Vroom Review: How It Works, Cost, Vroom vs. Carvana

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jul 2, 2018

If you've purchased a car recently—especially a used one, you know the current system is undeniably broken.

On the one hand, you can go to a dealer, where you’ll probably be met with high pressure selling tactics along with inflated prices.

On the other hand, you can avoid this by going through a private seller, although this can bring about issues surrounding quality and condition.

To address this, several companies have recently come online, one of which is Vroom. Founded in 2014, Vroom helps customers buy quality pre-owned vehicles online, with transparent pricing, no salesperson to haggle with, and a 7-day in-home test drive.

Vroom customers can also obtain a competitive cash offer in minutes for their existing vehicles.

Taken together, Vroom claims to have more than 250,000 satisfied customers, with over 3,000 cars among 400+ makes and models currently available.

But, whether you’re looking to buy or sell a car, does this necessarily mean they’re the right option for you? Are there other considerations you should keep in mind before using Vroom.com?

How Vroom Works

Buying a Car on Vroom

You’ll start by entering a related keyword on the Vroom website, or by searching for a specific make and model, body type, price, year, and/or mileage. Then, you’ll see pictures of matching vehicles, along with each one’s year, make, model, trim level, mileage, and price.

Find one you like? Clicking on the vehicle’s image will take you to its homepage. There, you can view its Carfax report, additional pictures, features, options, specifications, and fees. You can also estimate your monthly payment.

If you’re ready to proceed, clicking the Get Started button will begin the purchasing process (we’ll talk more about financing options below).

Then, according to Vroom, they’ll “verify your identity, confirm details, and provide you with paperwork” in a matter of minutes. Or, you can place a 24-hour hold on the vehicle.

After purchasing, Vroom will deliver the vehicle directly to your door and will handle several essential details, including filing title transfer paperwork with your local DMV.

Selling or Trading Your Car into Vroom

On the other hand, if you’re looking to sell your car to Vroom, you can begin the free appraisal process by uploading pictures of your car, along with necessary information like the VIN, trim, mileage, condition, history, and aftermarket additions.

Within 30 minutes or less (during business hours), you’ll receive a guaranteed, no-obligation cash offer through your inbox, which will be valid for seven days or 250 additional miles.

If you accept their offer, Vroom will direct deposit the funds directly into your bank account within three business days, while handling the finer details.

If you’re interested in selling your existing car to Vroom and also purchasing your next vehicle from them (i.e., trading it in), you can apply the value of your trade-in to your purchase or down payment, which the company claims could help you “potentially save thousands in sales tax.”

From a transportation perspective, you can arrange for one of Vroom’s drivers to pick up your vehicle for free at a mutually agreeable time and location within the lower 48 states, or you can receive a check on the spot by delivering your vehicle to one of their retail stores located in the greater Dallas, TX and Houston, TX metro regions.

Now, what kinds of vehicles will you find through Vroom? What are their stipulations? If you’re looking to sell, will your car pass muster?

What Are Vroom’s Vehicle Requirements?

The Vroom website explains their vehicles are sourced from auctions, fellow dealers, and privates sellers. From a quality perspective:

“It starts with our stringent selection process. We only sell cars and trucks with clean titles and accident-free Auto Check [and CARFAX®] vehicle history reports. Every Vroom vehicle must also pass multiple inspections for safety, mechanical, and cosmetic issues before it is sold.

If a vehicle does not meet our strict retail standards, we do not list the vehicle for sale on our website. We also provide current information regarding open safety recalls.”

Additional Coverage That Vroom Offers

Vroom Protect

Although the company emphasizes that most of the vehicles sold through their site are still covered under their original manufacturer’s warranties, they offer a four-level Vehicle Service Protection (VSP) plan called Vroom Direct.

Less applicable deductibles, this is said to provide protection against “unexpected expenses” for up to 10 years or 120,000 miles for mechanical repairs (including parts and labor in some instances), along with 24-hour roadside assistance (e.g., battery service, flat tire and lockout assistance, fuel and fluid delivery, etc.).

» Related: Do You Need an Extended Auto Warranty: 4 Questions to Ask

Additional options include trip interruption coverage, as well as towing and rental car reimbursement, all of which is transferable to a new owner if you sell your vehicle for a small fee.

Vroom GAP Protection

If your vehicle is declared a total loss, but the insurance company offers less than you owe on your loan, GAP coverage can help make up the difference.

Specifically, Vroom’s GAP coverage promises to waive covered losses up to $50,000, on vehicles valued up to $150,000. In some instances, it could it provide up to $1,000 to help cover your insurance deductible.

In general, the company recommends GAP coverage for vehicles financed for more than 70% of their purchase price, and/or for more than 36 months.

How Does Vroom Stack Up Against the Competition?

Remember how we talked about the increasing popularity of websites like Vroom above? If you’re looking for a new way to buy, you’ve got more options than ever, including Carvana and Beepi. Sure, each of these companies markets themselves differently, but are there any real-world differences between them?

Vroom vs. Beepi

If you're looking to sell your car, Beepi seems to have a more involved process than Vroom. How? Because, before giving you an offer, Beepi sends one of their inspectors to your home, so they can personally certify that it meets their guidelines.

Since Vroom doesn't do this, we might imagine instances where things don't go as planned (e.g., the car is in worse shape than expected, or otherwise doesn't meet their guidelines), but only after most of the process is complete.

On the other hand, Beepi also charges a 3-9% fee for selling vehicles, while Vroom appears to be free, other than the initial deposit. Beepi doesn’t appear to charge for deliveries, and you’ll receive a 10-day trial period with all newly purchased vehicles.

Finally, Beepi is only available in CA and NV, while Vroom appears to service customers nationwide.

Vroom vs. Carvana

Carvana also submits each of their vehicles to a detailed inspection process (150 points, to be exact), and pulls an AutoCheck report to check for previous accidents.

After purchasing a vehicle through Carvana, they’ll ship your vehicle for free if you live within 100 miles of their Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, although it’ll cost you $199 if you live between 100 and 250 miles of these hubs.

If you’re outside this radius, then you’ll have to choose a third-party delivery method.

Like Vroom, Carvana also offers a 7-day trial for all new vehicle purchases.

How Much Does Vroom Cost?

Signing up for an account on Vroom.com is entirely free; just enter your information, or sign up using your Facebook or Google credentials.

Vroom’s Deposit Requirements

If you decide to place a 24-hour hold on a Vroom vehicle, you’ll be charged a $500 deposit. At this same time, the company will send you a contract that needs to be signed and returned within 24 hours.

If you choose not to purchase the vehicle or if you don’t return the contract within this timeframe, this money is fully refundable.

Financing and Other Vroom Payment Options

When you’re ready to make a full commitment, you can use your own financing, or you can use one of the company’s 15 financing partners—Capital One, Ally, TD Bank, and SunTrust, to name just a handful—to help you get the best rates.

Their website advertises you can apply online in as few as five minutes. (Note: this is a hard credit inquiry and will likely impact your score.)

If you finance through Vroom, not only might this save you time (according to their FAQ) by possibly not requiring you to visit a “bank branch to sign the loan document and additional documents,” by they’ll also “register your vehicle on your behalf and mail your registration and plates to you” (once prepared by the DMV).

Additional payment options include cash, cashier’s check, certified check, money order, bank wire, and bank draft (for specific lenders). Customers can pay up to $1,000 using a credit card, but only for deposits, down payments, and other sale items.

All vehicles come with free nationwide shipping and a 7-day (or 250 miles) test drive, which begins once yours is delivered to you. Don't like your car? Call Vroom, and they'll have someone come to pick it up at no charge.

Just keep in mind that if you traded a vehicle in as part of the process, you wouldn't be able to get it back.

Picking Up Your Vroom Vehicle

Transportation-wise, Vroom charges a flat $499 rate ($799 for an enclosed trailer) to ship a vehicle anywhere within the contiguous 48 states, regardless of the make, model, or value. Compared to the deposit, however, this money is non-refundable.

Alternately, customers are welcome to pick their vehicle up in-person from their location near Houston, TX.

Vroom Warranties and Other Extended Coverage

Newly purchased Vroom vehicles come with a 90-day/30,000 mile no-worry warranty and a year of free 24/7 roadside assistance. Most are still covered under the manufacturer’s warranty, although additional coverage can be purchased directly through Vroom at the time of sale.

Includes essential features like towing, roadside assistance, battery service, flat tire assistance, fuel and other liquids (oil, water), lockout assistance, and a 5-year maximum term, although is transferable to a new owner for a $30 fee.

Conditions apply, so check with a customer service rep if you have specific questions.

Again, while the majority of Vroom’s cars are said to be still under their manufacturer’s original warranty, the company offers a limited warranty 90 days or 6,000 miles on all new purchases. They also come with one year of 24-hour, nationwide roadside assistance.

Vroom’s customer service department can be reached at (855) 524-1300.

A Look at the Consumer Reviews of Vroom

As of our most recent update, 60 HighYa readers provided their feedback about Vroom, giving the company an average rating of about 1.6 stars. Common complaints related to less-than-stellar customer service, support, and delivery experiences, while compliments frequently referenced ease of use and competitive pricing.

On Yelp, more than 120 reviewers had given the company a slightly higher average rating of about 2.5 stars, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

In most of these instances, a representative from Vroom personally responded to complaints.

From a company perspective, Vroom had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on nearly 50 customer reviews and more than 60 closed complaints.

These complaints referenced everything between undisclosed accidents to unresponsive customer service.

Our Bottom Line: Should You Use Vroom to Buy or Sell a Car?

Whenever you’re thinking about using a new product or service, online customer reviews can go a long way toward letting you know what you might reasonably expect (this is why consumer advocacy websites like HighYa exist!).

And at least in this aspect, it seems like Vroom has overwhelmingly positive feedback from their customers, who generally claim that the process was super easy and hassle-free.

However, if you’re dead set on buying or selling a car solely online, remember that Vroom isn’t the only game in town, so it’s important to research all your options in advance (you’re already off to a great start!).

Comparatively, Vroom certainly seems to have some unique advantages (such as flat-free $499 nationwide shipping, which could save you hundreds compared to other options), but only you can decide whether or not this will translate into a better experience.

» For Further Reading: 6 Most Popular Used Car Buying Websites: A Comprehensive Guide


Read 181 Vroom Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 31 4 star: 7 3 star: 7 2 star: 21 1 star:  115
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 181
Sort reviews by:

  • Buyer beware!

    • By Brett M.,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jan 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    BUYER BEWARE!!

    UPDATE 01/16/2020: Don't let their canned responses to reviews like this fool you! They called me to say there is NOTHING they are willing to do. This car has clearly been in an accident in the rear, and Vroom refuses to remedy the issue! If you are looking to purchase a car online, I highly suggest one that calls out ALL of the damage on the car! If Vroom wants to step up and do the right thing, I will update this review.

    I will let Vroom respond and I will provide updates if they choose to take care of the HORRIBLE repair job that was done previously on the car (2018 Audi S3 @14k miles).

    While the first purchase in Vroom happened in 2018 and was an overall decent experience, my second purchase in late 2019 was a terrible experience. First off, the sales portion of the transaction was fine. After I decided on the car and purchased it, everything went downhill.

    Delivery:

    This was terrible. There was 0 communication from the purchase on when the car was going to be delivered. After about 2 weeks of waiting, I received a call and email stating the car was coming the very next day. The morning of the next day (Friday) I received a call saying the car was being delayed until Saturday. Later on Friday, I received yet another call stating the car was in fact going to be there Friday night. This is difficult when you work for a living, especially if you have a life outside of buying cars.

    Issues:

    When it was delivered, the car came FILTHY! It literally looked like it was a flood-damaged car. The car was delivered in the Midwest, and there was no way to get the car washed as all car washes were closed due to the weather. On top of this, the car came with summer tires only (not stated anywhere).

    When you receive a car that you cannot see any damage, and you can't even drive it, it is difficult to commit to keeping it. However, I warmed up my garage over the next few days and tried to clean it up to check for damage/paint.

    I found many poorly repaired spots on the car with some dents. I contacted Vroom within the 7 days and they agreed to repair what I did find - however, it was like pulling teeth! While the car was in the shop and undrivable for the first 3 weeks I owned it, I could not look it over more. When the car came back from the shop, they pointed out the rear bumper was one of the worst hack jobs they have seen! Mind you, this was a $36k Audi, next to "new" Audi that I couldn't actually look over properly because of the condition the car came in.

    Once the reimbursed the body shop for the repairs they initially agreed to, I contacted them about the rear bumper. Vroom has not returned my calls/emails. They have CHECKED OUT. After repeated attempts, they have not returned my emails/calls.

    Overall, I like the car, but the damage was not disclosed (they tout "Clean CarFax" what a JOKE!). Not only was the damage not disclosed, there was no way for me to see the damage when delivered!

    I want the rear bumper repaired by a professional, not the spray-paint Vroom used to take low-res pictures on their site.

    I will update this review if Vroom decides to do the right thing, and repair the damage not disclosed for a repeat customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • They don't know what they are selling

    • By Eric C.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contacted Vroom to buy one of the cars on their website. I asked it it had everything. The salesperson verified that it did. I made the purchase and when I received the vehicle it only had one key and did not have the remote for the DVD player. I contacted them about the items. They said that the vehicle only had one key and that was in the documentation. I looked carefully at the online documentation and in the paperwork that I had and it did not state that there was only one key. However, they stated that the remote for the DVD player should be there and that they needed to provide it. I haven't heard back from them regarding either issue. I ended up returning the vehicle because I did not want to be stuck with a vehicle that did not have all the equipment it should have had. The equipment (key and remote) would cost me approximately $800.00. Who is going to spend thousands of dollars on a vehicle only to be hit with an $800.00 bill? It's going to cost me $450.00 to return the vehicle but it is better than paying an additional $800.00. Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Phenomenal customer service by Joseph Akuechiama - great buying experience

    • By Debra R.,
    • Sugar Land, TX,
    • Jan 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Gave 5 stars because it does not allow a higher rating. Had a phenomenal experience buying my dream car from Texas Auto Direct (Vroom). Specifically, the salesman who sold me my car, Joseph Akuechiama (Mr. Joseph A.), did a fantastic job and I am forever thankful. After 3 prior test drive visits, I walked into the dealership with plans to test drive and hopefully buy a car. Mr. Joseph A. was extremely patient and understanding, explaining everything about the vehicle and purchasing process. I enjoyed doing business with Joseph (Texas Auto Direct). I'm thankful for an easy buying process and a great deal for my Audi A6. I will definitely recommend as well as go back to see Joseph again for future purchases because of his excellent customer service and valued knowledge.

    Also, I would like to give kudos to Mr. Thomas (finance department) for all his help as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    7-Day Guarantee is all LIES

    • By DR J N.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    "Louis" at extension 4054 makes endless and false statements! I challenge management to review every one of his "recorded" phone calls, and look to see how long it takes for him to process a return! I called ONE day after the arrival of my initial vehicle requesting a return (and promised, 7-day satisfactory guarantee refund) and it took HIM more than 7 weeks to "swap" a different vehicle for me! This caused me excessive and unnecessary rental car fees. THEN after MANY phones calls, promises, reassurances, and more LIES, he guaranteed a refund check had been made to the bank for the promised refund. UNBEKNOWNST to me, I was THEN sent to COLLECTIONS! I have NEVER been late on ANY payment, EVER! I had to call the bank myself and was advised that Vroom/Louis didn’t even contact them until that given day, which was yesterday, to cancel a loan from NOVEMBER! EVERY single time I called to confirm the back loan had been refunded and promises were made that it had (I phoned over SEVEN times), Louis always made promises to call me back and NEVER did! Vroom will call you endlessly, SEVERAL times a day to get you to purchase a vehicle, but will NEVER do what is necessary thereafter! Yes, one may think the 7-day guarantee is a reassurance for a bad purchase...or in my case, a "one-owner" vehicle that was a RENTAL car! But don’t be fooled but the 7-day guarantee, you will end up without a vehicle for months, excessive rental car fees (so you don’t exceed the 250 mileage) or going to COLLECTIONS because they did not refund the original loan from their suggested lender...and get this...that particular vehicle that I returned and they did not refund...has bee RE-listed on their site for sale for 2 WEEKS! Sounds like fraud to me! In this case, I still own the car; as the loan and title are still in MY name! Do not WASTE your time with these EMPTY promises!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst car dealership ever!

    • By Ashley M.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My name is Ashley Murariu. When I first began looking at Vroom's website it seemed like the website was a great way to buy my first car. I picked up the phone and called a sales rep, his name was Devon. Devon helped me buy a 2013 Mercedes-Benz C class. After speaking with Devon the contract came in just a few short days and the car came soon after, but this is where the problems started. I signed the paper for the vehicle, got into the car and the engine light was on! I had to drive the car to my local Mercedes dealership where they did not want to give me any information about the vehicle and why the engine light was on. Later I found out that Mercedes-Benz never recalled the vehicle and Vroom has sold it to me with the engine light on and everything.

    I immediately began calling Vroom customer service numbers and I spoke to Chelsea Rice. Chelsea said she'd send over all the information to my loaner about the new vehicle I wanted to swap out with the Mercedes-Benz. Well, this process took almost a month, I waited and waited and never heard anything from anyone working at Vroom and every time I called they kept telling me that I needed to be patient and that they needed to wait for the bank. Finally, after almost a month of not being able to drive the Mercedes-Benz and not having a car at all to drive, I finally received a call from someone named Patrick. Patrick took down all my information AGAIN about the vehicle that I wanted to swap for and after many weeks of waiting, Christmas day I received the vehicle. I was reassured by Patrick that everything would be sent to my loaner and everything would be updated and set up for my payment and I thought the worries were going to finally stop. Although I just received a call from the bank I am financing the vehicle with and they asked me for my monthly payment on my MERCEDES-BENZ C CLASS! I am now currently fighting with Vroom and everyone on the phone because every person is telling me that my loaner has received the new contract but my bank has said that they didn't. Clearly someone doesn't know how to their job.

    Vroom has done nothing but ruin my first experience at buying my very own car. Every single person I've talked to did not help me at all and they don't do their jobs nor try and help their customers. Please, if you're thinking about buying a car from Vroom, DON'T DO IT! Save yourself the stress and headache. Vroom is not a good car dealership!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great sales process, bad vehicle

    • By Alexander N.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had never purchased a car online prior to this one. We decided to try it because we hated going and sitting in dealerships while they go in those back rooms and do whatever that takes forever to do back there. Overall, I liked the purchase process. They matched a rate from a competitor bank and they matched the trade-in from Carvana. My sales guy was awesome. BUT It took longer than expected to actually get the car (almost two weeks).

    Upon delivery of the car, I noticed that the heated/ventilated front seats, heated steering wheel, and rear heated seats did not work. I immediately called customer support (which as a whole varies in the quality of the person who you get...most are not great at their jobs). The guy I got was great and respectful though. He wanted us to try to use the initial warranty you get with the car - to me this made no sense since it was delivered faulty...but that is what they made me do. They had me take it to a Chrysler dealership (they agreed to pay the $175 diagnostic fee). I then became a secretary between Vroom and Chrysler, which SUCKED. Everyone was slow, and I was trying to get it done before my 7-day return period so I could return it if they wouldn’t fix it. It was hard to get ahold of both sides. Terrible experience.

    The problem ended up being RODENT DAMAGE - so much for that multi-point inspection they claim to do. The issue was going to cost almost $5000 to fix. AND as delivered, the mechanic said the car’s passenger-side airbags would not have deployed in a crash due to the rodent damage. At first, Chrysler told me it was going to be $500, and Vroom agreed to fix it. While doing the $500 repair, they found the bigger issue which was going to cost an additional $4000. Vroom then said no to that, and they told me to exchange/return the vehicle. I then had to go back and forth between Vroom and Chrysler to get the $500 of work Chrysler did paid for. Thankfully, Vroom finally agreed to pay for it - kudos to my support guy.

    I found another vehicle that I traded the bad one for. They didn’t make me pay an additional shipping fee. Even though all of this happened, I would still buy another car online...but maybe not through Vroom. Also...word of the wise...before signing for the vehicle at delivery...do a full inspection, especially of the wiring under the seats. You never know what has been chewed up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • New ride

    • By Tina W.,
    • Pearl, MS,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vroom was amazingly simple and everyone that I worked with was very knowledgeable and very helpful! Our entire process from ordering right up to delivery was probably 2 weeks and that includes holidays.

    I would definitely recommend and I personally will use them again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 weeks later and still have not paid off my car

    • By Robert T.,
    • Springville, CA,
    • Jan 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    It started off a great experience, everyone was very helpful and nice. My new car was delivered exactly when they said it would. Communication was great. But as soon as my car was delivered and they took away my trade-in, things have quickly turned into a nightmare! It has not been over 3 weeks and they have still not paid off my trade-in. Keep hearing the same old story from them that this is not usual...and that they will call me back, which they never do. This is completely unacceptable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 6, 2020

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Robert, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear of the breaks in communication. When you have an opportunity, please reach out to us at (469) 660-1600 so we can look into this. Thank you again for taking the time to reach out to us, and we hope to hear from you soon.


  • Poor customer service/shipping damage 2x

    • By Russ M.,
    • Missouri,
    • Dec 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, this was my 3rd purchase from them and the last 2 were damaged during delivery. They did eventually cover the first time but now the second time they will not do anything. Very poor customer service especially for a customer who bought 3 vehicles from them. So basically I was charged $500 for shipping, cost me an extra day of work and now need to repair car myself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 31, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Thanks for taking the time to express your concerns. We are disappointed to hear we left you feeling this way. We would like the chance to talk to you further so please reach out to us at (469) 660-1600 at your earliest convenience so we can work with you to make this right. We hope to hear from you soon. - Vroom Team.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Car: good. Service: not so much.

    • By Sheldon W.,
    • Hartford, CT,
    • Dec 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easy online searching and reasonable purchase process. The car was delivered on time and in good shape. Customer service is where improvement is needed, I had to forward private information like copies of drivers license and trade-in title at least 3 times because their system didn't pick them up. I heard nothing from them for 3 days after the car was paid for. When I called to inquire, the agent promised to call me back, but never did. I called again the next day to learn that the car was on its way to me and I would receive delivery timing. The following day I received 2 phone calls and 2 emails with an approximate delivery time. The next day I heard nothing until the car arrived in the evening.

    I soon discovered that I had not received a bill of sale or any other paperwork. I called and was told it would be sent out by email attachment immediately. I called back the next day since it had not arrived and received another promise. This time the attachment came. In preparing to go register the car, I realized that the title had not been provided. After 2 or 3 more phone calls I was informed that this would take another 2 to 4 weeks.

    If I had known what to expect and received prompt replies to my questions, there would not be any issues. However, at this point, Carvana would be a much better choice for online car buying.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Updated review

    Received a car with leaks

    • By Mary C.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Dec 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Refund process was handled very quickly, which I appreciate, but I wouldn’t buy a car this way again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 25, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Mary, we appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We regret to learn that you did not have a more positive online experience with us. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please contact us at (469) 660-1600 at your earliest convenience. We always look for opportunities to improve so we hope to hear from you. - Vroom Team.

    • Previous review
    • Dec 16, 2019

    Sold a bad car

    I received a car from Vroom that smelled of burned rubber and oil, had multiple leaks and cracks under the hood, and needed an alignment. The manager from the company argued that they were not leaks, just seepage. The repair estimate was too large and they are buying the car back. I am left thinking they are running a scam hoping you will accept a bad car and repair it yourself. Huge hassle, no quality control check, waste of my time. Would never recommend buying a car from this company.

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-11 of 181

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review