Carvana Review: Is It Really a Better Way to Buy a Car?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle on Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals is present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying About Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business for almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

» Related: 7 Most Popular Used Car Buying Websites: A Comprehensive Guide

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

276 Consumer Reviews for Carvana

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 63 4 star: 11 3 star: 20 2 star: 33 1 star:  149
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 276
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Read all the bad reviews, please!

    • Maryland,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company labels itself as the "New way to buy a car" but is just more of the same. I cannot underestimate my disappointment with this service.

    The online portion was easy, until it came to product delivery. I was quite excited to get my car and waited 6 days for the car to be shipped to my home. The plan was to have the Corvette I planned to buy from them delivered and they would take my Porsche in trade.

    However, 2 hours before the delivery the nightmare began. First I received a call stating that they were unable to load the car on to their truck. They wanted to drive my "new" car through Washington DC traffic on a Monday morning 50 miles to my home, then drive my (Porsche 911) trade back through DC traffic to their service depot. So much for getting my trade back unscathed if this didn't work out.

    I tried calling Carvana 6 times, was put on hold 5 times (hold music sucks by the way). I was hung up on once, and eventually, the manager I spoke with came up with the same plan the original young man trying to load the car suggested.

    Am I crazy in not wanting some random young man drive my "new" 430hp Corvette through Washington DC on the commuter belt? Then to joy ride my Porsche back through the same dense traffic and potholes?

    I was willing to pay these people $6k over similar offerings for the convenience Carvana reportedly offered. The manager, though well-spoken, had very poor resolution skills. Her only other idea was for me to drive to DC (2 hour one way trip on a good day) to exchange the cars myself...

    I canceled my order, now all of my personal information is online with this incompetent company. Please, save yourself the headache and complete disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Carvana bad

    • Florida,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Whoever wrote this HighYa article must've been paid by Carvana to do so...unless they don't trust their own reviews that have Carvana at 2.3 stars with over 50% of them being 1 star.

    These guys think that selling cars is about slick marketing and competitive pricing. The problem is, it's about delivering on the deal and doing what you said. There are hundreds of complaints on the web about last minute excuses for delivery delays (i.e., "Something hanging off the car" or "damaged in transport").

    I decided I would give Carvana a try because I hate wasting time at multiple dealerships trying to get a deal done. Let alone the headaches that come from being lied to constantly by car salesmen.

    At first, everything seemed to go pretty smoothly. Great selection of cars with competitive prices and an easy financing approval process. They also gave me a competitive offer for my trade, so I was very encouraged.

    The problem arose at 6:58 AM the morning of delivery when they sent an email stating the car would not be delivered and to give them a call. When I called, they told me that the car was damaged in transport and they just noticed it at the hub in Winder, GA (I'm 5 hours away in Jax, FL). This is the same excuse used for countless other people. I was in the car business for three years with a high volume dealer that sold over 600 cars a month. We had cars transported by the truckload every week from auctions, and I think I remember a couple of vehicles damaged in that time frame...it's not common! So they told me it was going to take another 3 weeks to get that vehicle delivered because they had to send it to a body shop.

    So I decided to play along and selected a new vehicle and set a new delivery date for the following week. One day before delivery I decided to call and make sure everything was on track. Low and behold, they proceed to tell me that the old delivery was never changed to the new delivery on the second vehicle so it would not be delivered the next day and that it would have to be the following week.

    Here's the real kicker, the first car I tried to buy (the one that was going to take three more weeks because it had been damaged during transfer), popped up for sale again on Carvana and had an expected delivery date of 3 days away! Hahaha! They suckered another person into ordering the same vehicle the next day! These guys are a joke.

    So now I wait for the next delivery date...I will update you all soon!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent experience from start to finish

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just bought a 2017 Toyota Camry from Carvana. Every single step of this process was excellent.

    The paperwork/financing process was the best car buying experience I've ever gone through. Carvana allowed me to complete applications and provide documentation from the comfort of my own home...WITHOUT a pushy salesman breathing down my neck and trying to cheat me.

    My down payment wasn't electronically withdrawn until AFTER I accepted the car. Plus, with Carvana, I had a one week, 400-mile, test drive which gave me the opportunity to really see how this vehicle fits into my life and my family.

    The woman who delivered my car texted me early in the day and asked if it would be convenient for me to receive the car early, which it was, and my car was then delivered to me at 2:09 pm instead of 7:00 pm.

    My car is EXACTLY as promised and in excellent condition. I immediately brought the car to my mechanic who was very skeptical. When I went back to pick it up, he said he really tried to find something wrong with it, like what's the catch. There's nothing wrong with it. I have four new tires, new brakes, all fluids were full and I even had brand new (in the package) floor mats waiting for me in the trunk. My mechanic also ensured me that the vehicle shows no evidence of any collision damage.

    Trust me when I say I'd rather shove hot pokers in my eyeballs than to ever go back to another dealership. I highly recommend Carvana, and I guarantee that NOBODY asked me to write this review.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Wrong features - no 4-wheel drive

    • Lubbock arc ,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a vehicle in June of last year. Perfect vehicle. The only issue I’m having is the listing is showing it’s a 4x4 truck. When I purchased this vehicle, I called within 7 days to complain about my truck not having Premium Stereo or automatic start, nor was it a 4x4. Now that I have returned to Carvana to trade it in, I am upside down because of all those features I’m supposed to have. It’s been almost 6 months and NOBODY has yet to call me back to fix this issue!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don’t do it!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I won’t say it was a total waste because it was an easy process, however, this company is only in it for the money and doesn't care about the customer. I purchased a GMC Terrain in February, when I received the car it smelled like pure smoke, it was unbearable! After not being able to take the smell I decided to switch the car for something else before the 7 days were up. The Mercedes that I purchased would be delivered after my 7 days was up, and for some reason Carvana failed to tell me that I would be charged for the extra days I had the Terrain. They charged me $1,500 for the car alone after I traded my vehicle in plus $250 for the days I had the Terrain. When the employee explained the process to me, he told me the reason why I was being charged was because I didn’t call Carvana to ask for an extension. He said that there was nothing that they could do.

    Excuse me, I’m the customer, what happened to customer satisfaction? First of all, how would I know that? No one explained to me how this worked.

    Not only that but when the driver took my car off of the trailer there was something dangling from the bottom of it. He then said he would contact someone and they would be in contact with me to fix it. Why is this even an issue on the first day of having the car? Why wasn’t this checked out beforehand? Now I have to go out of my way to get a part fixed that I didn’t even break. Lucky me! So now I’m out of money and time.

    Lastly, Carvana offers a $500 referral so I referred 3 of my family members when I was in the process of purchasing the Terrain. I then called Carvana with the information about the referral and they told me I didn’t qualify for it because I lived in Texas and it was a law against pocketing money for car dealership referrals. My issue with this is why not tell the person that to begin with? Instead of advertising lies, tell the whole truth!

    All In all, like I said, it is an easy process, but if you don’t have money to throw away as most of us do not, I suggest going to a regular dealership and stay far away from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not convenient, email notifications not associated with reality

    I was looking for a convenient way to buy a backup vehicle cash. 2016 Rogue just under $18k. The only thing I liked was they give you the actual price online. We made a selection and were set up for delivery on a Saturday and set up to pay in full with routing # and account #. They called me to reschedule delivery due to weather for 3 days later, the start of it being inconvenient. I had to drive home on my lunch break to receive delivery of the Rogue; they wouldn't let my wife receive it. When I got off of work, I looked it over to find it a little on the nasty side. A bunch of cat hair and dried funk on the passenger side seat. I used every quarter I could find and 30 minutes of vacuuming at the car wash and it still had a cootie feeling when I drove it home. The next day my wife drove it and told me it was gross inside but wanted to get it cleaned and keep it.

    Shortly after I received an email on an issue with payment. I called them to find out what was the issue with payment and they could not tell me exactly what was the issue. They said they would not run the routing/account# method again. They then said I would have to wire money or send a money order, more inconvenience. I went to the bank to wire money with the email they sent on directions to give the bank. Bank had me call Carvana for more specifics on the wire transfer, an hour later it was done.

    The next day my money is out of my account and Carvana sent an email that they had been trying to contact me and I was in breach of contract due to nonpayment. The email had words like "breach of contract" and "collections" and what I felt were threats. My wife was angry with the language and said get rid of it.

    What a waste of time. It has has been about a week since I ordered it online, and my bank account is short $18k, waiting for them to pick up the cootie car from my driveway and give me my money back. Going forward I will stick to the traditional way of purchasing a vehicle. The reviews on Carvana's site must be fake because I cannot find how to place a review associated with my order.

    Carvana, pick up your SUV and give me my money back so we can be done with this, please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bait-and-switch

    • Oklahoma,
    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They promised me a car with only one imperfection on the exterior. They brought me a car with dozens of dings and scratches. The car also had a rock chip on the windshield that wasn't repaired nor noted on the car condition, and the car was also missing a wheel logo. The resolution from Carvana was that I just had to live with the 11 extra scratches and that I would have to take the car into a body shop to get an estimate for the other damages. If I had time to do all of that I would have gone to a car dealer. I'll never buy from Carvana again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 12, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your vehicle. We annotate the top three to five imperfections on our vehicles posted, but do not point out every imperfection, as we sell used vehicles that come with normal wear and tear. With that being said, we also pride ourselves on transparency and a seamless car buying process. We are so sorry that this was not conveyed during your car buying experience. We attempted to locate your account, but were unable to do so. If you have any additional questions or concerns about this, please give us a call at (800) 333-4554 so we can further discuss.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Vehicle value

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Went to see the value of a European sports (BMW) car that has never seen winter and is in very good condition, the car is worth every bit of $5k, but the "appraisal" of Carvana only put it at $420. I could get a better quote at a junkyard!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 12, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Joe, thank you for providing feedback on your experience getting an offer for a vehicle you were interested in selling to Carvana! Our offers are based on the vehicle’s features, mileage, Kelly Blue Book current fair market value, etc. We'd like to apologize if the offer was not what you were expecting for your vehicle. Our offers are good for 7 days and you are not obligated to sell your vehicle to Carvana. If you change your mind or have any questions, please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 and one of our Customer Advocates would be more than happy to help!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Return of an unsatisfactory BMW X5M

    • Texas,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Carvana's model is terrible. They buy cars at auctions (those are cars that don't sell through the normal process) and then offer at full price similar to a certified car.

    We paid $61,400 for a 2016 BMW X5M, which was about $7000 more than another wholesale dealer, but...

    This car had missed its second big mandatory service and appeared oil had not been changed for 20,000 miles!

    The Local Houston BMW dealer required this car to have its Valve Covers removed to check for sludge at cost of $4400, and therefore no assurance car would be OK.

    We returned this car to Carvana, they are not qualified to sell this type of car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 12, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Joseph, all of our Carvana vehicles go through a 150-point inspection to ensure the vehicle meets our standards before reaching our customers. However, we want to sincerely apologize for the condition in which your vehicle was delivered, as the concerns you mentioned would be unacceptable to our standards. We have been unable to locate your account to see if there is anything we can do to assist you further. If you are willing to give Carvana another chance, please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    2/27/19 - My tag issue is still ongoing, however, Carvana and I have come to a mutual agreement for the time being.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 28, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We apologize that your experience has been difficult and has affected your life activities. Our goal at Carvana is to make the car buying experience easier, and we did not live up to that goal for you. We are happy that we’ve had a chance to be in contact with you to provide options moving forward. One of the errors we made was providing prompt communication concerning registration. We will look into this further in order to improve this process.

      Whenever an issue occurs with a new vehicle, we want to make sure our customers have transportation. We often provide a vehicle rental through a rental company. These companies have their own policy where they require a deposit on the rental. This amount can range anywhere from $50-$250 for the refundable deposit and is not determined by Carvana but rather through the rental company. We should have set better expectations concerning the different possibilities of cost. Because of this, we were able to provide a solution that eliminated the need for you to provide funds for a deposit.

      We apologize that one of the answers you received was to be “patient”. We do want to clarify what should have been communicated instead. Once we identified the error, we expedited the process internally. After we completed the necessary steps, we sent the registration information to the DMV. At this point, we are left to the DMV timeline for processing. We apologize that we do not have more control over the situation through the DMV, but we hope this provides perspective concerning the current timeline.

      A Customer Advocate has reached out to assist with the issues that have occurred. We are glad that we were able to work together to come up with a solution that was accepted by you. Thank you for your continued patience in the process and we hope to have everything resolved soon.

    • Mar 2, 2019

      Cherita B.

      I have already updated my initial response. Stating that I’ve obtained a resolution for now. Unfortunately, it takes HighYa several days to post complaints and responses. Which in turn pushes the review date more than 3 days out from the actual post and the timeline is off.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Feb 27, 2019

    Temp tags expired/title error

    Hello, I purchase a car from Carvana and they stated during the purchase process and delivery process that they would take care of registration for tags. My vehicle was delivered on January 3, 2019 with a Georgia temp tag that expired on February 17, 2019. Per documents included in my paperwork titled "Title & Registration FAQ," it states that I would get updates on my registration once it has been submitted to processing from the DMV. It also states that if there are errors with the registration process Carvana would reach out to me to advise of the problem.

    On Monday, February 11, 2019, I reached out to Carvana because I did not hear anything from them regarding my tags. During the call, the rep advised me that there was an error made on my registration and that Carvana made the error and it caused a delay. The rep stated that they are working to resolve the issue however no ETA is available. During the call I advised the rep that my temp tag expires February 17, 2019 and the rep stated they are aware but cannot provide another temp and that if I would give it more time they would reach back out if they won't be available by the 17th to see if they could provide a rental.

    Friday the 15th came and no word from Carvana. I called back and the rep stated they don't have updated status and that they could offer me a rental. I was initially told the deposit for rental would be $50. That $50 turned in to $250. I stated to several reps on February 15th that it is completely unacceptable that I have to put out any money because this is an inconvenience to me. I have a car that I am financially responsible to pay a car payment on that I can't drive because of bad tags, but I have to pay money without an ETA of when I will be able to drive my car again.

    After waiting over 40 minutes on hold, I hung up and a rep called me back to say they could drop the deposit to $100. Still unacceptable. Then I was told they would FedEx a check for the deposit. I was told I would get an email. Monday, February 19th, no email no check. I received the check on February, however, it was information that the "title" is what caused the delay and Carvana need to correct the "title."

    Carvana is not very forthcoming with what the issue is and thinks it's ok for me to have a car outside with bad tags. Carvana thinks providing a rental is enough when in fact I should not have a car that I am financially responsible for that I can't drive because of Carvana's mistake. I purchased a car to drive, not to look at in the parking lot. I have spoke to several people that thinks that this issue isn't a big deal and that I should be "patient' and just accept a rental. It's completely unacceptable for me to not be able to drive a car because of Carvana's mistake. I have already lost more than $100 on my end by missing work and my children missing activities from the 17th - 21st. And more may come.

    It saddens me that I entrusted this company and that I chose Carvana to do business with. I have been placed in a really bad position and Carvana does not see the urgency in the situation nor care that they have a customer that purchased a vehicle from them that is illegal to drive because of their mistake. I wish I would have checked the BBB reviews before I purchased because it shows I'm not the only person that purchased a car from Carvana that can't drive it because of an expired temp tag.

    (read moreread less...)

  • I bought a car from a vending machine, y'all!

    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was nervous about buying a car from Carvana, but I couldn't find exactly what I wanted anywhere else. I felt good about the return process so I pulled the trigger and bought my car, a Mazda CX 5 grand touring. It had higher mileage than I wanted, but the price was right, and the car looked in and was described as being in great condition. I live chatted with two reps through the process, and they were both friendly and helpful.

    I picked it up at the Nashville dealership and the guy at the front desk was so professional and seemed truly happy to see me. The car's appearance inside and out was better than I expected. There were no imperfections that hadn't been noted in the listing. I test drove it and started to love it. Took possession and drove it 35 miles home and it performed fantastically. I've been over it with a fine tooth comb, and my husband has inspected fluids, brakes, tires, etc. and he's happy.

    I used a referral I got from a nice stranger in Arizona for $500 off. I recommend Carvana. Just remember, you don't have to accept it if you're not happy, and you have 7 days to change your mind. Take it to a local garage and give them $50 to look it over if you need reassurance. I have never had a dealership tell me to bring a car back I didn't like, so I feel like they are standing behind their sale. I do wish someone would text, email or call to make sure I'm happy, things like that go a long way for customer satisfaction.

    In closing, I love my Mazda and enjoyed the whole Carvana experience!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 276

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review