Read 39 Function of Beauty Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    No chemicals, then why did my product smell like chemicals?

    • Georgia,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this to try and when I opened the bottle the first time it smelled a little chemically, but I was like ok, I will still give it a try. The first and only time I used it I washed my hair and the shampoo smelled a bit chemically, not at all like pear. The conditioner on the other hand, as soon as I put it in my hair, it smelled like pure nail polish remover. I have never rinsed my hair out so fast in my life. After using it my hair actually felt really dry. Maybe they made a bad batch for me, but I wouldn't risk it again! Funny thing also, when looking back at my emails, not a single one of them has an order number, just pictures of what I ordered and the date!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Customer service has improved! Refunds aren't a hassle.

    • Oregon,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have wavy hair that needs a lot of hydration. Even though I chose "deep condition," "hydrate," and "anti-frizz," my hair was dry and frizzy even after TWO applications of conditioner. Needless to say, the product didn't work for me.

    The company has a 30-day money back guarantee, but I was really nervous after reading other reviews on here. No need! Customer service was great. They will still offer you a reformulation, but as long as you DO NOT ACCEPT it and it's within 30 days, they will refund you the purchase price.

    Good to know that you can get a refund if it doesn't work out for you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Likely scam

    • Alabama,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their product doesn't make any difference and they are really expensive. Just a word of caution - they have a NO RETURN POLICY, even for unopened products.

    Their site hosts their review so not trustworthy at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Great shampoo and conditioner!

    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted a shampoo + conditioner that's cruelty-free, good for dandruff, and good for oily hair. I decided to try out this company and it's great!

    I was able to customize the formula, color, scent, scent strength, etc. Even included a sticker pack. I don't have any complaints.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • Orange County, CA,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am all about spending money on a hair product that works great and I love. So, I figured I would try this. This product completely dried out my hair and left it damaged. I know my hair really well and I am confident that I chose the right formula that they were asking. Great scent and it was nice knowing it was pure; However, the damage was not worth the money. It is definitely noticeable if a shampoo and conditioner are working with your hair, and this definitely did not work for mine. My sister also feels the same way. Almost got to the halfway point if our separate bottles and had to throw them out. Don’t get it and don’t listen to the people who do it for an ad so they get money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • Canandaigua, NY,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've always struggled with an oily scalp, but dry, split ends and frizzy hair. I tried so many different products from cheap drugstore brands to expensive salon products and none resolved all of my hair problems. I am so glad that I finally tried Function of Beauty and will never go back to any other brand! My scalp isn't oily anymore and I can easily go 3-4 days between washes. My hair is so soft and easy to manage and the ends aren't dry and straw-like anymore. I have long, thick hair and have always used more conditioner than shampoo, so I order the 8 oz shampoo and 16 oz conditioner and they last about 3 months. It's a very concentrated product, so you don't have to use a lot. I prefer dye free, so I can't comment on the colors, but I LOVE the scents - I've tried Peach and Pineapple so far and they are both wonderful!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Loveeeeeeee

    • Key West, FL,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Function of Beauty has changed my life! My hair has always been damaged due to bleaching but not anymore. My hair has never felt or looked better. I love the sents and I love that you get to customize everything! Also, if it doesn’t work for you, return it within 30 days and they will reformulate it for you! I absolutely love Function of Beauty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Nope

    • Nebraska,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have so many issues with this company. First off, it took close to three weeks to receive my first order. Second, my shampoo and conditioner were the wrong colors (not the ones I had picked), had NO scent even though I chose the holiday scent, and worked nothing like the samples I received a couple of weeks prior.

    I contacted customer service for replacements because the non-scented shampoo and conditioners smelled disgusting and they definitely were not the right formula that I had been using for two weeks with my samples. They offered me $10 off of my next order, which I thought was completely insufficient for the amount of things wrong with my order. When I refused, they said I could use my one-time complimentary free reformulation to fix the order. I accepted, and about a week later I received the second order.

    This time it was the right color and scent, however, the scent smelled extremely synthetic and I did not like it. I didn't think much of it, I was just hoping it worked this time. I'm positive it was exactly the same formula. I had all the same issues - scalp dryness and itchiness, my hair itself got very dry and brittle, and I was already oily after one day without a wash.

    I contacted customer service again after a little over a week of use because it just wasn't working out for me. I simply wanted to return the bottles and receive a refund so I could purchase my usual Briogeo shampoo and conditioner set, which I regretted leaving to try Function of Beauty. Customer service informed me that because I chose a free reformulation, I no longer am eligible to return my products and receive a refund. They didn't actually say this though, I exchanged back and forth with them a few times until I got a straight answer clarifying that I'm just SOL and stuck with these products. I do not understand how after you fail a customer TWICE so very badly that you still keep their money and essentially tell them, "oh well, sorry it didn't work out the way you wanted it to!"

    After the extreme disappointment in product quality and customer service, I will never purchase from Function of Beauty again, nor do I recommend these products to anyone that cares about their hair. My hair is completely dried out, brittle, and dull after approximately four weeks of using my custom shampoo. I want to try Prose instead, since they use clean ingredients (and actually show you the full ingredient list) and have a much more thorough hair consultation. I'm positive Function of Beauty uses the lowest quality ingredients they can and slap a "custom" label on it just to make it seem bougie. Head & Shoulders is better than Function of Beauty, to be quite frank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Nothing that I expected

    I was SUPER excited to get this. I’m usually pretty stingy, I’m willing to spend a little more for good shampoo, but I thought this was such a great idea and I splurged. And it is a great idea, just poor execution. The shampoo I had formulated was for repair and growth and it dried my hair out worse than before. I couldn’t pronounce any of the ingredients listed. Not that I was expecting an exclusively natural shampoo, but I’m not kidding, the only thing I could pronounce was water. Even the scent is artificial. After a month, my shampoo has begun separating, and now three months later (after I stopped using it), my shampoo is completely separated in half. Research what your hair needs and just buy a quality shampoo from Ulta or your hairstylist instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Never again

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Smells nice, good idea for a product, HOWEVER, it dried out my hair so badly it took several weeks of hair masks to get it back to soft and shiny again. Also, despite selecting "one of" purchase on my account, I got an email that I was being charged for a second set that I certainly did not want or order. The website would not let me log into my account to cancel the order or see what was going on, so I had to dispute the charge through PayPal.

    Either their terms of service are dodgy, or the website has poor security and someone else made an order with my details. So mad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Where is my stuff!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made an order with this company on November 2, 2018. It is now December 5th and my daughter has not received her birthday gift. "I'm sorry baby, it's still in the mail." She was super excited to try this new company that "so-called celebrities" swear by. The staff is incompetent, sending multiple conflicting emails, one that my address is invalid (Amazon delivers to me almost every day with no issue). Second my order was returned to sender, and third, they are still waiting on my order to be returned so they can re-ship. Two days after each email I am told: "ticket resolved, thank you." UNACCEPTABLE! The ticket is not RESOLVED! Where are my daughter's personalized products? I would expect a Manhattan-based company literally 20 blocks from me to get the job done right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 39

Write a Review for Function of Beauty!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review