About Gwynnie Bee

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 7, 2018

Gwynnie Bee is a monthly subscription service that allows members to rent articles of clothing for a flat fee. Users can make unlimited swaps, and shipping is free. Further, the number of items you can have out at any one time is determined by what subscription level you choose.

Gwynnie Bee’s clothing is gently used but kept in pristine condition and laundered before shipping out to the next member. There’s even a “buy it if you love it” option for those who can’t part with certain pieces.

Together, they claim it’s like having a whole department store as your closet. But, are they necessarily right for you? Let’s dive into the details to help you find out.

How Gwynnie Bee Works

Would-be members of Gwynnie Bee can create a guest account to browse their clothing selection by entering their email address and creating a password. The browsing experience is intended to emulate online shopping, and users can search within article categories and then filter based on size (sizes 0-32 available), color, and brand.

User’s “Closet” specific items that they’d like to have in their personal rotation. Gwynnie Bee recommends that you Closet a minimum of six items for every one item allotted in your subscription (or, at least 25 items); that way if something becomes unavailable, there are enough choices to avoid an interruption in your service. You’ll be able to prioritize any items in your Closet.

Additionally, users are invited to “Attic” items they would like to favorite for later Closeting, perhaps for a change of season or for special occasions.

Your first Gwynnie Bee box is shipped within 2-3 days of signing up, and you can keep items for as long as you’d like. There’s also no limit to how many times a month you swap items. Shipping is always free, and when you’re ready to return the clothing, you’ll find prepaid bags included in each box of clothing. Also, laundering items before returning isn’t necessary.

An additional nice touch is that you can notify Gwynnie Bee when you’re popping items back in the mail, and they’ll prepare your next box in advance in an effort to limit turnaround time.

But is wearing shared items sanitary? Gwynnie Bee's FAQ addresses this concern by promising that each piece is meticulously inspected three times before sending.

Another concern is the possibility of damaging rented clothing. This is also addressed in the site’s FAQs with a relaxed attitude. “Such is life!” says Gwynnie Bee, and does not mention any charges for damaged articles. They do ask that you email or call their customer service to give them a heads up that the item will need repair or replacement.

All items in Gwynnie Bee’s stock are available for purchase at a discount. However, you aren’t allowed to buy pieces before trying them. The site also claims that items are retired once light wear and tear begins to show, and then donated to a local charity.

How Much Does Gwynnie Bee Cost?

After a 30-day free trial, Gwynnie Bee’s rates are based on the number of items you can have in rotation at any given time and are charged monthly to your credit card on file. These rates are as follows:

  • One item for $49
  • Two items for $69
  • Three items for $95
  • Five items for $139
  • Seven items for $179
  • Ten items for $199

Gwynnie Bee also has a referral program, through which you can earn a free garment for a month each time you refer a friend who also subscribes.

Subscriptions can be canceled at any time, but all items must be returned within seven days to avoid being charged the full price. Support can be reached at 855-499-6643 or gwynnie@gwynniebee.com.

What People Think of Gwynnie Bee

Since writing our original article, more than 30 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experiences with Gwynnie Bee, giving them an average rating of 2.2 stars. Compliments frequently referenced great selection of clothing and ease of use, while complaints often revolved around high prices, as well as clothing that didn’t meet taste or quality preferences.

Gwynnie Bee had a similar average rating of 2.7 stars among nearly 180 customer reviews on SiteJabber, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

We also encountered a variety of independent bloggers who wrote about their experiences with the company, many of whom remarked that they loved the service and appreciated what it had done for their fashion options.

Many seemed to appreciate that Gwynnie Bee also allows users to familiarize themselves with the sizes of different brands and find what works best for them before committing to an investment, although most were from several years ago when Gwynnie Bee specialized in plus size women’s clothing.

Related: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

As a company, Gwynnie Bee Inc. is based out of Long Island City, NY and has been in business since 2011. They held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and more than 50 closed complaints, as of 5/23/18. Most of these appeared to reference billing and/or service concerns, although a company representative responded in each instance with a resolution.

Gwynnie Bee vs. Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, and Other Clothing Memberships

While we didn’t encounter any other companies with the exact same business model as Gwynnie Bee during our research, they are up against some stiff competition from other popular options like Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, Le Tote, and Dia & Co.

Most of these companies (Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote) allow their customers to receive clothing, add items to ‘Closets’ that are sent out on a regular basis, return clothing using pre-paid labels, provide coverage for light damage, and the ability to purchase clothing at a less-than-retail discount.

On the other hand, clothing memberships like Dia and Stitch Fix involve personal stylists sending you articles of clothing of the stylist's choice (you do not 'closet' items or get to choose what they send you). You also cannot wear, damage, and then return these items—you either keep them and wear them, or don't try them at all and simply send them back.

Company Price Notes
Gwynnie Bee $49 - $199, depending on the number of items Can have between 1 and 10 items out at any time, sizes 0-32 available, unlimited swaps per month
Rent the Runway $30 per rental - $159/mo Unlimited pieces. Fit guarantee. Also offers formal wear (including bridal wear), maternity.
Stitch Fix Items range in price between $20 and $600 (average $55 each). $20 per-box styling fee. Offers clothing for men (28-42W) and women (0-24W). Sends five pieces of clothing to your door, keep and pay for the ones you want (no rentals available). No subscription required. Includes maternity.
Le Tote $59 - $79/mo Unlimited totes per month. Thousands of brands and styles, including maternity.
Dia & Co. $20 per-box styling fee, which is credited toward any items you decide to keep Dedicated personal stylist, 25% off when you buy everything in your Style Box

How can you choose which of these is right for you? Like most other consumer buying decisions, it might largely come down to your specific needs and preferences.

For example, if you’re looking for maternity clothing, Le Tote and Stitch Fix might be solid options, while only Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote were the only companies offering rentals, with an option to buy. Outside of this, you'll want to carefully investigate each company's online feedback, which could be a good indication of what you can expect after becoming a customer.

How does all of this stack up for Gwynnie Bee?

The Bottom Line on Gwynnie Bee

Whether or not it's actually a rotating closet, or simply the opportunity to try new brands, the worthiness of Gwynnie Bee's cost is wholly based on individual preference.

Based on extensive customer feedback, the company seems to deliver on their promise of variety, and there aren’t any hidden fees. So, if you feel like trying before you buy, or just sticking to trying and swapping, Gwynnie Bee’s service seems to keep most of their customers satisfied.

Originally Published on December 2, 2014, Revised by Derek Lakin on June 7, 2018

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

167 Consumer Reviews for Gwynnie Bee

Average Consumer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 94 4 star: 24 3 star: 11 2 star: 8 1 star:  30
Bottom Line: 75% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 167
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Pleased with Gwynnie Bee

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Sep 23, 2015

    This is my second month with the Gwynnie Bee one item subscription. So far, the boxes have all come on time and the quality has been good. I need dress tops for work, but my size keeps changing through dieting and I cannot afford to buy new cloths every month. The subscription has been my solution. The style selection is a little limiting, but the clothes have been in good quality.

    Getting clothing that is out of season hasn't been an issue. I took everything out of my closet that was for summer and replaced them with fall items. My third month begins in a few days. My experiences have been positive so far and haven't had to contact customer service for anything.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Unlimited Closet = Dream Come True!

    • Wheat Ridge, CO,
    • Sep 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for Gwynnie Bee when I received a promotion at work, and needed to have a more professional wardrobe. I knew I couldn't afford to buy a bunch of new clothes, and I didn't want to be stuck wearing the same thing every week. Gwynnie Bee was the PERFECT solution!

    I have been a member for a little over four months, and I have gotten to wear something "new" to work at my new job every day! I get compliments every single day, and I love sharing that I am a Gwynnie Bee member!

    I receive four items at a time, and it's the perfect amount for the work week! It's a great way to supplement my wardrobe and to feel like a million bucks every day!

    The clothes are always clean, and arrive in great condition. I usually receive a great variety of colors and styles, (there was one shipment that had all blue items) and the clothes are usually seasonally appropriate!

    There are some people in the office that think I'm doing this because I can't afford to buy new clothes and keep telling me to go to Ross, or T.J. Maxx, but I'm a GB member because I truly get an unlimited wardrobe of amazing clothes! The best part about it is that I can wear something super-trendy, and not have to worry about it hanging in my real closet after it's no longer in style! (I have so many dresses that I bought for a special occasion that I've only worn once, and they just hang in my closet because I won't get rid of them after what I paid!)

    A lady at work inquired if I had a "super rich boyfriend" who buys me nice clothes all the time, since she's never seen me in the same thing twice! Nope I'm a Gwynnie Bee member and I love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 4, 2016

      Rebecca Coomes

      You can always tell when a review is actually being made by a member/owner/ad firm of the item/service being reviewed. It sounds like an ad. And that is what THIS is. A flagrant ad by Gwynnie Bee. I guess to counter the bad reviews.

    • Feb 8, 2017

      Gina

      I agree, Rebecca. When Ashly wrote that people in her office kept telling her to go to Ross or T.J. Maxx, I wanted to respond, "That's their nice way of telling you that you look like crap." I noticed the ridiculous amount of exclamation points and lack of authentic detail about the service. Just like you, I realized it's just an advertisement from the company.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely in love with Gwynnie Bee

    • Alabama,
    • Nov 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been a member for over a year and just love it. It's so much fun, wearing something new every day and just tossing it in a bag at the end of the day to send back. I have NEVER seen a problem with clothing being worn out or in bad condition, not even once.

    I have the largest plan and usually have to send a few things back because they aren't flattering on me, but that's no problem. I also have found things I would never have dreamed of wearing that I actually enjoy wearing a lot! So it's taken me out of my box and allowed me to expand my fashion horizons.

    Even with the 10+ plan, I am spending less per month on clothes than I did before, and don't end up having clothes in my closet that I'm sick of or that don't look right anymore.

    I look forward to every shipment and my fun try-on session in the comfort of my own home. Customer service is very responsive. I've never had so much fun with clothes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 11, 2017

      Christy D. Hawkins

      Based on the information that every other comment has made, this is an obvious fake comment made by the company. Nothing about this sounds real, and you overdid it with the fake praise.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Very pleased!

    • Grandy, NC,
    • May 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am surprised at some of the bad reviews. Yes, I have received some items that I just tried on and returned; but that has not been a lot. I have bought some items, and they would come with my next shipment.

    Let's face it, shipping both ways is free; this does cost money for them. I don't have a problem with my purchases being shipped with my next shipment of clothes. I get a box every week. Sometimes it has one item, sometimes it has two, sometimes it has 3 or more. I always send back at least three items at a time. This is how I am getting a box every week.

    Currently, I am doing five items out at a time. As soon as get home from wearing it for the day, I go online to my account, mark it "return," and complete the questionnaire. I fold it and place it in the bag until there are at least three items in the bag. Then I drop it off at the Post Office.

    I usually have about 75 items on average on my rack. When I look through what's available, I will even choose stuff that I am on the fence about. Quite often, those items end up being a great fit! I started wearing 2X and am now down to 1X. I only buy tops, blazers, cardigans, and a couple of dresses. It's been great wearing something different to work every day. I really do have "a closet full of clothes" because I have not worn the same top more than once since November.

    I plan on continuing to use Gwynnie Bee until I get down to a size they no longer sell. Every one of the items I have received has been received clean, and most have come wrinkle free and pressed. Maybe two items have been received wrinkled, but sometimes that can't be helped. I threw them in the dryer for 20 minutes and voila! Problem solved.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 15 people found this review helpful

    So far, pretty good

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm completing my free trial month. I have received four dresses. Between the first and second dress, I didn't have enough in my closet. Now I do. The first dress was huge. The second I loved! I bought it for more than 50% off. The third dress was pretty, but I didn't want to buy. This last dress is gorgeous but too tight in the bust. I'm going to try the larger size. This is great for someone who likes dresses. They have a large variety. I would have never tried these dresses on, so I'm expanding what I will wear. I'm losing weight too, so I like the rental idea. I love the free shipping too. Does anyone know if you cancel, will they offer any deal to keep you? Some subs do that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    I've been a Gwynnie Bee subscriber for over two years. In the last two years, they have really expanded the options available in different styles and sizes. They are always adding new brands. My closet currently has 200+ items in it, and with the ability to prioritize which items I receive, I always receive in-season items that fit my current tastes.

    There are a few tricks to maximizing your experience with this service. The first is to watch for new arrivals. New arrivals come to you just that: new. If you want to receive the best items, check every few days, there are three or four new arrival drops a week! And add new things from each one. Prioritize the ones you like best and you will receive them sooner.

    After a few months, I remove unreceived items from my closet, because yes, they have been worn and they might not be in the best shape. I have only ever (in two years) received 3 or 4 items that were damaged, but never beyond wearability (for example, one "damaged" item had a pen mark, easily missed among the blueprint on the dress). If you rarely closet items and never edit your existing picks, you will likely receive older items.

    Another trick is to shop the size charts. Because Gwynnie Bee carries so many brands and they all fit differently, you won't be able to always closet the same size. I am a size 14 and wear anywhere from a Large to a 3X; there is that much variance in each brand's size chart. Do your measurements and compare them against the included size charts. Also, read member reviews for clues about if you'll need to size up or down in a particular item. I always shop the size chart and read the reviews, and most of the items I receive fit well.

    Finally, if you have a multi-garment plan, always try to return more than one at a time. Not only does this help your closet "rotate," but you'll get more items, faster. Plus, you receive reward points for multi-item returns, which you can use for purchasing your favorite pieces. Remembering to notify Gwynnie Bee about your returns is also crucial because they will start prepping your next box right away. If you don't notify them, they can't send you something new until they receive your return, which means more turnaround time. They use 2-day shipping, so it is possible to receive muliple boxes a week if you return notify and send items back right away.

    I love Gwynnie Bee and plan to keep using it for as long as I fit into a size that it is relevant. I have been very pleased with the service overall. It's helped me find new styles that I love and become more confident. If I dress well, I feel good about myself, and Gwynnie Bee sends great items that help me look and feel my best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 7, 2018

      Janice L.

      Thank you! I agree with all this advice. The newer negative reviews seem that they have not "understood" the ways to maximize their experience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Gwynnie Bee

    • Woodbridge, VA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love Gwynnie Bee. The clothes are stylish. Shopping is easy. Exchanges take seconds. The app is easy to use. Customer service is great. The best part is I never get bored with my wardrobe, and I feel confident going to work each week.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Gwynnie Bee has made me adventurous!

    • Fairfax, VA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before trying Gwynnie Bee, I was very traditional. A lot of browns, blacks, and Navy blues.

    Since I can send it back, I am taking more risks - I can wear anything for a day! As I've tried more things, my tastes have changed in general, and my style has definitely evolved.

    Thank you, Gwynnie Bee, for helping me get out of my rut!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love Gwynnie Bee

    • Wisconsin,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been a Gwynnie Bee subscriber for several years. I love the breadth of choices (labels, styles) and the speed of shipping when I return an item. I also much prefer closeting items myself. I tried one of the curated box services, and in spite of very clear answers like "never send dresses or skirts," I regularly received boxes containing those items.

    Recently, as I started losing weight, I realized a huge added value to being a Gwynnie Bee subscriber. I've been able to progressively adjust the sizes down and try, not buy, as I continue to lose.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Greatest thing since slices bread

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Gwynnie Bee for about three years now. I tried it out at first to amp up my workday attire. My job involved high-end social events so having a nice dress was key, but having a different nice dress to choose from each week was the icing on the cake. Compliments rolled in! The return and receive process is simple. I no longer have that job, so I’ve been venturing into more jeans and tops which has been so fun as it helps to learn which brands fit me best. Styles are not always perfect for me, but in that case, you just send items backs and wait for the new ones to arrive. If I could change one thing it would be a faster turn around time to get items.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    You will always be well-dressed with Gwynnie Bee

    • Costa Mesa, CA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Gwynnie Bee are plus size experts. That's why I joined. I was having trouble dressing my plus size body. Nothing seemed to look or fit right, and I often felt embarrassed about my appearance especially at work. All that changed once I joined Gwynnie Bee. They really are plus size experts, and the clothes are very well made and very high quality. I went from often feeling embarrassed about my clothing to complete confidence in my clothing. I know I'm well dressed in Gwynnie Bee. They have a wide variety of styles and selections to choose from and I love almost everything they send. They have fantastic sales on a regular basis, so you can build your at-home wardrobe.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 167

Write a Review for Gwynnie Bee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review