Read 440 Carvana Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 82 4 star: 14 3 star: 28 2 star: 52 1 star:  264
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 440
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Wasted a lot of my time

    • Iowa,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was going to buy a vehicle from Carvana and after going through all of the hoops they required they decided the income I get could be verified but they didn't want to accept it because my job pays direct deposit through Cash App. Instead of saying that right when I uploaded the documents, they wasted 3 days of my time having me send pay stubs, bank statements, and verification letters then at the very end lowered my "income level" and said my down payment would be quadruple what I was quoted.

    I do NOT recommend this place. AT ALL.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 15, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Carvana wants to ensure that every customer has a stress free and smooth underwriting process. This begins by providing our customers with correct expectations and our specific underwriting requirements. We want to sincerely apologize for any misinformation and for the inconvenience this caused. Your feedback has been provided to the appropriate teams to hopefully prevent this from occurring again. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Great car

    • California,
    • Nov 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    UPDATED REVIEW:

    Despite the delay, the car arrived right on time on the second delivery date. The car was in great shape, clean, as advertised, and even had a full tank of gas. The delivery driver, Taylor, was very pleasant and informative.

    Overall, the process was painless for me. This may not be the case for everyone, but I would recommend giving it a try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Nov 1, 2019

    Delays

    I placed an order for a car on 10/25/19.

    Delivery day set for 11/1/19.

    I realized I would not be available that day, so I rescheduled the delivery day for the following day, 11/2/19.

    Received a call 10/30/19 that delivery will be delayed until 11/7/19 because of "severe weather" in Albuquerque, New Mexico. I agreed to new delivery date. Immediately after getting off the phone with the Carvana rep, I checked the weather for all of New Mexico, and it is clear skies for the whole state and surrounding states. I’m not sure what could cause a 6-day delay when there is no bad weather in the forecast for the next 10 days and hasn’t been for the last few days. I would understand if there was actually severe weather, but the weather is just fine and I’m starting to question if this is the type of company I want to do business with.

    I, thankfully, have not signed the contracts yet. They have already changed since ordering the car. I have decided to wait to make anything final with contracts because the process seems to be going the way a lot of people have complained about.

    I will wait a little longer to see how this process goes, but I am becoming less interested in buying with Carvana by the day.

    I will update this review as events play out.

    • Nov 6, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback in regard to your Carvana experience. We know how frustrating it can be when your vehicle gets delayed and understand the inconvenience of rescheduling your delivery. With that being said, there was an ice storm in New Mexico that did cause a major highway to be shut down, and we apologize that this impacted you. We do our best to make sure the vehicles arrives on time and we provide accurate information regarding the reason for the delay as soon as we are notified. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to resolving your concerns.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer experience. Never received the car I ordered!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a horrid customer experience. I read all the negative reviews on Carvana, but thought I would be fine given all the great reviews on Carvana’s website. I should have known better. I’m not going to drone on and on, but basically, here’s what happened:

    1. Ordered 2013 Porsche Boxster online via their website. Easy breezy! Got approved for financing through Capital One Auto.

    2. Set up a delivery date and got excited!

    3. At the time of delivery, I get a call from the delivery guy saying he couldn’t figure out how to get gas into the car so he can deliver it to me.

    4. Carvana took the Porsche to a local car shop here in Atlanta. The car shop couldn’t figure out what was wrong with it and said there wasn’t anything wrong with it. I had to make the phone calls to Carvana for status updates.

    5. Three days later, no updates from Carvana, still don’t have the car I ordered, no clue what’s going on. Was told by one of their customer service managers that they would personally see to it that I was "taken care of". Never heard back from anyone.

    6. Bought a nicer Porsche Boxster from a local Atlanta Porsche dealership today at a lower price, with a two year Porsche certified unlimited mile bumper to bumper warranty, that’s in better shape with more options.

    7. Took one hour to get in and out with my new Porsche using the dealer.

    8. Carvana SUCKS. I’ll never give them another chance to earn my business. STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 11, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Carvana's goal is to ensure every customer has an outstanding car buying experience. The last thing we want to do is inconvenience a customer in any way. We want to sincerely apologize for the delay on your vehicle. Carvana does its very best to anticipate any roadblocks, but we understand at times we will fall short. It is imperative in these moments that we have constant communication with our customers. We are sorry to see you go, but would love the opportunity to turn around this experience if you are ever in the market again. Once again, we are truly sorry for what transpired. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Rip off, don’t use, worst experience buying a car

    • Houston, TX,
    • Nov 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 2019 Dodge Challenger with 30k miles two months ago. A month before I bought it the crank sensor was serviced, and in the two months I have had the vehicle, the vehicle has been in the shop for a month of it. The vehicle was repaired with after-market parts which voided the original factory warranty. The repair was not disclosed and the car has been a lemon purchase. Carvana also damages the vehicle in transport to the pick-up and refused to list damages on the Carfax when I asked and the rep told me it would be to protect the resale value. Carvana will hide the history of a vehicle to make a sale. Now I am stuck with the tow fees and unreliable transportation two months into a 72-month agreement. Do not use Carvana!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 6, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We understand how disappointing it is to encounter issues with your new vehicle and we are so sorry that this has been your experience. It is never our intention to mislead our customers and we sincerely apologize that you have been made to feel this way. A specialist will be in contact with you in an effort to provide additional assistance. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns in the meantime.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bad car

    • Winchester, VA,
    • Nov 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sold me a car that is soon to blow up, it's not in good shape. Don't buy cars from here, they're not reliable. I have asked to help get it repaired but my warranty is soon to run out and they don't want to extend it long enough for the car to get a diagnosis.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 7, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. Carvana conducts a 150 point inspection on every vehicle to well to ensure it meets our high standards. We want to sincerely apologize for any issues you may be encountering. The last thing we want is to inconvenience a customer in any way. After reviewing your account, it does look like you have been working with our Post Sale team to have your concerns addressed. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Better off sitting at a dealership for hours

    • Michigan,
    • Nov 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I haven’t even received my car yet and am already starting to think about canceling my order. Car was supposed to be delivered tomorrow in which they gave me the same BS excuse they gave others about trucks breaking down, etc. Needless to say, I returned my lease today and now I’m without a vehicle until next week when my car is supposedly going to be delivered. Talk to their garbage "team" just to be told "oh well" in other words. Now I keep hearing about many people not receiving their registration and it’s pushing me towards canceling my order. I’m sure Carvana will respond to this review with that same basic copy and paste answer they give everyone else because they more than likely do not even read these reviews. But no matter what happens from here on out I would not recommend buying a car from them. Wait for a real company to take this idea of online car buying and make it a real business and take it seriously! I guess the only thing good about this was I only wasted about 15 mins of my time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 6, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We want to sincerely apologize for the delay with your delivery. Carvana wants to assure you the last thing we want to do is inconvenience a customer in any way. We understand at times unforeseen roadblocks may arise, and when these do occur we want to notify our customers in a timely manner. Carvana strives to have a seamless and stress-free car buying experience, but we understand that we have fallen short. After reviewing your account, it does look like you have been able to work with our Inside Team to have your concerns addressed. Once again, we appreciate your patience and are truly sorry for the delay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So far...so bad...

    • Belton, TX,
    • Nov 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first, everything seemed on track with them when I made my first attempt at a car purchase. Just before delivery I realized that the car listed wasn’t the one I wanted (Tesla Model 3 Long-range) but in fact, it was a Mid-range model. Now, the customer service rep was great, she helped me comb through all the listings to find the model I wanted (even had upgrades) for only $200 more (but picking a new car, pushed delivery one week). Fast forward, three days before delivery (31st of October 2019) I get a call saying they cannot make the delivery date because the car was not charged and missed the transport...it’s an electric vehicle...you mean to tell me no one checked to make sure it was charged and ready for transport? Seriously? 150-point inspection and no one looked at the battery on an electric car...Now, delivery is pushed another week, ok fine. My new issue is I travel for work and the new delivery day is one day before I leave for the weekend (4 days for work), so the 7-day money-back guarantee is now cut down to 3 before I have to decide (mind you I want to bring it to the Tesla dealer to get an inspection). So frustrating. Now I sit and wait for the delivery day once again. I will update the review after the car arrives.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 6, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Carvana is happy that the purchasing process was streamlined and easy, though we are disappointed to hear of the delays you encountered on your delivery. We do our best to provide accurate timelines, but we understand at times unforeseen roadblocks may arise. The last thing we want to do is deliver a car that does not meet our standard. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience this delay has caused. One of the great benefits of Carvana is our 7 Day Money Back Guarantee where a customer may return or swap their vehicle if it does not fit their needs. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Delays on delivery

    • Massachusetts,
    • Nov 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Carvana moved my delivery date 7 days with little notice and offered no additional compensation to cover the cost of the rental I am using (my car was totaled) and car insurance premiums. I am a single, working mom and am now out almost $500. Hopefully they will deliver the vehicle on time the second time around, but I am concerned about this also. Would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 5, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, as we know your time is valuable. Carvana works as diligently as possible to ensure vehicles are transported and delivered on time, though we understand unforeseen roadblocks may occur. The last thing we want to do is delay a customers delivery. Your feedback has been provided to the proper teams to hopefully prevent this from occurring again. After reviewing your account, it does look like you were able to work with our inside team to have your concerns addressed. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Carvana stood by their sale

    • California,
    • Nov 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am passed my 7 day return period, my registration plates are on the way.

    I lined up my financing through Capital One.

    There is a team at Carvana that helps make sure the car that you want is available through their system. It’s not as straight forward as it should but it's hard to tell if that is Carvana or Capital One’s fault.

    I also complicated things by selecting a car and proceeding to purchase before realizing it was 2WD when I wanted an AWD.

    This caused an issue down the line as that old one was used on the purchase and loan docs (I noticed and it was changed).

    There was also an issue with being able to approve loan payment because you have 24 hrs to do that and I was traveling. We got passed that.

    One real issue was that the photos of the car showed a scratch on the front bumper but in fact, someone had glued a crack that ran through the whole bumper from top to bottom. I saw it and highlighted it at delivery. I have to believe it was the previous seller and that the car sitting in a pound in central California melted and exposed a poor cover-up job. I followed up with Carvana and they told me to go to a body shop and get a quote with pictures, etc. I did that and through their warranty company (Silver-something) the repair was approved. The shop fitted a whole new front bumper and uncovered an issue with the headlamp housing which was approved for repair on the fly. The body shop said the process was the smoothest and easiest that they had experienced. It cost $3000. Sure it was an extra hassle and it must have wiped out their profit on my sale. I could have spent less time in hold but all in all, they dealt with it and stood by the sale and that I think is the important thing. I will now use them again and so it might be expensive customer acquisition but they will get their money back over time. I will post this in 2 other sites because Carvana deserves recognition.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Seamless Process - not exactly

    • pleasant prairie wil,
    • Oct 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First I will state this was to be my 3rd car purchase through Carvana. The first - fairly seamless. The second did not go quite so well - a miscommunication here/there, with the biggest issues related to the actual delivery time frame agreement. Caused me the need to rent a car, have insurance longer than needed, endless phone calls. Nonetheless, I made it through the process and the car was as promised. So when I needed to purchase another vehicle I turned to Carvana (albeit with some hesitancy). I did find a car which could be delivered by Monday (perfect timing due to upcoming travel plans), purchased, preapproved through BofA so this should have been a breeze! Right? Nope. Turns out I was not given all paperwork needed for BofA and when I called over the weekend to find out what was occurring I was informed I needed to upload a different agreement. They shared they were not aware I was preapproved or they would have handled it differently. Ugh! Really! We spoke and BofA is on all of my paperwork...They could not have called, sought clarification, etc? I ask "will we be able to keep the schedule" and I am informed that will depend on BofA and if they will be able to get this done. I remind them any delay is due to Carvana, not BofA. When I call for an update I am told BofA has not yet posted approval so we cannot reschedule until BofA responds so this is a BofA issue, not Carvana. By the end of that call, I am furious.

    Take ownership Carvana! So now I head out of town and this time I am not as willing to forgive. And apparently Carvana does not care as they said "ok well, your offer will expire and it will go back on the market." No apology. No responsibility. At some point, the "cost" of these errors and good customer service is something that Carvana needs to take into consideration.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 31, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Carvana aims to have an easy and stress-free approval process paired with high-quality pre-owned vehicles. It is disappointing to hear of the roadblocks you encountered during the underwriting process, and for this we are sorry. It is important to Carvana to ensure that customers have a smooth process with whomever they choose to finance with. Your feedback has been provided to the proper teams to prevent any hiccups from occurring again. Once again, we appreciate your patience through this experience. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any further questions or concerns.


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Unethical and unprofessional

    • Hartford, CT,
    • Oct 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nothing good to say about my experience with this company. They wasted my time and when I called I contacted them with my concerns I was told that the conversation wasn't productive. I will never think to do business with such a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 31, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Carvana wants to ensure every customer has a smooth and stress-free car buying experience. It is disheartening to hear that yours fell short of this. We would love the opportunity to address your concerns but we are having a difficult time locating your account in our system. Please contact us at your soonest convenience.


Showing 12-22 of 440

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review