Vroom Review: How It Works, Cost, Vroom vs. Carvana

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jul 2, 2018

If you've purchased a car recently—especially a used one, you know the current system is undeniably broken.

On the one hand, you can go to a dealer, where you’ll probably be met with high pressure selling tactics along with inflated prices.

On the other hand, you can avoid this by going through a private seller, although this can bring about issues surrounding quality and condition.

To address this, several companies have recently come online, one of which is Vroom. Founded in 2014, Vroom helps customers buy quality pre-owned vehicles online, with transparent pricing, no salesperson to haggle with, and a 7-day in-home test drive.

Vroom customers can also obtain a competitive cash offer in minutes for their existing vehicles.

Taken together, Vroom claims to have more than 250,000 satisfied customers, with over 3,000 cars among 400+ makes and models currently available.

But, whether you’re looking to buy or sell a car, does this necessarily mean they’re the right option for you? Are there other considerations you should keep in mind before using Vroom.com?

How Vroom Works

Buying a Car on Vroom

You’ll start by entering a related keyword on the Vroom website, or by searching for a specific make and model, body type, price, year, and/or mileage. Then, you’ll see pictures of matching vehicles, along with each one’s year, make, model, trim level, mileage, and price.

Find one you like? Clicking on the vehicle’s image will take you to its homepage. There, you can view its Carfax report, additional pictures, features, options, specifications, and fees. You can also estimate your monthly payment.

If you’re ready to proceed, clicking the Get Started button will begin the purchasing process (we’ll talk more about financing options below). Then, according to Vroom, they’ll “verify your identity, confirm details, and provide you with paperwork” in a matter of minutes. Or, you can place a 24-hour hold on the vehicle.

After purchasing, Vroom will deliver the vehicle directly to your door and will handle several essential details, including filing title transfer paperwork with your local DMV.

Selling or Trading Your Car into Vroom

On the other hand, if you’re looking to sell your car to Vroom, you can begin the free appraisal process by uploading pictures of your car, along with necessary information like the VIN, trim, mileage, condition, history, and aftermarket additions.

Within 30 minutes or less (during business hours), you’ll receive a guaranteed, no-obligation cash offer through your inbox, which will be valid for seven days or 250 additional miles. If you accept their offer, Vroom will direct deposit the funds directly into your bank account within three business days, while handling the finer details.

If you’re interested in selling your existing car to Vroom and also purchasing your next vehicle from them (i.e., trading it in), you can apply the value of your trade-in to your purchase or down payment, which the company claims could help you “potentially save thousands in sales tax.”

From a transportation perspective, you can arrange for one of Vroom’s drivers to pick up your vehicle for free at a mutually agreeable time and location within the lower 48 states, or you can receive a check on the spot by delivering your vehicle to one of their retail stores located in the greater Dallas, TX and Houston, TX metro regions.

Now, what kinds of vehicles will you find through Vroom? What are their stipulations? If you’re looking to sell, will your car pass muster?

What Are Vroom’s Vehicle Requirements?

The Vroom website explains their vehicles are sourced from auctions, fellow dealers, and privates sellers. From a quality perspective:

“It starts with our stringent selection process. We only sell cars and trucks with clean titles and accident-free Auto Check [and CARFAX®] vehicle history reports. Every Vroom vehicle must also pass multiple inspections for safety, mechanical, and cosmetic issues before it is sold. If a vehicle does not meet our strict retail standards, we do not list the vehicle for sale on our website. We also provide current information regarding open safety recalls.”

Additional Coverage That Vroom Offers

Vroom Protect

Although the company emphasizes that most of the vehicles sold through their site are still covered under their original manufacturer’s warranties, they offer a four-level Vehicle Service Protection (VSP) plan called Vroom Direct.

Less applicable deductibles, this is said to provide protection against “unexpected expenses” for up to 10 years or 120,000 miles for mechanical repairs (including parts and labor in some instances), along with 24-hour roadside assistance (e.g., battery service, flat tire and lockout assistance, fuel and fluid delivery, etc.).

» Related: Do You Need an Extended Auto Warranty: 4 Questions to Ask

Additional options include trip interruption coverage, as well as towing and rental car reimbursement, all of which is transferable to a new owner if you sell your vehicle for a small fee.

Vroom GAP Protection

If your vehicle is declared a total loss, but the insurance company offers less than you owe on your loan, GAP coverage can help make up the difference.

Specifically, Vroom’s GAP coverage promises to waive covered losses up to $50,000, on vehicles valued up to $150,000. In some instances, it could it provide up to $1,000 to help cover your insurance deductible.

In general, the company recommends GAP coverage for vehicles financed for more than 70% of their purchase price, and/or for more than 36 months.

How Does Vroom Stack Up Against the Competition?

Remember how we talked about the increasing popularity of websites like Vroom above? If you’re looking for a new way to buy, you’ve got more options than ever, including Carvana and Beepi. Sure, each of these companies markets themselves differently, but are there any real-world differences between them?

Vroom vs. Beepi

If you're looking to sell your car, Beepi seems to have a more involved process than Vroom. How? Because, before giving you an offer, Beepi sends one of their inspectors to your home, so they can personally certify that it meets their guidelines. Since Vroom doesn't do this, we might imagine instances where things don't go as planned (e.g., the car is in worse shape than expected, or otherwise doesn't meet their guidelines), but only after most of the process is complete.

On the other hand, Beepi also charges a 3-9% fee for selling vehicles, while Vroom appears to be free, other than the initial deposit. Beepi doesn’t appear to charge for deliveries, and you’ll receive a 10-day trial period with all newly purchased vehicles.

Finally, Beepi is only available in CA and NV, while Vroom appears to service customers nationwide.

Vroom vs. Carvana

Carvana also submits each of their vehicles to a detailed inspection process (150 points, to be exact), and pulls an AutoCheck report to check for previous accidents.

After purchasing a vehicle through Carvana, they’ll ship your vehicle for free if you live within 100 miles of their Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, although it’ll cost you $199 if you live between 100 and 250 miles of these hubs. If you’re outside this radius, then you’ll have to choose a third-party delivery method.

Like Vroom, Carvana also offers a 7-day trial for all new vehicle purchases.

How Much Does Vroom Cost?

Signing up for an account on Vroom.com is entirely free; just enter your information, or sign up using your Facebook or Google credentials.

Vroom’s Deposit Requirements

If you decide to place a 24-hour hold on a Vroom vehicle, you’ll be charged a $500 deposit. At this same time, the company will send you a contract that needs to be signed and returned within 24 hours.

If you choose not to purchase the vehicle or if you don’t return the contract within this timeframe, this money is fully refundable.

Financing and Other Vroom Payment Options

When you’re ready to make a full commitment, you can use your own financing, or you can use one of the company’s 15 financing partners—Capital One, Ally, TD Bank, and SunTrust, to name just a handful—to help you get the best rates. Their website advertises you can apply online in as few as five minutes. (Note: this is a hard credit inquiry and will likely impact your score.)

If you finance through Vroom, not only might this save you time (according to their FAQ) by possibly not requiring you to visit a “bank branch to sign the loan document and additional documents,” by they’ll also “register your vehicle on your behalf and mail your registration and plates to you” (once prepared by the DMV).

Additional payment options include cash, cashier’s check, certified check, money order, bank wire, and bank draft (for specific lenders). Customers can pay up to $1,000 using a credit card, but only for deposits, down payments, and other sale items.

All vehicles come with free nationwide shipping and a 7-day (or 250 miles) test drive, which begins once yours is delivered to you. Don't like your car? Call Vroom, and they'll have someone come to pick it up at no charge. Just keep in mind that if you traded a vehicle in as part of the process, you wouldn't be able to get it back.

Picking Up Your Vroom Vehicle

Transportation-wise, Vroom charges a flat $499 rate ($799 for an enclosed trailer) to ship a vehicle anywhere within the contiguous 48 states, regardless of the make, model, or value. Compared to the deposit, however, this money is non-refundable.

Alternately, customers are welcome to pick their vehicle up in-person from their location near Houston, TX.

Vroom Warranties and Other Extended Coverage

Newly purchased Vroom vehicles come with a 90-day/30,000 mile no-worry warranty and a year of free 24/7 roadside assistance. Most are still covered under the manufacturer’s warranty, although additional coverage can be purchased directly through Vroom at the time of sale.

Includes essential features like towing, roadside assistance, battery service, flat tire assistance, fuel and other liquids (oil, water), lockout assistance, and a 5-year maximum term, although is transferable to a new owner for a $30 fee. Conditions apply, so check with a customer service rep if you have specific questions.

Again, while the majority of Vroom’s cars are said to be still under their manufacturer’s original warranty, the company offers a limited warranty 90 days or 6,000 miles on all new purchases. They also come with one year of 24-hour, nationwide roadside assistance.

Vroom’s customer service department can be reached at (855) 524-1300.

A Look at the Consumer Reviews of Vroom

As of our most recent update, 60 HighYa readers provided their feedback about Vroom, giving the company an average rating of about 1.6 stars. Common complaints related to less-than-stellar customer service, support, and delivery experiences, while compliments frequently referenced ease of use and competitive pricing.

On Yelp, more than 120 reviewers had given the company a slightly higher average rating of about 2.5 stars, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

In most of these instances, a representative from Vroom personally responded to complaints.

From a company perspective, Vroom had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on nearly 50 customer reviews and more than 60 closed complaints. These complaints referenced everything between undisclosed accidents to unresponsive customer service.

Our Bottom Line: Should You Use Vroom to Buy or Sell a Car?

Whenever you’re thinking about using a new product or service, online customer reviews can go a long way toward letting you know what you might reasonably expect (this is why consumer advocacy websites like HighYa exist!).

And at least in this aspect, it seems like Vroom has overwhelmingly positive feedback from their customers, who generally claim that the process was super easy and hassle-free.

However, if you’re dead set on buying or selling a car solely online, remember that Vroom isn’t the only game in town, so it’s important to research all your options in advance (you’re already off to a great start!).

Comparatively, Vroom certainly seems to have some unique advantages (such as flat-free $499 nationwide shipping, which could save you hundreds compared to other options), but only you can decide whether or not this will translate into a better experience.

» For Further Reading: 6 Most Popular Used Car Buying Websites: A Comprehensive Guide

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 104 Vroom Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 4 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  78
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 104
Sort reviews by:

  • Worst Customer Service EVER

    • Poughkeepsie, NY,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will never buy a car from them again. Their customer service skills lack. They take forever in doing everything except taking your money. Four weeks and still no registration. They move like turtles! I could have driven to Texas, gotten the title and went to my local DMV in a faster time then they breathe. I am so unhappy, I want the car gone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My car "disappeared" during the delivery process

    • Tennessee,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the car. Once we got confirmation that it was being delivered Wednesday before 4 pm (took off work to wait here all day) - we then got told it would be here Thursday between 11 am and 1 pm. That time passed. Then it was pushed to Thursday evening/night. Delivery guy never showed. Friday morning we call, it was supposed to be here by 11 am. Guess what? They CANNOT GET IN TOUCH with the delivery guy and CANNOT TRACK the trailer full of cars! Missed 3 days of work for this. Ended up just canceling the order and requested a refund on the delivery fee. I lost more money missing work than my delivery fee cost me. SUPER UPSET about the entire process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • Denver, CO,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As I started my research on which vehicle to purchase and through which company I would buy from, I came across an endless stream of reviews on Vroom that most all revealed that the company was great at selling and bad at following through. I tend to be a glass is half full guy and decided to give them the benefit and wrote the negative reviews off as people that have too high or unrealistic expectations.

    Vroom does have an impressive fleet of vehicles to choose from, and I found one I really wanted. My purchase experience was exactly like all the reviews. Great sale, no follow through. The vehicle took exactly a month to get to me. Not the 14-day they promised. And I finally had to drive 65 miles each way to pick it up in Denver. The vehicle also had an additional 97 miles that someone drove in that 30 day time. I expressed my concerns several times in weighting with absolutely no response from management.

    I don’t think I would recommend Vroom to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing up until the delivery process

    • Abilene, TX,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received excellent customer service from Terri and Jessica through the purchase process. They were terrific, especially Terri who have an enthusiastic personality and was fun to talk with. The process started and ended in precisely seven calendar days, which is remarkable. It was a great experience up until the delivery process, which was awful. I got my vehicle delivered late, almost close to midnight, and no apology for the inconvenience! Also, it was extremely filthy for something that is expensive. Additionally, I was told to "just sign to accept the car." The delivery men rushed me and did not give me the opportunity to inspect my vehicle before they left. Later, I wanted to leave them negative feedback, but unfortunately, the link didn’t work when it was sent via email.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 19, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Thank you so much for leaving this rating and review! We will be sure to pass along your comments to the team. If you have any questions or concerns please call us! We sincerely value your business and hope to hear from you soon.

      - Vroom Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Vroom salesman lied and stole. Do not send them money. Absolutely a scam!

    • Kealakekua, HI,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a car quote for delivery to Hawaii. I wired the funds. Ten days later they tried to collect another $1,000. I refused to pay as I had paid 100% of the quoted price, which included delivery. I asked for a refund. They said it would take ten days and they would keep $499.

    These guys are scammers!

    Do not give them money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Amarillo, TX,
    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We found a car on Vroom's website that we had been looking all over for. The advertised price was $43,980, which we felt was very fair. We emailed Vroom that evening (it was after hours), and the next morning my husband called them to start the process. When Vroom sent us the deal sheet, the price was marked as $45,500. They marked the price up by $1,500 for no reason other than we showed interest in the vehicle. When we asked for an explanation, they said their marketing team sets prices and that the market supports the new price. They would not honor the original price even though they advertised it hours before we contacted them. The salesperson was named Kelly and she could not have cared less than what they were doing was super shady. She said they made a marketing mistake with the original price and that they sell 150 cars a day so someone would buy it at that price. Very disappointing and super shady. We even had a screenshot of the original price advertised and they just honestly couldn't have cared less. That is very bad business and I would never trust this company to do business with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Texas,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please do not purchase from this company. They send you vehicles with issues prior to your purchase and refuse to fix the items. They wait until your seven day return period has expired before returning your answers to avoid you returning the vehicle.

    I only rated them one star, because you have to rate at least one star.

    I prefer to rate them 0 stars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 29, 2019

      Michael M.

      I appreciate these comments and HighYa leaving them posted (I suspect many supposed reviewing sites remove negative comments, after receiving a "fee" from a company reviewed. That's why I always read Yelp with a grain of salt, they have been known to "rig" comments when a business "advertises" with them, or a company threatens to sue Yelp and the reviewer.)

      Anyway, I ended up at this site when looking for information about Vroom since I was considering buying a car from them. After reading comments like this, I'm going to pass on doing business with them.

      My question was, "who is responsible if a purchased car arrives damaged?" Does Vroom say that's between the shipper and the buyer, or does Vroom guarantee a damage-free car?

      Since Vroom does NOT answer this question on its website, I suspect that Vroom tells the buyer if a car arrives with a dent in the fender, that's between me and the shipper since I am legally the owner, from when the car was driven on to the shipping van.

      That's unacceptable for me. I can understand that Vroom cannot be expected to assume the risk when they don't own the thousands of cars they sell and can't be responsible for the shipper's negligence. But that does NOT mean I should be responsible for shipping damage. That's not a risk I'm willing to take on online shopping for something this expensive, a car I have never seen, nor will I see after plunking down $30,000 cash to perfect strangers, who I am sure have ironclad contracts that say after the car is shipped any problems are my problems.

      And yeah, I can see Vroom dragging out the clock so that the return clock runs out and there I am stuck with a car that has a dented fender, tear in the seat, or chips in the paint.

      P.S. Years ago I had a friend who had her BMW convertible shipped from the west coast to the east coast. It arrived with a hole in the top. The shipping company (a large national mover) said that's the way car was shipped. She showed they were lying because she took pics of the car as it was being loaded. They then simply denied being responsible for the puncture. They refused to cover the claim, even though she had bought the insurance at an additional cost.

      I have never forgotten her story and since Vroom does not address this significant issue on their website (I suspect intentionally), and that its contracts probably shift blame and responsibility to me, I'm not going to buy a car online.

      P.P.S. I also just remembered about someone I knew who bought a collector car on eBay for $50,000. It arrived significantly damaged and thus not as described. The seller blamed the shipper, the shipper blamed the seller, and both seller and shipper said the buyer was a liar, he caused the damage. eBay said its buyer protection did not apply to car sales. At the end of the day, the buyer was out thousands of dollars, the shipper and seller got away without paying a penny.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Arizona,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    BUYER BEWARE!

    Take a moment if you will, and follow along as I tell you my buying experience thus far with Vroom.

    First and foremost, this is not my first automobile buying experience. I’ve purchased other autos, new and used, before at traditional dealerships. I chose Vroom initially because they catered to my demographic. An online purchase, that could be done with ease without having to leave the comfort of my home. I’ve purchased tons of things online before from reputable sites, including the purchase of my current home. I’ve also sold items online, so I made sure to choose a company that I believed to be reputable and had obviously had experience in selling vehicles online. That company I thought was Vroom, but alas I was wrong. Please take some time and read my story, allow me to share with you my car buying experience with Vroom.

    So, in November of 2018 I chose Vroom to purchase my vehicle. I initially applied for appraisal of a vehicle I was looking to trade in/sell. I already knew I could sell this vehicle on the private market for $2,000 to $2,500 but didn’t really want to deal with that hassle, and was obviously willing to take a loss for foregoing having to deal with a private sale. Needless to say, Vroom's appraisal was anything but a small loss, since they only offered me $150.00 cash for said vehicle. I can understand this part of their business model, buy low and turn around and sell to make a profit, and this is not necessarily as to why I am discontent with Vroom, but I wanted to share this part of my experience nonetheless.

    Ten days later I submitted my application for a used vehicle I found on their website. I thoroughly reviewed the pictures they had posted online as well as their Carfax report. I still pulled my own Carfax report to be sure I wasn’t being misled. Both reports matched up, so I was excited to move forward with the purchase. After filling out the application online with all the pertinent credit information, I received a call the next day from Tyler. He was calling to complete the credit application since there was going to be a co-signer on the application. Everything gets verified and he provides the rates and emails them out. We took a day to think over whether we want to complete the purchase and the following day decided we liked the terms and called Tyler to let him know. Obviously, there are documents that need to be signed and returned. Tyler is aware that the co-signer and I didn’t reside in the same city and sets it up so that the docs go to one of us and then gets to the other person and then finally to Vroom.

    This is where it all begins to go downhill. It turns into what can only be described as an episode from The Three Stooges, even though after all this I would probably find them to be more competent at completing this transaction. The initial documents were sent to an address that was non-existent, an address that neither I nor the co-signer gave in the online application or by phone. I realized this because I used the FedEx app to check the tracking number that was given and saw the address after FedEx called me on their failed attempted delivery. I called Vroom, they say they have the info down as whatever sales had written down. This should have been my first red flag since blaming other departments would become a trend. I contacted them and asked for a supervisor, they said none were available and that one would get back to me. I received a voicemail from a supervisor and returned the call three times, leaving a voicemail all three times and never getting a return phone call. Eventually, they corrected the information and they re-did the contract and resent it with the correct address.

    We get the corrected info and this time it is delivered correctly since it does have the correct address. We sign and initial the paperwork and send it back. A couple of days later we get an email saying that one of the documents is missing my initials, so they will resend the lone document for me to initial and return. They sent the document alright, but they sent it to the co-signer instead of to me. I call Vroom and let them know of this situation, so they email prepaid postage so the co-signer can get it sent to me. At that same time, we get notification of the vehicle no longer being held for the sale because we did not return the document within 24 hours, even though it was sent to the wrong person. Once again, I call and request a supervisor, who tells me that once they get the document they will then put a hold on the vehicle. I tell her that the co-signer and I aren’t in the same city so it could be a day before they (Vroom) get the document and obviously someone could purchase the vehicle out from under us. She showed no empathy and could care less, and never provided another alternative. I recommended that if I was able to send her the return tracking number by their time of closing would she then put the vehicle back on hold. I informed her that I took responsibility for the missing initials, but because it was an error on their end for sending the requested document to the wrong person, there should be some leeway. She agreed with my offer, this forced me to have to leave and drive three hours away to were the co-signer was with the document so I could initial it and send it out so the tracking number showed as sent.

    The supervisor had informed me that I just needed to call before 8 pm closing time their time. When I called which would have been thirty minutes before they closed, the recording informed me they actually close at 7 pm. Now, I’m not saying she purposely misinformed me, but the writing is on the wall. Additionally, when I told that same supervisor that I had previously left various voicemails for another supervisor and never received a return call. She stated that the supervisor was on a prolonged absence and that’s why she wasn’t returning my phone call. I used to work as a supervisor for a top 3 insurance company. Anytime any of us took an extended absence we made sure to leave a detailed voicemail regarding that absence with our return date so whoever needed to reach us would know why we would not be returning a phone call. This should have been my second or third red flag.

    Now, we begin the third stage of the process. A process that was started late November has brought us to mid-December. We get notification that everything is approved and we receive a call that the vehicle will be delivered 12/21 between 12-6 pm. So, we wait all day and at 4 pm we receive a call stating that they are four hours away, obviously not within the time frame they said the car would arrive by. At around 10 pm the doorbell rings and the car is here. Before I sign for the car I have to look it over. So, at 10 pm I’m supposed to look over a black car and sign for delivery of it. I sign for it because at the end of the day I know I have 7 days to return it. I wasn’t able to do much with the vehicle since I had to leave for a holiday vacation the next day.

    When I return I take it directly to the dealership to get it thoroughly inspected to make sure I am going to keep the vehicle. Mechanically everything is excellent on the vehicle, the only points of concern are on the back fender where there is a horrible correction paint job, and the rear spoiler glue is becoming undone on the right side. Listen, I get it, it is a used vehicle, so I expected some issues. Where I have a problem is that anybody who has sold something online knows that you always take pictures and or point out the blemishes on the product you are selling, otherwise it looks like a classic bait and switch. Had these blemishes been discussed or pointed out on the website there is a good possibility I would have still purchased the vehicle though maybe tried to haggle the price but Vroom never failed to mentions these deficiencies on their website description or in their pictures.

    It is now February, and obviously I decided to keep the vehicle regardless of its cosmetic defects that I will pay out of pocket to correct. Yet my story and saga are still not done. I contacted Vroom because my temporary registration was about to expire and I still hadn’t received my license plates. I call and speak to Roderick and he asks if I have the vehicle, to which I reply yeah, I’ve had the vehicle since December. He says he doesn’t show a vehicle being delivered to me. I inform him that Ally Bank has already taken out payments for the vehicle so I most definitely have the vehicle. I tell him that at this point I would rather just register the vehicle myself as I can’t really deal with this incompetence anymore. He said I would have to redo the contract again for that to happen. That’s the wrong thing to tell a law student, as nothing in the contract requires that they be the ones who registers the vehicles. He then says that I’ve paid for them to do it. I tell him I could care less if I lose money because I only have a week left of my current registration and they obviously haven’t been able to do anything correctly including registering my vehicle. I’m placed on hold as he speaks to a supervisor and states they will send me new temporary tags and will fill out the registration correctly so they arrive before the temporary tags expire. As of now, I’m still waiting for my permanent tags and plate.

    I understand this is a lengthy review, but I hope you’ve taken the time to read this. As this has been my experience with Vroom. It may have been harder for me to deal with because I used to be a Supervisor for a top 3 insurance company. If there was ever any department that made an error we never placed the blame on them. We owned the error because we were all one company and did whatever we could to make the customer whole whenever WE as a company made a mistake. We also returned our calls promptly when left with a voicemail or left the appropriate voicemail so as to make our customers aware if we were not going to be available. We also provided customers with all the alternative solutions available to them as opposed to having our customers doing our job for us and giving us the solutions. Since at the end of the day we were there to assist them.

    Secondly, if you are going to sell a product online, describe its blemishes, customers understand used vehicles may come with defects, hiding them and not pointing them out only makes the bait and switch theory even more plausible.

    Finally, I would think that a company whose literal job is to sell cars could deal with having a co-signer and sending out documents a) to the correct address and b) to the correct recipients. As well as provide their customers with accurate windows of delivery of their vehicles and register them in the appropriate manner within the appropriate time.

    This experience has been anything but what their "motto" or "mission statement" is. If I had to choose to purchase with Vroom again, my answer would be an emphatic NO! I purchased the vehicle in late November and we are past the middle of February and I’m still dealing with their incompetence. Heed this review as a warning of what you may expect if you chose to buy a vehicle from Vroom. If you do, I wish you luck. I’d personally rather go through Carvana or just put myself through the torture of dealing with a salesman at a dealership. In all honesty, I wouldn’t buy gum from Vroom even if they showed me a picture.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • Texas,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My last car purchase (through SimpleCar.com) experience was excellent and easy, but this experience with Vroom was full of well-documented miscommunications and issues ranging from selling me a car leaking battery acid (and then their warranty company denying I had a warranty, though it is standard), to Vroom attempting to deliver my car to another city (not the driver's fault - he said he had been given the wrong info).

    While most of the staff are nice enough and are apologetic for their mistakes, it appears that the staff is poorly trained because you can talk to three different people and get three different answers. Most recently, they promised in writing they would reimburse me for the leaky battery and never sent the check as promised. When I inquired, they said I had to sign a document stating that's all they would pay for (the car still has plenty of time per the warranty), which an attorney has advised me is full of questionable language.

    The whole experience from the beginning has been time-consuming and frustrating and all the issues have been well documented. The car was a great price, but I had to drop $500 to get it road worthy (filthy air filter, burnt out spark plugs, aforementioned corroded and leaking battery) and now the mechanic is saying the lurching is caused by an axle that needs replacement (another $600). Frustrating when they refuse to honor their warranty. It would be better to go through a standard dealership where there is accountability as Vroom will not allow you to speak to a manager and says "that's not the way we do business."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi - thanks for taking the time to provide detailed feedback. We're sorry to hear you've had a poor experience and issues with your vehicle. If you want to email feedback@vroom.com with the name and phone # used for purchase, we can escalate your concerns to our team. Thanks - the Vroom team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Gave them 4 chances to get the first step right.

    • Arizona,
    • Feb 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vroom sounded great in theory (simple, fast, and eliminates annoying sales tactics/negotiating), but completely failed. They sent me incorrect paperwork FOUR times. The dollar amounts for each charge in their digital contracts seemed to change from page to page, as if there isn't technology that allows you to enter a value in one location and then have it auto-populate elsewhere. There were versions of my contract in which my last name was completely butchered, the financed amount was completely off, and more.

    With that said, if you choose to use this service, TRIPLE CHECK your paperwork BEFORE signing anything! Check their math. At one point, they even sent me SOMEONE ELSE'S contract with all of THEIR personal and financial information included. Seriously?

    When I finally spoke to a manager, he offered to waive their $500 delivery fee in an attempt to compensate. He could have offered to waive double or triple that amount, and I STILL would have walked away. This level of unprofessionalism and inconsistency would make me nervous with any purchase, let alone with a transaction that's worth thousands and thousands of dollars. In fact, that's the only reason I'm bothering to write a review in the first place. After all of this, I ended up going right back to the dealerships I was initially so excited to avoid.

    I will concede to the following points:

    1) They offered more for my trade-in than I had seen anywhere else.

    2) The $500 I put down to reserve the car while completing paperwork was refundable. Yay.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi Isha - thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're sorry to hear about your experience. Please know - this is not typical. We have shared your comments with our management team to investigate and correct any issues with our process. Thanks for your interest and we're sorry we couldn't help you out. The Vroom Team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time

    • Texas,
    • Feb 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Offering $400 for a $4000 vehicle. A total waste of time entering the information. Joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 13, 2019

      Rachel Mahoney M., VP Marketing

      Hi- thanks for reaching out. We're sorry you weren't happy with your appraisal price. We may have connected on another review site already but given the large discrepancy, we suggest you reach out to appraisals@vroom.com and let our team know what we might be missing about your vehicle to have such a large discrepancy in value. They'd be happy to explain the reason for our pricing or adjust if there's been a miscommunication. Thanks - the Vroom team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 104

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review