About Vroom

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jul 2, 2018

If you've purchased a car recently—especially a used one, you know the current system is undeniably broken.

On the one hand, you can go to a dealer, where you’ll probably be met with high pressure selling tactics along with inflated prices.

On the other hand, you can avoid this by going through a private seller, although this can bring about issues surrounding quality and condition.

To address this, several companies have recently come online, one of which is Vroom. Founded in 2014, Vroom helps customers buy quality pre-owned vehicles online, with transparent pricing, no salesperson to haggle with, and a 7-day in-home test drive.

Vroom customers can also obtain a competitive cash offer in minutes for their existing vehicles.

Taken together, Vroom claims to have more than 250,000 satisfied customers, with over 3,000 cars among 400+ makes and models currently available.

But, whether you’re looking to buy or sell a car, does this necessarily mean they’re the right option for you? Are there other considerations you should keep in mind before using Vroom.com?

We’ll help you find some answers, starting with how the Vroom website works.

How to Use the Vroom Website

Buying a Car on Vroom.com

You’ll start by entering a related keyword on the Vroom website, or by searching for a specific make and model, body type, price, year, and/or mileage. Then, you’ll see pictures of matching vehicles, along with each one’s year, make, model, trim level, mileage, and price.

Find one you like? Clicking on the vehicle’s image will take you to its homepage. There, you can view its Carfax report, additional pictures, features, options, specifications, and fees. You can also estimate your monthly payment.

If you’re ready to proceed, clicking the Get Started button will begin the purchasing process (we’ll talk more about financing options below). Then, according to Vroom, they’ll “verify your identity, confirm details, and provide you with paperwork” in a matter of minutes. Or, you can place a 24-hour hold on the vehicle.

After purchasing, Vroom will deliver the vehicle directly to your door and will handle several essential details, including filing title transfer paperwork with your local DMV.

Selling or Trading Your Car Into Vroom

On the other hand, if you’re looking to sell your car to Vroom, you can begin the free appraisal process by uploading pictures of your car, along with necessary information like the VIN, trim, mileage, condition, history, and aftermarket additions.

Within 30 minutes or less (during business hours), you’ll receive a guaranteed, no-obligation cash offer through your inbox, which will be valid for seven days or 250 additional miles. If you accept their offer, Vroom will direct deposit the funds directly into your bank account within three business days, while handling the finer details.

If you’re interested in selling your existing car to Vroom and also purchasing your next vehicle from them (i.e., trading it in), you can apply the value of your trade-in to your purchase or down payment, which the company claims could help you “potentially save thousands in sales tax.”

From a transportation perspective, you can arrange for one of Vroom’s drivers to pick up your vehicle for free at a mutually agreeable time and location within the lower 48 states, or you can receive a check on the spot by delivering your vehicle to one of their retail stores located in the greater Dallas, TX and Houston, TX metro regions.

Now, what kinds of vehicles will you find through Vroom? What are their stipulations? If you’re looking to sell, will your car pass muster?

What Are Vroom’s Vehicle Requirements?

The Vroom website explains their vehicles are sourced from auctions, fellow dealers, and privates sellers. From a quality perspective:

“It starts with our stringent selection process. We only sell cars and trucks with clean titles and accident-free Auto Check [and CARFAX®] vehicle history reports. Every Vroom vehicle must also pass multiple inspections for safety, mechanical, and cosmetic issues before it is sold. If a vehicle does not meet our strict retail standards, we do not list the vehicle for sale on our website. We also provide current information regarding open safety recalls.”

Additional Coverage That Vroom Offers

Vroom Protect

Although the company emphasizes that most of the vehicles sold through their site are still covered under their original manufacturer’s warranties, they offer a four-level Vehicle Service Protection (VSP) plan called Vroom Direct.

Less applicable deductibles, this is said to provide protection against “unexpected expenses” for up to 10 years or 120,000 miles for mechanical repairs (including parts and labor in some instances), along with 24-hour roadside assistance (e.g., battery service, flat tire and lockout assistance, fuel and fluid delivery, etc.).

» Related: Do You Need an Extended Auto Warranty: 4 Questions to Ask

Additional options include trip interruption coverage, as well as towing and rental car reimbursement, all of which is transferable to a new owner if you sell your vehicle for a small fee.

Vroom GAP Protection

If your vehicle is declared a total loss, but the insurance company offers less than you owe on your loan, GAP coverage can help make up the difference.

Specifically, Vroom’s GAP coverage promises to waive covered losses up to $50,000, on vehicles valued up to $150,000. In some instances, it could it provide up to $1,000 to help cover your insurance deductible.

In general, the company recommends GAP coverage for vehicles financed for more than 70% of their purchase price, and/or for more than 36 months.

How Does Vroom Stack Up Against the Competition?

Remember how we talked about the increasing popularity of websites like Vroom above? If you’re looking for a new way to buy, you’ve got more options than ever, including Carvana and Beepi. Sure, each of these companies markets themselves differently, but are there any real-world differences between them?

Vroom vs. Beepi

If you're looking to sell your car, Beepi seems to have a more involved process than Vroom. How? Because, before giving you an offer, Beepi sends one of their inspectors to your home, so they can personally certify that it meets their guidelines. Since Vroom doesn't do this, we might imagine instances where things don't go as planned (e.g., the car is in worse shape than expected, or otherwise doesn't meet their guidelines), but only after most of the process is complete.

On the other hand, Beepi also charges a 3-9% fee for selling vehicles, while Vroom appears to be free, other than the initial deposit. Beepi doesn’t appear to charge for deliveries, and you’ll receive a 10-day trial period with all newly purchased vehicles.

Finally, Beepi is only available in CA and NV, while Vroom appears to service customers nationwide.

Vroom vs. Carvana

Carvana also submits each of their vehicles to a detailed inspection process (150 points, to be exact), and pulls an AutoCheck report to check for previous accidents.

After purchasing a vehicle through Carvana, they’ll ship your vehicle for free if you live within 100 miles of their Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, although it’ll cost you $199 if you live between 100 and 250 miles of these hubs. If you’re outside this radius, then you’ll have to choose a third-party delivery method.

Like Vroom, Carvana also offers a 7-day trial for all new vehicle purchases.

How Much Does Vroom Cost?

Signing up for an account on Vroom.com is entirely free; just enter your information, or sign up using your Facebook or Google credentials.

Vroom’s Deposit Requirements

If you decide to place a 24-hour hold on a Vroom vehicle, you’ll be charged a $500 deposit. At this same time, the company will send you a contract that needs to be signed and returned within 24 hours.

If you choose not to purchase the vehicle or if you don’t return the contract within this timeframe, this money is fully refundable.

Financing and Other Vroom Payment Options

When you’re ready to make a full commitment, you can use your own financing, or you can use one of the company’s 15 financing partners—Capital One, Ally, TD Bank, and SunTrust, to name just a handful—to help you get the best rates. Their website advertises you can apply online in as few as five minutes. (Note: this is a hard credit inquiry and will likely impact your score.)

If you finance through Vroom, not only might this save you time (according to their FAQ) by possibly not requiring you to visit a “bank branch to sign the loan document and additional documents,” by they’ll also “register your vehicle on your behalf and mail your registration and plates to you” (once prepared by the DMV).

Additional payment options include cash, cashier’s check, certified check, money order, bank wire, and bank draft (for specific lenders). Customers can pay up to $1,000 using a credit card, but only for deposits, down payments, and other sale items.

All vehicles come with free nationwide shipping and a 7-day (or 250 miles) test drive, which begins once yours is delivered to you. Don't like your car? Call Vroom, and they'll have someone come to pick it up at no charge. Just keep in mind that if you traded a vehicle in as part of the process, you wouldn't be able to get it back.

Picking Up Your Vroom Vehicle

Transportation-wise, Vroom charges a flat $499 rate ($799 for an enclosed trailer) to ship a vehicle anywhere within the contiguous 48 states, regardless of the make, model, or value. Compared to the deposit, however, this money is non-refundable.

Alternately, customers are welcome to pick their vehicle up in-person from their location near Houston, TX.

Vroom Warranties and Other Extended Coverage

Newly purchased Vroom vehicles come with a 90-day/30,000 mile no-worry warranty and a year of free 24/7 roadside assistance. Most are still covered under the manufacturer’s warranty, although additional coverage can be purchased directly through Vroom at the time of sale.

Includes essential features like towing, roadside assistance, battery service, flat tire assistance, fuel and other liquids (oil, water), lockout assistance, and a 5-year maximum term, although is transferable to a new owner for a $30 fee. Conditions apply, so check with a customer service rep if you have specific questions.

Again, while the majority of Vroom’s cars are said to be still under their manufacturer’s original warranty, the company offers a limited warranty 90 days or 6,000 miles on all new purchases. They also come with one year of 24-hour, nationwide roadside assistance.

Vroom’s customer service department can be reached at (855) 524-1300.

A Look at the Consumer Reviews of Vroom

As of our most recent update, 60 HighYa readers provided their feedback about Vroom, giving the company an average rating of about 1.6 stars. Common complaints related to less-than-stellar customer service, support, and delivery experiences, while compliments frequently referenced ease of use and competitive pricing.

On Yelp, more than 120 reviewers had given the company a slightly higher average rating of about 2.5 stars, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

In most of these instances, a representative from Vroom personally responded to complaints.

From a company perspective, Vroom had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on nearly 50 customer reviews and more than 60 closed complaints. These complaints referenced everything between undisclosed accidents to unresponsive customer service.

Should You Use Vroom to Buy or Sell a Car?

Whenever you’re thinking about using a new product or service, online customer reviews can go a long way toward letting you know what you might reasonably expect (this is why consumer advocacy websites like HighYa exist!).

And at least in this aspect, it seems like Vroom has overwhelmingly positive feedback from their customers, who generally claim that the process was super easy and hassle-free.

However, if you’re dead set on buying or selling a car solely online, remember that Vroom isn’t the only game in town, so it’s important to research all your options in advance (you’re already off to a great start!).

Comparatively, Vroom certainly seems to have some unique advantages (such as flat-free $499 nationwide shipping, which could save you hundreds compared to other options), but only you can decide whether or not this will translate into a better experience.

» For Further Reading: 6 Most Popular Used Car Buying Websites: A Comprehensive Guide

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

77 Consumer Reviews for Vroom

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  59
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 77
Sort reviews by:

  • Pretty good experience

    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was utterly concerned after reading all these posts. I had recently signed and send the funds to purchase a car through Vroom, and didn’t hear from them in days. So I started checking reviews online and got me so concerned! Although it would have been the responsible and smart thing, thank goodness I didn’t do so prior to doing business with them since it would have probably been enough for me to not get my car.

    It’s true that the delivery did take almost two weeks, but it was delivered in their scheduled timeframe of 14 days. After the inspection was finalized and they arranged for transportation, I was notified every day via email and phone of the progress. The driver called me an hour before approaching to the pickup location, which was at a mall parking, conveniently located near me since he did bring the car on a large flatbed and needed the extra space. The car was delivered in the mentioned condition, although understandably dirty due to it being hauled from Houston to Chicago. The car was missing the rear wheel caps, possibly forgotten when changing the brand new tires it came with. An email with pictures to the support team was all it took to apologize for that, and they immediately ordered them and will send asap.

    My reimbursement for the lost title which I had to pay for was also processed once they received it after getting it from the DMV. Up to this point, I have nothing negative to say about Vroom; it's an easy process, amicable customer service, sale, support, and delivery. I am happy with my car and will definitely spread the word about my good experience. Thank you Vroom!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The worst dealership for customer service on the planet

    • Florida,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This has got to be the worst online dealership on the planet. They are great selling you a car but if it has any issues they just do not want to know. I tried for weeks to try and get a return phone call by a manager but they just ignore you. You can wait months for registration documents. After 14 calls and ignored emails, I gave up. Don’t be scammed by this company. It is better to go to a brick-and-mortar dealership where you can call in and resolve issues. Spend those few dollars more. A total frustrating experience dealing with Vroom. I will never buy another car from them again. Buyers beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible follow up

    • Michigan,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great cars at fair prices, but their follow up on getting the papers and plate to you is horrid. Eight weeks and I still don’t have a plate. My temporary one runs out tomorrow. Now I can’t drive a vehicle that I paid $50k for. This is the second time they have messed up the paperwork. I will not use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 10, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Hi Adam, thanks for providing your feedback. We're sorry to hear about the issues with your paperwork. While this process can take some time, we never want a customer unable to drive their vehicle. We will escalate your concerns to our titling team to get a status. We apologize for the inconvenience.

      The Vroom team

    • Oct 13, 2018

      Kanique S.

      This company absolutely horrible. I bought the car in March, and I have yet to receive anything as far as my Indiana plates or the refund I was promised. My temporary plates are set to expire again tomorrow. That means I won’t be able to drive to work or take my kids to kids to school/daycare until I get another set. I’ve been getting the runaround about getting plates and getting the runaround about getting my refund for the difference between Indiana and Texas taxes. I would never ever recommend getting a car from this company. You will have better luck with Carvana.

    • Oct 16, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Hi Kanique, we're sorry to hear about these issues. While titling and registration can take some time as we work with each DMV, this is unacceptable. We have escalated your inquiry to our team to have them reach out and resolve. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

      The Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Where's my truck

    I found what I wanted. I liked the price. They low balled me on my trade, but I found what I wanted, so I accepted.

    It has now been 11 days since my purchase has been completed and I have received not so much as an email. I have called daily since day seven hit and only get vague answers or blatant lies. The last update was my beautiful truck needed a "part," but they could not tell me what part it was waiting for. I was also told that my truck would arrive "around Monday-Wednesday, September 24-26," which was clearly another lie as it has not shipped and they can't tell the future or when the "part" would arrive.

    I will very likely refuse delivery if I suspect that there is an issue whatsoever with the vehicle. I am still waiting for a response from ANYBODY. I have been told that they will "Get back to me and update me" for days now.

    They don't care about you once they have your money. In this case, they have $45,000 of my money. Why should they care if they have already been paid, right? The worst experience by far so far. It will take an act of God to change my mind at this point.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 10, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Hi Chris, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. This is obviously not how we wanted your experience with Vroom to go. I checked with our team and it sounds like you've decided to return the vehicle. If there's anything we can do to help you with the process, please let us know. Again, we apologize for any issues and please know we are working to improve our process based on feedback from customers like you.

      The Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I hope the vehicle moves faster than they do

    • North Carolina,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 2013 Toyota Sienna minivan with low miles and all the options I wanted near the end of August 2018. The FedEx package with the purchase documents arrived on August 24, and I FedExed them back along with my down payment that same day. After that, the experience deteriorated. I was told by my sales associate that the vehicle would be delivered no later than two weeks and that most vehicles would be delivered in less time than that. We're here on September 13, 2018, and not only do I not have the vehicle, but I have no idea when I'm going to get it.

    They have moved goalposts on me by first saying no, not two weeks, but rather fourteen business days. Then it became fourteen business days from the receipt of my bank's payment. Still no vehicle or delivery date. Every time I call, they try to tell me it's undergoing a quality inspection to make sure it meets the high standards of yadda, yadda, yadda. It's been undergoing a quality inspection now for over ten days.

    I called twice yesterday and was told each time the individual would send an email to somebody and follow up with me. Never happened. The only thing I've gotten so far is an email from somebody with delivery support asking if I'm in the Hurricane Florence evacuation zone - I'm not. If they were even partially on the ball, they'd realize that my delivery address was not in the zone. If they were anywhere near the ball, let alone on it, they'd be able to tell me sorry, we can't ship a vehicle to North Carolina until this hurricane passes, expect it on Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday. Nope. Bunch of hooey about that neverending quality inspection - this is a Toyota, not a Yugo, so it shouldn't take this long - and then an empty promise to follow up. Meanwhile, I'm paying for insurance on The Invisible Minivan, and my first payment is coming due on October 1st.

    I've given them two stars ONLY because I expect at some point to receive the van I was sold. If that happens, it will be a great vehicle for a fair price. I'm teetering on the brink of one star, though, because that's the level of customer service you're going to experience from these people once they have your money. Spend a little extra, support your local economy and buy from a local dealership. At least you'll leave with a vehicle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good but not great...yet

    • Texas,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This dealership needs some work to be great! They need chat options online. Their contracts require an arbitration clause! They don't provide an online tracking when your auto is being delivered. They don't have a client online dashboard.

    My auto had minor damage to the lower deflector. Sales person never followed up after the sale. They would not negotiate the price.

    They would not provide me with any inspection results even though they say they check all these items. Too cookie cutter.

    I paid for a third party inspection (highly recommended), and they found a fairly serious steering issue that took over two weeks to fix at the dealer. They blamed it on that dealer, but the dealer had the auto for six days, so it took Vroom over a week to bring the auto to service.

    Oil was at 11% and 1/8 fuel tank.

    One thing you have to be careful of is when you buy a particular trim it may not always have all the options that trim would typically have IF the auto was originally purchased through a rental company because they can order autos with less features. Always ask about all the features!

    Ok, here is the good:

    I got a good deal on the auto I purchased. I got an almost fair trade in price. I was able to email the salesperson.

    Luis Williamson was my rep. All and all, he did a pretty good job. He helped to find a decent interest rate (same as my 3rd party approval). Pretty good communication.

    The concept of online sales of autos and delivery, I like a lot and endorse, but Vroom has some obvious shortcomings.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 17, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Hi Adrian, thank you for your detailed feedback. While we're happy to hear you had a solid sales experience and got a good deal on your vehicle, we're obviously not happy to hear other aspects of our process fell short. We are constantly working to improve our products and services and are actively working on each and every area you've commented on. We appreciate your comments and your patience. We hope that you enjoy your car. Please let us know if there's anything we can help with in the future.

      The Vroom team

    • Sep 26, 2018

      Richard I.

      Adrian, you seem to have a similar experience as me, where it hasn't been bad, but not great, and it comes down to what happens next. I had my vehicle inspected after delivery by the manufacturer-dealer (BMW) and identified a few issues. My question is for your issues, did Vroom do anything for you to remediate or did they leave you with a slightly worse condition car than expected? I'm giving them the opportunity to make things right. I emailed them twice now with the list. Some of it being mechanical leaks and another being undisclosed body damage that I also got inspected by a reputable body shop.

    • Oct 10, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Hi Richard, we are sorry to hear that you too are having an issue. It sounds like you are in touch with our customer service team. If there's anything we can do to expedite your inquiries, please let us know.

      The Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Worst dealership ever. Don't buy from Vroom!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst dealership. You will do everything quickly, but they will take their sweet time. None of their deadlines matter at all. Any time they quote you on receiving your car, you’re not going to get it. I contacted them on August 14, 2018, and they told me they were going to check my credit and send it to multiple companies. In fact, they took my credit information and gave it to multiple companies so that I had three hard inquiries on my credit in the same day. This dropped my credit rating from 752 to 700.

    Then I was told I needed to send back documents within 24 hours. I got their loan documents in 48 hours, and I specifically told them that if they get them to me the next day, I will have them done, but I was leaving town the following day. They, of course, sent it to me the following day when I was out of town. I came back, I rushed, and I sent them everything. Now I should get my car right? Nope. Anyone that you talk to when they’re selling you the car will say: "We just say two weeks, but you’ll get it much sooner than that."

    That is BS, do not believe anyone when they tell you that at Vroom. It’s a straight up lie. So I get organized on my end and get my car insurance set up. I am rearranging my schedule and my work schedule according to their delivery schedule. I’m not selling my old car because, of course, I need it while I wait for this car. I’m sitting and just waiting. I have received multiple emails confirming my delivery date, saying that the vehicle is on the way, however, then I get a phone call saying that unfortunately some driver's truck broke down or something happened and they are very sorry.

    I got a 45-day reprieve to start making my loan payments. My first loan payment is due on September 29th, but today is September 7th and I still do not have my car. If I had gone to a dealership, I could have been driving around the car for 45 days without worrying about a payment. That did not happen with them.

    I was supposed to receive it on the 8th and now I have received a phone call today again telling me that there has been another delay. This company is totally incompetent. Not only can they not get my car to me, I get an email telling me that I need to send them emissions for my vehicle because it’s needed for my state. I check the DMV, and it clearly says any cars newer than 2009 don’t need Emissions. So I sent this information along with the question of how I am supposed to send them emissions when I am not in possession of the vehicle? I got a catty response back somehow making it seem like I didn’t understand the email. The person literally sent me an email telling me that I was missing my emissions. It was the only thing that I was missing, and I needed to get it to them right away!

    Anyway, apparently, now I’m not getting my car anytime soon, my credit has been ruined, and I’m obviously not going to get the full benefit of the warranty that I’m supposed to go. Paying insurance for a car that I don’t have in my possession. Worst experience ever. Do not waste your time, save your money and go to a local dealership.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 17, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Hi Sunny,

      Thank you for your comments. We are extremely sorry for the delays in your delivery. We understand you have decided not to take delivery for your vehicle. If you need any assistance with this process, please let us know. Also, regarding your credit, it is standard that we submit to three lenders. We've never seen a credit score drop as much as you've noted from these three inquiries. You may want to review your inquiries to ensure there was no additional activity. Again, we apologize for the issues you've had and would be happy to help with anything going forward.

      The Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Waiting for refund

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My contract did not deduct the trade or deposit. I asked them for a new contract but it never came. I canceled the transaction and it has been two weeks and numerous phone calls and emails and they still have not refunded my deposit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Hi Lydia, thanks for your feedback. I believe we communicated on another review site but wanted to update you here as well. Your deposit was refunded on 9/4. We apologize for the delay on our end, and we have escalated the issue to our finance team to be addressed. It takes 5-10 business days for the bank to put the funds back on your card. If you do not see the refund in this timeframe, please let us know. Again, we apologize for the issues and thank you for reaching out.

      The Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible! Will never do business with them again or recommend.

    • Gulfport, MS,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased a vehicle and have been waiting for the delivery! The communication on their part is vague, and this is extremely frustrating. If I send over payment, I want what I pay for! Why am I having to wait and get the runaround?!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Hi, thanks for your feedback. We appreciate that you decided to give Vroom a try but are disappointed to hear you are having issues with delivery. We will escalate your situation to our customer service team who can provide clarity and an update on delivery. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience.

      The Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it, stay away

    • Denver, CO,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased my vehicle and got it five days after the 10-14 day promised delivery (I received it on the 21st calendar day, they say 10-14 business days). They called me 30 minutes before they wanted to deliver to me, 24 hours earlier than the date of delivery that they had committed to and had been communicating for five days. On the day of delivery, I had to call them to inquire where my vehicle was, two hours after the driver called to tell me he would be there in 15 minutes. Vroom customer service agent requested that I call her back and give her an update because the driver wouldn't share any information with her! No seriously, that happened? I called her out on it. She gets mad at me? Really?

    It arrived covered in dirt and mud, fine. It was shipped on an open trailer, OK. However, it arrived and was empty of gas (diesel, first one I have owned and not every gas station has diesel, just an FYI.) The Audi dealer vehicle inspection revealed that it needed new engine mounts and rear shocks, a total of $2,600. The Limited 90-day/6,000 mile warranty did not cover the $1,400 rear shock replacement. Additionally, the rear-view camera was not operational, due to not being plugged in (so no additional repair cost, this make me happy). This tells me that their 150-point inspection is complete fiction.

    I will lose $500 to send it back but save myself from a $1,400 repair bill, which their inspection didn't find and you can make the call on this one. I see that sending a vehicle back to them is a nightmare, but I guess I am going to have to just dive right in. My friend cautioned me about buying "the pig in the poke," and now I understand. I would definitely recommend buying from someone you can actually see the vehicle beforehand because Vroom customer service is a complete joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Hi, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your issues with delivery and the needed repairs. We will escalate your situation to our team. It sounds like you decided to take advantage of our 7-day, 250-mile return policy. Please let us know if you need any assistance with this. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

      The Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So glad that I did not buy a car from Vroom

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have read the reviews that warned about poor customer service, especially when it related to money and refunds. I had started the process of buying a car and had put down the standard hold deposit while the paperwork was mailed. In the meantime, I found a much better deal on a better car elsewhere. I contacted the "specialist" to cancel the deal, release the hold, and get the deposit refunded. Easy, right? No. After several days and no response, I contacted the specialist who assured me that everything was being processed and I should see the refund any day.

    More time passes, no response, no refund. Again, I contact the specialist who once again assures me that "everything has been cleared." I am not sure why it has not posted back to your bank. I will call the paperwork team once they are in office in the next hour just to double check what I am seeing. I have never had this issue before with a refund on a hold, and rest assured we are not trying to keep it from you. Again, no further reply and no follow up from the specialist. More days pass. 14 days after I canceled the hold, I get an email saying the refund has been processed and could take another ten days. Unacceptable.

    If you call customer service to inquire about the further delay, they simply say they are sorry and there's nothing they can do. I will never purchase a car from this group, and I am so glad that I did not allow them to handle more than $500 of my money. As of this writing, I still do not have the refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2018

      Rachel Mahoney, VP Marketing

      Thanks for your detailed comments. We are sorry to hear about the delay in returning your deposit. We have escalated your situation to our team to understand what has happened and to ensure your refund is processed as soon as possible. Again, we apologize for the issue. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do.

      The Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 77

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review