About Gwynnie Bee

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 7, 2018

Gwynnie Bee is a monthly subscription service that allows members to rent articles of clothing for a flat fee. Users can make unlimited swaps, and shipping is free. Further, the number of items you can have out at any one time is determined by what subscription level you choose.

Gwynnie Bee’s clothing is gently used but kept in pristine condition and laundered before shipping out to the next member. There’s even a “buy it if you love it” option for those who can’t part with certain pieces.

Together, they claim it’s like having a whole department store as your closet. But, are they necessarily right for you? Let’s dive into the details to help you find out.

How Gwynnie Bee Works

Would-be members of Gwynnie Bee can create a guest account to browse their clothing selection by entering their email address and creating a password. The browsing experience is intended to emulate online shopping, and users can search within article categories and then filter based on size (sizes 0-32 available), color, and brand.

User’s “Closet” specific items that they’d like to have in their personal rotation. Gwynnie Bee recommends that you Closet a minimum of six items for every one item allotted in your subscription (or, at least 25 items); that way if something becomes unavailable, there are enough choices to avoid an interruption in your service. You’ll be able to prioritize any items in your Closet.

Additionally, users are invited to “Attic” items they would like to favorite for later Closeting, perhaps for a change of season or for special occasions.

Your first Gwynnie Bee box is shipped within 2-3 days of signing up, and you can keep items for as long as you’d like. There’s also no limit to how many times a month you swap items. Shipping is always free, and when you’re ready to return the clothing, you’ll find prepaid bags included in each box of clothing. Also, laundering items before returning isn’t necessary.

An additional nice touch is that you can notify Gwynnie Bee when you’re popping items back in the mail, and they’ll prepare your next box in advance in an effort to limit turnaround time.

But is wearing shared items sanitary? Gwynnie Bee's FAQ addresses this concern by promising that each piece is meticulously inspected three times before sending.

Another concern is the possibility of damaging rented clothing. This is also addressed in the site’s FAQs with a relaxed attitude. “Such is life!” says Gwynnie Bee, and does not mention any charges for damaged articles. They do ask that you email or call their customer service to give them a heads up that the item will need repair or replacement.

All items in Gwynnie Bee’s stock are available for purchase at a discount. However, you aren’t allowed to buy pieces before trying them. The site also claims that items are retired once light wear and tear begins to show, and then donated to a local charity.

How Much Does Gwynnie Bee Cost?

After a 30-day free trial, Gwynnie Bee’s rates are based on the number of items you can have in rotation at any given time and are charged monthly to your credit card on file. These rates are as follows:

  • One item for $49
  • Two items for $69
  • Three items for $95
  • Five items for $139
  • Seven items for $179
  • Ten items for $199

Gwynnie Bee also has a referral program, through which you can earn a free garment for a month each time you refer a friend who also subscribes.

Subscriptions can be canceled at any time, but all items must be returned within seven days to avoid being charged the full price. Support can be reached at 855-499-6643 or gwynnie@gwynniebee.com.

What People Think of Gwynnie Bee

Since writing our original article, more than 30 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experiences with Gwynnie Bee, giving them an average rating of 2.2 stars. Compliments frequently referenced great selection of clothing and ease of use, while complaints often revolved around high prices, as well as clothing that didn’t meet taste or quality preferences.

Gwynnie Bee had a similar average rating of 2.7 stars among nearly 180 customer reviews on SiteJabber, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

We also encountered a variety of independent bloggers who wrote about their experiences with the company, many of whom remarked that they loved the service and appreciated what it had done for their fashion options.

Many seemed to appreciate that Gwynnie Bee also allows users to familiarize themselves with the sizes of different brands and find what works best for them before committing to an investment, although most were from several years ago when Gwynnie Bee specialized in plus size women’s clothing.

Related: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

As a company, Gwynnie Bee Inc. is based out of Long Island City, NY and has been in business since 2011. They held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and more than 50 closed complaints, as of 5/23/18. Most of these appeared to reference billing and/or service concerns, although a company representative responded in each instance with a resolution.

Gwynnie Bee vs. Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, and Other Clothing Memberships

While we didn’t encounter any other companies with the exact same business model as Gwynnie Bee during our research, they are up against some stiff competition from other popular options like Rent the Runway, Stitch Fix, Le Tote, and Dia & Co.

Most of these companies (Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote) allow their customers to receive clothing, add items to ‘Closets’ that are sent out on a regular basis, return clothing using pre-paid labels, provide coverage for light damage, and the ability to purchase clothing at a less-than-retail discount.

On the other hand, clothing memberships like Dia and Stitch Fix involve personal stylists sending you articles of clothing of the stylist's choice (you do not 'closet' items or get to choose what they send you). You also cannot wear, damage, and then return these items—you either keep them and wear them, or don't try them at all and simply send them back.

Company Price Notes
Gwynnie Bee $49 - $199, depending on the number of items Can have between 1 and 10 items out at any time, sizes 0-32 available, unlimited swaps per month
Rent the Runway $30 per rental - $159/mo Unlimited pieces. Fit guarantee. Also offers formal wear (including bridal wear), maternity.
Stitch Fix Items range in price between $20 and $600 (average $55 each). $20 per-box styling fee. Offers clothing for men (28-42W) and women (0-24W). Sends five pieces of clothing to your door, keep and pay for the ones you want (no rentals available). No subscription required. Includes maternity.
Le Tote $59 - $79/mo Unlimited totes per month. Thousands of brands and styles, including maternity.
Dia & Co. $20 per-box styling fee, which is credited toward any items you decide to keep Dedicated personal stylist, 25% off when you buy everything in your Style Box

How can you choose which of these is right for you? Like most other consumer buying decisions, it might largely come down to your specific needs and preferences.

For example, if you’re looking for maternity clothing, Le Tote and Stitch Fix might be solid options, while only Gwynnie Bee, Rent the Runway, and Le Tote were the only companies offering rentals, with an option to buy. Outside of this, you'll want to carefully investigate each company's online feedback, which could be a good indication of what you can expect after becoming a customer.

How does all of this stack up for Gwynnie Bee?

The Bottom Line on Gwynnie Bee

Whether or not it's actually a rotating closet, or simply the opportunity to try new brands, the worthiness of Gwynnie Bee's cost is wholly based on individual preference.

Based on extensive customer feedback, the company seems to deliver on their promise of variety, and there aren’t any hidden fees. So, if you feel like trying before you buy, or just sticking to trying and swapping, Gwynnie Bee’s service seems to keep most of their customers satisfied.

Originally Published on December 2, 2014, Revised by Derek Lakin on June 7, 2018

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 220 Gwynnie Bee Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 124 4 star: 38 3 star: 16 2 star: 10 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 78% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 220
Sort reviews by:

  • 44 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Scam and rip off.

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    Does not matter how many times you call Lisa (she can't do anything - she is sweet but her hands are tied). The Wolf is Crystal. Watch out folks. This is one of the best rackets I have come across in years. They do not send the right sizes, they send winter clothes in summer and vice versa. If you cancel the service they still continue to bill you. Just when you think you have gotten rid of the Bee they come back and put a massive charge on your credit card.

    Okay so I disputed it with my bank and they removed it and issued me a new card. Somehow Gwynnie charged my account another $680.52 again.

    Now this is after I have canceled the service that they changed my card. And if that is not enough, they started with the monthly service again. This company should not be called Gwynnie Bee but Gwynnie Roach. You simply can not get rid of them.

    Do yourself and your bank account a favor and shop anywhere else. In my honest opinion, they are the worst retailer on Planet Earth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 64 out 66 people found this review helpful

    Just Crap

    1. Clothes are crap - they are cheaply made and don't run true to any size.

    2. Good luck canceling, It isn't going to happen. Canceled this, returned the clothes and over 6 months later out of the blue I am charged $180? Tried to call customer service 5 times to talk with someone, and of course no answer (spent 45 minutes on hold today!). So I disputed the charge with my credit card company and they billed me again. RUN away from this. Zero ethics.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 54 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Clothes are trash & customer service sucks.

    • Texas,
    • Mar 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    In my one month trial I never got a single garment that I wanted. I had to add a lot of crap that I didn't want to my closet just to get them to sent me something. Everything I got was cheaply and poorly made. Half the time my stuff was delayed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 122 out 126 people found this review helpful

    Beware! Rip off that steals your money.

    • CA,
    • Dec 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I do not recommend! The worst company. I have been charged by them for one month service that I should never have been charged for. They were supposed to refund me and still over a week later they have not.

    I signed up for GB for the free 30 day trial and spent 2 hours picking out more than 30 items for my closet since I kept getting the notification saying I needed more items in my closet before they start processing my shipment. Then it took two weeks to get my first item. I signed up for 3 items per week. This was not 3 items per week. Then after 2 weeks 3 items came but when I returned it, it took another week before they sent me anything else. So I barely was able to try their clothing.

    The clothes they did send were either the wrong size from what I ordered or way too large or way too small. Some of the clothes were very worn and ratty. Before my 30 day trial was up I emailed them to ask if I could have another 30 days since I really didn't get to try their service. They denied me the extra time. I placed an order for their clothes they sell on sale and spent over 6 hours deciding what they had and what I wanted to order. I got an email confirming that I was charged and that they received my order.

    Thank you for placing your order with Gwynnie Bee Shop! This email is to confirm your recent order.

    Date 11/22/2016 Subtotal: $64.00 USD
    State Tax: $4.16 USD
    Shipping: $0.00 USD
    Total: $68.16 USD

    I also had to contact them because although I ordered a certain dress, in the email it had another dress.

    I then called and canceled my 30 day trial with them. They never informed me that doing so would cause any problems.

    Two days later I get an email stating that my order for the $68.16 had been canceled. I didn’t cancel it. I called them up and was told that since I canceled my 30 day membership trial they canceled my order. No one told me that. Yet they still charged me the next months membership. What a lie and rip off. When I canceled my account the money was then taken off my card. They still took the next months amount from my card and still have not refunded me that. They failed to send my clothes that I ordered and paid for. Do not shop with this company, it is a rip off and they lie to their customers. They take your money without your permission.

    The sizes are wrong, the items you want are never available and whatever they felt like sending me was horribly old fashion and excessively worn out. In addition when I called to ask how come I didn't get any bottoms I was always told they were in repair. So all I received were tops that I had no use for and that looked like my granny.

    REFUSED to do anything over the phone. I am STILL fighting with them to cancel the service. They had best not bill for the next month, or there is going to be problems. Calling them does not good whatsoever. Scam pure and simple! They claim subscriptions can be canceled at any time but that is a lie. I tried to cancel on Nov 21st and still they have not refunded me the money they stole from me. They claim they sent me a shirt that I never received. Even after I told them I never received the item they told me to return it. How the hell do I return something I never received?

    Clothes are trash & customer service sucks. I had to add a lot of crap that I didn't want in my closet just to get them to send me something. Everything I got was cheaply and poorly made. Half the time my stuff was delayed. Half the time it was so worn and had runs and marks on the clothes.

    1. Clothes are crap - they are cheaply made and don't run true to any size.

    2. Good luck canceling, it isn't going to happen. Canceled this, returned the clothes and still have not been refunded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 77 out 79 people found this review helpful

    They will cancel your order!

    If you purchase something in the Gwynnie Bee shop, your order will be canceled completely if you cancel your subscription.

    My mother had bought me three dresses from the Gwynnie Bee shop from my account, and I canceled my subscription two weeks later. The dresses were never sent, and they told me they only ship the orders when they ship the subscription. So they want you to pay them monthly just to buy clothes from the shop. They literally held my mom's money for two weeks with no intentions on sending it unless I paid them $100 for another month of service.

    Also, there were no warnings of any kind when checking out on the Gwynnie Bee shop page.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 60 out 63 people found this review helpful

    Not great

    • Michigan,
    • Feb 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This sounded like a great idea and I wanted to try this service. I selected some clothes I really wanted to try but never received them. Most of the items were sent back without ever wearing them. Then I was charged a day early for the service, and to cancel you must call in. Well, I now have to wait 7-10 days and then call back to receive my refund.

    Apparently, I have nothing but time and am in charge of my own customer service. I called a day early to cancel, but they charged me, and now I have to wait on my own money. I would never recommend this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Not happy at all

    • Missouri,
    • Mar 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Gwynnie Bee for two months. It was awful. One item arrived stained, one the wrong size, one I didn't even add to my list, and another looked like it had been run over by a truck before being shoved in a bag and shipped to me. They supposedly inspect each garment, but yeah, I don't think they do.

    They had a very limited selection of things that fit my personal style, and seriously, for the price for a few months you can buy a whole new wardrobe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 50 out 52 people found this review helpful

    They have an excuse for everything

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Apr 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a Gwynnie Bee subscriber for some time, and thus I am locked into a pretty low price, which is the only reason I keep dealing with them. They literally have an excuse for everything and nothing is ever their fault. I feel like someone could psychologically profile this company.

    I would never recommend it at the price level they are charging now. They are completely uninterested in customer satisfaction and retention. It is less irritating to go to the mall.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 55 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Do not try!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • May 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT try Gwynnie Bee!

    Don't fall for the free trial. I did the free trial and was not impressed. Clothes take forever to ship, so you only get one shipment a week. After the free trial was up I went to cancel my account. They talked me into continuing another month of my membership for a 50% discount to try them again, so I did.

    The clothes were very worn, with waistbands folded over from other people wearing them. Also, a lot of them looked nothing like the pictures online. They pin their clothes to the models so often the style isn't even the same as it looks online. With a lot of the clothes I got, the fabric was very cheap feeling and often the higher end brands I put in my closet I never got in the mail. I hated that you don't get to choose what you want to be sent to you; you just add items you like to your closet, and they send whatever is available, which will never be pieces that coincide with each other to make an outfit. It definitely felt like the less cute things by unknown brands were what was sent to me, and higher demand things are probably never available.

    Thus, after seeing no improvement the second month I tried them, I went to cancel my account and was charged another month because I couldn't get through to them in time. FYI, you can't cancel online. They only let you call to cancel and only during business hours. They are EST, and I am PST. So, their business hours are early in the day for me when I am at work. Very unreasonable that you cannot cancel by email or online. I have to take time out of my job to call this stupid place which is really frustrating. Their customer service is pretty much useless and nonexistent.

    Now onto the prices. The prices are insane! I had to pay $53.31 after tax for one item out at a time, which with slow shipping came down to one item a week. I could buy a whole new outfit with that and cuter clothes at other places I shop. The other plans go up to $69 for two items + tax and $95 for three items + tax.

    There is no freaking way this business is going to be around much longer unless someone else buys it and does a huge makeover on the business. Most likely some other company will just be better at what Gwynnie Bee is trying to attempt and put them out of business. Heed our advice ladies, and try somewhere else. Stitch Fix now has plus-size options, and it's only $20 to get five items personally styled for you, buy what you like and send back what you don't. Also, you can get boxes when you want them does not have to be reoccurring. Very convenient.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 58 out 59 people found this review helpful

    If they actually did what they promised, it would be good

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 3-item subscription for my wife for Christmas.

    At first, it was OK. She got a couple of sweaters she liked. Then, she got some stuff that was stained. Gross. They promote how much they check and clean the clothes, but that's all hype. Then a few months went by, and I hadn't seen my wife get any new clothes. I asked her, "What happened to Gwynnie Bee?" She said they had stopped sending her clothes. I checked my bank statements to find they were super-efficient at taking money from my account but had lost interest in actually providing the service.

    My wife called to find out what was wrong. They blamed my wife and said she didn't have enough clothes selected. They never notified her. They just stopped shipping clothes. Where I come from, there's a word for taking someone's money in exchange for nothing. It's called "stealing." I feel bad that my wife's present turned out to be a dud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money!

    I was very excited to try this, but ended very disappointed. First of all, you choose items, two of them arrive and for me out of two months worth of items. ONE actually fit correctly, and I was able to wear. All others were terrible or came damaged. When I say all others, there were only six items in two months!

    I would receive the items, try on and send back the same day. Complete the online saying they were sent back and wait usually 2-3 weeks or longer to receive another two! I tried to cancel my "membership," and it was one day after my 30-day trial. When I called, I was told if I canceled I could not receive anything or finish out the month I just paid for! They will not just close at the end of the month you paid for, ONLY on the DAY you contact them. So you risk having to pay for another month, or you throw away $69.00!

    Not a good business practice. Never heard of such a thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 220

Write a Review for Gwynnie Bee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review