What is Function of Beauty?

Published on: Feb 9, 2017

Function of Beauty offers hair-conscious customers the opportunity to order fully customized shampoo and conditioner sets based on your hair’s texture and up to five needs. Plus, you can even customize the color and scent.

The idea of personalizing shampoo and conditioner that addresses multiple concerns was started by two MIT grads, Zahir Dossa and Joshua Maciejewski, as well as Cosmetic Chemist Hien Nguyen.

Zahir Dossa, co-founder and CEO, states that the idea for Function of Beauty was inspired by a lack of variety in the shampoo aisle. “Most products will cater to either a hair type or a specific goal,” says Dossa. “Very few cater to multiple goals.”

The company claims that, by using their hair profile, there are 12 billion possible combinations of formula components. Yours are decided using the information you provide, which is then processed within Function of Beauty’s proprietary algorithms to create a product set that’s as unique as your hair.

While Function of Beauty formulas promise to differ greatly depending on the personal information that you enter, everyone shares several things in common. Each shampoo and conditioner they create are:

  • Sulfate free
  • Cruelty free
  • Paraben free
  • Toxin free
  • Made in the USA

Interested in creating a custom shampoo and conditioner? Here’s how:

How To Customize Your Function of Beauty Shampoo and Conditioner

The idea of shampoo and conditioner that’s tailored to suit your hair’s needs is certainly interesting. But, how does it work?

Not to worry—Function of Beauty doesn’t have you researching chemical compounds. Instead, the customization process starts by filling out a hair profile.

Step #1: The first steps includes selecting between the following:

  1. Your hair type, from straight, wavy, curly, coily.
  2. Your hair structure, from fine, medium, coarse.
  3. Your scalp moisture, from dry, normal, oily.

Step #2: Function of Beauty asks that you pick five hair goals out of the following: deep condition, replenish hair, fix split ends, strengthen, hydrate, lengthen, volumize, color protection, thermal protection, anti-aging, anti-frizz, curl definition, shine, straighten, nourish roots, soothe scalp, and oil control.

Step #3: Here, you can customize the look and smell of your formulas. Select separate shades for your shampoo and conditioner, choosing between blue, pink, orange, teal, and purple.

Then, choose a fragrance (both shampoo and conditioner will have the same scent), between cucumber mint, grapefruit hibiscus, sandalwood violet, and a minty blend of essential oils.

You can also select your fragrance strength, then choose which name is displayed on the bottles.

How Much Do Function of Beauty Custom Shampoo & Conditioner Cost?

In the final step, you select which size bottles you’d like to order. It’s here that Function of Beauty offers a rarely seen convenience: You can choose mismatched size shampoo and conditioner bottles, which is wonderful for anyone who always goes through the two products at a different pace.

Here’s the rundown on sizes and costs:

  • 8 oz Shampoo & 8 oz Conditioner: $32
  • 16 oz Shampoo & 16 oz Conditioner: $42
  • 8 oz Shampoo & 16 oz Conditioner: $38
  • 16 oz Shampoo & 8 oz Conditioner: $38
  • 16 oz Shampoo: $26
  • 16 oz Conditioner: $26

Every Function of Beauty order offers free shipping and free returns. The only other variable is state tax, which applies to NY and PA residents only.

However, note that there’s a difference between “free returns” and “money back”—the free returns alludes to Function of Beauty’s happy hair guarantee, which states:

“We believe in your happiness and satisfaction above anything else. If you’re not completely satisfied with your set, we’ll reformulate it so that it’s as perfect as you.”

It’s important to understand the parameters of Function of Beauty’s satisfaction guarantee: You can return your shampoo and conditioner for any reason and receive a reformulation. However, you’re not able to return the product for a refund.

What Customers Are Saying About Function of Beauty

To find out whether Function of Beauty products were perceived as perfectly tailored by customers, we headed to Google and the company’s Facebook page in search of reviews.

A review at The Most Happy states that she was thrilled with the oil control offered by her custom shampoo and conditioner, and that it allowed her to go up to 3 three days in between washes.

Hello Giggles reported an overwhelmingly positive review along with a nice touch: That Function of Beauty’s packaging “includes a print-out of your hair profile and a recommended personalized hair care regimen to ensure the products are as effective as possible (for example, some people may benefit most from daily shampooing, while others might benefit from way less).”

Awareness of Function of Beauty has recently exploded, which has meant a mass of orders—and a few customers say that their shipments have been later than expected.

However, reviews also mention that the company notified each customer with a personal email from the CEO, as well as issued credits for late delivery.

Even despite the late deliveries, reviewers on Function of Beauty’s Facebook page state that they couldn’t be happier with their products—or the company’s customer service.

Some Final Thoughts Regarding Function of Beauty

Overall, reviews of the actual products are positive, with multiple reviews commenting that the formulations addressed not just one, but their own specific combination of hair woes.

For example, one reviewer with oily-but-damaged hair said that her dry ends looked and felt incredibly soft, but the top, more the oil-prone section didn’t appear greasy or weighed-down.

While overall reviews of Function of Beauty are positive, my experience writing about cosmetics and beauty products for HighYa left me with a few concerns:

For example, while filling out the hair profile I noticed that some questions, such as hair type, are pretty straightforward. However, others, such as your scalp moisture, are less so, since my research shows that your scalp can become more oily if your shampoo is too drying, or if you’ve recently started using hot tools.

The risk of user error isn’t huge—consumers buy their own shampoos and conditioners all the time. However, with the mindset of hoping to get the most value out of ordering custom shampoo and conditioner, I was left wanting for more detailed descriptions to help make my selections.

So, I was relieved to come across one review that stated it the customer had a positive experience reaching out to Function of Beauty with questions about how to select options that were best for them.

Bottom Line: Function of Beauty Appears To Aim For High Customer Satisfaction

Considering the overwhelmingly positive reviews and reports of attentive customer service, we think it’s safe to say that consumers who are interested in customizing their hair products might be very pleased with this brand.

However, we think it’s important not to shoot from the hip when it comes to selecting your hair type and goals—to really get a good value (and experience), don’t hesitate to reach out and ask.

Speaking of cost, while the price definitely isn’t cheap when compared to your typical drugstore brand shampoo (these shampoo and conditioner sets go for about $40), it’s absolutely comparable to other luxury and salon-level brands—plus, shipping is free.

Another perk of Function of Beauty customized products is that you can tweak your formula based on the season, if strands have been subjected to a new chemical process, or received a dramatic cut.

Bottom line: If you decide to shop this brand, reviews lead us to believe that you’ll be pleased with the results.

Just don’t rest on your laurels and stick to the same formula! Instead, commit to getting every last drop of value out of each order by asking questions and tweaking your formula to fit your hair’s changing needs.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Consumer Reviews for Function of Beauty

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible products, makes my hair dry

    • New York,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the concept of Function of Beauty. However, much to my dismay, the products are horrible. Both the shampoo and conditioner are very very dry. Especially the conditioner, after applying the products, it doesn't run smoothly on my hair at all and have zero effects of what conditioners should do. My hair is left dry and lackluster. These products feel worse than drugstore products, and I will never use again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not bad, just not as good as promised

    • Nebraska,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Positives:

    - Smells great.

    - Not horribly priced.

    - Cleans well enough.

    Negatives:

    - Formula keeps separating, so I have to shake it really well to remix it prior to use. Kind of annoying.

    - The product is really watery and runny.

    - Hair feels dry and brittle rather than smooth and shiny as promised.

    Overall, it's not terrible stuff; it's just not the product quality I'd hoped for. I could get the same results from a $4 bottle of Dove from the drugstore. I'll use the product up, but I won't purchase it again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Washed out my hair color, made it dry, flat and dull.

    • Newport Beach, CA,
    • May 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very excited when I received my pretty packaged shampoo and conditioner. I should have known better, no ingredients listed. My hair, in over 30 days, slowly began to fade my expensive, color-treated hair, and became dry, dull and lifeless. Of course, once I realized what had happened, I contacted the company to let them know. They responded that I was past the "happy 30-day guarantee" so NO REFUND, but they wanted to send me more of their shampoo and conditioner for free! REALLY? No thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 26, 2018

      Angelise M.

      As in they would ship for free or actually send you a whole new and different formula set for free? I thought they offered free shipping ( I haven’t ordered, so I don't know), but a different formula may have worked better for you, is that what they offered you?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hair started falling out

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I personally believe this shampoo is entirely too expensive. Not to mention, when I started using the shampoo and conditioner, my hair began falling out. I will stick to my $20.00 bottle of conditioner that works as advertised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I want to leave more stars, but...

    Similar to the other reviewer from Canada, I have both positive and negative feelings about this product. I'll list them for easy reading:

    Positive:

    - I chose a combination for thin hair that also requires moisture, and after using the shampoo and conditioner for a couple days, they seem to be working great. My hair is shiny and not weighed down (which happens with most moisturizing combos).

    - The fact that you can customize your order for your own hair needs is fun and original, and most importantly, so far the formula is working as promised.

    - The packaging is fun and cute, and it's easy to order.

    Negatives:

    - They state they have 2-day guaranteed shipping, however, they don't state clearly that this ONLY applies to American residents. My order took well over a month to arrive to Canada, and I had to ask when the order was being shipped. They answered my question promptly, but they need to get their order fulfillment/shipping issues fixed as I've received orders from Turkey much faster.

    - The 8 oz bottles cost around $60 CAD for both, which was quite steep in my experience.

    - I picked purple for my shampoo and green for my conditioner. The shampoo was lovely, however, the conditioner turned out to be a seasick, off-green color. It looked nothing like the picture on their website or my order confirmation. Yuck.

    - I also picked the medium fragrance level (Pineapple) for both, and I'm finding the scent a bit overpowering, even when my hair is dry.

    If Function of Beauty can get their shipping woes sorted out, I might consider ordering again. But for now, I wouldn't recommend to Canadian residents.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • LOVE this shampoo!

    I love this shampoo! I've been using it for a few months now and my hair used to be SO thin and flat and now it feels so much healthier and bouncier.

    I got the feeling pineapple scent, and it smells just like a pina colada! I always feel so fresh after washing my hair.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Nice product but they can't get it delivered.

    • New York,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm conflicted. I like (not love) the product, but for the second time, my order has taken over a month to arrive. And unlike the Canadian reviewer, I am in the U.S., and a big city besides, so there's no excuse. I have just spent 30 minutes trying to find a competitor, but it seems Function of Beauty has the market locked up. I don't want to reward them with my business because this delivery situation is really inexcusable. I honestly don't know what to do, back to drugstore shampoo? Maybe, that's how bad they're shipping is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 26, 2018

      Angelise M.

      Maybe check out Kerastase, their products are expensive, but they have been very amazing especially the 4.2 oz size Oleo and beautifying oils. Also there’s Prose, another personalized hair care system, the quiz is a lot more thorough but they pick what you need from your answers. I haven’t used Prose so it could be worse, but I have a love for Kerastase and the goodness it has done my hair (in the past when I could afford to use it.) They have a product line for every kind of hair as well, damaged/frizz (mine), colored, older, dandruff, sun protection, volumizing, etc.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Function of disappointment

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    To say I'm disappointed in Function of Beauty would be an understatement.

    I'm disheartened to know that I spent $50 CAD on a product I wanted to believe in and wanted to tell all my friends about after I placed my order on November 6. However, as of December 8, I have yet to receive my purchase (order #3245325 - according to Landmark Global because none of their emails actually provided me with one).

    I understand with the Christmas season a lot of orders are probably flooding their process and are causing delays, but I received one email explaining my order would be delayed by 3-4 days due to such reasons and my account would be credited a measly $5 on November 13. I was fine with this because 3-4 days is reasonable.

    But then I waited. And waited. And on November 30 I finally received the email I was waiting for - my order had finally shipped. I checked the tracking link provided and noticed that my shipment wasn't processed until December 4. I don't fault Function of Beauty for this (I would assume it is Landmark's issue), however, that is almost a full month since I placed the order.

    Like I stated before, I understand with the holiday season not everything goes according to plan, and the fact that I live in Canada is probably another factor, but I was kept in the dark almost the entire time. I'm upset because their website states: "It takes us 5 to 7 days to formulate and fill your unique order. From there we offer free priority two-day shipping." This was not the case for me, and if this for US residents only, I think their website should address this. I feel as though one month to wait for an order is unacceptable. Especially considering the email I received on November 13 stated it would be an additional 3-4 days.

    In the interest of being transparent, I am not happy, and I will not place another order once I do actually receive my purchase - no matter how much I enjoy my custom product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Hair started falling out

    I bought this for my daughter, personalized for her thick head of hair. Although at first, she did like the way it made her hair feel (but it did not control the frizz as she had hoped). Within a few weeks, her hair was falling out in clumps.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 4, 2018

      Gina

      Has her hair grown back? So sorry to hear!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Obsessed!

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Love! I've only used it once, and I can see a difference in my hair! I dye my hair blonde every three months when I usually have dark black hair. Using this product made my hair feel alive again. The only downside is that the bottles are kind of expensive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a Review for Function of Beauty!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review