The Beard Club Reviews

The Beard Club

Overall Rating

2.0

16 Customer Reviews

Summary

The Beard Club is a subscription service that provides monthly access to a variety of beard grooming products such as oils, balms, waxes, supplements, and more. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.0 Stars out of 16 Reviews
5 Star:12% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:12% 2 Star:6% 1 Star:62%
31% Recommend This Company
Start your review of The Beard Club:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 15, 2021

Unwanted orders

By Tomik K., California, Verified Reviewer

I did not put my credit card number or my debit card number on your webpage. Because it not safe. I would like to know what has happened. Why did you use it without my permission? I am not happy to have you. This is the second time that this has happened, and I did not get informed that this is going to happen beforehand.

On August 27, 2021 The Beard Club, Inc. has charged me $108.41. I don't know what is going on, I need an explanation. This is some type of order, which I did not order, and I don't know why this has happened. You're a thief.

Nobody answers my phone or replies to email.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I would not recommend this to a friend

Don't give them your credit card number or debit

They are forcing me to buy products

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2021

Terrible customer service

By John B., Boone, NC, Verified Reviewer

I was excited to purchase products from them, and I was fine with the cost. Once I paid for a kit, I was notified that my package wouldn't arrive for 14 days. I just assumed that was a place holder, because who wants a growth kit that late. They showed the package as shipped the next day, so I thought all was good. Three days later I saw no movement, so I emailed their customer support, and they just blew it off, and blamed it on Covid. I told them immediately that Covid didn't cause that long of a delay, and I wanted expedited shipping or a refund. They just blew me off again, and said to let them know if I don't get it in 14 days. Well, I was pretty upset, but they took 48 hours to respond to every email, so by the time I sent a third email, they finally acknowledged that the actual problem was with their Atlanta faculty. Rather than give a refund offer fast shipping, they just told me sorry, they hoped their facility would be operational again in about a week, and then they might ship it then. Now, who wants to wait 30 days just to maybe have their product shipped? I demanded a refund, and to cancel my subscription. Again I was dismissed, and told my request would be escalated.

After another 48 hours, I sent another email threatening a fraud claim, and they finally responded, and said there would be a refund. Never a call, they never offered a remedy, they didn't send the product. This company is a joke, and the simple fact that they don't have a contact number should tell you enough. I wouldn't buy from them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 23, 2020

Billing scam

By Kevin V., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I bought this hair beard clipper and paid upfront, full price. Then the next month they just billed another $32 without my permission. I have to call my bank disputed the charge as unrecognizing. Also, I did call The Beard Club, Inc telephone 844-523-2747, never got answered by personnel. Only automated answering. Watch out for this scam in 2020 by thebeardclub.com.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 27, 2019

Rip off

By Dan P., Waco, TX, Verified Reviewer

Bought this product online on a discount. Somewhere in a small box they tell you that it's a 14-day trial and you will be charged full price if you don't call and cancel. Complete BS. Charged me $180. Called the customer service, horrible customer service. They don't care about anything. They just needed to charge craploads of money and get away with it. At the end, the lady hung up on me. I will NEVER buy anything from these people again. Read their stupid deals before buying anything. Complete rip-off.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 15, 2018

Worst product

By Ravinder Singh, Saugus, MA, Verified Reviewer

I wasted so much money and six months on these products hoping that it might work, as they told me that sometimes these products take up to 4-5 months to work. But still, it did nothing. In the beginning, they told me to give me a refund if the products don’t work, but when I told them after using six months that it did not help and to give me a refund, they told me that it's not possible. So it's a scam guys. Better try something else.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2018

Acceptable - kind of

By Brandon, Mesa, AZ, Verified Reviewer

So, my beard is about to the middle of my chest. I wanted to tame it and have more control over the styling. The products work well at doing that but not much in terms of the health or growth support as claimed.

As for canceling your order, you just need to go into your account and remove your subscription. It's not that hard to do.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 22, 2018

Mediocre products at best

By Umar Z, Connecticut, Verified Reviewer

Their standard oil you get for a dollar is ok. It smells ok, but didn't really do much for me. I have not noticed a reduction in split ends and tangles since I started using it several months ago. The beard balm is also ok. It helps as a styling product but again didn't do much for the health of my beard.

My beard is a bit more than two fists below my chin, so maybe for shorter beards these products work better.

I have also tried the beard cream, which is just weird. It's more liquid than I would expect for a cream and has a weird smell to it. I wouldn't say it's horrible but definitely unpleasant. It also didn't do anything for my beard. Next, I tried the beard shampoo, which I honestly think is just the beard cream in a different container. It was the same consistency and had the same weird smell. It didn't lather like you'd expect, and I know that isn't necessary for something to clean but it is reassuring that it's doing something.

The beard comb and brush I got from them seem nice enough.

I canceled my subscription after five or six months. I really wanted to like it, but it just doesn't quite live up to the hype.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 22, 2018

I highly recommend the product. The website could use work.

By Joseph Zoe Martin, Northwest Territories, Canada, Verified Reviewer

So I'm aboriginal. I can try growing a beard for six months, and I'll just have really gross hairs and patches everywhere.

I used it for three months straight and started noticing the change. Patches are gone, and it's forming more of a beard.

I stopped due to cutbacks at work but restarted again, and have been using for six months.

It's grown a lot better. I don't notice many patches. But I also don't use it as frequently as I should (pills two times a day and lotion five times a day is recommended), due to depressive waves that have been hitting me.

I'm slowly getting into it again and as before my beard is thicker and more prominanent than ever before. I'm 23, been trying to grow a beard my whole life, so I have gone months without shaving to no results until this product.

I highly reccomend this product

I don't know why people are saying they can't cancel their orders as it's been extremely easy for me to do so. You just need to cancel before your subscription restarts.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 12, 2018

Oil for a $1? Wow!

By Jose Grande, Omaha, NE, Verified Reviewer

While they do only offer two scents compared to all the other competitors, let's take a moment to realize that for $1 you can get a 1 oz bottle of Oil, and after shipping it's only $4-$5.

Competitors will sell you 1 oz for $8-$15 + shipping. You can't even get a sample size for $1 with the competitors.

Let's talk about their website. It's a lot more clean and user-friendly than all competitors. They have a section on the website so you can even manage your subscriptions. It's not as bad as these illiterate users think.

The only people who give this company a 1-star rating are beardless crybabies (no pun intended).

This company does not sell magical potions that can grow beards, nor do they claim to. They sell products with ingredients proven to increase the health of a beard (Biotin, Vitamin E, etc), thereby helping it grow better. However, no one wants to take the time to research beard growing. They wasn't to believe there is a simple solution to growing a beard overnight. These same people are the ones wasting money on health supplements and then rate one star saying "I'm still a skinny boy."

Aside from all that, most of their other items do seem to match or beat the competitors.

Stay beardy my friends!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 15, 2017

Unethical billing practices!

By Thomas Russell, Illinois, Verified Reviewer

Where to start? Products don't work. They are not transparent about their billing practices, meaning you cannot sign up for a one-time purchase and you automatically enroll in their monthly subscription, without them explaining this to you first (of course it's in the fine print of the contact but that is sketchy to tell your customers about it). Then they'll refuse a refund. On top of that, horrible customer service. They're a bunch of talentless, beardless hacks over there. Stay away!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 3, 2017

Scam artist!

By Joey Krent, Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

They have such great marketing that I made an impulse buy. Little did I know, the customer service sucks and the products are mediocre.

What is worse, they make it impossible to cancel. I should have known as The Beard Club literally ripped their entire business from Dollar Shave Club.

A parody at it's best? Yes!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 3, 2017

Horrible service! Rip off!

By Josh Wright, Bedford, IN, Verified Reviewer

I made one order and was not happy with the product, so I canceled my subscription and sent emails to stop further orders. Instead, they sent another order without my permission. I sent more emails, and they said it wouldn't happen again and my account was gone. But the other day they did it again, and they shipped an order of $35 of product that I did not order or want, and it put my bank account in the negative and that's a $45 fee. So the order they just sent was $80 and they said all they will do is promise it won't happen again.

Do NOT buy anything from this place!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 7, 2017

Great product, bad service

By Julian, Florida, Verified Reviewer

Bottom line, they have an alright product, but the WORST customer experience I have ever seen. They advertise being able to cancel at any time but only allow you to cancel via email. I have been overcharged ($1 for a product, $4 for shipping, $20 charged to my account) for two months now with no response from support@thebeardclub.com. Do not order from here!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 20, 2017

Terrible customer service

By Ryan Stafford, Utah, Verified Reviewer

So I once did a one time order for oil and beard shampoo from Dollar Beard Club, and I will say I did enjoy their product. I ordered their beard shampoo probably on three occasions and did like the product.

This being said I wanted to try their body wash and was in need of more of the beard shampoo, so I put an order in that did not give me an option to do a one time order just an automatic subscription that I could delay if need, which is what I did.

After the first order, I didn't need more of either as the beard shampoo lasts a while and the body wash is only 8oz and is fairly expensive for what you receive. The body wash also doesn't last long, and you have to use more than directed, so I wasn't planning on getting any more. I will admit to my own mistake that I didn't remember when my order would be refilled and got an email at 3 AM that they were shipping my next box, and that they were going to ship it to my old billing address that I never once used for shipments and does not receive deliveries.

I attempted to find a customer service phone number for the company, but there are none listed that at least I was unable to find. This led me to try other solutions to figure this out and found out they don't have a contact number to speak with anyone, and had to go through their electronic process, where I was informed that they would cancel my subscription (which you cannot do on their website), but I would not be refunded and they wouldn't reship a new box to my correct address (which is where my last box was correctly shipped to), nor would they issue a refund for something I would never receive based on their return process that is hidden in the fine print.

I will no longer ever recommend working with this company and will tell anyone that uses them to cancel their subscription through their email process that is a pain to use. I understand this probably won't have a huge affect on their business, but I at least want it out there. They offered me no solutions and refused to refund my order. There are plenty of beard products out there that are just as good as this company, that offer much better customer service if there is ever an issue. Working in customer service for the past three and a half years, I am appalled that there is no way to call this company to help solve any issues. Also, any other subscription service I use for a product (not a service like Netflix, but similar to Dollar Shave Club) always send out reminder emails days before your order to make sure you still want it or if you need to add anything to it, which Dollar Beard Club does not do. And also with other companies, the cancellation process is extremely easy and straight forward.

This company's customer service is by far one of the worst I have experienced and I highly recommend looking for a service that actually cares about its customers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2017

Can't beat the price or quality

By Derek, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I'm on my fourth month using Dollard Beard Club and am pretty satisfied with the product quality and price. I do wish you could buy things instantly and not have to wait on the monthly shipment to process. That's one of the main drawbacks of using Dollar Beard Club.

I also would like to see more variety in the scents they offer. The choices are Original (pine) and Sandalwood. My latest order was the sandalwood scent, which I didn't like at first, but it is growing on me. I'll probably be changing my order back to Original, though.

For the price, you can't beat Dollar Beard Club. I've tried to order oils from other companies, but I just can't bring myself to pay $20 for the same thing I can get at Dollar Beard Club for $4.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2017

Great product, website/shipping could use improvement

By Brian Weinhold, Oregon, Verified Reviewer

I absolutely love their products and marketing. I love the concept of what they're doing here, but the hard part is knowing just how much product you'll need. With a monthly subscription, you're likely to be shipped way too much (either that or your beard will be dripping oil every day). If you're like me, you'd rather just buy a larger quantity to save on unnecessary shipping costs (which is definitely not cheap).

The problem I encountered was suspending my account temporarily. When turned the subscription back on, I had to wait until my next shipping date, which was nearly a month later. I couldn't get them to send it right away. The next time I did this, it took three months, and I still didn't get my order, so I finally threw my hands in the air.

I tried contacting the company but didn't get anywhere with it, so I went to a competitor. In my humble opinion, they need to iron this out and offer a "Buy It Now" button. Their sales would increase. The concept they have is great, but the execution could use some improvement. If shipping was more affordable or even included, I would be much more likely to let the monthly campaign work as designed.

I have used other company's products, and while most pretty much offer the same thing, I prefer the Dollar Beard Club. My beard felt less greasy and overall much softer. The product gets five stars, but the website gets two and a half stars. Come on Dollar Beard Club. I want to keep using your product. Help me out.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted
Showing 1-16 of 16

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.