About Hint Water

Founded by Kara Goldin in 2004, Hint Water is a line of all-natural, unsweetened, ultra-pure water that’s infused with a variety of natural fruit flavors, and is made without sugar, diet sweeteners, preservatives, calories, trace minerals, or GMO ingredients. On top of this, Hint Water is vegan and gluten free.

In other words, Hint Water is claimed to contain nothing but natural fruit oils and essences, all of which are extracted using various combinations of pressing, heating, cooling, filtering, and dissolving. And if you need a little carbonation in your day, there’s even a version called Hint Fizz to satisfy your cravings.

Because of this, Hint Water is claimed to be a healthy, sugar free drink alternative to sodas that tastes great without tasting sweet, so you can stay hydrated without worrying about calories or diet sweeteners.

Whether you’re diabetic, pregnant, have a gastrointestinal issue, or simply can’t stand the taste of plain water but are focused on your health, is Hint Water the right healthy choice for you? Consider the following:

Why Does Hint Pasteurize Their Water?

According to Hint Water’s FAQ, “Purification systems vary depending on the type of water available at each bottler. Techniques can include reverse-osmosis, de-ionization and ultra-violet purification before adding flavors. As a final step, Hint Water is pasteurized.” But what does this mean?

At its most basic, pasteurization is a process that involves heating a liquid to a high enough temperature, so that any disease-causing organisms it contains are killed by exposure, thereby making it safe to drink.

While you’ve almost certainly heard about pasteurization related to milk products, the fact is that most bottle water manufacturers also pasteurize their products for safety. However, keep in mind that pasteurizing water also kills many of the “good” organisms often found water, so this might mean that you’re also missing out on some of the benefits.

Similar Options to Hint Water

Also, keep in mind that fruit-infused water is nothing new, which means that there are dozens of other products available similar to Hint Water. Granted, some of these may use artificial sweeteners or include sugar in their formulas, but the point is that you have options.

In fact, if you’re looking to save money while formulating your own unique flavor profiles, you can create fruit-infused water at home for a fraction of the cost of Hint Water. In fact, you can even add carbonation for your own version of Hint Fizz.

In order to see for yourself, type in the phrase “fruit infused water” or “DIY fruit water” into your favorite search engine.

Do Customers Like Hint Water?

There were more than 7,400 customer reviews featured on Hint Water’s website at the time of our research, with an average rating of 5 stars. There, common compliments appeared to revolve around the great taste, lack of sugar and other added ingredients, and that it helps reduce (or eliminate) soda consumption.

There were also 872 Amazon customer reviews for Hint Water’s Blackberry flavor, with an average rating of 4.1 stars. While many of the compliments mirrored those found on Hint’s website, complaints also included reduced quality compared to original batches, a “chemical” taste, and even some complaints that the water had gone bad (e.g. a “rancid” taste). Several customers also stated that they contacted the company for a resolution, but didn’t receive a response.

From a company perspective, Hint Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA, although they weren’t listed with the Better Business Bureau. With this said, Kara Goldin took Hint Water from a small startup in her garage to a $30 million per year business in the span of a decade, so the company’s story has been featured in a variety of popular publications, including Forbes, Fast Company, The Wall Street Journal, and many others.

Hint Water Pricing & Refund Policy

Hint Water is available only in 16oz bottles, and Hint Fizz in 16.9oz bottles, which are priced as follows (directly through the company):

  • 12 bottles of Hint Water: $16-$18
  • 12 bottles of Hint Fizz: $18
  • 60 bottles of Hint Water: $80
  • 120 bottles of Hint Water or Hint Fizz: $160

Keep in mind that Hint Water offers a subscription service named Club Hint that will provide you with regular shipments of the product of your choice. There, you can choose which products you’d like to receive, how much you want, and how often you’d like to receive them, and your subscription can be paused or cancelled at any time. Upon enrollment, you’ll receive the following benefits:

  • 10% off each order
  • Free shipping on 3 or more cases.
  • Early access to new flavors
  • … and more.

While no refunds are available for purchases made directly through Hint Water, you can alter or cancel your subscription plan via your account dashboard, by using the online contact form, or by emailing hello@drinkhint.com

Finally, keep in mind that Hint Water is available through several national retailers, including Whole Foods and Safeway. To find a store in your area that carries Hint Water, be sure to visit their Store Locator page.

Is Hint Water a Tasty, Healthy Choice?

Chopping to the point: Overall, it seems that most customers who try Hint Water enjoy the experience, so it’s likely that you will too. And it’s also positive that Hint Water contains nothing except pure water and natural fruit infusions.

However, keep in mind that everyone has their own taste preferences, so what you might find to be the best taste on the planet someone else might find to be awful.

As such, we might recommend purchasing a single bottle of Hint Water or Hint Fizz from a local retailer in order to try it out. Then, if you like the taste, you can purchase greater quantities directly from the company.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

46 Consumer Reviews for Hint Water

Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 18 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  15
Showing 1-11 of 46
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Hydrating

    • Camarillo, CA,
    • Oct 8, 2015

    My first experience was on a hot summer day, grabbing a bottle of Blackberry Hint at Starbucks. That was all it took and I was hooked! I've been ordering cases, adding a variety of flavor's from their website monthly.

    One year later, I'm always hydrated, drinking at least four 16oz bottles a day and have lost 17 pounds.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • Orange County, CA,
    • Apr 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I moved from "healthy" juices and diet sodas to Hint Water. I've noticed a difference in how good my body feels moving away from sugars and artificial sweeteners. Hint is exactly as it's name says, just a "hint" of flavor. So if you're looking for something sweet, this is not it. If you're looking to be healthy but are bored with chugging plain water, Hint and Hint Fizz are the way to go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Taste great!

    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My family is loving this water! I happened upon it at an "Amish food store" while waiting for another store to open, and I have gone back twice just for that.

    Blackberry by is my favorite, while others in the family prefer the apple. Although it tastes great, I wouldn't spend the $22 every two days for a twelve pack that it cost at our store. It is a great alternative to the other bottled waters you may be reaching for while in the store.

    Overall, I'll grab it on the go, but at home, we will stick to our fresh fruit infused water that is always on hand in the refrigerator.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    It's a yes for me!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jan 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband is the type that just cannot drink something without flavoring when he is eating, so finding healthy drink alternatives to water (he thinks tea and coffee taste like dirt) is always a struggle in our house. Hint Water was recommended to me on a "try this not that" list on one of my favorite websites and I figured (shrug) why not?

    I picked up a few flavors at the Whole Foods and OMG, from the first of gulp of the Watermelon flavor, I was hooked! My husband, on the other hand, hated them. We have since tried several flavors, and the only one I don't care for is the Pomegranate. He didn't like any of them, claiming they tasted "chemically." Just goes to show how everyone is different.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Five stars

    • Cary, NC,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the BEST tasting sugar-free and sweetener-free water on the market by far!

    It' really is addictive, but that's a good thing. All of the flavors taste true to the labeled fruit, and I've finally found a water that I completely enjoy and that is also giving me proper hydration.

    I love, love, love Hint Water!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Freshness at its best!

    • Sioux Falls, SD,
    • Mar 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hint Water is the best fruit infused water I have ever tasted; I've tasted most of them. There is no horrid aftertaste, and it is not sickeningly sweet; most waters cannot claim to be all that. Pineapple is my favorite so far. I love Hint water!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 12, 2018

      Rose

      Don't try it, it is too expensive. Save your money. It has a plastic aftertaste, which is pretty weird. Take a bottled reverse osmosis water and add of lemon, lime, orange or juice to it, the taste is much better. The ingredients say purified water. Purified water from where? Blood orange and other natural flavors from non-GMO plants? What plants? Not from fruits? People, read the ingredients and fine print before you buy these products.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Great drink

    Hint is non-carbonated, full of flavor, has no sugar or artificial sweeteners, and is a total thirst-quencher. I used to make my own fruit-infused drinks. However, using fresh fruit, only to discard it after using it for its flavor, became quite expensive. Hint actually saves me money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I love it!

    • Marion, SC,
    • Jan 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this little jewel on a shelf in Bi-Lo grocery store as I was looking for something other than plain water. I have completely forgone soda, juice and artificially sweetened drinks and flavorings.

    Hint is exactly what the name suggests; there is a hint of flavor that tickles your taste buds without the use of sugar or sugar substitute. I have not had any of the negative experiences that I have read about in this review, but, I do know that everyone's taste buds are different and that also varies by age so that would explain a few of the comments that suggest they taste no flavor at all. I love the variety of flavors and will continue to buy it.

    Thanks Hint for making something different and accomplishing the zero sweetener flavoring!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Very refreshing

    Absolutely a great alternative to sugar drinks. It is not in all stores or easy to find. Also, it is way OVERPRICED for water! Tea in a bottle costs less than this. I would like to buy it, but not for $1.50 - $2.00 a bottle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I love Hint!

    • New York,
    • Feb 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't know what some people are talking about! I love Hint! My fav is watermelon, and I have 4 cases of it in my house right now. I also like the pineapple and cherry, but besides watermelon, I don't drink the rest. But it doesn't leave any bad aftertaste, and I don't know what else to say, I simply love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Finally a fruit-enhanced water

    • Edison, NJ,
    • Feb 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Years ago I tried a water similar to Hint called LeNatures. The company went out of business, and I have been searching for a similar product. I did not want a sweetened/artificially sweetened water. I wanted just what LeNatures was, a fruit-enhanced water without carbonation. I found it on Peapod, tried it and now order it directly from the company. For me, it is well worth the money. My favorite is the raspberry enhanced variety.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 46

Write a Review for Hint Water!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review