Carvana Review: A Detailed Look at How It Works, Warranty, Financing, and More

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 20, 2019

Carvana is a website where you can shop for used cars and get financing, as well as sell or trade-in your car.

The company’s claim to fame is their series of car vending machines and their delivery service, two features of their buying process that make purchasing a car easier than going to a dealership or shopping classified ads.

The company is based in Tempe, AZ. And was founded in 2013. Since then, the company’s public awareness has slowly grown through billboard campaigns in cities in which they will open Carvana locations, as well as commercials here and there about how easy it is to buy a car from them.

Carvana holds an A+ with the BBB and contains a 2-star rating based on 128 customer reviews as of March 20, 2019.

In this review, we will talk about Carvana’s process for buying, selling and financing, as well as how the company compares to others.

Along the way, I’ll incorporate my experience buying a car from Carvana in November 2017. The purchase was independent of any relationship between HighYa and Carvana.

Buying a Car Through Carvana

Buying a car on this site is very simple. You search the cars you’re interested in, select one to buy and then commit to buy it. Then, you’ll notify Carvana about how you’ll pay for the car and, if financed, who is giving you the auto loan.

At that point, Carvana gives you the option of them delivering the car to your home or you picking up your car at a Carvana vending machine.

You’ll fill out all the documents necessary to buy and finance the car but the transaction won’t actually go through because Carvana gives you seven days to drive the car around—an extended test drive, if you will.

If you want to keep the car, then you don’t have to tell Carvana anything. They’ll process all the paperwork and, within a few weeks, you should receive your car’s new license plate. If you decide not to buy the car, then the transaction doesn’t go through and your car loan is still available to buy another car.

The final aspect of their car sales is that you don’t pay a dealership fee for your vehicle, which is an extra charge that dealerships add to your bottom line that covers paperwork and other random work done.

When I bought our car, the process was very simple and a welcomed relief. The price was fair based on the local market and the simplicity of the pick-up at the vending machine was so much easier than having to deal with a salesperson and financing rep at a car dealership.

Also, we found a $10 Visa pre-paid card in the car—a small thank you from Carvana.

Carvana’s Warranty

In the meantime, the company gives you a 100-day, 4,189-mile warranty in which repairs are covered through an insurance company called SilverRock.

In some cases, you’ll have to pay a small deductible for any qualifying repairs. According to the fine print, the warranty doesn’t cover part defects due to normal wear and tear, nor does it cover damage to the trim or interior.

When we bought our car, we noticed that a sensor detecting if one of our doors was open or closed was broken and that there was an issue with the air conditioning. To make a claim, you have to take the car to a dealership or ASE-certified mechanic.

Since our car was a 2014 Dodge Caravan, we took it to a Dodge dealership. The service department worked with the insurance company to make the repairs. We didn’t have to pay for anything.

Carvana’s Listings: Photos and Car Condition

As for the actual car listings, the Carvana website is similar to other car-buying sites in that you get to search through various listings of cars that fit your preferences.

What makes the site different is that all cars are photographed in-house and, in many cases, there are 360-degree photos of the car as well as interior photos.

In addition to these photos, Carvana provides markers on the car that pinpoint minor damage like paint chips or small dents.

Every car listed on the site goes through a 150-point inspection, Carvana notes, “so that you can be 100% confident in the quality and safety of your vehicle.”

Their website notes that their inspection checks tire tread, breaks and other important areas of your car.

Also, of importance is that every Carvana car is accident-free.

Financing a Car With Carvana

When you buy a car with Carvana, you can choose to finance through your own bank or credit union, or you can get an auto loan through Carvana.

The rates and max amounts Carvana's in-house financing offers are based on the price of the car, your annual income and your credit scores, so keep that in mind as you compare what Carvana offers to what you can get from your bank or credit union.

Carvana’s FAQ page says that you have to be at least 18 years old, make at least $10,000 a year and have not active bankruptcies to qualify. The rates and loan amount they quote you are good for 45 days.

Their loans are only good for cars on their site and you can’t use a co-signer.

At the time of publishing, we could not get a range of rates for Carvana auto loans. However, we did find out that their preliminary quote of your loan doesn’t require a hard credit check, which means it won’t hurt your credit.

If you do a preliminary quote, then you can take what they give you and compare it to loans you can get from your financial institution.

» Related: Financing Your Car: 6 Expert Tips on Landing a Great Auto Loan

Selling or Trading a Car to Carvana

As we mentioned in the beginning of this review, Carvana also buys cars and accepts trade-ins. It’s hard for us to say how much they’d offer you for your car, so we decided to use the car we bought from them as an example.

To get an offer for your car, you’ll enter your license plate or VIN number along with the state you’re in. Then, the site will ask you questions about the car’s condition, trim package, mileage and a few other details.

After filling this out, Carvana told us our car’s trade-in value was $6,755, according to Kelley Blue Book. What’s interesting is that they added another $1,617 to that total to adjust for the local car market, bringing the total trade-in value to $8,372.

A Carvana chat representative told us that the trade-in price is the same as the sale price. If we traded our car to Carvana to apply the car’s value to a purchase through them, they’d credit $8,372. If we sold it outright with buying a car from them, they’d give us $8,372.

How Carvana Compares to Other Car Buying Websites

Based on our research of this site and other sites, we believe there are some distinct differences between Carvana and other car listing sites.

First, Carvana’s photos are far superior to what you’d find on a site like Autotrader, Kelley Blue Book, Edmunds.com or Cars.com.

Those sites use photographs from either dealerships or private sellers and, in most cases, they aren’t going to have the same level of photo quality and coverage that you’ll get on Carvana.

Second, none of the cars that Carvana sells have accidents in their vehicle history, which is something that makes them unique from other sites.

You can’t search Autotrader, for example, to find cars that have no accidents in their history. To find that out, you’d have to narrow down the cars you’re interested in and then check each individual vehicle history report (if the car has one) to find out if there’s been an accident.

The advantage you have of using other sites like Autotrader or Cars.com is that they allow you to search cars sold by private sellers. These cars tend to be cheaper than what you’d pay at a dealership. Also, having the option to search cars from dealerships and private sellers gives you more options.

Carvana, on the other hand, offers cars that tend to be five years old or newer, so you won’t be able to find a bargain car that’s 10 years old.

As far as sites that are similar to Carvana, Vroom is the main competitor. Like Carvana, the site allows you to buy online and sell/trade-in your existing car. Some of the advantages that Vroom offers is that they provide a complimentary year of roadside assistance and they offer extended warranties beyond the 90-day warranty that comes with the car.

Carvana has the advantage when it comes to photos, because theirs are, for the most part, 360-degrees and they point out the flaws on the car’s exterior.

The Bottom Line: Who Carvana Is Good For

We’ve had the chance to research Carvana through the available information on their website as well as try the service out ourselves.

Based on these two factors, we think Carvana has some distinct advantages and disadvantages over other methods of buying a car.

If you’re someone who needs to buy a car fast and wants to get a car with a clean vehicle history and a thorough inspection from the seller, then Carvana is a great option. When we bought our car, my wife was eight months pregnant, we were both exhausted and we didn’t want to have to deal with the painstaking process of haggling at a car dealership.

We spent a few hours over the course of two weeks researching cars on the site, then about 90 minutes choosing the car and getting funding, then another 90 minutes at the Carvana location in our city. It was truly painless, even when we had to get work done on the car during the warranty period.

However, if you’re the kind of person that loves to negotiate a good deal and is confident that you can get a car at lower than the sticker price, Carvana probably isn’t the best choice because their prices are fixed...there is no haggling.

Also, if you’re on a budget and you need to get a car for less than $10,000, we think that Carvana isn’t the best option and that you can find a better deal by searching websites that provide cars from private sellers.

If you want to learn more about the various websites from which you can buy a car, check out our guide to the six most popular used car buying sites. In it, we give you in-depth comparisons between Carvana, Kelley Blue Book, Edmunds, Autotrader, Cars.com and Craigslist.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 336 Carvana Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 72 4 star: 12 3 star: 26 2 star: 40 1 star:  186
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 336
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Failed deliveries! TWICE!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Carvana is terrible when it comes to delivery. We were scheduled more than twice and each time we got bumped. These were times that they made available for us and then when it came time to deliver they could never meet times.

    Forcing us to drive to them, or having them drop off at another date.

    I still don't have the car after two failed delivery dates and now I'm debating if I should go in a different direction.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Buy somewhere else

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jul 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited about the concept of Carvana, however, the company really disappointed. The car my wife bought was supposed to go through a thorough inspection. Any mechanic would have noticed the car had been wrecked, however, it had a clean Carfax report so they tried to push it through. As part of any inspection process, a minimum requirement is to test the lights. This would have been hard to do since the wire going to the switch was disconnected. There were scratches around the steering wheel from where the airbag was deployed. Also on this specific car, it has a safety feature on the dash that locks the dash console when in a wreck to prevent anything from hitting the passenger. This device was triggered. They did return my wife’s car as promised, however, when in the seven days they lost the title.

    Now the car is back on their site and is pending sale in less than a week after we returned. We gave all the details yet they only 1 in 20 cars pass their inspection.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst car buying experience ever

    • Oil City, PA,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a 2015 WRX Sti from Carvana on May 30th of this year. While at the vending machine I specifically asked about the negative reviews they get about their registration procedures. The representative tells me "we used to have problems but we streamlined the whole process and now it’s quick and easy, no worries." The temp tag on my car expired on June’s 6th. On May 28th I contacted Carvana and asked what the status of my registration was because it was going to expire in a week. After a long hold, they come back on and tell me that my registration is being processed as we speak. I asked what was being done with it over the last three weeks. She says "yeah, we dropped the ball on that." No way my registration was going to get to me on time before temp tag expired. They say they will get me a rental if it doesn’t arrive by June 6th.

    I call them June 5th and say it still isn’t there yet and that because I work nights I need the rental early on the 6th because my registration would be expired by the time I get off work. They say no problem. I call them on the 6th with no registration and no rental. They say they will send me paperwork for rental soon. Tharp waited until 3:30 pm to call Enterprise and they had no cars available by then. I had to call off work because they waited until the last minute to call. Just like they waited until the last minute to submit my registration. They said registration would take approximately 11 days. I called back 11 days later and was put on a long hold again. They come back and say the DMV needs a clearer picture of my insurance. Once again they waited until I called to tell me anything. I was told that now the ETA for my registration is July 1st. It is now July 1st and I still have no registration. I have been driving a rental for an entire month. I just made a car and insurance payment totaling $750 for a car that I haven’t been able to drive a single mile. If you read their reviews you will see this happen a lot. Better off going to a regular dealership and not these cons.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awful advocates and underwriters

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I more than met the criteria for approval and I could not understand why I was being scrutinized by Carvana and mistreated by Onijah. As far as I am concerned, I am owed an apology and a review of my case by Carvana because again all rules do not apply to everyone. Furthermore, I will continue to share my experience with others and until Carvana makes some changes in the way they handle prospective customers. If all you and Mr. Garcia are concerned about is making millions of dollars (approximately 600 million) from hard-working customers and not treating them with respect and dignity in return, then you need to go back and take Business 101 and learn how to do so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 12, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you reaching out to us about your Carvana experience and we are sorry to hear it has been less than exceptional. Carvana strives to be a better way to buy a car and we apologize that was not conveyed to you. After further review of your account, we see one of our specialists has reached out to you. We hope you are now feeling a little better about your experience, and if you are still in the market for a new vehicle, please know we would love the chance to earn your trust again.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scammers

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I put in all my information about my vehicle, it is a 2002 Mercedes C240, good condition, it came back saying they will offer me $200 for it, which was already a joke. And then I looked up the same make and model of my car and it found one and they wanted $4,400 for it, mind you my car has 99000 miles, this car same exact year and style had a hundred and sixty-six thousand miles on it. I know they need to make money but what kind of rip-off is that?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 12, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Danny, we want to apologize for the experience you had getting a trade value for your vehicle. Our values are based off the features, mileage, KBB current fair market value, and additional factors. We apologize that the value did not align with your expected value. Please feel free to reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 if you have any additional questions.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Carvana is worse than Craigslist!

    • Manassas, VA,
    • Jul 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Roughly three months ago, I purchased a car from Carvana - a 2016 Nissan Altima and I'm already experiencing major mechanical issues, starting with the breaks - keep in mind, the vehicle was advertised with "new brakes". False! Within two weeks, I visited a SilverRock repair shop as instructed by Carvana and was advised that the brakes were new, but very cheap and were unfit for a Nissan Altima. Carvana stated that nothing could be done since the brakes were "actually" new while SilverRock sarcastically recommended I drive and wear them down until they stop squealing! Seriously?! Then my tires...Bad enough they came mismatched (which I kindly decided to overlook), but they're constantly losing air! THEN MY A/C STOPPED WORKING! It's like a bad dream turned into a nightmare! It's freaking June! JUNE! It's disgustingly hot, and guess who doesn't care? Carvana. I called to them complain and get some sort of resolution about the fact that my 3-YEAR-OLD VEHICLE has a dysfunctional compressor, but since I didn't purchase Carvana Care (which I was never prompted to on the website as they claim) and since I'm past the 4,189 miles warranty (less than 100 days though), there's "nothing [they] can do." My A/C was never particularly cold anyway; now I know why! I feel as though I am due some sort of complimentary repair despite their B.S. terms.

    Carvana has been so rude, sarcastic, and shady since things starting going wrong, it's the least they can do to redeem themselves as a reputable seller. I will never refer anyone to Carvana otherwise, and I plan to seek legal aid regarding this matter because there's just no way that a 2016 Nissan Altima (a practically new vehicle) with such low mileage could pass an 150-point inspection with cheap breaks and failing A/C, and there's certainly no way Carvana will get away with blatantly not giving a crap about it! Just today, a Carvava rep even laughed at me over the phone as I expressed my discontent with my experience! Terrible customer service, terrible repair department, terrible business!!! Unless you want a car that'll conveniently start to fall when Carvana needs it to, I recommend going to a REAL DEALERSHIP! Otherwise, just get a cash car off Craigslist! At least if you buy a crappy car that way, you likely won't have to pay a note on it TOO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Will sell unsafe vehicles

    • Blackwood,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had bought my truck 3 months ago and for the last month and a half it has been in and out of the shop for stalking while driving "unsafe" my extended warranty was expired for 10 days for this still ongoing issue and will not have it repaired. I feel a company who is told to be the best does not step up and make it right shouldn’t be selling to the people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware BIG TIME!

    • Kissimmee, FL,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my 2017 Dodge Grand Caravan on 3/3/19. Supposedly everything "passed" inspection. Fast forward to late May 2019. My brakes are going, they are grinding away at the rotors and oh what's that? A FIRE! Yes, actual FLAMES from my rear driver's side braking system. I contact Carvana, they will do nothing, claim it's "wear and tear". I get the BBB involved as this is NOT wear and tear, this is a defective vehicle. Carvana requests documentation from a certified repair facility. I send documents from TWO different places supporting that this is NO WAY wear and tear! Carvana STILL refuses to do anything. I am a single mom, on medical leave with ZERO income who now has a vehicle that I CANNOT drive because it is unsafe and could catch fire again at any time (per both mechanics). Buyer beware! This "company" has no problem selling defective vehicles and will refuse to do anything about them but to blame you the customer. I will NEVER buy from here again and make sure everyone I know knows to stay FAR away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 12, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We apologize for the frustrations and additional stress that we have caused you during this time. We care about the quality and safety of your vehicle, so we support our 150-point inspection with a 100 day/4,189 mile complimentary warranty. This warranty will cover mechanical components that are failing. However, after further review of your account, you have been in communication with our Repair Team and we have reiterated that we can confirm that current issues with your brakes, rotors and calipers are not due to an oversight by Carvana. We would love to explain in further detail in regards to the brakes and explanation of exceeding the complimentary warranty. Please don’t hesitate to give us a call at (800) 333-4554 for further explanations.


  • Process was simple, but several glaring chips/dings/scratches

    • Holly Springs, MS,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally selected a 2017 Hyundai accent SE sedan for pickup at the Nashville vending machine on 6/15, ended up rejecting the vehicle due to it not having Cruise Control (I might add that it did not list as a feature, I just assumed that all new cars automatically had cruise). While I was still there, I went online and found the same year/model but the hatchback version which did list cruise control as a feature, I then set that up for delivery on 6/20 as I am located just over 200 miles away from the vending machine in Nashville.

    Delivery day comes and I get a call from the driver about 45 minutes prior to original scheduled time (2 pm) and he indicates that they were short staffed and he was running behind and would probably be there about 2:30, he actually got there at 2:15 so within the original delivery window.

    He drops the car off the transport and pulls into my driveway where we go over some paperwork. In the meantime, my fiance is doing a walk around on the vehicle and found 2 significant cosmetic issues not noted on the website. Passenger side rear tail light cover is missing a chunk and the front bumper has a significant scratch and chip out of it. We bring that up to the delivery driver who indicates that it's possible it happened during transport. He takes pictures of the areas and submits to the repair department.

    I get an email back from the repair department indicating that I should take the vehicle into a body shop and get an estimate for repairs and submit the estimate to them. I get the estimate and submit it to them on the 24th, I then get an email on the 26th that good news, the repairs have been approved.

    Here is where the trouble comes in, so I take it back to the body shop shortly after I got the email and tell them that they need to contact Silver Rock to initiate the claim. Body shop contacts Silver Rock and "no record" in their system, tells body shop they need to submit the estimate to them before it can be approved? What? I took off work to hopefully get the work started yesterday as the body shop won't start anything until they know they are going to get paid for the work. The body shop also tells me that between ordering the part and the actual paintwork that needs to be done, I'm looking at being without my vehicle for probably 3-4 days.

    In looking over the Silver Rock FAQ's, they will only reimburse for a rental vehicle if labor is over 8 hours, I don't believe the actual labor is going to take that long? Also, reimbursement is limited to $40/day, the cheapest going rate for a vehicle here in the Memphis area for the smallest compact car is $42/day! Not sure how I'm going to deal with getting to and from work while my car is in the shop, can't exactly afford to pay for a rental out of pocket since my extra money went towards my down payment.

    I also never received a call from Customer Care towards the end up my 7-day "test drive", I guess it's partially my fault for not reading that the 7 days starts on the day you take possession. I honestly thought I had until the 27th to reject/exchange for a different vehicle.

    My final take away from everything so far is I would recommend Carvana to friends and family, but I am soured on the process for cosmetic repairs not noted on the website and how long it takes for approval and still needing to go through Silver Rock for cosmetic issues. With next week being the 4th of July, I think I'm going to end up having to wait until the following week providing everything gets approved before I can have the body shop start the work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 12, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you so much for providing such insightful feedback on your Carvana purchase. We sincerely apologize that your vehicle was delivered in less than ideal conditions. We appreciate you for allowing us the opportunity to correct the issues with your vehicle. While the issues are being remedied, we understand how frustrating it may be to be without your vehicle. We are glad that we were able to assist you with your transportation needs in the meantime. It is wonderful to hear that despite the issues encountered, you would still recommend Carvana to family and friends. It is our goal to improve our process and customer experience with every customer interaction. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future. Please contact us with any additional questions or concerns that you may have.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don’t trust their inspection or process

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The buying experience was pretty good...easy to search inventory, and the vehicles are a fair price.

    However, I had several issues with my purchase.

    1) They forgot to make the payment to my bank for my existing loan on the vehicle I traded in, and I called them to ask about it a couple of days before the payment date, and luckily they were able to get the payoff completed in time. If I hadn’t called there would have been late charges.

    2) The "150 point inspection" is a joke. We noticed spongy braking a day after driving the vehicle, and it turned out all 4 brake rotors were completely rusted and the pads and rotors had to be replaced. The mechanic said it was the worst they’ve seen, but the car was originally from New Jersey where rust buildup is a lot more prevalent, and this was in Arizona.

    3) When I took the vehicle in for a scheduled inspection to the dealer 15 days after purchase, they found the power steering was leaking, the battery was almost dead, and the alignment was off. Also, the front tires were 7/32 and the rear were 8/32 in tread depth (basically I’m going to have to spend $700 in the next 6 months to replace them).

    Carvana’s 100 day/4,189 mile warranty covered the repairs (totaling $2,500 so far), but if I relied on Carvana’s inspection, I would have been screwed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 12, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We sincerely apologize for dropping the ball multiple times with your overall experience. It is unacceptable for a Carvana vehicle to have that many issues that could potentially put you and others at risk. We understand that the majority of our customers are purchasing a vehicle because it is a necessity in their lives and we truly apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. We are happy to hear that our complimentary 100 day/4,189 mile warranty covered the repairs. However, we understand that doesn’t make up for your overall customer experience, and for that we are sorry. More importantly, thank you for your honest feedback. We are a company that is continuing to grow and we take our customers' feedback very seriously with the full intent of passing it along to the appropriate parties to better our process in the future.


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Carvana vehicle delivery and customer support

    • Yorba Linda, CA,
    • Jul 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am listing the sequence of events that have occurred on my purchase order.

    6/14/19 Carvana order has been received.

    6/14/19 Congratulations John, your documents have been reviewed and approved. Delivery date and time Wednesday, June 19th, 2019, 12:00 PM local time.

    6/16/19 Email stating Delivery Delay and Carvana is working diligently to get the vehicle delivery back on track.

    6/16/19 Email stating new delivery date of Sunday 6/23/19, 9:00 AM.

    6/17/19 I respond to email requesting the Carvana team to try to keep to the original schedule date because I have scheduled to have a tow bar to be installed on the vehicle to tow behind my motor home for an upcoming trip. To date, there has been no response to this email.

    6/17/19 Contacted customer service to find out what was going on with the delivery. The customer service advocate put me in contact with the delivery advocate (Sandy?) who stated the vehicle was mislabeled as a 3 instead of a 1 and that was the cause for the delay and they would follow up with me with a phone call and an email.

    6/18/19 Never received email or phone call from (Sandy?) delivery team.

    6/18/19 Late afternoon I contacted customer service again to explain the issue. Customer Advocate Marshall who followed up for me on any possible solution on the delivery and getting a credit for the delivery delay.

    6/19/19 Received email back from Marshall that he was still working on following up on getting a credit for the delay in delivery.

    6/20/19 Received email back from Marshall that a $25 a day for delays would be credited.

    6/22/19 Received and email and a text from Carvana that the delivery was again being rescheduled to Thursday, 6/27/19.

    6/23/19 Called customer service and spoke to Alex and explained I needed to have the tow bar installed on this vehicle before our upcoming trip on Friday 6/28/19. He stated nothing could be changed with the new delivery date. I requested to have a manager call me.

    6/23/19 Recontacted customer service and spoke to Megan who did get me in contact with a manager (Jacob). Jacob is currently working with me to see if I can pick up the vehicle on Wednesday, 6/26/19 or early Thursday morning and bypass the new scheduled delivery date of Thursday, 6/27/19 at 4:00 PM in order to meet my deadline for leaving on our trip this Friday, 6/28/19.

    This is my first purchase with Carvana and I understand mistakes do happen. I was somewhat okay with the first delivery delay, but after the second delivery reschedule I was expecting much more of a sense of urgency to meet my deadline to receive this vehicle. I know there are ways to meet schedules and make sure you are meeting the customer's expectations. My gut tells me this may be a common problem at Carvana otherwise the advocates would have taken all the extra steps necessary to correct the issue and meet my expectation.

    I do want to compliment Marshall as he does to seem to understand how a customer feels when a delivery is missed on such an important and exciting event as a car purchase.

    Thus far it has not been a Nirvana/Carvana type of experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 4, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      John, thank you for providing such a detailed review of your experience with purchasing a vehicle from Carvana so far. We'd like to sincerely apologize for the delays you experienced with the delivery of your vehicle. We understand how frustrating this would be considering purchasing a vehicle is not a small task. We are glad to see that you were able to get assistance form our Customer Advocates and that the vehicle has since been delivered. We hope that although it was a little rocky initially, you are still enjoying your Carvana vehicle.


Showing 1-11 of 336

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review