Function of Beauty Review: Is It Worth It?

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Published on: Feb 9, 2017

Function of Beauty offers hair-conscious customers the opportunity to order fully customized shampoo and conditioner sets based on your hair’s texture and up to five needs. Plus, you can even customize the color and scent.

The idea of personalizing shampoo and conditioner that addresses multiple concerns was started by two MIT grads, Zahir Dossa and Joshua Maciejewski, as well as Cosmetic Chemist Hien Nguyen.

Zahir Dossa, co-founder and CEO, states that the idea for Function of Beauty was inspired by a lack of variety in the shampoo aisle. “Most products will cater to either a hair type or a specific goal,” says Dossa. “Very few cater to multiple goals.”

The company claims that, by using their hair profile, there are 12 billion possible combinations of formula components. Yours are decided using the information you provide, which is then processed within Function of Beauty’s proprietary algorithms to create a product set that’s as unique as your hair.

While Function of Beauty formulas promise to differ greatly depending on the personal information that you enter, everyone shares several things in common. Each shampoo and conditioner they create are:

  • Sulfate free
  • Cruelty free
  • Paraben free
  • Toxin free
  • Made in the USA

Interested in creating a custom shampoo and conditioner? Here’s how:

How to Customize Your Function of Beauty Shampoo and Conditioner

The idea of shampoo and conditioner that’s tailored to suit your hair’s needs is certainly interesting. But, how does it work?

Not to worry—Function of Beauty doesn’t have you researching chemical compounds. Instead, the customization process starts by filling out a hair profile.

Step #1: The first steps include selecting between the following:

  1. Your hair type, from straight, wavy, curly, coily.
  2. Your hair structure, from fine, medium, coarse.
  3. Your scalp moisture, from dry, normal, oily.

Step #2: Function of Beauty asks that you pick five hair goals out of the following: deep condition, replenish hair, fix split ends, strengthen, hydrate, lengthen, volumize, color protection, thermal protection, anti-aging, anti-frizz, curl definition, shine, straighten, nourish roots, soothe scalp, and oil control.

Step #3: Here, you can customize the look and smell of your formulas. Select separate shades for your shampoo and conditioner, choosing between blue, pink, orange, teal, and purple.

Then, choose a fragrance (both shampoo and conditioner will have the same scent), between cucumber mint, grapefruit hibiscus, sandalwood violet, and a minty blend of essential oils.

You can also select your fragrance strength, then choose which name is displayed on the bottles.

How Much Do Function of Beauty Custom Shampoo and Conditioner Cost?

In the final step, you select which size bottles you’d like to order. It’s here that Function of Beauty offers a rarely seen convenience: You can choose mismatched size shampoo and conditioner bottles, which is wonderful for anyone who always goes through the two products at a different pace.

Here’s the rundown on sizes and costs:

  • 8 oz Shampoo & 8 oz Conditioner: $32
  • 16 oz Shampoo & 16 oz Conditioner: $42
  • 8 oz Shampoo & 16 oz Conditioner: $38
  • 16 oz Shampoo & 8 oz Conditioner: $38
  • 16 oz Shampoo: $26
  • 16 oz Conditioner: $26

Every Function of Beauty order offers free shipping and free returns. The only other variable is state tax, which applies to NY and PA residents only.

However, note that there’s a difference between “free returns” and “money back”—the free returns alludes to Function of Beauty’s happy hair guarantee, which states:

“We believe in your happiness and satisfaction above anything else. If you’re not completely satisfied with your set, we’ll reformulate it so that it’s as perfect as you.”

It’s important to understand the parameters of Function of Beauty’s satisfaction guarantee: You can return your shampoo and conditioner for any reason and receive a reformulation. However, you’re not able to return the product for a refund.

What Customers Are Saying About Function of Beauty

To find out whether Function of Beauty products were perceived as perfectly tailored by customers, we headed to Google and the company’s Facebook page in search of reviews.

A review at The Most Happy states that she was thrilled with the oil control offered by her custom shampoo and conditioner, and that it allowed her to go up to 3 three days in between washes.

Hello Giggles reported an overwhelmingly positive review along with a nice touch: That Function of Beauty’s packaging “includes a print-out of your hair profile and a recommended personalized hair care regimen to ensure the products are as effective as possible (for example, some people may benefit most from daily shampooing, while others might benefit from way less).”

Awareness of Function of Beauty has recently exploded, which has meant a mass of orders—and a few customers say that their shipments have been later than expected.

However, reviews also mention that the company notified each customer with a personal email from the CEO, as well as issued credits for late delivery.

Even despite the late deliveries, reviewers on Function of Beauty’s Facebook page state that they couldn’t be happier with their products—or the company’s customer service.

Some Final Thoughts Regarding Function of Beauty

Overall, reviews of the actual products are positive, with multiple reviews commenting that the formulations addressed not just one, but their own specific combination of hair woes.

For example, one reviewer with oily-but-damaged hair said that her dry ends looked and felt incredibly soft, but the top, more the oil-prone section didn’t appear greasy or weighed-down.

While overall reviews of Function of Beauty are positive, my experience writing about cosmetics and beauty products for HighYa left me with a few concerns:

For example, while filling out the hair profile I noticed that some questions, such as hair type, are pretty straightforward. However, others, such as your scalp moisture, are less so, since my research shows that your scalp can become more oily if your shampoo is too drying, or if you’ve recently started using hot tools.

The risk of user error isn’t huge—consumers buy their own shampoos and conditioners all the time. However, with the mindset of hoping to get the most value out of ordering custom shampoo and conditioner, I was left wanting for more detailed descriptions to help make my selections.

So, I was relieved to come across one review that stated it the customer had a positive experience reaching out to Function of Beauty with questions about how to select options that were best for them.

Bottom Line: Function of Beauty Appears to Aim for High Customer Satisfaction

Considering the overwhelmingly positive reviews and reports of attentive customer service, we think it’s safe to say that consumers who are interested in customizing their hair products might be very pleased with this brand.

However, we think it’s important not to shoot from the hip when it comes to selecting your hair type and goals—to really get a good value (and experience), don’t hesitate to reach out and ask.

Speaking of cost, while the price definitely isn’t cheap when compared to your typical drugstore brand shampoo (these shampoo and conditioner sets go for about $40), it’s absolutely comparable to other luxury and salon-level brands—plus, shipping is free.

Another perk of Function of Beauty customized products is that you can tweak your formula based on the season, if strands have been subjected to a new chemical process, or received a dramatic cut.

Bottom line: If you decide to shop this brand, reviews lead us to believe that you’ll be pleased with the results.

Just don’t rest on your laurels and stick to the same formula! Instead, commit to getting every last drop of value out of each order by asking questions and tweaking your formula to fit your hair’s changing needs.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

26 Consumer Reviews for Function of Beauty

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Likely scam

    • Alabama,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their product doesn't make any difference and they are really expensive. Just a word of caution - they have a NO RETURN POLICY, even for unopened products.

    Their site hosts their review so not trustworthy at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great shampoo and conditioner!

    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted a shampoo + conditioner that's cruelty-free, good for dandruff, and good for oily hair. I decided to try out this company and it's great!

    I was able to customize the formula, color, scent, scent strength, etc. Even included a sticker pack. I don't have any complaints.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • Orange County, CA,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am all about spending money on a hair product that works great and I love. So, I figured I would try this. This product completely dried out my hair and left it damaged. I know my hair really well and I am confident that I chose the right formula that they were asking. Great scent and it was nice knowing it was pure; However, the damage was not worth the money. It is definitely noticeable if a shampoo and conditioner are working with your hair, and this definitely did not work for mine. My sister also feels the same way. Almost got to the halfway point if our separate bottles and had to throw them out. Don’t get it and don’t listen to the people who do it for an ad so they get money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • Canandaigua, NY,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've always struggled with an oily scalp, but dry, split ends and frizzy hair. I tried so many different products from cheap drugstore brands to expensive salon products and none resolved all of my hair problems. I am so glad that I finally tried Function of Beauty and will never go back to any other brand! My scalp isn't oily anymore and I can easily go 3-4 days between washes. My hair is so soft and easy to manage and the ends aren't dry and straw-like anymore. I have long, thick hair and have always used more conditioner than shampoo, so I order the 8 oz shampoo and 16 oz conditioner and they last about 3 months. It's a very concentrated product, so you don't have to use a lot. I prefer dye free, so I can't comment on the colors, but I LOVE the scents - I've tried Peach and Pineapple so far and they are both wonderful!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Loveeeeeeee

    • Key West, FL,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Function of Beauty has changed my life! My hair has always been damaged due to bleaching but not anymore. My hair has never felt or looked better. I love the sents and I love that you get to customize everything! Also, if it doesn’t work for you, return it within 30 days and they will reformulate it for you! I absolutely love Function of Beauty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Nope

    • Nebraska,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have so many issues with this company. First off, it took close to three weeks to receive my first order. Second, my shampoo and conditioner were the wrong colors (not the ones I had picked), had NO scent even though I chose the holiday scent, and worked nothing like the samples I received a couple of weeks prior.

    I contacted customer service for replacements because the non-scented shampoo and conditioners smelled disgusting and they definitely were not the right formula that I had been using for two weeks with my samples. They offered me $10 off of my next order, which I thought was completely insufficient for the amount of things wrong with my order. When I refused, they said I could use my one-time complimentary free reformulation to fix the order. I accepted, and about a week later I received the second order.

    This time it was the right color and scent, however, the scent smelled extremely synthetic and I did not like it. I didn't think much of it, I was just hoping it worked this time. I'm positive it was exactly the same formula. I had all the same issues - scalp dryness and itchiness, my hair itself got very dry and brittle, and I was already oily after one day without a wash.

    I contacted customer service again after a little over a week of use because it just wasn't working out for me. I simply wanted to return the bottles and receive a refund so I could purchase my usual Briogeo shampoo and conditioner set, which I regretted leaving to try Function of Beauty. Customer service informed me that because I chose a free reformulation, I no longer am eligible to return my products and receive a refund. They didn't actually say this though, I exchanged back and forth with them a few times until I got a straight answer clarifying that I'm just SOL and stuck with these products. I do not understand how after you fail a customer TWICE so very badly that you still keep their money and essentially tell them, "oh well, sorry it didn't work out the way you wanted it to!"

    After the extreme disappointment in product quality and customer service, I will never purchase from Function of Beauty again, nor do I recommend these products to anyone that cares about their hair. My hair is completely dried out, brittle, and dull after approximately four weeks of using my custom shampoo. I want to try Prose instead, since they use clean ingredients (and actually show you the full ingredient list) and have a much more thorough hair consultation. I'm positive Function of Beauty uses the lowest quality ingredients they can and slap a "custom" label on it just to make it seem bougie. Head & Shoulders is better than Function of Beauty, to be quite frank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Nothing that I expected

    I was SUPER excited to get this. I’m usually pretty stingy, I’m willing to spend a little more for good shampoo, but I thought this was such a great idea and I splurged. And it is a great idea, just poor execution. The shampoo I had formulated was for repair and growth and it dried my hair out worse than before. I couldn’t pronounce any of the ingredients listed. Not that I was expecting an exclusively natural shampoo, but I’m not kidding, the only thing I could pronounce was water. Even the scent is artificial. After a month, my shampoo has begun separating, and now three months later (after I stopped using it), my shampoo is completely separated in half. Research what your hair needs and just buy a quality shampoo from Ulta or your hairstylist instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Never again

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Smells nice, good idea for a product, HOWEVER, it dried out my hair so badly it took several weeks of hair masks to get it back to soft and shiny again. Also, despite selecting "one of" purchase on my account, I got an email that I was being charged for a second set that I certainly did not want or order. The website would not let me log into my account to cancel the order or see what was going on, so I had to dispute the charge through PayPal.

    Either their terms of service are dodgy, or the website has poor security and someone else made an order with my details. So mad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Where is my stuff!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made an order with this company on November 2, 2018. It is now December 5th and my daughter has not received her birthday gift. "I'm sorry baby, it's still in the mail." She was super excited to try this new company that "so-called celebrities" swear by. The staff is incompetent, sending multiple conflicting emails, one that my address is invalid (Amazon delivers to me almost every day with no issue). Second my order was returned to sender, and third, they are still waiting on my order to be returned so they can re-ship. Two days after each email I am told: "ticket resolved, thank you." UNACCEPTABLE! The ticket is not RESOLVED! Where are my daughter's personalized products? I would expect a Manhattan-based company literally 20 blocks from me to get the job done right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Greasy mess

    • Portland, OR,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT purchase this if you have even slightly oily hair.

    I had such high hopes from seeing positive reviews on YouTube, but they were all from people with dry scalps/hair, and I’m sure they’re paid promotions too.

    I entered my hair type exactly, I didn’t ask for ANY extra moisturizing since I know my hair is oily. I made sure to select OIL CONTROL and volume.

    Yes, from day one, my hair never felt clean. Within hours it was so oily, which was never the case before. I used to go 24 hours without a problem. I really wanted to give the product the benefit of the doubt, assuming that maybe my hair just needed an adjustment period, so I actually waited over a month and used up half of the bottles. If there was absolutely zero change, within a couple of hours my hair would be a greasy mess. My sister actually tried their products as well, she also asked for oil control and yet had the same results tonight. So it’s not just me.

    To make matters worse, I message them about this issue and their only response was to offer me a $10 account credit and more of that product. There’s no way I can imagine any of their products working if this "oil control" version makes my hair this bad.

    Bad product, even worse customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Charged my account randomly without my consent

    • Texas,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought shampoo a month ago and loved it. I am still using it. Today, my account was charged and shampoo is being shipped to me! I confirmed I do not have a subscription. So far, I have received no response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for Function of Beauty!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review