RXBAR

RXBAR

Overall Rating

3.2

20 Customer Reviews

Summary

The RXBAR is advertised as a healthy alternative to sugary energy bars through minimal processing and wholesome ingredients like egg whites, nuts, and dates.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.2 Stars out of 20 Reviews
5 Star:35% 4 Star:10% 3 Star:15% 2 Star:15% 1 Star:25%
50% Recommend This Company
Start your review of RXBAR:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 5, 2018

I eat these every day

By Corinne C., New York, Verified Reviewer

I am a very busy person. I don't like to cook, and I don't want to worry about where my next meal is coming from during the workday. For the last several years, I have carried protein bars with me as a means to get me through the day. My first protein bar was Quest Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, then I switched to Vanilla Crunch protein bars. The Quest gave me stomach issues, and the Crunch bars left crumbs everywhere.

I bought the RXBARs and chose the chocolate coconut flavor. I am in love with these bars. They taste like real food because they are real food. My parents were from Sweden, so I grew up eating a lot of dried fruit and nuts. I look forward to eating these.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 9, 2018

Better than going hungry

By Christopher J., Bethlehem, NH, Verified Reviewer

I saw good reviews of these and liked the idea of identifiable ingredients. I bought both the berry and chocolate bars.

Just awful.

There is very little taste to either - and it's hard to tell what the taste is. It sure doesn't taste like berries or chocolate.

Plus, the bars are incredibly chewy and stick to your teeth. I guess that makes them long-lasting since you can continue to pick bits out for a while.

All in all, a high price to pay for what is claimed to be good nutrition.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 28, 2018

Wow, and not in a good way

By Tamara J., Columbus, OH, Verified Reviewer

I tried a sample that came from my package from Fabletics. I was excited to see the ingredients and I was hoping that these were the snack bars that I was looking for. Alas, these were not to my taste. I tasted some odd, and the aftertaste was like a tarry taste that I really can't put my finger on. I am going to back up some of these using their ingredients to see if I can figure out what that horrible aftertaste is.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 3, 2018

What is a "natural flavor?"

By Carol R., Eugene, OR, Verified Reviewer

I bought a sampler box off of Amazon. Texture and flavor were pretty much what I'd expect and not pleasant.

The real problem began within 1/2 hour of choking this down. Severe nausea, vomiting, cramping, etc. This only happens when I eat a product containing ingredients that have attachments to their names such as "isolates," "hydrolyzed," or "autolyzed" (aka hidden MSG). When I then read the ingredients to include "natural flavors," I knew I'd been had and attacked by the very stuff I try to avoid.

Natural flavors is a hidden word that covers a multitude of sins. I then see today, after all this time, an article showing that the manufacturers are being sued for lack of truth in their ingredient list. I wonder what else is hiding.

I can eat egg whites, dates, nuts, and whatever all day long, but in the form of an RXBar, I will become quite ill. Something less than "natural" is in there.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 20, 2018

Taste good but a chewy mess

By Ken B., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

They taste OK and are great for you, but they are unbelievably chewy! The chocolate sea salt ones are really hard to get down, and you have to scoop the inside of your mouth/teeth constantly with your tongue to get them off your teeth. It's a real chore to eat one.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 14, 2018

Incredible

By Danny K., New York, Verified Reviewer

Not only are the bars incredibly tasting, but they have no garbage ingredients. And to top it off, fantastic customer service who if your order direct constantly throw freebies your way. 10 out of 10 for these bars. FYI, I prefer the chocolate ones over the fruit.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 6, 2018

LOVE these - great with IF!

By Jeslyn Tweedie, Montana, Verified Reviewer

I love, love, LOVE these bars. I workout often and follow a balanced carb/protein/fats diet employing intermittent fasting, meaning I eat all my calories for the day between 12-8 and fast for 16 hours.

These bars are AMAZING. I can get good nutrients, fats, calories, in a smaller snack sized bar - and they do keep me super full!

I usually eat two hearty satisfying meals, one of these bars, and a big protein shake before heading to the gym at night to hit 1700-1800 calories/day. These were the perfect addition to my plan, and I disagree with the review about the taste.

I don't eat candy/junk food/fast food and these things taste HEAVENLY. The chocolate sea salt literally tastes like a deliciously rich chocolate brownie to my palate that doesn't eat those things.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 27, 2018

Chocolate Chip RXBAR

By Deborah Henderson, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I like the ingredient list on the package. Being a lover of cashews and almonds, I was anxious to try this bar. What a horrid disappointment! It is extremely chewy, and the flavor is bitter and disgusting. I could not force myself to take a second bite. The first one left a medicine-like taste in my mouth. I guess the "RX" is literal! It makes me think of the way I felt as a kid when I accidentally ate an adult aspirin. No thank you!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2017

Bars getting smaller in package

By Alan Kess, San Clemente, CA, Verified Reviewer

I love the bars and have been a faithful customer for years. I noticed months ago that the bar size is decreasing, but whatever. When purchasing more yesterday at Trader Joe’s, I noticed one-third of the package is not used, meaning the bars have decreased in size about 30%. Quite a difference from just 6 months ago. Shorter cut on each bar improves stock, but unfortunately, this customer no longer sees the value. Once they return to original size within the package, I will purchase once again.

The 4-star rating is for taste and quality of the product, not the value in purchasing bars of this size.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted
Showing 12-20 of 20

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.