Defender Razor Reviews

Defender Razor

Overall Rating

3.7

34 Customer Reviews

Summary

Defender Razors are intended to offer a shave for men allegedly utilizing premium-grade blades while addressing regular and sensitive skin. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.7 Stars out of 34 Reviews
5 Star:61% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:14% 1 Star:17%
62% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Defender Razor:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 10, 2021

Best shave ever! Hands down!

By Annette H., Whiteville, NC, Verified Reviewer

Smooth and comfortable handle, past perfection blade design. The blades rise so well and so easy, thus prolonging the blade way past any other on the market. The shaving oil and the shaving creme are both top-notch products. Super super happy to find this club after other dollar clubs failed me!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The blade design

The quality

The price for such quality

The handle

The flexibility of the club

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Nov 30, 2020

Horrible

By Philip R., California, Verified Reviewer

Just absolutely horrible. It's like dragging a metal rake across your skin. Was amazed. This has to be some sort of joke. It is the worst razor I have ever used in my life.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The razors are horrible

Posted on Aug 14, 2020

Just okay...

By Jonathan W., Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I'm a bit underwhelmed. The hype was more than the execution. The minimizing of blade clogging seems to be the only real advancement with this razor. Otherwise, the shave is not any closer, nor do the blades last any longer than other razors on the market. And honestly, razor clogging hasn't been a big issue for me. You shake the razor under water and tap it out. Not a big deal. I'm more interested in having a set of blades that last longer than 4 or 5 full face shaves and that I don't have to go over the same spot multiple times to get a close cut.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Home delivery

Suction cup hanger

Decent price

Shave not any closer than other brands

Blades don't last any longer than other brands

Lots of hype, didn't deliver

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 16, 2020

Worst ever

By Preston P., Wichita, KS, Verified Reviewer

Terrible, it doesn't glide well, doesn't shave well, worst clogging blade ever.

I saw it advertised on Facebook with so many great reviews...

Well, I still see it on Facebook, I left my review there and man, they are on it like lightning removing any review that doesn't praise their product as the best.

Their razor clogs worse than my 5 blades and it's the hardest to get the hair out. Back to 3 blades for me.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Despicable company

Terrible product

Marketing lkes

Clogging

Not smooth

False advertising

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 21, 2020

Don't buy it

By Hugo Z., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Great marketing, nice design, ugly blades. The company should spend a few dollars on blades, everyone will be happy.

First try, a lot of cuts, redness...And my skin is pretty normal.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 28, 2020

Not as good as expected

By Jonathas F., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

After seeing a very nice promo video and so many good reviews, I decided to give it a try. Unfortunately, I have to say this razor is far from being a revolutionary blade. It is not even close to Gillette Proglide, it seems to be a regular blade you find any grocery store/pharmacy. Disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 27, 2020

I have used all three subscription razors

By Jim H., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I liked Defender best of all for shaving my head every day. Harry's doesn't cut it and Dollar Shave Club doesn't either. And particularly the fancy droppable handle on Dollar Shave Club breaks!

Defender lasts the longest of head shaving and is the smoothest for every day. I change out a blade every week. If pressed, I can go a couple more days with a blade. Never could using Dollar Shave Club or Harry's.

I don't know how it compares to the big money Gillettes. They are simply too expensive.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jan 6, 2020

Tough shave

By Brandon K., Bellmore, NY, Verified Reviewer

The Defender is not smooth, tugs and burns. I used both regular and sensitive blades, just not comfortable, Harry's is still the best.

I have to shave over spots to get an effective shave, I feel there is some defect in the make of the blades.

I would not recommend the Defender. It is only good when the beard is light but still hurts.

I do not have sensitive skin and never experienced the discomfort I have with the Defender.

I don't understand some of the rave reviews.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 3, 2020

Much better than store bought blades

By Stan F., Roxbury, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I shave every other day both my face and my head. It is a breeze to shave with the Defender. Easy motion with standard blades. The gliding of the razor is a pleasure. Rinsing had been a problem with other blades I've used over the years. Both clogging and getting dull too quickly has been a problem that is now solved. My beard is not a heavy one so the blades used prior would go over the hair. The flexibility of the Defender makes shaving a pleasure (almost).

Even when I skip a few days, I don't encounter problems. I heartedly recommend these blades to any man that shaves.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 24, 2019

A great razor!

By Mike M., Champaign, IL, Verified Reviewer

This razor does what it says it will do: shave close, shave smooth, and clean up easily. It glides nicely over my skin, even the tough corners around the lips, with no nicks and no harder pressure required. I go a few days between shaves, and the longer hair clogs up other multi-blades I’ve used quickly. Not so with the Defender, and it cleans up with a quick shake under the faucet. Four or five shaves per blade. The best blade I’ve used.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 11, 2019

Don't waste your money.

By Joe P., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

Bought this because the concept made sense. Unfortunately, the reality is that the blades are not up to par, the spacing makes them less effective than traditional twin blade razors and most annoyingly, the suction cup pops off my shower door every time I try to remove the razor...lol.

The blades dulled very quickly although I only shave every other day. I'm on my third blade in a little under three months. I can't recommend this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2019

Good razor

By Nat P., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

For years I used a Bic disposable for sensitive skin. I decided to give Defender a try and lo and behold, I switched. It gives a closer shave than the Bic and it doesn't irritate my skin. It's more expensive than a Bic but I think it's worth it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 7, 2019

Defender Razor has my business

By Randal G., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I have been a Harry’s customer for 2+ years. Good shave but hard to clean blades out. I’ve been using Defender for a month. I really like it. It glides on my face and head better than any razor I’ve ever used. I can put a little more pressure on the razor without nicks and/or razor burn. Shave is close. Blades clean easily and it lasts me about 2 weeks...same as Harry’s blades. I use Cremo Shave Cream...best around for the money. I like the company culture and customer service is very responsive and helpful. They also support our military men and women.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 10, 2019

Razor is no better than a dollar store

By Tony D., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

I thought I would try after reading reviews. These are not high-end blades, I had to I had to grab my Sensor Power Razor, after a minute it would not cut my beard at all. Once I grabbed by Sensor, I could shave! These are a joke and falsely portrayed as good blades.

Get a Sensor and then you will have a good blade.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 9, 2019

This is not a scam!

By Kenny S., Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

As an African American male with coarse hair, I would like to say the Defender Razor is not a scam. I have a tender head when it comes to shaving and I've tried everything known to men from. The Art of Shaving, Andis Trimmers, Wahls Finale, Andis ProFoi, Bevel, and of cause Gillette Razors that are so expensive. My hair is a challenge every time I have to shave. So, today I decided to try the Defender Razor and I am so like "WOW." Thank you for thinking outside the box. Please, watch the video. Because every word said in the video is so true. I shaved my head after two days off and my head did not hurt. It felt great to shave without the pain of shaving. I can't thank you enough. I am a customer for life.

Sorry, I ripped up the receipt before I saw the comment "The Defender Razor is a Scam" and customers only giving it one star. That does not sit well with me. Let the TRUTH be TOLD. Time for a change and this is a great razor. Yes, it's LEGIT.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 8, 2018

False pricing

By R C., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

You cannot try it for $5.00. That is just for the handle. Try shaving without a razor. The cost for 4 razors and handle is $12.90. Their statement is fraudulent.

"Defender's blades are set further apart, so your razor rinses clean and doesn't clog. It's one of our customers' favorite 'Why didn't anybody else think of that?' features. Try it for yourself for only $5 + free shipping."

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 26, 2018

Wow!

By Randy A., Walla Walla, WA, Verified Reviewer

I am an old retired cop and cynical as hell! I bought this razor expecting the usual sub-par performance. It is without a doubt the best razor I have ever used. And I have used them all! Always with the same complaint, the darn things clog up with debris. This one does not and it did a fantastic job in about half the time!

Thank you, I will be a loyal customer from here on out. I shave my head, and it’s usually a struggle! No more! It literally slicked my head as smooth as a baby’s butt!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 27, 2018

Mediocre blades

By Farhad S., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Next to disposable razors, this razor is pretty bad. The handle is thin and hard to control. The blades aren't as sharp as Gillette blades. The shaving is not as smooth as Gillette. Over all, it's not a good quality razor and not a bargain at all. I would not recommend.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 8, 2018

Definitely the best

By Ermelo D., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I’ve tried the Dollar Shave Club, tried Harry’s . They both have the same issues. Too many blades, which seems to be their selling point, but all it does is make it harder to clean the blades while shaving. You have to stop many times in the process just to clean your blades. With Defender blades, it is not an issue and the extra blades the others have on the back of the razor is not necessary because the blades on the Defender is close enough to the edge you can shave next to your nose. The moving Blades definitely cuts closer and gives me cleaner shaves in less time. Hands down the best. By the way, I use it to shave my head every three days. Blades last over a month.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 28, 2018

I've been using my razor for almost a year and it's still awesome.

By Jeff R., Nevada, Verified Reviewer

My only regret is that this review doesn't allow me to post a picture so people can see how great this product actually works. I hear all of you and how some of you are satisfied and many of you aren't. Truth be told, I have used so many different products including the HeadBlade. Defender is by far the best product out there, and the only time I have cut myself is when I had little bumps on my head from sweating. I was so impressed with this razor that not only did I order the dual blade handle, but I ordered the standard handle as well, which my wife uses as well.

My wife uses her razor daily and never cuts herself, I use my razor every two or three days and I never cut myself. We both get a smooth shave, The problem for most men is that there is a way to hold the razor when shaving your head so it gives you that smooth shave you want and a lot of men don't know that. And the fact that the blade is flexible, that makes it even easier to get the shave I want for my head. I used to use HeadBlade and switched to Defender, I would support this brand of razors even to the point where I promote them free of charge on my radio station. This razor could work wonders in hospitals. And again I am only sorry I cannot upload a picture of my head, it is guaranteed that you would change your opinion after seeing it. Defender, I support your product and thank you for making my shave so much easier and smoother.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2017

Best shave ever

By Neal Woods, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

The Defender Razor is one of the best. I've tried the Dollar Club, I've tried them all, and this razor really works because of the distance between the blades. To my surprise, with just running water the Defender rinsed out very cleanly without any problem. And closing the blade does exactly what it states is going to do and I'm thoroughly impressed, and I will continue to use them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2017

A welcome surprise for only $5

By The Regular Person, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I joined HighYa just so I could write a review about this amazing razor.

So I got my Defender Razor in the mail today and figured I'd try it out right away since I really wanted to see how it worked. I really felt that a 3-blade razor for $5 was no way going to give me any sort of a good shave, but I lathered up to try it out. I can honestly say I'm extremely impressed! The razor shaved me very smoothly and I didn't have to keep going over the same spot over and over. I was done shaving in no time. It's like my shaving time was cut in half.

Not one time did my razor clog up and it was super easy to clean. I'm definitely sold on this product. There is a couple of issues I wanted to point out though. The suction cup is kind of a bad idea for anyone that's had experience with suction cups before. They will eventually unhinged themselves and fall. The razor does feel pretty good in your hand, but it's kind of a mediocre quality. The razor cover is also kind of thin and weak.

However the minuses do not outweigh the pluses with this razor. Excellent shave, doesn't clog up, and cuts your shaving time in half, plus the cost is very low. I'm sold on it. I will be ordering more blades here in the near future. Good job Defender! I will be throwing away my 5-blade and 6-blade razors away.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 21, 2017

Best I've tried!

By Jason, Carmi, Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I have had my DEFENDER single blade for a month or a little more and I really love these blades and handle. After not shaving 3-5 days, as usual, these things cut through the stubble like a hot knife through butter. No joke! It takes fewer strokes too, so that helps my face not get irritated. Also, you'll be done shaving a lot quicker.

I honestly love these and will use these for as long as the company is in business! I am a genuine customer, and my review is no BS.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 16, 2017

Solid razor

By J Philip Faranda, Westchester, NY, Verified Reviewer

Everyone's needs vary, so as they say in the shaving world, "YMMV" (your mileage may vary,) but the developers did quite a lot right in my opinion.

  1. The head flexes like a pivot head but with enough give to not force you to press too hard and cut yourself.
  2. The triple blade design is plenty; 4-6 blades is expensive overkill.
  3. The blades are spaced enough to prevent ingrown hairs. Essentially, you get a multiple pass shave (unlike a single blade, which requires re-lathering and is time-consuming) but in one sweep because the blades have space in between.
  4. The blades are plenty sharp and last a while. They also don't cost an arm and a leg.

The result for me is an easier shave with a good result.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 12, 2017

Defender Razor

By RJ, Cheyenne, WY, Verified Reviewer

I received my new Defender Razor last night. I was very excited to try it. I had not shaved my head since the day I ordered it. I got into the shower last night for a long daunting task of shaving off a week's worth of hair (normally it takes close to 45 minutes). I was in and out of the shower right at 25 minutes.

This new razor just gave me the perfect smooth cut that I was hoping for. No burn, no clogging, and no special products needed. Just a smooth head was all that was left.

I really enjoyed using this razor and can't wait to use it again. I would recommend this razor to anyone that likes a close head shave.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2016

Great shave

By Kevin, Kansas, Verified Reviewer

I am very impressed and have purchased many as gifts. I started out using this for my face and was so impressed that I use it for my head as well. It's almost effortless to get a close shave. The quality of the handle and blades is impressive. It seems that they definitely did their homework. I've tried all the other mail order companies and won't go back.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2016

Maybe because I'm a woman...

By Brittany, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I had high hopes for this razor. I get razor burn often so the ads made me think this was the one for me. Maybe it's because I'm using it on my legs, bikini area and underarms instead of my head and face but I was not pleased. I still got razor burn but I didn't even feel like a got a "close shave," and the days between shaves are fewer. While using it, I almost can't feel the moisture strips. It feels like I'm just dragging hard plastic over my skin. I felt less irritation and a closer shave with my knock-off women's Venus. However, I will say the Defender Razor did pivot very nicely around my knees which my other razors don't do well. But for the overall experience, I'll be going back to my knock-offs.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 34

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.