Carvana Review: Is It Really a Better Way to Buy a Car?

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 20, 2019

Carvana is a website where you can shop for used cars and get financing, as well as sell or trade-in your car.

The company’s claim to fame is their series of car vending machines and their delivery service, two features of their buying process that make purchasing a car easier than going to a dealership or shopping classified ads.

The company is based in Tempe, AZ. And was founded in 2013. Since then, the company’s public awareness has slowly grown through billboard campaigns in cities in which they will open Carvana locations, as well as commercials here and there about how easy it is to buy a car from them.

Carvana holds an A+ with the BBB and contains a 2-star rating based on 128 customer reviews as of March 20, 2019.

In this review, we will talk about Carvana’s process for buying, selling and financing, as well as how the company compares to others.

Along the way, I’ll incorporate my experience buying a car from Carvana in November 2017. The purchase was independent of any relationship between HighYa and Carvana.

Buying a Car Through Carvana

Buying a car on this site is very simple. You search the cars you’re interested in, select one to buy and then commit to buy it. Then, you’ll notify Carvana about how you’ll pay for the car and, if financed, who is giving you the auto loan.

At that point, Carvana gives you the option of them delivering the car to your home or you picking up your car at a Carvana vending machine.

You’ll fill out all the documents necessary to buy and finance the car but the transaction won’t actually go through because Carvana gives you seven days to drive the car around—an extended test drive, if you will.

If you want to keep the car, then you don’t have to tell Carvana anything. They’ll process all the paperwork and, within a few weeks, you should receive your car’s new license plate. If you decide not to buy the car, then the transaction doesn’t go through and your car loan is still available to buy another car.

The final aspect of their car sales is that you don’t pay a dealership fee for your vehicle, which is an extra charge that dealerships add to your bottom line that covers paperwork and other random work done.

When I bought our car, the process was very simple and a welcomed relief. The price was fair based on the local market and the simplicity of the pick-up at the vending machine was so much easier than having to deal with a salesperson and financing rep at a car dealership.

Also, we found a $10 Visa pre-paid card in the car—a small thank you from Carvana.

Carvana’s Warranty

In the meantime, the company gives you a 100-day, 4,189-mile warranty in which repairs are covered through an insurance company called SilverRock.

In some cases, you’ll have to pay a small deductible for any qualifying repairs. According to the fine print, the warranty doesn’t cover part defects due to normal wear and tear, nor does it cover damage to the trim or interior.

When we bought our car, we noticed that a sensor detecting if one of our doors was open or closed was broken and that there was an issue with the air conditioning. To make a claim, you have to take the car to a dealership or ASE-certified mechanic.

Since our car was a 2014 Dodge Caravan, we took it to a Dodge dealership. The service department worked with the insurance company to make the repairs. We didn’t have to pay anything.

Carvana’s Listings: Photos and Car Condition

As for the actual car listings, the Carvana website is similar to other car-buying sites in that you get to search through various listings of cars that fit your preferences.

What makes the site different is that all cars are photographed in-house and, in many cases, there are 360-degree photos of the car as well as interior photos.

In addition to these photos, Carvana provides markers on the car that pinpoint minor damage like paint chips or small dents.

Every car listed on the site goes through a 150-point inspection, Carvana notes, “so that you can be 100% confident in the quality and safety of your vehicle.”

Their website notes that their inspection checks tire tread, breaks and other important areas of your car.

Also, of importance is that every Carvana car is accident-free.

Financing a Car With Carvana

When you buy a car with Carvana, you can choose to finance through your own bank or credit union, or you can get an auto loan through Carvana.

The rates and max amounts Carvana's in-house financing offers are based on the price of the car, your annual income and your credit scores, so keep that in mind as you compare what Carvana offers to what you can get from your bank or credit union.

Carvana’s FAQ page says that you have to be at least 18 years old, make at least $10,000 a year and have not active bankruptcies to qualify. The rates and loan amount they quote you are good for 45 days.

Their loans are only good for cars on their site and you can’t use a co-signer.

At the time of publishing, we could not get a range of rates for Carvana auto loans. However, we did find out that their preliminary quote of your loan doesn’t require a hard credit check, which means it won’t hurt your credit.

If you do a preliminary quote, then you can take what they give you and compare it to loans you can get from your financial institution.

» Related: Financing Your Car: 6 Expert Tips on Landing a Great Auto Loan

Selling/Trading a Car to Carvana

As we mentioned in the beginning of this review, Carvana also buys cars and accepts trade-ins. It’s hard for us to say how much they’d offer you for your car, so we decided to use the car we bought from them as an example.

To get an offer for your car, you’ll enter your license plate or VIN number along with the state you’re in. Then, the site will ask you questions about the car’s condition, trim package, mileage and a few other details.

After filling this out, Carvana told us our car’s trade-in value was $6,755, according to Kelley Blue Book. What’s interesting is that they added another $1,617 to that total to adjust for the local car market, bringing the total trade-in value to $8,372.

A Carvana chat representative told us that the trade-in price is the same as the sale price. If we traded our car to Carvana to apply the car’s value to a purchase through them, they’d credit $8,372. If we sold it outright with buying a car from them, they’d give us $8,372.

How Carvana Compares to Other Car Buying Websites

Based on our research of this site and other sites, we believe there are some distinct differences between Carvana and other car listing sites.

First, Carvana’s photos are far superior to what you’d find on a site like Autotrader, Kelley Blue Book, Edmunds.com or Cars.com.

Those sites use photographs from either dealerships or private sellers and, in most cases, they aren’t going to have the same level of photo quality and coverage that you’ll get on Carvana.

Second, none of the cars that Carvana sells have accidents in their vehicle history, which is something that makes them unique from other sites.

You can’t search Autotrader, for example, to find cars that have no accidents in their history. To find that out, you’d have to narrow down the cars you’re interested in and then check each individual vehicle history report (if the car has one) to find out if there’s been an accident.

The advantage you have of using other sites like Autotrader or Cars.com is that they allow you to search cars sold by private sellers. These cars tend to be cheaper than what you’d pay at a dealership. Also, having the option to search cars from dealerships and private sellers gives you more options.

Carvana, on the other hand, offers cars that tend to be five years old or newer, so you won’t be able to find a bargain car that’s 10 years old.

As far as sites that are similar to Carvana, Vroom is the main competitor. Like Carvana, the site allows you to buy online and sell/trade-in your existing car. Some of the advantages that Vroom offers is that they provide a complimentary year of roadside assistance and they offer extended warranties beyond the 90-day warranty that comes with the car.

Carvana has the advantage when it comes to photos, because theirs are, for the most part, 360-degrees and they point out the flaws on the car’s exterior.

Final Thoughts: Who Carvana is Good For

We’ve had the chance to research Carvana through the available information on their website as well as try the service out ourselves.

Based on these two factors, we think Carvana has some distinct advantages and disadvantages over other methods of buying a car.

If you’re someone who needs to buy a car fast and wants to get a car with a clean vehicle history and a thorough inspection from the seller, then Carvana is a great option. When we bought our car, my wife was eight months pregnant, we were both exhausted and we didn’t want to have to deal with the painstaking process of haggling at a car dealership.

We spent a few hours over the course of two weeks researching cars on the site, then about 90 minutes choosing the car and getting funding, then another 90 minutes at the Carvana location in our city. It was truly painless, even when we had to get work done on the car during the warranty period.

However, if you’re the kind of person that loves to negotiate a good deal and is confident that you can get a car at lower than the sticker price, Carvana probably isn’t the best choice because their prices are fixed...there is no haggling.

Also, if you’re on a budget and you need to get a car for less than $10,000, we think that Carvana isn’t the best option and that you can find a better deal by searching websites that provide cars from private sellers.

If you want to learn more about the various websites from which you can buy a car, check out our guide to the six most popular used car buying sites. In it, we give you in-depth comparisons between Carvana, Kelley Blue Book, Edmunds, Autotrader, Cars.com and Craigslist.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 304 Carvana Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 69 4 star: 12 3 star: 23 2 star: 36 1 star:  164
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 304
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They play games with titles and want you to perjure yourself

    • Yorba Linda, CA,
    • May 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Such games! We had the original title in hand. They came out and asked us to sign a DMV form saying it was "LOST" when it was in front of them. That would be false and it's under penalty of perjury that we would be signing. They didn't even want us to fill in the dollar amount on the DMV form (presumably so they can list whatever they want for what they paid and not pay taxes on the purchase). So shady. I can't believe it. I've sold lots of cars and can't believe how dishonest they are. She didn't even have a business card or anything with her name on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 23, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us regarding your experience. Our goal at Carvana is to ensure that our customers feel at ease with our process and it sounds like you encountered some hiccups along the way. We will be following up with your delivery advocate to get clarification on the situation and pass along your feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies and know we are available for any questions or concerns you have in the near future. Thank you for your feedback.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Near bad experience

    I would have to say the purchase and process was a really great experience, but it wasn't until after my seven-day test buy that I started having problems. I was under the impression that all maintenance was up to par until I started getting readings of my purchased car to schedule for maintenance, so that is what I did. Upon doing so, I was told by Reputable BMW dealership that the car was past due for maintenance so I proceeded to have it done. My oil was changed, oil filter, and one other microfilter that was pretty costly. In all, I was out a couple of hundred dollars before my first payment. After completion of this, I had the car back about a day and a half before the check engine light came on. At this point, I'm thinking I made a bad ideal with buying this car. I called the dealership back to get the car back in to check it out again. About a day later the mechanic calls back and asks has anyone ever worked on the car before outside of a BMW dealership? I respond no, I have only had the car a little under two weeks. He says he has found the reason for the maintenance notifications and says this would have never been done by a BMW certified mechanic. Someone re-wired the connecting wire to the oil maintenance sensor very poorly and the wires were touching, They sent me pics of the wiring before the repair and unfortunately, although they worked with me on the cost of labor it was an additional $95.00 to fix it correctly and professionally.

    The moral of my story, take your car to a certified mechanic and reputable dealership for your brand purchase within the seven-day test buy. I'm currently awaiting response for my inconvenience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awful, stressful experience

    • Pennsylvania,
    • May 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This has been an awful, stressful experience. We received our first vehicle and it had SO much damage that was not disclosed on the site. Torn seats, keyed dashboard, body damage, and it was filthy inside and out. I wanted to cry. They said to pick out another you have seven days. We did and again damage that was undisclosed. They tried to talk us into keeping the vehicles by offering us $500! There is easily two thousand dollars worth of damage, probably much more, what a joke. Now we had waited for these vehicles so our car has been sold and we are in a terrible situation forced to make an expensive purchase as quickly as possible. Never would I suggest this or do it ever again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 23, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the opportunity to provide feedback on your Carvana experience and vehicle condition. Our goal is to provide amazing experiences to each of our customers from the beginning to the end of the process and we do apologize that we did not deliver this towards your Carvana journey. We are happy to see that a Customer Advocate is working with you to resolve these concerns and deliver a new vehicle. Please entrust that we are here for you to see this to resolution and you are always able to utilize us as a resource. Thank you for your patience as we ensure there are no longer issues present on your Carvana purchase.


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience ever

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, I tried out a fully electric vehicle. They only charged it to 20%, and I realized that the car did not have a public port to charge it faster than the home port, nor was the cord long enough to reach the outlet in my apartment. I tried to drive it to a friend’s house in order to charge it; however, it did not make it and died on the road. Unable to get it out of the way, I called roadside assistance. They did not know anything about electric vehicles. So, I called a different roadside assistance number to tow the car to a dealership to charge it. At the dealership, the sales rep who helped me did not plug the car in correctly. I waited 3 hours at the dealership for the vehicle to charge, not knowing it was not correctly charging. Once another sales rep who fixed the issue. A friend picked me up and I had to get the car the next day.

    So, I called Carvana thinking it was entirely my fault that I had not researched the electric vehicle enough and wanted another vehicle (as I traded in mine, which needed thousands of dollars of work) and had to borrow a car from a friend.

    I then purchased another vehicle, a 2013 Subaru. It seemed fine during the 7-day trial period, and needing a vehicle badly to get to and from work, I let the 7 days expire.

    A few weeks later, I’m driving home on a Monday evening, and the transmission goes out. I leave the car in a parking lot overnight and have it towed to my private mechanic in the morning. I have no way to work, so I take a personal day.

    SilverRock will not approve a car rental or Uber until a claim has been started on the vehicle. My mechanic indicated the diagnostic said it was transmission failure, and since the car had a factory warranty, I would need to have it towed to a dealership.

    However, SilverRock would not approve of the tow since I was at work and did not have the VIN number. I called AAA as well, and they would it tow it since I could not meet the driver. Finally, I found a company who would tow the car and take my debit card over the phone (so, at this point, I’ve paid almost $70 for a diagnostic and $80 for a tow - both out of pocket).

    At this point, it was Thursday, and I’d been without a vehicle since Monday night. The dealership then calls me to say that the transmission has been worked on recently and parts were improperly placed on the transmission.

    Note: There was nothing about this in the CarFax, and apparently not all repairs are reported either. Carvana denied making these repairs as well.

    There is nothing in place if this happens to you. My life has been seriously disrupted in multiple ways because of my decision to go with this company.

    I’ve talked to several people at Carvana as well as SilverRock, and it looks like, despite what they initially told me, they will now reimburse me for the $150 I incurred last week; however, because I did not have a vehicle, I missed work and crucial appointments.

    Not everyone has disposable income to pay for Ubers or car rentals on their own. Not everyone lives in a place where they have friends or family that can lend them rides or a car.

    Because the dealership did not create a claim until Saturday, I was told by SilverRock that I could not be reimbursed for a car rental.

    Extremely disappointed and frustrated with Carvana and SilverRock. Still waiting for my car to be fixed at the dealership. People depend on their vehicles to maintain their livelihoods; without reliable transportation, many of us cannot make it to our work, doctor, and other appointments.

    This decision has impacted my life for the worse. I’d strongly caution against using this company for your next car. It may sound more convenient to but online, and it is a good idea in theory, but knowing what I know now, I’d go with a salesperson at a dealership - hands down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 21, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you so much for taking the time to reach out to us about your recent vehicle purchase with Carvana. We take our customer feedback seriously and we will always address and take ownership of issues to maintain the level of excellent customer experience we are known for.

      All of our vehicles must complete an inspection and reconditioning process prior to being published for sale to our customers. At the time, the 2013 Subaru completed our process no signs of transmission issues needing to be addressed. We do apologize for the transmission issues present on your vehicle and are happy that it is going to be covered under manufacturer’s warranty coverage. We also are awaiting receipts in order to fully reimburse you for the tow and the diagnostic fee you paid for out of pocket.

      We hold our vehicles to a high standard and had we seen any indication there would be a foreseeable issue present with any component, we would have remedied the issue prior to being published on the website. We take the integrity of your experience seriously and look forward to helping in any way we can going forward to ensure the remainder of your experience with us is handled with care and attention to detail.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not as advertised!

    • Massachusetts,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attempted to buy a car from Carvana. Went through all of the steps, did all the legwork. Got my insurance changed, financing taking care of, downpayment authorized, etc. Even after the car was advertised as free delivery but then they said they had to charge me $199 and there was no way they could remove that charge. And "what's the big deal, it'll be rolled into the financing." One manager even had the nerve to tell me that it wasn't a delivery charge, it was a transport charge. Really?!

    Well, they agreed to and promised me 2-day delivery but once they received the check from the bank, that changed. They said the car had a dead battery and they couldn't deliver it for over a week. Again, really?! A week to replace a battery? I don't think so! Once they realized I was not happy, all of a sudden, there was nobody available to speak to me! They would reach out to me in 24 to 48 hours. Ya, I don't think so! What, just long enough to cash the check? I canceled the check and the order! Too many lies! Do yourself a favor, go spend a couple of hours at a dealership for your next car purchase, way easier!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 17, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We welcome honest feedback so that we understand where we are excelling and where we can learn from any mistakes made. We are disheartened that your experience fell short of the ease and convenience that we seek to provide for every Carvana customer. Every experience is important to us and we strive for excellence throughout your purchase from beginning to end. There are times where a delivery does get delayed because of unforeseen circumstances and we sincerely apologize for the delay in your delivery that caused frustration and stress. We should have caught the dead battery on your vehicle during our inspection process, so please know we are taking full ownership of that. We do not process any funds prior to our customers accepting their vehicle at time of delivery. We confirmed your original check has since been returned to you and your purchase has been cancelled. Our passion is providing an above and beyond purchase experience for our customers and our hope is that we can restore your trust in us once again.


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Unbelievably inept company

    • Texas,
    • May 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was probably the most epic fail of any major transaction I have had the displeasure of being subjected to. Ordered a Toyota on the weekend, scheduled the delivery on Tuesday. Great. I sign everything and purchase an insurance policy, receive emails confirming as much. Monday I receive an EMAIL explaining that I need to call THEM to reschedule due to an error on their end. I sit on hold for about an hour at work, reschedule for the following Saturday, go back online and sign everything a second time, and then proceed to wait 6 days for my car to arrive. Well, it turns out their system interpreted my signing everything again as an indication the entire order should be canceled. That is correct. Without even emailing me or calling me to let me know, they axed the whole deal for no reason I can properly discern.

    Come Saturday afternoon whilst waiting for the Carvana truck to pull up, I noticed that it wasn't. No calls or emails alerting me of anything, so once again I had to call THEM and wait another HOUR to talk to a representative (or "advocate" as they like to call it). They said the vehicle was not ready, nor was it in my name or my city. After waiting another hour, I was informed that their system indicated that I had logged in and canceled the transaction myself, at which point another customer had purchased the vehicle. Nothing could have been further from the truth, of course, and yet Carvana stood by their own flawed, bug-ridden system's logs and refused to return the car to my name. Telling the new owner about the mistake and making them upset was off the table. I called and begged them to reconsider, but they stonewalled me for about 40 minutes with empty apologies. I would never even consider using this hideously broken system again. The dealer would have been so much easier. I'd give a negative number of stars if I could.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 16, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We want to start by thanking you for taking the time to provide us with detailed feedback from your interactions with the purchase process with Carvana. We want to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered, as we know this is not the experience Carvana wants for any customer to have. It was determined that the purchase was canceled on the customer’s end. We understand that this was still a very frustrating process and we apologize that you did not receive the ideal Carvana experience we aim for. If you are willing to give us another chance, we would love to turn your experience around. Please contact our Customer Advocates if you are still in the market for a vehicle so we can make it right for you.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Wow, what a scam.

    • Massachusetts,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything seemed OK until I checked around and realized their offer on my trade was $1300 below local dealers. Then they did not complete registration correctly and delayed the delivery date, even though it was their fault. I had to run around and do the job normally covered by the dealership. Stay away from this the prices are high, the trade value abysmal and they do not work with you. A real take it or leave it attitude. Far worse than any dealer I have encountered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 13, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to share your Carvana experience in detail with us. We apologize for any areas in which you experienced a shortcoming of the seamless process that we take pride in providing for our customers. After further reviewing your account, we see you did not move forward with our purchase process and the registration process was never initiated. Although a vehicle was not purchased nor sold to us, we are sincerely sorry for any miscommunication you may have experienced and hope that in the future we will have the honor of earning your trust with Carvana again.


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Lies

    • Wildwood, FL,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am pleased with the car and the politeness of all with whom I dealt. Whenever the vehicle was delivered the representative had a lot of information and one item was that I was to receive a check in the mail for a refund of some overpayment. Not only did I not get a refund, they debited my checking with no prior notification for doc stamps. This, I was told, was included in the finance charges. After speaking to numerous representatives who told me there was nothing they could do, I spoke with Charles, a manager in Tempe, Arizona who promised to refund my money, which had been earmarked for my rent, putting me in a precarious position. Although they debited my account they had many nebulous excuses as to why they could not credit the money back. "The check is in the mail." Charles said it would be mailed that very day, 04/23/2019. Now on 5/02, I still have not received it. Seems, they say, it was rejected for some reason, and resent on the 30th, a Sunday, so it still didn't go out till yesterday. And I keep telling my landlord I'll probably have the rest of the rent money tomorrow. Somebody needs to get their stories straight, then I can get mine straight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to write this review on your Carvana purchase experience. We are thrilled to hear that each Customer Advocate that you spoke with was polite! However, we are saddened to hear that what may have been a great experience was ruined by inconsistencies in our process and the information provided. We are terribly sorry to hear of the unexpected charge and apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused you. We are happy to see that Charles was able to provide a resolution and has issued your refund. We hope that the service and resolution you received helped to turn around your experience. Our Customer Advocate will be a continued resource should you have any additional questions or concerns and this feedback will be provided to our teams for improvement.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Incorrect car profile

    • Illinois,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The car that was sent did not have the features that were listed on the Carvana profile. With Carvana, you have to go through the buying process even before you get to look at the car, so it is important to have the car listed correctly.

    We went through with financing and insurance just to find out that the car without the features would not work for us. We had to send the car back. We did not even receive a call let alone an apology for wasting our time and energy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 9, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the vehicle that arrived at time of delivery. We understand you rejected the vehicle at the time of delivery because it did not have blind spot protection. However, the 360-degree view and details section on our website did not state that the vehicle had blind spot protection. We apologize for the confusion, but please know the vehicle was annotated correctly. We would love to help you find a vehicle that meets all your standards, and if you are interested in trying our process again, please give us a call at (800) 333-4554. We want nothing more than to turn your experience around.


  • Excellent experience

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • May 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From locating and selecting a car, financing, purchasing, I’m going to the claims process, I can’t say enough good things about Carvana. Do your research, and you should be able to purchase with a high degree of comfort knowing that you got a good deal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    So far best car buying experience I have had

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wasn't looking to buy a car really, just looking at cars and wondering about costs. I found the car I wanted, and put in an application. Everything was better than expected, so I continued the process, still not 100% sure I wanted it. Each day I went deeper in the process and researching other options for same type of car, and after 5 days I had decided Carvana had the best prices and options after looking at financing and fees.

    Everything was super easy, I went at my own speed and finally I decided to hit the purchase button. Step by step what was needed (and completed) was easy to follow, I set date for pickup and on said date went to the vending machine to get my car.

    They actually had the date as the day before, but didn't matter, I was able to do it right then.

    Car was brand new looking, perfectly clean and as I test drove it, it was everything I expected, down to the two imperfections. The only problem was it was listed as SR trim level and actually was an SV. When I told the agent, they said they would find out what they could do. She called while I had it out for a test drive and when I came back they had a monetary offer for the difference. There were only two things I really might have wanted with the SR and I decided they weren't worth the going back and finding another car and such, so I took the money offer and am fine with the SV.

    After I finished signing papers etc., I took it to my mechanic who had previously told me he had checked out about 20 Carvana cars and never found a problem. He went over my car and said it had been well-maintained and he found no problems or evidence there had been any major problems previously.

    I am at my 6th day, and Carvana called to make sure I liked the car and let me know after today my 7 days were up and they would be sending in the registration and license info and I would receive that in due course.

    So far I couldn't be happier with everything about the car and the website and ordering process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 304

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review