About Vroom

If you’ve purchased a car recently—especially a used one—you know the current system is undeniably broken. On one hand, you can go to a dealer, where you’ll probably be met with high pressure selling tactics along with inflated prices. Sure, you can avoid this by going through a private seller, although this can bring about issues surrounding quality and condition.

To address this, several companies have recently come online, one of which is Vroom. Founded in 2014, Vroom helps customers buy quality pre-owned vehicles over the internet, with transparent pricing, no salespeople, and a 7-day in-home test drive. Vroom customers can also obtain a competitive cash offer in minutes for their existing vehicles.

Taken together, Vroom claims to be “changing vehicle ownership forever.” But, whether you’re looking to buy or sell a car, does this necessarily mean they’re the right option for you? Are there other considerations you should keep in mind before using Vroom.com? Let’s help you find some answers, starting with how the Vroom website works.

How to Use the Vroom Website

Buying a Car on Vroom.com

To find a vehicle on Vroom, you’ll need to start by entering a keyword, or by searching for a specific make and model, body type, price, year, and/or mileage. Then, you’ll be able to see a picture of any matching vehicles, along with the year, make, model, trim level, mileage, and price.

Clicking on this image will take you to the vehicle’s home page. There, you’ll be able to view additional pictures, features and options, specifications, and fees. You’ll also be able to estimate your monthly payment.

If you’re ready to proceed, you can click the Get Started button, which will begin the purchasing process (we’ll talk more about financing options below). Then, according to Vroom, they’ll be able to “verify your identity, confirm details, and provide you with paperwork” in a matter of minutes. Or, you can place a 24-hour hold on the vehicle.

After purchasing, Vroom will deliver the vehicle directly to your door and will handle several important details, including filing title transfer paperwork with your local DMV.

Selling Your Car to Vroom

On the other hand, if you’re looking to sell your car to Vroom, you can begin the process by uploading pictures of your car, along with the VIN, mileage, and aftermarket additions. Within minutes, you’ll receive a guaranteed cash offer through your inbox, which will be valid for seven days.

If you accept the offer, Vroom will deposit the cash directly into your bank account within three business days, while handling details “like titles and any government red tape.” You can arrange for one of Vroom’s drivers to pick up your vehicle at the location and time of your choosing, or you can receive a check on the spot by delivering your vehicle to their store outside Dallas, TX.

Another interesting option that’s not offered by other similar services (more about this soon) is that Vroom allows you to take their voucher to your local car dealership. If they accept, Vroom will then purchase the vehicle directly through them, possibly giving you even more of a tax benefit.

Now, what kinds of vehicles will you find through Vroom? What are their stipulations? If you’re looking to sell, will your car pass muster?

What Are Vroom’s Vehicle Requirements?

Although Vroom claims to subject all new vehicles to a “stringent selection process,” other than that they can’t show any accidents through AutoCheck (a service similar to Carfax that’s operated by Experian), we’re not told exactly what their guidelines are.

After Vroom purchases a vehicle, it goes through a 126-point inspection process, which ensures you’re purchasing a vehicle as close to new as possible. This means no dents, the engine purrs smoothly, alignment is perfect, fluids are topped off, etc.—something Vroom calls a Supremely Certified car.

How does this differ from other similar services?

How Does Vroom Stack Up Against the Competition?

Remember how we talked about the increasing popularity of websites like Vroom above? If you’re looking for a new way to buy, you’ve got more options than ever, including Carvana and Beepi. Sure, each of these companies market themselves differently, but are there any real-world differences between them?

Vroom vs. Beepi

If you’re looking to sell your car, Beepi seems to have a more involved process than Vroom. How? Because, before giving you an offer, Beepi sends one of their inspectors to your home, so they can personally certify that it meets their guidelines. Since Vroom doesn’t do this, we might imagine instances where things don’t go as planned (e.g. the car is in worse shape than expected, or otherwise doesn’t meet their guidelines), but only after most of the process is complete.

On the other hand, Beepi also charges a 3-9% fee for selling vehicles, while Vroom appears to be free. Beepi doesn’t appear to charge for deliveries, and you’ll receive a 10-day trial period with all newly purchased vehicles.

Finally, Beepi is only available in CA and NV, while Vroom appears to service customers nationwide.

Vroom vs. Carvana

Carvana also submits each of their vehicles to a detailed inspection process (150 points, to be exact), and pulls an AutoCheck report to check for previous accidents.

After purchasing a vehicle through Carvana, they’ll ship your vehicle for free if you live within 100 miles of their Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, although it’ll cost you $199 if you live between 100 and 250 miles of these hubs. If you’re outside this radius, then you’ll have to choose a third-party delivery method.

Like Vroom, Carvana also offers a 7-day trial for all new vehicle purchases.

How Much Does Vroom Cost?

Signing up for an account on Vroom.com is completely free; simply enter your information, or sign up using your Facebook or Google credentials.

If you decide to place a 24-hour hold on a Vroom vehicle, you’ll be charged a $500 fee. If you choose not to purchase the vehicle, this money is fully refundable.

When you’re ready to purchase a vehicle through Vroom, you can use your own financing, or you can use one of the company’s 30+ banks (what they call “the largest financing network”) to help you get the best rates. All vehicles come with free nationwide shipping and a 7-day (or 250 mile) test drive. Don’t like your car? Call Vroom and they’ll have someone come pick it up at no charge.

Newly purchased Vroom vehicles come with a 90-day/30,000 mile no-worry warranty and a year of free 24/7 roadside assistance. Most are still covered under the manufacturer’s warranty, although additional coverage can be purchased directly through Vroom at the time of sale.

In order to speak with a Vroom representative, their customer service department can be reached at (855) 524-1300.

Are There Any Customer Reviews for Vroom?

Regardless where we looked, Vroom (formerly known as AutoAmerica) seemed to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, including a 4.5-star rating on Cars.com, 4.6 stars on DealerRater.com, and 4.1 stars on Edmunds.com. On Yelp, Vroom had a somewhat lower rating of 3.5 stars, with common complaints referencing poor customer service and lowball offers.

It should be noted that in most of these instances, a representative from Vroom personally responded to complaints.

From a company perspective, Vroom had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 16 closed complaints. These complaints referenced everything between undisclosed accidents to unresponsive customer service.

Should You Use Vroom to Buy or Sell a Car?

Whenever you’re thinking about using a new product or service, online customer reviews can go a long way toward letting you know what you might reasonably expect (this is why consumer advocacy websites like HighYa exist!). And at least from this aspect, it seems like Vroom has overwhelmingly positive feedback from their customers, who generally claim that the process was super easy and hassle-free.

However, if you’re dead set on buying or selling a car solely online, remember that Vroom isn’t the only game in town, so it’s important to research all your options in advance (you’re already off to a great start!). Comparatively, Vroom certainly seems to have some unique advantages (such as free nationwide shipping, which could save you hundreds compared to other options), but only you can decide whether or not this will translate into a better experience.

Did you use Vroom? Did you buy or selling your car? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

48 Consumer Reviews for Vroom

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  41
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 48
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not use

    • Vancouver, WA,
    • Apr 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    With hidden fees, a failure to give offers that are emailed to you, and a bunch of "I don’t know answers," I’m just glad I said "no thank you" before I got too far in the process. If you still chose to go this route, good luck, you will need it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy from Vroom

    We ordered a car with Vroom trying to save some money, but it's worth it at all. This company is so big that it has a bureaucratic process. It took me almost two weeks to get the car delivered, plus they said that it will take another two weeks to get the car papers so I can register the car. Horrible customer service, horrible deliver people. I called like 20 times to make sure my car order was processed timely but they didn't care.

    Long story short, don't buy online. On the top of that, they charge 500 bucks for delivery. Go to a local dealer or buy local and get everything done in one day unless you have the time and patience to deal with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience buying a car EVER, stay away at all costs!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband purchased a car from this "company" months ago and has never received a registration, resulting in months of getting pulled over for not having a valid registration. And we call them all the time and no one can ever assist with anything. They put you on hold and transfer you a million times and now they're saying there is an issue with the car and it might need to be bought back. It's been a truly horrific experience, and definitely not worth it, so go somewhere else to buy your car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    No car

    • Lowell, NC,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On 2/26 I placed a $500 deposit, on 2/27 I received the contract, and I returned the contract on 2/28. On 3/2 Vroom said by email that they were reviewing the contract. On 3/2 Vroom said by email that they were getting the vehicle registered. I have heard nothing from them since, and it is now 3/12. I have called and everyone I speak to knows nothing. I am starting to wonder if this is a scam. I want either a delivery date on the car or all my money back. Can anyone help without anyone giving me the runaround?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I took a gamble, and it didn't pay off.

    I bought a car through Vroom without seeing it. So far, the car arrived several weeks late. I still do not have tags for the car and the company I financed the car through is sending me daily email asking why Vroom has not sent me plates yet. My DMV recommended I hire a lawyer. I was promised a second key, and then after the car was delivered, told this was something I was going to have to pay for.

    It has arrived with multiple scratches and dents, as well as mechanical issues, all noted by the transporter on their 'drop off' sheet. Vroom has refused to support the repair of the vehicle, and now I am outside of the seven-day period...

    When I purchased through Vroom, I read the multiple negative reviews online and decided to 'give it a go' anyway.

    Had I known about all of these issues listed beforehand, I never would have purchased a vehicle through Vroom. Do what you will, but this company poses a risky business proposition...and I would never do this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Insulted

    When you write a 5 figure check for a late model luxury SUV, you have certain expectations of service after the sale. Not with my interactions with Vroom.

    I requested to service the vehicle for a noise I did not like when it was cold started in Denver winter conditions. I was told to get two estimates for repairs. The dealer I went to was 20 miles away, another dealer another 20 miles away. I resented jumping through hoops. I was going to keep this car authentic regarding parts and service. I requested from Michele Jackson CSR to have a supervisor contact me. For five days, any time I called I got a recorded message telling me all reps were busy and they would call back in an hour. Six calls and messages on the day I talked to the CSR, no responses. I sent an email, no response.

    The five day trial period has passed. I called the sales number and asked to be transferred to customer service. When connected I asked if their phone system was down. I was assured it wasn't. Adding insult to injury, Michele Jackson emailed me a week later saying she hadn't heard from me. I sent an appropriate reply. I also sent emails to the executive staff. There were six names on their website. Four messages bounced back, I know two got through.

    I am insulted by the treatment I have received from Vroom. Never again. I should have read all the negative reviews on Cars.com first. There were plenty of them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Leaking sunroof

    I paid $35,000.00 for a truck and this winter it turns out that the sunroof leaks. I called Vroom, and they will not fix the problem. I would never, ever recommend them. And the Safeguard Insurance that they force on you is a joke too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    I contacted them on 2/8 to initiate a purchase. They placed a $500 charged to my credit card to "hold" the car "until contract signed." The contract was signed and received by them on February 13th. The bank was paid in full on 2/15. Delivery was supposed to be 2/22. It is 3/1. No car. No refund. My emails are being returned undeliverable due to their inboxes "at capacity." My salesperson's email is currently deactivated. Getting anyone with any authority on the phone is impossible. I get told someone will contact me to address my concerns. Nobody calls. Nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Vroom was great

    I purchased a van through Vroom (lots of inventory to choose from). The only slight issue was it took a little longer to get to me than originally estimated, about 6 days longer, but everything else was great. I got financing at a 3.2% rate from Capital One, through Vroom, and I didn't have to go to a dealership where I have ALWAYS gotten screwed in the past.

    The van was super clean inside, and we love it. It showed up pretty dusty, so I had to run it through a car wash, but no biggie, it was a long trip! These people that get all bent out of shape over little stuff that goes wrong really annoy me. Vroom is a great service and I'll be using it again in a few months to replace my other car.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    The worst company to purchase a car from, stay clear of them

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Feb 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT buy any cars from this company, even if it is free! I have to say this is one of the worst companies I have ever done business with.

    You cannot get any customer service whatsoever. My sales representative Luis Williamson was perfect in all matters of the sales and continues to try and help me, but his customer service staff have got to be the worst on the planet once a sale is made absolutely no support whatsoever.

    I have tried to talk with a manager on many occasions no one will call you back. It's pointless trying to reach a manager or supervisor - they seemed to be trained to ignore you.

    From the delivery to trying to get my registration documents (now almost five months as I still do not have my registration documents and no help from them is figuring out where it is). This has been going on since November 2017.

    You get tons of emails saying they are looking into things and then they disappear. No replies. I have emailed customer support over 30 times each time I get this message from Kim Miyaki-Irish Customer Support Associate:

    "Thanks for getting in touch with VROOM. This email is to let you know that we've received your request, Untitled ticket 81129. Our Customer Support team has been made aware, and we'll get back to you with an update very shortly."

    January 2018, still no reply.

    "Thank you for contacting Customer Support. I apologize for the delay in getting your information from the DMV. I am forwarding your information to our titles department for review. Once they have had a chance to look into this for you, someone from there will reach out to assist you further on this issue.

    If you have any questions, please feel free to give us call, or you can simply reply back to this email.

    Best

    Sidney Stephens

    Customer Support Associate

    We appreciate your patience and look forward to promptly resolving this issue."

    So, this is my review: If you are thinking of buying a car from Vroom, stay well away. Don't even consider it. Pay the extra few percent to a dealer. Even with all the hassle you may experience at some dealerships it is not a patch on the headaches and frustrations you will get buying a car from Vroom.

    A very, very dissatisfied customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Miserable experience

    Where do I begin?

    Do not, I repeat, DO NOT buy a car from this company! Trust the reviews; they are rated poorly for a reason!

    I decided to purchase a Smart Fortwo vehicle from the company in December 2017 and was assigned a sales associate by the name of Ro Doherty. The initial paperwork process was fairly easy, however, once the paperwork was submitted all help ended there. She went on vacation in the middle of the process without informing me and left her cases to a Thadrick Holmes, who was nearly impossible to get in touch with or get to respond back to inquiries. Upon her return, Ro also seemed to disappear in thin air.

    Not even two weeks into the arrival of the vehicle, the brakes malfunctioned on the highway nearly causing a major accident. I scheduled a diagnostic inspection with the Mercedes dealership, as Vroom had advertised that the vehicle still had one month of manufacturers warranty left. The dealership informed me that there were visible signs of major flood damage to the vehicle, and that the vacuum pump and wires were rusted and would need to be replaced, a $900+ repair. They also informed me that the manufacturers' warranty expired on December 15, 2017, before I even purchased the vehicle. Because it had been past eight days, the dealership refused a return of the vehicle, despite the false advertising of a manufacturers warranty and the failure to disclose the flood damage (something that would have been easily noticed upon the departure inspection). They informed me they would be willing to process a buyback if I bought another vehicle in its place.

    I complied and began the purchase process of a Lexus CT200h. This time around the purchase process and buyback process was riddled with lack of communication, failure to respond to messages, and administrative errors causing three separate contracts to have to be sent. In addition to the delay, the sales associate made absolutely zero mention that because of a mileage adjustment mistake on their part, my interest rate would increase by several percent, to which I refused the financing. She wound up having to perform another hard pull on my credit report and we came to an agreement on financing and a THIRD set of paperwork had to be sent out.

    Fast forward several weeks of emails and phone calls and lack of message responses between customer service, sales and myself. I finally receive a delivery notice of the Lexus after hounding the company for weeks but had zero communication regarding the pick up of the smart vehicle. Fulfillment/delivery could not provide their own management team updates regarding pickup. I did not receive confirmation of pickup of the smart vehicle until the day the Lexus was picked up. The day of!! At the same time, I had still received zero updates regarding the cancelation of financing/buyback of the smart vehicle after daily requests for updates as well.

    My new vehicle was quoted by a delivery associate to be delivered between 6-9 am, which changed to 6-9 pm, then to 8-11 pm. At 10:30 pm, I still had zero communication from any delivery associate or the driver. My delivery driver contacted me at Midnight (prior to a workday) that they would arrive in 30 minutes and they were delayed due to having a delivery at a remote location (and sent me pictures of the dirt backroads he was driving on with brush overreaching the roads). More than an hour later, after 1 am, the vehicle finally arrived. The tires were absolutely bald and the car was covered in horizontal surface scratches most likely due to the brush the driver had to pass through on his prior delivery. In addition, no temporary tag was provided for the vehicle, so even after its delivery, I could not legally drive it and I STILL had zero update regarding cancelation of financing/buyback of the Smart vehicle.

    On February 16th, after daily calls, I was assured that the payoff for my smart car would be sent that day and that Ally would receive it by Monday or Tuesday of the following week. I now arrive at today, Thursday February 22, 2018, more than two months into this process. I call Vroom/TD Auto YET AGAIN and am told the payoff had not been sent and that there was an internal error and they do not know what happened.

    The returned smart car was re-listed on the Vroom website for sale and was marketed as having a clean history, despite the company being provided physical documentation from a Certified Mercedes Dealership showing the vehicle was flood damaged.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 48

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review