MicroTouch Solo Reviews

MicroTouch Solo

Overall Rating

1.4

66 Customer Reviews

Summary

The MicroTouch Solo is a combination trimmer, shaver, and edger that claims to be able to groom with micro precision providing an all-in-one grooming solution in the process. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.4 Stars out of 66 Reviews
5 Star:4% 4 Star:1% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:6% 1 Star:83%
8% Recommend This Product
Start your review of MicroTouch Solo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 15, 2021

Wasted gift

By Jay G., Butte, MT, Verified Reviewer

It was advertised to be superior to using the shave cream method. My son only uses it for trimming his beard. It doesn't charge for very long. The head pivots real flimsy. Shipping costs the most and takes 8-10 weeks. I read product reviews from customers before any purchase now.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price

Commercial

No shave cream required

Flimsy blade head

Charge time

Poor quality

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 27, 2021

Bad product

By Kevin W., Orlando, FL, Verified Reviewer

I purchased this product thinking it was a great item. I have had issues with it since my purchase. This razor at times will not shut off and you have to let the charge run out to turn it off. I also have issues when it does recharge - the razor will not turn on at all. Today happens to be that day. It just will not work. I called customer care and spoke with Brian who stated the product is under warranty for 30 days, and wouldn't you know, it stopped working after that 30-day period. This is a horrible product and the company does not stand behind what they sell. Please, please, please don't spend your hard-earned money on this, continue to buy the type of razors you have for years. MicroTouch Solo is a piece of crap.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Doesn't turn on and off

Not as close a shave as advertised

Company will not back product

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2021

Piece of junk!

By George N., Sunrise, FL, Verified Reviewer

The clip came off when I trimmed my mustache and damaged my mustache hair to a bald spot. This happened to me twice.

It's a piece of junk made in China. Don't recommend it!

The clip doesn't stay on to the trimmer. It falls off!

My old Wahl clipper works better than this junk.

I wasted my $19.99 plus shipping on this product that stinks! I would give no stars for this horrible product! I'm very sorry I bought this.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The clip falls off when trimming.

Made in China

Poorly made, junk

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 4, 2021

Does not last

By Thomas S., Crossville, TN, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a Solo shaver at Walmart probably 3 months ago. I thought the shave was OK although not quite as close as I expected from the advertisements. I do not use the shaver every day so after about three months I had to recharge the shaver for about the third time but the battery would not charge. I am disappointed that the shaver did not last any longer than 2 charging cycles.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use on sometimes hard to get to areas

No longevity, mine is worthless after two recharges

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 25, 2020

Never worked out of the box

By Tim B., Blossburg, PA, Verified Reviewer

Would have taken it back to the store but I destroyed the packaging. Glad I got it on sale for $11. I did try it on the cord, which is short. Didn’t cut very well.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The looks

That it doesn’t work

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2020

Not a good thing for the market, taste it before sending to the consumers

By Sarah T., Kyaliwajjala, Kampala, Uganda, Verified Reviewer

It's the worst electronic I have ever purchased online. I didn't get the value of my money, just after using it once it blacked out.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

I wasted my money

I don't recommend anyone to buy it, please, if you want something with value for money, the worst thing

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 26, 2020

It's pathetic

By Alan S., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

I bought this after seeing a TV ad and without checking out reviews - wished I had. It doesn't even remove stubble.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Doesn't do what it is meant to do

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 27, 2020

The unit never worked as shown

By Dan S., Elmwood Park, IL, Verified Reviewer

Not good. Never buy this razor. You will waste your time and money. Only lasted for 60 days and the warranty is only for 30 days. Believe me. it is not like they presented. Customer Service knows that this razor is a basic one and can be good for only a couple of months.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 25, 2020

Piece of crap

By Lopriore G., Port Jervis, NY, Verified Reviewer

Used a couple of times when the head broke. I purchased new heads (which were not cheap). Now won't recharge. Waste of money!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The product itself

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 17, 2020

Junk!

By Tony S., Marshfield, MA, Verified Reviewer

As my title says, junk! It wouldn't even shave stubble off my face the first time I used it, never mind trying to cut in any shape. Another scam to screw the public. Probably it is somewhat the consumer's fault too for thinking that you get anything of quality for 20.00 bucks because you don't.

Anyone that reads these reviews, don't give it a second thought, don't buy this junk!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 4, 2020

It's a scam from my experience

By Wayne N., Burnet, TX, Verified Reviewer

I ordered from their official site. Received confirmation and a tracking number.

It didn't arrive when it was supposed to. When I used the tracking number, it didn't exist. The shipper couldn't find it.

I contacted them. Weeks later they said that it would be shipped again. I accepted their proposal.

The next day they said by the terms of their warranty, they are sending me a refund, but didn't include what they charged me for shipping and handling. This is BS.

I emailed them and demanded a full refund including shipping and handling. Still have not received the shipping and handling.

From what I see, they never shipped it. Guess it's a good scam, a little less than $10 for doing nothing but sending automated emails. Either they are crooks or someone dropped the ball.

Too bad. It looked like it may have been a good product.

I only gave it a 1 because zero wasn't an option.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 3, 2020

Battery didn't stay charged

By Andrew C., Cherry Valley, CA, Verified Reviewer

I was extremely happy when I first received it. Performed as advertised.

The battery didn't stay charged after owning it for only 6 months.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer Service PHONE NUMBER not publicized well

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 22, 2020

MicroTouch Solo is using the Covid epidemic as an excuse to scam and deny any level of customers at all.

By Peter R., San Jose, CA, Verified Reviewer

The MicroTouch® Solo™ electric shaver is a defective piece of crap. The grooming attachments, which are the most important parts of the device, are fragile worthless pieces of plastic that will easily break, and customer service is unapologetically ZERO, which they could easily correct by just answering the phones and replacing their defective and broken grooming attachments by mail. And on top of it all, they have a surprise virtual NO warranty and want $6 PLUS S&H to send it back to them. What a huge disappointment. What a scam. Unless they support their product and offer to make good, don't even bother with this product MicroTouch® Solo™.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on May 20, 2020

It is a complete joke, no kidding, it works so badly you might start laughing. Hard to believe they even sell this thing.

By Jerry M., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

Worst product I have ever seen, really a complete joke. Would not even begin to cut my beard. This thing is a toy for Barbi dolls or something, just a true piece of crap. I could not be more disappointed. Returning it on Monday.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 6, 2020

Solo

By Mark M., Anchorage, AK, Verified Reviewer

What a piece of crap this is, and they want $20 for it. It didn't work from the get-go, what a waste of money. Could have gone to Vegas and placed a bet. Worst piece I've ever ordered online. I think all online stuff is crap.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 2, 2020

The worst product

By Ralph S., Belleville, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I bought this razor to see if it would help me not use shaving cream and disposable blades. Stick with the blades, this is one of the worst products I have ever bought. It does not cut crap, bringing back to CVS for a refund. Stay away from this piece of crap.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2020

Very disappointed

By John S., Chandler, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I ordered replacement blades that don't fit the trim heads that came with the razor. If I knew that would happen I wouldn't have bought the replacement heads but on a positive note, the razor itself works great but I wish the trim heads fit the new heads.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2020

Product quality after limited 8 months of use

By Michael D., Fort Worth, TX, Verified Reviewer

After 8 months of limited use, my razor has no power. I called Solo customer service and they said I only had a 30-day guarantee. I would not recommend this razor to anyone based on my experience. I purchase in June 2019.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 29, 2020

Not happy!

By Thaddeus C., Langhorne, PA, Verified Reviewer

All of the previously stated problems are very accurate. Please, do yourself a favor and read reviews of those of us who have purchased/used this poorly manufactured product. It is cheaply made and does not trim/cut well. Save your good money for a better product. You have been warned.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 6, 2020

Not what it's advertised to do.

By Dennis V., Plattsburgh, NY., Verified Reviewer

Disappointed and, call the cops! I've been robbed! I want my money back. It doesn't shave close, doesn't trim my mustache to my lip, what micro cut? The only good thing is the light, but it blinds me and I can't see what I'm not shaving. German steel? So what! I hope they go broke, and if they have any investors I hope they all lose their money.

Then I read other reviews after and I also would not recommend this to anyone. If I send it back I also have to pay for shipping so they got you going and coming.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 23, 2019

Garbage, stopped working after 2 days

By Joe B., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

Disappointing and maddening. Stopped working after two days, would not hold a charge after it stopped working. Quality control is pitiful. You're better off with a battery-powered trimmer for your dog, it'll give you a much better beard trim and won't fail!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 28, 2019

Fake!

By Jeff F., Arlington, WA, Verified Reviewer

I am happy to write a review! For one it is not what the commercial says it does, fake, and once again a product from China. Does not trim, does not edge, and does not shave. Perhaps if you have peach fuzz it would work. I am a man who has more than my fair share of facial and body hair. This product cannot trim my beard but pulls and hurts. It does not shave without it pulling my hair. Does not trim without pulling my hair. This product is a total fraudulent item, and I don't understand why men are falling for it, I did. It is all fake, fake, fake. I want my money back! I seriously think we all should team up and stop this novelty item from being sold.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 28, 2019

I have two non-working razors

By Jim H., Kentucky, Verified Reviewer

Works great while it works, which is not for long. I lost the charger to the first one, so I bought another unit. Both units have failed and I'm back to square one hunting a razor. It's only twenty dollars but I thought they would last a bit longer. Spend the extra money to buy a better product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 2, 2019

$20.00 wasted

By Michael H., Rockingham, NC, Verified Reviewer

I placed an order for this so-called shaver. I wish to let you know, it tugs and pulls hair out by the roots in the face and neck, like it was never even sharpened. This was without a doubt the worst $20.00 I ever spent in my life, I let everyone know what I piece of junk this really is. How you can make an ad and lie just for money is beyond me, but then not being a crook I guess I cannot understand.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 30, 2019

Bad bad bad

By Pat M., Salem, OR, Verified Reviewer

My oh my, not good in any way, will not do anything as advertised.

I would send it back but it cost too much for shipping and handling. I only am upset with myself for buying it, I should have known better...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 2, 2019

Fell apart

By Sam D., Sayre, PA, Verified Reviewer

The head broke off, cheap plastic, hardly any use out of it. I guess you get what you pay for. Would not purchase again, made very cheap. Save your money and buy a better quality unit.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 25, 2019

Poor quality, doesn't work well, broke on fifth use

By Jeffrey W., Springdale, AR, Verified Reviewer

I shave about once a week. I found the MicroTouch Solo to be only fair. It worked just barely ok, nothing like the TV commercials claim. I have a pair of cheap, regular beard/hair trimmers and it worked about the same as that. But worse, the thing broke the fifth time I used it. One of two plastic nipples holding the head onto the handle simply snapped off when I took the head off to clean it. 30-day warranty; broke after five weeks. Complete waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 66

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.