260 Consumer Reviews for Carvana - Page 3

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 61 4 star: 11 3 star: 20 2 star: 33 1 star:  135
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 260
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience ever!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I order a car. The site states see photos in 12 days and it will be ready with dates November 29th - December 6th. Estimated dates repeated 100 times as the days go on and no car. Agents are trained to be super nice and lie as well. I researched every VIN site with the car I had hoped to be receiving. I chose parchment interior, which the site stated. I advised Carvana over two weeks ago that I found a VIN report and the interior under this V is black. I asked to please make sure then. Did they? NO! I spent over grand in rental car fees! I advised how I felt about their 360 pics and I need a car now! Nope, I get an email telling me it’s about to be photographed. Are you kidding me?

    Another two days go by and guess what? Yesterday the car was ready to view, nonsense, the INTERIOR IS BLACK. One month, three weeks and lies, no replies to emails, and no compensation, well 250 after RCV car and 7 days up. Slap my face and have zero regard what not having a car over Thanksgiving and Christmas did to me, as well as the credit card maxed in rental fees and employees BS me to death. Not one call update from Carvana during the whole process...excuse me, the one today - we’re so sorry, good feedback to know, but no discount is going to be given, anything else we can do for you?

    Please people, be honest, review this company. They are trained robots with the same sweet sentences to appease you and claim transparency...their dictionary blows on definition and is clearly not what their business truly gives! Take a situation in your life - you counted on and looked FWD two and then someone blows it for you with nothing but a sweet-voiced "I’m so sorry, I understand." 10/1 all under 30 playing car sales games feeling in charge with zero understanding or care on what your feeling!

    I've cried enough, which may seem nonsense to most, but that’s a great idea for me to do to avoid what anger would otherwise render me crazy and usually gets me nowhere! Well looks like getting angry is exactly what needs to be played with them! Before this business shows some true apologies and compensates me for stealing almost two months of my life and truly give the customer service they oh so valiantly proclaim they give! Stress-free my butt!

    I left out so much. Hopefully, this sums it up enough to understand and others see enough to avoid doing business with them, or if you have money get a lawyer on them and hold them accountable. I sure wish I had my money back! I would get one. They would say their sorry by compensating me with another car that comes close to the car I believed took two months to "refurbish" even with 2000-$3000 difference. Instead, we’re so sorry. NO, they're NOT. On to the next case to them! Click! Now I’m ticked, lol. Seriously, just what I needed to vent! Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for the detailed feedback of your Carvana experience. We are so sorry that the On Demand process has taken as long as it did in your case. We try to provide an estimated window for our reconditioning process, although depending on the work needed, parts being ordered, etc. we can take longer than those estimates. This is a flaw in this process and we agree that it sets the wrong expectations. It is disappointing that the color is wrong as the information on the OnDemand page should be accurate even before the photos arrive. This is part of the reason why we give our customers the 48-hour window to decide on the car once the photos go live. However, this was first an error on our part we would like to sincerely apologize for. We're thankful for your feedback, as we are continuously improving our OnDemand process.

      We would certainly love to still work with you, so please let us know if you are still in the market for a vehicle. One of our Specialists will be reaching out within 24-48 hours or if you prefer you can call in at (800) 333-4554 at your earliest convenience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Debating

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a car a few weeks ago now. It was supposed to get here on 12/29, but it got delayed until the 4th. Then today I get another call saying it's delayed yet again! I'm getting pretty upset, and I feel like crying. Now I'm not even sure I want this car and am kind of worried it might not be in good shape. I was really excited about this car too. I'm debating if I should cancel this order now or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      First off, we would like to apologize for the multiple delays you have encountered throughout waiting for your vehicle delivery with Carvana. Our goal is to provide our customers with exceptional service and it sounds like we failed on several attempts to do this for you. After reviewing your account, we can see that you have finally received your vehicle and decided to keep it! We are so happy that you were able to finally get behind the wheel of your new car and truly cannot thank you for your patience until your vehicle was delivered. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554. Welcome to the Carvana family!

    • Jan 18, 2019

      Michelle H.

      Hi Gina, I could not help myself but comment on your review. At least you’ve received a call. 58 days dealing with them not one phone call. Only emails I would receive would be if I sent them one. Talk about being excited about receiving your car. Imagine waiting this long and it’s not the car you had ordered! I'm happy you are in a car and best of luck and be safe.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy from Carvana

    • Clark, NJ,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a car from these guys for a Christmas gift for my wife. Was promised 12/24 delivery and confirmed twice. I was called on Christmas Eve and told it would be rescheduled for 12/28. Then I was called and was told it would be 12/31. I called to confirm that date and was told it was to be 1/2. Well, I told them to keep it! They don't make cars, they don't repair cars - all they do is transport cars, but it seems they are inept at doing that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We truly appreciate you notifying us of your experience. It sounds like what was supposed to be an exciting gift, turned out to be a disappointing experience. We couldn’t be more disappointed to hear that we let you down and hope that you were able to find the perfect vehicle for your wife. In regards to the delays that you experienced, you were clearly not set up with the right expectations either.

      Transport delays can happen due to weather, road conditions, breakdowns, etc. and we do our best to properly notify our customers and provide them with next steps. After reviewing your account, we can see that you were not given the correct time frames nor were you provided with the correct expectations. We will be following up with the individuals you spoke with and relay this feedback to ensure we continue on the path of growth. Our hope is that someday we can regain your trust, but for now, we thank you for reaching out and wish you the best with your new vehicle!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not caring about their customers

    • Scituate, MA,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought this was such an easy way to purchase a vehicle. I am a single mom, always working or doing something for my kids. The process started out on a good note, nice easy website, lots of cars to choose from and finance info was simple to give.

    Then my car, which was going to be delivered on Christmas Eve, was locked from purchase. I was apparently buying a car they didn’t even have the title for. The next car, they told me all of my documents would be transferred to the new car. That was partially true. Some of it was transferred, I got yanked around thinking I was buying a car. They claimed that they never did my employment verification. They had. Then they didn’t get another verification, which I pointed out they had. This went on. Never once did anyone go out of their way to help me after the experience I had had or after each and every mistake. Each issue delayed me getting the vehicle.

    Finally, they have everything. I get my car the next day. I am starting to get excited, until I find out they are waiting for me to schedule my delivery? I was told by the customer service people that I have to wait for the underwriters to review a form before scheduling. It didn’t matter to them one iota that I would have to wait even longer. When I told them to cancel my car, the rep told me to be sure that’s what I want to do but never tried to make it right.

    Thank you, Carvana, for holding my money hostage and wasting my time. People need to know how this large no face company treats people when snags are hit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Patricia, we are so sorry for the experience you had working with Carvana to purchase a vehicle from us. This is not the experience we want for our customers to ever have. We want to apologize for the underwriting process not running smoothly in regards to your purchase. Thank you for your feedback so that we can improve this current process. If you are willing to give Carvana another chance, we would love the opportunity to turn your experience around and make it right. Please call us at 800-333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent experience!

    • College Station, TX,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wasn't really looking into getting another vehicle at the moment. But with a recent accident that left me without a vehicle, I had no choice. I looked at local car lots first and everyone was wanting $5k down on their pickups and I wasn't walking away without one. I stumbled across Carvana by accident. I read some reviews and decided to give it a try. I got a 2014 Ram with low mileage.

    It looked nice in the photos. It was delivered on 12/27/18 at 1:15 pm. The delivery was quick, I drove around the block and checked out everything on the truck. It was detailed, washed and fueled up. No dents, a few scratches, but hey, it's a used truck. Real nice customer service. I will be using Carvana again in the near future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worst used car junk dealer!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a victim of this gimmick used car sales dealer and want to strongly advise others to please do your research about this place before doing business with them. Speak to their behind the scenes employees and find out all the dirt about the junk auction cars they buy and then wash and wax and pass on as inspected and reliable. There were so many issues with the car, I don't know where to begin. I'm not going to mention my specific issues so as not to influence you, however, all I ask is that you speak to the mechanics, drivers, haulers, etc. You'll find out plenty as I did. Ultimately, I returned my purchase and never looked back. Please don't fall for their gimmicks and misleading sales staffs false promises. Buyer beware!

    If I could give zero stars, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Easy process but a few glitches

    • Maryland,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to submit a review on the Carvana.com website but couldn't find a way to do it. They display reviews, but there was no way for me to participate, which I thought was a little weird.

    I bought a very nice used 2015 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport.

    The process was easy and fast. I like how you can do everything online. Very convenient.

    The rep who delivered the car was very nice and provided good customer service.

    A few disappointments:

    1. They don't give you as a spare key. I wish I had inquired about that earlier. I think it should be standard to give the buyer two keys, so you have a spare.

    2. The rep made a point to address the fact that it was not noted online in the description that there were a few minor interior stains. She said someone would contact me about either doing another cleaning/detailing or giving me some sort of credit for it, but I never heard from anyone. Other than that, the car was in good condition in appearance.

    3. On the 8th day, my car wouldn't start and eventually figured out it was a dead battery. Batteries aren't included in the warranty, so I had to spend money I didn't have on buying a new battery. I find that very frustrating. I would think they would put in a new battery before selling a car with high mileage. Once again, I wish I had thought to inquire about that before my purchase. It was also very frustrating that it happened the day after the 7-day trial was up.

    4. I think a copy of the state inspection should be provided to the customer. I have inquired about this and was told my "local hub" would contact me about it, but they haven't. I would think this could be easily done. Since they do the registration for you (a very nice part of buying through Carvana!), I would think the car would have already passed in inspection before the sale and they could just email me a copy. So far, that has not happened.

    Other than what I listed above, I found the process much easier and faster than other dealerships. I would probably do it again, but ask more questions and do a little more research before making the commitment next time. And other than the car battery problem, I do like the car, and it is driving well so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Failure to provide required registration documents

    • Austin, TX,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a vehicle (~$39,200) on the 4th of October 2018 and funds were collected by Carvana on the 5th of October, 2018, but the title and tag information still were not received on the 6th of December 2018. The temp tag expired the 2nd of December 2018.

    I called and Carvana stated the delay was due to DMV, and if my temp tag expired, I could go to DMV and request another temp tag, costs would be reimbursed by Carvana. They also agreed to reimburse my fees if title and tags not received by the expiration of my temp tag. I can't use the vehicle to go on vacation because I have to wait on tags. Temp tags have expired. I can't use the vehicle which was fully paid for on the 5th of October 2018.

    I paid on the 5th of October for Tile and Documentation ($119) and Carvana did not submit documents until the 24th of October 2018. I am not arguing the price, but instead the poor delivery on promised document services. If there was a problem, they should have resolved the issue for the customer. (They have an operation in Austin, Texas!!) Now the problem with receiving title and tags becomes MY PROBLEM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We are sorry to hear there was a delay in your registration process. We understand the frustration towards your dream car, and then not being able to drive it because the temporary operating plate has expired. That is not the customer experience we wanted you to have and we take full ownership of the situation. We are happy to see you have received your plates and that you were reimbursed for the title and registration fees. From here on out, we hope you are able to enjoy your new ride and please reach out at (800) 333-4554 should anything arise. Thank you for your continued patience and being part of the Carvana family throughout it all.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My advice is to go to a dealership where you can get more information on the car you're trying to purchase. I bought a car from Carvana and the oil was black, then when I called to tell them about it, they told me to get the oil change and they will reimburse me through a claim. So I got the oil change myself and in four months my engine went out. I purchased the extended coverage and they denied my claim. Now I’m stuck with an $18,000 debt. Please don’t buy from these scam artists, they don’t do inspections on the cars they’re selling! Go to a real dealership, do not buy a used rental car. They don’t take care of those cars, and they don’t have to report accidents either! What a lesson learned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 11, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Our primary goal is to provide our customers with quality vehicles that have been vetted by our inspection process as we only want the best for our customers. Every vehicle listed on our website has passed our 150-point inspection process, which includes a routine oil change. After reviewing your account, we confirmed an Inspector came out to look further into your engine related issues. Upon examination, it was determined that the damages to your engine were due to improper use of the vehicle. Our warranty does not cover any accidental damage, so we were unable to offer any assistance after further review. If you have any further questions or feedback please reach out of us via phone (800) 333-4554, email or chat seven days a week.

    • Jan 16, 2019

      Dominique G.

      Teresa Aragon, are you a robot? Omg, I believe her! I've read several bad reports on this company, so glad I did because y'all definitely won't be getting my business.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Carvana - "CarHell" would be a better brand name. They are horrible!

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They get one star because ZERO was not an option. Do not trust any 4.5-star ratings, since it is utterly unlikely those are honest reviews. Carvana sucks! PERIOD! I just had to find the CEO's email to tell him, Mr. Garcia III, about our ABSOLUTELY HORRIFIC experience with them and we really - before this - hoped they would offer a MUCH better experience than regular dealers and CarMax (that relative to Carvana was heaven of car-buying), but Carvana has offered BY FAR the worst experience by any company ever that operates in a non-monopolistic market (so we exclude GA Power and Comcast). So avoid them at all cost in my opinion. That is the short version.

    The long version is that they were supposed to be here at 7 PM today so we cleaned out our exchange car and called them 7:03 PM to ask why they were not here and after about 50 minutes on the phone, the rep, Aron, told me that the delivery had tried to contact me to say it has to pass inspection. But THEY LIED, since NOBODY has called my cell phone at that time, or they had the wrong number. Either way, that was the last big issue.

    The others were:

    1. The rep did not know it is hybrid.

    2. They forgot to tell us it comes with a car charger.

    3. They dinged the first BMW so we had to change all documents for a new one.

    4. They said they would deliver the new BMW, but then a few days later said that it needs a new battery (ok fine, no big deal), but then said it would be done for delivery today at 7 PM and they do not even contact us via text, email, or phone when they cannot/will/do not show up due to "That the car must pass emission inspection and if those lights light up, the car will not pass..."

    End of story. HORRIBLE COMPANY, though I really hope they or other online car companies will succeed in improving the car buying experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you for voicing your situation with us regarding your Carvana experience and for the constructive feedback. The experience you had is regrettable, and we sincerely apologize that you had to endure so many difficulties. In addition to these difficulties, we missed our appointment with you which we also truly apologize for. The type of experience you are having is not something we are proud of and we want to work directly with you, as well as working to improve the Carvana car buying experience. By no means is this acceptable, and a member of our team will be reaching out to you shortly to assist you and answer any questions you may have. You gave us undeserved patience and we cannot thank you enough for this.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Carvana is shiesty

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We are on the hunt for another car because our Mini Cooper was totaled in a hit and run wreck. We had found a car on Carvana.com and were in the process of purchasing it. They were offering a $1,000 Black Friday discount off the price of the car. Monday night, 11/26/18, I received an email offering an additional $1,000 Black Friday-Cyber Monday discount. I logged into my account and noticed a $2,000 discount on the vehicle we were purchasing as well as all of the other vehicles on the website. I immediately called Carvana at 10:30 pm but they were closed. I then sent Carvana a message stating I would like the lower price on the car and asking who did I need to contact. I took snips or screenshots of everything since I couldn't reach anyone at Carvana to confirm I wanted the additional Black Friday-Cyber Monday discount that was being offered. Seeing as how it was late Monday evening roughly two hours before the sale ended at midnight, I figured they snuck the additional discount in last minute to snag more sales.

    The next morning I called Carvana at 7:31 am. I explained the situation to a young lady named Candice. She was kind enough but told me they would not be honoring the discounted price. I explained I had taken screenshots of the price decrease and I asked to speak to someone above her. Many years of experience has taught me she wouldn't have the authority to change anything anyway. She put me on hold for a long time then came back on and stated her manager would like to see my screenshots before proceeding further. I got the feeling she thought I was bluffing about the evidence I had, so I immediately pulled over on my morning commute to work and emailed them. She then forwarded me an email they sent to their management team. The tone was a wee bit rude in my opinion. Several phone calls later they stated they would not be honoring the discounted price.

    In the meantime, I had contacted my credit union, Oklahoma's Credit Union, because I had to finalize the financing before 1:00 pm or I would lose the car. I apprised my Financial Services Representative of the situation. She said to keep her in the loop on whether Carvana would honor the discount they gave me or not. The credit union took a vested interest in the outcome because they had recommended Carvana to me. Once I received a phone call and the requested email stating their final decision was that they would not be honoring the discounted price of the vehicle, my financial institution Oklahoma's Credit Union stepped in to our defense. They began discussions with Carvana's representatives that ultimately went up the chain of command to the vice presidents.

    The final meeting between those in power was completed this afternoon. I received word from Oklahoma's Credit Union that Carvana declined to honor the discounted price of the vehicle claiming it was a computer glitch that affected many customers and if they honored mine they would have to honor theirs. My husband said, "Carvana was stepping over dollars to pick up dimes." I'm sure that's someone else's quote, but it's fitting. They lost an $18,400 sale because they would not honor the additional $1,000 discount they gave me.

    The take away from all of this is 1) Never do business with a shiesty company that treats their customers poorly. I will spend my money where I am appreciated and treated fairly. 2) Never buy a car from Carvana. They are shady. The experience was great. Buy a car completely online never having to deal with a sleazy car salesman. If it's too good to be true, it probably is. 3) Don't trust a company if all of their reviews are 5 stars. The reviews are most likely faked because they have poor customer service. 4) Most importantly, if your financial institution doesn't call you personally after business hours, jump up to plead your case to ensure you aren't taken advantage of and for a fair deal, have their Vice President step into the negotiations, or actually really care about you as an individual then you need to take your money and open an account at Oklahoma's Credit Union.

    Nowadays personalized customer service that goes above and beyond means more than anything. I have images to prove my claim. In the meantime, can anyone recommend an trustworthy car dealership? Or one that's as nasty to their customers as Carvana is so I can avoid it?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 2, 2018

      Andrey D.

      The same thing happens to me, they not only gave me a $1000 for Black Friday, but also my car is not available, since I first ordered it six weeks ago, and the second time, I ordered it over 23 days ago. They told me that it was a computer glitch.

    • Dec 5, 2018

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We appreciate you taking the time to notify Carvana of your experience and provide thorough detail from your situation. Black Friday is definitely one of our busiest times of the year with our $1000 promotion that we offer. This year we ran into some technical difficulties when we launched the promotion. Some customers were seeing different discount promotions off of every vehicle on our website instead of $1000. While we absolutely take ownership for this mistake, we had previously notified customers via email, television ads and detailed clarification through our website that the offer would only be good from Black Friday through Cyber Monday and would only be for the amount of $1000. We notated that this offer would not be able to be combined with any other discount amounts in an effort to avoid confusion during that technical difficulty.

      We are disappointed to see that despite our efforts to provide an incredible and fair promotional offer to all of our customers, you have decided not to purchase with us. The reasoning behind this decision has everything to do with equal opportunity, and nothing to do with not wanting to honor the extra $1000. We stand by our reasoning and will strive to make sure each customer is given the same opportunities as the other. We hope that down the road you will give Carvana the chance to provide you with an awesome car buying experience, but until then, we wish you the happiest of Haulerdays and encourage to call us with any additional questions or concerns!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 260

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review