About Tradesy

Keeping on point with new trends and fluctuating post-holiday waistlines can be a pricey endeavor. There’s also the ubiquitous New Year’s closet overhaul that often sees a cringe-inducing amount of “never-worns” pile up for donation.

But what if you don’t want to shell out for brand new digs or feel like eating the cost of one too many purchases that didn’t work out?

Tradesy aims to take the hassle and guesswork out of both clearing out your closet, and acquiring new items, with a streamlined sales process, shipping assistance, and a Tradesy promise.

What’s a Peer-to-Peer Marketplace?

Where an online search might typically bring you to a shop, business, or professional seller, peer-to-peer marketplaces connect regular folks like you and me, to buy and sell stuff!

The marketplace may sound revolutionary, but really these sites are a lot like a tiny Ebay – of course there’s no bidding – but the benefit of Tradesy is that it connects shoppers and sellers of a very specific market: gently-used and high-quality women’s fashion.

Unlike online consignment shops that buy your items directly, Tradesy’s service keeps your items at home and without hassle until a shopper has purchased something you offer.

How Tradesy Works

Tradesy.com appeals to both buyers and sellers.

For buyers, it’s quite easy: Visit www.tradesy.com and peruse the hundreds of items. There’s no shortage of categories to look at, and an Editor’s Picks section is available for those who want a little extra on-trend inspiration.

The site also offers some extensive filters to help you pinpoint exactly what you’re looking for in their extensive inventory. You can filter your search by:

  • Color, size & brand
  • Tags from luxury to “cheap & chic”
  • Discount percentage
  • Availability (that seems like a given)
  • and Condition

Because buyers might be cautious about the unorthodox approach to shopping second hand, Tradesy offers a few benefits:

  • Free shipping & returns
  • Secure Paypal payments
  • Free shipping insurance & verification
  • Protection from designer knock-offs (and the promise of a full refund if something is found to be fake.)

For sellers, the Tradesy process is made to sound equally appealing. Anyone who’s ever tried to make cash off a few items on Ebay could wax begrudgingly about the process of uploading pictures, writing descriptions, answering questions, and then schlepping it all to the post office.

Instead, Tradesy streamlines selling into a few steps:

  1. Pick items to sell
  2. Take a few photos (they clean up the pics to make them sell-worthy)
  3. Price items (with the help of their suggestions) and list!

All the hard work is taken care of by Tradesy, who in return takes a 9% commission off of each sale. What does that 9% buy you?

  • Simplified Paypal payment processing (there is a 2.9% fee) that allows you to withdraw the cash straight to your bank account or debit card
  • Pre-paid shipping kits that include all the wrapping. You just drop the item in, and off it goes.
  • Hands-off returns assistance: Tradesy accepts any unwanted items back from the buyer and evaluates them to ensure no additional damage (excluding wedding dresses.)

Tradesy also offers Help & Support and a Tradesy Promise to make sure every transaction is smooth.

Gee, That Sounds Great!

Until you read some reviews, that is.

Some of the first to pop up in a search might not be the most magnanimous, as their from a site called “PissedConsumer.com”, but after a quick read of the 68 negative reviews of Tradesy, you get the feeling there might be something fishy going on. Common complaints were as follows:

Unfair treatment of sellers: This ranges from sellers being subjected to ongoing questioning from prospective buyers and accusations that their items are fake, to several tales of accounts being shut down with no warning from Tradesy:

“I'm still receiving emails from buyer wanting to know where there items are and why i'm not responding. They haven't bothered to respond to me or refund customers! I'm out several hundred dollars in shipped out product they have not reimbursed me for and they refuse to answer any of my emails.” (Source)

Terrible customer service is another common complaint in the negative reviews. While the original reason for trouble may vary, reading comments of unanswered emails and locked-accounts makes you very wary of signing up for Tradesy:

“I wrote several emails and they still haven't responded for over a week. I asked when my account would be reinstated and no response. It is unacceptable to shut someone's account down without notifying them and without a good and legal reason.” (Source)

Finally, sellers who have been shut out of their accounts without a warning or response from customer service, appear to be at risk of losing all of the funds accumulated in their account from sales:

“This website is a SCAM!I was on there for a year buying and selling.

I logged into my account and it all my info was gone. All my sales cancelled. The money in my account gone. No email, no explanation, no ethics. Account suspended. Completely unprofessional. I will never do business with this company again. It is a ripoff.

Thieves. I will be sure to spread the word and do magazine reviews of how horrible of a company you are. Unprofessional. They stole my money and kept their percentage as well.” (Source)

Another concern is inflated shipping costs: One seller remarked that after listing her high-end bag for upwards of $1700, Tradesy added a shipping cost of $132 – which is remarkable high. An additional concern is that no where on their site do they explain shipping costs. (Source)

As I dug deeper to try and find positive reviews for Tradesy, something else became evident: The online business used to go by another name. What was once a bridal-reselling shop called the Recycled Bride has now been rebranded into the all-encompassing clothing-reseller site Tradesy.

I also found that Tradesy has 21 complaints with the Better Business Bureau.

Final Thoughts on Tradesy.com

With my own over-flowing closet to consider, I’ve kept an eye on peer-to-peer retailers for some time to find one that might be the right fit for my items.

And while I can always understand a few unhappy remarks about customer service, I find the idea that accounts in with funds earned from selling items, were locked down without warning or checks issued, to be absolutely off-putting. There may be two sides to that story (or the several stories) but it doesn’t seem worth the risk.

Additionally, being currently in the market for some spiffed-up active wear, I decided to cost-compare, and wow! Not sure if it’s their inflated shipping, or simply delusional prices set by independent sellers, but there was no difference in cost between buying Tradesy and shopping brand new for the brands I checked out.

If you’re searching for something that’s been sold out and only available on Tradesy, it might be worth the chance; but with that many negative reviews, I’d likely look elsewhere.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

52 Consumer Reviews for Tradesy

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  48
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • No seller protection or loyalty

    • East Rutherford, NJ,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was scammed by a buyer. I have had an account for over three years, flawless record, and Tradesy got a nice commission over the three-year span. I sold a black velvet Adidas jogger for $300, set brand new, with tags. The buyer kept my new beautiful jogger and sent me back an old worn velour jogger with sagging hips, it had been worn that much. I supplied the receipt to Tradesy for the outfit to show that was the outfit I sent, I went through many emails to locate this, but it did not matter, they took my money and gave it back to the scam artist. I am closing my account and not looking back. If enough people get fed up, it will start to affect them, and their constant spike in fees. No more working for the company store, I am out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Tradesy sells fakes

    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a warning for anyone who shops on Tradesy; please send your bags in to be personally authenticated by Tradesy. Twice I purchased handbags that were not authentic, and I only found out after I attempted to sell the bags and the authentication company had the bags in their hands that they were fake. Tradesy claims that their handbags are authentic 99.7% of the time, yet they use a computer system to detect this. During "pending trust review," a computerized system is looking at the photos, not a person. It is disgusting that people sell fake handbags for an authentic handbag price and Tradesy allows this by not having a trustworthy way of authenticating the bags before they go out to the buyer. I have lost out on time, money for authentication and dealt with the embarrassment of carrying a handbag that was not authentic when I was "99.7 % guaranteed" it was authentic.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sellers get ripped off

    • Florida,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sellers beware. A buyer can return damaged goods weeks after purchasing. The 4-day return process is BULL. They will throw you under the bus and they charge higher fees. Don't believe the customer service rep - lies, lies, lies. A true RIP OFF!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No protection for buyer

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use Tradesy. I attempted to sell a pair of Christian Louboutins that I purchased from Neiman Marcus. The shoes were sent in barely worn condition, along with the box with original stickers and duster bag. The buyer claimed that they were fraudulent, which I would have been fine with but upon return, the shoes had obviously been worn, were missing the gel insoles I had shipped the shoes with, and original price tag sticker had been removed from the box. Tradesy's "solution" was to offer me a $30 credit. I have filed a claim with the Better Business Bureau, but I doubt it will lead anywhere. I do not suggest using this service, and have had much better experiences with The RealReal, who purchase your item directly from you and manage all sales themselves. They do take a bigger cut, but I would've preferred that then the to have dealt with this horrendous experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not sell on this site!

    • New York, NY,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Tradesy is a total rip-off for sellers. On top of charging 20% of the selling price, they also charge you another 2.9% just to transfer your profits to the bank. It’s been three weeks since my item was delivered to the buyer and I still do not have the money in my bank account. I will never sell on this site again. I will stick to Poshmark!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Take your business elsewhere

    • Paramus, NJ,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was loving being a seller on Tradesy in the beginning. I think back then they were only taking 9% and sending you the free mailing supplies. Then, it went to 14.9%, then the shipping got shady. You'd get less profit if you used their mailing supplies. I sold a skirt for like $33 and ended up with like $12 or something because they took their commission AND money for the mailing supplies.

    I started changing my listings to "use your own" packaging. That upped my cut a little more, at first. Then, I guess they figured out people would put in a lower selling price and a higher shipping amount to get around paying them so much commission, so they started taking their commission off the selling price AND whatever you expect to pay in shipping. There's NO WAY they should be taking a commission out of YOUR shipping costs!

    You used to get paid as soon as USPS scanned your item. I understand that probably bit them, but now, they make you wait almost a MONTH to get your money. They get their money, the buyer gets their item, and you just wait for your money.

    To add insult to injury, they charge a 2.9% fee to transfer to your bank! No other selling site charges that. They claim it's for security, but that's crap. It's to dissuade you from taking your money out vs. spending it on the site.

    It's not like they're DOING anything to earn this commission. It's not like Poshmark where there's a feed and constantly getting your stuff in front of people. It just sits until someone is looking for that particular item. They're not helping you get more followers or buyers, and if you include the 2.9% bank transfer fee, their commission is outrageous.

    I'd resisted selling on Poshmark because their commission is 20%. I stuck with Tradesy because there was a huge difference between even 14.9% and 20%. Now, I'm slowly taking all my items off Tradesy and have moved most to Poshmark because at least they get way more traffic and charge 0% to transfer to the bank. It's much more interactive. I still have to wait for money if the buyer doesn't "accept" their shipment right away, but the most you wait is 3 days vs. 3-4 weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Tradesy not seller-friendly

    • Massachusetts,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I listed some items on Tradesy. The fee for sold items was sort of high, but I was OK with that since I can list my items at a bit higher on this site. So I sold a necklace and found out that you have to wait 21 days for the money to be available. OK, I understand. Tradesy wants to make sure that everything is OK with the buyer.

    Then I go to list a high-end item, but the designer wasn't on their list (although every one of this designers items are in the $3,000 and up, mine was the lowest at $1,100).

    Then I find out that I can't get the name of the designer in my title unless I play a game with adding numbers to the front of the title. Really? Seriously?

    Then I find out that they require a white background. OK, I should have done more research about the listing, but instead of notifying me, they went ahead a took my black background and made it white and the picture was terrible. I emailed them but have not heard back. I removed my item.

    Then today was the last straw. My 21 days was up, and I transferred my money only to find out that Tradesy might take another 7 days to get around to it. Are you kidding me? I'm done with Tradesy. I'm making money on other platforms and don't need this aggravation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fraud and scam

    • Illinois,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible company. This is fraud and scam. I bought a LV bag and I returned it because I don’t like it. I didn’t know that I still have to pay my loan to Affirm even though I returned it to Tradesy. Tradesy gave me Tradesy credit to purchase another item. This is stealing, that is not right. I will never purchase anything again from Tradesy. They don't take care of their customers. I’m paying for the item that I didn't buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Sell your items elsewhere

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please sell your items elsewhere. I’ve sold multiple things here all resulting in a month-long payment "process." Which I find completely insane. The person who purchased your item receives it in 2-4 days. Tradesy gets their cut off the top. And who has to wait a month or more for payment is "YOU." Everyone is satisfied except you. The only one in the sale whose out of everything. No item, no money, and lied too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Thieves!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thieves!

    They charged me 25% commission! When I put the dress for sale, it said it will be only 15%, and by the time dress got sold I received only $737 from $980! Then you have to wait three weeks before they will allow you to use the money, withdraw is another 2.9%! So not worth it, totally regret that sale and will never ever go back. STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Fake Gucci

    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a Gucci wallet in April 2018. I used it in May once, then used it again on July 27, 2018. The wallet is peeling on the inside. I've had one of my Gucci wallets for eight years and I use it almost every day when I go to work, and it's still in better shape than the fake one I was sold. I guess I should have looked it over better. Tradesy will never, ever, ever get my business again. Their authenticity is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 27, 2018

      Jacqueline F.

      Just because the wallet you bought is of bad quality doesn’t mean it’s fake. Trust me, designer items nowadays are NOT made of high quality. You’re paying for the brand.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a Review for Tradesy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review