Start your review of Function of Beauty:
  • 45 Customer Reviews
  • 20% Recommend This Brand
2.0 out of 5
5 star: 17% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 15% 1 star: 60%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Worst product I've ever bought

    • By Karen F.,
    • Middlesbrough, England,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this product last week and have used it twice and my hair is awful, gone, very dry. The profile I submitted was for it to deep condition/hydrate/reduce brassiness/shine/color protection. I was expecting a high-end product for the price and read reviews but if you look further into the reviews there are a lot of unsatisfied customers out there. I don't rate this product at all, very disappointed and a waste of money, and nowhere have I found a refund policy (probably because they say it's personalized), but if this company stands 100% behind their product they should give refunds if customers are not happy with their product. I was so disappointed with this product, would not recommend at all, had to give one star because wouldn't be able to post review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I'm devastated - my hair is 1/4-1/3 of my hair gone

    • By Heather B.,
    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I fell prey to the endless Instagram ads for this product. I have long, thick hair, and though I also have other stuff going on in my life (iron, and other vitamin deficiencies, as well as a high-stress job), I believe it is this shampoo that has caused my drastic and marked (noticeable) hair loss. My hair has been coming out not just in strands, but CHUNKS in the shower, and I am constantly pulling my hair strands off of my clothing and arms and picking them out of my sheets. Now, my long, thick hair is thin, scraggly, and awful. I'm embarrassed and devastated. For the record, I would include the order number for this review, but it was never included in any of my email correspondence with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I feel conned

    • By Loleini F.,
    • Brisbane, Queensland, Australia,
    • Jul 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    An ad for this company popped up on my Instagram feed and I contemplated whether or not to get this for two whole months, I watched YouTube reviews and they all raved about how great it is, but when I finally ordered mine it was nothing as amazing as everyone raves.

    For one of my hair goals, I chose anti-frizz because it's always a problem I have with my curly waves, yet the only thing this product seems to be doing is making my hair frizzier as well as drier. Adding other products like leave-in condition only makes the frizz worse.

    Sure, the custom colors and scents are great and it's aesthetically pleasing but it's like any other cheap formula shampoo and conditioner only more expensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Function of Beauty, my results from this product

    • By Dee F.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I started using this product back in February 2019. I love the colors, the scent, the consistency and how you can take the quiz and it's tailored to your results BUT...I noticed a few weeks ago my hair has been falling out. I have super long hair and very thick hair and my stylist even noticed. She said, "What are you doing differently?" This is what's changed. I changed hair products. I read some other reviews and I'm not the only one this is happening to. I should have requested the ingredients but I didn't so I quit using it. My scalp was even getting itchy every time I used it. It's taken me a good month to get my hair back to normal but I'm sad that this has happened and wish they would change their ingredients but for now I'm going back to my old products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Thought I was great, until a few washes later.

    • By Eden K.,
    • Queensland, Australia,
    • May 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I honestly will say that the first couple of washes felt and smelt sooo good! But after a while I noticed my hair drying out and becoming more damaged each time and my scalp became so itchy and flakey! And not just like a bit of dandruff, it was embarrassing, and made my hair so hard to brush through as well. I seriously went and cut off most of my hair because I felt my hair was getting that bad. I wouldn't recommend using it on colored hair either as I found my hair color was literally washing out every time. You have to use a lot to really wash all your hair properly. I went back to my regular shampoo and my hair instantly felt so much better and fresh.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Smells great...but lost like half my hair

    • By Michelle C.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Apr 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wish I researched better...I selected "oily scalp" and like many reviews, I'm now coming across my hair has been falling out by the handful. Never again. Yes, it smells delicious, and my name's on the bottle, but the pros end there. I know we all shed hair naturally, but this is literally in clumps every time I touch my hair. I'm devastated. It took me about 1/3 of the bottle used before figuring this out...but shame on Function of Beauty who call themselves scientists saying they can formulate the perfect shampoo...nothing perfect about this. You couldn't pay me to continue using their products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No chemicals, then why did my product smell like chemicals?

    • By Melody O.,
    • Georgia,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got this to try and when I opened the bottle the first time it smelled a little chemically, but I was like ok, I will still give it a try. The first and only time I used it I washed my hair and the shampoo smelled a bit chemically, not at all like pear. The conditioner on the other hand, as soon as I put it in my hair, it smelled like pure nail polish remover. I have never rinsed my hair out so fast in my life. After using it my hair actually felt really dry. Maybe they made a bad batch for me, but I wouldn't risk it again! Funny thing also, when looking back at my emails, not a single one of them has an order number, just pictures of what I ordered and the date!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service has improved! Refunds aren't a hassle.

    • By Merry L.,
    • Oregon,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have wavy hair that needs a lot of hydration. Even though I chose "deep condition," "hydrate," and "anti-frizz," my hair was dry and frizzy even after TWO applications of conditioner. Needless to say, the product didn't work for me.

    The company has a 30-day money back guarantee, but I was really nervous after reading other reviews on here. No need! Customer service was great. They will still offer you a reformulation, but as long as you DO NOT ACCEPT it and it's within 30 days, they will refund you the purchase price.

    Good to know that you can get a refund if it doesn't work out for you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Likely scam

    • By Ekta P.,
    • Alabama,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Their product doesn't make any difference and they are really expensive. Just a word of caution - they have a NO RETURN POLICY, even for unopened products.

    Their site hosts their review so not trustworthy at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great shampoo and conditioner!

    • By Jessie C.,
    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wanted a shampoo + conditioner that's cruelty-free, good for dandruff, and good for oily hair. I decided to try out this company and it's great!

    I was able to customize the formula, color, scent, scent strength, etc. Even included a sticker pack. I don't have any complaints.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money

    • By Katelynn H.,
    • Orange County, CA,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am all about spending money on a hair product that works great and I love. So, I figured I would try this. This product completely dried out my hair and left it damaged. I know my hair really well and I am confident that I chose the right formula that they were asking. Great scent and it was nice knowing it was pure; However, the damage was not worth the money. It is definitely noticeable if a shampoo and conditioner are working with your hair, and this definitely did not work for mine. My sister also feels the same way. Almost got to the halfway point if our separate bottles and had to throw them out. Don’t get it and don’t listen to the people who do it for an ad so they get money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 45

Write a Review for Function of Beauty!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Function of Beauty Review: Is It Worth It?