Read 157 Vroom Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 24 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 16 1 star:  105
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Good luck after your delivery

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything was positive until the delivery of my vehicle. Given it's transported on a truck, I expected the car to be dirty on the exterior, but I don't think it's acceptable to have the interior disgusting and appear just as the previous owner left it. Their contact information was still saved to the console (privacy issues, anyone?)! The car was delivered with the low fuel light on so I immediately stopped as a station to fill up and knew something was wrong. The car wouldn't allow more than 3 seconds of gas to pump at a time. I tried multiple stalls thinking it was a gas station issue, but it turns out it was the vehicle. I bought a 2018 BMW and assumed it would be thoroughly looked over before delivery since Vroom claims each vehicle is "reconditioned." Between the filth/interior smell, lack of gas, gas tank issue, and rattle from damaged panels in the back, I'd assume this BMW sat on a lot after being purchased at an auction and wasn't touched again until it was picked up to be delivered to me.

    Fortunately, I live close to a BMW dealership, but I spent an entire business day worth of my time going back and forth between all of the issues. I had to pay out of pocket to have the panels inside the car repaired (not warranty) and the burden of proof of the money I spent to clean the car plus the warranty work was on me to provide to Vroom. Barely an apology or acknowledgment of the time/effort/headache I had to deal with over the two-week process of getting everything fixed. I was never compensated for replacing the micro air filters to remove the musty smell.

    Then it takes nearly 3 months to receive my vehicle registration/tag. I specifically emailed the customer service/registration team advising them to update my address and no longer use the prior for mailing. What do they do? FedEx my tag to an address I haven't lived at in two months and don't even bother to tell me they sent it. Fortunately, the new resident contacted me but let's add another inconvenience of me driving an hour across a city to resolve another oversight/issue from Vroom.

    I would imagine if you're lucky enough to receive your vehicle issue-free, then this could be an easy way to buy a vehicle. But there's no guarantee, even when purchasing a newer model car, that Vroom has actually done their job at reconditioning on any level and that you won't experience a similar nightmare.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Happy customer

    • Roseville, CA,
    • Oct 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Had a great overall experience with Vroom. My salesperson, Tyler, was great and financing was easy. Communication, in the beginning, was top-notch, shipping was fast, and the vehicle arrived in immaculate condition; it was hard to even tell it was a used vehicle. I was disappointed that the truck came with only one key, but they fully disclose this with each vehicle so I knew ahead of time. I was unaware that my key is over $500 to duplicate, so this is a bit frustrating. I don't understand why none of their vehicles come with both keys.

    My other issue was with title and registration. It took two months to get my plates as I let them handle registration, thinking I could avoid going to DMV. Still had to go to DMV for a vehicle inspection (was not told this ahead of time), so really I could have done the whole thing myself and had plates in about 3 weeks. The communication in this department was very poor and it was very hard to get a hold of anyone for status updates, which they said they would provide.

    I would recommend Vroom for your vehicle purchase, just handle registration yourself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Jeremy, thank you so much for your positive comments about Vroom. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. - Vroom Team.


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Oct 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My last contact with Vroom was on a Tuesday, the following Saturday morning I got a call from Vroom and was surprised to hear that they were approving the reimbursement of the tire. So in the end they did come through with the tire and I greatly appreciate it. I'll recommend Vroom but will tell of a little frustration. Still love the car!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Sep 25, 2019

    Won't replace run-flat tire

    So I purchased a 2017 Corvette from Vroom. The day it showed up there was a low tire warning. Later that evening it was down again. The following morning I called customer service and was told to go on and get it plugged and I'd be reimbursed. Great. Well, turns out since it is run-flat tires they need to be replaced. Ever since I sent the quote for a replacement tire I have been fed the excuse about management approval over and over. Nobody contacts me, I have to call. Was on hold the other day for 40 minutes. So Vroom sold me a defective car and I'm on the hook for a brand new tire. So I'd try Carvana. My dad used them with great results.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Challenging, questionable, stressful, but in the end, I got the vehicle I paid for

    • Wisconsin,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    WHY 3 STARS:

    - Vehicle was a dirty mess inside and out upon delivery.

    - Vehicle had a mechanical issue upon delivery which took 5 days to diagnose and repair. Vroom is not willing to provide an extension for the 7day/250 grace period to return the vehicle, even when they deliver a disabled vehicle.

    - Part of the service fees were for detailing and for a certified technician to inspect the vehicle. As the vehicle was a dirty mess inside and out and that it was delivered with a mechanical issue, I doubt either occurred.

    If Vroom was in agreement and accepting to provide me with an additional 7-day/250-mile purchase commitment grace period from the date the vehicle was out of service. I would have for sure provided a 4-star rating if not 5, and I wouldn’t have spent the time to detail the notes below. But if the mechanical issues were not resolved within 6 days, I would have been forced to return the vehicle not knowing what other issue it may have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Vroom is just another disappointing dealership.

    • Portsmouth, RI,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The overall experience is unprofessional and frustrating and I feel mistreated and taken advantage of.

    The initial customer service was ok, they have the setup right but the execution is far below standards. After I chose my vehicle I still had to haggle final pricing and excessive added fees that reminded me exactly of any other dealership I have dealt with, so the experience was not as advertised. The trade-in value for my former vehicle was good but the purchase vehicle price was over market value until I waited long enough for it to fall to an acceptable level, just like any other dealership. The "scheduled" delivery dates changed 5 times over 14 days and when the final delivery date was set, I had to take off work because there was a 12-hour window for time of arrival. After calling 3 times throughout the day to attempt to determine the delivery time and being promised by the "delivery specialist" that it would arrive that day it was rescheduled for the following day. This required me to take another day off of work to receive the vehicle. The delivery team failed to ensure the delivery of the vehicle and failed to properly update me with the needed information to save me the trouble and time. Regardless of the driver and dispatch company's failures I was never updated and had to prompt the Vroom team constantly.

    Then when I finally received the vehicle it was so incredibly dirty that I couldn't properly check it for damages. I had to wash the windows just so I could drive it to the car wash and wash it three more times before I could see the paint and accessories. I was told the vehicle would be detailed when it took you 5 days to do the inspection prior to delivery. And that it would be shipped in a closed container to avoid further dirt and damage while In transport just like on the TV commercial. That was a blatant lie.

    Then on top of it all, I was told they would have my trade-in truck picked up at the same time as the drop-off. However, they left it at my house for 5 days. When I called to ask about this your customer support told us "it happens" and I should await another "scheduled" pickup. Only to be surprised to receive a call from a truck driver that they were awaiting my arrival on a vehicle pickup that I was never informed about. This is unacceptable and I have no recourse for this bad business. I have requested resolutions and shipping cost refunds, or anything else other than worthless apologies to no avail and I am at a loss for what to do next.

    Vroom is happy to take my money but once the paperwork was signed I have been left in the dark and at their whim to the entire process. They took the maximum allotted time with minimal effort. Other than the pointless verbal assurances, the written promises were loosely upheld and followed. The inventory and accessibility is the only benefit to the company model. They offer sub-par shopping experience and need to focus more on customer service and inclusiveness. As an online company, they lack the physical "handshake", comfort and reassurance offered by standard brick and mortar dealerships, so some type of trust is imperative. I had so much hope and expectation of this being a happy experience but I am left with a bitter taste in my mouth. I guess I just expected too much in this day and age and Vroom is just another disappointing example.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hello Logan, thank you for sharing your review. We take pride in maintaining excellent customer relations and providing a quality sales experience, so we regret that we did not meet your expectations. We know that the future success of our online car shopping experience is dependent on cultivating long-term relationships built on trust, so we hope to hear from you at (469) 660-1600 and we will do our best to help. -Vroom Team.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    GREAT experience

    • Destin, FL,
    • Sep 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    While it is scary to purchase something like a car unseen, I got exactly what I wanted. No dealer anywhere around could compete on the price. This company has a reputation to up hold and what the owner gets on the delivery side is going to decide how happy that new owner is. Shipping took 5 days. I am very happy. THANK YOU VROOM.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 19, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Bryan, We're glad to hear you found our online shopping experience so easy. We are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience. - Vroom Team.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Coeur d'Alene, ID,
    • Sep 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    At this point in time, Vroom just has not got their act together.

    Buying a car sight unseen is just not a good idea. The car I received was shipped with only one key fob. Our local ford dealer charges $179.90 for a replacement. The windshield is cracked, it also looks like it was sandblasted. No jack or tire changing tools. Why would anyone remove these? No fuel in the tank? Customer service is non-existent. There is a positive side. We saved a little over $4,000.00. As compared to our local Ford dealer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hello Gary, we are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive purchasing process with us. Our goal is to learn from your experience and continue to improve for all our valued customers. Please reach out to us at (469) 660-1600 so we can discuss how we can better serve you in the future. -Vroom Team.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great start, horrible finish

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As far as the buying experience goes, it was smooth and quick. After the papers were signed it went downhill.

    They promise to keep you updated about the delivery. Every day I got an email from someone new. When it was 24 hours out I replied to the email asking for a delivery window (as is promised per their emails) and I received no response so I called the following day and all I got was "we'll have the drive can you soon with an estimate." The drive finally did and delivery went smoothly with him. I was less than impressed, however, that I had just spent the better part of $40K to be delivered a vehicle that was extremely dirty from the trip (to include a temp tag that had endured the bring if the storms along the route and was already falling apart) and to find that I had less than a quarter of a tank of fuel (under 60 miles to empty according to the onboard computer). So, on the day of delivery, before I could even "show off" my new purchase, I had to spend another $80+ to wash and fuel it.

    It took over 24 hours for then to follow up on the delivery and that was only through automated emails. When I replied with my displeasure (via email and through their own surveys) I was again greeted with nothing but an automated response. Customer service is non-existent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hello Kevin, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We can assure you that customer satisfaction is our top priority and we would like to address the concerns that you have personally experienced. When you have some time, please reach out to us at (469) 660-1600 so we can learn more about your particular delivery. We hope to hear from you soon. -Vroom Team.


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought this was going to be a great experience and then things got ugly when my Jeep was delivered. First of all, the battery was dead and needed to be jumped to get off the trailer. Not a big deal but the battery would not hold the charge so I needed to replace it on day 1 for $260. Then while driving it for the first time the right tire was making a whomp whomp sound as I drove. So I had to spend a half-day having the Jeep inspected. What was thought to be a bad barring turned to be cupped tires. This Jeep has 35-inch tires with 15 mm tread and tread was measuring uneven and 4 mm, Firestone Tire recommended replacing all 4 tires. While purchasing the vehicle I was told over the phone the tires were basically brand new and it Vroom's policy to replace any tires under 40% tread. So I sent the report and estimate and photos to customer service and they claimed the report was insufficient and the photos that showed 4mm of tread with a ruler were not convincing. I was told they felt the tires were fine when they shipped the Jeep. I guess they lost over 15% tread on the trailer being delivered. Now I have to spend $1800 on new tires for $30k Jeep I bought because Vroom lied to me. On top of that, there is a puddle of oil in my garage because the rear main seal is leaking. They are nothing but a slick used car sales company with no face to face accountability and hide behind emails. DO NOT BUY FROM VROOM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hello Tyler, thank you for sharing your review with us. We are disappointed to learn of your experience and would like the opportunity to try and make this up to you. Please reach out at (469) 660-1600 so we can look into this. Thank you again for taking the time to reach out to us, and we hope to h ear from you soon. -Vroom Team.


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • Mastic Beach, NY,
    • Sep 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy your car from these crooks, you will regret it. Read the reviews, all of the reviews, not the BS good reviews they post for you to see. Stay away from this company! Far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hello Tervell, we are disappointed to learn of your negative experience with us. Our goal is to learn from your experience and continue to improve for all our valued customers. Please reach out to us at (469) 660-1600 so we can discuss how we can better serve you in the future. -Vroom Team.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away from Vroom unless you don't value your time, money, and sanity.

    Sales process:

    The sales reps pushed submitting my financing application out a day because he wanted to see if I would change my mind about buying their "Vroom Protect" program or whatever it's called for $2500. So, already inconvenienced me in order to try to make a kickback. I asked if the car had paddle shifters because the images of the vehicle were too low res to be able to tell, nor was the feature listed. However, I knew the particular car typically came with it as an option, and just wanted to verify. He simply looked at the images and goes, "well it doesn't look like it does."

    Problems with this:

    1) The images are too low res to see the shifters in the first place, and sufficient information about the vehicle was lacking.

    2) Could the guy not walked out to the vehicle to check? I'm about to spend $15,000+ and you can't answer a simple question about the car? If they're at a different location than the vehicles, at least have a way to contact someone who can get the answer.

    Purchase process:

    I was given bad information on how to send payment to them. You must send either a Cashier's Check or a Wire Transfer, both of which you must physically be at your bank for, which was an issue for me because my bank is out of state. Because of this, I asked their financial department whether I could send payment through Western Union instead. They said yes, no problem, I sent the payment, and got a call three days (give or take) later and was told that it actually wouldn't go through, even though I've already sent the money. Ended up sending Money Orders instead.

    Delivery Process:

    Poor explanation of how this works. Even though my vehicle arrived sooner than expected, I was in the dark for most of that time and was stressing like mad not knowing if it would be a week or two or three. The third-party who delivered the vehicle was stellar though.

    Cleanliness of Vehicle:

    Poor. The delivery driver immediately pointed out the scuffs, scratches, poorly touched up and un-sanded spots on the car. Okay, it's a 4-year-old car, I don't expect it to be absolutely perfect, but now I know why the photos on their website are low-resolution...THEY'RE HIDING IMPERFECTIONS.

    Get inside, and what the heck? There's dirt and crumbs in every crevice, including on the seats! Not to mention the stench inside the vehicle from the previous owner...yes, I can still smell the previous owner and could give an accurate description of that person based on smell alone, I feel. That's how prominent the smell is. An hour and a half of wiping everything down with Armor All, and the vehicle actually kind of looks like new if you disregard the color wearing off the red leather driver seat. Febreeze has helped with the smell, but I'm disgusted.

    Titling and Registration:

    Still have yet to complete this process. You're told this will take 4-6 weeks or maybe longer. Well, I'm moving out of state in less than two weeks, so that ain't gonna work. I've called the title/registration department every single day for almost a week, leaving voicemails and callback numbers with all the information and questions stated. I've sent an email that has yet to be answered as well. I've called customer service (let me note that customer service is always very kind and helpful to the seemingly best of their abilities, however, what they're able to do for me is limited) several times who has tried contacting the title/registration department themselves with no resolution, as well as escalated the issue to their manager in hopes they may get an answer. Nada. Absolutely preposterous that these people are ghosts at such a crucial step in the process.

    I will NEVER buy another car online. If for some reason I do, it won't be through Vroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 157

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review