Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Carvana Reviews - How It Works, Warranty, Financing, Returns

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Carvana

Overall Rating

2.2

535 Customer Reviews

Summary

Carvana’s all-online used-car purchasing process allows you to choose a car online, get financing and have the car delivered directly to your home.

Write a Review

Our Full Review

By Zina Kumok

Updated on: Feb 11, 2020

What Is Carvana?

Carvana is one of those ideas that sounds truly futuristic. If the writers of Back to the Future wanted to show Marty McFly buying a car in 2020, they probably would have cooked up something like this.

But like early touch screen devices that barely worked and cheap Bluetooth speakers that never seem to connect, “futuristic” doesn’t always mean “better.” So how exactly does Carvana work, and how does it stack up against the traditional car-buying process?

How It Works

The idea behind Carvana is relatively simple: you see a car, buy it, and receive it. Customers scroll through a selection of vehicles on a phone, choose the one they want, pay for it and choose a pickup option. They can either opt for home delivery or go to one of Carvana’s giant “vending machines”.

The main difference between Carvana and the traditional car-buying process is that you don’t have to go to a dealership and spend hours talking to a salesperson. There’s no negotiating, and most of the important steps happen online.

HighYa staff member J.R. Duren recently used Carvana to buy a car. He said Carvana had reasonable prices, and it was a much easier transaction than going to a dealership.

Car Selection

Like other major car-buying sites, Carvana has a wide selection ranging from the classic Toyota Camry to the impressive Tesla Model X. One significant difference between a car dealership and Carvana is that the latter doesn’t stock new cars. There are many lightly-used vehicles with a few hundred miles or so, but you can’t find a brand new car with only a handful of test-driving miles.

Carvana has gas, hybrid and electric models. Their search system includes filters such as total price, monthly payment, year, mileage, body type, engine and drivetrain.

Additional filters include features like:

  • Rear view camera
  • Blind spot sensors
  • Park assist
  • Keyless ignition
  • Leather interior

When you search for a car, Carvana will ask for your location. Some cars won’t be available near you and will have to be delivered. There may be a delivery fee associated with this. Some cars are available at a vending machine, so you can drive to pick it up without paying a delivery fee.

Because consumers have to pick a car without looking at it in person, Carvana offers a 360-degree view of both the car’s exterior and interior, as well as photos of imperfections such as scratches and dings. Every car that the company sells is accident-free and has gone through a 150-point inspection.

Cost and Financing

Carvana has its own financing department, so you can buy a car and get an auto loan at the same time. Potential customers can pre-qualify to see their interest rate before looking for a vehicle. This only counts as a soft inquiry on a credit report and won’t damage their credit score.

To pre-qualify, Carvana will ask for your name, date of birth, address and annual income. Then you’ll have to provide an email address and password to create an account. By signing up for an account, you agree to receive texts or phone calls from Carvana reps and their financing subsidiaries. Unlike traditional car dealerships, they don’t seem to be overly aggressive in reaching out.

You’ll get an email when the qualification terms are available, which can be found in your account settings under “Financing.” Terms will include the interest rate range, minimum down payment, and maximum loan term. There’s no basic range of interest rates on the Carvana website, so your best bet is to get pre-qualified.

Pre-qualifying may be useful as a baseline to compare to other banks, credit unions, and lenders. You can use the Carvana information to negotiate interest rates with other lenders.

Carvana has no credit score requirement for borrowers, but there is a minimum annual salary of $10,000. They claim to work with all types of credit scores, except for borrowers with bankruptcies on their records.

Carvana does not allow co-signers on auto loans that it initiates. If you use a third-party lender on a Carvana car, you may have a co-signer for that.

If you’re interested in buying a car and want to use outside financing, Carvana recommends that you already be pre-approved or fully approved before choosing a vehicle. They’ll ask for the lender’s information when you select a car, so you’ll need to know how much you were approved for.

What sets Carvana apart is the fixed price on every car. There’s no haggling or going back and forth with a shady salesman. This is a huge advantage for people who hate negotiating, but it’s a drawback for those who love the thrill of getting a good deal.

Trade-Ins

Like most car dealerships, Carvana accepts trade-ins and applies that value toward the final price. Even if you’re not buying a car, you can still sell your vehicle to Carvana.

First, you’ll input some basic information about the car and get a quote. Like their car-buying process, Carvana does not allow customers to negotiate the trade-in value. If they say your car is worth $2,000, you’ll only get $2,000.

To sell a trade-in, you must live within a local delivery zone. You can find a list of Carvana's locations here.

If you live outside of a local delivery zone, you won’t be eligible to trade your car in. Carvana outsources its long-distance deliveries to a third-party which is not authorized to pick up your vehicle, so all trade-ins must be local. Your only other option is to sell it on Craigslist or at a local dealership.

If you trade in your old car and change your mind about the vehicle purchased through Carvana, you can get the old one back within the seven-day return policy window.

If you have a current loan on a trade-in vehicle, you could run into trouble if the amount you’re getting from Carvana is less than the remaining balance. This is known as being underwater on your loan. You’ll have to pay off the remainder before trading the car in. Paying off your loan may be similar to what most dealerships would require.

Warranty

Carvana offers a complimentary warranty that’s good for 100 days or 4,189 miles, whichever comes first. This warranty includes roadside assistance and covers basic and powertrain parts. A small copay is due when opening a warranty claim.

The Carvana warranty is much lower than what you can find if you’re buying directly from a dealership, especially on a certified pre-owned vehicle. This is one of the major downsides to the service. Customers can purchase an extended warranty directly from Carvana, as well as gap insurance coverage.

Pick Up and Delivery

Carvana provides free delivery for customers who live in one of Carvana’s local markets, which are located in more than 25 states. Carvana is located all across the country from California to Massachusetts.

They’re also willing to meet in the middle if you live near one of their local markets, but you have to call them directly to arrange this service. It’s not clear from the website how far you would have to travel to pick up the car.

If you can’t meet them halfway, you can also choose to have the car delivered. The delivery fee varies, but is generally between $199 and $1,000 depending on where you live and where the car is coming from.

A third option is to buy a one-way plane ticket to a city with a Carvana vending machine, pick up the car and drive it back. Carvana will reimburse up to $200 for the flight and transport you from the airport to the vending machine. The reimbursement will be sent via check after the seven-day return policy window has closed.

Another major Carvana perk is that they take care of registering the car for you, as long as your state allows it. This can save the buyer a lot of time and hassle, especially if their local DMV branch is poorly-run.

Returning Your Vehicle

Carvana’s return policy allows customers to return a car within seven days. Any down payment will be refunded, but the delivery fee is always non-refundable.

Customers may drive up to 400 miles within the seven-day period, after which they’ll be charged $1 per mile. Carvana won’t accept a vehicle if it’s been modified, damaged, or changed in any way. Any accidents will also negate the return policy.

Shoppers can return the car and exchange it for another, which will also come with a seven-day return policy. Carvana allows customers to return a car up to three times, but the third vehicle will not come with a return policy.

The Bottom Line

Carvana’s appeal is simple: you can buy a car without talking to a salesperson. Anyone who doesn’t have hours to spend at the dealership or who feels uncomfortable talking to salesmen may prefer this remote car-buying experience.

It’s wise to get your own financing offers at a bank or credit union instead of blindly accepting Carvana’s terms. You never know what kind of interest rate a different lender may offer, and the difference could save you hundreds.

If you’re the type of person who loves negotiating and doesn’t mind spending hours shopping for a better price, you’re likely to get a lower price by looking at local dealerships and making them compete for your business.

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 535 Reviews
5 Star:20% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:11% 1 Star:57%
28% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Carvana:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Mar 26, 2022

March 15, 2022 update

By Cary L., Decatur, GA, Verified Reviewer

It's been one month since I was escalated to the "Executive Resolution Team" and I have received no updates since then, despite reaching out. Today, I called the number provided to hear a recorded message that says, "We're having technical difficulties and our phone system is not working..."

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Apr 5, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to reach out regarding your Carvana experience. We sincerely apologize that you did not have the stress-free experience we strive to provide every customer. We take your feedback very seriously and will ensure it is passed to the proper department. We have assigned your account to one of our Advocates, who will contact you to resolve your concerns within 48 hours.

Posted on Feb 21, 2022

Convenient but always an issue with the vehicle

By Megan B. , Port St. Lucie, FL

The first vehicle I received looked great until I got it on the road. It shook at 60 mph, and once we reached our destination, THREE lug nuts were missing. So traded it. The second one, which I love, all of a sudden had mechanical issues. I've never been so displeased with a car.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient

Always an issue with the car

Company Response from Carvana

Feb 23, 2022

Carvana prides itself on providing our customers an exceptional car-buying experience coupled with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. We know that many customers select to purchase from Carvana because of the convenience, and we want to be sure that convenience is lasting far past the 7-Day Money-Back Guarantee, however, it seems like we missed the mark with your vehicle while completing our 150-point inspection. All of our vehicles come with a 100 day/4,189 mile warranty for an additional peace of mind, but we are very sorry for the frustration we have caused you. We recommend getting in Contact with Silverrock, our trusted warranty partner, to help resolve your concerns. You can always chat with us 24/7 if any questions arise. We appreciate the feedback you have provided us as we are always looking to improve the customer experience.

Posted on Dec 29, 2021

I want my money back in 7 days, not 20–40!

By Delores S., Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

Traded in my car and got a good price of $17k, added an additional $7K to complete the purchase. Decided after 2 days that I don't like the car so I picked another one and had no problem, scheduled delivery of the 2nd car and pick up of the 1st. While on the phone the rep said you can watch the website and if you see something you like more you can always change it out before delivery. I found what I really wanted, started the purchase online so wouldn't get snatched up, called customer service to make sure all the funds would be applied to this car and they told me "So sorry, your deal has to be rebuilt and it will take 20–40 business days to do anything with your account. " I can't get my money back until then. What about the 7-day money-back guarantee?

The car I finally found was an additional $3K. You would think they would want to make a sale, I didn't give them the additional money since they have basically frozen my account. I can't return the car I don't want to the local Carvana. I have to keep it and I am responsible for it (insurance, storage) until they let me know when they are coming to get it. In the agreement I got when took possession of the car it says they will pick up the vehicle the next business day as long as it's within the 7-day window.

I am without a vehicle and out $24k. Twenty to 40 business days could be 2 months! Merry Xmas from Carvana.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

What 7-day money-back guarantee?

What's in writing is not what you get

Company Response from Carvana

Dec 31, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to reach out regarding your Carvana experience. We sincerely apologize that you did not have the stress-free experience we strive to provide every customer. We take your feedback very seriously and will ensure it is passed to the proper department. Should you have any additional questions or concerns, please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 or through our online chat feature.

Posted on Dec 15, 2021

Delayed pick-up of vehicle on Carvana Hub

By Felipe D., Fort Lauderdale, FL, Verified Reviewer

I bought a 2015 mustang with the Carvana, it has been 7 days, not counting, in addition, the delay in the approval because I am self-employed, even though I was given approval first. The car delivery has already been rescheduled 3 times!

I am paying for a rental car every day and today I missed a flight because I had to reschedule because the car delivery was delayed once again.

I really need my car, I already lost around $700 with my flight, hotel, and car rentals, all because of you guys.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Not having to deal with a pushy dealership

Vehicle delay on delivery

False approval in the beginning

Company Response from Carvana

Dec 16, 2021

Your feedback is incredibly valuable as Carvana is always looking to improve the customer experience. We know how excited our customers are to purchase a new vehicle, but when that vehicle is delayed, it certainly hinders that experience. This is never our intent as we know how greatly our customers rely on their vehicles to arrive on time for their means of transportation and lifestyle. We are very sorry to have inconvenienced you. Our team of dedicated advocates is always here to answer any of your questions, so please don’t hesitate to reach out via our chat service 24/7.

Posted on Nov 29, 2021

Don’t do it, reconsider

By Kimberly W., Humble, TX, Verified Reviewer

Don't do it! I am disgustingly displeased with Carvana. If you’re even remotely considering them and cherish your sanity don’t purchase anything from them! You'll honestly do better doing it the old school way by doing your own research on vehicles online and checking their carfax, going to the dealer, and giving your own mechanic inspection.

Their inspection is bogus. I received a vehicle with missing pins and worn out wheels. Not to mention I haven’t received my license plates, registration keeps getting delayed and I’ve had my vehicle since August. So guess what? They do send you a PDF link and tell you to go print your plates out. Ugh, how tacky!

Y’all, my delivery was rescheduled three times and they promised to compensate me, with a $300 gift card that they said was for my troubles. Don’t believe them when they say this because I just received a $100 "sorry for your troubles" crappy check.

Let’s just start with the fact that in August I was in a head-on collision and the car totaled out. So Carvana always advertises this new fun fast way to purchase vehicles. So I did my research on the vehicle, but clearly not enough on Carvanna’s customer service. So I got my check from the bank (which is amazing by the way, love Navy Federal, and they’ve helped my credit tremendously) and I uploaded all the documents, so my side of the deal was done. I was excited. They just needed to verify everything was cool.

They literally approved all my documents but claimed there was an issue with the vehicle needing more inspection and to be cleaned, that the car wasn’t ready, it needed to be washed. Every time I called there was a different excuse, so each time they delayed I had to re-sign documents. If you happen to go through the hell I experienced please take screenshots. And save all of your messages.

But in the process of me waiting I’m missing work, my car isn’t drivable, I’m making arrangements with a rental. l wasted $2k in hopes of receiving my paid-for car that Carvana pretty much held hostage. I mean, it was ridiculous, and each associate you call is at home but they see the notes and are very apologetic, not to mention they changed the price last minute and I had to pay $3k cash to the idiot service rep who delivered my car and promised I’d be compensated for my troubles because I was about ready to cancel my purchase. Good job on the ethics.

Now I know if it’s not in black and white, don’t believe the bull they promise, and even in black and white, they lied. Even after calling today to see why I was promised one compensating amount they denied it. I’m a person who believes in honesty and nothing good comes with being a liar. Please don’t be the person to go through what I went through. I absolutely regret my purchase!

And, Carvana, don’t bring your tails under my comments with your phony apology and write how you appreciate the feedback and will try correct the issue, because you won’t. Good day.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Dishonesty

Inspection

Price fairness

Company Response from Carvana

Dec 1, 2021

Your feedback is incredibly valuable as Carvana is always looking to improve the customer experience. We know how excited our customers are to purchase a new vehicle, but when that vehicle is delayed, it certainly hinders that experience. This is never our intent as we know how greatly our customers rely on their vehicles to arrive on time for their means of transportation and lifestyle. We are very sorry to have inconvenienced you. Although you experienced bumps along the way, we appreciate the patience you had with us, and we hope you’re loving your new ride.

Posted on Oct 29, 2021

Alternator went out, only had it for 2 weeks

By Ari J., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

Had my car for 2 weeks now and the starter died. One of the main components of the car. They will let me trade the car in for another vehicle since it is out of the 7-day return, but there should be an exception if something like that happens. They are paying for the repair. It’s just the simple fact, I want another car that is similar to the value of this one or my money back. Didn’t even pay the first car note yet and there is already a problem. I want another car because this was a horrible experience.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

There should be more time for refund period

No help

Company Response from Carvana

Nov 10, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to reach out regarding your Carvana experience. We sincerely apologize that you did not have the stress-free experience we strive to provide every customer. We take your feedback very seriously and will ensure it is passed to the proper department. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account with the name provided. Please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 and our team of dedicated advocates would be happy to address your concerns.

Posted on Sep 16, 2021

Easy, questionable, with hope.

By Karl G., Oro Valley, AZ, Verified Reviewer

So the ease and delivery were great. Today is about day 30 - battery died ($174.00). Vehicle was illegal to sell with frayed and cut seatbelt on the passenger side hidden under belt guide, right rear child lock was broken and people are stuck in the car. Registration - in 1 day, September 15, 2021, I will begin losing $350-$750 a day due to Carvana’s inability to procure a simple registration (it’s been 30 days).

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of use

Customer service

Unchecked vehicle

Illegal and unsafe vehicle

Registration is slow

Company Response from Carvana

Sep 19, 2021

Carvana prides itself on providing our customers an exceptional car-buying experience coupled with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. We know that many customers select to purchase from Carvana because of the convenience, and we want to be sure that convenience is lasting far past the 7-Day Money-Back Guarantee, however, it seems like we missed the mark with your vehicle while completing our 150-point inspection. All of our vehicles come with a 100 day/4,189 mile warranty for an additional peace of mind, but we are very sorry for the frustration we have caused you. We recommend getting in contact with Silverrock, our trusted warranty partner, to help resolve your concerns. You can always chat with us 24/7 if any questions arise. We appreciate the feedback you have provided us as we are always looking to improve the customer experience.

Posted on Sep 10, 2021

Very bad experience

By Agata M. , Las Vegas, NV

I have purchased a car from Carvana and traded one in at the same time. It has been a terrible experience. Please learn from it and don’t repeat my mistake.

This transaction happened in late June and they have yet to report their purchase of my trade-in car to the DMV. This resulted in registration for the trade-in car being suspended and me facing fines and penalties. For the car I don't own, Carvana does! Representatives at Carvana assured me that they will transfer my old plates to the new vehicle but failed to do so. They just processed my car purchase as a new registration, while completely neglecting to do anything about the car I traded in.

They are now refusing to fix it, stating I must deal with it by going to the DMV myself. Not only do I get to partake in this “pleasurable activity”, current wait times are 1–2 months for an appointment, increasing penalties. Janette J. (“senior consumer advocate”) and every rep at Carvana I spoke to have admitted to this mistake and apologized but they are refusing to take responsibility and provide the service that was promised. Truly a shame.

Please stay away from them! It will only cost you time, aggravation, and money in fees and penalties when they overpromise, but underdeliver.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Not getting the service I was promised

Lack of resolution of a problem caused by Carvana

Company Response from Carvana

Sep 17, 2021

We are so sorry about the miscommunication regarding your registration for the vehicle that was sold to Carvana and the one you purchased from us. We never want our processes to cause our customers any stress or inconvenience, and it looks like we failed to do so this time. Today, we see that you continued to work with our Executive Resolution team to have this resolved. We appreciate your time and patience in working with us and look forward to doing business again with you in the future.

Posted on Aug 17, 2021

So far so great

By Lianne R., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

The process has been extremely easy, user-friendly, and everyone I've come into contact with through Carvana has been wonderful! I am a very big fan!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

User-friendly service, easy approval, fast process

Great customer service when it is needed

Great prices on my trade-in and purchase

Don't know how I could test driven before it was delivered without going to a dealership but they offer the amazing return option

Posted on May 7, 2021

Car has a battery drain issue.

By Frederick G., Indianapolis, IN, Verified Reviewer

My wife purchased a vehicle from Carvana on January 26, 2021 and it has been in the shop 5 times. The first time at the repair shop that they have a partnership to do repairs with, and the last four times at the dealership who also could not diagnose the problem. Contacted Carvana who relayed to my wife that if she returned the car it would be a significant loss refund-wise, and that she would have to come up with a substantial down payment to purchase another car. No thank you. I have reached out to the Attorney Generals' office here in Indiana, also I have contacted two local TV stations and their investigation fraud department. My wife bought the extended warranty, and the vehicle is garbage. I understand when buying a used vehicle, there are enormous risks that are undertaken, but not even wanting to negotiate some type of deal is plain greed.

I hope if whoever is reading this, if you are considering doing business with Carvana, buyer beware. Hope you have better luck than we did. We are stuck with a lemon, my wife works the night shift, so I am letting her use my car so we do not have to worry about her vehicle not starting. Three months and the vehicle has been in the shop four times. Awaiting to hear from the Indiana A.G. office and the local media. Good luck.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

No interest in trying to solve our issue or no mitigation

Company Response from Carvana

May 12, 2021

Carvana prides itself on providing our customers an exceptional car-buying experience coupled with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. We know that many customers select to purchase from Carvana because of the convenience, and we want to be sure that convenience is lasting far past the 7-Day Money Back Guarantee, however, it seems like we missed the mark with your vehicle while completing our 150-point inspection. All of our vehicles come with a 100 day/4,189 mile warranty for an additional peace of mind, but we are very sorry for the frustration we have caused you. Carvana would be happy to look into this matter further, but unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account. Please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554, and we would be happy to assist.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2021

Go to a dealership, less headache

By Stewart A. , Suffield, CT

I bought a car from these guys, the delivery got delayed on Monday so I had to wait until Tuesday. Thought my seven-day trial was going to get extended until next Tuesday, but I was wrong. I got cut from the delayed delivery date, next my car had a check engine light the second day I was driving it. Called the warranty department and they told me to call the shop. Called the shop and they told me they didn’t have the tools I need to do the job. Called the dealership and they started taking me around, telling me they weren’t gonna cover it, so I ended up bringing the car to my mechanic shop. I’m getting it fixed on Wednesday the 28th. I got the car delivered on the 13th, I was also told I was going to get the seven-day trial extended from the day it was fixed, they went ahead and just did a little extension on it so it ran out on the 21st. So I’m driving around a car that I cannot return, that I thought I was gonna be able to return when I was able to fix it if I didn’t like the car, but now I’m stuck with it if it turns into a piece of crap. I’ve had this car for almost 2 weeks now and I’m having serious regrets.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

May 5, 2021

Your feedback is incredibly valuable as Carvana is always looking to improve the customer experience. We know how excited our customers are to purchase a new vehicle, but when that vehicle is delayed it certainly hinders that experience. This is never our intent as we know how greatly our customers rely on their vehicles for their means of transportation and lifestyle. In terms of the mechanical concerns you mentioned, all of our vehicles go through two separate inspections- our initial 150-point inspection and a second pre-delivery inspection prior to the delivery of the car. All of our vehicles come with a 100 day/4,189 mile warranty for an additional peace of mind, but we are very sorry for the frustration we have caused you. We recommend getting in contact with Silverrock, our trusted warranty partner, to help resolve your concerns. You can always chat with us 24/7 if any questions arise. We appreciate the feedback you have provided us as we are always looking to improve the customer experience.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-11 of 535

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.