Carvana Review: How It Works, Warranty, Financing, Returns

By Zina Kumok
Updated on: Feb 11, 2020

What Is Carvana?

Carvana is one of those ideas that sounds truly futuristic. If the writers of Back to the Future wanted to show Marty McFly buying a car in 2020, they probably would have cooked up something like this.

But like early touch screen devices that barely worked and cheap Bluetooth speakers that never seem to connect, “futuristic” doesn’t always mean “better.” So how exactly does Carvana work, and how does it stack up against the traditional car-buying process?

How It Works

The idea behind Carvana is relatively simple: you see a car, buy it, and receive it. Customers scroll through a selection of vehicles on a phone, choose the one they want, pay for it and choose a pickup option. They can either opt for home delivery or go to one of Carvana’s giant “vending machines”.

The main difference between Carvana and the traditional car-buying process is that you don’t have to go to a dealership and spend hours talking to a salesperson. There’s no negotiating, and most of the important steps happen online.

HighYa staff member J.R. Duren recently used Carvana to buy a car. He said Carvana had reasonable prices, and it was a much easier transaction than going to a dealership.

Car Selection

Like other major car-buying sites, Carvana has a wide selection ranging from the classic Toyota Camry to the impressive Tesla Model X. One significant difference between a car dealership and Carvana is that the latter doesn’t stock new cars. There are many lightly-used vehicles with a few hundred miles or so, but you can’t find a brand new car with only a handful of test-driving miles.

Carvana has gas, hybrid and electric models. Their search system includes filters such as total price, monthly payment, year, mileage, body type, engine and drivetrain.

Additional filters include features like:

  • Rear view camera
  • Blind spot sensors
  • Park assist
  • Keyless ignition
  • Leather interior

When you search for a car, Carvana will ask for your location. Some cars won’t be available near you and will have to be delivered. There may be a delivery fee associated with this. Some cars are available at a vending machine, so you can drive to pick it up without paying a delivery fee.

Because consumers have to pick a car without looking at it in person, Carvana offers a 360-degree view of both the car’s exterior and interior, as well as photos of imperfections such as scratches and dings. Every car that the company sells is accident-free and has gone through a 150-point inspection.

Cost and Financing

Carvana has its own financing department, so you can buy a car and get an auto loan at the same time. Potential customers can pre-qualify to see their interest rate before looking for a vehicle. This only counts as a soft inquiry on a credit report and won’t damage their credit score.

To pre-qualify, Carvana will ask for your name, date of birth, address and annual income. Then you’ll have to provide an email address and password to create an account. By signing up for an account, you agree to receive texts or phone calls from Carvana reps and their financing subsidiaries. Unlike traditional car dealerships, they don’t seem to be overly aggressive in reaching out.

You’ll get an email when the qualification terms are available, which can be found in your account settings under “Financing.” Terms will include the interest rate range, minimum down payment, and maximum loan term. There’s no basic range of interest rates on the Carvana website, so your best bet is to get pre-qualified.

Pre-qualifying may be useful as a baseline to compare to other banks, credit unions, and lenders. You can use the Carvana information to negotiate interest rates with other lenders.

Carvana has no credit score requirement for borrowers, but there is a minimum annual salary of $10,000. They claim to work with all types of credit scores, except for borrowers with bankruptcies on their records.

Carvana does not allow co-signers on auto loans that it initiates. If you use a third-party lender on a Carvana car, you may have a co-signer for that.

If you’re interested in buying a car and want to use outside financing, Carvana recommends that you already be pre-approved or fully approved before choosing a vehicle. They’ll ask for the lender’s information when you select a car, so you’ll need to know how much you were approved for.

What sets Carvana apart is the fixed price on every car. There’s no haggling or going back and forth with a shady salesman. This is a huge advantage for people who hate negotiating, but it’s a drawback for those who love the thrill of getting a good deal.

Trade-Ins

Like most car dealerships, Carvana accepts trade-ins and applies that value toward the final price. Even if you’re not buying a car, you can still sell your vehicle to Carvana.

First, you’ll input some basic information about the car and get a quote. Like their car-buying process, Carvana does not allow customers to negotiate the trade-in value. If they say your car is worth $2,000, you’ll only get $2,000.

To sell a trade-in, you must live within a local delivery zone. You can find a list of Carvana's locations here.

If you live outside of a local delivery zone, you won’t be eligible to trade your car in. Carvana outsources its long-distance deliveries to a third-party which is not authorized to pick up your vehicle, so all trade-ins must be local. Your only other option is to sell it on Craigslist or at a local dealership.

If you trade in your old car and change your mind about the vehicle purchased through Carvana, you can get the old one back within the seven-day return policy window.

If you have a current loan on a trade-in vehicle, you could run into trouble if the amount you’re getting from Carvana is less than the remaining balance. This is known as being underwater on your loan. You’ll have to pay off the remainder before trading the car in. Paying off your loan may be similar to what most dealerships would require.

Warranty

Carvana offers a complimentary warranty that’s good for 100 days or 4,189 miles, whichever comes first. This warranty includes roadside assistance and covers basic and powertrain parts. A small copay is due when opening a warranty claim.

The Carvana warranty is much lower than what you can find if you’re buying directly from a dealership, especially on a certified pre-owned vehicle. This is one of the major downsides to the service. Customers can purchase an extended warranty directly from Carvana, as well as gap insurance coverage.

Pick Up and Delivery

Carvana provides free delivery for customers who live in one of Carvana’s local markets, which are located in more than 25 states. Carvana is located all across the country from California to Massachusetts.

They’re also willing to meet in the middle if you live near one of their local markets, but you have to call them directly to arrange this service. It’s not clear from the website how far you would have to travel to pick up the car.

If you can’t meet them halfway, you can also choose to have the car delivered. The delivery fee varies, but is generally between $199 and $1,000 depending on where you live and where the car is coming from.

A third option is to buy a one-way plane ticket to a city with a Carvana vending machine, pick up the car and drive it back. Carvana will reimburse up to $200 for the flight and transport you from the airport to the vending machine. The reimbursement will be sent via check after the seven-day return policy window has closed.

Another major Carvana perk is that they take care of registering the car for you, as long as your state allows it. This can save the buyer a lot of time and hassle, especially if their local DMV branch is poorly-run.

Returning Your Vehicle

Carvana’s return policy allows customers to return a car within seven days. Any down payment will be refunded, but the delivery fee is always non-refundable.

Customers may drive up to 400 miles within the seven-day period, after which they’ll be charged $1 per mile. Carvana won’t accept a vehicle if it’s been modified, damaged, or changed in any way. Any accidents will also negate the return policy.

Shoppers can return the car and exchange it for another, which will also come with a seven-day return policy. Carvana allows customers to return a car up to three times, but the third vehicle will not come with a return policy.

The Bottom Line

Carvana’s appeal is simple: you can buy a car without talking to a salesperson. Anyone who doesn’t have hours to spend at the dealership or who feels uncomfortable talking to salesmen may prefer this remote car-buying experience.

It’s wise to get your own financing offers at a bank or credit union instead of blindly accepting Carvana’s terms. You never know what kind of interest rate a different lender may offer, and the difference could save you hundreds.

If you’re the type of person who loves negotiating and doesn’t mind spending hours shopping for a better price, you’re likely to get a lower price by looking at local dealerships and making them compete for your business.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Carvana:
  • 516 Customer Reviews
  • 28% Recommend This Company
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 12% 1 star: 57%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Horrible experience

    • By Louis B.,
    • Delanco, NJ,
    • Dec 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Found a car. Jumped thru all the hoops. Was told I was approved and the car would be there the next day. Gave back my leased car. Went back to the Carvana site and was told to call. The person I reached told me I had to provide around 6 more documents, told me my online sales did not count for my self-employed income! Bottom line: Refused to sell me the car after telling me I was approved. Had to buy the leased car from a dealer. Do not try to buy a car from Carvana if you are self-employed. Horrible experience.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • False approval
    • Rejecting my income (bank accepted it for car loan)
    • Wise girl representative made fun of my business

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Post review in reference to Carvana's response

    • By Ron W.,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Your response verifies my points. I have called the 800 number dozens of times and get the same response. The post-sales team member sympathizes with my issues and says they will check into it but later only sends an email (from a no-reply address) that there is nothing they can do. Incredibly poor service after the sale.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Nov 22, 2020

    Recurring nightmare

    Buying the vehicle online is a breeze but that is where it ends. Carvana gives an expectation of 5-7 day delivery after purchase but I waited 3 weeks with no contact and no delivery. I called (waited on hold for 30 minutes) and the "advocate" said he was confused because it had not even gone through their "150-point inspection". He said that he would see what he could do to get it bumped up to the "front of the line". Magically, it was inspected 20 minutes later (that should have been my first clue). I happen to live in an area outside of Carvana's delivery zone so they charged me an extra $200 and said they would have a 3rd party deliver it. Three weeks later - still no contact and no delivery. I finally called Carvana (on hold for over 30 minutes) and they apologized but said to give it another week. Another week went by and still no contact and no delivery. Called again (on hold another 35 minutes) and they said that they still could not find a 3rd party to deliver so I reluctantly agreed to drive 100 miles to receive delivery within their "zone".

    There was a slight squeak coming from the truck when I would first put it into drive but the sound would go away after picking up speed. I should have had a 3rd party check it out during the 7 day evaluation period because the squeak became a squeal 3 days after the eval time expired. I took the truck to a dealership and found out the rear rotors were deeply pitted due to salt (I found out later that the truck came from a northern state). It cost me $800 to replace the rotors. I called Carvana again (35 minutes on hold) and they said that the rotors would be covered because I was within SliverRock's 1500 miles warranty. I called SilverRock and they denied my claim so I called Carvana again (30-minute hold). They had me submit my claim but no response. Called again (30-minute hold) and they said they needed more information from the dealership where I had the work done. I have called dozens of times since and Carvana keeps passing me around like a newborn baby.

    Bottom line:

    1. I'm out $800 for a defect that Carvana admits should be covered.

    2. I still have not been reimbursed for the extra $200 that Carvana charged me because I was outside of their delivery zone but they could not find a 3rd party to deliver.

    3. It has been 4 months and I still have not received my registration.

    4. There is no way to contact Carvana other than by phone. They say to use their "chat" line but it is with an AI that has preprogrammed responses that ultimately tells you to call their 800 number.

    Emails are sent from a "no reply" email address that states "Please be advised that this mailbox is not monitored."

    5. I have literally spent hours on the phone with Carvana trying to get these issues resolved - each time having to start from the beginning with a new "advocate". I can assure you that they are not your advocate.

    Carvana's concept is built to fail because there is no service after the sale. It could work if Carvana would assign 1 person to stay with you and if that 1 person would give out a direct contact number or email address.

    I suspect competition will eventually cause Carvana to change some policies for the better but until that changes, I would never recommend buying a vehicle from Carvana.

    • Nov 24, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and are disheartened to hear this was not your experience. Carvana strives to create a stress-free car buying experience and it sounds like we missed the mark in providing a timely service to you. Being available for our customers is incredibly important to us and we are continuing to focus our efforts on improving our wait times. We know that many customers select to purchase from Carvana because of the convenience, and we want to be sure that convenience is lasting far past the 7-Day Money Back Guarantee, however, it seems like we missed the mark with your vehicle while completing our 150-point inspection. All of our vehicles come with a 100 day/4,189 mile warranty for an additional peace of mind, but we are very sorry for the frustration we have caused you. Overall your experience does not reflect the convenience and ease that we hope to provide for every customer. After further review of your account, we see that you are currently working with a member of our Post-Sale Team to resolve the issues you are experiencing. If you have any further questions please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554, we will be more than happy to assist you.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Updated review

    Update 11/20/20

    • By Bill H.,
    • Saint Paul, MN,
    • Nov 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I contacted Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DMV), explained my situation with the multiple temp tags and no registration and plates 60 days after purchase. They are going to have an investigator with the state's Vehicle Crime Unit look into this situation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Nov 20, 2020

    Purchase process - good, then...

    It is 8 weeks since I purchased a Honda Pilot from Carvana. The purchase price was fair. And, I got at least $1200 more for my trade-in than anyone else offered. The Pilot, while not cleaned or serviced (air and cabin filters were filthy, probably original from when car was new), runs great.

    The main problem, as many have mentioned, is waiting for registration and plates! They blame state DMVs, when the actual problem is backlogs at the third-party vendors Carvana uses to process these applications. I had to call three times to get another temporary tag when the original one expired. And just today, my "dashboard" says "submitted to DMV".

    So, we'll see how much longer it takes to get plates on this ride. I should have been less greedy and bought from a traditional dealer, who would have gotten me my plates in under 3 weeks, as is common here in Minnesota.

    • Nov 23, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent Carvana purchase. It is unacceptable to hear that your vehicle did not arrive in the standards Carvana has set. Purchasing a vehicle should be an amazing experience, and we are sorry to have let you down. We are working very closely with our third-party vendors to process our customers’ registration. Every state has different policies and procedures we must adhere to. Sadly, Covid-19 has slowed down our process considerably. Please know we take your sentiments seriously, and we will be holding the proper teams accountable for this mistake. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account with the name provided. If you are in need of further assistance please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Marie D.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Four months in and still no plates! Mysteriously "submitted to DMV" has disappeared off my dashboard and now it says "processing". I was told by a Kathleen in post sales that I should have my plates in two weeks, so I called on 11/9 to my tracking number. To my surprise, I was given a tracking number. I was happy and relieved but that was short-lived. When I checked the tracking number it was not for my plates. When I called back to inform them of their error upset, the rep did not care. I told them I was going to get legal involved and the rep hung up on me. My plates are days away from expiring and Carvana does not care! They continuously blame the DMV, when they are the ones being shady.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Liars

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Oct 22, 2020

    Registration

    I purchased my car in July 2020 and still do not have my plates. I have had the experience of being pulled over by the police. I called numerous times and all I get are excuses but no resolution. I have been stressed for 3 months with no one to help me. I'm ready to get legal help.

    • Oct 22, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent experience. At Carvana, we take care of all steps of your purchase to make your car-buying process an easy, hassle-free experience from beginning to end and it looks like we missed the mark. We are diligently working with our third-party vendors to process your registration. Every state has different and specific requirements that must be met to successfully complete the process. Sadly, we are living in unprecedented times, which has slowed down our process considerably. Please accept our sincere gratitude for your patience as we navigate these challenges and work diligently in completing your registration. You can follow the progress by checking your Post-Sale Dashboard for the latest updates. If you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 or via chat at Carvana.com.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Canceled my delivery date the night before

    • By Lachona V.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My delivery date was canceled the NIGHT BEFORE and rescheduled for an additional 10 DAYS. 10 DAYS. I rearranged my work schedule and am due to start a job the following day but now I have NO car for groceries or to bring my toddler back and forth. They sent the email an hour before closing. So I got a rushed agent ready to go home basically tell me with no remorse "things happe." I’m in tears. This has been such a stressful unfair process. I was told by the agent the car had arrived on time yesterday so what was the reason it could not be delivered? The agent went ahead without my permission and change my delivery date instead of leaving it to be fixed by another agent in the morning. You mean to tell me NO ONE can deliver the car before 10 days. NO ONE. The email was sent saying someone would contact me and no one ever did yet it was sent an hour before closing. How is this fair?

    People wait on their cars for weeks and make plans to have a vehicle. I put everything I had for this deposit depending on this car to be told the night before I have to wait 10 days and I am in the local market. I missed work this weekend to receive this car. No compensation, no nothing. The reviews are very deceiving and I am not at all happy. As a single mother with a small child putting all my money together depending on this car - this was not fair. I waited for weeks to receive this car to be told to wait an additional 10 days. So between then and now I have no means of supporting myself and my child.

    Carvana truly sucks. It seems like an easy-going way to buy a car but it is not. When I do receive the car I’ll be due for another insurance payment and have not even used the car...how is this fair? I cannot afford a rental. Had I know this, I would have not gone through Carvana.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Deceiving delivery dates
    • Nonchalant agents
    • No consideration for customers' time

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 12, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for the honest feedback on your recent car buying journey. Here at Carvana, we aim to provide full transparency and hold ourselves accountable for any inconvenience that we may have brought upon you. It saddens us to hear that there was a delay in your delivery. We know how excited our customers are to purchase a new vehicle, but when that vehicle is delayed it certainly hinders that experience. This is never our intent as we know how greatly our customers rely on their vehicles to arrive on time for their means of transportation and lifestyle. After reviewing your account, we are pleased to see that you were able to call in and speak with the appropriate team to find a resolution. If you still have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us at (800) 333-4554.


  • Updated review

    Update 2

    • By Johnny K.,
    • Calhoun, GA,
    • Nov 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Last update! Finally reimbursed me the cost of registration that they failed to do, so I will call it resolved.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Delivery
    • Communication with customer

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Oct 22, 2020

    Update

    To further demonstrate this company's failures to follow through, I received the below after my review stating a member of the executive resolution team would be in touch with me in two days. This was three weeks ago. I removed names and phone numbers from the email before posting.

    Hello Johnny,

    My name is xxxxxxx and I am part of the Executive Resolution Team here at Carvana. Your case came across my desk and I am going to be your point of contact from now on. At this time I am conducting a full review of your account and I will contact you on Sunday, as I am out of the office for the next two days.

    Please let me know the best time and number to reach you.

    Best,

    Xxxxxxxxx

    Executive Resolution Specialist

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Sep 23, 2020

    Registration nightmare

    I initially thought the Carvana experience was pretty good. The problems arose with the registration process. I told the guy at the pickup location I would be transferring my DV plates to the car multiple times. After 2 weeks I received a set of plates in the mail, someone at Carvana decided I would be ok with whatever decision they made for me and I paid for these plates that I did not want. Now Carvana refuses to do anything to unscrew the mess they created with my registration. I have spoken with 5 different advocates at this point, each of them promising to get right back with me and they just disappear. I am ready to just let them come get the car and go elsewhere.

    • Sep 25, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Carvana’s goal is to create a stress-free car buying experience and it looks like we missed the mark. We register your vehicle on our behalf to avoid a trip to the DMV and it is unacceptable that communication errors prevented you from transferring your plates. A member of our team will be in contact with you within the next 72 hours to assist you towards a resolution.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Left hand front bumper damaged and colored

    • By Pragnesh K.,
    • Fishers, IN,
    • Nov 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    After looking at the 360° view online, which stated three imperfections that I am fine with, and checking the Carfax report showing all good, the odometer shown as 34,755 for Nissan Rogue SV, I went ahead and made a purchase. The car arrived today and we noticed more than three imperfections (chips) as well as a major fact hidden by Carvana, which is about the front left side bumper being damaged, which is clearly visible. The other issue is the tires on the front and back are from different brands (Dunlop in the rear and Bridgestone in the front). I also came across a summary of repairs that were kept on the car that mentioned the front left bumper being fixed and colored. The surprise is it was done at an odometer of 34,750. There are also a few dirty patches on the driver and 2nd row seats which were not shown by Carvana as imperfections. I don't understand why these details were not shown in the first place online and how they carried out the 150 point-inspections and missed those details. I have been struggling to find the email ID of the customer support team of Carvana to write. I hope those details were not purposely hidden.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The online process
    • Simplicity - no need to waste time running around dealers
    • Transparency

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 12, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Carvana aims to provide customers with an exceptional car-buying process coupled with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. We are truly sorry that your vehicle arrived with more wear than anticipated. A 150-point inspection is completed on every car to ensure that it meets our high standards and we do notate the 3-5 most prominent cosmetic blemishes that reflect the vehicle’s years on the road. It pains us to know that we let you down and did not meet your expectations. Our team of dedicated advocates is always here to answer any of your questions, so please don’t hesitate to reach out via our chat service 24/7. We hope you enjoy many years of adventures with your new ride!


  • Great car but terrible experience with registration

    • By Amanda O.,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Nov 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Carvana was an awesome experience up until registration. Our temporary license plate is set to expire tomorrow (11/2) and I contacted Carvana on a status update to see where our permanent registration materials were, well, no information was available and all they could do is tell me they would upload another temporary license plate that would take 7-10 days to arrive. Mind you, they advised not driving the vehicle with an expired license plate. How does one get to work then? I received many different answers from different “advocates” and basically telling me I had to wait. I would not recommend them based on this experience.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Fast delivery
    • Quality vehicle
    • Registration delay
    • Rude customer service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 5, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Carvana’s goal is to create a stress-free car buying experience and it looks like we missed the mark. We are working very closely with our third-party vendors to process our customers’ registration. Every state has different policies and procedures we must adhere to. Sadly, Covid-19 has slowed down our process considerably. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and patience as we work diligently in completing your registration. You can follow the progress of your registration by logging into your Post-Sale Dashboard for updates. As this can be painful to read, we are always looking for ways to improve.


  • No registration

    • By Brian W.,
    • Cambridge, NY,
    • Oct 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered a 2013 Mustang that was "delivered" at midnight in August 2020. Never received paperwork from the delivery company. Three days later after many phone calls, I get an email with temp GA registration and "plate." This temp registration expired on September 25, 2020. Today is October 22, 2020 and as you guessed, no registration or license plates. I have called Carvana many times and after holding for 2 to 3 hours each time, I am told the registration will be coming and if I get pulled over to show then some ridiculous letter that Carvana had sent me in an email. I don't think the police will accept that. So now I pay for a car that CANNOT be driven!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 27, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding the issues you are experiencing with your registration. Every state has different procedures and requirements that we must follow when registering vehicles. Carvana wants to ensure we are providing every customer with accurate information regarding our registration process while working tirelessly to prevent any possible delays with processing the registration. With that being said, it is disappointing to hear that you have not had clear communication throughout the registration process. Carvana understands that your time is valuable and waiting on an extended hold is not ideal. Overall, your experience does not reflect the convenience and ease that we hope to provide for every customer. After further review of your account, we see that you have been in communication with a member of our Post-Sale Team to further assist you. If you have any additional questions, please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554, we will be more than happy to assist you.


  • 2 months and no registration

    • By Rafi S.,
    • Michigan,
    • Oct 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    By far the worst company ever. It has been 2 months and I have not gotten my registration yet. Horrible customer service. They said the call is being recorded for quality purposes, guess what? Your employees working from home are worthless, keep telling people "we are going to call you back", and nothing. Obviously, no quality control whatsoever. Trash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 24, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      We very much appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent registration experience with us. Although we always desire the completion of the registration to be fast and smooth, sometimes things happen beyond the scope of our control that prevents this. We are working very closely with our third-party vendors to process our customers’ registration. Every state has different policies and procedures we must adhere to. Sadly, Covid-19 has slowed down our process considerably. We are very sorry you have been affected in this manner. In researching your account, we see your case is being handled by one of our registration specialists as the state completes it and sends it out to you. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 or utilize our chat feature that’s available 24/7.


  • License and registration

    • By Stacie B.,
    • Spanaway, WA,
    • Oct 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    My experience in the beginning was great. Zero problems making contact. Hold times were tolerable. About two weeks prior to my temporary plates expiring, I began calling and trying to find out the status as the dashboard was saying it is "Processing". Last week after several calls, it was changed to "Paperwork Received". After hours and hours of waiting on calls, I have had two managers tell me they would call me back this week but have not. Yesterday, someone I spoke with on Monday called me back and mentioned there was a problem with my title but that I should hear back from someone as my account was noted that I was to get a call back on the 13th. Yesterday, I made my second car payment for a car that I can not legally drive. To say I am frustrated is an understatement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 20, 2020

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to give insight into your ongoing experience. At Carvana, we pride ourselves on providing a seamless and hassle-free purchase process from start to finish. While we are glad to hear you enjoyed the initial process, it is disheartened to hear about the delay regarding your registration. We are working very closely with our third-party vendors to process our customer’s registration in a timely manner. Each state has different policies and procedures we must adhere to. Please accept our apologies that a better line of communication was not established to prevent such a delay from occurring. After reviewing your account, we see that one of our Specialists has been working on resolving the delay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and patience as we work diligently in completing your registration.


Showing 1-11 of 516

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Carvana