About Carvana

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle On Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals are present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision, and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying about Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings, and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

More on Buying a Car:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

94 Consumer Reviews for Carvana

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 4 3 star: 8 2 star: 13 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 37% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 94
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Mandeville, LA,
    • Jan 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I agreed to purchase a 2015 Subaru from Carvana in November 2016. After waiting several weeks for the car to undergo its 150-point inspection, it was finally ready, and I agreed to pick it up 100 miles from their distribution point in Alabama. I had to drive over 200 miles to meet the carrier.

    When the car carrier first pulled into the parking lot of the Piggly Wiggly, I immediately went to view some scratches that had been identified in the 360-degree pictures of the car that Carvana had posted. Those scratches were not bad, but there were scratches next to it that had not been identified in the pictures. My attention was then drawn to the bright brass glow of an exposed tire valve stem. This would normally not be a big deal, but how could a car pass a 150-point inspection and no one notice that the stem cap was missing? Also, how could someone tie that tire down to the carrier without noticing? These observations would become more pronounced as time went on.

    From the missing stem cap, my attention was drawn to two holes in the wheel well. These were holes meant to fasten the wheel well liner and the rear bumper to the car. Both fasteners were missing, and I could easily shake both the bumper and liner. The representative said that Carvana would mail to me the fasteners.

    I then walked to the rear of the car, where I didn't notice anything and on to the other side. When I reached the other rear wheel. The same fasteners were missing. I am now becoming suspicious. This bumper had been removed and they forgot to reattach it. Now I noticed overspray on the black parts of the bumper. The masking tape marks were now very obvious. Whoever masked and painted the rear bumper should find another profession. The representative was being quiet, but taking pictures. He could see and sense my frustration.

    I asked him to take the car off of the carrier, and in my best-used car salesman impersonation, I opened the tail and looked in the spare tire well for signs of damage. I didn't see any, but did notice that the tools were not tied down (were they all there?), and I noticed that the cargo cover was missing. This is a $100 part and not mentioned as missing in the description of the vehicle.

    If I had accepted the car as is, I would never have made it home. The bumper and well liners would have ripped off on the interstate. This was as far as I went inspecting the car. Less than 5 minutes. I didn't even look inside. I refused to accept the vehicle. The rep said that he understood and that Carvana would pay me for my time and trouble (he said things like it had happened before).

    That's where my distaste for Carvana grew. Not only were they trying to sell me a car that had been in some type of collision, they were trying to hide it and then just playing dumb and not talking to me. They never contacted me to apologize. I was told by email after I contacted them that someone from the executive resolution team would contact me within 48 hours. That was two months ago. I did finally get the $100 check from them with “goodwill/poor experience” in the memo field only after complaining several times.

    I cannot say that Carvana is any worse than any other used car lot. But I would not recommend them to anyone. At least at a lot, you have someone to talk to. The customer care is awful and their “executive resolution team” probably doesn't even exist.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. Carvana tries to make the purchase of a vehicle as easy and seamless of a process as possible. We apologize that we fell short of this in your case. We are saddened to hear that your experience was anything less than exceptional. All of our vehicles go through a 150-point inspection where we make sure the vehicle is up to our standards. The condition the vehicle was delivered to you was unacceptable. We apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced as a result of this. One of our Executive Resolution Specialists was in contact with you the last time that you spoke with us. We hope that you are able to find that perfect vehicle, even if it is not from Carvana. If we can assist you with anything in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at 800-333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible experience

    Carvana is the worst brokerage company ever. They changed loan requirements, policies, and procedures in the middle of the underwriting process after initial documents were received and verified! Zack, one of the supervisors in Arizona in underwriting, tried every way possible to make my experience with this company unpleasant and draining. I spent a week going back and forth with this and got nothing accomplished! He was very discriminating with some of the questions he asked during or conversations about my income and employment, made me jump through hoops to prove things and in so many words encouraged me to seek out other car dealers because my business was not needed by Carvana.

    Not only did I waste my time, but I still don't have the car I was supposed to pick up on January 5th, nor has anyone from this company reached out to me about my complaints.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Fast, friendly service

    I was searching online for a car company who would assist me with financing on a car since I have “not so good” credit. Everything was soo easy, the customer service was outstanding (I work in a call center, and Carvana has great employees).

    I am not due to pick my car up until 1/11/18, so I can really speak on the car as of yet. But again, the customer service is outstanding!

    As far as pricing, the car prices are great, and the down payment option is also nice to assist with making your choice options easier. The interest rate is high but doable. Especially if you want low payments, low deposit with having not so good credit.

    My overall experience was very good and professional.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Crooks, scammers, and liars!

    • Marlin, TX,
    • Jan 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Oh my goodness, where in the heck do I even start with Carvana? Basically sounds like a lot of other people went and got close to the entire experience of buying a car and getting financed with Carvana.

    Yesterday, after I did the agreement of the down payment that would be taken from my account on the day I was to receive the car and signed the paperwork for the car itself as well, I was told to call Carvana for finalizing verification of the bank deposit and deposit information. The bank told the guy that yes, the funds were available for ACH payments, and yes, I got deposits that come in each month, and yes, I am who I am as the bank required, with this man from Carvana listening to everything, including my social security number and birthday, to confirm that I am the owner of the bank account and as to verified who I am!

    Hello, there is already your verification in itself, but the bank confirmed all this and the man said "great, you're all set and verified." He said the next thing was I needed to have my bank statements uploaded showing my deposits. I am thinking well, the bank already verified a lot of what you are wanting, but ok, this is understandable. Mind you, I already got verified and green check marked for that already.

    Now as I continue, keep in mind again that I was already completed and verified on the phone with my bank and with Carvana asking them the necessary questions. Now since this morning, I've been jacking around with Carvana about the verification of my bank statements in their crazy format.

    First they said my uploads were not verifiable because I didn't show three consecutive months for deposits. So I had to upload October, November, and December and they came back when I called to see if they got it, and then they tell me they have to have my name on them. Well instead of uploading all the same three again, I uploaded just one (the middle one), which was November, and made sure it showed the bank logo as well as my name on it, and then the same deposit information on it again. Well, lo and behold, Carvana didn't disappoint me with their crazy verification ways. She then tells me "now we need all three of them showing your name and bank logo as well as the entire statement." What the heck!

    Why would you need the full statement, which is two more pages or so on each month showing transactions of where I spent my money at ranging from gas stations to restaurants, to Walmart, to utilities? I mean, why does Carvana think that this is a guarantee of verification any more than the bank statements that I sent where the first page showing you what you need to be concerned with, and that is the deposit along with my name and bank name.

    Then she adds that after I do this, she will need to call my bank and verify my bank deposits and available funds! What, wait, what the heck?! I said I already did this yesterday and I am not going to call my bank again and go through all that again when I did this with you already, and it was to your satisfaction yesterday, but now you feel you want to redo other processes and can't get this one completed correctly.

    This company is full of crap folks. They are nosey as heck and want just about everything you can think of just shy of a blood sample and urine test. I refused at that point to go any further with them and to tell you the truth, I never had this many problems and way less verification with a dealership, and the finance companies are all virtual because they are not in-house financing to begin with. Carvana is crazy, and I am very angry that they treated me this way.

    I also should be relieved because the finance company they use is called GO Financial and these folks seem like criminals considering the reviews on them, and is owned and part of Carvana, and it makes sense why they want so much information and verification to your bank information because they are known for taking unauthorized money from people. Go read it for yourself.

    So in my opinion, I will not deal with them, and they lost a really good customer that has always paid his vehicles off on time and paid a lot of cars off in my lifetime, and they bombed this one for their stupidity and crap they pulled on me. I already sent in everything they wanted and more and should have gotten nothing, but ok, your day to pick up your car is ect., etc. I will make it my lifelong quest to tell everyone, and I mean everyone everywhere I go about Carvana and how to stay away from them. They costed me time and headaches and stress so I will cost them bad experience as everyone will be asking me soon "what happened, I thought you were getting your car from Carvana?"

    And I feel like an idiot for even talking so highly about them, up until now, so I will look like an idiot. And sure, there will be jokes about this and I will eat crow having to tell everyone how Carvana played games and screwed me over, but hey, they lost a good-paying customer! They will never last long in the future with people like me and how they treat us! Period!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Big disappointment

    It started off pretty well with Carvana, but in the end it was a big disappointment.

    First off, I decided upon a vehicle to purchase. It was a 2016 Toyota Camry SE. Very beautiful car. I was purchasing it for my son. When I finalized my purchase, I had to call Carvana and verify my funds for down payment as well as sign some documents. That process was quick and simple, and the representatives were very polite and helpful.

    After finalizing everything, my delivery date was confirmed: Saturday, December 29th, 2017 at 1:00 PM, which was four days away from the day I purchased the vehicle. I was very satisfied and pleased that the delivery would be quick.

    Well, here comes the bad part. On my delivery date, around 7:00 AM, I receive an email that "there's been a delay" in my delivery and so my vehicle will be delivered on a different date. Shortly after, I received a phone call from a representative explaining what happened. She told me that the driver broke down in Valdosta, Georgia (I live in St. Augustine, Florida), and they don't have an ETA on when he'll arrive. She said they would call me back.

    An hour after, I called Carvana to check on the status of my delivery. The representative didn't seem like he wanted to help much and told me that the vehicle has an expected delivery date of January 2nd, three days late, but he said it wasn't exact. I waited another hour and called back again. The representative then told me that the truck driver was back on the road and was on its way to my closest hub (Jacksonville) to be delivered and it would be delivered today or the next day. I was at ease at that moment.

    A few hours later, I receive a phone call by a woman who tells me that when they took the car to the car wash in Jacksonville, they found out that the vehicle had a leak in the windshield. Oh no Carvana, I thought you do a full inspection on your vehicles before listing them for sale, no? She told me that I could 1) Have them take the vehicle to repair it at a dealership at their cost, 2) They could deliver the vehicle to me and I could take it to repair it at their cost as well, or 3) I could switch out the vehicle.

    The representative recommended that I take the vehicle to a body shop of my choice because if they take it from a dealership to another dealership, it would be at the end of the line and it would cause a delay more than it already has. But, why doesn't Carvana have body repair or body shops for situations like this? Why do I have to be responsible for taking the vehicle to a body shop even though it's been "inspected?"

    At this point, I was frustrated. The delivery had been delayed, and on top of that, I was told I had to take the vehicle straight to repair it when I receive it. It rains a lot in Florida, and at random times, so this is an issue that had to be fixed immediately. I was very excited about the vehicle and wanted to drive it right away when receiving it, not take it straight to get it repaired. This wasn't our expectations.

    Ok, I then called Carvana back and told them I would like to switch out the vehicle because I didn't want to deal with a car that had issues to begin with. I explained to them that I found the same car online on their website for $500 more. Nope, they said I had to pay the difference. Even though I already had paid $200 to insure the vehicle since they had to have proof of insurance when delivering, they still refused. This was the point where I had enough. I told them to just cancel the entire order and that I did not want the vehicle at all. They canceled the order right away.

    I then emailed them with my feedback and a couple of hours later, I received a call from someone and they said the maximum they could offer me was $250 off the vehicle price. I told them I'd think about it, but I have decided that I will not be purchasing a vehicle from their website. I didn't want to deal with this process again when it seems to me like customer satisfaction wasn't a priority. I did not get charged for anything since the vehicle wasn't delivered.

    Carvana, you have disappointed me big time. This was a bad first impression, and I am not satisfied at all. If you actually do fully inspect your vehicles before listing them, you would find out about the crack in the windshield. But no, you found out when you did the car wash. Who knows, water could've slipped through and messed up other things in the vehicle. Get your things straight because you obviously don't perform full inspections on your vehicles and also don't even have mechanics/body repair in place for when things happen like what happened to me.

    I am so glad I did not get the car delivered and I didn't get charged. I will never purchase a vehicle from here again. To be honest, I've had many vehicles in my lifetime, all of them from car dealerships. It may be a hassle negotiating there, but I have never experienced what I've experienced with Carvana. Back to the dealership it is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 4, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We want to begin by thanking you for providing the thorough and honest review of your Carvana experience. We are glad to hear that you had a favorable experience when working with our customer advocates to set up your purchase. However, we are deeply saddened to hear about the experience you had on the day of your scheduled delivery. The delay and the windshield crack are both unacceptable and are not a part of the ideal Carvana customer experience. We apologize that we missed the mark here.

      Our executive resolution team intended to offer the compensation as a gesture of goodwill. As such, we still do have to operate within our procedural limits. We apologize that we were unable to lower the price of the new Camry to meet your expectations. We understand that compensation offered does not take away from the frustration caused by issues experienced and for that, we again apologize. If you would like to discuss your experience further or to move forward with Carvana in the future please contact us at 800-333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very dissatisfied

    First, we bought a 2014 Ford Taurus, which we liked and were very satisfied with. Then we traded it and bought a 2015 Ford Explorer, and after having it for two months, I traded it back in for a 2015 Ford Taurus, kept it for a week, and decided I wanted my Explorer back.

    Regarding the 7-day money back guarantee, I was misled and was not told that it started the day I got the car, which I didn't take possession of until 6 o'clock on December 11, 2017. So I called them on Monday and told them I was very dissatisfied and wanted my Explorer back on December 18th, 2017, and was basically told: "I'm sorry, there's nothing we can do, and you are stuck with it." And they told me I would have to sell it on my own and refused to make it right after going round and round.

    The car we received was not as what was shown in the pictures, and we will not be doing business with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 6, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for reaching out to us and providing your feedback. We want to apologize for any confusion with our 7-day money back guarantee period. The day you accept the vehicle counts as your first day, and we sincerely apologize if that was unclear. You are welcome to return or swap the vehicle and get your trade-in vehicle back during the 7-day time frame. However, by the time our customer advocate team was informed that you wanted to return your vehicle, it was the end of the day on your 8th day and we were unable to process a return or swap. We appreciate you as part of the Carvana family and we are saddened that your experience was less than perfect. We will certainly be passing this information on for process improvements in the future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us at 800-333-4554 if you have any additional questions or concerns!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Dec 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went through the whole process with them, submitted all required documents, verified funds with my bank and signed all documents, and then they turned it down because they could not verify my employment on a landline! I tried to get in touch with my underwriter to see if there was another way to make the call and no reply. There was NO reason for the way they handled my deal. I wouldn't want anyone else to go through this! Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and provide feedback on your experience with Carvana. Due to discrepancies on your account, we were unable to move forward with the purchase of the vehicle. We hope you are able to find the perfect vehicle, even if it's not from Carvana. If you have any additional questions or concerns about your account, please contact us at 800-333-4554. Thank you!

    • Jan 3, 2018

      James Quier

      Don't bother with this company! I have been trying to get a car with Carvana and they are not worth the time. They say it is better to buy with them and not through a dealership. Well, first let me say that I wasted many more hours with them versus just going to the dealership. They have been haggling me about verification. I gave them 100% proof of verification but they kept changing what I needed to upload and give them. I went through every step they had and was down to the verification. So, after they ask for your down payment and banking information, then they ask you to call and the representative will call your bank with you on the line to verify if the funds for the down payment are in there, and the source of deposits as well.

      Let me assure you that they are nosey as heck and expect to know things that are not relevant to what they need to know, to begin with. Well, I made it through that process and then, all day today I went back and forth. I have been calling them and back and forth about uploading bank statements. I uploaded three months of bank statements showing the deposits in full and then they tell me that those statements are not valid because they didn't see my name in the statements. Well dang, how in the heck are you suppose to show all this information by taking photos of statements online? I couldn't download them as they are in formats that I don't have such as Quicken. I did take good photos which they do accept photos as per their requirements, so I had it circled showing the deposit amounts and plus the other months.

      At first, they didn't show the bank logo or my name on it because they already verified my deposit and down payment in the account. Why would you need to see the same information, you already did while both you and I, and my bank were on the phone via conference call to confirm the bank verification. They already knew this. The man I spoke with yesterday told me that everything was good to go with that part of the verification. The last thing was to show the statements in which I did but then I decided to call and check to see that they uploaded successfully. Then this woman tells me that I needed to have my name showing, so they know for sure these are my bank statements verifying my deposits.

      So I finally uploaded a repeat of one of the statements with my name on it, and bank logo matching the same bank. The man that called the day before and already verified it. But now she says they need the entire statement. What entire statement? You got the part you need to see my name and my bank's name and the good part, the direct deposit information that you wanted to see. But that obviously wasn't good enough so basically, they want to see every transaction I made. If I got gas, went to Walmart, went to get something to eat, that is all that is left on the other two pages of the bank statements. I think it is silly and none of their business to see what, who and how much I spent on other things. Even though there were a few along with the statements I submitted. To demand all this is just plain silliness.

      After she has seen that I was getting mad about it (and I had the right), by this time she said I had to submit the full statements, along with the other two showing my name and bank logo, as the newly updated one I sent already, and topped it off by saying I was expected to have my bank verify the deposits and statements I sent in! What the heck, we already did this!? This is crazy! I finally said, "I think this is the shadiest place that I have ever tried to buy a car and probably saved me from a world of headaches." As I read other reviews, about their so-called finance company they own and have called financial. They have heaped upon mounds of troubles with customer's payments, and unauthorized charges on their accounts and nightmares for the people who got their cars and got to pay these people for their purchases.

      Stay away is my best say. I will make this my lifelong mission and tell everyone, every day, and everywhere I go about my horrible, blood-sucking, migraine stressed, and crazy experience with Carvana. These people say this is a new way of buying a car, they are crazy as heck. They are not going to last long. The crazy thing about all these folks is they simply this, they lost a good real potential customer. My wife and I have the money to easily pay for our car but not with Carvana they are too pushy and too demanding, to the point that they overdo it. I already submitted enough documents to prove my ability to get financed with their high-interest-rate of 14% and required down payment. They simply pushed away a real honest and good customer like me, away with the worst taste in my mouth yet, in my entire life experiences I have ever dealt with. Pitiful and shameful.

      This company should really change how they are doing things or close, and stop playing with people's time and money. The bad thing is that I really liked the car they were offering but the good thing is that I can go elsewhere, and find something that will be pleasing. I know it won't be this much BS to deal with. Stay away, stay away! You have been warned, seriously!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not great, but not terrible

    The purchase and pick up process was excellent and the return policy is great. I question their "150-point inspection."

    The car was $2,010 more than the same color, make, and model car at a local dealership. The local dealer car has fewer miles but also has front bumper damage. I decided to go with a car without bumper damage that's gone through the certified process.

    As soon as I turned the car on during pickup, there was a warning light. It was minor, just a low battery in the keyfob which they promptly remedied, to their credit.

    The day after I picked up the car, I got it inspected. Within a few seconds, the mechanic showed me how the paint on the front bumper didn't match. He also showed me how one of the tabs holding the bumper on was broken. Basically, it had the same damage as the other car I decided not to buy.

    Also, the cargo cover was missing. I called Carvana and told them it was missing, and their response was that it's not in the pictures, so it's on me. Now, how exactly am I supposed to know to look for something missing when I don't have experience with that make and model car? It's just like the person who posted the review that a "set of keys" is the key and the fob, not 2 keys. Doesn't make a lot of sense. Now I'm worried about what else I don't know enough to check for or ask about.

    Lastly, while they were up front and specifically pointed out light scratches on one door panel, they missed some much deeper gouges inside the car that are not visible in the pictures.

    I really don't know how they can miss some of this stuff with their extensive 150 point inspection they keep touting. All in all, with what I know now, I paid way too much for the car, so it's being returned. Yay for the return policy!

    All in all, it's a good alternative to a traditional dealership, but be very careful and get your car inspected within the return window.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the online purchase process but regret that the condition of the vehicle we delivered was not acceptable. Our vehicles are used vehicles, and we do sell them as we purchased them, in regards to accessories. In this case, this vehicle did not come with the cargo cover. Well, we do try to notate the most noticeable imperfections and sincerely apologize if we missed the mark, in regards to any imperfections with the bumper or the interior of the vehicle.

      We are glad that you were able to use the 7-day money back guarantee to return this vehicle, as it was not the perfect car for you. Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about the condition of the vehicle. We will utilize this information to improve our process moving forward. If you have any additional concerns or questions, please reach out to us at 800-333-4554.

    • Dec 21, 2017

      Bimal Saraiya

      While I mostly agree with what you say, I don't agree with your description of the bumper as an "imperfection." That makes it sound minor and like I am being unreasonably petty. It was flat-out broken but jammed into place to hide it. I'd be happy to send you pictures. The repair estimate was $900, which I can also provide. Really, my biggest complaint is that I'm out $400 for the inspection that found something your team really should have caught.

      I do believe the dealer when they say any competent service tech would have noticed it. The gouges on the inside would reasonably be considered an imperfection. If it was just that and the missing cargo cover, I would not have returned the vehicle. But when I put the new information into KBB, it showed that I overpaid for the vehicle by $1,500. Nonetheless, thank you for your response. I hope you do take this feedback and improve your process.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    We've bought two cars and plan on buying another with Carvana

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Dec 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything is very straightforward. If you provide correct and honest information, the financing was a breeze. Approval was fast. I personally decided to pick a 43-month payment. The rate was great and the monthly payment was straightforward and correct. Paying online monthly with Go Financial is very easy. Easy to view past payments, amount due, amount left, daily interest, etc.

    The site was very easy to navigate. We purchased a Scion xD and Scion FR-S. We traded in a Juke Nismo. The process was perfection. The first car was dropped off at my work, the second at home. Cars were just as described. We've had the cars for a while now and highly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 17 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole process was not what I was expecting. They make you feel like you are going to get the car and then they block your account advising you there is an error and to call.

    Well, I called and was told they can no longer continue with the purchase and if I had any questions I have to write to an address provided. I guess what's so frustrating is the fact that I just recently had an issue with my car and needed a new one asap. So after getting excited and the congratulations from them, they came and snatched it all away.

    I would rather deal with the dealership, at least they are straightforward with you. This experience was a nightmare and to top it off, it was for my birthday. I will never recommend anyone to them. Avoid at all cost; you have a better shot at the dealership.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 5, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for reaching out to us with your feedback regarding your experience with Carvana. We want to apologize for any inconveniences experienced in our online ordering process. We do understand that our process is not for everyone.

      Our underwriting process is part of our car buying experience and is in place for customer protection, as well as convenience. Due to discrepancies in the information provided, we were unable to move forward with financing in this case. I do apologize that we are unable to accommodate the sale of a vehicle but you are welcome to give us a call at 800-333-4554 so we can provide information regarding further communication. We will be sure to use your feedback for process improvements in the future.

    • Dec 6, 2017

      Nikeama M

      Calling that number is no help at all, I'd rather have an underwriter contact me.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    This company has some process flaws. I bought a 2016 Chevy Silverado, advertised with 5300 miles. The 7-day trial gave me the confidence to buy unseen.

    The first problem was in the financing. Carvana's website says that a high number of buyers use their financing. My credit union would not finance the truck, saying that Carvana is a brokerage, not a dealership. So I was forced (if I wanted the truck) to use their financing. Ok, not a deal breaker.

    Then the car arrived. When it was unloaded at about a 45-degree angle, the parking brake was not used, and when she put it into gear at that angle, the clanking noise was very loud. Sounded like it was going to be broke before it was even unloaded. Once unloaded, the truck looked like someone wiped it down with a dirty rag. Ok, still not a deal breaker.

    Then I found the five other scratches that were not mentioned in the 360-degree photo tour on their site. Two I thought could be buffed out. The other three were down to the metal, and one was dented. Clearly the two that were mentioned on their site were the smallest, most unnoticeable of the seven.

    Then I got in and found out that my truck with 5300 miles actually had 6700 miles. The delivery driver told me that "Carvana is good about taking care of these issues, just email them before the 7 days is up."

    Day 2 (yes, even though the truck was delivered at 7 PM, that counted as day 1). Day 2, I took it to my mechanic and he liked it for the price and could not find anything wrong, other then the tires looked like there was a lot more than 6700 miles on them. So I took it to a tire shop where the inflation was found to be 41, 44, 45 and 51, in tires that are supposed to be filled to 30 PSI.

    I emailed their repair team with photos of the scratched and dent and they said it's normal wear and tear and I still have the option of giving the truck back! Well, I do like the truck! But I would not deal with these dishonest, untrained, uncaring people again.

    By the way, before your 7-day trial is up, Carvana removes your info (order number, pictures, access to papers that you have e-signed, all gone), AND there is no way to leave a review on their site or on their Facebook page!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 1, 2017

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for taking the time reaching out to us and expressing your concerns regarding your Carvana purchase. We apologize for the condition in which your vehicle was delivered. Since our vehicles are used, there will be standard wear associated with them. We try to notate the most prominent imperfections and in this case, we do apologize if some imperfections were missed.

      Customer service is something we pride ourselves on and apologize if at any point during your purchase it came across that we do not care, as that is certainly not the case. We are glad to report that we have since come to a mutual resolution for the issues you found with the vehicle. Thank you again for providing us with valuable feedback on your experience. Please reach out to us at 800-333-4554 if you have any additional questions or concerns!

    • Dec 5, 2017

      Kenny Cochran

      Yes, we've agreed to a resolution. And to be fair, everyone I spoke with was polite but from my experience, you guys have a lot of room for improvement in this process.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 94

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review