About Sani Sticks

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Aug 10, 2015

If you’re looking to keep your drain clear and odor-free all year long, Sani Sticks “super concentrated” drain cleaning and sanitation sticks are claimed to stop greasy buildup that can clog drains, and even dissolves food, hair, organic deposits, and other common clogging agents.

According to the manufacturer, all you have to do is drop one Sani Stick into your drain each month, whether in your kitchen, bathroom, utility room, or anywhere else.

After it lodges in your drain’s trap, it releases a concentrated blend of enzymes that stop backups, clogs, and odors, along with a pleasing scent.

Despite its power though, Sani Sticks are all natural and biodegradable and are 100% safe for all drains, plumbing, and septic tanks.

You might have heard that what you can’t see won’t hurt you, but the hidden nastiness in your drains certainly can smell up your entire house if it’s not properly controlled. But will Sani Sticks provide an easy solution or just frustration?

First, let’s talk about enzymes.

What Are Enzymes?

At their most basic, enzymes are “biological molecules (typically proteins) that significantly speed up the rate of virtually all of the chemical reactions that take place within cells.”

As such, enzymes play a key role in digestion, metabolism, and many other bodily processes.

Because some types of enzymes are very good at breaking down substances at the molecular level, they’re often used in drain cleaning formulas (known as enzymatic drain cleaners) to slowly “chew through” clogs and other odor-causing material.

Unfortunately, we’re not told which enzymes are included in Sani Sticks, although this generally involves a proprietary formula.

With this in mind, what are the pros and cons of enzymatic drain cleaners like Sani Sticks?

Pros and Cons of Enzymatic Drain Cleaners Like Sani Sticks

One of the biggest advantages of enzymatic drain cleaners like Sani Sticks is they’re derived from natural sources (making them safe for all types of plumbing and septic tanks, in addition to their environmental-friendliness), ease of use, and low cost.

On the other hand, if you’ve ever used an all-natural cleaning agent before, you know that they often don’t work as well as their chemical-laden counterparts.

As such, enzymatic drain cleaners like Sani Sticks might take longer to provide any benefits. On top of this, products like Sani Sticks are often better at preventing clogs from occurring than they are at clearing an already-clogged drain.

Also, due to Sani Sticks’s design and where it lodges in your plumbing, we’d have some concerns that it might actually cause more clogs than it prevents since material going down your drain might wrap around it and cause a blockage.

Ask yourself this though: Are enzymatic drain cleaners the right choice for you?

When It Comes to Drain Cleaners, You Have Options

As we mentioned above, enzymatic drain cleaners might be cheap and environmentally friendly, but they might not always be the most effective option.

So, if you have an especially tough drain clog on your hands, you might need to resort to more traditional—but much harsher—methods that you’ll find lining the aisles at your local big box retailer.

This includes common household names such as Draino, Liquid Plumr, and others.

If you’re looking to avoid chemicals altogether, you might search online for “mechanical drain cleaners,” and you’ll even find dozens of DIY methods you can use to save money, as well as the environment.

Granted, all of these options only address clogs and odors once they occur. But are there any options for preventing clogs and odors in the first place?

Are There Other Ways of Preventing Clogs and Odors?

In short, there are a lot.

To prevent drain clogs, you can use baking soda, vinegar ice cubes, or even just run hot water down the drain every time you use your sink.

You can also cover the drain opening with a screen or grate, which can catch debris before it has a chance to cause any problems. Finally, make sure you discard of old grease and coffee grounds properly, which means never putting them down the drain.

Similarly, to prevent odors from occurring, you can also pour a mixture of baking soda, vinegar, and citrus rinds down your drain.

You can also just make sure that the p-trap for your drain is always full of water.

Otherwise, you might have stinky sewer gasses making their way back up your drain and causing a foul odor.

Before we move on to Sani Sticks’s pricing, let’s first talk about the company that manufactures it.

Who Makes Sani Sticks?

Sani Sticks is manufactured by Product Trend, LLC (a division of Hampton Direct), an increasingly popular ASOTV company that also makes My Fun Fish, My Spy Birdhouse, Lumi Doh, and many more.

Among nearly 100 HighYa reader reviews for these products, they have an average rating of 2 stars, with common complaints citing failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and difficult customer service experiences.

Despite these concerns, Hampton Direct had a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 118 closed complaints (as of 8/6/15).

Most of these appeared to reference order totals that were higher than expected (additional products added to orders, cards charged without processing an order, etc.), and difficulty obtaining refunds.

Now, let’s find out how much Sani Sticks will set you back.

Sani Sticks Pricing and Refund Policy

Four packages of Sani Sticks (48 individual sticks) are priced at $10 plus $11.98 S&H (yes, you read that right!).

Sani Sticks come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means you’ll likely lose 50% more in non-refundable S&H charges than you’ll ultimately receive as a refund.

Despite this, if you’d still like to return your Sani Sticks, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-229-0762.

Now, let’s wrap everything up.

The Bottom Line: Is Sani Sticks Your Best Option?

As you can see, there’s no one way to prevent clogs and unwanted drain odors, so you might have to go through some trial and error before finding a solution that meets your needs.

Even if you understand that you want to stick with an enzymatic drain cleaner though, keep in mind that the are hundreds available from dozens of different manufacturers—many of which are less expensive than Sani Sticks, especially considering its high, non-refundable S&H charges.

In fact, you’ll almost certainly be able to find a couple of options at local retailers.

Considering this, we might recommend exploring local options before placing your Sani Sticks order.


Read 26 Sani Sticks Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 251 out 260 people found this review helpful

    Did absolutely nothing

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Feb 4, 2016

    These sticks did nothing to clear drain and gave no clean scent what so ever. I wound up putting 3 sticks in several drains and nothing helped. A complete waste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 187 out 196 people found this review helpful

    Did not work

    • Erie, PA,
    • Feb 28, 2016

    I tried these for my bath tub which gets clogged a lot. It only made it worse. Not worth buying!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 86 out 92 people found this review helpful

    Bad product

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought Sani Sticks would be the greatest thing invented. I realized, however, that they are actually stopping my drain up because all they do is collapse and curl up like a little snake and stay in the bottom of my drain. I've been putting one down for about six months, and well, today, when I took my piping apart, there's six sticks still intact and caught in my drain. Besides that, all they did was make my drain almost completely charcoal black.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 75 out 104 people found this review helpful

    Sani Stik Ripoff

    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a pack and dropped one in a drain that had an odor and a week later nothing changed. Put a piece of PVC on an elbow to simulate drain trap. It appears that after they get wet they get soft and collapse and as soon as you run water the go straight down the drain. Doesn't take long to collapse so there's no way they could last a month in the trap. Total rip off.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 67 out 73 people found this review helpful

    Complete rip off - will cost you more than doing nothing

    These things should be taken off the market. I had been using them for a slow drain (which kept getting worse) until it stopped up completely. A plumber's bill later to snake the drain, I now have a free-flowing drain and a jumble of softened, twisted Sani Sticks that never dissolved. My guess is they are meant to give off the pleasant odor for a few days to make you think they work, then soften and make their way down the drain to make you think they have dissolved.

    Save your money as these are worse than useless and will cost you more than doing nothing as they will clog your drain and force you to clean your drain earlier.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 46 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Plugged drains

    After using Sani Sticks for six months in my bathroom sink, the drain was clogged. I took the trap off, and all six sticks were in it. I removed them and the drain works fine now. I threw the rest away. Do not buy these, they are a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Sani Sticks sounded like a good idea, BUT!

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw the ad on TV and thought it sounded like a great idea so bought some a few weeks ago. What a disappointment! There was the faintest smell from one of the drains of the supposed lemon scent, but it didn't last long. That particular drain seemed to take even longer to drain with the Sani Stick inside it until I ran a lot of hot water down there, which made some improvement. I am not sure about using the remaining sticks at this point. I am rapidly thinking they are a waste of money ($17.99 Canadian). Maybe someone else has a more positive experience!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Sani Sticks are a terrible product!

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two packages of Sani Sticks. I used them according to directions for four months and my kitchen drains clogged. I hired a plumber to snake the drains and found that the Sani Sticks were the problem as they were a messy glob. Expensive lesson. I would NEVER RECOMMEND this product to anyone! I still have a partially used package but do not have my order number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    We paid about $10 for a package of these. Within a day or two, a horrible smell came wafting out of every sink we used them in. The rest will go in the trash. Don't waste your money on these stink sticks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 40 out 41 people found this review helpful

    They don't work!

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a pack of 60 orange Sani Sticks in July of 2017 from seeing a commercial on HSN for $19.95, which I thought was a deal, no tax, and no shipping and handling. After I got them I put one down in the drain every month in my bathroom sink drain until the odor went away and the drain would stop being sluggish, it took about three months.

    Every time the pipes would start stinking I’d put one down for about three months to stop the smell and unclog my sluggish drain. Little did I know that they were just collecting in our pipes and not dissolving at all. My husband just today took the pipe out and found all the Sani sticks that I’d put in the drain, almost 12 months’ worth. They had swollen into a sponge-like mess that backed up in the pipe until no water would drain out. Several of them had broken into small pieces that hadn't dissolved.

    Don’t waste your money - they don’t work, they don’t dissolve even though the description says that they are all natural and are biodegradable, they’re supposed to be "drain cleaning and sanitation sticks specially created to stop greasy buildup, and even dissolves hair, food, organic deposits, and other things. These sticks are so concentrated that can effectively prevent your drains from clogging" but THEY AREN’T, THEY DON’T! Since I bought them almost two years ago, I have to eat the $19.95 I spent to get five packs of 12 sticks each of orange scented Sani Sticks. WHAT A RIP OFF!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Sani Stick scam

    • Mokena, IL,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried the Sani Sticks per the commercial review. It has cost me $550 to fix my plumbing because the sticks are a no-do. They do not help unclog your sink; they clog them. Per my plumber, the worst idea yet. I WANT MY MONEY BACK. For $9.99 per pack, rip off big time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for Sani Sticks!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review