Kokoon Headphones Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Kokoon Headphones

Overall Rating

3.9

121 Customer Reviews

Summary

Kokoon Headphones feature three layers of noise protection, proprietary FlexMould Technology, and app connectivity to help you relax and sleep better. Learn what customers are saying about this product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.9 Stars out of 121 Reviews
5 Star:63% 4 Star:11% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:21%
75% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Kokoon Headphones:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Oct 6, 2019

Amazing product worth the wait

By Tom D., Dallas, TX, Verified Reviewer

The headphones are much better than expected. I realized they took longer to make, but they fixed issues, redesigned the headphones, and took great lengths to do it right. They are very comfortable to wear and the sound is amazing. The apps included with the headphones are relaxing, soothing, and easy to use. I love the headphones and am very glad I own them. When I travel, they are the first items in my backpack.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 8, 2019

Pleased with the purchase!

By Stephanie L., County (optional), Verified Reviewer

I've had my Kokoon for a few weeks now and think it's excellent:

(1) The audio content on the app is great...whoever they have doing the voiceover works perfectly for me. He has a slow soothing voice and constantly pauses; I often drift to sleep during these pauses. My main request (which I have sent to the company) is that they add some audio content longer than 20 minutes. The 20-minute segments are perfect if I'm already relaxed or looking to take a nap, but if I'm super stressed about falling asleep, I need slightly longer content (maybe 30-40 minutes).

(2) The headphones are comfortable, and work well for me as a back sleeper.

(3) The sensors seem to do a good job of detecting when I fall asleep.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 15, 2019

Useful product for a lifelong battle

By Guy B., Madrid, Spain, Verified Reviewer

I struggle with insomnia waking up during the night and struggling to get to sleep. I've been into sleep clinics and tried all kinds of things to help. I've genuinely found these very useful. It took some time to adjust too but I've found them a lot less pressurized way to sleep if that makes sense. I have seen some real improvements in my sleep and whilst I still have issues they've become a bit of a safety blanket I can use when I'm struggling.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 21, 2019

Block out my husband's snoring

By Anna B., Washington, DC, Verified Reviewer

These headphones were the first to completely block out my husband's snoring, which improved my sleep quality. They are very comfortable for sleeping. I was frustrated with how long they took to receive, but now that I have them, I like them a lot. They didn't seem to block out background noise on a plane as well as my Bose headphones, so I won't be taking them on a plane - unless I didn't use them correctly. But they are great for sleeping.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2019

Tremendous sleep aid

By Andreas F., London, England, Verified Reviewer

These headphones have saved my sleep! Love the feel and the app with the programs. A soothing and easy to use/listen too. Quality is great and my kids have yet to destroy them (says a lot!). Used daily; I’m very happy with the durability and quality of their first product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2019

Wonderful Headphones with Unique Features and Ergonomic Form

By Martin V., Whitstable, Kent, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I received my special Kickstarter edition Kokoons earlier this year and have been using them since for numerous international trips on flights and in hotels.

Simply nothing else out there comes close to what these headphones can do for you and how much: way beyond just the noise-canceling aspects, the sleep monitoring tech and ambient sounds and relaxing techniques are wonderful.

The comfort is second to none, even for many many hours of use and nothing else out there can enable one to wear and get comfortable even lying horizontally on a pillow as these do!

I have used them on so many night flights now and had the best sleep possible every time as well as using them for media beforehand and after.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2019

Bottom line: it works (and works very well)

By Bobby A., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

I will address the delays later in this review, as those are much less important than relevant Kickstarter campaign questions like "Did it actually ship?"

The Kokoon shipped. And it does exactly what I wanted it to do.

The build quality of the product is very good. Seams and textures are quite good, and the tactile nature of the buttons are great. I might not have placed the buttons where they did, but they don't bother me, as I don't use them often. Battery life is excellent - so much so that I don't really think about it.

The appearance (I received the Kickstarter Green/Black model) is sleek and professional. Form factor is as good as can be, IMO - I can imagine it took quite a bit of engineering to get all the necessary electronics in a slim profile. While as a side sleeper, I wish it were even more slim (more on that below), it is still very good.

The sound quality is good, not great - but I would assume that is due to a lack of profile space to put larger drivers in. There is still a negligible level of bass in these cans, all things considered. I would like to see an EQ in the app someday.

Now, the important stuff:

The comfort level is wonderful. As a side sleeper, I had my doubts whether this would work or not; if it would be just too bulky or awkward. It took a night or two, but now sleeping with these on is as cool as the other side of the pillow (as the kids say nowadays).

The functionality is, after admittedly a bit of a delay, wonderful. It does exactly what I want - tracks the quality of my sleep and reports at the end of my slumber. The info is very useful, and it becomes a game to see how high I can score (which, of course, is a huge positive! Anything that helps you to sleep and sleep better is a huge plus in my book). Now, it will do the tracking without having to listen to the app's program soundtrack; while the included soundtracks are well done, high quality and very useful, I seem to sleep better listening to political podcasts...go ahead and make sense of that! Now, with the firmware and app updates, I can do just that.

Overall, this is a fine piece of engineering. Yes, it was delayed. Yes, it angered KS backers (for what reason, I'll never understand, this isn't life-saving medical equipment, for Pete's sake - it's a luxury item built from the ground up). I am sure that Tim and Kokoon learned many valuable lessons from the situation. One thing that came from the delay was a better product, and in the end, that's all that really matters.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2019

Fantastic product, service, and potential

By Jeremy S., St. Cloud, MN, Verified Reviewer

TL; DR:

The headphones are comfortable, innovative, and sound amazing. The support team is responsive, empowered, and helpful.

Their plans for features and firmware updates are exciting and interesting.

First of all, I was attracted to the Kokoon Headphones during their Kickstarter phase for two main reasons: 1) I have difficulty falling asleep 2) I've always heard that Bluetooth headphones are terrible sounding. I saw an opportunity to address the sleep issue and see what a pair of headphones built from the ground-up for Bluetooth could do.

A side reason, and a reason for every project I back on Kickstarter, is to help make a product/company successful. After a product catches my eye and I back it, this reason becomes my focus; delays, refinements, alterations...they all come with the territory for me. Yes, Kokoon took longer than expected to arrive, and I'm glad because the final product is better than I expected.

The sound is amazing, which crushed my #2 reason above. Within the first week I had them I listened to two albums; one I'd listened to many times and one I'd been waiting for until I had high-quality hardware to experience it through. I heard nuances I'd never picked up before from the former, and the latter was amazing.

The most recent version of the app/firmware makes using them while falling asleep easy and effective. Through sleep tracking in the EEG sensors, the app has determined the effectiveness of various audio tracks on helping me, personally, get to sleep. I toss and turn a lot regardless of environment, but the headphones are designed to be able to stay on the head and provide airflow as well as comfort. Checkmark on reason #1.

The other pieces of the overall product I like to consider is customer service and future plans. For Kokoon, the customer service is TOP NOTCH. They're friendly, helpful, and empowered. I, unfortunately, did get one of the units with the sub-standard arm parts, and when I reached out to them with my situation, I had a shipping label within 24 hours. Manufacturer defects happen but Kokoon made sure they had a solution in place to address them.

Some of the future ideas I'm excited about are REM-detected alarms, music suggestions based on EEG response, and new products in general from Kokoon.

I have no reservations about a 5-star review, nor for recommending this product to friends.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2019

Long haul bliss

By Bronnie L., Christchurch, New Zealand, Verified Reviewer

I waited a while for my Kokoons, but oh how good they are! I travel long haul from New Zealand to North America and the UK, there's nothing like being able to sit back, relax and enjoy a 17-hour flight with noise-canceling super comfortable low-profile headphones that have their own music but also Bluetooth to every other device.

I am in love with them, and I've used them now for enough flights to be ready to fight tooth and nail if anyone else tries to get their grubby mitts on them - they're MINE!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 4, 2019

Excellent noise-reduction headphones

By Ian M., Gloucester, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

As a frequent traveler having over 50 flights a year the Kokoon headphones are a godsend, allowing me to relax and block out the noise in the cabin. They are great to wear and their shape means that when you rest against the seat it doesn’t feel uncomfortable like with my Bose QC35’s. Yes the wait for them was long but I’ve been involved with product development for the past 15 years and I know projects get delayed as you want to launch the best product possible and this can lead to unplanned delays. Try the Kokoon Headphones, you will NOT be disappointed.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 5, 2019

I can't do without my Kokoon anymore.

By Cecotti C., Brussels, Belgium, Verified Reviewer

I mainly use it for listening podcasts in my bed (or when I am traveling by train), not music or "sounds" with the app, only podcasts. Listening people talking about an interesting subject is my thing. It helps me to relax and to find sleep. So the design is perfect for me because I sleep on my belly. It is more than comfortable to really forget it and fall asleep with it or to put it off just before. The quality of the sound is really good for podcasts and music. The battery time is also quite good. The hardware design and the materials are the strongest quality of Kokoon. It's an impressive industrial design. High quality. Best in class. The app does also the job. I am not a big fan of sleep tracking apps but it helps times to times to see the results of a good or bad night. I will pay more attention to the functionalities and evolutions.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 6, 2019

The first great headphone that is good for sleep

By Ip K., Hong Kong, China, Verified Reviewer

First of all, I think this is the first headphone that is good for sleep time to wear, because sleep time to wear famous music headphones like SONY MDR-1R/BOSE QC35 is very difficult to sleep since the ear cover size is very big and feel unwell.

For Kokoon, the size of the ear-cup cover can all cover my ear and very soft, wear on it is very comfortable when sleeping time.

Also, the headphone has an auto audio fade-out function, and the EEG sensor will detect user sleep level, you can see the data via Kokoon apps.

The Kokoon app's library has many audio resources, such as white noise, brown noise, beach waves you can listen to.

I would like to choose brown noise to start my sleep journey.

Moreover, this headphone is better for people have hyperacusis (small level), my ears are very sensitive to the audio/music/noise, wearing the headphone on my ears can solve this problem.

For the improvement of this headphone, I think is Kokoon apps can have more compatibility with outsourced audio, I like to make audio recording for my listening, if the apps can work with offline music player like "foobar2000", SONY "WALKMAN" player, apps is better, I like to listen my audio then online music such as YouTube.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 12, 2019

Perfect relaxation - helps me to sleep and escape

By Vassilis S., Bristol, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have been using the Kokoon Headphones for over a year now nearly daily. Initially, I bought them as a way to help me sleep as I was suffering from insomnia during a rather stressful period of my life. They worked like a charm and from day one (or shall I say night one!) I was able to fall asleep within minutes.

Since then I have been using them a lot as high-end headphones for their excellent noise-cancellation ability. I have tested different types of music and sounds and I discovered what works for me in different circumstances i.e. when I want to fall asleep, just relax, or be energized in the gym.

So today, my Kokoon Headphones together with my Samsung Smartphone are my life's companions!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 25, 2019

Had my doubts, but Kokoon erased them

By Henry J., Winnetka, CA, Verified Reviewer

I was very excited when I first heard of these headphones for sleep. I had my doubts to start but having sleep difficulties for many years I was willing to try anything. I had difficulties getting my headphones to connect to Bluetooth to start but customer service was very responsive and I discovered that the difficulties were at my end and there was nothing wrong with the headphones whatsoever. I have found that they help me to get to sleep quite easily and they even cancel out my neighbor's annoying barking dog. This is the real deal and I recommend Kokoon without reservations.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 25, 2019

Kokoon Headphones work very well

By Alan T., Sarasota, FL, Verified Reviewer

All the waiting really paid off. The headphones are extremely comfortable, I often forget I am wearing them. I’ve found several music/sound combinations that help me fall asleep quickly and deeply. Could not ask for more. Great product. I appreciate the continuing product support.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 27, 2019

Finally I can sleep

By Andrew P., Singapore, Verified Reviewer

These headphones managed to save my nights. Now I can sleep. Before, even the tiniest sounds would wake me. But I can wear the Kokoons, turn on some white noise or other ambient sounds, and drift off to sleep.

I love them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 28, 2019

Worth the wait and the price

By David N., Temecula, CA, Verified Reviewer

I’ll be honest, I was frustrated by the delay in receiving my Kokoon Headphones. I didn’t think they’d ever arrive. However, patience paid off - these headphones are amazing! I’m falling asleep faster, staying asleep longer and experiencing better sleep overall. The quality of the headphones is excellent. They are extremely comfortable and the supporting app is outstanding. I like all the options for layered sounds and fade out to white noise feature. If you have trouble with sleep - these may be the answer. Worth the wait and worth the price.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 4, 2019

Sleep better

By Marije P., Amsterdam, Netherlands, Verified Reviewer

With my Kokoon Headphones, I sleep so much better and wake up more rested.

It had adjusted to the headphone in a couple of days. But now it’s not bothering me anymore to have something on my ears at night.

For me, it’s so nice to have an option if I wake up from my partner's snoring of road noise.

I really like the different white noise options and the rain option (maybe because I am from the Netherlands).

Overall I use, and like, my Kokoon Headphones.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 11, 2019

Highly recommended

By Iana T., Madrid, Spain, Verified Reviewer

The Kokoon Headphones could definitely be one of the best investments in your health. To be honest, I didn’t know before using them how to fall asleep just in a few seconds. They fantastically isolate outside noise allowing me to disconnect and relax. I also use them while taking a nap. After using them for 2 weeks, I have noticed that the quality of my sleep has improved significantly and, as a consequence, the quality of my life. As a bonus, the headphones have an elegant and appealing design. They are exceptionally comfortable so you don’t even notice you have them on!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 25, 2020

Does the job!

By Vincent J., Quebec, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Really efficient and comfortable headphones during sleep, even for a side sleeper. Makes a huge difference during the night, blocking unwanted noises. Overall very happy with the purchase!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jun 22, 2020

Amazing...changes my life

By Rachael P., Sydney, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I have always had trouble sleeping but since wearing these headphones I am now sleeping a third of the night heavy, a third REM, and a third light. I wake up feeling refreshed and sleep the whole night which I have never done in my life! I also no longer get woken up constantly by my partner's snoring. These headphones have changed my life and my relationship. They are amazing! I have never slept better.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Comfort

The thought that has gone into the app

Design

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jun 22, 2020

Great for learning how to slow down

By David O., Birmingham, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The guided meditation sessions are excellent in transitioning to sleep. The app needs some work for iOS, it can stop uploading data.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The considered design

The customer service

Great product

Small company, difficult to perfect the product

The price

Posted on Jul 10, 2020

Undisturbed sleep!

By Jaimee T., Perth, Western Australia, Australia, Verified Reviewer

Definitely recommend these headphones! They are so effective in keeping out disturbances at night, I am able to go to bed super early and not be disturbed by my housemates. I love the music they have on the app, it is so relaxing. There are some great guided programs as well. I go to sleep so fast when I have them on. I also wear them when I get headaches/migraines to soften the noise around me. You definitely need to give it a few weeks of wearing them to bed as they can be a bit uncomfortable at first and your ears can get sore when the headphones move in the night. I find it really helpful to wear the eye mask over the top which holds them in place and also sends me to sleep faster, keeping the light out as well. I will note that the sleep tracking has not been completely accurate for me, but customer service have advised that it becomes more accurate with time. Overall definitely worth the purchase!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Nov 1, 2018

Finally received mine

By Magnus A., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I finally received my headphones after a long wait, and they are really cool. They fit well, the sound is really good, and so far the EEG sensors seem accurate. They are quite big and reasonably heavy, so not the most comfortable headphones to wear when running about town, but in bed they are great.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thank you Magnus!

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2018

Long time coming

By Alex A., Midlands, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

As others have said, this product was quite delayed, to say the least! I ordered from Kickstarter several years ago, and finally received my headphones in November.

I've used them for a while, and in fairness, they are great, easily the most comfortable headphones I've used. They also come with an app, I've seen the app updated a couple of times, and it has some good content in there. They've been helping me relax quite effectively.

I have to take one star off because no one should have to wait that long for a product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi Alex. Thanks for your review, sorry we kept you waiting, but great to hear you're enjoying Kokoon.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2019

Excellent headphones

By Gerald T., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I backed this product on Kickstarter. Took forever. But they did finally arrive just in time for Christmas and I've been enjoying them since. Very comfortable. Definitely worth a go.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thank you Gerald!

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 20, 2019

Update 8/15/2019

By Rose V., New Orleans, LA, Verified Reviewer

After writing the review below, Kokoon responded very quickly and sent me an email clarifying the situation. At the moment, Kokoon doesn't have service centers in many countries including the USA and so, until they do, they are covering the shipping charges for headphones returned for repair. This makes me a much more satisfied customer, and so I've upped my star rating.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 55-81 of 121

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.