We received our 2017 VW Tiguan in June - our temp plates and registration expired on August 9, 2020. Two days before the expiration, we reached out to customer service because we were traveling out of town with the car and didn't want to take a car with expired documents. The customer service rep (the only one who was nice enough to actually try to assist us) told us that due to COVID everything was delayed, which we completely understood. She told us they were only reissuing some people new temp plates and others were basically getting a letter which you are supposed to hand to a police officer to read, if they pulled you over. We openly accepted the letter and waited.
September came around - we reached back out and customer service was NO help. They told us they did not have an ETA and basically not to drive the car. What's the point of having a new car if you can't drive it? We reached back out at the end of September - still no help. We reached back out in October and their update was that the documents were submitted but they had no ETA because it was now in the hands of DMV. Considering we bought a car from YOU - you should be able to give us all updated detailed information regardless of COVID or delays.
We are now going on 3 months with nothing. I had to post a bad review on the Carvana Facebook for someone to actually give me any information. I was told my registration was on a 6-8 week delay from the day of delivery, well, that puts us at this week. Still no plates or registration. I checked in with DMV NY and inputted the information - they said the information I gave for the car doesn't match their records. I then did a VIN search for the car and it says the title is in Ohio as of June 30th, 2020. We purchased the car WELL BEFORE this date, so why is the title processed there and for that date. I felt as if they only went out of their way for you within the 7 days window to return the car. The car also came not detailed - it had dog hair EVERYWHERE, garbage between the seats, and some sticky substance on the dashboard. The gas tank door latch was also broken and the inside of the door handle was peeling. We still kept the car but the look of it when delivered was unacceptable.
My husband purchased a car from an actual dealer at the very end of August and received his plates and registration in September. Every time we call they keep saying check your dashboard. Well, my dashboard says ZERO days for registration - so what am I checking?
I understand that the world is overwhelming right now but this is your job and when you have stressed out customers calling for a little help and update in regards to something that is REQUIRED and illegal to drive with. Some more information should be given, they should not be told we cannot give you any information.
The process may seem stress-free and wondering - getting a car delivered to your house but after that, it is not good. They need to retrain their customer service reps and have a better process for submitting information to DMV during these times.
I probably wouldn't purchase from them again. I will go to a legit dealer from here on out.
Length of Use: 3–6 months
Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Company Response from Carvana
Oct 13, 2020
Thank you for taking your time and voicing concerns on your recent experience with Carvana. We aim to get your registration completed and your hard plate shipped out to you before the temporary operating plates expire, so it saddens us to hear that you have ran into some recent displeasures. Due to the pending pandemic, there are of course some delays country wide in regards to registration with all of the DMV closures and the influx of deals with our vendor, but this does not excuse the experience that you are having with us. After reviewing your account, we are relieved to find that you have already been in touch with a specialist and we have the ball rolling on rectifying this issue. If you still have any questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us at (800) 333 4554.