Mike Martelle
Tucson, AZMember since March 2016

Reviews (1)

    • Mar 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer


    Buyer Beware: Carvana DOES NOT disclose RUST.

    Overall Experience:

    Purchased a used 2013 Dodge Dart from Carvana in December of 2015. The more I look for rust the more I find it. The service manager at local dealership took pictures while it was just on the lift and emailed them to Carvana without me even asking. Under the dashboard all metal linkages in footwell are rusted, inside the TRUNK AND UNDERNEATH TRIM (I pulled it back). The rear seat brace is rusted as well as the cross bar. I noticed the first bit of rust when car was delivered and a wire was dangling out from under the dash on the clutch (it's manual). Guy says "it was like this when I picked it up". The trim under the dash is being held up by a rusty binder clip. At first a rep on the phone said they don't sell cars with rust and that it would and could be replaced. This week it seems they've changed their minds. And I'm stuck with a vehicle that has rust EVERYWHERE. So disappointed. If I test drove a car and spotted rust - NO BRAINER, plenty of cars to choose from. I would not have purchased this vehicle if I knew it was rusted from the inside out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    22 people found it helpful

    Link to this Review
    • Sep 30, 2016

      Company Response from Carvana

      Hello Michael,

      We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with Carvana. As part of our 150-point inspection, we always check our vehicles for rust and can assure you that we do not sell any vehicles with embedded rust. Many vehicles from the Northeast do have some traces of surface rust present. Since surface rust does not impact the operation of the vehicle, we certified your vehicle as part of our inspection process. We are truly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your purchase. As a good faith gesture and to resolve your concerns regarding the rust on the vehicle, we made arrangements to pick up the car and paid off your remaining loan balance with GO Financial. It is never our intent to mislead our customers during the purchase process. Our number one goal is customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy that we were able to resolve this situation. If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-333-4554.


      The Carvana Team

Showing 1-1 of 1