PetGentle Review: Will It Train Your Dog?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 11, 2019

PetGentle is a battery-powered dog whistle and flashlight marketed as a tool you can use to train your dog not to bark in situations in which he or she shouldn’t be barking.

The device leverages your dog’s distaste for high-pitched noises to correct his or her behavior.

As a former dog owner of a particularly loud-mouthed terrier, I can tell you from personal experience that there’s nothing more frustrating than having your pup unleash a powerful burst of barks during nap time when the mailman arrives.

In theory, PetGentle seems like a pretty effective tool. In this review, we’ll analyze how the device actually works, how much it costs and how it compares to other similar dog whistles.

How the PetGentle Works

Dog owners with vocal pups who seem to bark at the wrong time – or anytime – during the day can quickly reach their patience’s breaking point. Mailmen, car doors shutting, cats walking through the front yard – they're all triggers for barking.

To think that a device like PetGentle can be the solution to this problem can be a huge relief. After all, their website claims:

“Unwanted behaviors can be frustrating and even embarrassing … PetGentle handheld dog trainer makes it easy. (It) gives you control of the situation so you can train, treat and repeat your way to a better relationship with your four-legged friend.”

The PetGentle an ultrasonic noise emitter (inaudible to humans) and a flashlight. Their site says you can use both of these to get your dog’s attention amid his or her poor behavior – barking, for example. The flashlight has a continuous beam and a strobe option.

Basically, the site says that when your dog is losing their mind over the mailman knocking at your door, you activate the device’s ultrasonic sound.

Since your dog despises the sound, he or she will stop his behavior (in theory) and focus on the very ultrasonic noise it wants to stop.

Should he or she seem undeterred by the sound, you can push the sound button again and activated the light. This two-sense approach should be enough to distract your dog from barking.

The product’s website says that the sound is “100% harmless to dogs & safe to humans.”

Pro tip: The device ships with a 9-volt battery.

Do Dog Whistle’s Help With Barking?

The big question with this device is whether or not it’s actually effective in training your dog not to bark in situations in which he or she normally barks.

According to dog walking site Wag!, the key to using these devices is to reward your dog as soon as he or she exhibits the behavior you deem positive. So, when your dog stops barking after you activate the PetGentle ultrasonic sound, provide them with a treat.

If your pup doesn’t do what you want when you activate the whistle, do it again and, if need be, use the light in conjunction with sound. Consistency is the key to changing behaviors – go through the same process every time your dog bakers when you don’t want him or her to bark.

“Repeat this procedure every time your dog barks in an unwanted fashion. Remember to be consistent. Eventually, your dog will associate excessive barking with the unpleasant sound of the whistle,” Wag! notes.

Based on what we’ve read on Wag! And what we’ve heard from experts, using a device like PetGentle is a legitimate way to bark train your dog.

PetGentle Pricing and Return Policy

When we wrote this review, PetGentle offered five different prices based on how many devices you wanted to buy:

  • One device: $39.95
  • Two devices: $69.95
  • Three devices: $94.95
  • Four devices: $114.95
  • Five devices: $119.95

What was interesting is that, while we were on the checkout page, a pop-up window with a Wheel of Fortune-style wheel spun around and stopped on a $10 discount that the site added to our shopping cart. Because of this, our PetGentle cost $29.95 instead of $39.95.

Shipping is between $2.95 and $6.95 depending on how many devices you buy.

The site also advertised a 90-day, money-back guarantee that said you could send your PetGentle back within 90 days to get a full refund. You’ll have to pay the shipping to send it back, though.

We read through the fine print to find more information about the return policy and all we could find was an email address: support@petgentle.com.

We called the customer service line 833-501-3407 and received a message telling us there weren’t any agents available to help us.

Based on this experience, it may take some time for you to get your return process, so keep that in mind.

How the PetGentle Compares to Similar Devices

You have two main choices when it comes to dog whistles: battery-powered and breath-powered. You can either push a button or blow into a whistle.

We went to Amazon to find the top-rated battery-powered and breath-powered whistles and found the following two items:

  • MightyPaw Training Whistle: $7.99; 3.9 stars from 54 reviews
  • Modus Ultrasonic Dog Trainer: $31.99; 4.4 stars from 79 reviews

Based on our research of dog whistles, we don’t see any performance differences between a mouth whistle and battery whistle. Both seem to serve well the purposes of training your dog not to bark.

That being said, the Modus gets better reviews than the MightyPaw. It’s hard to say what the difference is between the two in terms of performance. Some people may like the ease of the battery-powered device – just click a button and the tone emits.

Whistles require lung power and cleaning, and these things take a bit more effort than the PetGentle, for example.

To us, choosing between a battery-powered whistle training and a breath-powered whistle trainer is a matter of your needs for value and convenience.

If you are on a tight budget, breath-powered whistles offer the best value. If you have $30 or $40 to spend and want convenience, the PetGentle is probably the best choice.

The Final Word: Pros and Cons of PetGentle

Typically, when you buy products like this, there are two main questions:

  • Is the price competitive?
  • Is what it claims to do a legitimate solution for your problem?

We believe that PetGentle offers competitive pricing and is a legitimate solution for the problem of a dog who likes to bark at appropriate and inappropriate times.

There’s enough evidence from dog sites and dog experts to back up the idea that consistent use of a dog whistle along with treats can train your dog only to bark in situations you want him or her to bark.

Now, our claim that the device is competitively priced is based on a comparison to other battery-powered ultrasonic trainers. Breath-powered do whistles are significantly cheaper.

In general, we believe our research and various experts point to the fact that the PetGentle can be a helpful way to bark train your dog.


Read 38 PetGentle Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 18 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Flashlight

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Oct 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It seems to serve 2 functions: flashlight and strobe light with red laser pointer. I have 2 dogs and neither react to the sound/whistle. It would be fine if I had a cat as they like laser pointers. My dogs don't.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Gulfport, FL,
    • Oct 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 15-month-old Havanese is a bit stubborn. He gets very playful and wants to nip and jump while barking at me. I was so excited to find the PetGentle and ordered 2 of them. Well, my little Havanese had no response to the PetGentle. I noticed his ears perk up a bit for a second but I didn't seem to find him to be bothered by it and barked and tried to grab the PetGentle while in use. Therefore, I did not have a good outcome with this device. I am returning them for a refund. The company was very compliant to the return and refund. Good service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Oct 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Received PetGentle today, was really looking forward to using the pushed button to turn on. I heard no sound at all, and my dog, a Groodle, had no reaction whatsoever. I have tried a number of times and my dog has no reaction at all to this product.

    Could it be faulty? How can I check at this time? I have wasted my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Doesn’t work

    • Melbourne, Victoria, Australia,
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased one of these devices and it still hadn’t arrived after several weeks. I contacted the company and they were quite apologetic about it. The product arrived and I tried it out on my dog. Unfortunately, after much perseverance, I realized the device wouldn’t do as advertised. I tried to contact the company but couldn’t get a reply from them. I gave up trying after a month.

    Absolutely disgusted with the way I was treated!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worked for my attention-seeking barker

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have an 8-month-old corgi puppy who was barking all the time. If I was in the other room, if we put her in her enclosure (baby gate in the kitchen), if she heard anyone outside, for attention, if she was on the balcony, so on and so forth. I live in an apartment so I was concerned about my neighbors complaining. I tried a static shock bark collar first, which didn't really work. Either she was just barking through the shock, or her barking wasn't setting it off. I got an email ad for PetGentle and I thought I'd try it because a) it's much cheaper than another bark collar, and b) I liked that it was just a sound I control.

    Now when she barks, I give her a warning "Mia, quiet" in a low tone, and if she keeps going, I use the sound. She always stops immediately when I use the PetGentle, and I call her over for a treat or petting and praise. I've only had to actually use it maybe 8 times in the past two weeks. After the first two times, she figured it out and now usually stops with the verbal warning.

    I'd suggest this to people who have dogs like mine who bark a lot when they're home. If your dog barks mostly when they're home alone, an automatic bark collar is probably still your best bet. Overall, I think it's a very effective training tool, and pretty inexpensive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    PetGentle works

    • California,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    There are 3 small dogs that bark nonstop for up to 12-16 hours a day, every day, frequently from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm or to midnight, for years now. Initially, I assumed I would need to get close to them to use the PetGentle device for effectiveness since they are three backyards away from my 3rd-floor apartment. Getting access to them was not really practical given the layout of the yards and high fences.

    Surprisingly, I discovered that this device works from this distance nearly instantly, they obviously hear it. (I had also purchased a white noise machine to drown out the racket.) It is obvious the owners do not care about the behavior of their dogs or the feelings of their neighbors as many complaints with the City of Oakland have accrued over the years; this easy fix is truly, truly a blessing!

    I also have one large dog (Marmaduke size) next door that barks deeply and continuously whenever his people leave. Our apartments are separated by about 25 feet. When using this device, it quiets the dog within seconds and stays quiet.

    It doesn't get any better than this. And the best part is the owners have no idea that their intransigence, disrespect, and disregard is being transcended big time! This is an amazing product.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Life changing. It works.

    • Portland, OR,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We just adopted a chihuahua who barks incessantly at the door. It's been impossible to have people over. I ordered PetGentle and got it within a week. I hide it in my pocket and always give her the opportunity to obey my "quiet" command before correcting her by pushing the button. I only had to push the button on 3 occasions, she now obeys "quiet" immediately and I haven't had to use it. I'm stunned. My dog is on the sensitive side, as well as extremely smart.

    I think you need to use it immediately issuing a command if it isn't followed. Barking isn't bad. Disobeying the "quiet" command is what needs correction. That's what I've been working on with my dog.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Phone service devoid of manners

    I placed an order yesterday, September 19th, 2019. After completing my order it did not give me a receipt. I phoned and the female told me it had gone through, she said she would send me the receipt via e-mail. I phoned today to ask as to why I had not received the e-mail receipt. I found the female to be rather rude and the phone line keeps shorting out and when she was talking I could hear a child crying. She just hung up. RUDE and RUDE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Problems

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dog does very well when I take her outside until she sees a car. When she does, she barks relentlessly and pulls on her leash trying to chase the car. I bought the PetGentle hoping it would be a solution to this problem. First off, I paid for two-day shipping. The package took three weeks to reach me. I called customer service and was told to just be patient, my PetGentle is on the way. When I stated that I paid for two-day shipping the woman just kept saying, be patient. Bad business.

    As far as whether or not it works...not with my dog. I know the whistle works because other dogs have reacted to it. My dog seems to not even hear it. I guess it works for some dogs but not all. The site I ordered it from stated that there is a switch on the side used to turn the whistle up, but mine doesn’t have that feature. I’m not happy with this purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    First try with PetGentle won me over!

    • Colorado,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    People where I live do not control their vicious dogs in or out of my new apartment complex. On a fixed income, dog training was not possible (new widow). I ordered the PetGentle, and honestly, I flashed the PetGentle immediately as she heard a dog barking, and I pointed the machine directly at her face and pushed the button. She stopped barking, and shook her head...I praised her, and then she smiled back at me. Not once, twice, three times, etc., but EVERY time she barked and I have repeated now for a month now. If I start to sense an "eruption", I touch the PetGentle and she stops, looking into my face for my praises!

    Well worth having. My husband would be so proud!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Product worked for about a week and then apparently quit working

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Piece of Chinese junk, obviously quit working after about a week, lights still work but the sound does not. I am also concerned about the device having a laser light - I would be careful about accidentally shining the laser beam in dogs eye - laser is a stupid addition to this product in my opinion. No luck contacting the seller.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a Review for PetGentle!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review