Read 52 OurTime Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    This site is a scam...I will not renew

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Aug 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The site makes you view pictures and then reports to the subscriber that you viewed their picture. Simply awful.

    When people you are not interested in write a message and you want it to go away, the site keeps sending it...UGH.

    Most disturbing is people 5-600 miles away are included...no option to choose a location. Awful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    OurTime.com and other senior dating sites all scams

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up on OurTime.com recently, in July 2018. It only took me a few days to realize most profiles were fake! It seems that seniors are being targeted on these websites that cater to the over 50 crowd. The profiles are completely fake, and they are trying to scam lonely seniors out of money. There is no verification process at all, so you have entire businesses working out of other countries running these scams.

    These websites need to put some kind of verification process in to protect their paying customers. If you go to Care.com or Babysitter.com, they all have a verification process, and some include background checks. In this day and age, it is only the responsible thing for the owner of this company to do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam after scam.

    • Hilton Head, SC,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The men are not who they say they are, e.g. the pictures. They are looking for women with money, gold diggers, they seem to have accents so even though they say they live in your area, they don’t. Lots are in it to just get laid and if you are lucky to find one you are attracted to, he will ghost you right after he got you.

    Scam after scam.

    Mostly the pictures of them aren’t them so beware and don’t join, and hopefully, a friend will introduce you to a nice person.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Elder abuse!

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 84-year-old neighbor asked us to help her get on OurTime to seek companionship. We first noticed that the website is intentionally designed to make it easy for older adults who aren’t tech savvy to accidentally spend more money. Example: the site will lay out several upgrade options which it features prominently, while the “no thanks” or “skip” button is very small and hard to see.

    Then, we discovered the site’s functionality has varied logic, where it seemingly makes it complicated and inconsistent to initiate dialogue. Again, it seems to encourage older people to click on people they’re not interested in, to drive traffic.

    Next, we noticed that the same old people keep coming up in your deck, time after time, even after you click that you’re not interested. To make the site seem active, they churn the same repeat profiles.

    Then, our neighbor started getting spammed by other dating sites owned by the same company (Match.com) with confusing hyperlinks encouraging her to sign up for their services. We have tried repeatedly to unsubscribe from Match.com, and it simply won’t let us. It’s ridiculous.

    Simply put, these sites are scams that try to take advantage of older people.

    Absent these sites doing the right thing, I’m contacting Apple iTunes support directly. They DO CARE and WILL REVERSE any charges that come through these predatory sites. And give them negative reviews. Just contact Apple iTunes directly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Pensacola, FL,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For the hype about this site as well as the cost, I expected better than I received. I believe this site to be extremely flawed. Seriously, most of the profile pics only showed eyebrows and above! I received more messages from another site and could actually see their entire face.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Total ripoff

    • Arizona,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site deleted my information as soon as I entered it. They objected to the line where I said I did not intend to renew, but they did not have to delete all my information. I asked them to return my information to me or give me a refund. They did not do so and continued to bill me for another three months. The phone number they give for resolution of problems does not work. This site will steal your money and make it impossible to resolve issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    Makes you join to see any matches, and when I did try and join for one month, it would only let me join to an upgrade. Scam. Shame. Shameful even their reviews are a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Using your profile as prop

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I filled out the info to join but did not pay right away (I did about three weeks later).

    Note to everybody that you need to check your profile on a laptop/conventional computer because you will discover a lot of things that can’t be seen (or missed) on a smartphone.

    I discovered in my laptop that the whole three weeks I wasn’t a paying member, they would send flirts, and auto-generated messages and claim that I had put people as ‘favorites’ when I had never done those things. Just clicking ‘yes’ I might be interested in a profile generated all these false messages sent to the other person.

    Those messages triggered an email sent to that person to entice them to join (if not already members). So imagine these guys thinking someone is interested but it’s the company, not the actual member that sent those messages! Talk about robbing not only money, but playing with peoples emotions.

    I am glad I joined at a super big discount price because I would be very upset otherwise.

    I changed all my profile info into idiotic answers because I eventually will not trust a single response I get from anyone from that site since I will not know if it was sent from a legitimate person interested or was generated from the company’s computer. What a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Filled with scammers and trolls

    • Boston, MA,
    • Feb 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Similar to what others have written, I shelled out money only to be bombarded with messages from people who clearly set up fake profiles. Here are a few examples:

    I received a message from a man who called himself "Tony" who was in his early 60s and from Connecticut. He had a few pictures that looked completely normal. I replied to "Tony" saying thanks, but you live too far away. He then sends me a long sweet poetic message about long distance relationships. Then before my very eyes, his profile went from a 60-year-old man to a 79-year-old woman. The pictures of the 60-year-old guy were gone and replaced with pictures of an attractive older woman. This happened immediately after I finished reading the poetic email about long distance relationships.

    The very next day I received a very long email from a guy in Mississippi who said he was borrowing his friend's account. He couldn't change his friend's picture because the friends of his friend would get mad. I should send him my email information right away because the subscription was running out. Of course, he wrote how special I was, sweet, and lots of other complimentary things. Then he wrote a very very similar poetic verse about long-distance relationships; extremely similar (almost word for word) to what "Tony" sent the day before.

    There were many, many, many other similar things like that occurred during the four days I had my photo posted.

    It seemed to me that Troll may have hacked some legitimate users' accounts. I was fearful that my information was going to be hacked or copied and then used by the Trolls. Who wants to be on a dating site where you have to worry about the safety of your information and who wants to have to question the legitimacy of messages received?

    I wish I had done more research on OurTime.com before I had joined. It was downright frighting to think that I actually PAID to be inundated with trolls and scammers. When I say inundated, I mean that! In four days I received at least 230 messages, flirts, etc., and I believe 90% of them were from scammers.

    If you are serious about meeting someone online and don't want to be the victim of a scammer, don't join this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Feb 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My mom, who is not tech savvy, signed up for this site without reading the fine print. How are they allowed to continue scamming seniors?! A few red flags:

    They wrote inaccurate information in her profile. Things like “I like to listen to jazz and chill.”

    They sent messages on her behalf to other member profiles.

    When she did connect with someone, she was catfished. The guy said he was from Dallas. I looked up the phone number he provided, and it’s a telemarketing line from Carrollton, TX. Interesting that this company is based in Dallas.

    None of her matches were from her home state. All thousands of miles away. And there is no way to filter by location.

    She matched with my uncle who’s been dead for 5 years.

    They have a no refund policy.

    There is review after review of people not authorizing renewals but our time keeps charging them even after their account has been closed.

    Their terms of service are confusing, the site is confusing, and my theory is the entire thing is a complete scam designed to take advantage of our vulnerable population of boomers. I’m going to the Attorney General, and anyone else who has been defrauded should do the same. They need to shut this down ASAP.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Beware, they do not prorate when you sign up for more than a 1 month membership and want to cancel your first month.

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a very disappointing experience with this online dating site. I was contacted by women and men well out of my area even though I clearly stated they needed to be in my local area and pics were required. The matches they sent were not matches.

    I signed up for six months but after three weeks realized this was not for me. Upon calling in and being on hold for nearly 30 minutes, I reached an agent to discuss how I could get some of my 6-month payment back. He was adamant that since I used the service for tgree weeks, I had to pay the 6-month amount of $90 and could not be credited for any portion. They could not prorate even though I had canceled the service before the first month was even up.

    The site is not impressive and not user-friendly. Beware. They are not customer service oriented at ALL. I don't think they are in America either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 52

Write a Review for OurTime!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review