About HD Free TV Antenna

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Nov 3, 2015

How would you like to save hundreds on your cable subscription?

HD Free TV Antenna can help by giving you access to broadcast TV, without worrying about contracts, fees, or price hikes. All you have to do is:

  1. Attach HD Free TV Antenna to any window, wall, door, or flat surface. The thin, low profile design makes it easy to conceal.
  2. Plug the antenna into your TV’s AUX/IN.
  3. Scan for channels and enjoy.

Once you’re up and running, HD Free TV Antenna will send an uncompressed, full 1080 picture to your television, which will allow you to watch sports, movies, races, news, and more. And because the HD Free TV Antenna is so easy to install, you can use the same one at the home or office—even on a boat!

On top of this, HD Free TV Antenna will pull signals in from all directions, giving you the ability to watch TV in any room of the house, without extra cable boxes and wires.

If you’re thinking about going cable-free, the thought of saving hundreds (or thousands) of dollars can seem tempting. But before deciding that HD Free TV Antenna is your best choice, let’s cover all the basics you’ll need to know.

First, let’s discuss exactly what you can expect out of HD Free TV Antenna.

What Kind of Content Can You Watch with HD Free TV Antenna?

HD Free TV Antenna’s manufacturer would like you to believe their product can help you “eliminate your cable bill without losing your favorite channels.” Is this really the case though?

First, a little back story:

Because of the Digital Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, all broadcast TV stations were required to begin transmitting digital (versus the old analog) signals as of February 17, 2009. In other words, if you watched TV using an old antenna (such as rabbit ears), you would have been required to purchase a new antenna that could pick up these new digital signals.

What’s all of this mean for you? The signals you pick up with your digital antenna are broadcasted for free from major networks (such as NBC, ABC, CBS, FOX, PBS, etc.), but you won’t be able to watch shows from “premium” cable channels such as HBO, TNT, Lifetime, Nickelodeon, and others. These always require a cable subscription.

So yes, if your favorite shows are on major networks, then HD Free TV Antenna can help you watch them. On the other hand, if your favorite shows are only found with a cable subscription, HD Free TV Antenna will not help you watch them once you’ve canceled your cable subscription.

Now that you understand which kinds of content you’ll get with HD Free TV Antenna, let’s talk about the quality.

What Kind of Picture Quality Will HD Free TV Antenna Provide?

When you watch shows with cable, the image you see on your TV first travels through the cable in your wall, and then into your cable box, after which it’s sent to your TV. This signal is compressed, which just means that its size is decreased, making it easier to transmit (i.e. it takes up less space).

However, although compressed signals are easier to transmit, they also lose a fair amount of quality by the time they reach you.

On the flip side, digital over-the-air signals remain uncompressed, which means that you can potentially receive a better picture than with cable using products like HD Free TV Antenna.

Pro tip: HD Free TV Antenna connects to your TV through the AUX/IN (the same place many cable boxed connect). In order to receive “true” HD quality images though, it would need to connect using an HDMI cable. So, in a very real way, HD Free TV Antenna will not provide true HD picture quality.

Regardless of the cables you use though, there are two primary factors that really define picture quality with products like HD Free TV Antenna:

  1. Your distance to the nearest broadcast tower, and
  2. If there are any obstacles between you and the tower, such as hills or mountains, trees, other buildings, and more.

To address this, HD Free TV Antenna’s manufacturer links to AntennaWeb.org and DTV.gov, where you’ll be able to check your distances and better gauge what kind of reception you can expect.

In many instances, customers for similar digital antennas have complained that they still didn’t get many (or any) channels, even though they were well within range of a tower.

Let’s talk more about these other options.

What Does HD Free TV Antenna’s Competition Look Like?

Perhaps the most popular “As Seen on TV” digital antenna currently on the market is Clear TV, although the company also offers other models like Clear TV Black Box and Free TV Key by Clear TV.

But it doesn’t stop there. Try typing “digital antenna” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll find dozens more essentially identical options to HD Free TV Antenna, many of which are priced about the same (more about this next).

Overall, Clear TV’s products had an average rating of 1.9 stars here on HighYa, based on nearly 600 reader reviews (as of 11/3/15). While many customers felt “scammed” because these antennas didn’t provide access to cable content (as we discussed above), many more complained of:

  • Failure to work (primarily, that they were unable to get more than a couple channels, and even those they could get were poor quality), and
  • Difficult customer service experiences (problems processing returns, unhelpful personnel, etc.).

Will you experience the same with HD Free TV Antenna? Since they’re made by different companies, there’s no way to know. But we’d certainly recommend keeping it in mind.

Speaking of which, let’s talk more about HD Free TV Antenna’s manufacturer, as well as the price.

HD Free TV Antenna’s Pricing & Manufacturer

One HD Free TV Antenna will cost you $10 plus $5.99 S&H, and you can purchase a second at checkout for an additional $5.99 S&H.

All HD Free TV Antennas come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H.

Did you purchase the BOGO offer? This means you might lose twice as much in S&H by the time you ship your antennas back to the manufacturer!

Nonetheless, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Inventel’s customer service department at 973-531-4421.

Inventel is an up-and-coming ASOTV manufacturer who makes many other popular products, including DashCam Pro, Gripeez, Liberty Lantern, and more.

These products had an average rating of 2 stars here on HighYa at the time of our research, and complaints closely mirrored those found with other ASOTV products: failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and less-than-stellar customer service.

Again, we’re not saying this is what you’ll experience with HD Free TV Antenna, but it’s definitely worth noting.

Now, let’s bring it home, shall we?

Should You Buy HD Free TV Antenna?

As we detailed in our Updated Guide To Cutting the Cord, there are three primary parts you’ll need to free yourself from expensive cable, while still retaining access to many of your favorite programs:

  1. An internet connection,
  2. Hardware (including digital antennas), and
  3. Software (such as apps or online subscriptions).

Now, if you want to take a “bare bones” approach and save as much money as possible (e.g. not paying for a faster internet connection or purchasing other types of hardware), a digital antenna like HD Free TV Antenna might be a good choice. Just keep in mind that you may only get access to a handful of broadcast channels, and your picture quality might not be fantastic.

Regardless of the number of channels you get though, HD Free TV Antenna will not give you access to your favorite cable-only shows.

So, if you’re expecting HD Free TV Antenna to magically give you access to all your favorite cable content, but without paying an expensive monthly bill, you’re bound to be disappointed.

But if you understand that you might have to make some sacrifices in the content you receive (and/or are willing to round out your digital antenna with other hardware and software options), you might be pleased with HD Free TV Antenna.

Before you go: Be sure to tell us about your HD Free TV Antenna experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 62 HD Free TV Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 44% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 62
Sort reviews by:

  • Digital HDTV Antenna

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The picture is just as good as cable if not better. I get all the local channels and the signal is great! I have a smart TV and get Netflix and Amazon Prime TV, so ditched cable to save money and glad I did!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Worth the price.

    • Baldwinsville, NY,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Installed in my basement "Ham Shack." It doubled my older window antenna. Picture reception is incredible. The nearest city is Syracuse about 20 miles away. Only negative is I can't get the Fox channels. Still very happy with the product. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Owner

    • 935 Garcia st,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love it, thank so much, this is the best thing that could have happened to our family, thank you sirs. It works great and we don't need a bill from the cable company, we've never been so happy. So keep the good work helping families like mine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    How my new TV is operating with my HD Fee TV Antenna.

    • Quincy, MA,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a new HD TV Set from my family. I cannot say the picture is 100% perfect. When I first received it, I noticed the signal would go in a little bit on the picture. This didn't last long and was occasional. However, I do get an excellent picture on this HD TV Set. As far as this occasional problem, I haven't noticed it happening as of late.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I love it.

    • Illinois,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received the antenna. I love it. I live in a high rise building on the 5th floor. I get a lot of channels. I would recommend to everyone. My sister is going to get one. I like it better than cable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The best antenna

    • Virginia,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a very good investment, the pictures are very clear, and the price is very affordable, thank you very much, but please send me the free one. Another thing, there are no monthly fees.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Works great

    • Illinois,
    • Apr 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased an antenna for my 82-year-old sweetheart and she just loves it. Also, no more high cable bills to pay. This one of the best things that have happened to us seniors. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • My HD Free TV Antenna experience

    • Pearland, TX,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had tired of spending so much each month on the basic Direct TV and not enjoying the selections provided. I had heard from my daughter her experience with her new Free HDTV Antenna and decided it was time to cut the cord with AT&T and try this new style antenna out for myself.

    The online experience to purchase this product was a breeze and I was amazed at the free shipping offer. Then when the package arrived in a couple of days...well I wasted no time opening it up and checking out the instructions on how to install it. The instructions were simple and within ten minutes my TV was searching for the channels available in my area.

    We are now saving on the satellite bill while still enjoying HDTV.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great antenna for HDTV

    • Neoga, IL,
    • Apr 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received our antenna, we were surprised at how easy it was to install. I turned it on to scan and got 15 channels, with the antenna hanging in the window. The closest TV station is 23 miles from us, the furthest is 139 miles from us that we pick up. All 15 channels are super clear. GREAT ANTENNA. I would recommend to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Better than I had expected

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    give this one a 5 star. i had purchased antennas before and had to return them because they were practically useless.this one gives me chrsytal clear pictures across all received channels .yes i would recommend to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I give my antenna a 5

    • New York City, NY,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried other HD antennas before, they did not work too good, but now I have the perfect one. I have friends who I told about it go and buy one. Every channel that I watch comes in nice and clear.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 62

Write a Review for HD Free TV Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review