Start your review of Function of Beauty:
  • 45 Customer Reviews
  • 20% Recommend This Brand
2.0 out of 5
5 star: 17% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 15% 1 star: 60%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Amazing!

    • By Heather B.,
    • Canandaigua, NY,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've always struggled with an oily scalp, but dry, split ends and frizzy hair. I tried so many different products from cheap drugstore brands to expensive salon products and none resolved all of my hair problems. I am so glad that I finally tried Function of Beauty and will never go back to any other brand! My scalp isn't oily anymore and I can easily go 3-4 days between washes. My hair is so soft and easy to manage and the ends aren't dry and straw-like anymore. I have long, thick hair and have always used more conditioner than shampoo, so I order the 8 oz shampoo and 16 oz conditioner and they last about 3 months. It's a very concentrated product, so you don't have to use a lot. I prefer dye free, so I can't comment on the colors, but I LOVE the scents - I've tried Peach and Pineapple so far and they are both wonderful!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Loveeeeeeee

    • By Lori D.,
    • Key West, FL,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Function of Beauty has changed my life! My hair has always been damaged due to bleaching but not anymore. My hair has never felt or looked better. I love the sents and I love that you get to customize everything! Also, if it doesn’t work for you, return it within 30 days and they will reformulate it for you! I absolutely love Function of Beauty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Nope

    • By Lauren B.,
    • Nebraska,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have so many issues with this company. First off, it took close to three weeks to receive my first order. Second, my shampoo and conditioner were the wrong colors (not the ones I had picked), had NO scent even though I chose the holiday scent, and worked nothing like the samples I received a couple of weeks prior.

    I contacted customer service for replacements because the non-scented shampoo and conditioners smelled disgusting and they definitely were not the right formula that I had been using for two weeks with my samples. They offered me $10 off of my next order, which I thought was completely insufficient for the amount of things wrong with my order. When I refused, they said I could use my one-time complimentary free reformulation to fix the order. I accepted, and about a week later I received the second order.

    This time it was the right color and scent, however, the scent smelled extremely synthetic and I did not like it. I didn't think much of it, I was just hoping it worked this time. I'm positive it was exactly the same formula. I had all the same issues - scalp dryness and itchiness, my hair itself got very dry and brittle, and I was already oily after one day without a wash.

    I contacted customer service again after a little over a week of use because it just wasn't working out for me. I simply wanted to return the bottles and receive a refund so I could purchase my usual Briogeo shampoo and conditioner set, which I regretted leaving to try Function of Beauty. Customer service informed me that because I chose a free reformulation, I no longer am eligible to return my products and receive a refund. They didn't actually say this though, I exchanged back and forth with them a few times until I got a straight answer clarifying that I'm just SOL and stuck with these products. I do not understand how after you fail a customer TWICE so very badly that you still keep their money and essentially tell them, "oh well, sorry it didn't work out the way you wanted it to!"

    After the extreme disappointment in product quality and customer service, I will never purchase from Function of Beauty again, nor do I recommend these products to anyone that cares about their hair. My hair is completely dried out, brittle, and dull after approximately four weeks of using my custom shampoo. I want to try Prose instead, since they use clean ingredients (and actually show you the full ingredient list) and have a much more thorough hair consultation. I'm positive Function of Beauty uses the lowest quality ingredients they can and slap a "custom" label on it just to make it seem bougie. Head & Shoulders is better than Function of Beauty, to be quite frank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nothing that I expected

    Overall Experience:

    I was SUPER excited to get this. I’m usually pretty stingy, I’m willing to spend a little more for good shampoo, but I thought this was such a great idea and I splurged. And it is a great idea, just poor execution. The shampoo I had formulated was for repair and growth and it dried my hair out worse than before. I couldn’t pronounce any of the ingredients listed. Not that I was expecting an exclusively natural shampoo, but I’m not kidding, the only thing I could pronounce was water. Even the scent is artificial. After a month, my shampoo has begun separating, and now three months later (after I stopped using it), my shampoo is completely separated in half. Research what your hair needs and just buy a quality shampoo from Ulta or your hairstylist instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never again

    • By Kate E.,
    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Smells nice, good idea for a product, HOWEVER, it dried out my hair so badly it took several weeks of hair masks to get it back to soft and shiny again. Also, despite selecting "one of" purchase on my account, I got an email that I was being charged for a second set that I certainly did not want or order. The website would not let me log into my account to cancel the order or see what was going on, so I had to dispute the charge through PayPal.

    Either their terms of service are dodgy, or the website has poor security and someone else made an order with my details. So mad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Where is my stuff!

    • By Nette T.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I made an order with this company on November 2, 2018. It is now December 5th and my daughter has not received her birthday gift. "I'm sorry baby, it's still in the mail." She was super excited to try this new company that "so-called celebrities" swear by. The staff is incompetent, sending multiple conflicting emails, one that my address is invalid (Amazon delivers to me almost every day with no issue). Second my order was returned to sender, and third, they are still waiting on my order to be returned so they can re-ship. Two days after each email I am told: "ticket resolved, thank you." UNACCEPTABLE! The ticket is not RESOLVED! Where are my daughter's personalized products? I would expect a Manhattan-based company literally 20 blocks from me to get the job done right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Greasy mess

    • By Stefani M.,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do NOT purchase this if you have even slightly oily hair.

    I had such high hopes from seeing positive reviews on YouTube, but they were all from people with dry scalps/hair, and I’m sure they’re paid promotions too.

    I entered my hair type exactly, I didn’t ask for ANY extra moisturizing since I know my hair is oily. I made sure to select OIL CONTROL and volume.

    Yes, from day one, my hair never felt clean. Within hours it was so oily, which was never the case before. I used to go 24 hours without a problem. I really wanted to give the product the benefit of the doubt, assuming that maybe my hair just needed an adjustment period, so I actually waited over a month and used up half of the bottles. If there was absolutely zero change, within a couple of hours my hair would be a greasy mess. My sister actually tried their products as well, she also asked for oil control and yet had the same results tonight. So it’s not just me.

    To make matters worse, I message them about this issue and their only response was to offer me a $10 account credit and more of that product. There’s no way I can imagine any of their products working if this "oil control" version makes my hair this bad.

    Bad product, even worse customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Charged my account randomly without my consent

    • By Amanda C.,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought shampoo a month ago and loved it. I am still using it. Today, my account was charged and shampoo is being shipped to me! I confirmed I do not have a subscription. So far, I have received no response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not as advertised.

    • By Meaghan C.,
    • Franklin, TN,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Not at all as advertised. When I ordered, I went through a whole process and picked out what I wanted it called, the scent and the color. It is advertised that your name will be on the bottle. The color will be what you chose, and the scent will also be what was chosen.

    Well, today I received my order and was so so so excited to open it! That excitement was bursted really quickly! It was two tiny bottles that are squeezed into a box that is meant for one larger bottle. Horrible presentation. And, that isn’t even the problem. I ordered the pink and pineapple smell. Well, it is green and has no smell. It also has no name on it, just a big F on each bottle, for "Function" I am guessing. Not my name! Not my chosen color and not my scent! And I AM NOT HAPPY!

    What a total waste of time creating all of it and a waste of money for something that isn’t what was advertised. I am very disappointed to say the least. This customer is gone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • So impressed!

    • By Lauren W.,
    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have pretty fine, straight hair that is prone to frizziness and tangles. By the end of the day, my hair always feels greasy, so I tend to shower daily. After just one use of this shampoo and conditioner, my hair already looks better. It's super soft and straight and less frizzy than I am normally used to. I am so excited to continue to use Function of Beauty and see how my hair improves. I got the peach scent and I love it, not too strong but just enough to catch a whiff every once and a while!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Damaged hair

    • By A. V.,
    • Bay Area, CA,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I loved the idea of picking the right formula for my hair. The process, packaging, and customer service was excellent, but the formula destroyed my hair in a way nothing ever has before.

    I wanted it to work, so I tried a SECOND formulation, and that still left my previously-healthy hair with breakage and frizz. A shame, because I loved the violet and sandalwood scent I had selected.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 45

Write a Review for Function of Beauty!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Function of Beauty Review: Is It Worth It?