About Carvana

Founded in January 2013 by Ernie Garcia, Carvana can help you locate, finance, and purchase a high quality, late model car or truck, without the negotiation or high-pressure sales tactics found at dealerships. On top of this, Carvana claims to help their customers save an average of $1,681 when compared to Kelley Blue Book prices.

Carvana claims to never sell vehicles that have been in an accident (more about this in a moment), while offering delivery to your door or the location of your choice. And once you’ve received your car, you’ll have 7 days to drive it and figure out if it’s the right vehicle for you.

Overall, Carvana claims to out the consumer back in control of the buying process, without any smoke and mirrors.

But is this really what Carvana offers? If so, are they the right car buying option for you? Before we get to that, let’s learn how to browse the Carvana website for your next vehicle.

Searching for a Vehicle On Carvana

After clicking on the Find My Car button, the Carvana website will automatically detect your zip code, which will be displayed at the top of the page. There, you’ll also see the number of cars found, which can be sorted by most popular, newest inventory, highest or lowest price, and more.

Finally, you’ll be able to narrow the results by make (up to 5), year, price, mileage, payment, and more.

Once you’ve narrowed down your choices, each listing will display an image of the car, the year, make and model, its price, the Kelley Blue Book value, and your overall savings. If you click on one of these options, you’ll be taken to the vehicle’s home page, where you’ll find a 360 degree tour, interior and exterior pictures, and Edmund’s consumer ratings.

Finally, you’ll be able to estimate your monthly payment, including down payment and trade in credits. And if you want to return to your choice later, you can create a Carvana account and save the vehicle in your “garage.”

Has Your Carvana Vehicle Ever Been in an Accident?

Based on what we found on the Carvana website, there wasn’t much detail provided about how they determine whether or not a vehicle has been in an accident, so we contacted customer service to learn more.

After waiting on hold only seconds, a very friendly service rep answered our call, who let us know that Carvana sticks to a 3-part process when verifying a vehicle’s accident status:

  1. First, the person who’s selling their vehicle to Carvana will be asked to disclose whether or not it’s been in an accident.
  2. Then, Carvana will pull an Experian auto check report (as well as a Carfax report, if requested).
  3. Finally, each vehicle goes through a 150-point inspection that “includes everything from tread depth of tires to thickness of brake pads to exterior paint quality to Bluetooth compatibility.”

Clearly, anyone can tell a fib during the first part, so you might reasonably believe that their lie will be uncovered at some point during parts 2 and 3. Is this the reality, though?

Are Vehicle Accident Reports Accurate?

Every time I’ve purchased a new car and the dealer waived the Carfax report in front of me, I’ve always wondered, “How accurate are these?” As it turns out, they can be hit or miss.

Consumer Reports put this to the test back in 2012, when they ran vehicle VINs (each of which was known to have been damaged) through 5 different services, including Carfax, AutoCheck, VINCheck, and “two services providing information from the federal government's National Motor Vehicle Title Information Systems database (www.nmvtis.gov).”

While most of the vehicles with minor damage were reported correctly, Consumer Reports ultimately found “that the reports were most likely to be incorrect for vehicles that had serious damage but for various reasons were not declared a total loss.”

But even if the vehicle pulls a clean accident report, any attempt to fix damage will be caught in the third step, right?

Carvana’s Accident Threshold

Here’s where a bit of a gray area enters the picture.

During our conversation with the Carvana rep, we asked: “If vehicles show any signs of aftermarket paint, or bolts or screws showing signs of removal, does this automatically disqualify the vehicle?” According to the rep, it depends.

If either of these signals are present, the company will attempt to re-verify, usually by reaching out to the owner, if it’s been in an accident (or at least why the vehicle was repainted or otherwise worked on). If the owner insists that it wasn’t in an accident, the company will then attempt to discern whether or not the work was completed as the result of a collision, or something else altogether.

Finally, if it’s decided that the work wasn’t the result of a collision, and that the vehicle works perfectly, it will go on sale on the Carvana website.

Now that we’ve covered this, let’s cover what Carvana’s customers are saying.

What Are Customers Saying about Carvana?

On Carvana’s website, customers have given the company an average rating of 4.9 stars. In fact, Carvana prominently displays a link for their worst customer reviews, which we found unusual but refreshing. And when they failed, Carvana seemed to be fully upfront about their shortcomings, and tried to make things right.

Outside of this, despite the fact that the company had been in business almost 2 years, there weren’t many Carvana reviews elsewhere online.

11 customers provided their feedback on Cars.com, where Carvana had an average rating of 3.5 stars. There, common compliments centered around ease of use, helpful customer service, and their 7-day return policy. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced delivery delays and problems with vehicles.

On Yelp, Carvana had a 4.5-star average rating, with many of the same compliments noted above. In fact, the only negative review was from an individual who experienced repeated delays receiving registration paperwork, and who posted the same information on Cars.com.

From a company perspective, Carvana landed a spot on the Forbes 2015 list of America’s Most Promising Companies. They also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no closed complaints (as of 7/29/15).

Carvana Pricing & Refund Policy

While the price of their vehicles ranges greatly, until you actually purchase a car, the Carvana website is completely free to use.

To receive your vehicle, you have several options, depending on your location:

  • You can visit Carvana’s “car vending machine” for free, although this only applies to Atlanta-area residents.
  • If you’re within 100 miles of Carvana’s Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, delivery to your home is free.
  • If you’re between 100 and 250 miles from these locations, delivery is priced at $199.
  • Outside of this, third-party delivery is an option, the price for which will be displayed during the purchase process.

After your car’s been delivered, it will come with a 7-day “test own.” During this time, if you don’t like it for any reason, Carvana offers a no questions asked return policy, where you can swap it for another vehicle or get your cash back.

If you have questions or concerns at any point during the process, a Carvana Customer Advocate can be reached at (800) 333-4554.

Will Carvana Earn Your Business?

If you can get around the fact that you won’t be able to see your new vehicle (or test drive it) until the day it’s delivered, it seems like Carvana offers a simpler, less stressful, and less expensive way of purchasing a vehicle, compared to visiting a dealership. On top of this, they appear to have fantastic customer support who will happily answer any questions you might have.

And ultimately, if you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can always take advantage of Carvana’s 7-day return policy, which they appear to stand behind based on customer feedback.

However, it seems the way we buy cars is beginning to change, with similar companies entering the market, such as Beepi. As such, be sure to explore all your options and read as many reviews as you can (HighYa is a great place to start!) before making your decision.

More on Buying a Car:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

217 Consumer Reviews for Carvana

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 58 4 star: 8 3 star: 16 2 star: 27 1 star:  108
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 217
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Failed

    • New Mexico,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    FAILED at all levels of attempting to purchase a vehicle from them.

    To communicate - they didn't tell me all of the documents needed nor how to provide them until they were threatening to cancel the order twice.

    To get the car to the correct state - they said it was already in my state, then they said it was sent to another, then they told me it had been in another state the whole time.

    To deliver - on the third attempt to get the car to me, I finally canceled with the 8th person that called to tell me because the manager in my state was sent my case to him. He was sounding relieved that I canceled to care about how they could prevent this in the future or how to improve. It's scary to think how they could have messed up further by not paying off my trade in or having issues with the car for a return. Too many ways they could have continued to fail and not worth the chance!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Can't decide how to rate. Read why and you decide.

    • Arizona,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After much research I purchased an Infiniti QX70 from Carvana. When the vehicle arrived, I was really excited, it was beautiful. The driver took the vehicle off of the trolley and advised me to do a ride around my neighborhood, which I did. I had no concerns, the vehicle ran really well. Before I sign the paperwork, I did a walk around the vehicle and noticed the one scratch that Carvana had noted on its website. It wasn't a very extreme scratch, and I was really okay with it, but I also noticed on the right side of the vehicle hairline scratches. My first thought was this vehicle have been in an accident, but I reviewed the Carfax report and the report indicated there were no accidents on the vehicle. I asked the driver about the scratches, and she offered to pay me $100. I asked her instead to take a picture of the scratches because I wanted Carfax to know that they had not said anything online about the scratches. The driver proceeded to take a picture and told me that Carfax to get back with me in a couple of days to let me know what they wanted to do. True to her word, Carfax notified me immediately within two days and told me to take the vehicle to a body shop to get it examined to see what the cost of the repairs was.

    I took the vehicle to an Infiniti shop, who estimated that the vehicle has scratches and will cost about $3,000 to repair. While I was there, I also had them examine the vehicle to see if there were any mechanical issues going on and they told me that now the vehicle was in mint condition. Carfax received the estimate from the Infiniti dealership and approved the cost for repairs and recommended that I take my vehicle to a body shop.

    I took the vehicle to the body shop, Carvana actually gave me 30 days to get the repairs done. Upon taking the vehicle to the body shop, they immediately informed me that the vehicle has been in a car accident. When I told him about the Carfax report, they told me that the vehicles which come from a rental place, do not have to report accidents as they fix the vehicles and themselves. I checked my Carfax report and it did state that my vehicle was from a Hertz Rental. The body shop immediately contacted Carvana and told them that the repairs will cost an estimate of $4,800 to repair, that there was overspray on the car patchwork to the bodywork just to make it look good enough to sell.

    Carvana immediately approved the additional repairs to the vehicle, however, the gate of the vehicle, which just had overspray, they did not approve because they said it had no damage. According to the body shop, my vehicle now has two different color paints on it, you cannot see it from the eye as they matched very similar, but being a body shop individual, he noted the difference.

    I'm now waiting to see if Carvana will pay for the cost of my rental vehicle as my car was in the shop for 10 days and the cost of the rental was $58 per day. I have to say the Carvana was quick to offer solutions and did not give me a hard time in fixing the repairs of the vehicle, minus not fixing the gate of the vehicle.

    If you are planning to buy from Carvana, I just have two suggestions for you. Make sure you check the body of the vehicle before you purchase. If you notice any signs of damage, ask the driver to take a picture as once you have the vehicle, you're out of luck. If you notice any scratches on the vehicle that Carvana did not report on their website, make it known. The driver of the vehicle, when I reported the scratches offered me $100, a far cry from the $4,800 it cost to do the actual repair. Additionally, remember that if your vehicle comes from a rental car dealership that there is a high possibility that it could have been in an accident and they didn't report it, when they do their own repairs they do not report an accident. I will provide a follow-up to see if Carvana does pay for the cost of a rental. So, I'm happy, but also not happy with Carvana.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    False advertisement and bad customer service

    • Florida,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a vehicle from Carvana online and they had it advertised as a 4.3 out of 5.0, which means it’s a very nice vehicle. Well, it showed up less than a 2.5 and had rust, dents, and poorly fixed bug scratches in the paint. The radio was hanging out and the temp controls panel was busted along with the interior destroyed and had fog hair everywhere. The frame was rusted and cracked, and the grill on the front was held on by zip ties! I got pics to prove it all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 8, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Nick, we’re so appreciative that you took the time to provide us with your feedback. The concerns you’ve listed are truly not acceptable and we are so sorry the vehicle was delivered outside of our standards. We tried to locate your account but we were unsuccessful in doing so. We would love to the chance to review your photos to find help find a resolution. If you could please give us a call at 800-333-4554 we would love the opportunity to make this right for you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I have been screwed badly by Carvana!

    • Connecticut,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a car from Carvana and they gave me a Carfax showing me that the car was clear of accidents. Now I'm having all kinds of issue with the vehicle. Dealer confirms that the car was in a wreck and original parts have been replaced. I called Carvana to report the issues I'm having and the rude agent I spoke with told me that I'm on my own. What the heck!

    WARNING: If you're going to buy a car from Carvana, get it inspected as soon as you get it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not as easy as it should have been

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I reserved a car with a $100 refundable deposit, that part was easy. After I initiated the online buying process, the website glitched when I was doing my verification questions, so I had to call and talk to a rep to verify my identity. However, every time they tried to verify me, it glitched. This went on for four days. I spent over 3 hours on the phone with the reps.

    Finally, they were able to resolve the issue. All the reps I talked to were extremely nice and helpful. So after I finished my purchase, I set up a delivery time. I get a call less than two hours before the delivery saying that they couldn’t make the delivery time. They wanted to send an Uber to come get me hours later than the scheduled delivery time, to come pick up the car at their location. I had taken off work early and arranged to have someone at my house with me for the delivery. So when they offered the Uber at a later time, I would have no one with me, and I didn’t want to drive a long distance by myself in a car I hadn’t driven or seen in person before. Needless to say, I was very upset.

    They finally agreed to have the car delivered to my house 3 hours later than the original time. The girl who delivered my car was very nice. Luckily the car is in great shape, but there is a chip that is starting to rust that wasn’t pointed out on the website. Overall, it was a bit of a hassle, but I would buy from them again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 31, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us regarding your experience. We understand the frustration to continuously repeat your information, especially when you expected this to be a simple and stress-free process. It sounds like you also encountered some problems when it came time to delivery of your vehicle.

      We do our best to make sure that appointments are always on time, so it’s disappointing to know that there was miscommunication when it came to receiving your vehicle. It means a lot to us that despite these oversights, you are still willing to give us a second chance. Your patience with us is underserved and we are so grateful for the opportunity to make things right! If you ever have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us at 800-333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I don't recommend.

    • Indiana,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two vehicles from Carvana a year ago. A 2014 Chevrolet Camaro and a 2014 Ford Fiesta. Both cars had a clean vehicle history report. But after owning my Camaro for a couple weeks, I realized overspray all over the black grille. So I looked closer and found painter's tape stuck under the car still and more overspray inside the gas door. So it had the front end and the rear quarter panel repainted at the least. Assuming it was in a wreck. And with the tape still being stuck up under the car, it couldn't have been there for long. Carvana had to be the ones who repaired it and never reported it to vehicle history report somehow. I am very disappointed. And the interior had a lot of scratches that weren't shown in the pictures online. Also, the car only had 24,000 miles on it when I purchased it. Luckily I was able to give rid of the car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 22, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Joshua, thank you for reaching out regarding your Carvana experience. We appreciate you purchasing two vehicles from us, but want to apologize for the Chevrolet Camaro not living up to your standards, nor our standards for that matter. The vehicle should have never arrived in that condition and we want to ensure you we do not sell vehicles with any reported frame, flood, or fire damage. However, there will be times we repaint a vehicle if a scratch was buffed out of that nature. We are saddened to hear you did not keep your vehicle and would love the chance to regain your trust again if you wish to purchase a new vehicle in the future. As always, please do not hesitate to reach out with any questions or concerns. Thank you Joshua!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Pretty reliable

    • Bloomington, IN,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with Carvana is pretty good. I was hesitant before I actually ordered my car in its sit. But what turned out later is a surprise. Their correspondence is always in a timely manner, so does the delivery service. I will definitely recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Wouldn't wish this experience on my worst enemy

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yes, it was easy to purchase the car and even make my first payment. No big deal. I did my financing through Carvana, which included the plates for my car. I officially bought this car the beginning of August and now...well, here I am on October 19th at 9 pm CST, typing this review because my temporary tags expire tomorrow and I still do not have my permanent ones, which Carvana support had repeatedly told me that they would arrive by the 18th.

    Keep in mind that I have called numerous time within those two months asking about my tag and kept getting told that it was "in process." I even called three days ago wanting to know the status and was once again told "in progress." I asked this guy what day the plates were filed for and he said that it was not done until October 8th! TWO MONTHS. They held on to the paperwork for me to get my tags for two months. One customer rep tried to tell me that the driver who delivered my car to me had just sat on my paperwork and that was why they waited so long to file because the driver hadn't turned it in.

    I asked the rep what would happen if the 20th comes around and I still do not have my plates and he said they could put it in the system to extend the tag date so if my husband or myself got pulled over then the cops could see it in the system. It sounded like a load of crap to me and getting a ticket is not something I want to play around with.

    Here is the best part. Here it is October 19th and at 7:14 pm Carvana finally calls me back to tell me the way they plan to resolve this issue. They decided to schedule me a rental car for two days only covering Saturday and Sunday, but then told me that the office to get my tags shipped overnight would not be open until MONDAY. Which means I would not even receive them until Tuesday. So I guess I would just go without a car for two days because that is feasible right (insert eye roll).

    Not only that, I would have to pay the deposit for the rental car (way to add insult to injury). I tried to explain to her that tomorrow morning (Saturday, October 20th) my husband will be getting up at 4 am to drive to work an hour away from home and that this was the only car we have. She said he technically cannot drive with those temporary tags tomorrow. I responded with Enterprise doesn't open at 4 am so she then asked me if he could just go there on his lunch break or if I could just take an Uber. I live in a small country town about 30 minutes away from an Enterprise. I'm sure they would want me to pay for my Uber too...if I could even get one. I guess Carvana doesn't care that I also have children...let's load them up to go get a rental and pay even more money that I don't have for someone else's mistake. While we are at it, let me just see if my husband can take off for two days (at a job he just got, hence why we bought the car in the first place) on the two days the car rental isn't covered for while we wait for our tags.

    Key points:

    *They sat on the paperwork for my plates for my car for TWO MONTHS before filing for it.

    *They gave me the run around multiple times when I called in regards to my tags.

    *They want to make it right by scheduling me a rental car that would cost me more money and create even more stress for this already messed up situation that they created.

    *The same woman that told me that the plates were officially no good tomorrow wants my husband to drive to work and then on his lunch break go pick up the rental an hour away one way. As someone who works in insurance...getting a ticket is not a good idea, your insurance rates will go up for three years and chances are, based on my recent experience with Carvana customer service, I would probably be paying the ticket and the increase in insurance fees for sure because it is clear that they will not take care of their customers when they make a mistake.

    AND this is the best they could do.

    Do yourself a favor...just go to the dealership. Be firm about what you want and read your contract thoroughly to make sure they don't sneak anything into your contract. Check how many payments for what amount each payment is, check your interest rate and amount financed, check to make sure your payment will be with who they told you it would be, and just read the list of fees to make sure you aren't paying for extras you don't want. Simple as that, and many car dealers give you the plates right then and there. PLUS, IF something went wrong, they would be more likely to help you and try really hard to make it right!

    Carvana, you could have been great, but your customer service sucks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you April, for providing your honest and constructive feedback of your Carvana experience. We understand your frustration due to not having your registration completed on time, especially after you checked on the status multiple times. Thank you for being in constant communication with us throughout this process. We are glad to see that we were able to assist with transportation so that you did not need to drive your vehicle while your temporary plate was expired. We care greatly about your experience with us from beginning to end and are truly disheartened to hear that you had a frustrating registration experience. We apologize for the wrench this threw in your schedule as we never want this to happen to any of our customers. If you have any outstanding questions or would like to further express your concerns, we are here for you (800) 333-4554. We cannot thank you enough for your patience and for your diligence in working with Carvana.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Registering a car - too difficult apparently

    • Maine,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I bought into the process of this place. Easy, online, no pesky sales people - you are in charge and it all should go seamlessly, right? Ehhh hold up.

    So I'll be the first to say that initially, everything was great. I found the car that I wanted, signed all the docs online, and got my financing squared away with my bank. They initially stated they had to work with a 3rd party to get the car delivered as I live in Maine, which was fine. We had it all scheduled, and then we hit a small bump - the battery apparently was dead and delayed the delivery. They replaced it, and then offered to actually deliver it with a Carvana truck as opposed to the 3rd party...we'd just have to drive an hour south. I was perfectly fine with that. Car pickup was great, everything as described, no hang-ups. But wait for it...it gets juicy.

    Upon pickup, the guy had me take some docs saying that they had to be notarized and signed in order for registration to be squared away for Maine. Seemed odd to me, considering that I could easily knock this out at my town office in 5-10 minutes, but fine - you guys are the experts. I do as requested and wait for 3 weeks. Nothing.

    My temp tag is for Georgia as that is where Carvana runs its processing and has its used dealer license at as far as states. I have roughly a week left on my temp tag. Carvana sends me a text stating a new form is being FedEx'd for registration - uh what?! They apparently sat on the last form forever and then got to me stating the previous one was not valid for whatever reason. OK, so new form signed, notarized, and sent off.

    I call them up - the rep states it'll get submitted and if any road bumps hit in the next week, a new temp tag can be sent. OK great.

    Fast forward to a few days before expiration, and I have no plates. I call and they state that they CAN'T (YES, can't) issue new temp tags since I'm not a resident of Georgia, and can't issue a Maine temp tag as they don't have a used dealer license here. So, here I am with my new car, but no way to drive it legally because tags can't be extended and plates are not here.

    But not to worry, they said they can get me a rental car with Enterprise. Wait...are you serious? So now I need to take time off to go get the rental, have a hold on my bank card as a deposit, and be exposed to additional liabilities as insurance coverage is limited with rental cars (and no, they won't pay for additional insurance on the rental)? Yep, that was their solution.

    So overall, the only way I can see going through Carvana as being a good experience is if you live in Georgia. Then, if some insane thing happens in the registration process, you can at least get temp tags extended. Anywhere else, JUST GO LOCAL. If I had known this purchase would be this much of a headache for something as simple as getting plates for the vehicle, which literally takes 5-10 minutes at my local town office, I would have. But then again, you'd think a company would have a handle on its operations to do this easy task, right?

    In the meantime...my new car is sitting in the driveway, not legally drivable, and I'm waiting for Enterprise to pick me up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 30, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you, Justin, for providing your feedback regarding your Carvana purchase experience. We take pride in an easy and seamless experience that differs from the typical car buying process, but we clearly failed you in that manner. We take care of registration on our customer’s behalf, in an effort to ease our customer’s burden during the car buying process and it was by no means our intention to create an excessive amount of work for you as a result of our error. We process through Georgia via a third party registration service, and documentation issues such as the one you experienced are caught after sending paperwork off for processing which can lead to a longer than usual delay.

      We wholeheartedly intend to catch all documentation issues as quickly as possible, so we can still deliver your completed registration before the expiration of your temporary operating plate. In extreme cases where we are unable to do so, we do provide a rental to our customers to ensure there is still a means of transportation. We cannot say sorry enough for forcing you to consistently jump through hoops as we work to overcome delays with your registration. Your feedback is tremendously valuable so we may continue to improve as a company; your review was sent to the management of our post operations and registration teams. Thank you for being a continued member of the Carvana family!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Not easy or convenient, disappointed

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a Mercedes C300 on Carvana about a month or so ago. The initial application and delivery were great. The issues started when the car arrived. I noticed the paint was rough and so was the windshield. Almost like a sand parade texture. I took it to a body shop where I was informed the car had overspray all over it and looked like it had cheaply been fixed after an accident. The repairs were over $1,000, which Carvana was willing to fix.

    After driving around a few more days I noticed a rattle under the car and took it to Mercedes. They also noticed it and recommended I bring it in for repair. At this point, I was looking at a car I just bought being in the shop for two weeks and decided to just exchange it for another one. I’m concerned how no one at Carvana mentioned the paint issues nor were they initially disclosed. Thankfully I caught it within the first 7 days.

    Now moving on to the exchange vehicle. It has been 9-10 days since it left Carvana for delivery. The delivery is past the expected time frame so I have been without a car since this whole thing started. When I call or chat Carvana, no one seems to know exactly where the car is or when I will get it. I am told to just wait by the phone. Meanwhile, I’m spending a lot of money on taxis to get to and from work every day. Now I am sitting here hoping to get a call that I will have a car this week.

    Overall I am disappointed in this whole experience and at this point would not recommend this route to anyone unless they live right near a Carvana location.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Ryan, thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention as customer satisfaction is one of our top priorities. Although Carvana has several locations, there are places that are outside of our local markets. In these cases, you can still purchase a vehicle from Carvana but we do need to utilize a third party transport company in order to deliver the vehicle to you. With that in mind, the process can take a little longer, at most 15 business days. We want to apologize that this was not properly communicated with you and also for the condition of your first vehicle. The issues experienced with your first vehicle are intolerable and should not have been delivered to you in that condition. We are glad that you were able to find another vehicle you were interested in swapping into and utilized your 7-day money back guarantee. Also, we are happy that your second vehicle has since been delivered. Should any questions arise, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at 800-333-4554 and we would be happy to assist! Thank you again for your feedback as well as your patience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Where is my car

    • Fishers, IN,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Carvana has not delivered vehicles as presented online. The first vehicle that I purchased was marketed as an AWD vehicle, but after it was delivered and further research, it was only FWD. I called and explained the situation and was told it should be AWD, but they would follow up with a different Team. I was contacted back and told that the vehicle was only FWD and they apologized. They stated I could return or get $250. AWD cost more than this and I selected to return. I selected a new vehicle on a Monday, and then received an email on Thursday that the vehicle has a mechanical malfunction and need to reschedule the delivery. Since they sent an email and did not call, I called them to find out the keys had been lost. In addition, it would take another week to get the keys replaced. Disappointed in my experience, I asked the time frame in which I could get back my car that I traded in. The agent could not locate my car and stated she would follow up with me by the end of the day. However, no one ever called and followed up. I am still waiting to find my car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 15, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Phillip, the issues you experienced are objectionable and we are so sorry for these errors! The drivetrain on a vehicle is very important in many customers’ decision while selecting a vehicle and we want to apologize for your first vehicle being listed incorrectly. Additionally, the delay in your second vehicle was due to needing a key made. We know this was a large inconvenience and understand your decision to utilize the 7-day money back guarantee to return your vehicle. We are glad to see that you have since been in contact with our customer advocates in order to have your trade vehicle returned at the same time. Thank you, Phillip, for your review so that we can provide this essential feedback to our vehicle merchandising specialists as well as our return team to improve our current processes.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 217

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review