MicroTouch Solo Reviews

MicroTouch Solo

Overall Rating

1.4

65 Customer Reviews

Summary

The MicroTouch Solo is a combination trimmer, shaver, and edger that claims to be able to groom with micro precision providing an all-in-one grooming solution in the process. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.4 Stars out of 65 Reviews
5 Star:4% 4 Star:1% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:6% 1 Star:83%
8% Recommend This Product
Start your review of MicroTouch Solo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Apr 1, 2019

Disgusting

By Cathy E., Mabank, TX, Verified Reviewer

I ordered this as a gift. When it arrived the box had been opened several times, and this Shaver had been used. This made me sick.

I threw it away. Not about to give someone a USED gift.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 29, 2019

Not happy

By Kim G., Drumright, OK, Verified Reviewer

My husband has had two of these with a two-year span. His first one broke before Christmas, so I got him another one for Christmas.

He went to use today as he does daily, and it broke, in the same place the first one did.

I (we) will not be buying a third. Not happy at all!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 26, 2019

Bad customer service

By Tim B., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I ordered this product a month ago, still have not received it to date. They said it was on back order. The problem is that I had to phone customer service to be updated. Terrible, terrible!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 18, 2019

Great but fragile

By Mitch R., York, PA, Verified Reviewer

This tool is a great answer to trimming. Plenty of power. Trims quite well. The only drawback is the durability of the blade head attachment points. BE VERY CAREFUL when removing the trimming guides. Pull too hard and you will break the two small pins that attach the pivot blade head. Unable to repair. Those attachment pins are surely a weak point.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2019

Disappointment

By Roger P., Norristown, PA, Verified Reviewer

On my second use of the product, the blade unit came off the rest of the shaver, along with a spring of some sort. Of course, I could not get the spring back in place and thus could not get the blade back on. The idea was good, but the product needs work.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 14, 2019

Where is it?

By Nancy S., Groveland, NY, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the Micro Solo on December 23, 2018. As of today, January 9th, still no delivery. I called first thing this morning to see what the hold up is and was told it would be another 2-3 weeks. I told the woman I have ordered many things online and have never had to wait this long. After reading these reviews maybe it is best I cancel the order. I ordered this for my son strictly going by the TV commercial. I wish I saw these reviews before I ordered. To the person who got a used one sent to them, I would go straight to the Board of Health and your local TV channel. This sounds like a lot of false advertisement and they shouldn’t be allowed to get away with it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 9, 2019

Did not work, customer service just as bad

By Robert S., Southern Nevada, Verified Reviewer

I purchased this from a local store and went to use and when I put on my face to cut the hair, the unit stopped after cutting one or two hairs and caused pain on the face from the hair that it did cut (one of two of them). I then tried to remove the blade from the unit to clean and the whole blade assembly fell apart. I called the 800 number on the manual and they would not help me at all. Just said to purchase two more blades at $15. I just wanted to get a replacement blade for the one that failed with the unit. But they can't do that. So luckily I was able to take it back to the store I purchased it at and get money back and told them to not carry this item. I wonder how they got the unit to work in the ads because it failed with me.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 8, 2019

Should last longer than three shaves

By Walter K., Coos Bay, OR, Verified Reviewer

While attempting to change blades just to see how easy it is to do, I do not know why, but one of the small plastic pins the blade pivots on broke off. I do not know what brain-dead designer was thinking about trying to pivot the blade unit on such a small plastic pin. It should be modified by using a stainless pin rather than the plastic one.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 3, 2019

DOA

By Don M., Tacoma, WA, Verified Reviewer

I received it as a Christmas gift, and it's junk. It never would charge even after 8 hours plugged in. Must include more characters for the review so hear goes. Beware, it's junk, DOA, DOA, DOA, ever worked not once.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 18, 2018

Pure garbage!

By David S., Auburn, NY, Verified Reviewer

This product is the cheapest product that I have ever seen. I had to wait over two weeks for the slowest delivery I have ever seen. After receiving the product, I was very disappointed. You can tell that it is cheaply made and certainly not worth the money. Within a few days, the product, or so-called product, was broke. The company refused a refund. The woman in customer service tells me that they have a lot of these shavers break down and she hung up on me. Save yourself the trouble and by from an honest company, not this one.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 6, 2018

Deceptive advertising MicroTouch Solo

By Gustavo M., San Antonio, TX, Verified Reviewer

This product doesn't work as advertised. While it is good for trimming, it doesn't provide a clean shave on the areas I don't want facial hair, so If I want a clear cut trimming, I still need to use a conventional razor blade to remove beard completely. On top that, when I called to process a refund, they decline to pay for the return shipping. The way I see it, if I had changed my mind and wish to return the product, it will be fair that I pay for the return shipping, but if I am returning the product for deceptive advertising, the seller MUST pay ALL related cost to it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 37 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 29, 2018

Product damage

By Mohammed A., Tamil Nadu, India, Verified Reviewer

I bought this Solo trimmer and after product delivery, and after opening, I am shocked that this product is already used. This is damage. I am not satisfied with this product, it is a very cheap product, a China product...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 7, 2018

I cannot get a smooth shave

By George M., Norristown, PA, Verified Reviewer

This razor is not for coarse hair, it takes a blade to get a smooth shave. This Solo must be improved for coarse black man’s hair. I am a real customer, I have the Solo shaver in my cabinet.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 7, 2018

Just like the commercial

By Martha N., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I bought it last year, it does a wonderful job. No nicks! No ingrown hairs! The first clippers to work so well. I recommend this to anyone who has tough hair and experiences ingrown hairs. It leaves skin smooth.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2018

Not as advertised

By Steve C., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

It is okay for a daily 5 o'clock look but does not trim close as promised. Battery life is good but the finished product compared to claims do not match up well. Overall, not something I would send back at $25, but not something I would recommend others to buy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 10, 2018

Nice concept needing adjustments in design

By Teddy B., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

The concept and design could be a winning one, except for a few problems. The head pivots, which is okay, depending on what kind of trim, and shave is needed at a given time. The pivot feature causes the flat, silver, gliding head to lay flat against the face, which in the case of this unit, seems to lift the micro clippers slightly up and away from the skin, and the base of the whiskers, preventing a "perfectly" close shave. A fixed head might address the problem, or a mechanism which allows switching between the two.

The light near the head of the shaver casts shadows making it difficult to affect precise edging.

I do believe that some tweaking in the design of this product would render the superior results its marketers now claim.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 20, 2018

Stand by your product

By Robert J., Clarksville, TN, Verified Reviewer

I had ordered new blades from the company. When I got the blades, the combs didn't work. So I called the company to let them know they didn't fit properly. They told me that they couldn't help me because it has been a little over a year and the warranty has ran out. So I asked her if I could buy some combs and she said that they don't sell the combs. They sell blades but not the combs. I couldn't believe it sells the blades but not the combs to the blades. So if someone out there wants this Solo, you can have it. I was thinking I had a razor for life. I just got fooled. Thanks for nothing Solo.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 42 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 7, 2018

Not as expected to be

By Ken E., El Dorado, KS, Verified Reviewer

The Solo to me was miss advertised as giving a close shave as a razor or even my Norelco 3 blade electric razor. I did get razor burn from the Solo, which was also advertised not to do. As for it being used as a body shaver, the side blades scratch the skin to the point that I stopped using it on the body for fear of possible infections. I wish I could get my money back, but it's impossible now since it has been a while now. Unless you like stubble, I would not recommend this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 35 People Have Voted

Posted on May 23, 2018

Bloody awful

By Andrew H., Faulconbridge, Australia, Verified Reviewer

It arrived with the lugs which hold the blades broken, which means the blades cannot be attached and makes it unusable. I contacted them with three emails, but they don't even have the courtesy to reply. Don't waste your money; I certainly would not recommend this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 38 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 28, 2018

Great shave

By Tim Forehand, Samson, AL, Verified Reviewer

I bought two; one for me and one for a friend. Another friend got one when he saw mine. We all are using them and really appreciate the good shave they give. No drag. No cuts, no problems.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 18, 2018

Rip off!

By Joseph Howell, Texas, Verified Reviewer

Doesn't work straight out of the box. Arrived in a pristine box, but the trimmer was broken inside the box! Junk. I couldn't say if it trims and shaves as it claims because I can't use it the very first time!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2018

Dull after first use

By Bruce Skinner, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

After using MicroTouch solo for the first use on shaving my chest hairs, it dulled the blade, and it won't cut my beard hair at all. My chest hair was kind of thick and we didn't do a really good job. The blade should have lasted longer.

I am very dissatisfied.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 31, 2018

Lousy product

By Carlos Walls, New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

It sad they're allowed to be deceptive about products that don't work. On TV, the ads make it appear that this MicroTouch Solo does a great job shaving/trimming. When you shave your beard, your face feels like sandpaper. It doesn't get as close as it claims.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 8, 2018

Doesn't cut close

By Carlton Minor, Florida, Verified Reviewer

The product is packaged nice, but it did not do what I thought it would do. I tried it on my stubs that started to come up, and it cut, but I had to use a razor to get the results that are shown on the package.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 3, 2018

Not worth it

By Silvia Abarca, California, Verified Reviewer

I was so excited to get this, but sadly this was just another fake product.

I let it charge overnight, and I’m not sure it completely charged. I tested it on my legs, and it seemed to do a good job, but I got it for my husband, not myself. My husband has a beard that requires an attachment, and I put one on and realized it was too long. When I tried changing it, the plastic pegs holding blade onto the shaver broke off. I snapped on the replacement head that came with it. Take two, it didn’t work to trim the longer hair, just combed them or pulled them out.

Needless to say, my husband didn’t like it. I'm not sure why it worked with thin leg hair but not actual beard hair. Not impressed at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 30, 2017

Piece of junk

By Kenneth Pflueger, California, Verified Reviewer

Do not waste your money! This item is a piece of junk!

I like to keep my beard trimmed short, so I tried using the MicroTouch to trim my beard and all it did was rake through my beard, cutting absolutely nothing off. I then tried to use the “shaver function” to shave as part of shaping my beard, and again it did nothing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 20, 2017

Bad buy - it's cheap, but also cheaply made!

By David Magaw, Bossier City, LA, Verified Reviewer

I wish I would have purchased this at a local store so I could return it (like Bed Bath & Beyond who would have taken it back after the 30 days). I bought this direct from MicroTouch and used it for about 32 days (just past the warranty) and it broke while trying to remove one of the guides.

The blade is held on with small plastic nubs which broke and cannot be replaced (as far as I can tell) to put the blade head back on.

Don't waste the $24.95, use the money to go to the movies.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted
Showing 28-54 of 65

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.