Start your review of Vroom:
  • 281 Customer Reviews
  • 30% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 21% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 11% 1 star: 56%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Lesson learned

    • By Steve S.,
    • Corpus Christi, TX,
    • Jul 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Lesson learned, the hard, frustrating, stressful, filled with headache way. Vroom had no communication delay or problems taking money for the vehicle, but if you have concerns...crickets! 4Runner arrived like they literally bought it at an auction or trade-in and sold it 10 minutes later. No detail whatsoever. White paint was strewn inside various areas, black marks on fender, hole in leather passenger seat patched up, stains all over from seat to console area, and that was just a quick inspection. Gas tank almost on empty also.

    Emailed Vroom, I believe 3 times, they offered $300 to get it cleaned. No one obviously reads the emails since no one said anything about the chip on the back area of the car. After another email and phone calls, I was offered paint to cover up the chip. How would you feel? $36,000 and you get this hot mess! Then no explanation on how to receive the $300 credit. Figure it out yourself, fat boy! Some rep named Alisha, I believe, was the one emailing me. I finally called her, must have had a bad day, my luck. Not paying attention to me, screaming kid in the background, could care less attitude, generic response - all we can do is offer $300, that’s it, you can start a return process if you want. I asked her how do I claim the $300 credit, she stated I would have to find somebody and have them email me a receipt. Keep in mind none of the flaws were mentioned on the website at all whatsoever. Also, I work graveyard, which means time is a commodity. I literally get a day and a half off. What that translates into is I do not have time to go hunting and searching for a detail guy that will do a deep clean on the vehicle.

    I also made several phone calls to the phone numbers provided for customer service, and to make a long story short, no one could do anything. I even left a message with managers and received no phone call back. If they would’ve offered me $600 or more I would’ve kept the vehicle and the headaches, but what for? It’s America, three people care - No Bod Ee! I was given a laundry list of things to do to return the vehicle back, thank God for my credit union. All they needed was a back off letter because the money was never sent to this company, meaning no money exchanged hands. That doesn’t mean things are going to go quick either, just to let you know. I was not given 24 hours to pick up the vehicle, I literally received a phone call saying we’re here and picking up the vehicle soon. I was instructed to take multiple pictures of the gas tank mileage outside of the vehicle and a bill of lading to sign to speed up this process to get my refund back. I did all this immediately and instantly emailed back to the company, a week later still no refund. Multiple emails and you guessed it, no response.

    I should’ve read the reviews on this company before my purchase. Please do your due diligence and check them out with the Better Business Bureau and any other review site you can get your eyes on because it’s not good. Good luck to you guys! Almost forgot I have tons of pictures and documentation in case anyone out there needs it.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Online convenience
    • No contact
    • Easy
    • No one cares after sale
    • Poor service
    • No follow through

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't use Vroom

    • By John B.,
    • Hillsboro, OR,
    • Jul 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The overall process of using Vroom was really unsatisfactory.

    Purchasing a car is a large commitment, and requires a high level of customer service. When buying online, that customer service is SO much more important because you are really taking a chance when you buy a car without physically seeing it or test driving it. Unfortunately, this is where Vroom really falls flat. The level of communication should have been really high, but it was, and continues to be, really poor. At this point, I still have several emails that were never responded to (and were sent weeks ago).

    Aside from communication, the delivery process was also really poor. The driver missed the delivery window by several hours, he wasn't wearing a mask, he couldn't get the app to work, and the car was dirty. And I'm not talking about the kind of dirt that can accumulate on a car as it makes its way across several states on a car carrier. I'm talking about mud on the tires and in the wheel wells, mud splatter on the sides of the car, carpets not vacuumed, and more.

    Plus, the car arrived with a nearly empty gas tank. I get that it may be a bad idea to haul a trailer full of cars that all have full gas tanks, but the solution to that is to have the car arrive with a complimentary gas card.

    I've bought cars at dealerships before. They put a lot of focus on the little touches (washing the car, making sure the tank is full, they take care of everything so you don't have to go to the DMV to do things like VIN inspections, etc.), that mean a lot. Working with Vroom was the exact opposite and I won't be buying from them again.

    Pros and Cons:

    • It was nice to have a wider selection of cars to choose from
    • Terrible communication
    • They ignore small, but important, details
    • Poor processes

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No better than a dealership

    • By Art A.,
    • California,
    • Jul 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    They promise the world and once you buy a car, zero customer service! They advised me that their policy is to respond to vehicle damage requests in 24-48 hours, it's now been a week with no response from Vroom. Getting ready to give up and turn the vehicle back in, but of course, I am responsible for the fees over the 250 miles, even though I have not heard from anyone and this is the only vehicle I have. Do not recommend this supposed better car buying experience.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Ability to shop online
    • Vehicle delivery
    • Damage to vehicle was not noted online
    • Sales person still gives you attitude when you decline their loan and extended warranty options
    • No customer service after vehicle purchase

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Easy car buying in your home

    • By LaShanda L.,
    • Maryland,
    • Jul 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I never heard of Vroom until after I started the online car buying process with another site. I was happy with the easy process of selecting my car and applying for financing. The majority of the process was online. My car arrived within 3 weeks of my initial contact. Very quick. Vroom kept in contact the entire time. My car runs smoothly. Although not detailed to my satisfaction, I was sent a check to pay for detailing in my state. The only thing I have to do is get a safety inspection for my state which is the biggest hiccup for me. I thought Vroom would take care of everything, but not this one thing. Still, I am happy with the process and the accuracy of my car details.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Communication
    • Easy online navigation
    • Great price
    • I have to complete the state inspection

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good price, poor customer service

    • By Denise C.,
    • New York,
    • Jul 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Price was good and vehicle was in excellent shape. Buying process was fine, but they don't even begin processing the title transfer until 2 weeks post-delivery. Then, they say that can take up to 8 weeks, which is completely ridiculous. Still waiting for my title. Car did arrive with dealer plates, as promised, and was delivered earlier than promised. However, I never got advance notice of the early delivery, and was just lucky that I was home when the driver called to say he was an hour away. I give Vroom high marks on price, but low marks on customer service. Their claim that they keep you informed every step of the buying process is all hype. Their communication is downright terrible. Next time I'll use Carvana.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Price
    • Vehicle selection
    • Poor communication
    • Unnecessarily long time to receive title

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Stick with a local dealership or Carvana

    • By Edward E.,
    • Collierville, TN,
    • Jul 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    What started as a pleasant experience spiraled into a very bad one that I don't wish any other potential car buyer out there to experience. Their prices are good and employees are nice, everything else is pretty bad.

    For starters, Vroom does not own their vehicle distribution network and rely on third-party companies to pick up trade-ins and drop off purchases. This process makes the experience wholly unreliable and not customer friendly. Half the time I didn't know who I was dealing with.

    Secondly, the aforementioned third-party delivery company damaged my vehicle in transit and did not mention anything to me so they could save themselves the money. There is a glaring lack of accountability on this front since a damaged vehicle means these people get paid less.

    Lastly, and arguably my biggest issue, is the fact that I requested over 5 times to have a check mailed to me for the difference in what they were paying me for my vehicle and the one I was buying since mine had a higher value. I even made them send me a second contract because the first one was wrong in this regard. Lo and behold, guess what happened? It looks like they still applied this amount to my new vehicle's note.

    Bottom line: They're just as shady as any dealership you have to deal with in person. At least you can test drive the dealership vehicles. Stick to your local sellers or go to Carvana.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Customer Support
    • Price
    • Lying
    • Vehicle damage
    • Third-party delivery companies

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome experience!

    • By Tim H.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport Unlimited about two months ago. I waited for the whole purchasing process to be completed before I wrote this review. I have to say, I am really impressed with Vroom. From the financing, delivery, and registering the vehicle the whole process was very smooth and painless. I was very leery of buying a vehicle online without looking at it, but not anymore. When I first got the vehicle all four tires needed to be replaced. My first thought was, "This is why you don't buy a vehicle online and now I'm stuck buying four new tires". When I contacted Vroom with the problem, they were more than fair. Vroom had me take the vehicle to Discount Tires where they purchased four brand new tires for the vehicle.

    The vehicle I purchased is in very good shape with low miles and was purchased for a very fair price. I would most definitely buy another vehicle from Vroom again.

    Thank you!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Fair price
    • Sound vehicle
    • Easy experience
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Would not recommend purchasing a vehicle from Vroom

    • By Adrian M.,
    • South San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I recently purchased a Dodge Charger and upon delivery, I noticed a black vinyl sticker on each side skirt. The car I purchased is white, so these stickers stuck out like a sore thumb. I decided to remove them and saw underneath it was hiding damage to the side skirt where paint was chipped off and missing, it was about the size of 2 quarters. I created a "ticket" to get it repaired and the "supervisor" denied my repair stating that it was my fault for removing the black sticker. On the initial Vroom posting it stated normal wear and tear on the vehicle but that damage was not indicated and all the agent said was that "the car was advertised with the black vinyl in the pictures." They have not made this right and I won't be recommending Vroom to anyone to purchase a vehicle. The negative reviews speak for volumes to how this company operates.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Priced below local vehicles
    • Shady
    • Denied repairs for damage on the car they sold me
    • Weak communication, sometimes you have to call 15 times to get to an agent

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good experience that turns into a nightmare

    • By Gwendolyn W.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The online salesman was polite and very helpful, the documents where FedEx'd to me, I paid my deposit, the vehicle was delivered two days earlier, the transporter was very nice. Now here comes the problem - my trade-in vehicle was supposed to be taken by the transporter that delivered my vehicle, that changed finally after me calling numerous times and a transporter called me to schedule a pickup, which never happened. I called Vroom back, got transferred around, nobody knew anything, or could even brother to help me. I kept calling and kept being told someone would return my call, never happened. Now my trade-in Chrysler is calling for a payment on a car that I traded to Vroom. Finally after 20 or more calls I finally get a call from transporter to pick up my Chrysler after a month of waiting. This is horrible customer service. When you're purchasing a vehicle you can reach people, but when that part is done, everybody disappears on you. I am still waiting to be sent a copy of my paperwork that I signed doing the purchase process, how long does this take? I have my registration and plates. I want my copy of the paperwork as promised during the purchase transaction. Vroom sucks.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Speediness at the start of the process
    • No one can be reached by phone
    • No one does what they promise
    • Poor customer service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Michael V.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I later got a call from Customer Service after this review. They are refunding my delivery fee due to how unhappy I was with the service. I bumped them up a star from a 2 star to a 3 star.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Early sales process was easy
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jul 4, 2020

    Post sales service is awful

    I started the process of ordering a new car about a month ago. Submitted an application and did not get a response at all. I had to set up an appointment with them after getting no response after 24 hours. Once I set up the appointment the sales aspect of the ordering process was great. I was able to get the car I wanted from their site and paperwork done in just a few days. Once the paperwork was signed, everything kind of went sideways. I was told I would get the car in 10-14 days. A little over a week later I start getting the emails that my car would be there on Saturday. It never showed up. At 5:00 I started calling them to find out where it was and was told I would get an answer back. No one could tell me where the car was. I was then told I would get the car on Monday. Same thing. No one could tell me where the car was and it was not delivered on Monday.

    After multiple calls and leaving voicemails with them, we find out from a manager that the truck broke down somewhere. I'm sorry but just be honest with people. If the car is not going to make it or something goes wrong, be honest. Eventually, on the 14th day, the car was delivered. The driver was rushing me through the process of accepting the car. The car was filthy. I found a couple of issues wrong with the car after checking it, like the hood would not open. Post sales service is awful. No one seems to know what is going on nor care what is going on. The whole point of using VROOM was to not have to go into the dealership and deal with the 3-4 hours of sitting there to buy a car. I do not know if I would use them again.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Car is good, customer care after purchase, bad

    • By Benny G.,
    • Montezuma, KS,
    • Jul 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I enjoy the vehicle I purchased from Vroom, but the vehicle arrived with a chipped windshield. I had to wait over 10 days to finally get a resolution to the problem. Also, my vehicle did not come with an AM/FM antenna. Vroom now says that it does not come with one.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The vehicle Carfax report
    • Fast delivery
    • After purchase customer service
    • Customer service with financing

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 281

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Vroom Review: How It Works, Pros and Cons, Vroom vs. Carvana