About MicroTouch Solo

Published on: May 17, 2017

The MicroTouch Solo is a combination trimmer, shaver, and edger that claims to be able to groom with micro precision providing an all-in-one grooming solution in the process. Billing itself as a “Smart Razor”, the product claims to be able to provide truly effective styling power in a variety of different modes, each designed to sculpt or manage a particular style of facial hair.

The makers of the product claim that it’s effective for more than just beards, though, stating that it can also be used to manage body hair. The dual German stainless steel blade design is said to be completely safe to the touch while also allowing you to shave both up and down, and the ultra-flex pivoting head is supposed to allow for superior maneuverability as you use the blade on the various contours of your face.

For many, daily upkeep of facial hair and body hair can be a real nuisance. What’s worse, many individuals are forced to rely on a multitude of different products to shape, trim, shave and maintain their facial hair, adding complication to our already hectic everyday lives.

A product that could truly provide all of your facial and body hair grooming needs could potentially be of great value to those who are constantly on the go, as it could potentially make the daily ritual of shaping up the hairs a much more condensed affair.

In order to determine if the MicroTouch Solo is truly effective, however, we’ll first need to take a closer look at how the product is supposed to work to deliver this three-in-one functionality. In the next section, let’s do just that.

How The MicroTouch Solo Works

The MicroTouch Solo claims to work on any body surface, delivering a close shave while also allowing for a variety of upkeep methods such as edging beard lines and moustaches, and trimming lengthy beards and stubble. The product also comes with three different plastic guides which can be used to alter the length you’d like to trim, allowing you to maintain a certain look if you so desire.

In addition, the MicroTouch Solo features a built-in high intensity spotlight just below the pivoting head that the manufacturer claims will allow you to clearly see what you are doing as you use the product.

This could potentially be quite useful, as many who shave daily know that it can be difficult to see in certain areas, no matter how well-lit the room is. We aren’t told just how bright this light is, but the explainer video depicts it as being bright enough to illuminate your entire face with ease.

To use the MicroTouch Solo, you simply need to decide which mode of operation you want to use. If all you’re looking for is a simple shave, you can use the product without any guides, running it up and down along your hair until you’ve got the area clear and free.

The company states that you do not need to use water, shaving cream or soap, and that the product doesn’t cause razor burns or bumps of any kind. They also claim that it won’t give you any nicks or ingrown hairs from regular usage.

If you’re looking to trim your beard to a certain length, you can utilize one of the three included guides, depending on your preference. The company states that the MicroTouch Solo can tackle even the burliest, toughest beards in just one pass thanks in part to its military-grade stainless steel blade design.

As for recharging the device, we aren’t told if if comes with a rechargeable battery system, or if it uses traditional batteries instead. When we reached out to customer service to clarify, they informed us that they did not have this information, instead suggesting that we “Google it.” Upon doing so, we discovered that there was no information about the type of battery the device uses anywhere that we were able to find.

MicroTouch Solo Pricing

Currently, it looks as though the MicroTouch Solo is only available via the product's main website as of the time of this writing. It costs $24.99, plus $5.99 P&H.

The product itself comes with the three additional guides, as well as one additional replacement cutting head. We aren’t told on the main site how much additional cutting heads are, but we inquired to customer service and found out that they are available as a two-pack directly from the main phone line for $9.99. They also stated that most orders are shipped out within 30 days of the original date they are placed.

MicroTouch Solo Return Policy

As for the return policy provided by the manufacturer, it looks as though you’ll have a 30-day money back guarantee on all purchases made through the main site. The company requests that you return all items to their main address at Micro Touch Solo 400 Returns Rd Wallingford, CT 06494. They also request that you include your complete name, address, daytime telephone number and email address inside the return package when returning your item.

The Bottom Line: Is MicroTouch Solo Truly A Game Changer?

There are hundreds of different personal groomers on the market today, all of them vying for a spot on your bathroom counter. With so many options to choose from, what might be best to look for? Ideally, you’ll likely want something that provides all-in-one functionality, much like the MicroTouch Solo does, so that you can be able to streamline your daily grooming regimen as much as possible.

There are many different combination products available that offer similar functionality to the MicroTouch Solo, some of which have large followings and generous amounts of customers reviews to back them up. Ideally, you’ll want to tune into what these voices are saying, looking out for products that truly stand out as being well-liked and reliable.

For instance, a quick Google search for “personal groomers” brings a number of products, including one with over 2,000 reviews on Amazon from Philips. This particular product seems to provide very similar features and benefits to the MicroTouch Solo.

To that end, the MicroTouch Solo seems, on the surface anyways, to be a potentially convenient and cohesive way to maintain and groom your facial and body hair, regardless of how your personally style and shape it.

The pivoting head and double-sided blade design seem as though they might indeed be able to deliver on the manufacturer’s claim that the groomer works without water or cream to deliver a close shave, but according to authority sites such as WebMD, the only real defense against razor burns and bumps is using adequate lubrication.

In addition, without having tested the product out for ourselves, we aren’t able to confirm that it will work as advertised. Additionally, there doesn't seem to be any reviews of the product anywhere online as of the time of this writing, and seeing as we have a few concerns about the battery functionality/longevity, we do feel it’s worth noting that you’ll be taking a bit of a leap of faith going into the purchase of the MicroTouch Solo.

That alone isn’t necessarily a reason not to give the device a chance, but before you do, we’d simply recommend looking around at alternatives like those mentioned above, as well as keeping the 30-day return policy in mind going into the purchase.

Have you used the MicroTouch Solo before? Leave a review and share your experience with others!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

36 Consumer Reviews for MicroTouch Solo

Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 3 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great but fragile

    • York, PA,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This tool is a great answer to trimming. Plenty of power. Trims quite well. The only drawback is the durability of the blade head attachment points. BE VERY CAREFUL when removing the trimming guides. Pull too hard and you will break the two small pins that attach the pivot blade head. Unable to repair. Those attachment pins are surely a weak point.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Disappointment

    • Norristown, PA,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On my second use of the product, the blade unit came off the rest of the shaver, along with a spring of some sort. Of course, I could not get the spring back in place and thus could not get the blade back on. The idea was good, but the product needs work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Where is it?

    • Groveland, NY,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Micro Solo on December 23, 2018. As of today, January 9th, still no delivery. I called first thing this morning to see what the hold up is and was told it would be another 2-3 weeks. I told the woman I have ordered many things online and have never had to wait this long. After reading these reviews maybe it is best I cancel the order. I ordered this for my son strictly going by the TV commercial. I wish I saw these reviews before I ordered. To the person who got a used one sent to them, I would go straight to the Board of Health and your local TV channel. This sounds like a lot of false advertisement and they shouldn’t be allowed to get away with it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Did not work, customer service just as bad

    • Laughlin, NV,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this from a local store and went to use and when I put on my face to cut the hair, the unit stopped after cutting one or two hairs and caused pain on the face from the hair that it did cut (one of two of them). I then tried to remove the blade from the unit to clean and the whole blade assembly fell apart. I called the 800 number on the manual and they would not help me at all. Just said to purchase two more blades at $15. I just wanted to get a replacement blade for the one that failed with the unit. But they can't do that. So luckily I was able to take it back to the store I purchased it at and get money back and told them to not carry this item. I wonder how they got the unit to work in the ads because it failed with me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Should last longer than three shaves

    • Coos Bay, OR,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    While attempting to change blades just to see how easy it is to do, I do not know why, but one of the small plastic pins the blade pivots on broke off. I do not know what brain-dead designer was thinking about trying to pivot the blade unit on such a small plastic pin. It should be modified by using a stainless pin rather than the plastic one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    DOA

    • Tacoma, WA,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received it as a Christmas gift, and it's junk. It never would charge even after 8 hours plugged in. Must include more characters for the review so hear goes. Beware, it's junk, DOA, DOA, DOA, ever worked not once.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Pure garbage!

    • Auburn, NY,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is the cheapest product that I have ever seen. I had to wait over two weeks for the slowest delivery I have ever seen. After receiving the product, I was very disappointed. You can tell that it is cheaply made and certainly not worth the money. Within a few days, the product, or so-called product, was broke. The company refused a refund. The woman in customer service tells me that they have a lot of these shavers break down and she hung up on me. Save yourself the trouble and by from an honest company, not this one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive advertising MicroTouch Solo

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product doesn't work as advertised. While it is good for trimming, it doesn't provide a clean shave on the areas I don't want facial hair, so If I want a clear cut trimming, I still need to use a conventional razor blade to remove beard completely. On top that, when I called to process a refund, they decline to pay for the return shipping. The way I see it, if I had changed my mind and wish to return the product, it will be fair that I pay for the return shipping, but if I am returning the product for deceptive advertising, the seller MUST pay ALL related cost to it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Product damage

    • Tamil Nadu, India,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this Solo trimmer and after product delivery, and after opening, I am shocked that this product is already used. This is damage. I am not satisfied with this product, it is a very cheap product, a China product...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 27 people found this review helpful

    I cannot get a smooth shave

    • Norristown, PA,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This razor is not for coarse hair, it takes a blade to get a smooth shave. This Solo must be improved for coarse black man’s hair. I am a real customer, I have the Solo shaver in my cabinet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Just like the commercial

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought it last year, it does a wonderful job. No nicks! No ingrown hairs! The first clippers to work so well. I recommend this to anyone who has tough hair and experiences ingrown hairs. It leaves skin smooth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a Review for MicroTouch Solo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review