About Tradesy

Keeping on point with new trends and fluctuating post-holiday waistlines can be a pricey endeavor. There’s also the ubiquitous New Year’s closet overhaul that often sees a cringe-inducing amount of “never-worns” pile up for donation.

But what if you don’t want to shell out for brand new digs or feel like eating the cost of one too many purchases that didn’t work out?

Tradesy aims to take the hassle and guesswork out of both clearing out your closet, and acquiring new items, with a streamlined sales process, shipping assistance, and a Tradesy promise.

What’s a Peer-to-Peer Marketplace?

Where an online search might typically bring you to a shop, business, or professional seller, peer-to-peer marketplaces connect regular folks like you and me, to buy and sell stuff!

The marketplace may sound revolutionary, but really these sites are a lot like a tiny Ebay – of course there’s no bidding – but the benefit of Tradesy is that it connects shoppers and sellers of a very specific market: gently-used and high-quality women’s fashion.

Unlike online consignment shops that buy your items directly, Tradesy’s service keeps your items at home and without hassle until a shopper has purchased something you offer.

How Tradesy Works

Tradesy.com appeals to both buyers and sellers.

For buyers, it’s quite easy: Visit www.tradesy.com and peruse the hundreds of items. There’s no shortage of categories to look at, and an Editor’s Picks section is available for those who want a little extra on-trend inspiration.

The site also offers some extensive filters to help you pinpoint exactly what you’re looking for in their extensive inventory. You can filter your search by:

  • Color, size & brand
  • Tags from luxury to “cheap & chic”
  • Discount percentage
  • Availability (that seems like a given)
  • and Condition

Because buyers might be cautious about the unorthodox approach to shopping second hand, Tradesy offers a few benefits:

  • Free shipping & returns
  • Secure Paypal payments
  • Free shipping insurance & verification
  • Protection from designer knock-offs (and the promise of a full refund if something is found to be fake.)

For sellers, the Tradesy process is made to sound equally appealing. Anyone who’s ever tried to make cash off a few items on Ebay could wax begrudgingly about the process of uploading pictures, writing descriptions, answering questions, and then schlepping it all to the post office.

Instead, Tradesy streamlines selling into a few steps:

  1. Pick items to sell
  2. Take a few photos (they clean up the pics to make them sell-worthy)
  3. Price items (with the help of their suggestions) and list!

All the hard work is taken care of by Tradesy, who in return takes a 9% commission off of each sale. What does that 9% buy you?

  • Simplified Paypal payment processing (there is a 2.9% fee) that allows you to withdraw the cash straight to your bank account or debit card
  • Pre-paid shipping kits that include all the wrapping. You just drop the item in, and off it goes.
  • Hands-off returns assistance: Tradesy accepts any unwanted items back from the buyer and evaluates them to ensure no additional damage (excluding wedding dresses.)

Tradesy also offers Help & Support and a Tradesy Promise to make sure every transaction is smooth.

Gee, That Sounds Great!

Until you read some reviews, that is.

Some of the first to pop up in a search might not be the most magnanimous, as their from a site called “PissedConsumer.com”, but after a quick read of the 68 negative reviews of Tradesy, you get the feeling there might be something fishy going on. Common complaints were as follows:

Unfair treatment of sellers: This ranges from sellers being subjected to ongoing questioning from prospective buyers and accusations that their items are fake, to several tales of accounts being shut down with no warning from Tradesy:

“I'm still receiving emails from buyer wanting to know where there items are and why i'm not responding. They haven't bothered to respond to me or refund customers! I'm out several hundred dollars in shipped out product they have not reimbursed me for and they refuse to answer any of my emails.” (Source)

Terrible customer service is another common complaint in the negative reviews. While the original reason for trouble may vary, reading comments of unanswered emails and locked-accounts makes you very wary of signing up for Tradesy:

“I wrote several emails and they still haven't responded for over a week. I asked when my account would be reinstated and no response. It is unacceptable to shut someone's account down without notifying them and without a good and legal reason.” (Source)

Finally, sellers who have been shut out of their accounts without a warning or response from customer service, appear to be at risk of losing all of the funds accumulated in their account from sales:

“This website is a SCAM!I was on there for a year buying and selling.

I logged into my account and it all my info was gone. All my sales cancelled. The money in my account gone. No email, no explanation, no ethics. Account suspended. Completely unprofessional. I will never do business with this company again. It is a ripoff.

Thieves. I will be sure to spread the word and do magazine reviews of how horrible of a company you are. Unprofessional. They stole my money and kept their percentage as well.” (Source)

Another concern is inflated shipping costs: One seller remarked that after listing her high-end bag for upwards of $1700, Tradesy added a shipping cost of $132 – which is remarkable high. An additional concern is that no where on their site do they explain shipping costs. (Source)

As I dug deeper to try and find positive reviews for Tradesy, something else became evident: The online business used to go by another name. What was once a bridal-reselling shop called the Recycled Bride has now been rebranded into the all-encompassing clothing-reseller site Tradesy.

I also found that Tradesy has 21 complaints with the Better Business Bureau.

Final Thoughts on Tradesy.com

With my own over-flowing closet to consider, I’ve kept an eye on peer-to-peer retailers for some time to find one that might be the right fit for my items.

And while I can always understand a few unhappy remarks about customer service, I find the idea that accounts in with funds earned from selling items, were locked down without warning or checks issued, to be absolutely off-putting. There may be two sides to that story (or the several stories) but it doesn’t seem worth the risk.

Additionally, being currently in the market for some spiffed-up active wear, I decided to cost-compare, and wow! Not sure if it’s their inflated shipping, or simply delusional prices set by independent sellers, but there was no difference in cost between buying Tradesy and shopping brand new for the brands I checked out.

If you’re searching for something that’s been sold out and only available on Tradesy, it might be worth the chance; but with that many negative reviews, I’d likely look elsewhere.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

38 Consumer Reviews for Tradesy

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  34
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible

    • Florida,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible customer service! Long wait times and response to times. Poor attention to detail. Company reps with lack of experience and knowledge. Unprofessional and impersonal interactions.

    Tradesy doesn't care about people. Tradesy doesn't take seriously and doesn't penalize dishonest sellers. Tradesy allows sellers to put back the merchandise, even if they know that it isn't real. Tradesy is writing fake reviews on here for themselves. They are trying to cover up the reviews from real people with bad experiences.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Extremely upset seller

    • Chicago, IL,
    • May 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Transaction date of 3/22/18, I SOLD my CHANEL earrings on Tradesy for $2100. The buyer decides to return the item. I received the earrings back on 4/11/18. I have no problem when buyers return items, but when I get it back damaged, that’s not acceptable.

    Tradesy received it from the buyer and returned it back to me. I received my $2100 CHANEL earrings broken. The metal piece that holds the charm is missing. In this case, Tradesy is responsible for my earning and need to pay for it. Instead, Tradesy is giving me two options. 1) A $150 Tradesy site credit and 2) A $100 PayPal payment. NOT ACCEPTABLE.

    I don’t care how much Tradesy’s return team thinks how much my item is worth, but I sold it for $2100 and still buyers out there are wanting my earrings. Definitely not worth $100 to settle this issue with Tradesy. This issue has caused me severe stress, and Tradesy is responsible for all the trouble that’s causing me.

    Today is 4/29/18, and this issue is not resolved how I expect to be. Tradesy has my item in hand at their so-called "Headquarter." This is very an unfair response from their team, and Tradesy needs to take full responsibility and release my earning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst ever scam, stay away

    • Chicago, IL,
    • May 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sold a few items, listed a few items, spent days listing, and for no reason, after they were published they got deleted and disappeared. Money takes forever to appear in your available funds, that is IF you get paid, ever. I got scammed by a seller called Chic Fashions Miami, who bought a $700 authentic Burberry cashmere scarf, paid the amount, and asked for it to be shipped ASAP as it was a birthday gift. The buyer was pestering constantly, sending emails for the item. I got a request for a rerun, and they replaced it with a cheap scratchy fake Burberry scarf that’s anything but wool or cashmere. I sent it back to Tradesy, who KEPT IT, as a return to sender.

    This is a total scam, stay far away. They shouldn’t be in business, scamming helpless sellers. I called Florida police and reported the person and what do you know? The name was even fake. Tradesy assumed I had sent a fake. When I offered the receipt of the ite, I had the post office notarize that the item I was sending back didn’t match the item I had posted on Tradesy. Tradesy did nothing, kept the fake sent back item and turned a blind eye. STAY AWAY; it’s a SCAM. Not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A loose and unreliable interpretation of authenticity

    As a first time buyer, I bought a "white" Dior bag.

    The bag had been sprayed with "white" shoe paint, and white specs were not removed from the metal parts well, which gave me a clue that someone sprayed the bag with white paint.

    I sent the photos and requested to send it that Tradesy can examine. After a lot of back and forth for weeks, they said that the bag is authentic!?

    So, even if the bag is spray painted badly to fake as a white bag, for their authenticity team, if the original is authentic, it passes as ok.

    A terrible standard. Since then I have purchased a few items from Real Real. They have a real person answer the phone, and the standard fit authenticity and customer care are by far better. Don’t buy from Tradesy, my advice from an unacceptably low standard.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    HORRIBLE set up and customer service

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You send whatever you sell directly to the buyer, and Tradesy holds your money for up to three full weeks. The buyer then can steal your item or wear/damage your item and say they received it that way. Biggest scam ever. Then they return the counterfeit or the damaged item back to Tradesy and Tradesy sends it back to you. You're left with nothing, and they give the buyer a "credit" to do it to more people. It's the perfect scam.

    Save yourself a headache and losing a lot more than you stand to gain and go to another site that handles the items directly so these scams can't happen. Even when you document that the buyer stole your item and replaced it to send it back with a fake, customer service refuses to acknowledge this. They need to have a lawsuit filed against them for fraud and theft.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Tradesy steals your money!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Feb 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible! Whatever you do, DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT sell on this site.

    Tradesy will keep your money. They charge a whopping 20 percent off of your sale, and THEN they even charge you to transfer your money to your bank. No other site does this. Also, if you pull them up on the BBB (Better Business Bureau), they have 328 complaints filed against them.

    I sold a pair of Valentino Rockstud Heels, which retails at currently $1000 by the way, to this person. She wore them and damaged them, and Tradesy kept my funds and is making me take the shoes back damaged even though the buyer damaged them. They don’t give a crap about the sellers, they just want to make the money off of you, and they STEAL. Look them up on the BBB and see all the complaints.

    Poshmark is great! Sell and buy on Poshmark and eBay, not Tradesy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No refund on non authentic Louis Vuitton purse

    • Jackson, TN,
    • Jan 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a rip off company claiming to have experts that can say if the product is authentic or not. They claim it is authentic and you only get a credit to get more products that are not authentic. I returned a Louis Vuitton for a refund due to it not being up to par of Louis Vuitton, and they claimed it was authentic and then only give you credit instead of a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Pluses and minuses

    The pros: As a seller, your item is considered SOLD if the buyer does not initiate a return within a four-day window. The site is easy to use, and Tradesy cleans up your pics and makes them look professional. Getting your funds is a protracted process but worth it since they make up for it with a four-day return policy (they also handle your returns).

    The cons: As a buyer, you are paying a 20% commission, plus exorbitant shipping if your seller elects to have Tradesy handle shipping. I sell luxury goods on Tradesy and discount every item I sell by 10% on a competitor's site. I handle my own shipping on both sites in order to pass the savings on to my customers. Another issue with Tradesy is that for some bizarre reason all merchandise is advertised on Google as used even when it is new with tags.

    As a buyer, I would NOT use Tradesy due to the markups (a buyer can get the exact same item for 10% less on another well-known site, like eBay). Plus, the return window is usually much more generous on other sites.

    Conclusion: Good for sellers, not so good for buyers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 5, 2018

      Elizabeth Hershowitz

      By "protracted payment" I mean 2-3 weeks. I get immediate payments when I am selling on eBay. Another issue with Tradesy is that buyers get store credit instead of a refund if they return a purchase.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Ponzi scheme

    • New York,
    • Nov 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a Ponzi scheme. You aren’t getting your money because Tradesy doesn’t have the money to pay you. Don’t listen to their lying responses about “extra security precautions with your ACH transfer!" This is a bold faced lie by Tradesy.

    Know this, ACH transfers take a max of three business days. For example, I had $10,000 in my PayPal account from eBay sales. I hit the transfer button and the money was in my bank account the next day. When you hit the ACH transfer button with Tradesy, you think your money is automatically being transferred to your account. Wrong! It merely sends notification to a brain-dead Tradesy employee who puts the the notification aside in hopes Tradesy can hold and use your funds for a couple of weeks (robbing Peter to pay Paul). Pretty soon I imagine there will be no money left if that’s not already the case.

    And whoever responds to this email, DO NOT say this is for security purposes. We are not stupid Tradesy, and if you keep using this lame excuse you’re going to find yourself in a deeper hole then you’ve already dug. I’m going to the BBB and the California Attorney General about the money you owe me, and I will never sell another item on your crooked, corrupt website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Tradesy sucks

    Tradesy is a for-profit company that does not care about their sellers. They do nothing to enhance their site. They raised the percentage and still charge us over 2% to transfer our money! Shame on them. I won't list any more items with them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Only care about the rich customer

    • Missouri,
    • Oct 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Tradesy to sell gently used items for the past few years. The items that I sold tended to be typical mall brands.

    They implemented new policies no longer allowing you to sell items under $10 and upping their commission on any item under $50 to be $7.50, allowing you to keep your previously listed items under $10 posted without the $7.50. They raised their commission again, and at that time made it to were if you viewed or edited your $10 and under postings, the $7.50 would be taken out. On some items, this would end up that if the item sold, you would essentially owe Tradesy money.

    They have tried to push out good sellers, but ones that did not exclusively sell super pricey items. It is unfortunate as it is one of the easiest selling platforms to navigate. I guess the good platforms are reserved for the lucky ones that can afford the high-end items.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a Review for Tradesy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review