bought this new formula my hair color changed to a gingery color from what before with the old formula always looked quite natural.

Thinking this might be a bad batch, I purchased another, but it is still as bad. It now changes your hair to a totally unnatural ginger color.

I have now stopped using it and am waiting for this obnoxious color to grow out.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The new improved formula is terrible

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 104

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.