Read 318 Carvana Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 71 4 star: 12 3 star: 25 2 star: 37 1 star:  173
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 318
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Lies

    • Wildwood, FL,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am pleased with the car and the politeness of all with whom I dealt. Whenever the vehicle was delivered the representative had a lot of information and one item was that I was to receive a check in the mail for a refund of some overpayment. Not only did I not get a refund, they debited my checking with no prior notification for doc stamps. This, I was told, was included in the finance charges. After speaking to numerous representatives who told me there was nothing they could do, I spoke with Charles, a manager in Tempe, Arizona who promised to refund my money, which had been earmarked for my rent, putting me in a precarious position. Although they debited my account they had many nebulous excuses as to why they could not credit the money back. "The check is in the mail." Charles said it would be mailed that very day, 04/23/2019. Now on 5/02, I still have not received it. Seems, they say, it was rejected for some reason, and resent on the 30th, a Sunday, so it still didn't go out till yesterday. And I keep telling my landlord I'll probably have the rest of the rent money tomorrow. Somebody needs to get their stories straight, then I can get mine straight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to write this review on your Carvana purchase experience. We are thrilled to hear that each Customer Advocate that you spoke with was polite! However, we are saddened to hear that what may have been a great experience was ruined by inconsistencies in our process and the information provided. We are terribly sorry to hear of the unexpected charge and apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused you. We are happy to see that Charles was able to provide a resolution and has issued your refund. We hope that the service and resolution you received helped to turn around your experience. Our Customer Advocate will be a continued resource should you have any additional questions or concerns and this feedback will be provided to our teams for improvement.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Incorrect car profile

    • Illinois,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The car that was sent did not have the features that were listed on the Carvana profile. With Carvana, you have to go through the buying process even before you get to look at the car, so it is important to have the car listed correctly.

    We went through with financing and insurance just to find out that the car without the features would not work for us. We had to send the car back. We did not even receive a call let alone an apology for wasting our time and energy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 9, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the vehicle that arrived at time of delivery. We understand you rejected the vehicle at the time of delivery because it did not have blind spot protection. However, the 360-degree view and details section on our website did not state that the vehicle had blind spot protection. We apologize for the confusion, but please know the vehicle was annotated correctly. We would love to help you find a vehicle that meets all your standards, and if you are interested in trying our process again, please give us a call at (800) 333-4554. We want nothing more than to turn your experience around.


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent experience

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • May 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From locating and selecting a car, financing, purchasing, I’m going to the claims process, I can’t say enough good things about Carvana. Do your research, and you should be able to purchase with a high degree of comfort knowing that you got a good deal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    So far best car buying experience I have had

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wasn't looking to buy a car really, just looking at cars and wondering about costs. I found the car I wanted, and put in an application. Everything was better than expected, so I continued the process, still not 100% sure I wanted it. Each day I went deeper in the process and researching other options for same type of car, and after 5 days I had decided Carvana had the best prices and options after looking at financing and fees.

    Everything was super easy, I went at my own speed and finally I decided to hit the purchase button. Step by step what was needed (and completed) was easy to follow, I set date for pickup and on said date went to the vending machine to get my car.

    They actually had the date as the day before, but didn't matter, I was able to do it right then.

    Car was brand new looking, perfectly clean and as I test drove it, it was everything I expected, down to the two imperfections. The only problem was it was listed as SR trim level and actually was an SV. When I told the agent, they said they would find out what they could do. She called while I had it out for a test drive and when I came back they had a monetary offer for the difference. There were only two things I really might have wanted with the SR and I decided they weren't worth the going back and finding another car and such, so I took the money offer and am fine with the SV.

    After I finished signing papers etc., I took it to my mechanic who had previously told me he had checked out about 20 Carvana cars and never found a problem. He went over my car and said it had been well-maintained and he found no problems or evidence there had been any major problems previously.

    I am at my 6th day, and Carvana called to make sure I liked the car and let me know after today my 7 days were up and they would be sending in the registration and license info and I would receive that in due course.

    So far I couldn't be happier with everything about the car and the website and ordering process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    2017 Ford Focus

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So let me start by saying I was really excited to go through the process of getting my car through Carvana. It seemed to be simple process with little to no hassle. I selected the car I wanted at the time, my down payment was only $600 so that was more than affordable for me. Well, the process started in buying the car. My first issue encountered was the many times I had to upload my documentation because of minor errors that were being made. That should’ve been a red flag but I continued the process.

    Fast forward to getting the car, it drove fine, of course, no issues. I got the car on 3/2/19, I started having problems with the car 4/16/19, the car ran hot on me while I was sitting in a Sonic drive-through. It freaked me out because I hadn’t had any issues. So I turned it off, called my husband and then once it cooled off I went ahead and drove it home. I told him the next day I would go and get the car looked at. So on my way to work, everything was fine until I got into the parking lot of my job. I parked and was just sitting there and I watched the thermostat on the car just rise until it got to Hot. I was concerned at that point and decided to take the car across the way to let the mechanic take a look. Carvana insisted that the car would be covered until warranty if anything were to happen. So the man there immediately let me know that there was a leak in the water pump and it was causing the car to run hot. He suggested for me to not drive the car. And since the warranty company wanted a printed diagnostic sheet, he was unable to provide that and directed me to firestone.

    So I left work, had AAA tow my car to Firestone. Firestone looked at the car and told me it took at least 30 minutes to see what the issue was but that it was a leak in the water pump and whatever fluids were coming out where getting on the belt. So ok, they were getting ready to fix it when we found out the power train warranty was still active on the car and Ford would have to fix it. So Carvana was "nice" enough to get a tow for me to ford in Arlington, Texas. The car got there and they were given the precious diagnostic on the car from Firestone. But they needed to run their own test on the car, which was fair.

    In between all of this I’ve worked with Joseph, Jared, Jacob the ops manager and honestly, nothing had been solved. Other than Jacob getting me a rental car for almost 8 days now. That’s the only real compensation that I’ve recieved this far. So Ford has had the car for about a week now and claims that they are not able to recreate the issue prior to the mechanic's diagnosis.

    This has been the most disgusting process I’ve been through. Worst part is, Carvana will accept the car as a trade-in but only if I put $800 down. Which is not fair, I should not have to put anything down when the car LITERALLY has paper tags on it. Carvana does not feel as if they are responsible for any of this. And I am in the process of filing a dispute against them for this. Nobody seems to have real answers for me. So NO, I do not recommend you get a car through Carvana. Even with the 7-day trial. REAL car problems will not come up that quick. It takes a while before you will know about the car. Such a waste of time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 1, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate that you have taken the opportunity to reach out to Carvana and share your experience with your new vehicle. We understand that being without a vehicle is a grave inconvenience and we'd like to sincerely apologize for the issues you are experiencing. It is our hope that our customers should not experience mechanical issues with their purchase. We know that this is inevitable and while mechanical issues are usually unexpected, we know that the repair process is not always easy. For this reason, we have our repair team who is able to assist our customers through the repair process. We understand that Ford was unable to recreate the issue your vehicle and see how that would make the repair process a bit more difficult. We see that you have not recently been in contact with our repair team regarding the status of your vehicle. We have reached out to you but were unable to make contact. Please give us a call back at your earliest convenience as we would like to discuss your concerns further. We thank you for your continuous patience and time.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The car is great, everything else was horrible

    • Virginia,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a vehicle delivered on February 15th. It was falsely advertised as an automatic transmission, and when it arrived, it was manual transmission. There was also a crack in the windshield and the airbag light was on.

    After contacting customer service multiple times, we were told to take it to a repair shop. The repair shop referred us to the dealership. This process took two weeks to be resolved, with another handful of calls to Carvana to get the issues resolved. I spoke with a supervisor who offered me compensation for the aggravation and promised a check would be mailed. That was on February 28th. In the meantime, we were told to have an emissions and state inspection completed. Then, using the FedEx mailing label, ship the receipts back to Carvana. We would receive reimbursement for these inspections, along with Carvana submitting the documents to the DMV for the registration and tags, since it was already included in the price of the car.

    We mailed that paperwork on February 22nd, and it was received by Carvana, confirmed with the FedEx tracking number on February 25th. On March 20th, I called customer service again. We had not received the reimbursement for the inspections, our registration or tags from the DMV or the compensation for all this aggravation. Our temporary tags were expiring on March 31st and we had not received any sort of deliveries as promised. After speaking to a representative, it appears that only then, almost a MONTH after we had mailed in our receipts for inspections, the process to register the vehicle began. We received a text message notification after the customer service call later that day as proof of the initiated process. However, based on the estimated processing time, we were not going to receive our license plates and registration in time! After contacting customer service again on March 27th, we arranged for a rental car once the tags were expired, meaning we could not legally operate the car. It is ridiculous that multiple hours were spent on the phone trying to negotiate a convenient option for this problem. Again, it is still unclear what happened, when we submitted the appropriate documentation with more than 30 days for processing time.

    Furthermore, I also asked about the $250 "aggravation" check I had not received, which was supposedly issued on February 28th. I was promised that check would be canceled, a new one reissued and sent FedEx overnight. When I did not receive it within three days, I called again and was promised the same thing again. I spoke to two different supervisors about the delay with this check and I still did not receive a check after being promised an overnight delivery TWICE. Then I was told, after calling a third time in two weeks, that the check had been sent on March 29th, but through the postal service and would take another 10-15 business days to arrive. Even though I was promised the check to arrive overnight by two different supervisors.

    From the delivery of the vehicle to the time it took to process all the paperwork, receive reimbursements, repair all the damaged items and contact customer service approximately 20 times, two months passed. Next time, we will spend the three hours at a dealership and not have to deal with such inconsistencies and shady business practices. Interestingly enough, each time I called, their automated system stated that the calls were being recorded for quality assurance. If I were Carvana, I would use these exact situations to train their employees to follow the necessary customer service and quality control guidelines. Our experience with Carvana was absolutely horrendous.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 3, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Brian, thank you for providing us with a detailed review of your experience working with Carvana to purchase a vehicle. We want to sincerely apologize for the overall experience you have had, as this is not what we want for any of our customers to experience. There was an error when the check was submitted and we are so sorry for the delay in getting this to you. Regarding your registration, we are glad to see it has since been completed and we thank you for your patience for this to be done. Although we know that your experience was not ideal and you encountered inconveniences, we hope that you are still enjoying your vehicle. We will be using the information provided as a learning opportunity in order to continue to improve our processes.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Carvana won’t help you

    • Missouri,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a vehicle two months ago and have had to take it to the shop four times. When I called to see what they could do, they said they wouldn’t do anything. I explained what I have been through and that I wanted to trade in the vehicle. Again they said no and that they have an inspection they do. The dealership said that if they would have done an inspection they would have caught the issues I have had. Especially the rusted coil and spark plugs in the engine. Which almost caused me to break down on the highway. I have contacted the BBB for help. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 26, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Carvana. We first and foremost want to apologize for the issues you have been having with your vehicle. We understand it's completely frustrating and we appreciate your patience during this time. Our warranty provider has covered all the requested repairs and we have fixed the issues at hand. We see that you were requesting to swap into a different vehicle because you were concerned about any possible problems you may encounter with the vehicle. Due to the extensive amount of time you have been in the car, we are not able to complete a swap. However, you can absolutely trade in your current vehicle and purchase a new one on our website. We encourage you to contact us if you have any additional questions about your options moving forward, we are here to service you! Thank you again for your patience.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Think about buying in California or Arizona instead

    • Benicia, CA,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a car, a 2015 Honda Odyssey from Carvana, and I sort of liked it, but a couple of things:

    1. I could have bought a car locally in California and the reason that would have been better is the Carvana car is from New York. I like the car but it has corrosion (?) from the salt and winter that would not be on a California car. That was evident putting on a trailer hitch and now the car did not start because the battery terminal is corroded and loose and will need to be replaced again would not have been an issue with a California car bought locally

    2. Because the battery will come out, the electrics will be off and Carvana did not give me the radio code, and cannot give it to me when I contact them. When I bought a new car like this, they gave me the radio code and I would give it to someone if I sold it to them. I think this is another problem with Carvana.

    3. They took a month longer than advertised to deliver my car, that was not so bad, I did not need it. Otherwise, I like buying a car online and having them deliver it, and I like the car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 26, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Gene, we want to thank you for providing honest feedback on your Carvana purchase. One of our many standards is that none of our vehicles will have embedded rust. Please keep in mind, we do purchase our vehicles from all over but we do include the CarFax so that our customers can see where the vehicle has previously been located. We do not have contact with the previous owner of the vehicle so we are unable to locate the radio codes but your local dealership can get this addressed. We understand this was frustrating and apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. Overall, we are glad that you enjoyed our online purchase process and the vehicle that was delivered! Please do not hesitate to reach out should you think of any questions or have any concerns.


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Texas,
    • Apr 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Buyer beware! I bought a 2012 Nissan Leaf (electric car) three weeks ago from Carvana and paid cash. On the day it was delivered, received a call that it was on its way and then it never showed up. When we called the next day we were told that they got lost and never bothered to let us know. When the car was finally delivered the next day, it came with only a 14-mile charge on its battery. Over the next week, we noted that it would not hold a significant charge. Finally, left on a charger for 24 hours, the battery never held over a 42-mile charge. We contacted Carvana and were told that it had been past the 7-day return period (we called the morning of the 8th day), but that if we brought it to a dealer repair facility, SilverRock would cover the repairs under the limited 100-day warranty.

    The vehicle was taken to Nissan and no repairs were authorized. We later found that Carvana never brought the paperwork covering the limited warranty with them when the car was delivered. Once the paperwork was finally signed online, it was submitted to SilverRock who then sent the claim back to Carvana. Once I contacted Carvana, I was told that the claim was being reviewed and that I would be getting a call back that afternoon...and...I was not. The next day, the shop informed us that repairs were denied. I was told from Carvana that this was a risk of purchasing a used vehicle. They were fine selling an electric car with a defective battery (essentially the engine!) and that they would not cover it under the 100-day "no-worries" warranty. Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 19, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review regarding your Carvana purchase. We'd like to apologize for the experience you have had with Carvana so far. Our goal is to provide the best service to our customers from start to finish. We're glad you had the opportunity to work with our management team towards a resolution in repairing the battery on your 2012 Nissan Leaf and that you have decided to return your vehicle. Our vehicles go through a rigorous 150-point inspection to ensure all mechanical parts are in working order and meet our standards. We offer a 7-Day Money Back Guarantee to allow you to determine whether the vehicle will be a perfect fit for you. We were advised that the battery was not a failing part in regards to the decision of replacing your battery. If you have any further questions regarding our service contract or about this decision, please give us a call at (800) 333-4544 and we'd be happy to assist.


  • 0 out 4 people found this review helpful

    4 and 1/2 stars. Very satisfied.

    • California,
    • Apr 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole buying process was very smooth. I already knew I wanted a cheap sub-compact. They have a ton with various mileages, conditions and competitive prices. I found a Hyundai that fit my needs. I applied, uploaded my ID and paychecks and got a call 30 minutes later that I was approved. The interest rate is what I expected. I called back later with questions about the insurance requirements and was treated well by the person on the phone. The car was delivered to my job a few days later. The service I received from the Carvana rep was excellent. It was chilly and rainy, but she gave service with a smile.

    The car, a 2017 Hyundai Accent was in great condition; very clean and pristine. My only complaint was regarding the cheap hubcaps and floor mats they slapped on the car. I should appreciate new accessories, and I know this is just a cheap Hyundai, but these were some super budget replacements.

    Two of the hubcaps popped off the wheels that very weekend! Irritating, but I plan on replacing them anyway. No serious loss, plus very minor issue for a used car. Oh, and the wipers are bad. Gotta get new ones.

    I’ve gotten several follow up calls and emails and even a hand-written thank you card (misspellings and all!) with tons of info regarding any next steps regarding the warranty, payments, support, etc.

    During the first seven days, I thoroughly inspected the car (I’m no expert though) and actually read through the entire contract. There was nothing hidden, no surprises or shadiness.

    I’m very happy with my purchase and would absolutely recommend Carvana.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Amazing experience

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Apr 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was in the need of a new car and I had been putting it off mainly because I didn't want to face the painful process of buying a used car: looking endless inventories, visiting lots of dealers and, more painfully, dealing and negotiating with dealer sellers. My previous purchases had not been pleasant at all, and I was not in the mood to start a new one. A friend of mine recommended Carvana since she had had a very good experience with them. I did a bit of research online about Carvana, and read some terrible reviews in certain venues (not in the Carvana website), so I was not completely sure about going this route. At the end, I decided to follow my friend's advice, mainly because Carvana offered a 7-day return policy (that no dealers offer), so I could always return the car if there were any issues.

    I had a very clear idea of the car model I wanted, and even the color (it had to be RED). I checked the Carvana website every night, looking at possible options, and in more or less ten days, I saw exactly what I wanted. It had a much lower mileage than what I was aiming for (which was great), and the price was much lower than what I had seen at all the dealers for that model (and they had a higher mileage). I decided to buy it, with my mind set on returning it if there was the most minimal issue with the car. I went online and bought it on February 4. It took me around 30 minutes to fill all the paperwork, which was simple and easy to do.

    I was using my own bank for financing, and Carvana needed to verify the information by phone, with me and a bank representative on the line. In the first try, Carvana was unable to get a bank representative on the line, however, they told me they would keep trying and call me back when they finally get someone on the line. 30 minutes later I got a call; the first bank representative refused to release any information and I had to ask for another representative that I know personally, who (luckily) collaborated. That was the only small issue I run into, and in fact it was not Carvana's fault, but my bank's. Those two phone calls were the only ones in which I had to talk to Carvana representatives, and I must say, they were amazingly attentive, helpful and nice.

    I was told that two days later, on February 6, my car would be delivered to my home address between 11:00 AM and noon. In the meantime, I talked to my insurance company in order to cover the new car. On February 6 I received a call at 10:45 AM telling me the car was on its way, and at 11:15 it was delivered. Car was perfectly detailed inside and outside and exactly in the condition that was described (I was able to spot a couple of small chips, but nothing unreasonable that you wouldn't expect from a used car), the tank was full and the person who brought it (Erin) was as nice and polite as the two representatives I had talked on the phone. He gave me two sets of keys, I was able to do a 5 minutes test drive and then, after I decided to keep it, I signed the registration papers that Erin had brought with him. That same day, I took the car to my trusted mechanic, who performed a complete inspection of the car and told me that it was in mint condition, he was unable to find any issues that required attention.

    Five weeks later I received my new plates and registration, no issues with that either (and this was a sticky point in many of the reviews I had read, that complained about delays in receiving the registration).

    In sum, it has been the BEST experience I ever had buying a car. Carvana worked incredibly well for me; the fact that I knew exactly the car that I wanted might have contributed to my good experience, since it is one of the most popular cars in the US, so there were plenty to choose from in the inventory. I also knew exactly what type of background history I wanted in my car and Carvana provided that information in the Carfax history. The only "stress" I experienced was my own excitement the night before the car was delivered.

    Finally, I would like to thank the two representatives that I talked on the phone, and Erin, who delivered the car, since they were professional, attentive and made the whole experience painless.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 318

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review