Read 370 Carvana Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 76 4 star: 12 3 star: 26 2 star: 44 1 star:  212
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 370
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Almost 2 weeks

    • Illinois,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It’s been almost 2 weeks and I still haven't gotten my car or even so much as a delivery date. I was getting frustrated because my other car is beginning to act up. After reading some of these reviews though, I see now that this was a blessing in disguise. Needless to say, I’ll be canceling my order and taking my business elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking your time to reach out to us regarding your concerns. We strive to make our car buying process easy and stress-free for every customer. We are disappointed to hear that we failed in doing so in this particular situation and that it has caused you to take your business elsewhere. Whenever you are in the market for a new vehicle again we would love the opportunity to rebuild your trust in our process. Thank you for your feedback.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They screwed up the payment, I end up paying fees to fix it.

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Recent purchaser of a Fiat 500e.

    I'm having problems paying for this vehicle. I have enough money in the bank to pay in full, and followed their directions to-the-letter for the Carvana team to inspect my bank account for sufficient funds by giving them my username/password. After this verification, they couldn't correctly withdraw the funds when it came time to pay.

    I was given a 4-day deadline to provide payment. Their fix was for me to wire the money to them ($45 at my bank) or by overnighting a cashier's check ($15 for the check, $20 to overnight via USPS - plus I had to photocopy the check and provide the tracking number). I specifically asked if any of this was my fault and I was told "probably not."

    I work so I've been spending my lunch breaks going to the bank, and going to the Post Office - then talking on the phone with them since they want daily updates so this is turning into a multi-hour affair over several days.

    It's a shame because people have commented about the car, how nice it looks and of course the Carvana plates are on the front and rear bumpers so they end up asking about Carvana and the buying experience. I'm going to have to tell them the truth now - that Carvana somehow messed up the transaction, pressed a 4-day deadline on me, and I had to pay these extra fees to deliver funds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are terribly sorry for your experience and for the way this process was handled. It is never our intention to blame our customers and we sincerely apologize if any messages were received in that way. We appreciate your diligence and willingness to correct the issues with your payment. We encourage you to contact us with any additional questions or concerns that you may have.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Rip off, stay away!

    • Scarsdale, NY,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I trade in a Lexus IS 250 2015 with approx 50k miles for $18,500, which I saw it listed by Carvana one month later for $22,500 and confirmed that was my car, same VIN number, and bought a Volkswagen Tiguan Limited 2017 with approx 16k miles for $16,500. All customer service lines are the most unprofessional, inexperienced, and no knowledge of their company policies registration and paperwork at all. Every time I called them I waited for 1 hour to be connected and 1 hour on the phone to be helped and still no help. It took them to send me a title to Volkswagen 1 month to register the car and 1 week after I purchased the car to send me the check with the difference, which I had to call them a million times to send me the check and title. Complete rip-off, and if I can give them a zero stars review or minus 1 I would. I have bought and sold 10 cars previously and never had a problem until now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We are sorry to hear that your experience with Carvana was less than ideal. We take feedback seriously as we want to make the car buying process simple and easy. We apologize for the longer than normal wait times, and we are currently working on resolving this issue. We appreciate your patience as we work on making this improvement. Additionally, we apologize about the delay for the check and registration. We see that the issue with the check has been resolved and that the registration arrived before your temporary operating plate expired. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please reach out to us.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    As usual, registration issues

    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like a lot of other people, their registration team is a pack of idiots.

    I called them leading up to the end of the temp tag expiry and got all kinds of BS about how long it takes and I caused delays when the reality is they had the insurance (you can't pick up the car from them without it) and other paperwork already but obviously lost it. The day after the end of my temp tag expiry I get an email from them explaining that their third party has a question for me.

    Contacting them is impossible, they don't ever call you, only email or online chat, and it's proving to be just as bad as any other car dealer.

    Just do your own registration and don't use them, they are absolutely useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 8, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank very much for your feedback in regards to your recent purchase with us. We sincerely apologize for the delay in registration you are currently experiencing. Thank you for your continued patience while we continue to work on completing this for you.

      Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will be sure to relay this situation to our registration team as a learning opportunity. Although we are currently encountering longer than usual wait times, your concerns are still our top priority. We look forward to resolving this matter and getting you back behind the wheel as quickly as possible.


  • Worst experience ever

    • Florida,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very bad experience, had to re-scheduled 3 times and I needed a car ASAP, they had me 2 and 1/2 weeks like a pin pon ball back and forth with BS. Ended up in HGreg and in two hours I was in and out without any hassles, better APR and a smile on my face. Carvana didn't work for me! Not a happy camper with Carvana!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 6, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We strive to ensure each and every customer has a seamless experience from start to finish and apologize that you were not provided with this. The purpose of Carvana is to save customers time and money by being able to complete purchases online and we feel terrible that this was no achievable in your experience. Though we were not able to do business we are happy to hear that you were able to find a car that fits your needs. If you are ever in the market for another vehicle, we hope that you will consider Carvana!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Broken process

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Aug 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They have competitive prices, but actually getting the car and registration has been problematic. After two delivery cancellations due to "drivers calling in sick" (their words), the car finally arrived. I was mostly pleased with the quality. Only a couple of little things not pointed out in the vehicle description and pictures.

    As far as the registration goes, it’s a mess. Apparently, the delivery person forgot a form. Since these are mailed to Arizona first, it wasn’t found out for about two weeks. Then I had to drive to the store to sign the form. Almost two weeks later it was finally mailed to Texas for the plates. I went into the store to get a new temporary tag since the current one expires in 3 days. They told me to go to the registration office myself to pay to get a new one. I don’t have time for that so I will just send them the ticket if I get one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 6, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      At Carvana, we want to ensure that we are able to provide a seamless purchase process from start to finish and apologize that this was not the case. We understand that your time is valuable and appreciate your patience as we worked to resolve your concerns. We are glad to see that your registration has since been completed. Again, we are sincerely sorry and appreciate your time and patience throughout your experience.


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Carvana sold us a lemon, told us "too bad, so sad!"

    • New York,
    • Aug 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In May we purchased a used vehicle from Carvana. In the next 45 days it broke down 3 times. After several repairs, Carvana refused to fix it (even though it was the same issue) because it was slightly outside of the warranty they provided. We had broken down several times in this vehicle, most notably on the side of the highway 2 hours from home with our newborn in the vehicle in 95-degree heat. After multiple attempts pleading with Carvana to fix this lemon, they eventually told us "too bad, so sad." Unrelenting, I sent an email to Carvana's legal team and asserted that the vehicle met the statutory requirements to be considered a lemon. Their attorney, Grace, reached out and agreed to replace the vehicle to give us "a better experience." Right, I had to contact your legal team in order for you to agree to replace the vehicle. More like Carvana felt it was too costly to defend a lemon law case they were unlikely to win.

    Fast forward 2 weeks, we still do not have a new vehicle and they are playing games and putting us through hell trying to get a replacement vehicle. Everyone should be made aware that purchasing a vehicle from Carvana is incredibly risky and in the event of an issue they will have little recourse. I would not wish this experience on anyone. We are out thousands of dollars in expenses related to this vehicle, not to mention paying for insurance premiums while the vehicle sat in a shop absolutely useless. Carvana was less than helpful and every bit of this process has been painstakingly difficult because their staff does not have any training on how to handle situations like this.

    Long story short, do not purchase a car from Carvana. They knowingly sell defective vehicles and see absolutely nothing wrong with it. They put me and my families safety in jeopardy in a vehicle that was never roadworthy. Not only that but in addition to the mechanical issues, our car had been hit and repainted. No accident was disclosed or reported to Carfax, but it was clear from the mismatched paint. If you purchase from Carvana you never know what you will get. Go to a dealership, at least you can really see what you're purchasing. Their pictures are great at hiding defects (must be the lighting). I have sent over 40 emails, 50 phone calls, and spent 25+ hours on the phone dealing with them and their customer "advocates." The only thing Carvana advocates for is itself. I would strongly advise against buying from Carvana. You may get a great car or you may not. In the event you do not, prepare for a living hell. I have broken down more in 1 month in Carvana's vehicle than in all of my life.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 6, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Matthew, we are very sorry that this process has not been easy for you and has caused you so much trouble. At Carvana, we strive to provide you with a car that is safe, reliable, yet it sounds like we have not lived up to that in this circumstance. It looks like our team has assisted you with providing the most up to date information on your account as well as the next steps. Thank you for sharing your story with us and allowing us the opportunity to improve.


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Failed to follow through with promises

    • North Carolina,
    • Aug 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife bought a car a few weeks ago. When the car was delivered before it was even unloaded off the truck, I noticed the tires needed to be replaced. The salesperson stated he will send her a certificate for a replacement set. I explained we had just put a new set on her trade. Je made a joke and asked if I knew a tire shop that will swap them. I said yes let's go. He laughed it off. Well, he did send a certificate (the extended warranty she purchased). Well, she set up an appointment...

    Guess what tires are not covered?

    She was promised new tires, she should get new tires.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 9, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. During Carvana’s 150-point inspection we ensure our vehicles are up to our high standards so that customers receive a quality vehicle. If you believe the tires to be below standard, please have your wife give our Specialists a call at (800) 333-4554, so that we can further address your concerns and reach a resolution.


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Please avoid

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unbelievably, embarrassingly, sickeningly bad.

    Literally, every step of this process was TORTURE and DELAY and I had to call every couple of days to ensure that things would stay on track because every time I called, SOMETHING ELSE WAS WRONG.

    I finally received my car after weeks and weeks of waiting. 40 days later, I call to check up on my registration because my 45-day tags are about to expire and I get an email from Carvana that "there was a mistake with their system" and my documents were lost. Now I need to re-sign and notarize all documentation so that THE 45 DAY REGISTRATION PROCESS CAN START AGAIN. Oh, and if I wouldn’t have called, they wouldn’t have known there was an issue...quality control problem?

    Please for the love of all that is good, avoid Carvana. It’s a nice idea, but is managed and run terribly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 1, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We are embarrassed as well by the issue that you have experienced with your registration. We understand the frustration in the additional delay. When things do not go as planned it is our top priority to make them right. One of our specialists has reached out to you to ensure that you are taken care of while giving the next steps during this time. We look forward to working with you and providing transparent information until you receive your registration. Your patience is undeserved and much appreciated.


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sold them my car

    • Watertown, CT,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    For years I have been a user and fan of CarMax. That is until I saw Carvana's commercial. I went online after seeing a commercial and within five minutes received an offer on my car, which was substantially higher than the competition. I accepted the offer and within two days they were there with a check and a flatbed to take it away. I was so pleased with how friendly everyone was to deal with, 100% will use them in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Idiots

    • Bushkill, PA,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a bunch of incompetent idiots! First they had 2 different stories about the down payment. Then this girl Ashley screwed up my delivery day because she didn't check something and I lost my original delivery day. (Very rude person.) At the day of the delivery, the guy had to call someone because they screwed up the down payment method. Car has more dents and scratches than disclosed and now I'm waiting for a check ($100, it's a JOKE, but ok) and still waiting for registration. (If I'm not going to get registration they will not going to get their payment, simple.) And today I got the email from them that they did not get the down payment check (guy took it before he gave me my paperwork) and when I tried to call them I was moved from one department to the other, placed on hold without asking me to wait and going nowhere with this incompetent bunch of idiots I was speaking to (I'm sure not everyone is an idiot like the few I talked to). From now on I'm talking only to managers at Carvana and I'll record every conversation we have. Do yourself a favor people and stay the heck away from this incompetence.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 1, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We would like to apologize that our purchase process has fallen short in providing a stress-free car buying experience for you. We pride ourselves on being able to get our customers into quality vehicles without the headache of a traditional dealership and the experience you had was not our intent. We appreciate you taking the opportunity to provide feedback on your Carvana purchase and vehicle condition. We were unable to locate your account, but we thank you for sticking with us and for your continued patience. Our hope is that we were able to remedy the issues you ran into and that you reach out to us if you have any additional questions.


Showing 12-22 of 370

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review