MicroTouch Solo Reviews

MicroTouch Solo

Overall Rating

1.4

69 Customer Reviews

Summary

The MicroTouch Solo is a combination trimmer, shaver, and edger that claims to be able to groom with micro precision providing an all-in-one grooming solution in the process. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.4 Stars out of 69 Reviews
5 Star:4% 4 Star:1% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:82%
9% Recommend This Product
Start your review of MicroTouch Solo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 8, 2018

Doesn't cut close

By Carlton Minor, Florida, Verified Reviewer

The product is packaged nice, but it did not do what I thought it would do. I tried it on my stubs that started to come up, and it cut, but I had to use a razor to get the results that are shown on the package.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 3, 2018

Not worth it

By Silvia Abarca, California, Verified Reviewer

I was so excited to get this, but sadly this was just another fake product.

I let it charge overnight, and I’m not sure it completely charged. I tested it on my legs, and it seemed to do a good job, but I got it for my husband, not myself. My husband has a beard that requires an attachment, and I put one on and realized it was too long. When I tried changing it, the plastic pegs holding blade onto the shaver broke off. I snapped on the replacement head that came with it. Take two, it didn’t work to trim the longer hair, just combed them or pulled them out.

Needless to say, my husband didn’t like it. I'm not sure why it worked with thin leg hair but not actual beard hair. Not impressed at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 30, 2017

Piece of junk

By Kenneth Pflueger, California, Verified Reviewer

Do not waste your money! This item is a piece of junk!

I like to keep my beard trimmed short, so I tried using the MicroTouch to trim my beard and all it did was rake through my beard, cutting absolutely nothing off. I then tried to use the “shaver function” to shave as part of shaping my beard, and again it did nothing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 20, 2017

Bad buy - it's cheap, but also cheaply made!

By David Magaw, Bossier City, LA, Verified Reviewer

I wish I would have purchased this at a local store so I could return it (like Bed Bath & Beyond who would have taken it back after the 30 days). I bought this direct from MicroTouch and used it for about 32 days (just past the warranty) and it broke while trying to remove one of the guides.

The blade is held on with small plastic nubs which broke and cannot be replaced (as far as I can tell) to put the blade head back on.

Don't waste the $24.95, use the money to go to the movies.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 27, 2017

Junk

By Yeoj Kcipsak, Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Does not fully charge, the red light stays on. It rips the hair out of my face. Ouch! It may be alright for thin hair, like on arms or legs, but not for facial hair.

I hope the Philips one works better because I wasted my money on this one!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 18, 2017

Worst thing ever

By Rayhan Choudhury, Queens, NY, Verified Reviewer

I don’t know why, but after seeing the commercial, I had bought two of these things. After receiving it, I realize how much I hate it and why in the world I bought two. With that said, I want to do a return and customer service told me I have to pay for the shipping and handling and then return, that’s another $15 to $20. Giving me all the run around in the world.

It’s a scam, don’t fall for it. My $10 machine works better than that. I'll make sure it goes to Facebook and every website I could possibly put a review to help others.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 40 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2017

It worked for me!

By Alex West, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I can't understand what all the fuss is about. I bought my Solo shaver, edger, and shaver for $24.99 + tax at Target in University Heights, Ohio on the first floor in the "As Seen On TV" rack and it came with a free rechargeable cord USB that I plug into my laptop and charge the lithium battery, which also came with the Solo. The shave may not be a close one, but what do you expect for $25? And it's supposed to last at least 4 months. I have used the product 3 times with no complaints except for finding the replacement razor blades, and as I write this review, I have found where I can order them from on a piece of literature about the product.

I have no affiliation whatsoever with this product. I am sorry to hear that you other guys had so many problems with this product. I guess I am one of the lucky ones. Yes, I would recommend this to someone!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 26, 2017

Excellent'tay!

By Tina Bryan, Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I don't know why others have downgraded this product. I bought it for my fiancee. He hasn't had time to read and charge. Before charging for him tonight, I tried it on my legs, dry shaving.

It beats all others out there that I've tried for a close, clean, and smooth shave. And I've tried many besides woman's, I've tried men's. And my favorite in that category is Marc 3! For years now.

Well, if a razor can clean my legs and feel smooth without water and shaving creme, they've won me over already. I'm going to get one for myself ASAP! Not only feels does it feel great, it was time-saving and handles well!

I haven't tried the groomers. I'll leave that to him and come back and tell you what he thinks after tomorrow.

This may be the only razor I use the rest of my time here on earth. I'm a happy camper because I was tired of money thrown away on others. And new heads, etc. Electric ones I've tried, sucked. I went over and over on my legs to have nubs!

This razor last four months or longer. That's a plus in itself on savings! I will be back to tell how long it truly lasts for me. Now I don't have to buy Nair etc. with other razors.

Why 5 stars from me? Because I'm done searching for a razor today finally. Solo won me over. Now it's just to see how long it lasts before it doesn't function anymore. I can't imagine anytime soon. And that will be worth the $24.95 at Walmarts.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 27, 2017

In response to other reviews

By Michael Favors, California, Verified Reviewer

I just thought I'd check and see if the people that left the reviews were accurately depicting all of the concerning issues. I was able to check orders so I do not understand why they said they could not. I'm not trying to support Solo, but I think it's only proper to leave an honest review. They also had a phone number you could call but after I learn that I could get ahold of their customer service, I did not proceed further.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 22, 2017

Never received

By Stan Newman, Toronto, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I have never received the product, which was ordered nearly a month ago. And I cannot get a reply to my email to them at microtouchsolo.com.

This needs to be reported to the appropriate authorities.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 47 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 18, 2017

Not as great as advertised

By Nelson Donnell, West Gardiner, Maine, Verified Reviewer

When I first saw the ad on TV for this product, it looked like it had some promise at being a good razor, but as I was soon to find out, it's not as good as the seller describes it. And upon further research, I realized that it's actually a redesign of the Philips Norelco OneBlade.

I found that the seller of the Micro Touch Solo, Idea Village, is not beyond milking the customer for as much as they can get out of them. The unit starts out at $24.99, but with the addition of a charge cord and charger, plus shipping and handling cost, the final total came to $37.97.

About a week after I had placed my order, I found that it was on back-order and that it would take an additional two to six weeks before it would ship. So I emailed them and informed them that I wanted to cancel the order. Two days later I got an email reply that they couldn't cancel the order because it was being processed and I eventually received it about nine days later.

At first, I was going to return by not accepting delivery of it, but after it arrived, I decided to give it a try. What a disappointment that turned out to be. It's alright if you don't mind having that 5 o'clock shadow look, but don't expect it to cut as clean as a regular rotary blade razor or standard bladed razors. Basically, it's designed to give a trim or removal of facial hair, but not a close, smooth cut look. And the light only does a moderate job at illuminating the area under the lower blade, does nothing for what's in front of the top blade.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 62 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 8, 2017

The truth

By Tony B., Carlsbad, CA, Verified Reviewer

I waited weeks for this to arrive putting off buying a new shaver since my old one stopped working.

The commercials indicate that this is the one shaver for your needs. Here's the real skinny.

It is not a shaver or electric razor; it's a nice compact beard or hair trimmer. I'm a hairdresser, and I know the difference professionally.

If you're looking for something to trim, your beard or clean up hairs on your ears, neck, or mustache, this is fine. If you're looking to have a nice close shave, this is not for you.

This unit works as well as most trimmers you'll find in Walmart for $10-20. It will not give you a shave!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 65 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 26, 2017

Absolute piece of crap

By Kenneth Cates, Inverness, Florida, Verified Reviewer

This is a complete piece of crap and it does NOT work! It keeps falling apart, and the charge doesn't even make it through one shave! It is absolute trash.

It took over three months to receive the item only to find out that I had been taken by a junk selling company!

WARNING, it is junk. Do not waste your money on it!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 97 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2017

Customer service

By Matt, Albuquerque, NM, Verified Reviewer

I haven't even received my order that I placed on 05/06/2017. Does anyone have or know a way to contact the customer service department? When I go to the main website, I get this message: "Thank you for visiting our website, this offer is currently not available." Then the tab shows "Site Under Construction." So I don't know what else to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 108 People Have Voted

Posted on May 25, 2017

Where is it?

By Scott A Whittlesey, California, Verified Reviewer

I would actually love to be able to leave a review because I ordered it about two months ago, but I have not received it yet. Yet when I tried to go back to their website, I got "Thank you for visiting our website. This offer is currently not available." So I think I got scammed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 109 People Have Voted
Showing 55-69 of 69

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.