Carvana Reviews - How It Works, Warranty, Financing, Returns

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Carvana

Overall Rating

2.2

526 Customer Reviews

Summary

Carvana’s all-online used-car purchasing process allows you to choose a car online, get financing and have the car delivered directly to your home.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 526 Reviews
5 Star:20% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:11% 1 Star:57%
28% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Carvana:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Dec 4, 2020

Horrible experience

By Louis B., Delanco, NJ, Verified Reviewer

Found a car. Jumped thru all the hoops. Was told I was approved and the car would be there the next day. Gave back my leased car. Went back to the Carvana site and was told to call. The person I reached told me I had to provide around 6 more documents, told me my online sales did not count for my self-employed income! Bottom line: Refused to sell me the car after telling me I was approved. Had to buy the leased car from a dealer. Do not try to buy a car from Carvana if you are self-employed. Horrible experience.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

False approval

Rejecting my income (bank accepted it for car loan)

Wise girl representative made fun of my business

Company Response from Carvana

Dec 9, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As a new way to buy a car, we aim to take the stress and roadblocks out of the process, so we apologize for the amount of stress and frustration you endured, especially during the current state of affairs. As Carvana continues to grow and improve it is important for us to recognize where we drop the ball. We can assure you the proper teams have been notified of your experience to prevent this from occurring ever again. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any further questions or concerns at (800) 333-4554.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 26, 2020

Post review in reference to Carvana's response

By Ron W., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Your response verifies my points. I have called the 800 number dozens of times and get the same response. The post-sales team member sympathizes with my issues and says they will check into it but later only sends an email (from a no-reply address) that there is nothing they can do. Incredibly poor service after the sale.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 15, 2020

Update

By Marie D., New York, Verified Reviewer

Four months in and still no plates! Mysteriously "submitted to DMV" has disappeared off my dashboard and now it says "processing". I was told by a Kathleen in post sales that I should have my plates in two weeks, so I called on 11/9 to my tracking number. To my surprise, I was given a tracking number. I was happy and relieved but that was short-lived. When I checked the tracking number it was not for my plates. When I called back to inform them of their error upset, the rep did not care. I told them I was going to get legal involved and the rep hung up on me. My plates are days away from expiring and Carvana does not care! They continuously blame the DMV, when they are the ones being shady.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Liars

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 10, 2020

Canceled my delivery date the night before

By Lachona V., New York, Verified Reviewer

My delivery date was canceled the NIGHT BEFORE and rescheduled for an additional 10 DAYS. 10 DAYS. I rearranged my work schedule and am due to start a job the following day but now I have NO car for groceries or to bring my toddler back and forth. They sent the email an hour before closing. So I got a rushed agent ready to go home basically tell me with no remorse "things happe." I’m in tears. This has been such a stressful unfair process. I was told by the agent the car had arrived on time yesterday so what was the reason it could not be delivered? The agent went ahead without my permission and change my delivery date instead of leaving it to be fixed by another agent in the morning. You mean to tell me NO ONE can deliver the car before 10 days. NO ONE. The email was sent saying someone would contact me and no one ever did yet it was sent an hour before closing. How is this fair?

People wait on their cars for weeks and make plans to have a vehicle. I put everything I had for this deposit depending on this car to be told the night before I have to wait 10 days and I am in the local market. I missed work this weekend to receive this car. No compensation, no nothing. The reviews are very deceiving and I am not at all happy. As a single mother with a small child putting all my money together depending on this car - this was not fair. I waited for weeks to receive this car to be told to wait an additional 10 days. So between then and now I have no means of supporting myself and my child.

Carvana truly sucks. It seems like an easy-going way to buy a car but it is not. When I do receive the car I’ll be due for another insurance payment and have not even used the car...how is this fair? I cannot afford a rental. Had I know this, I would have not gone through Carvana.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Deceiving delivery dates

Nonchalant agents

No consideration for customers' time

Company Response from Carvana

Nov 12, 2020

Thank you for the honest feedback on your recent car buying journey. Here at Carvana, we aim to provide full transparency and hold ourselves accountable for any inconvenience that we may have brought upon you. It saddens us to hear that there was a delay in your delivery. We know how excited our customers are to purchase a new vehicle, but when that vehicle is delayed it certainly hinders that experience. This is never our intent as we know how greatly our customers rely on their vehicles to arrive on time for their means of transportation and lifestyle. After reviewing your account, we are pleased to see that you were able to call in and speak with the appropriate team to find a resolution. If you still have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us at (800) 333-4554.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 10, 2020

Update 2

By Johnny K., Calhoun, GA, Verified Reviewer

Last update! Finally reimbursed me the cost of registration that they failed to do, so I will call it resolved.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivery

Communication with customer

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 9, 2020

Left hand front bumper damaged and colored

By Pragnesh K., Fishers, IN, Verified Reviewer

After looking at the 360° view online, which stated three imperfections that I am fine with, and checking the Carfax report showing all good, the odometer shown as 34,755 for Nissan Rogue SV, I went ahead and made a purchase. The car arrived today and we noticed more than three imperfections (chips) as well as a major fact hidden by Carvana, which is about the front left side bumper being damaged, which is clearly visible. The other issue is the tires on the front and back are from different brands (Dunlop in the rear and Bridgestone in the front). I also came across a summary of repairs that were kept on the car that mentioned the front left bumper being fixed and colored. The surprise is it was done at an odometer of 34,750. There are also a few dirty patches on the driver and 2nd row seats which were not shown by Carvana as imperfections. I don't understand why these details were not shown in the first place online and how they carried out the 150 point-inspections and missed those details. I have been struggling to find the email ID of the customer support team of Carvana to write. I hope those details were not purposely hidden.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The online process

Simplicity - no need to waste time running around dealers

Transparency

Company Response from Carvana

Nov 12, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Carvana aims to provide customers with an exceptional car-buying process coupled with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. We are truly sorry that your vehicle arrived with more wear than anticipated. A 150-point inspection is completed on every car to ensure that it meets our high standards and we do notate the 3-5 most prominent cosmetic blemishes that reflect the vehicle’s years on the road. It pains us to know that we let you down and did not meet your expectations. Our team of dedicated advocates is always here to answer any of your questions, so please don’t hesitate to reach out via our chat service 24/7. We hope you enjoy many years of adventures with your new ride!

Posted on Nov 4, 2020

Great car but terrible experience with registration

By Amanda O., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

Carvana was an awesome experience up until registration. Our temporary license plate is set to expire tomorrow (11/2) and I contacted Carvana on a status update to see where our permanent registration materials were, well, no information was available and all they could do is tell me they would upload another temporary license plate that would take 7-10 days to arrive. Mind you, they advised not driving the vehicle with an expired license plate. How does one get to work then? I received many different answers from different “advocates” and basically telling me I had to wait. I would not recommend them based on this experience.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast delivery

Quality vehicle

Registration delay

Rude customer service

Company Response from Carvana

Nov 5, 2020

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Carvana’s goal is to create a stress-free car buying experience and it looks like we missed the mark. We are working very closely with our third-party vendors to process our customers’ registration. Every state has different policies and procedures we must adhere to. Sadly, Covid-19 has slowed down our process considerably. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and patience as we work diligently in completing your registration. You can follow the progress of your registration by logging into your Post-Sale Dashboard for updates. As this can be painful to read, we are always looking for ways to improve.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 23, 2020

No registration

By Brian W., Cambridge, NY, Verified Reviewer

Ordered a 2013 Mustang that was "delivered" at midnight in August 2020. Never received paperwork from the delivery company. Three days later after many phone calls, I get an email with temp GA registration and "plate." This temp registration expired on September 25, 2020. Today is October 22, 2020 and as you guessed, no registration or license plates. I have called Carvana many times and after holding for 2 to 3 hours each time, I am told the registration will be coming and if I get pulled over to show then some ridiculous letter that Carvana had sent me in an email. I don't think the police will accept that. So now I pay for a car that CANNOT be driven!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 27, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding the issues you are experiencing with your registration. Every state has different procedures and requirements that we must follow when registering vehicles. Carvana wants to ensure we are providing every customer with accurate information regarding our registration process while working tirelessly to prevent any possible delays with processing the registration. With that being said, it is disappointing to hear that you have not had clear communication throughout the registration process. Carvana understands that your time is valuable and waiting on an extended hold is not ideal. Overall, your experience does not reflect the convenience and ease that we hope to provide for every customer. After further review of your account, we see that you have been in communication with a member of our Post-Sale Team to further assist you. If you have any additional questions, please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554, we will be more than happy to assist you.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2020

2 months and no registration

By Rafi S., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

By far the worst company ever. It has been 2 months and I have not gotten my registration yet. Horrible customer service. They said the call is being recorded for quality purposes, guess what? Your employees working from home are worthless, keep telling people "we are going to call you back", and nothing. Obviously, no quality control whatsoever. Trash.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 24, 2020

We very much appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent registration experience with us. Although we always desire the completion of the registration to be fast and smooth, sometimes things happen beyond the scope of our control that prevents this. We are working very closely with our third-party vendors to process our customers’ registration. Every state has different policies and procedures we must adhere to. Sadly, Covid-19 has slowed down our process considerably. We are very sorry you have been affected in this manner. In researching your account, we see your case is being handled by one of our registration specialists as the state completes it and sends it out to you. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 or utilize our chat feature that’s available 24/7.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2020

License and registration

By Stacie B., Spanaway, WA, Verified Reviewer

My experience in the beginning was great. Zero problems making contact. Hold times were tolerable. About two weeks prior to my temporary plates expiring, I began calling and trying to find out the status as the dashboard was saying it is "Processing". Last week after several calls, it was changed to "Paperwork Received". After hours and hours of waiting on calls, I have had two managers tell me they would call me back this week but have not. Yesterday, someone I spoke with on Monday called me back and mentioned there was a problem with my title but that I should hear back from someone as my account was noted that I was to get a call back on the 13th. Yesterday, I made my second car payment for a car that I can not legally drive. To say I am frustrated is an understatement.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 20, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to give insight into your ongoing experience. At Carvana, we pride ourselves on providing a seamless and hassle-free purchase process from start to finish. While we are glad to hear you enjoyed the initial process, it is disheartened to hear about the delay regarding your registration. We are working very closely with our third-party vendors to process our customer’s registration in a timely manner. Each state has different policies and procedures we must adhere to. Please accept our apologies that a better line of communication was not established to prevent such a delay from occurring. After reviewing your account, we see that one of our Specialists has been working on resolving the delay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and patience as we work diligently in completing your registration.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 8, 2020

Got car delivered in June - still no plates or registration

By J M., New York, Verified Reviewer

We received our 2017 VW Tiguan in June - our temp plates and registration expired on August 9, 2020. Two days before the expiration, we reached out to customer service because we were traveling out of town with the car and didn't want to take a car with expired documents. The customer service rep (the only one who was nice enough to actually try to assist us) told us that due to COVID everything was delayed, which we completely understood. She told us they were only reissuing some people new temp plates and others were basically getting a letter which you are supposed to hand to a police officer to read, if they pulled you over. We openly accepted the letter and waited.

September came around - we reached back out and customer service was NO help. They told us they did not have an ETA and basically not to drive the car. What's the point of having a new car if you can't drive it? We reached back out at the end of September - still no help. We reached back out in October and their update was that the documents were submitted but they had no ETA because it was now in the hands of DMV. Considering we bought a car from YOU - you should be able to give us all updated detailed information regardless of COVID or delays.

We are now going on 3 months with nothing. I had to post a bad review on the Carvana Facebook for someone to actually give me any information. I was told my registration was on a 6-8 week delay from the day of delivery, well, that puts us at this week. Still no plates or registration. I checked in with DMV NY and inputted the information - they said the information I gave for the car doesn't match their records. I then did a VIN search for the car and it says the title is in Ohio as of June 30th, 2020. We purchased the car WELL BEFORE this date, so why is the title processed there and for that date. I felt as if they only went out of their way for you within the 7 days window to return the car. The car also came not detailed - it had dog hair EVERYWHERE, garbage between the seats, and some sticky substance on the dashboard. The gas tank door latch was also broken and the inside of the door handle was peeling. We still kept the car but the look of it when delivered was unacceptable.

My husband purchased a car from an actual dealer at the very end of August and received his plates and registration in September. Every time we call they keep saying check your dashboard. Well, my dashboard says ZERO days for registration - so what am I checking?

I understand that the world is overwhelming right now but this is your job and when you have stressed out customers calling for a little help and update in regards to something that is REQUIRED and illegal to drive with. Some more information should be given, they should not be told we cannot give you any information.

The process may seem stress-free and wondering - getting a car delivered to your house but after that, it is not good. They need to retrain their customer service reps and have a better process for submitting information to DMV during these times.

I probably wouldn't purchase from them again. I will go to a legit dealer from here on out.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivery of car

Customer service

Car detail and left out information

Overall experience after delivery

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 13, 2020

Thank you for taking your time and voicing concerns on your recent experience with Carvana. We aim to get your registration completed and your hard plate shipped out to you before the temporary operating plates expire, so it saddens us to hear that you have ran into some recent displeasures. Due to the pending pandemic, there are of course some delays country wide in regards to registration with all of the DMV closures and the influx of deals with our vendor, but this does not excuse the experience that you are having with us. After reviewing your account, we are relieved to find that you have already been in touch with a specialist and we have the ball rolling on rectifying this issue. If you still have any questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us at (800) 333 4554.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 12-22 of 526

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.