Carvana Review: A Detailed Look at How It Works, Warranty, Financing, and More

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 20, 2019

What Is Carvana?

Carvana is a website where you can shop for used cars and get financing, as well as sell or trade-in your car.

The company’s claim to fame is their series of car vending machines and their delivery service, two features of their buying process that make purchasing a car easier than going to a dealership or shopping classified ads.

The company is based in Tempe, AZ. And was founded in 2013. Since then, the company’s public awareness has slowly grown through billboard campaigns in cities in which they will open Carvana locations, as well as commercials here and there about how easy it is to buy a car from them.

Carvana holds an A+ with the BBB and contains a 2-star rating based on 128 customer reviews as of March 20, 2019.

In this review, we will talk about Carvana’s process for buying, selling and financing, as well as how the company compares to others.

Along the way, I’ll incorporate my experience buying a car from Carvana in November 2017. The purchase was independent of any relationship between HighYa and Carvana.

Buying a Car Through Carvana

Buying a car on this site is very simple. You search the cars you’re interested in, select one to buy and then commit to buy it. Then, you’ll notify Carvana about how you’ll pay for the car and, if financed, who is giving you the auto loan.

At that point, Carvana gives you the option of them delivering the car to your home or you picking up your car at a Carvana vending machine.

You’ll fill out all the documents necessary to buy and finance the car but the transaction won’t actually go through because Carvana gives you seven days to drive the car around—an extended test drive, if you will.

If you want to keep the car, then you don’t have to tell Carvana anything. They’ll process all the paperwork and, within a few weeks, you should receive your car’s new license plate. If you decide not to buy the car, then the transaction doesn’t go through and your car loan is still available to buy another car.

The final aspect of their car sales is that you don’t pay a dealership fee for your vehicle, which is an extra charge that dealerships add to your bottom line that covers paperwork and other random work done.

When I bought our car, the process was very simple and a welcomed relief. The price was fair based on the local market and the simplicity of the pick-up at the vending machine was so much easier than having to deal with a salesperson and financing rep at a car dealership.

Also, we found a $10 Visa prepaid card in the car—a small thank you from Carvana.

Carvana’s Warranty

In the meantime, the company gives you a 100-day, 4,189-mile warranty in which repairs are covered through an insurance company called SilverRock.

In some cases, you’ll have to pay a small deductible for any qualifying repairs. According to the fine print, the warranty doesn’t cover part defects due to normal wear and tear, nor does it cover damage to the trim or interior.

When we bought our car, we noticed that a sensor detecting if one of our doors was open or closed was broken and that there was an issue with the air conditioning. To make a claim, you have to take the car to a dealership or ASE-certified mechanic.

Since our car was a 2014 Dodge Caravan, we took it to a Dodge dealership. The service department worked with the insurance company to make the repairs. We didn’t have to pay for anything.

Carvana’s Listings: Photos and Car Condition

As for the actual car listings, the Carvana website is similar to other car-buying sites in that you get to search through various listings of cars that fit your preferences.

What makes the site different is that all cars are photographed in-house and, in many cases, there are 360-degree photos of the car as well as interior photos.

In addition to these photos, Carvana provides markers on the car that pinpoint minor damage like paint chips or small dents.

Every car listed on the site goes through a 150-point inspection, Carvana notes, “so that you can be 100% confident in the quality and safety of your vehicle.”

Their website notes that their inspection checks tire tread, breaks and other important areas of your car.

Also, of importance is that every Carvana car is accident-free.

Financing a Car With Carvana

When you buy a car with Carvana, you can choose to finance through your own bank or credit union, or you can get an auto loan through Carvana.

The rate and max amount Carvana's in-house financing offers are based on the price of the car, your annual income, and your credit scores, so keep that in mind as you compare what Carvana offers to what you can get from your bank or credit union.

Carvana’s FAQ page says that you have to be at least 18 years old, make at least $10,000 a year and have not active bankruptcies to qualify. The rates and loan amount they quote you are good for 45 days.

Their loans are only good for cars on their site and you can’t use a co-signer.

At the time of publishing, we could not get a range of rates for Carvana auto loans. However, we did find out that their preliminary quote of your loan doesn’t require a hard credit check, which means it won’t hurt your credit.

If you do a preliminary quote, then you can take what they give you and compare it to loans you can get from your financial institution.

» Related: Financing Your Car: 6 Expert Tips on Landing a Great Auto Loan

Selling or Trading a Car to Carvana

As we mentioned in the beginning of this review, Carvana also buys cars and accepts trade-ins. It’s hard for us to say how much they’d offer you for your car, so we decided to use the car we bought from them as an example.

To get an offer for your car, you’ll enter your license plate or VIN number along with the state you’re in. Then, the site will ask you questions about the car’s condition, trim package, mileage, and a few other details.

After filling this out, Carvana told us our car’s trade-in value was $6,755, according to Kelley Blue Book. What’s interesting is that they added another $1,617 to that total to adjust for the local car market, bringing the total trade-in value to $8,372.

A Carvana chat representative told us that the trade-in price is the same as the sale price. If we traded our car to Carvana and applied the car’s value to a purchase through them, they’d credit $8,372. If we sold it outright without buying a car from them, they’d give us $8,372.

How Carvana Compares to Other Car Buying Websites

Based on our research of this service, we believe there are some distinct differences between Carvana and other car listing sites.

First, Carvana’s photos are far superior to what you’d find on a site like Autotrader, Kelley Blue Book, Edmunds.com or Cars.com.

Those sites use photographs from either dealerships or private sellers and, in most cases, they aren’t going to have the same level of photo quality and coverage that you’ll get on Carvana.

Second, none of the cars that Carvana sells have accidents in their vehicle history, which is something that makes them unique from other sites.

You can’t search Autotrader, for example, to find cars that have no accidents in their history. To find that out, you’d have to narrow down the cars you’re interested in and then check each individual vehicle history report (if the car has one) to find out if there’s been an accident.

The advantage you have of using other sites like Autotrader or Cars.com is that they allow you to search for cars sold by private sellers. These cars tend to be cheaper than what you’d pay at a dealership. Also, having the option to search for cars from dealerships and private sellers gives you more options.

Carvana, on the other hand, offers cars that tend to be five years old or newer, so you won’t be able to find a bargain car that’s 10 years old.

As far as sites that are similar to Carvana, Vroom is the main competitor. Like Carvana, the site allows you to buy online and sell/trade-in your existing car. Some of the advantages that Vroom offers is that they provide a complimentary year of roadside assistance and they offer extended warranties beyond the 90-day warranty that comes with the car.

Carvana has the advantage when it comes to photos because theirs are, for the most part, 360-degrees and they point out the flaws on the car’s exterior.

The Bottom Line: Who Carvana Is Good For

We’ve had the chance to research Carvana through the available information on their website as well as try the service out ourselves.

Based on these two factors, we think Carvana has some distinct advantages and disadvantages over other methods of buying a car.

If you’re someone who needs to buy a car fast and wants to get a car with a clean vehicle history and a thorough inspection from the seller, then Carvana is a great option. When we bought our car, my wife was eight months pregnant, we were both exhausted and we didn’t want to have to deal with the painstaking process of haggling at a car dealership.

We spent a few hours over the course of two weeks researching cars on the site, then about 90 minutes choosing the car and getting funding, then another 90 minutes at the Carvana location in our city. It was truly painless, even when we had to get work done on the car during the warranty period.

However, if you’re the kind of person that loves to negotiate a good deal and is confident that you can get a car at lower than the sticker price, Carvana probably isn’t the best choice because their prices are fixed...there is no haggling.

Also, if you’re on a budget and you need to get a car for less than $10,000, we think that Carvana isn’t the best option and that you can find a better deal by searching websites that provide cars from private sellers.

If you want to learn more about the various websites from which you can buy a car, check out our guide to popular used car buying sites. In it, we give you in-depth comparisons between Carvana, Kelley Blue Book, Edmunds, Autotrader, Cars.com and Craigslist.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 387 Carvana Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 78 4 star: 13 3 star: 26 2 star: 47 1 star:  223
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 387
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Go to CarMax instead

    • Greenville, SC,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great way to purchase a car, unfortunately, everything after clicking the buy button was a nightmare. I found a car that I liked and the purchase process was straightforward and easy. I was then able to schedule a time for delivery.

    My first delivery date was canceled and postponed over a week. A couple of hours before the second delivery time Carvana called and said that it would be delayed again until the next day. I had plans to go out of town the following morning. Finally, the delivery driver (the only competent Carvana employee I've dealt with) said that he would be able to deliver the car several hours later that the original time. It ended up being almost midnight before he showed up.

    The car had numerous chips in the paint that were not documented in the sale listing. In fact, the sale listing said that there were no cosmetic issues with the car. The delivery driver apologized for the issue and said they Carvana would have this fixed. The repair team contacted me and said the paint would not be fixed.

    Upon the second delivery delay, the local manager said that I would be compensated $25 per day from the original delivery date. He said that a check would be mailed after the 7-day trial period was over. I'm writing this review almost 2 months later and that check has yet to come. I contacted Carvana again and was told that they have no record of this promise.

    Stick with CarMax if you want a better experience. I've bought several cars from them and never had any issues.

    To be sure, this should be a 1-star review. Carvana as a whole deserves 1 star. The delivery driver, Will T, is the sole reason for bumping it to 2 stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience!

    • Gilbert, AZ,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, nothing about this experience has been stress or hassle-free. The first truck we picked was dirty when we picked it up (large black handprint on the side panel of the door, covered in bugs across the mirrors and front of the truck, crumbs and dirt on the seats, and a large wet stain on the passenger side), when we test drove it the truck pulled hard to the right. We explained our concerns and we were assured that we could get an estimate for repairs (assuming it was the alignment) and Carvana would send a mobile detailer out. Sounded easy so we accepted the vehicle.

    After a day of driving it and realizing the time it would take us to be able to get an estimate, wait for it to be approved and the truck has to be taken in for repairs, we decided to pick another vehicle. No big deal. So I thought. The new truck was delivered a few days later. I immediately noticed the tread on the tires was extremely low and there was a large white scratch on the upper and lower bumper of the truck. As soon as I saw it, Derek, the gentlemen who delivered the truck, said my manager Luis already approved to have that scrape repaired. Awesome! And he said it would be easy to set up a claim to get the tires replaced since they were so bad. Again, having the time to do these things is hard for us right now with it being our busy season with work and the kids starting their football season.

    I looked online to see if there was another truck so we could try this again. There was nothing available that was similar. I felt assured that these things would be taken care of so I was just going to follow the instructions I was given to get these two things remedied. Not only did Carvana deny the repair on the bumper but I was given the run-around. Derek gave me his direct line and after leaving several voicemails, and calling Carvana to check on it for me, I was told that Luis had no clue about approving the damage and I also could not speak directly to him. After 5 days I was finally able to get ahold of Derek who finally got an approval for the scratch to be repaired. In the meantime, I had gone to my tire shop twice for him to get the information Silver Rock was asking for on the claim for my tires. After I had left for the second time Silver Rock then had asked for photos. I did not have time to go back to the tire shop for the third time since I had already taken time off of work to do so the other two times. I personally called Silver Rock asking for what pictures were needed. The lady I spoke to told me she needed pictures of the chunks missing for the sidewalls, the VIN on the truck as well as the odometer reading. I sent the photos in immediately. The next day, which is today, I called Silver Rock to get an update on the claim. They are now requesting me to go back to the tire shop because now they need pictures of the tread depth. I have ZERO time to go back to the tire shop for the third time. I already had to take my truck in to get an estimate on the bumper repair and now have to figure out a time to take it back for the actual repair.

    I called several times within my 7 days and was reassured all the way around that this will be an "easy" process. I am driving with tires that have tread depths of 3/32 and 4/32 and chunks missing from the sidewalls. So unsafe for myself and my family! This has been the most miserable, stressful, time-consuming vehicle purchase ever. I trusted Carvana and I was greatly disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 21, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for reaching out to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry for the issues you have experienced with your tires, in addition to the cosmetic concerns. Carvana takes these situations very seriously and strive to provide customers with the ideal car buying experience. It is disappointing to hear your experience fell short of this ideal. We do conduct a 150 inspection on every car to ensure that it meets our high standards. The last thing we would want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standards. After reviewing your account, it does look like you have been working with our inside team to have this concerns resolved. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Run from this company!

    • Des Moines, IA,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my Volvo on July 5th, paid cash. It’s September 9th and I still can’t drive it! No title, no paperwork. I am not so sure it’s not stolen. No one will call me back! 17 calls into it! My bank has contacted me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 18, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Carvana takes great pride in providing a streamlined and easy car buying experience. We are truly sorry for the delay in your registration. The last thing we would ever want to do is inconvenience a customer in any way. We can assure you someone from our inside team will be contacting you shortly. Additionally, we have notified the proper teams to make the necessary changes to prevent this from occurring again.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I had to buy a battery after 3 months of purchasing a vehicle

    • Catonsville, MD,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Starting the process of buying a vehicle from Carvana was a new experience and awesome. Three months in I had to buy a battery and they did not cover it. I am very dissatisfied with there service of explaining the 100-day/4,000 warranty on the vehicle. Plus, I purchased an extended warranty and they still stated no. I do not recommend purchasing through this company. There should not be any reason I have to purchase a battery after I buy a vehicle from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 18, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. It is disappointing to hear of the issues you experienced with your battery. We are truly sorry for this. Carvana takes great pride in the cars that we sell. A 150 point inspection is conducted on every car that we sell to ensure it meets our standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is inconvenience a customer in any way or deliver a car that does not meet this standard. We would love the opportunity to rectify the situation. Please reach out to us at your soonest convenience.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Never again!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Sep 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been buying used cars for over 50 years. I thought I would give you a try because I trusted your 150-point inspection. I took it to a dealer for a pre-purchase inspection expecting that it would pass with flying colors. The dealer found that the front end (both fenders, bumper, and hood) had been re-painted indicating it had been damaged or in an accident. The dealer estimated that cars that have been in accidents are worth 10-30% less. They also found that it was missing 2 panels underneath the car, the front rotors and brakes were rusted from sitting for a long time, and a number of codes had not been cleared from the computer. When I called to go over this I was told I could return the car but you would not negotiate the price. This business model does not work for me because I had spent time, energy, and money for the inspection to determine if the car was really worth $4-5k above its KBB value. You were not even willing to return the money I had spent on the inspection when it is obvious you had done a poor job inspecting the car. Worst of all, no one apologized to me for your mistakes and its impact on me!

    The other thing that really bothers me is that even though I have called 3 times about returning the car and have a scheduled pick-up date, your website shows that I am keeping it and I have zero trust in you right now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 17, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the condition that your car was delivered in. Carvana conducts a 150-point inspection on every car we sell to ensure it meets our high standards. As part of this inspection, we do check to make sure the car had not been in any reported accident. We would never want a customer to stay in a car that they are not absolutely in love with. This is one of the many benefits of our 7 Day Money Back Guarantee. After reviewing your account, it does look like you have worked with our inside team to have these concerns addressed. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    False advertising, to say the least

    • Kenosha, WI,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Carvana does not live up to their claims. Please read to be aware of what you’re getting into.

    I will say that the application and buying process was very easy. However, from form to delivery is a different story.

    They promise next day or 2-day delivery and this could not be further from the truth. A few days after I placed my order online and had confirmed pickup for the car. I received a phone call from a rep as well as an email that I needed to fill out 2 more forms within the hour if I wanted to get my car on the delivery date. I dropped everything that I was doing during work that day to get this done. A few hours later they called me back and told me that I needed to fill out another form (which they hadn’t told me about on the first call), but since it was past their "deadline," my delivery had been delayed a few days. I filled out the form and rescheduled for the following weekend.

    The next week the day before my "guaranteed pickup" I received another email stating that my scheduled appointment to pick up the car had once been delayed again. And they automatically rebooked me for a day that didn’t work for my schedule. I called once again to reschedule for the following week.

    Another week rolls around and once again, the day before pickup they delay once again. From 2 days turning into 3 weeks from the final straw was enough for me, I called and canceled my order and rightfully so. The customer service was awful and not transparent. I would never recommend anyone to buy from here as it made me reschedule plans and jump through numerous hassling hoops all for nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 17, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for this feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize that you did not have the exceptional customer experience we strive for every customer. The underwriting process does need to be completed before the transport deadline to accommodate the desired delivery date chosen during the ordering process. We want to apologize for any miscommunication or confusion that occurred during this step in the process. Additionally, we want to apologize for the transport delay and know this was an inconvenience. Our hope is in the future, we can work together to show you just how great the car buying experience can be with Carvana.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not do this!

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Sep 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT, I repeat, DO NOT DO THIS. If you have a trade-in, they are unable to pay your lien holder immediately. I had a trade-in two months ago and they never paid off my car. I didn’t find out until missed payments were on my credit report. I called to get this straightened out and they had the audacity to tell me to pay both loans until they figure it out. This was the absolute WORST idea I ever thought of doing. Please do not give these people your time, money, or your car! I will do whatever it takes to make sure people don’t get sucked into this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 13, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly sorry for what has transpired with your trade. Carvana prides itself on having a streamlined and stress-free process and the last thing we want to do is inconvenience a customer in any way. It does look like you are in communication with our Customer Advocates to have this resolved. We can assure you we have provided your feedback to the appropriate departments in order to continue to improve. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very good experience

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience was darn near flawless and I recommend them to anyone I can. In fact, I am seeing a LOT more Carvana license plate holders in my city over the past year or two. In December of 2018, I purchased a 2017 Chevy Sonic and everything went very smoothly. I chose what I wanted online, delivery was on time and the delivery driver was knowledgeable and answered all my questions. I took it for a quick test drive, had a total of 7 days to get it checked out, and kept it afterwards. It is a good car and most important to me I had a week to get the car checked out. Before going to Carvana I went to 2 different local dealers, they treated me as if I would steal the vehicle when I asked if I could take it to get a pre-purchase inspection. I am a middle-aged, single woman, not a criminal. Fed up, I went online to Carvana and had a good experience.

    Registration was completed well ahead of running into any registration issues, plates were mailed to me in a very timely manner. Terms and everything were very clear and in black and white. I honestly don't understand why there are so many bad reviews here. It is possible Carvana could now be expanding far too quickly and don't have enough well-trained staff, it could be possible the complaining customers did not perform their own due diligence, or it could be a very bad combination of both.

    Again, my experience was darn near flawless and I highly recommend Carvana to those who are willing to perform due diligence, get the vehicle checked out, read the contracts, ask questions, etc.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste your time

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They sell you junk and promise the moon, total scum, not worth your hard-earned money, go to a dealership or a private seller where you can actually see the car in person before buying.

    This company needs to be sued out of business, just a bunch of trash cars that I wouldn't doubt came from the floods in Texas. Just garbage, stay far away from the cars they offer!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 13, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Carvana strives for every customer experience to be streamlined and easy. After reading your review it seems that we have fallen short of this expectation and for this we are truly sorry. Carvana diligently works to ensure that every car that we sell is up to our high standards. This is one of the many reasons as to why we conduct a 150 point inspection on every vehicle. The last thing we would ever want to do is have a customer stay in a car they are not absolutely in love with. We would love the opportunity to resolve the issues you are experiencing, but we are having a difficult time pulling you up in our system. Please reach out to us at your soonest convenience.


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Carvana lies

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One star is even too much for Carvana. Carvana sells damaged cars that aren’t reported to which means Carvana buys that kind cars, fixes and paints them, then installs aftermarket parts on in. This is my experience with Carvana. They’ll show you a Carfax, don’t believe what they tell you. When you get the car you got 7 days for a full refund go to a certified dealership to check the car. And after 7 days no way to get your refund. My car was hit from the front and rear. They put on aftermarket bumpers and transmission.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 16, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to reach out to share your experience with us. Carvana knows that your time is valuable and we take your feedback very seriously. It is incredibly disheartening to hear that your experience with us has not been as easy and streamlined as we intend it to be. We are truly sorry for this. Carvana takes great pride in the cars we provide to our customers. We conduct a 150 point inspection on every car to ensure it meets our high standards. The last thing we would ever want to do is deliver a car that does not meet this standard. Carvana understands that purchasing a car is a huge deal, and we want to ensure that every step through the process is easy and stress-free. We would never want a customer to stay in a car that they are not absolutely in love with. This is one of the great benefits of Carvana's 7 Day Money Back guarantee. We would love the opportunity to discuss your issues further. Please contact us at your soonest convenience.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Colorado,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The process of searching for a vehicle was easy. Everyone I have talked to on the phone with Carvana has been nice and professional. The timeline from when my loan check was received at Carvana and the vehicle was shipped was longer than I anticipated. People at Carvana gave me opposing information. One person said it wouldn’t be shipped for another two weeks, while another person said that wasn’t true.

    The real problems began during the delivery process. I was a direct delivery customer; therefore they had to hire a third party to deliver it. I was under the impression I would have more updates along the delivery process. I was notified when the vehicle was picked up and a two day estimated delivery date window. On the first day of the estimated delivery date, I never heard from the driver. The driver is contracted to notify you 12-24 hours prior to delivery. I contacted Carvana and they stated he probably has not called me because it is illegal for the "truck driver" to operate his cell phone while driving. Fair enough.

    On the second day of the estimated delivery date, I still had not heard from the driver by 9:00 a.m. so I called Carvana again. They stated they would reach out to the logistics team and the advocate I spoke with said she would call the driver’s dispatch herself as well. She said to expect to hear from the driver within two hours. Two hours later, I had not heard from the driver. I called Carvana again. They still had not heard from the driver, but stated they would continue to reach out to him via text, email, and call. A couple of hours later, I still had not heard from the driver or Carvana. I called Carvana again. They still had not heard from the dispatch or the driver. I gave up hope of getting the vehicle that day.

    That night at about 5:30 pm I see a flatbed truck driving up my road towing two vehicles, one is my 2014 GMC Acadia. This was a dually truck towing a flatbed trailer, not a "truck driver." He cannot get to my house because there is not a spot for him to turn around. He has to unload the two vehicles in the middle of the road then drive the Acadia to my house. I NEVER heard ANY correspondence from Carvana OR the driver about his arrival. If the driver had been in contact with me, I would have met him outside my neighborhood because I knew it was going to be difficult for him to deliver to my address.

    The driver was hardly friendly. He did not ask for my driver’s license, simply a signature and stated "he never wanted to return" (to my neighborhood). I offered to drive him back to his truck so he wouldn’t have to walk. When I got in the car it had an obvious old cigarette smoke odor. I asked the driver if he thought it smelled like smoke and he said "it is probably from me because I have been smoking cigarettes this whole time."

    I drove the car back home and started to inspect it. The outside of the driver’s seat upholstery has obvious damage that I feel should definitely have been disclosed as an imperfection. Also, where the seatbelt meets the seat it looks like a dog chewed on it. Pictures of these imperfections prior to delivery would have been nice. But above all else, the car smells like old, musky, cigarette smoke. It is cloth upholstery. I am not a smoker. I am super disappointed about this. The fact that this belonged to a smoker should have been disclosed as well. Also, there were little damaged and broken pieces of plastic that came from the car that I found sitting in the cup holders. I have no idea where those go.

    I immediately took pictures and contacted Carvana. Once again, they were polite, professional, and apologetic. I sent them the pictures and the advocate I was speaking to received the thumbs up to offer me a $100 reimbursement towards detailing to hopefully remove the odor. The repair team offered a $250 check due to the significant "wear and tear" of the driver’s seat.

    I went to an auto detailing shop today and they said it would be at least $300 to have this car detailed and hopefully remove the odor. They were super unimpressed by the way the inside was cleaned and the owner of the shop even wiped cigarette ash out with his finger.

    Overall, I like the 2014 GMC Acadia. I want it to work out, it is what I am looking for. However, the delivery process definitely needs improvement. Also, the vehicle should never have been sold with this odor OR I should have been notified that it CLEARLY belonged to a smoker. Additionally, the "wear and tear" of the seat should have been disclosed with the pictures of the imperfections on the website. I consider it more than everyday wear and tear. It is a huge inconvenience to have to schedule a 4-5 hour detailing to remove cigarette smoke smell. I have six days until I have to decide whether to keep it or not, but I know the process of returning it is going to be a huge headache too. I would not recommend the direct delivery to anyone. If you can go to the site and check it out, it is another story. Overall, I would not do this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 13, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. At Carvana, we want to ensure we are providing every customer with the ideal car-buying experience. We are truly sorry to hear that yours was far from this ideal. Carvana takes great pride in providing customers with high-quality cars. One of the ways we do this is by conducting a 150 point inspection on every car to ensure it meets our high standards. We would never want to deliver a car that does not meet these standards. It is disappointing to hear that your car was delivered in the condition it was. The last thing we want is a customer to stay in a car they are not absolutely in love with. After reviewing the account, it does look like you are currently working with the inside team to have these issues resolved. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any further questions or concerns.


Showing 1-11 of 387

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review