About Vroom

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jul 2, 2018

If you've purchased a car recently—especially a used one, you know the current system is undeniably broken.

On the one hand, you can go to a dealer, where you’ll probably be met with high pressure selling tactics along with inflated prices.

On the other hand, you can avoid this by going through a private seller, although this can bring about issues surrounding quality and condition.

To address this, several companies have recently come online, one of which is Vroom. Founded in 2014, Vroom helps customers buy quality pre-owned vehicles online, with transparent pricing, no salesperson to haggle with, and a 7-day in-home test drive.

Vroom customers can also obtain a competitive cash offer in minutes for their existing vehicles.

Taken together, Vroom claims to have more than 250,000 satisfied customers, with over 3,000 cars among 400+ makes and models currently available.

But, whether you’re looking to buy or sell a car, does this necessarily mean they’re the right option for you? Are there other considerations you should keep in mind before using Vroom.com?

We’ll help you find some answers, starting with how the Vroom website works.

How to Use the Vroom Website

Buying a Car on Vroom.com

You’ll start by entering a related keyword on the Vroom website, or by searching for a specific make and model, body type, price, year, and/or mileage. Then, you’ll see pictures of matching vehicles, along with each one’s year, make, model, trim level, mileage, and price.

Find one you like? Clicking on the vehicle’s image will take you to its homepage. There, you can view its Carfax report, additional pictures, features, options, specifications, and fees. You can also estimate your monthly payment.

If you’re ready to proceed, clicking the Get Started button will begin the purchasing process (we’ll talk more about financing options below). Then, according to Vroom, they’ll “verify your identity, confirm details, and provide you with paperwork” in a matter of minutes. Or, you can place a 24-hour hold on the vehicle.

After purchasing, Vroom will deliver the vehicle directly to your door and will handle several essential details, including filing title transfer paperwork with your local DMV.

Selling or Trading Your Car Into Vroom

On the other hand, if you’re looking to sell your car to Vroom, you can begin the free appraisal process by uploading pictures of your car, along with necessary information like the VIN, trim, mileage, condition, history, and aftermarket additions.

Within 30 minutes or less (during business hours), you’ll receive a guaranteed, no-obligation cash offer through your inbox, which will be valid for seven days or 250 additional miles. If you accept their offer, Vroom will direct deposit the funds directly into your bank account within three business days, while handling the finer details.

If you’re interested in selling your existing car to Vroom and also purchasing your next vehicle from them (i.e., trading it in), you can apply the value of your trade-in to your purchase or down payment, which the company claims could help you “potentially save thousands in sales tax.”

From a transportation perspective, you can arrange for one of Vroom’s drivers to pick up your vehicle for free at a mutually agreeable time and location within the lower 48 states, or you can receive a check on the spot by delivering your vehicle to one of their retail stores located in the greater Dallas, TX and Houston, TX metro regions.

Now, what kinds of vehicles will you find through Vroom? What are their stipulations? If you’re looking to sell, will your car pass muster?

What Are Vroom’s Vehicle Requirements?

The Vroom website explains their vehicles are sourced from auctions, fellow dealers, and privates sellers. From a quality perspective:

“It starts with our stringent selection process. We only sell cars and trucks with clean titles and accident-free Auto Check [and CARFAX®] vehicle history reports. Every Vroom vehicle must also pass multiple inspections for safety, mechanical, and cosmetic issues before it is sold. If a vehicle does not meet our strict retail standards, we do not list the vehicle for sale on our website. We also provide current information regarding open safety recalls.”

Additional Coverage That Vroom Offers

Vroom Protect

Although the company emphasizes that most of the vehicles sold through their site are still covered under their original manufacturer’s warranties, they offer a four-level Vehicle Service Protection (VSP) plan called Vroom Direct.

Less applicable deductibles, this is said to provide protection against “unexpected expenses” for up to 10 years or 120,000 miles for mechanical repairs (including parts and labor in some instances), along with 24-hour roadside assistance (e.g., battery service, flat tire and lockout assistance, fuel and fluid delivery, etc.).

» Related: Do You Need an Extended Auto Warranty: 4 Questions to Ask

Additional options include trip interruption coverage, as well as towing and rental car reimbursement, all of which is transferable to a new owner if you sell your vehicle for a small fee.

Vroom GAP Protection

If your vehicle is declared a total loss, but the insurance company offers less than you owe on your loan, GAP coverage can help make up the difference.

Specifically, Vroom’s GAP coverage promises to waive covered losses up to $50,000, on vehicles valued up to $150,000. In some instances, it could it provide up to $1,000 to help cover your insurance deductible.

In general, the company recommends GAP coverage for vehicles financed for more than 70% of their purchase price, and/or for more than 36 months.

How Does Vroom Stack Up Against the Competition?

Remember how we talked about the increasing popularity of websites like Vroom above? If you’re looking for a new way to buy, you’ve got more options than ever, including Carvana and Beepi. Sure, each of these companies markets themselves differently, but are there any real-world differences between them?

Vroom vs. Beepi

If you're looking to sell your car, Beepi seems to have a more involved process than Vroom. How? Because, before giving you an offer, Beepi sends one of their inspectors to your home, so they can personally certify that it meets their guidelines. Since Vroom doesn't do this, we might imagine instances where things don't go as planned (e.g., the car is in worse shape than expected, or otherwise doesn't meet their guidelines), but only after most of the process is complete.

On the other hand, Beepi also charges a 3-9% fee for selling vehicles, while Vroom appears to be free, other than the initial deposit. Beepi doesn’t appear to charge for deliveries, and you’ll receive a 10-day trial period with all newly purchased vehicles.

Finally, Beepi is only available in CA and NV, while Vroom appears to service customers nationwide.

Vroom vs. Carvana

Carvana also submits each of their vehicles to a detailed inspection process (150 points, to be exact), and pulls an AutoCheck report to check for previous accidents.

After purchasing a vehicle through Carvana, they’ll ship your vehicle for free if you live within 100 miles of their Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, although it’ll cost you $199 if you live between 100 and 250 miles of these hubs. If you’re outside this radius, then you’ll have to choose a third-party delivery method.

Like Vroom, Carvana also offers a 7-day trial for all new vehicle purchases.

How Much Does Vroom Cost?

Signing up for an account on Vroom.com is entirely free; just enter your information, or sign up using your Facebook or Google credentials.

Vroom’s Deposit Requirements

If you decide to place a 24-hour hold on a Vroom vehicle, you’ll be charged a $500 deposit. At this same time, the company will send you a contract that needs to be signed and returned within 24 hours.

If you choose not to purchase the vehicle or if you don’t return the contract within this timeframe, this money is fully refundable.

Financing and Other Vroom Payment Options

When you’re ready to make a full commitment, you can use your own financing, or you can use one of the company’s 15 financing partners—Capital One, Ally, TD Bank, and SunTrust, to name just a handful—to help you get the best rates. Their website advertises you can apply online in as few as five minutes. (Note: this is a hard credit inquiry and will likely impact your score.)

If you finance through Vroom, not only might this save you time (according to their FAQ) by possibly not requiring you to visit a “bank branch to sign the loan document and additional documents,” by they’ll also “register your vehicle on your behalf and mail your registration and plates to you” (once prepared by the DMV).

Additional payment options include cash, cashier’s check, certified check, money order, bank wire, and bank draft (for specific lenders). Customers can pay up to $1,000 using a credit card, but only for deposits, down payments, and other sale items.

All vehicles come with free nationwide shipping and a 7-day (or 250 miles) test drive, which begins once yours is delivered to you. Don't like your car? Call Vroom, and they'll have someone come to pick it up at no charge. Just keep in mind that if you traded a vehicle in as part of the process, you wouldn't be able to get it back.

Picking Up Your Vroom Vehicle

Transportation-wise, Vroom charges a flat $499 rate ($799 for an enclosed trailer) to ship a vehicle anywhere within the contiguous 48 states, regardless of the make, model, or value. Compared to the deposit, however, this money is non-refundable.

Alternately, customers are welcome to pick their vehicle up in-person from their location near Houston, TX.

Vroom Warranties and Other Extended Coverage

Newly purchased Vroom vehicles come with a 90-day/30,000 mile no-worry warranty and a year of free 24/7 roadside assistance. Most are still covered under the manufacturer’s warranty, although additional coverage can be purchased directly through Vroom at the time of sale.

Includes essential features like towing, roadside assistance, battery service, flat tire assistance, fuel and other liquids (oil, water), lockout assistance, and a 5-year maximum term, although is transferable to a new owner for a $30 fee. Conditions apply, so check with a customer service rep if you have specific questions.

Again, while the majority of Vroom’s cars are said to be still under their manufacturer’s original warranty, the company offers a limited warranty 90 days or 6,000 miles on all new purchases. They also come with one year of 24-hour, nationwide roadside assistance.

Vroom’s customer service department can be reached at (855) 524-1300.

A Look at the Consumer Reviews of Vroom

As of our most recent update, 60 HighYa readers provided their feedback about Vroom, giving the company an average rating of about 1.6 stars. Common complaints related to less-than-stellar customer service, support, and delivery experiences, while compliments frequently referenced ease of use and competitive pricing.

On Yelp, more than 120 reviewers had given the company a slightly higher average rating of about 2.5 stars, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

In most of these instances, a representative from Vroom personally responded to complaints.

From a company perspective, Vroom had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on nearly 50 customer reviews and more than 60 closed complaints. These complaints referenced everything between undisclosed accidents to unresponsive customer service.

Should You Use Vroom to Buy or Sell a Car?

Whenever you’re thinking about using a new product or service, online customer reviews can go a long way toward letting you know what you might reasonably expect (this is why consumer advocacy websites like HighYa exist!).

And at least in this aspect, it seems like Vroom has overwhelmingly positive feedback from their customers, who generally claim that the process was super easy and hassle-free.

However, if you’re dead set on buying or selling a car solely online, remember that Vroom isn’t the only game in town, so it’s important to research all your options in advance (you’re already off to a great start!).

Comparatively, Vroom certainly seems to have some unique advantages (such as flat-free $499 nationwide shipping, which could save you hundreds compared to other options), but only you can decide whether or not this will translate into a better experience.

» For Further Reading: 6 Most Popular Used Car Buying Websites: A Comprehensive Guide

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

95 Consumer Reviews for Vroom

Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 3 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  71
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 95
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Gave them 4 chances to get the first step right.

    • Arizona,
    • Feb 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vroom sounded great in theory (simple, fast, and eliminates annoying sales tactics/negotiating), but completely failed. They sent me incorrect paperwork FOUR times. The dollar amounts for each charge in their digital contracts seemed to change from page to page, as if there isn't technology that allows you to enter a value in one location and then have it auto-populate elsewhere. There were versions of my contract in which my last name was completely butchered, the financed amount was completely off, and more.

    With that said, if you choose to use this service, TRIPLE CHECK your paperwork BEFORE signing anything! Check their math. At one point, they even sent me SOMEONE ELSE'S contract with all of THEIR personal and financial information included. Seriously?

    When I finally spoke to a manager, he offered to waive their $500 delivery fee in an attempt to compensate. He could have offered to waive double or triple that amount, and I STILL would have walked away. This level of unprofessionalism and inconsistency would make me nervous with any purchase, let alone with a transaction that's worth thousands and thousands of dollars. In fact, that's the only reason I'm bothering to write a review in the first place. After all of this, I ended up going right back to the dealerships I was initially so excited to avoid.

    I will concede to the following points:

    1) They offered more for my trade-in than I had seen anywhere else.

    2) The $500 I put down to reserve the car while completing paperwork was refundable. Yay.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Isha - thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're sorry to hear about your experience. Please know - this is not typical. We have shared your comments with our management team to investigate and correct any issues with our process. Thanks for your interest and we're sorry we couldn't help you out. The Vroom Team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Waste of time

    • Texas,
    • Feb 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Offering $400 for a $4000 vehicle. A total waste of time entering the information. Joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 13, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi- thanks for reaching out. We're sorry you weren't happy with your appraisal price. We may have connected on another review site already but given the large discrepancy, we suggest you reach out to appraisals@vroom.com and let our team know what we might be missing about your vehicle to have such a large discrepancy in value. They'd be happy to explain the reason for our pricing or adjust if there's been a miscommunication. Thanks - the Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do not recommend Vroom

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I do not recommend Vroom. I purchased a 2015 Toyota Corolla and from the start the transaction was flawed. The quote I received the sales rep "forgot" some fees and shipping costs, despite discussing this in detail. I contracted to purchase the vehicle and received two sets of different paperwork. It was very confusing, and trying to get clear communication from just one person in a timely manner was a joke. I signed all the paperwork and provided them a $500 deposit via credit card.

    Then they started hounding me for payment. I signed the paperwork at 4:40 pm on a Monday, I had the cashier's check in the mail to them at 4:45 pm, they received it at 9:00 am the next morning. I told them I was paying cash, I paid them in full with a cashiers check, but they kept referring to my "lien." Once the "lien" is set up, we will call you back. Despite telling them at least four separate times I already sent you a cashiers check with payment in full, there is NO lien.

    I have a family member who is an attorney, I had to have them get on the phone with Vroom to once and for all get them to acknowledge my cashiers check, which scared the crap out of me that I was getting scammed! THEN...three separate times I had to provide proof of insurance documentation. It seems like the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing at Vroom. All this while, my car is paid in full and it's sitting in Texas with no ETA on when it will even ship. It's now been a week since they received my check and they are just now telling me they will contact me when they find a truck to ship the car. Good customer service doesn't include hounding someone for payment and then taking their time to deliver on their product.

    The car is traveling about 900 miles to get to me, they are telling me 1-2 days to find a transport truck and 7-14 days to get to me! They charged me $499 for shipping, and now I have to possibly wait two more weeks to receive my car? There is ZERO sense of urgency with Vroom. They deposited my check, are earning interest on MY money and I have no car. Had I known this process, I would have NEVER bought from Vroom. I don't feel the price I paid for the car provides any value for the hassle. In hindsight, I could have bought local and with the added cost of having to use a rental car for nearly three weeks until the car arrives, I would have come out about even in cost.

    Until Vroom starts to really take some of the burdens out of car shopping, I wouldn't recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 18, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Michael - thanks for the detailed feedback. This is obviously not how we wanted your experience to go. We're sharing your feedback with our team and appreciate your patience. If we can help you with anything at this point, please email us at feedback@vroom.com with the full name and phone # used for purchase and we'll escalate your concerns to our team. Thanks - the Vroom team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worst car buying experience EVER!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I started working with Vroom mid-December and purchased a Lexus GS 350. I was a little skeptical because we have never purchased a car online before, but we decided to try it out to save money and bypass the haggle at the dealership. As most of the reviews indicate, the initial phone call and follow up before the exchange of money was very simple, but as most have indicated, after the purchase everything went downhill. We spoke with the same person before purchasing the car, but after we purchased the car, we talked to multiple reps. None of them communicate with each other and supervisors are non-existent.

    Vroom states within their agreement to deliver your car within 14 days. We had hoped to get our car before Christmas but got an e-mail stating that they were "prepping our car." A few days after Christmas we got another email stating that they were still "prepping our car." When we called after the holidays to find out what they were "prepping," no one could tell us.

    On December 31st, two days before the end of the 14-day period, we called again to find out when our car would be delivered and no one had a clue. The customer service rep stated that she would ask the inspection department. By the end of the day, she had not gotten a response. At this point, we were told that the office was closed on January 1st but it was possible that our car would be shipped on January 2nd.

    On January 2nd we called back and was told that our car was being "buffed." There was still no indication as to when our car was to be shipped. I am no dummy and know that "buffing" does not take a day. We were beyond frustrated at this point by the lack of urgency and no answers. We told the rep we spoke with that we were at our 14th day. We asked if they would pay for our rental and they only offered us $100 and still no indication as to when our car would be sent.

    I should mention at this point that this was a CASH purchase, so Vroom was not financing the deal. They had all of the money for the car. We asked for our money back and they did not try to pursue the sale AT ALL! They started prepping an email to facilitate the return of our money offering us nothing in return. We could never escalate to a supervisor. They could care less about the sale. How could any company that wants to be profitable send back CASH when you have a sale with CASH in hand? I could not believe it. They sent the money back within 24 hours and the car has been reposted to this website. It could have been SOLD!

    I should mention that if you deal with this company, you may want to be prepared to wait 3-5 weeks to get your car as ours was not delivered as they promised. You should also know that if you ask for your money back, your bank may put a hold on your funds so you will be held up another 2-3 weeks if you want to purchase another vehicle. We went elsewhere and are happy with our purchase. I will encourage all of my friends and family to do the same. This company has a long way to go with their customer service so don’t say you were not warned. This was by far, the worst car buying experience I have ever had!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 18, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi R.G. - thanks for the detailed feedback. We did experience delays in our factory over the holidays and apologize we were not able to get your vehicle to you in a timely manner. We are working to improve many aspects of our service and appreciate the ongoing feedback from customers like you. We're glad you found a vehicle that works for you. If there's anything else we can do for you at this point, please let us know. The Vroom team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Unresponsive, incorrect contracts, hassle buyback and missing trade in title

    • Colorado,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the beginning, I had so much trouble getting ahold of anyone that could get me straight answers about a vehicle. From vacation time to no one working on the weekend, it took from first contact on 12/17/18 to 1/5/19 JUST to get me the correct paperwork with the correct figures on it. I got a bad feeling about everything once my car was on its way, so I decided to cancel the deal while in transit on 1/6/19 before they took my currently owned car away.

    Vroom expected me to sign contracts within 24 hours of getting them and to overnight my signed title to them for trade in. However, once I canceled my deal before they could take ownership of my trade-in, they have taken their time with my title. I still don't know where it is, and customer service gives me the same answer that "buybacks take time." The thing is, I don't have their car, and they don't have mine. So why is it so difficult to locate a title that no longer legally belongs to Vroom, and put it in the mail?

    When a company requests you to do things urgently when making money but does not take this same urgency in getting things back to you of importance, like a signed title, it undermines any reliability that they care about customers. The bottom line comes first.

    To top it off, after three different discussions with different people, I STILL have not received my $500 refundable car hold back.

    So when Vroom says that it makes car buying easy, I would say go down the street to a real person in a dealership and drive away with a car you've seen, versus spending weeks on the phone and email just trying to get your life back straight again because you want to return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 18, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Molly - thanks for the feedback. We're disappointed to hear about your experience and apologize we haven't lived up to our promise. If you can email us at feedback@vroom.com with the name and phone number used for purchase, we can have someone reach out about the title of your status and refund. Thanks - the Vroom team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Wholesale cars at retail.

    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wholesale cars for retail prices. If it's not hard to find, buy it from a local dealer. I bought a 2017 Wrangler from Vroom that was a special edition and kind of hard to find. Slow to respond or ship. Kept saying the vehicle was still in the inspection process.

    The vehicle was delivered 15 days after I wired the money, so not too bad, but I went and met the driver after dark on the side of the road and the driver wanted me to try and inspect that it had no damage. It was covered in road grime (okay I get it was trailered), and leftover wax where it looks like a 5-year-old waxed it. It did have a large ding in the paint on the hood that I would have never seen in the dark. The gas light was on and on E, so I had to find a gas station before I could even take home. Lights on the dash for all the tires were way low on pressure. An inspection was the last thing that was done. Sticky cup holders, etc., 7,993 miles on it and the tires had never been taken off to rotate, nor do we think the oil had even been changed from the factory.

    With the one key and no floor mats, it was about $560 at the dealership to get it right and driveable. Buying from a regular dealer, you can assure to pay the same price and have a vehicle ready to go. If it was not hard to find I would for sure send it back! Oh, I also left a message for customer support and never returned calls!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 18, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Wade - thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. We're sorry to hear about the issues you've had and are working on improving our process to address all of them. We're disappointed to hear you had trouble hearing back from our customer service team and have asked the team to look into and reach out if they haven't already. Again, we apologize for the issues and hope you enjoy the Wrangler going forward. The Vroom team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Good prices, terrible service!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm posting the same review on numerous sites because I know buyers might look in different places for info on a company. I find Vroom would only be appropriate for a person who has done all the research and knows exactly what they want and can handle a sight unseen, limited info car. They also must be patient enough to wait for delivery. My delivery was quick, it arrived within ten days of sending all the final paperwork, I have no complaints in that area.

    I bought my car through them because they happened to have the exact car I was looking for. I could only find two others nationwide, and Vroom was the lowest price even with paying for shipping. The only info I had on the car was the listing, and what I found through a VIN search on Google, I couldn't get any more info despite sending emails with questions. My car had no spare key, a missing navigation card, and a missing wheel lock key. I have to replace all those myself.

    The car arrived with a very dirty exterior. There was a sticker on the back window that left two huge adhesive/paper lines, it took Goo Gone, time, and a razor blade to remove it all. I couldn't even see out of the windows and had to wash before driving. The interior was fine though. I understand this is what you get with this type of buying and it was shipped from Texas to California, but finding a way to get the car delivered at least a bit clean would make a better impression.

    My one real complaint was that the car arrived with a missing nav card, all the packaging was there, but it was empty. When I requested information, I received a curt reply with the original listing stating navigation was not listed. I knew it wasn't listed, but it's standard on the car trim level and every feature is not listed, I thought it might have been misplaced or something. The reply was lacking in tact, it irked me a great deal and left me with a bad taste in my mouth. A better response would have made a huge difference in how I feel about this company.

    There is also no inspection paperwork. They state they do a 126-point inspection, but I have no paperwork that it was inspected at all. Ultimately, I got the car I wanted at a very good price. It worked for me because I knew exactly what I wanted. If someone finds the car they want and doesn't need help, the prices are good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 18, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Linda - thanks for the feedback. We're sorry you had some issues with your experience. I believe our team communicated with you on another review site but please let me know if there's anything we can help you with at this point. Thanks - the Vroom team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Had my doubts...

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took a chance with Vroom after reading all the reviews online. It wasn’t an easy decision, but simple and quick once I decided to go for it. I was skeptical, and bought a truck that could have been a complete mess. The process was quick, easy, and very convenient. I am in the DFW area, the truck showed up four days after receiving the inspection email. The truck was immaculate on the inside and out, very clean with a full tank of gas. I traded in my Honda Civic, which they gave me a higher price on than anyone else would offer.

    So far the truck has been great, and the service was great as well. Anthony helped me complete the deal, and Audrey the hub manager called multiple times to verify everything was going well with my purchase. I’m not sure if it will work out the same for you, but give them a chance. I’m glad I did, and some of the older reviews seem like it could have been from older management.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Brandon, we are very happy you gave us a chance and that we could exceed your expectations. It's great to hear you are enjoying your new truck. We hope you will consider us again in the future. - Vroom Team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good idea, poor execution

    • Illinois,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really wanted to like this process of avoiding a dealership. Zero communication after initial purchase communication. Pickup was listed as 4wd, but then after delivery was discovered it wasn’t (Silverado 2500HD Duramax with lift, one would assume it’s 4wd). I called to return, after that phone call I received no responses to emails or calls. I just happened to look out my window one morning before going to the office and saw a car hauler pull up. No heads up at all, if I hadn’t been home, I’m sure this process would be taking even longer. So now 30 days from the start of the process I still don’t have a truck and also don’t have my $10,000 down payment. I received notice mid last week from the lender that the loan was canceled. Every time I’ve called about the return status the two people that handle returns aren’t working. They don’t work weekends and don’t even work some weekdays according to one customer service rep. So if you get lucky and get the vehicle you thought you were buying and don’t have to do a return, it might be ok.

    Timeline:

    11/26 - initiated purchase.

    11/28 - received initial documents.

    11/30 - received additional documents.

    11/30 - wired funds.

    12/10 - vehicle delivered.

    12/12 - requested return vehicle was improperly listed as 4wd.

    12/18 - vehicle was picked up by the driver with no prior notice I just happened to be home.

    12/26 -still no refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 2, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Joshua - thanks for providing your feedback. This is obviously not the experience we want to deliver and we're sorry for the situation. If you are still in need of assistance, we'd like to help. Please email the full name and phone # used for purchase to feedback@vroom.com and we'll escalate your concerns. Thanks for your patience - the Vroom team.

    • Jan 27, 2019

      John L.

      To Rachel Mahoney,

      I was considering buying a car from Vroom. After I read these reviews, I will not even consider even looking at your website anymore or surely not buying. You probably should find you a new position somewhere else, because I know eventually you are going to get mentally tired and frustrated for apologizing for Vroom’s management and employee incompetence. Have a nice day and get a new job. I’m sure you are a very nice person.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Buying a car from Vroom was a total nightmare

    Buying a car from Vroom was the worst retail experience of my life. They over promised and under delivered every step of the way. It took me almost a month to get my car as they delayed everything from paperwork to delivery.

    Now, I'm trying to get the car titled and registered in my state and Vroom has also proven to be unknowledgeable on how to even do that. They said they'd handle everything, but in actuality, I have to figure all that out and do it.

    Oh, and hey Don at Vroom, I'm still waiting for you to send me my missing parts and check you said you would weeks ago.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 2, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Christopher - thanks for providing your feedback. We're sorry to hear about these issues and are working to get our timing back on track. It sounds like you may still need some assistance. If that's the case, please email us at feedback@vroom.com with the full name and phone # used for purchase and we'll escalate your concerns. Thanks for your patience. The Vroom team.

    • Jan 4, 2019

      Christopher C.

      Hey Rachel - I am in contact with Vroom all the time. Each time I am told another lie. Don has been nothing but rude and will say anything to get me to go away, even if it's a total fabrication. Vroom is horrible, and you all should be ashamed to work for such a terrible company.

      Instead of wasting your time with Vroom's reputation management, you should be looking for a new job. I can't expect your POS company will last much longer. Thanks for nothing. Chris.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Deceitful time frame

    • Mobile, AL,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I must disclose how disappointed I am as I begin to realize all the negative reviews I have read about Vroom are slowly becoming my own experience. It will be a month long, if not longer, process to get a vehicle. This was a Christmas gift. Now clearly after New Year's. Yesterday all paperwork declared complete and I would get a call. Nothing as of today (same as complaints from others, often three days late). Then I see that when the vehicle has been inspected (a 7-10 day process? For real? No dealer would take two hours for this). I will get another call that will provide a delivery date (7-14 days or more...and many have said more was their experience). Unless buried somewhere in the paperwork, this 10-day wait and leisurely relaxed contact approach gives this process a month. I would NEVER have started this process knowing that. And the salesperson never indicated anything like that.

    You say you record your calls? Read the transcripts. I was led to believe in just a week or little more I would have my vehicle. I've yet to receive my call telling me the process I face. Probably a few more days for that? Allowing Vroom all the cushion to manage sales and delivery at a comfortable pace after the sale is done, and the buyer has no recourse but to type this Customer Service and to provide a review to the various services that do such reviews. Which I fully intend to do once I hit send here. I hope the car is worth the stress of this. These folks are not transparent and forthwith about their business processes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Steven, thanks for taking the time to reach out. We're extremely sorry to hear about this experience. If we can help assist with your purchase in any way, please reach out to feedback@vroom.com with the full name and phone number used for purchase and we will escalate your concerns. Again, we apologize for the situation and looking forward to helping resolve it.

      The Vroom Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 95

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review