• 56 Customer Reviews
  • 9% Recommend This Product
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 5% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 80%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Pure garbage!

    • By David S.,
    • Auburn, NY,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product is the cheapest product that I have ever seen. I had to wait over two weeks for the slowest delivery I have ever seen. After receiving the product, I was very disappointed. You can tell that it is cheaply made and certainly not worth the money. Within a few days, the product, or so-called product, was broke. The company refused a refund. The woman in customer service tells me that they have a lot of these shavers break down and she hung up on me. Save yourself the trouble and by from an honest company, not this one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Deceptive advertising MicroTouch Solo

    • By Gustavo M.,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product doesn't work as advertised. While it is good for trimming, it doesn't provide a clean shave on the areas I don't want facial hair, so If I want a clear cut trimming, I still need to use a conventional razor blade to remove beard completely. On top that, when I called to process a refund, they decline to pay for the return shipping. The way I see it, if I had changed my mind and wish to return the product, it will be fair that I pay for the return shipping, but if I am returning the product for deceptive advertising, the seller MUST pay ALL related cost to it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Product damage

    • By Mohammed A.,
    • Tamil Nadu, India,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought this Solo trimmer and after product delivery, and after opening, I am shocked that this product is already used. This is damage. I am not satisfied with this product, it is a very cheap product, a China product...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I cannot get a smooth shave

    • By George M.,
    • Norristown, PA,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This razor is not for coarse hair, it takes a blade to get a smooth shave. This Solo must be improved for coarse black man’s hair. I am a real customer, I have the Solo shaver in my cabinet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just like the commercial

    • By Martha N.,
    • Illinois,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought it last year, it does a wonderful job. No nicks! No ingrown hairs! The first clippers to work so well. I recommend this to anyone who has tough hair and experiences ingrown hairs. It leaves skin smooth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not as advertised

    • By Steve C.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is okay for a daily 5 o'clock look but does not trim close as promised. Battery life is good but the finished product compared to claims do not match up well. Overall, not something I would send back at $25, but not something I would recommend others to buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nice concept needing adjustments in design

    • By Teddy B.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The concept and design could be a winning one, except for a few problems. The head pivots, which is okay, depending on what kind of trim, and shave is needed at a given time. The pivot feature causes the flat, silver, gliding head to lay flat against the face, which in the case of this unit, seems to lift the micro clippers slightly up and away from the skin, and the base of the whiskers, preventing a "perfectly" close shave. A fixed head might address the problem, or a mechanism which allows switching between the two.

    The light near the head of the shaver casts shadows making it difficult to affect precise edging.

    I do believe that some tweaking in the design of this product would render the superior results its marketers now claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stand by your product

    • By Robert J.,
    • Clarksville, TN,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had ordered new blades from the company. When I got the blades, the combs didn't work. So I called the company to let them know they didn't fit properly. They told me that they couldn't help me because it has been a little over a year and the warranty has ran out. So I asked her if I could buy some combs and she said that they don't sell the combs. They sell blades but not the combs. I couldn't believe it sells the blades but not the combs to the blades. So if someone out there wants this Solo, you can have it. I was thinking I had a razor for life. I just got fooled. Thanks for nothing Solo.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not as expected to be

    • By Ken E.,
    • El Dorado, KS,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Solo to me was miss advertised as giving a close shave as a razor or even my Norelco 3 blade electric razor. I did get razor burn from the Solo, which was also advertised not to do. As for it being used as a body shaver, the side blades scratch the skin to the point that I stopped using it on the body for fear of possible infections. I wish I could get my money back, but it's impossible now since it has been a while now. Unless you like stubble, I would not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bloody awful

    • By Andrew H.,
    • Faulconbridge, Australia,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It arrived with the lugs which hold the blades broken, which means the blades cannot be attached and makes it unusable. I contacted them with three emails, but they don't even have the courtesy to reply. Don't waste your money; I certainly would not recommend this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great shave

    • By Tim Forehand,
    • Samson, AL,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two; one for me and one for a friend. Another friend got one when he saw mine. We all are using them and really appreciate the good shave they give. No drag. No cuts, no problems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off!

    Overall Experience:

    Doesn't work straight out of the box. Arrived in a pristine box, but the trimmer was broken inside the box! Junk. I couldn't say if it trims and shaves as it claims because I can't use it the very first time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dull after first use

    • By Bruce Skinner,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After using MicroTouch solo for the first use on shaving my chest hairs, it dulled the blade, and it won't cut my beard hair at all. My chest hair was kind of thick and we didn't do a really good job. The blade should have lasted longer.

    I am very dissatisfied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lousy product

    • By Carlos Walls,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It sad they're allowed to be deceptive about products that don't work. On TV, the ads make it appear that this MicroTouch Solo does a great job shaving/trimming. When you shave your beard, your face feels like sandpaper. It doesn't get as close as it claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't cut close

    Overall Experience:

    The product is packaged nice, but it did not do what I thought it would do. I tried it on my stubs that started to come up, and it cut, but I had to use a razor to get the results that are shown on the package.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it

    Overall Experience:

    I was so excited to get this, but sadly this was just another fake product.

    I let it charge overnight, and I’m not sure it completely charged. I tested it on my legs, and it seemed to do a good job, but I got it for my husband, not myself. My husband has a beard that requires an attachment, and I put one on and realized it was too long. When I tried changing it, the plastic pegs holding blade onto the shaver broke off. I snapped on the replacement head that came with it. Take two, it didn’t work to trim the longer hair, just combed them or pulled them out.

    Needless to say, my husband didn’t like it. I'm not sure why it worked with thin leg hair but not actual beard hair. Not impressed at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Piece of junk

    Overall Experience:

    Do not waste your money! This item is a piece of junk!

    I like to keep my beard trimmed short, so I tried using the MicroTouch to trim my beard and all it did was rake through my beard, cutting absolutely nothing off. I then tried to use the “shaver function” to shave as part of shaping my beard, and again it did nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad buy - it's cheap, but also cheaply made!

    • By David Magaw,
    • Bossier City, LA,
    • Dec 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wish I would have purchased this at a local store so I could return it (like Bed Bath & Beyond who would have taken it back after the 30 days). I bought this direct from MicroTouch and used it for about 32 days (just past the warranty) and it broke while trying to remove one of the guides.

    The blade is held on with small plastic nubs which broke and cannot be replaced (as far as I can tell) to put the blade head back on.

    Don't waste the $24.95, use the money to go to the movies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Yeoj Kcipsak,
    • Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Nov 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Does not fully charge, the red light stays on. It rips the hair out of my face. Ouch! It may be alright for thin hair, like on arms or legs, but not for facial hair.

    I hope the Philips one works better because I wasted my money on this one!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst thing ever

    Overall Experience:

    I don’t know why, but after seeing the commercial, I had bought two of these things. After receiving it, I realize how much I hate it and why in the world I bought two. With that said, I want to do a return and customer service told me I have to pay for the shipping and handling and then return, that’s another $15 to $20. Giving me all the run around in the world.

    It’s a scam, don’t fall for it. My $10 machine works better than that. I'll make sure it goes to Facebook and every website I could possibly put a review to help others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It worked for me!

    • By Alex West,
    • Ohio,
    • Oct 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I can't understand what all the fuss is about. I bought my Solo shaver, edger, and shaver for $24.99 + tax at Target in University Heights, Ohio on the first floor in the "As Seen On TV" rack and it came with a free rechargeable cord USB that I plug into my laptop and charge the lithium battery, which also came with the Solo. The shave may not be a close one, but what do you expect for $25? And it's supposed to last at least 4 months. I have used the product 3 times with no complaints except for finding the replacement razor blades, and as I write this review, I have found where I can order them from on a piece of literature about the product.

    I have no affiliation whatsoever with this product. I am sorry to hear that you other guys had so many problems with this product. I guess I am one of the lucky ones. Yes, I would recommend this to someone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent'tay!

    • By Tina Bryan,
    • Maryland,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't know why others have downgraded this product. I bought it for my fiancee. He hasn't had time to read and charge. Before charging for him tonight, I tried it on my legs, dry shaving.

    It beats all others out there that I've tried for a close, clean, and smooth shave. And I've tried many besides woman's, I've tried men's. And my favorite in that category is Marc 3! For years now.

    Well, if a razor can clean my legs and feel smooth without water and shaving creme, they've won me over already. I'm going to get one for myself ASAP! Not only feels does it feel great, it was time-saving and handles well!

    I haven't tried the groomers. I'll leave that to him and come back and tell you what he thinks after tomorrow.

    This may be the only razor I use the rest of my time here on earth. I'm a happy camper because I was tired of money thrown away on others. And new heads, etc. Electric ones I've tried, sucked. I went over and over on my legs to have nubs!

    This razor last four months or longer. That's a plus in itself on savings! I will be back to tell how long it truly lasts for me. Now I don't have to buy Nair etc. with other razors.

    Why 5 stars from me? Because I'm done searching for a razor today finally. Solo won me over. Now it's just to see how long it lasts before it doesn't function anymore. I can't imagine anytime soon. And that will be worth the $24.95 at Walmarts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • In response to other reviews

    Overall Experience:

    I just thought I'd check and see if the people that left the reviews were accurately depicting all of the concerning issues. I was able to check orders so I do not understand why they said they could not. I'm not trying to support Solo, but I think it's only proper to leave an honest review. They also had a phone number you could call but after I learn that I could get ahold of their customer service, I did not proceed further.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never received

    • By Stan Newman,
    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have never received the product, which was ordered nearly a month ago. And I cannot get a reply to my email to them at microtouchsolo.com.

    This needs to be reported to the appropriate authorities.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not as great as advertised

    • By Nelson Donnell,
    • West Gardiner, Maine,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I first saw the ad on TV for this product, it looked like it had some promise at being a good razor, but as I was soon to find out, it's not as good as the seller describes it. And upon further research, I realized that it's actually a redesign of the Philips Norelco OneBlade.

    I found that the seller of the Micro Touch Solo, Idea Village, is not beyond milking the customer for as much as they can get out of them. The unit starts out at $24.99, but with the addition of a charge cord and charger, plus shipping and handling cost, the final total came to $37.97.

    About a week after I had placed my order, I found that it was on back-order and that it would take an additional two to six weeks before it would ship. So I emailed them and informed them that I wanted to cancel the order. Two days later I got an email reply that they couldn't cancel the order because it was being processed and I eventually received it about nine days later.

    At first, I was going to return by not accepting delivery of it, but after it arrived, I decided to give it a try. What a disappointment that turned out to be. It's alright if you don't mind having that 5 o'clock shadow look, but don't expect it to cut as clean as a regular rotary blade razor or standard bladed razors. Basically, it's designed to give a trim or removal of facial hair, but not a close, smooth cut look. And the light only does a moderate job at illuminating the area under the lower blade, does nothing for what's in front of the top blade.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The truth

    • By Tony B.,
    • Carlsbad, CA,
    • Aug 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I waited weeks for this to arrive putting off buying a new shaver since my old one stopped working.

    The commercials indicate that this is the one shaver for your needs. Here's the real skinny.

    It is not a shaver or electric razor; it's a nice compact beard or hair trimmer. I'm a hairdresser, and I know the difference professionally.

    If you're looking for something to trim, your beard or clean up hairs on your ears, neck, or mustache, this is fine. If you're looking to have a nice close shave, this is not for you.

    This unit works as well as most trimmers you'll find in Walmart for $10-20. It will not give you a shave!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolute piece of crap

    • By Kenneth Cates,
    • Inverness, Florida,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a complete piece of crap and it does NOT work! It keeps falling apart, and the charge doesn't even make it through one shave! It is absolute trash.

    It took over three months to receive the item only to find out that I had been taken by a junk selling company!

    WARNING, it is junk. Do not waste your money on it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 56

Write a Review for MicroTouch Solo!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
MicroTouch Solo