Read 39 Function of Beauty Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Greasy mess

    • Portland, OR,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT purchase this if you have even slightly oily hair.

    I had such high hopes from seeing positive reviews on YouTube, but they were all from people with dry scalps/hair, and I’m sure they’re paid promotions too.

    I entered my hair type exactly, I didn’t ask for ANY extra moisturizing since I know my hair is oily. I made sure to select OIL CONTROL and volume.

    Yes, from day one, my hair never felt clean. Within hours it was so oily, which was never the case before. I used to go 24 hours without a problem. I really wanted to give the product the benefit of the doubt, assuming that maybe my hair just needed an adjustment period, so I actually waited over a month and used up half of the bottles. If there was absolutely zero change, within a couple of hours my hair would be a greasy mess. My sister actually tried their products as well, she also asked for oil control and yet had the same results tonight. So it’s not just me.

    To make matters worse, I message them about this issue and their only response was to offer me a $10 account credit and more of that product. There’s no way I can imagine any of their products working if this "oil control" version makes my hair this bad.

    Bad product, even worse customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Charged my account randomly without my consent

    • Texas,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought shampoo a month ago and loved it. I am still using it. Today, my account was charged and shampoo is being shipped to me! I confirmed I do not have a subscription. So far, I have received no response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Not as advertised.

    • Franklin, TN,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not at all as advertised. When I ordered, I went through a whole process and picked out what I wanted it called, the scent and the color. It is advertised that your name will be on the bottle. The color will be what you chose, and the scent will also be what was chosen.

    Well, today I received my order and was so so so excited to open it! That excitement was bursted really quickly! It was two tiny bottles that are squeezed into a box that is meant for one larger bottle. Horrible presentation. And, that isn’t even the problem. I ordered the pink and pineapple smell. Well, it is green and has no smell. It also has no name on it, just a big F on each bottle, for "Function" I am guessing. Not my name! Not my chosen color and not my scent! And I AM NOT HAPPY!

    What a total waste of time creating all of it and a waste of money for something that isn’t what was advertised. I am very disappointed to say the least. This customer is gone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    So impressed!

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have pretty fine, straight hair that is prone to frizziness and tangles. By the end of the day, my hair always feels greasy, so I tend to shower daily. After just one use of this shampoo and conditioner, my hair already looks better. It's super soft and straight and less frizzy than I am normally used to. I am so excited to continue to use Function of Beauty and see how my hair improves. I got the peach scent and I love it, not too strong but just enough to catch a whiff every once and a while!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Damaged hair

    • Bay Area, CA,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved the idea of picking the right formula for my hair. The process, packaging, and customer service was excellent, but the formula destroyed my hair in a way nothing ever has before.

    I wanted it to work, so I tried a SECOND formulation, and that still left my previously-healthy hair with breakage and frizz. A shame, because I loved the violet and sandalwood scent I had selected.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Fort Huachuca, AZ,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have very fine hair that gets damaged and won’t grow long without looking terrible, even with regular trimmings. This shampoo has been a life saver for my hair. It is finally growing longer without looking like a nightmare. The "Feeling Fineapple" fragrance is my favorite scent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Loved it, but now hate it!

    • Oregon,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It made my hair feel amazing, at first, but now my hair feels stripped and brittle. I have to use a TON of leave-in conditioner to just be able to brush through my hair, AND it feels like I'm losing my hair by the handfuls. The amount of breakage it insane and heartbreaking...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Horrible products, makes my hair dry

    • New York,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the concept of Function of Beauty. However, much to my dismay, the products are horrible. Both the shampoo and conditioner are very very dry. Especially the conditioner, after applying the products, it doesn't run smoothly on my hair at all and have zero effects of what conditioners should do. My hair is left dry and lackluster. These products feel worse than drugstore products, and I will never use again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not bad, just not as good as promised

    • Nebraska,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Positives:

    - Smells great.

    - Not horribly priced.

    - Cleans well enough.

    Negatives:

    - Formula keeps separating, so I have to shake it really well to remix it prior to use. Kind of annoying.

    - The product is really watery and runny.

    - Hair feels dry and brittle rather than smooth and shiny as promised.

    Overall, it's not terrible stuff; it's just not the product quality I'd hoped for. I could get the same results from a $4 bottle of Dove from the drugstore. I'll use the product up, but I won't purchase it again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Washed out my hair color, made it dry, flat and dull.

    • Newport Beach, CA,
    • May 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very excited when I received my pretty packaged shampoo and conditioner. I should have known better, no ingredients listed. My hair, in over 30 days, slowly began to fade my expensive, color-treated hair, and became dry, dull and lifeless. Of course, once I realized what had happened, I contacted the company to let them know. They responded that I was past the "happy 30-day guarantee" so NO REFUND, but they wanted to send me more of their shampoo and conditioner for free! REALLY? No thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Hair started falling out

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I personally believe this shampoo is entirely too expensive. Not to mention, when I started using the shampoo and conditioner, my hair began falling out. I will stick to my $20.00 bottle of conditioner that works as advertised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 39

Write a Review for Function of Beauty!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review