About HD Free TV Antenna

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Nov 3, 2015

How would you like to save hundreds on your cable subscription?

HD Free TV Antenna can help by giving you access to broadcast TV, without worrying about contracts, fees, or price hikes. All you have to do is:

  1. Attach HD Free TV Antenna to any window, wall, door, or flat surface. The thin, low profile design makes it easy to conceal.
  2. Plug the antenna into your TV’s AUX/IN.
  3. Scan for channels and enjoy.

Once you’re up and running, HD Free TV Antenna will send an uncompressed, full 1080 picture to your television, which will allow you to watch sports, movies, races, news, and more. And because the HD Free TV Antenna is so easy to install, you can use the same one at the home or office—even on a boat!

On top of this, HD Free TV Antenna will pull signals in from all directions, giving you the ability to watch TV in any room of the house, without extra cable boxes and wires.

If you’re thinking about going cable-free, the thought of saving hundreds (or thousands) of dollars can seem tempting. But before deciding that HD Free TV Antenna is your best choice, let’s cover all the basics you’ll need to know.

First, let’s discuss exactly what you can expect out of HD Free TV Antenna.

What Kind of Content Can You Watch with HD Free TV Antenna?

HD Free TV Antenna’s manufacturer would like you to believe their product can help you “eliminate your cable bill without losing your favorite channels.” Is this really the case though?

First, a little back story:

Because of the Digital Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, all broadcast TV stations were required to begin transmitting digital (versus the old analog) signals as of February 17, 2009. In other words, if you watched TV using an old antenna (such as rabbit ears), you would have been required to purchase a new antenna that could pick up these new digital signals.

What’s all of this mean for you? The signals you pick up with your digital antenna are broadcasted for free from major networks (such as NBC, ABC, CBS, FOX, PBS, etc.), but you won’t be able to watch shows from “premium” cable channels such as HBO, TNT, Lifetime, Nickelodeon, and others. These always require a cable subscription.

So yes, if your favorite shows are on major networks, then HD Free TV Antenna can help you watch them. On the other hand, if your favorite shows are only found with a cable subscription, HD Free TV Antenna will not help you watch them once you’ve canceled your cable subscription.

Now that you understand which kinds of content you’ll get with HD Free TV Antenna, let’s talk about the quality.

What Kind of Picture Quality Will HD Free TV Antenna Provide?

When you watch shows with cable, the image you see on your TV first travels through the cable in your wall, and then into your cable box, after which it’s sent to your TV. This signal is compressed, which just means that its size is decreased, making it easier to transmit (i.e. it takes up less space).

However, although compressed signals are easier to transmit, they also lose a fair amount of quality by the time they reach you.

On the flip side, digital over-the-air signals remain uncompressed, which means that you can potentially receive a better picture than with cable using products like HD Free TV Antenna.

Pro tip: HD Free TV Antenna connects to your TV through the AUX/IN (the same place many cable boxed connect). In order to receive “true” HD quality images though, it would need to connect using an HDMI cable. So, in a very real way, HD Free TV Antenna will not provide true HD picture quality.

Regardless of the cables you use though, there are two primary factors that really define picture quality with products like HD Free TV Antenna:

  1. Your distance to the nearest broadcast tower, and
  2. If there are any obstacles between you and the tower, such as hills or mountains, trees, other buildings, and more.

To address this, HD Free TV Antenna’s manufacturer links to AntennaWeb.org and DTV.gov, where you’ll be able to check your distances and better gauge what kind of reception you can expect.

In many instances, customers for similar digital antennas have complained that they still didn’t get many (or any) channels, even though they were well within range of a tower.

Let’s talk more about these other options.

What Does HD Free TV Antenna’s Competition Look Like?

Perhaps the most popular “As Seen on TV” digital antenna currently on the market is Clear TV.

But it doesn’t stop there. Try typing “digital antenna” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll find dozens more essentially identical options to HD Free TV Antenna, many of which are priced about the same (more about this next).

Overall, Clear TV’s products had an average rating of 1.9 stars here on HighYa, based on nearly 600 reader reviews (as of 11/3/15). While many customers felt “scammed” because these antennas didn’t provide access to cable content (as we discussed above), many more complained of:

  • Failure to work (primarily, that they were unable to get more than a couple channels, and even those they could get were poor quality), and
  • Difficult customer service experiences (problems processing returns, unhelpful personnel, etc.).

Will you experience the same with HD Free TV Antenna? Since they’re made by different companies, there’s no way to know. But we’d certainly recommend keeping it in mind.

Speaking of which, let’s talk more about HD Free TV Antenna’s manufacturer, as well as the price.

HD Free TV Antenna’s Pricing & Manufacturer

The company website advertises one HD Free TV Antenna is free, but you will have to pay a $7.99 charge for S&H.

Should You Buy HD Free TV Antenna?

There are three primary parts you’ll need to free yourself from expensive cable, while still retaining access to many of your favorite programs:

  1. An internet connection,
  2. Hardware (including digital antennas), and
  3. Software (such as apps or online subscriptions).

Now, if you want to take a “bare bones” approach and save as much money as possible (e.g. not paying for a faster internet connection or purchasing other types of hardware), a digital antenna like HD Free TV Antenna might be a good choice. Just keep in mind that you may only get access to a handful of broadcast channels, and your picture quality might not be fantastic.

Regardless of the number of channels you get though, HD Free TV Antenna will not give you access to your favorite cable-only shows.

So, if you’re expecting HD Free TV Antenna to magically give you access to all your favorite cable content, but without paying an expensive monthly bill, you’re bound to be disappointed.

But if you understand that you might have to make some sacrifices in the content you receive (and/or are willing to round out your digital antenna with other hardware and software options), you might be pleased with HD Free TV Antenna.


Read 80 HD Free TV Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 38 4 star: 7 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 56% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 80
Sort reviews by:

  • HDTV must-have Antenna

    • By Dale D.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Mar 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is perfect for our HDTV, the antenna works and shows vivid and clear reception, and the movies we get are fantastic! My wife and I enjoy our product and thank you for our Entertainment Antenna.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazed on how many channels I could receive.

    • By Robert B.,
    • Arizona,
    • Mar 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I received the HDTV I wasn't sure if it would work. I connected it to the TV I had in my office and placed the receiver in the window. When I scanned the TV I was surprised how many channels I could pick up. Most of the channels I could pick up were clear.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent extra long wire so I could use the best window to receive the most channels

    • By Stephen R.,
    • Enfield, CT,
    • Mar 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Extra long wire so I could use the correct window. I received the most channels this way, other did not work. I would recommend this to others, I would buy a second one. I might cancel cable after buying this. I can watch 2 football games at the same time. This is a quality product, I can watch different channels that cable does not carry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Cut the cable

    • By Mont C.,
    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Mar 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was paying over $100 per month with less services than I could get with a simple antenna. The quality of the picture was mediocre with the cable service being interrupted occasionally. Service from the cable network was dismal and always at my expense. I like the quality of the picture I get with an antenna and stream all the stations that are missing. I am very happy with an antenna and wish I would have cut the cable a long time ago!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great improvement on my HDTV

    • By Mary A H.,
    • Caldwell, ID,
    • Mar 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    This antenna is a huge improvement over the older, heavier model. We receive many more clear channels and we are enjoying this greatly. I recommend it to anyone looking for a better, cheaper TV alternative.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product

    • By David M.,
    • North Wales, PA,
    • Mar 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    This antenna works perfectly. I have a different antenna for my TV upstairs which costs more money and this one gets more channels (29). I actually did better without the amplifier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Missing channels

    • By Rick T.,
    • Moravia, NY,
    • Feb 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, it all started when someone removed two channels from my Dish network service. It happens to be FOX/68 and 43 and we watch almost every night. That led us to HDTV antenna and we get a much better picture from it and it works very well. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Powerful unit

    • By John C.,
    • Brighton, IL,
    • Feb 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried two other free air antennas and did not receive anywhere near the channels I have with Free HDTV. I was lucky to pick up 8 channels before. Now with this Antenna I have a solid 27 channels crystal clear.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amplified digital indoor HDTV antenna

    • By Donald S.,
    • Jamestown, OH,
    • Feb 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hooked it up, it was really easy, ran the auto program on the TV, could not believe how many channels I could get, and the channels are crystal clear. I would recommend this antenna to everybody that is looking to save money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • HD Antenna

    • By Kelly V.,
    • Rochester, NY,
    • Feb 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two HD Antennas. I got tired of spending money on satellite and later on Spectrum cable. Multiple repeating channels. I went to Amazon and purchased two antennas. I get over twenty channels. Clear pictures. The best of all, it's FREE.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 1 step forward 2 steps back

    • By Steven B.,
    • Wilmington, NC,
    • Feb 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dish keeps raising my rates, nickel and diming me to death, now I'm one step closer to a full disconnect. I will save $12.00 a month by dropping the local channels. This HDTV Antenna gives me all the local channels and then some. Most local channels broadcast in HD and the picture quality is excellent. I do recommend this product for its value and picture quality.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 80

Write a Review for HD Free TV Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
HD Free TV Antenna