Start your review of PetGentle:
  • 82 Customer Reviews
  • 43% Recommend This Company
2.8 out of 5
5 star: 41% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 48%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Flashlight

    • By Karl M.,
    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Oct 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It seems to serve 2 functions: flashlight and strobe light with red laser pointer. I have 2 dogs and neither react to the sound/whistle. It would be fine if I had a cat as they like laser pointers. My dogs don't.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Kathleen M.,
    • Gulfport, FL,
    • Oct 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My 15-month-old Havanese is a bit stubborn. He gets very playful and wants to nip and jump while barking at me. I was so excited to find the PetGentle and ordered 2 of them. Well, my little Havanese had no response to the PetGentle. I noticed his ears perk up a bit for a second but I didn't seem to find him to be bothered by it and barked and tried to grab the PetGentle while in use. Therefore, I did not have a good outcome with this device. I am returning them for a refund. The company was very compliant to the return and refund. Good service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not good

    • By Pam C.,
    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Oct 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Received PetGentle today, was really looking forward to using the pushed button to turn on. I heard no sound at all, and my dog, a Groodle, had no reaction whatsoever. I have tried a number of times and my dog has no reaction at all to this product.

    Could it be faulty? How can I check at this time? I have wasted my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn’t work

    • By Peter M.,
    • Melbourne, Victoria, Australia,
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased one of these devices and it still hadn’t arrived after several weeks. I contacted the company and they were quite apologetic about it. The product arrived and I tried it out on my dog. Unfortunately, after much perseverance, I realized the device wouldn’t do as advertised. I tried to contact the company but couldn’t get a reply from them. I gave up trying after a month.

    Absolutely disgusted with the way I was treated!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worked for my attention-seeking barker

    • By Kailey L.,
    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have an 8-month-old corgi puppy who was barking all the time. If I was in the other room, if we put her in her enclosure (baby gate in the kitchen), if she heard anyone outside, for attention, if she was on the balcony, so on and so forth. I live in an apartment so I was concerned about my neighbors complaining. I tried a static shock bark collar first, which didn't really work. Either she was just barking through the shock, or her barking wasn't setting it off. I got an email ad for PetGentle and I thought I'd try it because a) it's much cheaper than another bark collar, and b) I liked that it was just a sound I control.

    Now when she barks, I give her a warning "Mia, quiet" in a low tone, and if she keeps going, I use the sound. She always stops immediately when I use the PetGentle, and I call her over for a treat or petting and praise. I've only had to actually use it maybe 8 times in the past two weeks. After the first two times, she figured it out and now usually stops with the verbal warning.

    I'd suggest this to people who have dogs like mine who bark a lot when they're home. If your dog barks mostly when they're home alone, an automatic bark collar is probably still your best bet. Overall, I think it's a very effective training tool, and pretty inexpensive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • PetGentle works

    • By Robert C.,
    • California,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    There are 3 small dogs that bark nonstop for up to 12-16 hours a day, every day, frequently from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm or to midnight, for years now. Initially, I assumed I would need to get close to them to use the PetGentle device for effectiveness since they are three backyards away from my 3rd-floor apartment. Getting access to them was not really practical given the layout of the yards and high fences.

    Surprisingly, I discovered that this device works from this distance nearly instantly, they obviously hear it. (I had also purchased a white noise machine to drown out the racket.) It is obvious the owners do not care about the behavior of their dogs or the feelings of their neighbors as many complaints with the City of Oakland have accrued over the years; this easy fix is truly, truly a blessing!

    I also have one large dog (Marmaduke size) next door that barks deeply and continuously whenever his people leave. Our apartments are separated by about 25 feet. When using this device, it quiets the dog within seconds and stays quiet.

    It doesn't get any better than this. And the best part is the owners have no idea that their intransigence, disrespect, and disregard is being transcended big time! This is an amazing product.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Life changing. It works.

    • By Christine T.,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We just adopted a chihuahua who barks incessantly at the door. It's been impossible to have people over. I ordered PetGentle and got it within a week. I hide it in my pocket and always give her the opportunity to obey my "quiet" command before correcting her by pushing the button. I only had to push the button on 3 occasions, she now obeys "quiet" immediately and I haven't had to use it. I'm stunned. My dog is on the sensitive side, as well as extremely smart.

    I think you need to use it immediately issuing a command if it isn't followed. Barking isn't bad. Disobeying the "quiet" command is what needs correction. That's what I've been working on with my dog.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Phone service devoid of manners

    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order yesterday, September 19th, 2019. After completing my order it did not give me a receipt. I phoned and the female told me it had gone through, she said she would send me the receipt via e-mail. I phoned today to ask as to why I had not received the e-mail receipt. I found the female to be rather rude and the phone line keeps shorting out and when she was talking I could hear a child crying. She just hung up. RUDE and RUDE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Problems

    • By Steven S.,
    • Columbus, OH,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My dog does very well when I take her outside until she sees a car. When she does, she barks relentlessly and pulls on her leash trying to chase the car. I bought the PetGentle hoping it would be a solution to this problem. First off, I paid for two-day shipping. The package took three weeks to reach me. I called customer service and was told to just be patient, my PetGentle is on the way. When I stated that I paid for two-day shipping the woman just kept saying, be patient. Bad business.

    As far as whether or not it works...not with my dog. I know the whistle works because other dogs have reacted to it. My dog seems to not even hear it. I guess it works for some dogs but not all. The site I ordered it from stated that there is a switch on the side used to turn the whistle up, but mine doesn’t have that feature. I’m not happy with this purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • First try with PetGentle won me over!

    • By Lynda S.,
    • Colorado,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    People where I live do not control their vicious dogs in or out of my new apartment complex. On a fixed income, dog training was not possible (new widow). I ordered the PetGentle, and honestly, I flashed the PetGentle immediately as she heard a dog barking, and I pointed the machine directly at her face and pushed the button. She stopped barking, and shook her head...I praised her, and then she smiled back at me. Not once, twice, three times, etc., but EVERY time she barked and I have repeated now for a month now. If I start to sense an "eruption", I touch the PetGentle and she stops, looking into my face for my praises!

    Well worth having. My husband would be so proud!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Product worked for about a week and then apparently quit working

    • By Ted M.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Piece of Chinese junk, obviously quit working after about a week, lights still work but the sound does not. I am also concerned about the device having a laser light - I would be careful about accidentally shining the laser beam in dogs eye - laser is a stupid addition to this product in my opinion. No luck contacting the seller.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 45-55 of 82

Write a Review for PetGentle!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
PetGentle