Read 47 OurTime Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Total ripoff

    • Arizona,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site deleted my information as soon as I entered it. They objected to the line where I said I did not intend to renew, but they did not have to delete all my information. I asked them to return my information to me or give me a refund. They did not do so and continued to bill me for another three months. The phone number they give for resolution of problems does not work. This site will steal your money and make it impossible to resolve issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    Makes you join to see any matches, and when I did try and join for one month, it would only let me join to an upgrade. Scam. Shame. Shameful even their reviews are a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Using your profile as prop

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I filled out the info to join but did not pay right away (I did about three weeks later).

    Note to everybody that you need to check your profile on a laptop/conventional computer because you will discover a lot of things that can’t be seen (or missed) on a smartphone.

    I discovered in my laptop that the whole three weeks I wasn’t a paying member, they would send flirts, and auto-generated messages and claim that I had put people as ‘favorites’ when I had never done those things. Just clicking ‘yes’ I might be interested in a profile generated all these false messages sent to the other person.

    Those messages triggered an email sent to that person to entice them to join (if not already members). So imagine these guys thinking someone is interested but it’s the company, not the actual member that sent those messages! Talk about robbing not only money, but playing with peoples emotions.

    I am glad I joined at a super big discount price because I would be very upset otherwise.

    I changed all my profile info into idiotic answers because I eventually will not trust a single response I get from anyone from that site since I will not know if it was sent from a legitimate person interested or was generated from the company’s computer. What a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Filled with scammers and trolls

    • Boston, MA,
    • Feb 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Similar to what others have written, I shelled out money only to be bombarded with messages from people who clearly set up fake profiles. Here are a few examples:

    I received a message from a man who called himself "Tony" who was in his early 60s and from Connecticut. He had a few pictures that looked completely normal. I replied to "Tony" saying thanks, but you live too far away. He then sends me a long sweet poetic message about long distance relationships. Then before my very eyes, his profile went from a 60-year-old man to a 79-year-old woman. The pictures of the 60-year-old guy were gone and replaced with pictures of an attractive older woman. This happened immediately after I finished reading the poetic email about long distance relationships.

    The very next day I received a very long email from a guy in Mississippi who said he was borrowing his friend's account. He couldn't change his friend's picture because the friends of his friend would get mad. I should send him my email information right away because the subscription was running out. Of course, he wrote how special I was, sweet, and lots of other complimentary things. Then he wrote a very very similar poetic verse about long-distance relationships; extremely similar (almost word for word) to what "Tony" sent the day before.

    There were many, many, many other similar things like that occurred during the four days I had my photo posted.

    It seemed to me that Troll may have hacked some legitimate users' accounts. I was fearful that my information was going to be hacked or copied and then used by the Trolls. Who wants to be on a dating site where you have to worry about the safety of your information and who wants to have to question the legitimacy of messages received?

    I wish I had done more research on OurTime.com before I had joined. It was downright frighting to think that I actually PAID to be inundated with trolls and scammers. When I say inundated, I mean that! In four days I received at least 230 messages, flirts, etc., and I believe 90% of them were from scammers.

    If you are serious about meeting someone online and don't want to be the victim of a scammer, don't join this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Feb 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My mom, who is not tech savvy, signed up for this site without reading the fine print. How are they allowed to continue scamming seniors?! A few red flags:

    They wrote inaccurate information in her profile. Things like “I like to listen to jazz and chill.”

    They sent messages on her behalf to other member profiles.

    When she did connect with someone, she was catfished. The guy said he was from Dallas. I looked up the phone number he provided, and it’s a telemarketing line from Carrollton, TX. Interesting that this company is based in Dallas.

    None of her matches were from her home state. All thousands of miles away. And there is no way to filter by location.

    She matched with my uncle who’s been dead for 5 years.

    They have a no refund policy.

    There is review after review of people not authorizing renewals but our time keeps charging them even after their account has been closed.

    Their terms of service are confusing, the site is confusing, and my theory is the entire thing is a complete scam designed to take advantage of our vulnerable population of boomers. I’m going to the Attorney General, and anyone else who has been defrauded should do the same. They need to shut this down ASAP.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Beware, they do not prorate when you sign up for more than a 1 month membership and want to cancel your first month.

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a very disappointing experience with this online dating site. I was contacted by women and men well out of my area even though I clearly stated they needed to be in my local area and pics were required. The matches they sent were not matches.

    I signed up for six months but after three weeks realized this was not for me. Upon calling in and being on hold for nearly 30 minutes, I reached an agent to discuss how I could get some of my 6-month payment back. He was adamant that since I used the service for tgree weeks, I had to pay the 6-month amount of $90 and could not be credited for any portion. They could not prorate even though I had canceled the service before the first month was even up.

    The site is not impressive and not user-friendly. Beware. They are not customer service oriented at ALL. I don't think they are in America either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Too many out-of-state responses

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Jan 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had more responses from people that are out of state than I get from people who are in my actual preferences that I set up when I signed up. Why, and how, would people in Arizona see my profile in the first place? This is so annoying that I spend more time deleting these people than I do actually chatting with people around me. I would not recommend this site to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from OurTime

    Most profiles are not active subscribers. You might as well just use the phone book. The last web design in early September 2017 makes the site even less functional, including hiding profile activity so you can no longer tell when or if the person you are looking at has even logged on to OurTime. No doubt done by OurTime to conceal that the vast majority of the profiles are NOT ACTIVE. Other changes since September include cropping photos so heads are cut off and message read (an additional fee for this one) does not work correctly (the extra charge OT collects from you does work just fine). Inept customer service rounds out the feelings of total frustration, and the knowledge that you got swindled.

    STAY AWAY. I did not think OurTime could get worse! I was wrong, it did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Scammers playground

    • Saint Clair Shores, MI,
    • Sep 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two days into my membership and I knew it was a mistake. I was flooded with out of area/state scammers (under 50 years old). The website is difficult to navigate and steers you towards buying program upgrades. The cancellation process is near impossible! Don't get suckered into OurTime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Huge rip-off

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just called customer service to cancel after being conned into this and got a fake women, scam. Total scam.

    I paid with a credit card, not a good idea for these sites. Customer services message says to click Help, but the help is very hard to find and clicking on it just gives you info about how to add the site to a specific internet browser, not how to get your money back and cancel the "membership." More wasted time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    OurTime is an online dating site targeting the over 50 crowd. It seems like a good idea, but the system lacks a great deal of functionality and the number of people you can contact is limited.

    Anyone can sign up for a free account and view profiles, but they cannot communicate with other members.

    Anyone who is curious about the site must create a free profile to see if they will like it. This creates the illusion of having many members on the site, but in reality most are no longer using the site and even if they are, you are not able to communicate with them.

    Free members are able to send "flirts" and view profiles, but you must be a paid member to use any other feature. Once you become a paid member you will be able to receive flirts from unpaid members which means your inbox will be cluttered up with flirts from people cannot reply to any message you send them. The "flirt" function is a simple one click button so you can click on hundreds of profiles in a very short time, even though you did not read their profile and not able to follow up with further communication.

    To make matters worse, you have no way of knowing who is a paid member and who is not, so if you see someone you are interested in and spend the time to read their profile and send them a message, there is a very good chance that they will never see or read your message. As a paid member you will be able to see if they have read your message, but that is after you have already invested your energy into writing to a person that you think you might like.

    There is a “Match” feature that creates daily matches for you. However, those matches have nothing to do with the search criteria you are using and therefore are useless.

    The software runs slowly, and even though I am a paid member, the site contains ads that clutter up the screen. The chat feature will allow not allow me to enter more than about eight words without locking up, so I need to type a few words, hit enter, and type a few more and hit enter just to type a sentence.

    Along with the ads that clutter up your screen there are popup boxes that pop up every time someone views your profile. Although I’m sure some people like that I find both the ads and popup boxes distracting.

    Once you become a paid member you will have the opportunity to pay for extra features by buying tokens. You will need tokens to use the Match Me, Promote Me, and Notify Me features or to give virtual gifts.

    I do not recommend anyone use this system unless you are bored and don’t mind browsing through inactive profiles and reading through automated messages that are sent to your inbox automatically when someone clicks on a button on profile before going on the next profile.

    The one plus of this system is that customer care responded to my concerns very quickly. They were not able solve any of my concerns but they responded very quickly and confirmed that there was no way for me to know who was a paid member and which members were no longer active.

    There are better online dating sites out there that are more user friendly operated by companies that have more integrity and value your time. I would definitely give this site a thumbs down.

    Also, check out the 382 complaints with the BBB at https://www.bbb.org/dallas/business-reviews/dating-service/people-media-in-dallas-tx-90248947.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 47

Write a Review for OurTime!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review