Read 608 Freedom Debt Relief Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 472 4 star: 60 3 star: 27 2 star: 12 1 star:  37
Bottom Line: 91% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 608
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam, liars!

    • Clemmons, NC,
    • Jan 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This a scam. If I can pay their $9,000 fee, I can pay the creditors!

    I emailed my cancellation the day after I started this process and six days later they still took out $647 out of my checking account. I am having a tremendous time getting my money back. They claim that they require you to call to cancel, but the CONTRACT says you can do this by email, mail or delivery. When I questioned them (call center), they didn't care what the contract said.

    RUN, this is a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 24, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Mr. Jones,

      We are sorry to hear about the trouble you have had with the program. As a nationally accredited company with an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, we would like to work with you to resolve your concerns. Please let us know the best time someone may reach out to you.

      Thank you.


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Has been going very well, but I am a little concerned

    • Colorado,
    • Mar 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has been going great so far with two accounts settled and paid (don't forget that forgiven debt is taxed!) and was on my way to complete it in 2018. Last month I noticed my program end date shot up from 2018 to 2022 unless I pay more. I'll keep this updated since I recently contacted customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 21, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Thank you for your review! We understand your concern and want to let you know that while settlements are dependent on available funds, the estimated completion date can change and be sooner, based on the settlements that are obtained. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com should you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Patience people! It works but you have to be patient.

    • Texas,
    • Aug 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After facing more than $20,000 in credit card debt and getting refusal upon consolidation loan refusal from various lenders, I received a phone call from Freedom Debt Relief. One of the lenders that rejected me for a consolidation loan forwarded my info to FDR and the rep explained their approach to debt relief.

    I was very hesitant at first. The idea of simply stopping my credit card payments in order to settle my credit card debts for less than I owed was very scary. After all, it's embedded in your memory to "pay your bills on time" and dealing with debt collectors was not something I wanted to deal with. But the rep was a smooth talker, and after getting nowhere making credit card payments, I stopped paying my credit card bills, gave the money I would normally pay to FDR, and let them handle the credit card companies when they saw fit.

    When I started the program, I had seven credit card bills and as I previously mentioned owed approximately $20,000. In the first year, they were able to settle two of those debts at about half of what I owed. I would constantly check my credit reports (at that point it was down in the upper 500’s because of all those cards I stopped paying). When these two debts were settled and reflected on my credit report as not delinquent anymore, I knew FDR was for real and was happy to give them my hard earned money to settle my remaining debts!

    A year and a half into the plan, I received a series of calls from FDR with an enticing new deal! Since I had been faithfully sending FDR payments without skipping, I was given the option to participate in Freedom’s “Consolidation Plus” consolidation loan repayment plan. They would settle the remainder of my debts and I would pay Freedom back in terms of a high-interest loan. The loan itself, at 23% interest, was a tough pill to swallow but it’s about the same APR that the credit cards carried and at the time that the time my credit score was so low so beggars can’t be choosers! I went for the loan and once all of my debts were settled, I only owed $13,000! That was a savings of $7,000!

    Over the course of the next two years, I got a second job in order to pay FDR and the consolidation plus loan. I initially was giving FDR $170, twice a month ($340 total). The CP loan term was five years, but due to the second job, I was able to give them much more! I gave them $425 every two weeks for two years and successfully paid the loan off early! My credit score is now back in the lower 700’s and while I’ve managed to acquire some credit card debt since it’s only $1,500 and I plan on keeping it that way!

    Freedom Debt Relief saved my financial life in many ways and would highly recommend them to anyone overwhelmed in debt! FDR works, but only if you let it. You simply can’t just not pay them and have them work for you like that. You have to be willing to trust them, pay them, and be willing to make sacrifices in order to get rid of your credit card debt. Be like me and get a second job if you have to! Just remember, nobody forced you to get in the kind of debt that you’ve accumulated in the first place! If you need help from companies like Freedom Debt Relief, be ready to do your part to ensure that your debts get settled.

    Hopefully, I’ll never have to use them again, but my experience with FDR has taught me a lot about debt, knowing my spending limits, and NOT to abuse your credit cards and refuse credit limit increases. Thanks again Freedom for all your help!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 17, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Jeff,

      Thank you for your incredible feedback and review of the program! We strive to provide excellence to all of our clients, while also educating them about their options, our program and the most efficient way to become debt free. It is clear that this has been your experience and we are thrilled that the program has proven to be so successful. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Pay off loan

    I try to pay off my loan, and they try to get me for another $7.00 because my check needs two days to be processed. What an unprofessional company. Let’s charge everyone $7.00 to pay off their loan in full. They would not work with me. I am paying $6,195, and they still wanted the $7.00. I have never been late, only this month because I was paying it off. After one day late they call me at work. My payment was due on the 10th and today is the 13th. Please do not do any business with them. I only had problems. I am glad it is over. Very difficult people to deal with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 21, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We are sorry to hear about the concerns you are having with the program and your account. We would like to work with you to resolve these concerns. A customer experience advocate has reached out to further assist you.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    They have terrible customer service. I've already called three times to get a simple email, but they can't seem to do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 17, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Mr. Calhoun,

      We are sorry to hear about the difficulty with receiving a specific email. We would be more than happy to assist you with your correspondence request. What is the preferred way for us to contact you so that we may resolve your concern?

      Thank you.


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Debt review

    • California,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think Freedom Debt Relief is working hard to help me get back on the right track, but I personally just don't think it's moving as fast as I thought it would on the smaller debts! I was told that after a 120 is when they would go after Synchrony bank debts, but I had to call Freedom Debt well after four months (it seems like) before I received any word on my first settlement!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Wanda,

      We apologize for any confusion or frustration regarding settlement expectations. While we have a general time frame we anticipate to settle during, there are other factors and variables that play a role in the settlement opportunity. If you have further questions regarding this, please feel free to reach out to our Client Services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com so that they may assist you.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Our nightmare with FDR

    • Partlow, VA,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We signed up with FDR in 2015. We did it because I had been out of work ten months and then my husband has a stroke. Jonathan at FDR promised he could have us debt free in three years. From the beginning, it was us doing the leg work. Then the harassing calls started coming in from creditors. They had us change our address and phone number to their address.

    A few months later we get a notice on our door to appear in court even though our address was changed to theirs. I called Jonathan, and he says that happens, but there is a bank that will take it on. He did say the interest was higher so our payment would be more. We thought we were on the down hill stretch of this and I contact them to find out Jonathan never told us it increased us to over five years an an extra $28,000 on top of our debt.

    I have asked them for copies of anything we signed to show we agreed to this no response. We are considering a lawyer at this point.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 10, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Ms. Wagner,

      We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you are experiencing along with the legal action that has been pursued against you. We would like to resolve your concerns as quickly as possible. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com so that we may further assist you.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed too long to resolve debt

    It's taking too long to negotiate debt resolution on accounts. Only one account settled in five months. I am very disappointed in the overall performance and in the long duration of the process, plus my crediting rating continues to plunge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 10, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Mr. Sincavage,

      We appreciate your feedback. Settlements are dependent on accumulating sufficient funds, in order to settle the debt and as long as we continue accumulating funds, we should have no problems meeting your goals in realistic time frames. However, we understand the beginning stages of the program seem to take a long time. The credit impact is temporary and you will continue to see your credit score increase throughout the duration of the program.

      Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Run from this place!

    This company is a total scam! Do not walk from this place; I suggest you run. I was charged huge fees after making monthly deposits, and very small amount went to my debt. I will be filing a complaint with the better business bureau. The employees there are liars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 16, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We're so sorry to hear about the concerns you are experiencing Regina. Our fees will vary rarely surpass the settlement amount, and if that's the case, that would mean your settlement was less than 25%, a savings of at least 75%. We would be happy to review the account with you, and a customer experience advocate will be reaching out to you shortly.


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Car Payment

    I joined Freedom Debt relief in July of 2015, I needed them to help me resolve some debt I had incurred. They were taking $175 out of my account each paycheck, almost immediately it was games and scams with this company.

    I had a $18,000 car payment that I had fell behind on, the finance company reached me and offered to settle the amount for $5500. I called freedom Debt Relief and spoke to a lady by the name of Cynthia Brittenum, to see if I had enough funds to cover the amount. She told me that I did, and to email her the settlement letter and on November 10, 2016, to call in and make my last payment to them of $105 to bring my account balance to $5500.

    I called in and tried to make my payment and they informed me that I would have to pay $4000 for their service charge and I do not have enough to make the payment. This was after I had made an arrangement with the finance company.

    The finance company informed me that they were going to rescind the settlement, and charge me fully for the vehicle because of this. I canceled out of the program because they are not honest and will play with your money and their customer service agents know nothing. I would not use them unless your bill is somewhere between the $200 - $1000 range anything above that they will get you, and act like they did nothing wrong

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 8, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      I'm with the Executive Services team with Freedom Debt Relief and wanted to arrange a time to speak with you over the phone to further discuss your review and see if there is anything that can be done to find a resolution to your concern.

      Is there typically a good time that we could reach out to you to discuss this further?


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    You guys are great

    First I want to give a big thank you for not only getting me out of debt but also for coming to my aid in a serious crisis. I was totally amazed at the real care about my crisis. And you guys where there to offer nothing but help, you listened to my story and cared. And then gave aid. What other company does that? That makes you TOPS in my book. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 8, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Thank you for the positive feedback. We pride ourselves on our customer service and our commitment to assisting getting our clients get out of debt as soon as possible. Please feel free to contact us 800-655-6303 if you ever have any questions comments or concerns.


Showing 12-22 of 608

Write a Review for Freedom Debt Relief!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review