Read 288 Carvana Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 67 4 star: 12 3 star: 21 2 star: 34 1 star:  154
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 288
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • I bought a car from a vending machine, y'all!

    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was nervous about buying a car from Carvana, but I couldn't find exactly what I wanted anywhere else. I felt good about the return process so I pulled the trigger and bought my car, a Mazda CX 5 grand touring. It had higher mileage than I wanted, but the price was right, and the car looked in and was described as being in great condition. I live chatted with two reps through the process, and they were both friendly and helpful.

    I picked it up at the Nashville dealership and the guy at the front desk was so professional and seemed truly happy to see me. The car's appearance inside and out was better than I expected. There were no imperfections that hadn't been noted in the listing. I test drove it and started to love it. Took possession and drove it 35 miles home and it performed fantastically. I've been over it with a fine tooth comb, and my husband has inspected fluids, brakes, tires, etc. and he's happy.

    I used a referral I got from a nice stranger in Arizona for $500 off. I recommend Carvana. Just remember, you don't have to accept it if you're not happy, and you have 7 days to change your mind. Take it to a local garage and give them $50 to look it over if you need reassurance. I have never had a dealership tell me to bring a car back I didn't like, so I feel like they are standing behind their sale. I do wish someone would text, email or call to make sure I'm happy, things like that go a long way for customer satisfaction.

    In closing, I love my Mazda and enjoyed the whole Carvana experience!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Houma, LA,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to Carvana's website to see what they would offer for my car before I trade it locally. They claim to use KBB as a guide yet they offered me $2,000 below trade-in value (according to KBB and NADA) and then wanted me to drive over 200 miles to them. Don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We appreciate your feedback regarding your Carvana trade-in experience. Customers can get a quote within minutes through our online website. Based on how the questions are filled out, our system is able to generate an offer. We are sorry if our offer was below what you were looking for. This is an optional service that does not require anything additionally from the customer other than being located within a certain mile radius from one of our local Markets. We do see that you did not move forward with our actual process of trading in a vehicle, so if you would like to learn more about that or have any additional questions, please contact us at (800) 333-4554.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Buyer beware

    • West Virginia,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should've listened to all of the reviews on the internet. Carvana makes it all sound way too good to be true, that's because it is. The approval process is quick and easy but I was kinda of leery about the whole delivery process. Lots of upset customers stating they always have to reschedule for one reason or another. Well, it happened to me as well. My car was suppose to be delivered tomorrow. I received a call today stating there is a logistical issue due to the weather and my car delivery is delayed until next Thursday. Really, one bad weather day causes my car to delivered almost a week later? Well, we will see. No car Thursday, then no deal Carvana! I should've listened to all of the negative reviews, so new buyer beware, it could be weeks before you get your car...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      John, thank you for your valuable feedback about your car buying journey. We do our best to abide by every customer’s scheduled date and time for delivery, but sometimes fall short on this. We are so sorry that you encountered this, as we know how frustrating it must be. We truly appreciate your patience and understanding. Thank you for taking a chance on Carvana and we hope the vehicle delivered makes up for your delay. We thank you for being part of the Carvana family throughout the hiccups.

    • Mar 4, 2019

      Christopher L.

      I have a car that has been delayed for 10 days and was supposed to be delivered tomorrow. I just received a call from them saying they don't know where the car is located. This is possibly the worst experience I have ever had. At this point, I don't know if I even want the car anymore. It is priced well but with this amount of frustration I think paying a little more is worth it. The worst part is they don't seem to be willing to do anything to keep my business besides say "I'm sorry." After waiting 10 days you would think they would be trying harder than this.

    • Mar 19, 2019

      Tim D.

      I made a purchase back in December, in which I thought was an extremely pleasant experience, until the misfortune of a drunk driver totaling my vehicle with no insurance. Never the less, my insurance covered the vehicle, leaving a balance of about $1600 outstanding.

      Upon several calls to Carvana to try and work through the process of another purchase, we are made aware that we were late 6 times which constitutes the inability to finance us for the next purchase! Keep in mind, there had been several calls made prior to this day regarding the terms and we were assured that as long as the previous balance was paid in full, there would be no problem with financing for another vehicle.

      Well, we received the call tonight after completing the purchase online as advised, stating that they would not finance us for the vehicle because we were late 6 times, and that is the policy. I advised the representative that had to be incorrect due to the fact I have the print out of my payment history which reflects all payment up until the payoff on yesterday.

      Never the less, I would proceed with caution when dealing with the in-house financing, which is actually DriveTime/Bridgecrest! The level of service from these people is unacceptable, and the inconsistency of the policy is very misleading after speaking to several representatives.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Third time not a charm...

    • Texas,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two vehicles through Carvana and its financing affiliate. Well, the third purchase attempt for a vehicle for my son in college was a nightmare. The car is still unavailable to this day. I changed to another vehicle for about 3 grand more. I was told that although I make $70k+ annually, they need me to be at $81k since this is a third purchase, or put down $5k on a car advertised as $0 down. On top of that, they put a $100 reservation hold on a vehicle after they denied me financing. I went through the chat and was rudely told, "we don't control how long the funds will be held." Are you kidding me? I had $100 reserved for a vehicle over one month ago. I started a purchase on another vehicle and you are charging me a hold on a vehicle that you will not finance me for...This company has lost a loyal customer forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 28, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We would like to apologize towards the experience you have had and how it's not been easy. Your third purchase was not seamless, and this disappoints us. Your third purchase was an On Demand vehicle with Carvana, which means that the car is not ready for sale, but we allow customers to place a hold on the vehicle until it is ready to sell. In these cases, our timelines are estimates and can vary in timeline. Delays don't always occur, but they can. The $100 hold for the On Demand vehicle is released after 7 days. If you feel that we are still holding onto that money, please contact us as soon as possible and we’d be happy to look further into this for you.

      In regards to the required annual income, we base how much we can finance according to annual income and the customer’s budget on how many vehicles they are currently financing. When the maximum amount of financing is reached, the un-financed portion is added to the down payment. We apologize that this was not made clear at the beginning, but we hope this helps.

      A Customer Advocate has been reaching out to you to assist with any questions or clarification with this. If we are unable to connect, please give us a call at (800) 333-4554 to discuss your experience further.

    • Mar 2, 2019

      Terrell S.

      The second $100 was in another vehicle that was ready for delivery. That was the one I was told I needed the outrageous down payment. Not sure why they charged me $100. The Chevy Trax was not an on-demand vehicle. You all don’t listen to the customer and reword things to make it seem like we’re the ones confused. Never mind, I went to Vroom.com and got the same car, better finance, better condition, low mileage, same 7 day/100 day worry-free. Carvana has lost me forever and I have 2 more teen drivers at home. Attention consumers...go to Vroom.com and tell them a former Carvana customer sent you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Avoid Carvana drama

    • Takoma Park, MD,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not purchase a car from this company. They clearly have several details in their policies that need ironing out. My car was expected several days ago and I have not received the vehicle. The car is a 2014 Honda CR-V. I have been sharing a vehicle for the past month because of another car crashed into me and totaled my car. I was excited about the opportunity Carvana presented - purchasing a vehicle online, having it delivered right to my door! However, if it sounds too good to be true, it is! This company is a scam.

    First, delivery was delayed because they heard a rattling noise. They gave me the option of receiving the car, then going to the shop on my own time to fix the rattling noise. They would have covered the cost. What working professional has time to do that, although it sounds like a great idea? I chose the other option - having them fix it before delivery.

    On the NEW date of delivery, they called me two hours before it was supposed to be delivered and said they made the decision to change the tires and it will now be available the next day. The representative said it was a decision her manager made and that was when I cut her off and asked to speak to someone else. I also explained everything here and was put on hold.

    They are not experienced enough to have all of these details ironed out. Do not choose them. It's more of a headache than not. Just go to the dealership and avoid the Carvana drama.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 26, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Alexandra, thank you for providing a detailed review of your experience working with Carvana to purchase a vehicle. The information provided will be used to improve on our current processes. We want to apologize for the delays in delivery that you experienced and know this was a large inconvenience. We want to ensure all of your concerns have since been addressed but have been unable to locate your account. We encourage you to reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 if there are any outstanding concerns that we can assist with further.

    • Feb 27, 2019

      David H.

      Better than Carmax.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Stay away, far away

    • Tennessee,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awful experience. Financing done, all paperwork in. Two weeks later I still don’t have my car. They keep saying it’s delayed. If they deliver by the latest BS date that they gave it will be a month from approval to receiving the car. Stay away from this place by all means. All the CS reps lie like they don’t care what happens. I have good credit too, just thought it would be nice to not have to fight with a dealership. But, at least the dealerships give you your car after the fight is done. This place makes me think I need an attorney.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide constructive feedback about your Carvana experience. We do our very best to make sure each customer’s vehicle is delivered on time, however delays do happen. We understand how much of an inconvenience this can cause and we would like to apologize for that. We do see your vehicle has been delivered and we're happy to see that! We hope you are loving your new ride, but please reach out at (800) 333-4554 if you need anything at all.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not meant to be - very disappointed

    • Washington,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went through the process of paperwork and getting 3rd party financing for a car that I really had my mind set on. I received a signed Retail Purchase Agreement and was about to sign the paperwork through my bank when I received a call from an underwriter at Carvana. He stated the car was actually purchased by someone else and they unlocked the car by mistake.

    I had reserved this car, but without hesitation, they removed the lock and deleted my paperwork and moved on. they did say "Sorry for the trouble, go to our site and find another car, we have many more."

    Before this fiasco, I talked to three separate reps regarding this particular car within 24 hours of reserving the car. No one mentioned any issues leading up to an hour from finalizing the deal and getting the car shipped. I am very disappointed, this should never happen to any customer. The $500 they offered me for compensation was actually an insult.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Omar, we are so sorry for the experience you had working with Carvana. We completely agree that this is unacceptable and we sincerely apologize for this. We know this technical issue was a large inconvenience and understand if you sought looking for a vehicle elsewhere. If there is any way that you are willing to give us another chance, we would love to turn your experience around and find you the right vehicle with Carvana. We encourage you to contact us at (800) 333-4554 so we can further help. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review.

    • Mar 22, 2019

      Michelle R.

      I just wanted to say thank you to all the honest people who posted their experiences here. I just applied for a car from Carvana tonight. I was approved and was going through the process to get the car. However, after reading all of these reviews and others posted online, I have decided to not go through with the deal. I am actually horrified by the conditions of some of the vehicles. I had a lease that I just turned in from fair.com and the car was in excellent condition when I picked it up. Nothing like what I am reading here. I came to Carvana because I need a want my own car and was looking for something reliable. But it sounds like the vehicles they are selling are no good. They are not cheap either. I work too hard for my money to just throw it away or even have it tied up for weeks trying to get a refund so I am going to pass.

      To everyone here who are having issues sorry for your troubles but know that by posting here, you are helping others to avoid going through the same thing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Defective car - unable to drive.

    • Florida,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a car from Carvana and it was delivered right before Christmas. I've had the car for about 5 weeks, with most of them - the car being in the shop. The first was with a leak and water flooding the driver side - this was taken care of through 5 out of my 7-day money-back period. Since the issue was resolved, I had assumed it was smooth sailing from there! However, a few days later, another issue popped up. My car would making huge clunking sounds in the engine area if I drove over 60 mph. Turns out it was a missing bracket from the engine area - another week towards finding the issue and ordering the part. Now, the third issue. I got up for work and went to turn on my car. Car was completely dead - I couldn't even jump it to get it to restart. The towing company couldn't jump it to get it to restart. Turns out to be a defective TCU unit and the car being worked on for two weeks and counting.

    I've reached out to find out my options for support in situations such as this ("We work harder than hard to make our customers happy") - and I was told that I would have to continue to pay monthly (and possibly out of pocket) for a car that I am unable to drive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      We appreciate your thorough review of your overall Carvana experience. We do understand that you’ve had issues occur with your vehicle and we'd like to genuinely apologize for this. Your experience is not at all what we want for our customers to have nor what we intend. We appreciate your diligence and effort in reaching out to our Customer Advocate Team, as we always want to save our customer experiences. We understand you have not been able to drive your vehicle, and are glad to see that a Specialist has reached out to find an amicable solution. We want to support you as our customer, as you are truly valued. Please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 if anything else comes up.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great Carvana experience - for challenged credit buyers looking for pre-owned

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been in search for a newer van for my family and came across Carvana. I was just browsing and noticed they had a seven-day return policy if you were not satisfied with your purchase, which had me immediately interested. I selected a 2017 KIA SEDONA LX with 70,000+ miles on it. A lot of their vehicle selection was used as car rentals prior, so many of the vehicles are in a-OK condition.

    You upload your docs: income verification and your driver license picture. EASY PEASY! They do a soft pull on your credit and have a software that lets you know how much you put down and how much you will pay monthly based on your APR. I have fair credit (which is considered challenged at a lot of brand name dealerships) - Carvana works with you and their loan company (Bridgecrest) will let you know how much you are paying up front, in smaller print of course, but the numbers are presented to you more than once.

    Two days before delivery I found a vehicle with lower mileage (45,000 miles) and a nicer interior - I requested they change it to the new vehicle and they did no questions asked. Unfortunately, the original delivery date was pushed back one day - which was honestly no problem. The Carvana advocate was at my residence 15 minutes before delivery time and called me right away. I test drove the car for a full 15 minutes and came back and agreed to the purchase. She had all the paperwork ready for me and CarFax, Vehicle Registration info, and all the add'l paperwork that I had signed via DocuSign. Again, your final price and loan info is presented to you so it's fairly clear what you are paying at the end.

    I took the car to the official Kia dealership to have it looked at and they let me know that there are no major mechanical issues and that several things such as battery, air filter, tire tread (2-3 yrs left) need to be changed within the next year to 1 and 1/2 years. Pretty common wear and tear with a used car. They did not include the floor mats as stated and I informed Carvana - they will be crediting me and refunding me for new floormats up to $250. I signed up at Bridgecrest to set up my payments since I hear many iffy things about them - it's probably best you pay a few days early since I've seen reviews about them repossessing vehicles even at one day late in payment.

    So far I am happy with my purchase! I love my new van - thanks again Carvana.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 2, 2019

      Terrell S.

      You must work for Carvana! They are horrible! Run away everyone. They don’t care for customers.

    • Mar 12, 2019

      Lorraine L.

      Terrell, I don't work for Carvana, in fact, I was really hesitant about using their service because of their DriveTime affiliation and bad reviews on Bridgecrest. Maybe I'm one of the few that had a good experience... They wouldn't get all this funding and investors if they weren't doing something right. Go back to the old school way of buying a car since you are so bitter about your experience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    Attempting to purchase a car through Carvana was the worst decision I've ever made. I placed an order for a vehicle on January 12th and it was estimated that I would receive my preview between the 17th and the 24th of January. On the 24th I still did not receive the preview so I contacted someone and I was told I'd get an update on the next day (no one ever contacted me either). And basically no one there could provide me any information at this point and I was out of a car. So I waited because I was absolutely in love with the car (which was advertised as an automatic 2012 Jeep Patriot). Today (2/1/19) I finally got the preview only to find out it was a manual. They falsely advertised it as an automatic and I can't drive a manual so the car I was in love with and depending on would not work for me and I still didn't have a car at this point. When I contacted Carvana, all they did was confirm it was a manual and told me to try finding something else. Needless to say, they didn't have anything else in my price range that would work for what I wanted and did not do anything to fix their mistake. I would not recommend nor buy a car from Carvana, they are completely useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 11, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Danielle, we are so sorry for the issues you encountered going through the purchase process with Carvana. Our On Demand vehicles allow our customers to see vehicles that are coming soon to the website. This means that the vehicles still need to be reconditioned, detailed, and photographed. The dates provided on when the vehicle will be available to view photos is an estimated date range. We are so sorry for the miscommunication on the time frame for this process. Additionally, we want to apologize for the vehicle being listed incorrectly as an automatic when it was a manual vehicle. We know this was an inconvenience and are truly sorry for this. We are constantly updating our inventory and if you are willing to give us another chance, we would love to turn your experience around!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Hassles, hassles, hassles...

    • Concord, NC,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a current customer of Carvana and had purchased a vehicle in the summer of 2018. I went to purchase another vehicle today and they were the most unorganized and terribly placating group without any explanation of the steps that they "so-called" need to put you through. They approved it but needed to do an "identity verification" quiz. After leaving me on hold for 15 minutes I was told that the quiz timed out and they could not do it again, this was the same with the chat representative. I canceled the order out of frustration and they still wanted to hassle me to do so. I am going to work with a dealer. Good luck to those who are braver than me. They suck in my opinion!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2019

      Teresa Aragon, Director of Customer Advocates

      Thank you so much for reaching out to us regarding your Carvana experience. We apologize if there was any miscommunication or delays during your purchase process. Our highest aim is customer experience and a huge part of that takes place during the purchase process. After reviewing your account, we see that there was definitely glitches in the midst of your account being verified. That is extremely frustrating and we thank you for having patience through it all. We hope that we could have the opportunity to try and make this right in the future, for now, don’t hesitate to reach out with any questions or concerns you may have at (800) 333-4554.

    • Feb 13, 2019

      Susan D.

      That was done at the time of the problem, and quite frankly, your customer service person was even worse than the others. I sincerely hope you are monitoring their training and response to problems that potential customers have as they are not helpful and actually worked toward exasperating the problem at hand. I chose to go with another dealer who knows how to treat a customer.

    • Mar 22, 2019

      Michelle R.

      It's a good thing that it didn't go through. Read all these reviews and then you will understand why I said it's a good thing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 288

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review