About Carvana

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle On Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals are present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision, and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying about Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings, and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

More on Buying a Car:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

164 Consumer Reviews for Carvana

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 46 4 star: 4 3 star: 13 2 star: 22 1 star:  79
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 164
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Easy, fast, painless

    • Florida,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The application process was surprisingly easy, selected my SUV on Sunday, submitted paystubs, ID, and selected a Friday delivery date. They had earlier dates but preferred Friday according to my schedule. On Monday the rep called me to confirm details of the car, financing, and delivery date. Throughout the week I received text messages keeping me up to date on the vehicle.

    On Friday the driver called to let me know he was on the way with an ETA which was right where I scheduled it. Finally, the driver arrived right on time, very friendly, and walked me through the vehicle and details. He asked me to take my time inspecting the vehicle and test driving it while he waited back in his truck, this was great because I was not rushed or pressured with anything he said take all the time you need.

    After I took it for a spin and thorough inspection I noticed everything was just as pictured except one thing, the bumper had a scratch that was not on the picture. He immediately took a picture, confirmed it was not on the original pictures and said a rep would call me within 48 hours to have it fixed.

    Carvana has definitely been the best car buying experience I've had ever. The entire process was simple, hassle-free, and customer service including the delivery driver, was very friendly, patient, and explained everything to make sure I was satisfied. I would absolutely use them again. The best of all is I have 7 days to drive and get a feel for the vehicle, and it arrived clean inside and out. Dealers have a lot to learn from the service Carvana gave me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Lousy title department and horrible finance company

    • Mississippi,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please take a note from my experience with Carvana. Do NOT finance through them. Their financing company, Bridgecrest, is horrible.

    I paid off my loan with them on June 2, 2018, and on July 12, 2018, I still have not received my title. And now, the financing company is blaming Carvana for losing the title. I was told today that since they have not received the title yet that they are going to do a lost title, duplicate request, which will take three to eight weeks to process.

    I do not know who is to blame for this, but take this as an example to steer far away from Carvana or Bridgecrest if you plan on buying a vehicle. They are terrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very unpleased with this experience! I recently purchased a 2014 Ford Focus and when I got it the transmission started skipping the FIRST DAY! Luckily it was under warranty and we took it to the Ford Dealership to fix the problem. When getting it back from the shop, the transmission started skipping again so we decided to trade the car for a 2013 Honda Civic. It was supposed to arrive at 12 pm on that Tuesday and by 2 pm there was no show and they didn't have the courtesy to call!

    We eventually reached out to them and they said it would be here by 5pm and they still didn't show. Then they said 7pm and it's 8 now and I still haven't received my car! For any future Carvana customers I would recommend going to a dealership at least you would have your car and know nothing is wrong with it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 17, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We want to start by apologizing for the overall experience you had working with Carvana for both of the vehicles delivered. The issues described on the first vehicle are plainly unacceptable. We are so glad that you were able to find another vehicle you were interested in and were able to move forward with as an exchange during the 7-day money back guarantee. The delay you encountered in the second vehicle is truly not a normal occurrence, and we want to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will be providing your feedback to all involved in order to hold those accountable for this delay and lack of communication. We completely understand your frustration with Carvana given the lack of communication provided to you on the day of your vehicle’s delivery. We hope that you are truly loving your Honda Civic, even with the issues you encountered. We appreciate you being a part of the Carvana family!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Beware - half the features listed don't exist on the car

    • Connecticut,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently had a very bad experience with Carvana. I was looking at buying a BMW car and found a great deal with Carvana. The features listed on the car included M-Sport package, blind spot warning, lane departure warning and the exact color of car I was looking for. But having test driven some of these cars before, I quickly realized something was off. Firstly the M-Sport package wasn't actually in the car, and the customer care rep confirmed that for me. This made me suspicious of what else may be wrong and soon realized the car had none of the features they had listed. Even the color of the car was listed wrong. And they blamed "human error" for this. I went from actually buying the car to not because I don't think I can trust what's on their website. So beware of the features they list on the car and make sure you contact them before buying your car before you get your hopes up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 17, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Since Carvana is an all online dealership, we want to be transparent with our vehicles so our customers know exactly what to expect. It sounds like we definitely missed the mark on this, and we are so sorry to hear how it has impacted your experience with us. We have attempted to look up your account and unfortunately, we are having a hard time locating it. When we miss the mark, we want to do our best to make it right. If you are willing to give us another chance, please give us a call at 1-800-333-4554 and request to speak to a member of the Executive Resolution Team so we can assist you on your car buying journey.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Convenient but far from perfect

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a polarizing experience in buying from Carvana for the first time. There were parts I loved and parts I was very unimpressed with in my experience.

    Here are the things that I was impressed with and did enjoy about my experience. I am a huge fan of convenience and prefer not to deal with people directly as most of them are not intelligent enough or are too incentivized by their own agenda to sell me a car. So the "convenience" aspect of Carvana ranked very high with me. The online process of looking at and purchasing a vehicle sight unseen can be unsettling. But their online chat feature and the one time I did have to speak live to an associate it was excellent. All questions were answered, they were extremely knowledgeable and the assurance of a 7-day basic "test drive" with a no-questions-asked return policy was phenomenal. All cars should be afforded this length of time to consider.

    I did start to discover a few problems when the car was to be delivered to my front door. The Carvana carrier truck apparently broke down that day, so I had to take an Uber to their Carvana facility in Frisco. Inconvenient and a little odd that they didn't have another carrier, but they even paid for the Uber ride. So, no big deal. I received the car, and it was spotless. The gal that helped me was super nice and the paperwork to sign for the vehicle took less than 2 minutes. I could have been out in 5 minutes if I chose. And I did. So, I now have this car in my possession, and the 7-day clock has started.

    I noticed some cosmetic things that weren't disclosed on the website on this vehicle. An interior feature button was broken, a cosmetic small piece of trim on the door fell off, there was a big scratch on the rear bumper under the hatch not disclosed, and that was about it. I called into Carvana and told them the problems. They asked me to email in photos of the issues and that they would get back to me shortly. In 3 days I did get an email response, and I was impressed that they offered me a $350 check to cover the costs to fix everything. Perfect! No negotiating, no backing away from their responsibility, they (Carvana) just did the right thing. So, A+ for that experience.

    Two days later (realize I'm still in my 7-day grace period), I am in a massive rainstorm in Oklahoma. Time to flip on my wipers for the first time. Now was not a good time to learn that the wipers were so worn out that they were stripping away from their housing. They were like spaghetti noodles going over my windshield. In fact, the metal housing scratched the windshield in the process. So I had to drive with them off, which was not fun. I immediately went and got them replaced myself. Remember, this company claims a 150-point "rigorous" inspection of all their vehicles before selling them. Yet they missed windshield wiper blades so destroyed you couldn't miss it if you just turned them on. Doesn't add up. So, this caused me to question just how thorough this alleged inspection was by Carvana. Moving on...

    Later that day, I am running through all the diagnostic reports this car provides as it is thorough being a Porsche Cayenne. I pull up the oil level on the vehicle, and it shows the level to be critically low. Additionally, the car is telling me that the oil needs to be changed immediately. Carvana assured me that this car had received an oil change just before it was delivered. Now the car is saying otherwise. I call Carvana and ask about this and they claim that the vehicle settings just need to be re-set by a Porsche dealership noting that the oil had been changed. I would have bought that explanation except that the actual "oil levels" on the car are showing critically LOW. Doesn't add up... again. So I press Carvana on this issue and they agree to pay for a Porsche Dealership to change the oil in the vehicle. Hmmmm...I guess that I am happy they agreed to do that but does it not imply guilt? Who knows?

    So, I am going to write that "yes" I would recommend Carvana as the benefits far outweigh the challenges. It is a pre-owned vehicle I purchased so there are going to be things NOT perfect about the car. I get that. But if you are going to CLAIM that you do such a rigorous investigation of the vehicle, there shouldn't be much that is obvious that is missed (like wiper blades falling off).

    From a post-purchase perspective, they have been great. No debating and TWICE after going back to them to fix stuff, they have agreed to the right thing and just pay me. They don't want the car back, and I don't want to give it back. So, they make it easy/clean and simple which is smart.

    If you are considering buying from Carvana, ask to SEE a report of the 150-point inspection FIRST. Then when you get the car, go over that list or consider taking it to a dealership so they can do it for you. It won't be free, but it will give you leverage to go back to Carvana.

    All told, I would buy from them again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 9, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      First off, we want to thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Customer experience is a top priority for us at Carvana, and hearing that yours was less than incredible, is truly disappointing. We thank you for not only being so patient with us, but also choosing to look passed our oversite and allow us the opportunity to make it right. We truly appreciate you and your willingness to shed light on where Carvana could use improvement, with very valid points.

      Having looked into your account, we noticed that one of our Customer Advocates notated they received photos of the imperfections on your vehicle. We are glad that your concerns were addressed; however, you are absolutely correct that your vehicle should not have arrived in this condition. Carvana takes these types of situations very seriously so we may address the individuals involved for further accountability and review. We are confident that moving forward your experience with us will be amazing, and with that said, we welcome you to the Carvana family! We cannot thank you enough for this constructive and very honest review so we may continue to improve the Carvana process.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Carvana needs to go belly-up

    • Nevada,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Carvana is one of the most evil businesses that I have ever encountered. I looked them up because I saw a commercial, and saw that they buy people's cars and give cash for them. I created an account and saw that they gave an extremely solid amount for my vehicle. I had rescheduled the pickup of the car because of personal issues, and now they are completely refusing to do business with me, and cite some BS rule. They all DESERVE to get fired and to go belly-up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 9, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us regarding your experience. You have switched your pickup time and rescheduled seven times, our team attempted to purchase your vehicle twice, only to have you decline at the time of sale. At this point, we are no longer offering an option to sell your vehicle, as we cannot accommodate an advocate to your case since you continue to reschedule and change your mind. We apologize for the inconvenience this may cause.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Small business owner, stay away or self employed

    They started out by oh yes, you can buy a car here, they did a soft pull over the phone. I filled out everything else and even signed the contract for the car I was getting, and sent over all my documents with no problem. Then maybe two days later I got an email stating they could not verify me. So now I am little upset because I have a new inquiry on my credit with nothing to show for it. I also think they should have better disclosure forms. So if you don't have any source of income from a big company, don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 3, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us regarding your experience. Carvana allows our customers the opportunity to get pre-approved financing terms for all vehicles listed in our inventory. Our lender Bridgecrest has strict requirements in place for all of our customers, regarding acceptable documentation. At Carvana, we cater to various sources of income; however, we do require either two forms of pay stubs or three months of recent bank statements for proof of income. Each purchase is manually reviewed by an underwriter and their approval for financing is contingent upon the supplied documentation. We apologize that we were unable to move forward with extending financing at this time and we do thank you for providing your feedback about your Carvana experience.

    • Jul 15, 2018

      Rodney P.

      I made my first payment. I bought a 2016 Hyundai Accent and it has been everything I expected. The whole process was easy and the fast delivery was great. They have great support team. The only issue that I had was with the registration and tag. I didn't get a tag and had to get a replacement tag. Yes Carvana isn't perfect, but neither is anyone. I would HIGHLY recommend Carvana.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely the best car buying of my life. The car, a 2015 Prius, was in showroom condition and is a joy to drive.

    • Arkansas,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Much easier than going to a dealership. Since you are buying online, there is no sales tactics and no price haggling. If you don't like the car, you can return it no questions. The most efficient and stress-free way to purchase a car. You can take your time while researching the car that best fits your needs. They do not try to sell you extras, such as extra insurance for full replacement value. These policies are an expensive rip-off. I know from experience.

    If you want the most bang for your buck, Carvana is definitely the place. I was so impressed that I am adding Carvana to my portfolio.

    Thank you for a really positive experience. This is a real review. I know many businesses pay people for fake reviews, so I am adding my name.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome experience, awesome vehicle

    • Tempe, AZ,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not owned a car for five years and was skeptical about stepping foot into a dealership or purchasing from someone on Craigslist. I was looking for a no-hassle and intelligent car buying experience, which is exactly what I found with Carvana!

    I began shopping around their website for about two weeks, casually searching for a vehicle. This allowed me to thoroughly do research on each and every vehicle without feeling like a salesperson was breathing down my neck, waiting for me to chose a car. One morning I came across the vehicle that I knew I had to have and immediately started the process of purchasing it! Within minutes, I had my paystubs and license uploaded and was on the phone with my bank and Carvana to verify funds. The whole process took about 30 minutes (probably less) and was so easy! There were no surprise fees, and I knew exactly what my total was made up of (i.e. Carvana ExtraCare, state taxes, etc.).

    I was scheduled to have my car delivered the day after the Tempe vending machine opened in Arizona. Carvana reached out to ask if I wanted to come pick it up and I definitely said yes! The car buying experience was easy and hassle-free, so seeing the vending machine was definitely an extra perk. I invited some friends to come and check it out and the Carvana staff was so accommodating! It was awesome to see the vending machine, and I drove away with my sweet new car. They had had it detailed, the oil changed, and a full tank of gas!

    The Carvana Customer Service throughout the whole process has been and continues to be some of the most amazing customer service I have ever seen. When I call, they are quick to answer any questions that I have!

    At the end of the experience, I was not pressured into an extravagant purchase and walked away with a vehicle that had all of the features I wanted it to without going over my budget! I ended up purchasing the Carvana ExtraCare warranty for peace of mind. So far driving my 2017 Chevy Spark has been a dream and while I hope I never have to use the ExtraCare, I know if I do I will be met with people who genuinely care about me and my new car!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A very bad experience

    • Palm City, FL,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A few weeks ago, I reserved a 2015 Miata hardtop. The general description of the vehicle gave no indication that there were any aftermarket components. Before delivery, I noticed what appeared to be an aftermarket antenna on tacked on to the trunk and when I brought it to the attention of Carvana, they conceded that the Sirius satellite radio was not factory installed. Components added by a previous owner should always be disclosed, as they may not offer the same features or integrate with the vehicle's systems as well as factory equipment. Because of this, I changed my order to another 2015 Miata, which required an additional week for delivery.

    Two days before delivery, I received a generic-looking email from Carvana informing me that "an issue" had been detected with my vehicle. The email further instructed me to call the toll free number for more information. I called the number and was casually informed that my vehicle's folding retractable roof was damaged during transport to the Miami hub and would need repair, delaying its delivery by approximately two weeks. The rep said that they were also going to test the folding roof to ensure that its operation hadn't been compromised. When I expressed my disappointment, it was suggested that I simply "choose another vehicle."

    I called Carvana, this morning, seeking more information. Specifically, I wanted to see photos of the damage before deciding if I wanted to move forward with the purchase. I was told that someone from the Miami hub would reach out to me with more information and pictures before the end of the day, but that didn't happen. I also asked if they'd be willing to renegotiate the price of the vehicle considering the damage and the inconvenience. The rep said they would not.

    Considering the circumstances, it would have been appropriate for a supervisor to contact me when the damage to my car was discovered. I would have deemed that both considerate and professional. Instead, the phone reps that I've had to call treat my situation as though it's a trivial matter.

    Needless to say, I'm not impressed with this company or its customer service philosophy. Looking at these other reviews, I see I'm not alone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 26, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Our customers are our top priority and we strive to make each car buying experience special. We would like to apologize that your experience was less than exceptional as that is not indicative of our standard. Although it is difficult to know that properly escalating your concern to the appropriate channels could have turned your experience around, we really value you taking the time to provide us with your genuine feedback. It allows us to learn, improve upon our processes and avoid issues like this from occurring again.

      We know that first impressions can be lasting, but your experience is the exception and not the norm. We would still love an opportunity to show you a better way to buy and demonstrate how much we truly value our customers. Moving forward, you can reach us at 800-333-4554. We look forward to rebuilding your trust in Carvana!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not what I expected

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was trying to find a car so I went online to Carvana and applied for an account. After two days I found the car I was searching for but then had to save it and come up with the down payment of $1,200 within 24 hours or they would sell the car to somebody else. They should at least warn you about this before searching for a car about only having 24 hours to get the money together and before giving them your information and having to open an account with them.

    So I had to wait a year, meanwhile, they had all my info in their system and would send me emails from time to time taunting me to get a car with them. By then the car had been sold, so I had to search for another one. I found another car on their system, and this time the down payment was $900. So I locked it down and spoke to the customer service people the next morning but after that, they raised the minimum payment to $1500 because of my job and they said they couldn't bring it down anymore, that was what I had to pay.

    Then I had to call them again because they had emailed me that they might have to raise the down payment to $2500, so by this time, I was already ready to just end the deal. It went from $900 to $1500 to $2500, and that was just a waste of four days for them to say all this after thinking I finally found the car I was going to buy. Mind you, I had not even driven the car or anything and I was going to sign a contract to pay $15,000 plus interest on a car that who knows what's really wrong with it because seven days isn't enough time to find out the real problems if it overheats or any rattling it might have been barely semi-fixed. Seven days just isn't enough time, you need at least 30 days like regular car dealerships to know what's really wrong with a vehicle, especially a used one online. I mean, I know it's virtual car buying and they bring you the car, but when it comes down to the technical real mechanical workings of a car that is going to be transporting you and your loved ones, seven days is not enough time to test it out.

    They need to give customers 30 days to test out the cars if they plan to be in it for the long run and specify the person's info will be saved in their system, even if they never purchase the car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 26, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback on your car buying experience. We strive to provide every customer who ventures on to our site a seamless car buying experience. Your time spent on our site was less than pleasant due to two system errors and we truly apologize that your confidence is shaken in our process as a result. We appreciate you working with our underwriting team as they navigated through the issues to complete your purchase. Your feedback will be passed on to our development teams so these errors do not affect our customer experience in the future. We also appreciate your feedback regarding a potential extension on our 7-Day Money Back Guarantee. We do provide a week timeline so our customers may take their vehicle to a dealer if they so choose and take time to test the vehicle worry-free. We will pass along your suggestions to the appropriate channels for further discussion. Once again, we genuinely appreciate your feedback regarding your Carvana experience and hope you are enjoying your new vehicle!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 164

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review