Read 112 Vroom Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 4 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  85
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 112
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Wholesale cars at retail.

    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wholesale cars for retail prices. If it's not hard to find, buy it from a local dealer. I bought a 2017 Wrangler from Vroom that was a special edition and kind of hard to find. Slow to respond or ship. Kept saying the vehicle was still in the inspection process.

    The vehicle was delivered 15 days after I wired the money, so not too bad, but I went and met the driver after dark on the side of the road and the driver wanted me to try and inspect that it had no damage. It was covered in road grime (okay I get it was trailered), and leftover wax where it looks like a 5-year-old waxed it. It did have a large ding in the paint on the hood that I would have never seen in the dark. The gas light was on and on E, so I had to find a gas station before I could even take home. Lights on the dash for all the tires were way low on pressure. An inspection was the last thing that was done. Sticky cup holders, etc., 7,993 miles on it and the tires had never been taken off to rotate, nor do we think the oil had even been changed from the factory.

    With the one key and no floor mats, it was about $560 at the dealership to get it right and driveable. Buying from a regular dealer, you can assure to pay the same price and have a vehicle ready to go. If it was not hard to find I would for sure send it back! Oh, I also left a message for customer support and never returned calls!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 18, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Wade - thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. We're sorry to hear about the issues you've had and are working on improving our process to address all of them. We're disappointed to hear you had trouble hearing back from our customer service team and have asked the team to look into and reach out if they haven't already. Again, we apologize for the issues and hope you enjoy the Wrangler going forward. The Vroom team.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Good prices, terrible service!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm posting the same review on numerous sites because I know buyers might look in different places for info on a company. I find Vroom would only be appropriate for a person who has done all the research and knows exactly what they want and can handle a sight unseen, limited info car. They also must be patient enough to wait for delivery. My delivery was quick, it arrived within ten days of sending all the final paperwork, I have no complaints in that area.

    I bought my car through them because they happened to have the exact car I was looking for. I could only find two others nationwide, and Vroom was the lowest price even with paying for shipping. The only info I had on the car was the listing, and what I found through a VIN search on Google, I couldn't get any more info despite sending emails with questions. My car had no spare key, a missing navigation card, and a missing wheel lock key. I have to replace all those myself.

    The car arrived with a very dirty exterior. There was a sticker on the back window that left two huge adhesive/paper lines, it took Goo Gone, time, and a razor blade to remove it all. I couldn't even see out of the windows and had to wash before driving. The interior was fine though. I understand this is what you get with this type of buying and it was shipped from Texas to California, but finding a way to get the car delivered at least a bit clean would make a better impression.

    My one real complaint was that the car arrived with a missing nav card, all the packaging was there, but it was empty. When I requested information, I received a curt reply with the original listing stating navigation was not listed. I knew it wasn't listed, but it's standard on the car trim level and every feature is not listed, I thought it might have been misplaced or something. The reply was lacking in tact, it irked me a great deal and left me with a bad taste in my mouth. A better response would have made a huge difference in how I feel about this company.

    There is also no inspection paperwork. They state they do a 126-point inspection, but I have no paperwork that it was inspected at all. Ultimately, I got the car I wanted at a very good price. It worked for me because I knew exactly what I wanted. If someone finds the car they want and doesn't need help, the prices are good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 18, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Linda - thanks for the feedback. We're sorry you had some issues with your experience. I believe our team communicated with you on another review site but please let me know if there's anything we can help you with at this point. Thanks - the Vroom team.


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Had my doubts...

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took a chance with Vroom after reading all the reviews online. It wasn’t an easy decision, but simple and quick once I decided to go for it. I was skeptical, and bought a truck that could have been a complete mess. The process was quick, easy, and very convenient. I am in the DFW area, the truck showed up four days after receiving the inspection email. The truck was immaculate on the inside and out, very clean with a full tank of gas. I traded in my Honda Civic, which they gave me a higher price on than anyone else would offer.

    So far the truck has been great, and the service was great as well. Anthony helped me complete the deal, and Audrey the hub manager called multiple times to verify everything was going well with my purchase. I’m not sure if it will work out the same for you, but give them a chance. I’m glad I did, and some of the older reviews seem like it could have been from older management.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 10, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Brandon, we are very happy you gave us a chance and that we could exceed your expectations. It's great to hear you are enjoying your new truck. We hope you will consider us again in the future. - Vroom Team.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Good idea, poor execution

    • Illinois,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really wanted to like this process of avoiding a dealership. Zero communication after initial purchase communication. Pickup was listed as 4wd, but then after delivery was discovered it wasn’t (Silverado 2500HD Duramax with lift, one would assume it’s 4wd). I called to return, after that phone call I received no responses to emails or calls. I just happened to look out my window one morning before going to the office and saw a car hauler pull up. No heads up at all, if I hadn’t been home, I’m sure this process would be taking even longer. So now 30 days from the start of the process I still don’t have a truck and also don’t have my $10,000 down payment. I received notice mid last week from the lender that the loan was canceled. Every time I’ve called about the return status the two people that handle returns aren’t working. They don’t work weekends and don’t even work some weekdays according to one customer service rep. So if you get lucky and get the vehicle you thought you were buying and don’t have to do a return, it might be ok.

    Timeline:

    11/26 - initiated purchase.

    11/28 - received initial documents.

    11/30 - received additional documents.

    11/30 - wired funds.

    12/10 - vehicle delivered.

    12/12 - requested return vehicle was improperly listed as 4wd.

    12/18 - vehicle was picked up by the driver with no prior notice I just happened to be home.

    12/26 -still no refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 2, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Joshua - thanks for providing your feedback. This is obviously not the experience we want to deliver and we're sorry for the situation. If you are still in need of assistance, we'd like to help. Please email the full name and phone # used for purchase to feedback@vroom.com and we'll escalate your concerns. Thanks for your patience - the Vroom team.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Buying a car from Vroom was a total nightmare

    Buying a car from Vroom was the worst retail experience of my life. They over promised and under delivered every step of the way. It took me almost a month to get my car as they delayed everything from paperwork to delivery.

    Now, I'm trying to get the car titled and registered in my state and Vroom has also proven to be unknowledgeable on how to even do that. They said they'd handle everything, but in actuality, I have to figure all that out and do it.

    Oh, and hey Don at Vroom, I'm still waiting for you to send me my missing parts and check you said you would weeks ago.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 2, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Christopher - thanks for providing your feedback. We're sorry to hear about these issues and are working to get our timing back on track. It sounds like you may still need some assistance. If that's the case, please email us at feedback@vroom.com with the full name and phone # used for purchase and we'll escalate your concerns. Thanks for your patience. The Vroom team.


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Deceitful time frame

    • Mobile, AL,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I must disclose how disappointed I am as I begin to realize all the negative reviews I have read about Vroom are slowly becoming my own experience. It will be a month long, if not longer, process to get a vehicle. This was a Christmas gift. Now clearly after New Year's. Yesterday all paperwork declared complete and I would get a call. Nothing as of today (same as complaints from others, often three days late). Then I see that when the vehicle has been inspected (a 7-10 day process? For real? No dealer would take two hours for this). I will get another call that will provide a delivery date (7-14 days or more...and many have said more was their experience). Unless buried somewhere in the paperwork, this 10-day wait and leisurely relaxed contact approach gives this process a month. I would NEVER have started this process knowing that. And the salesperson never indicated anything like that.

    You say you record your calls? Read the transcripts. I was led to believe in just a week or little more I would have my vehicle. I've yet to receive my call telling me the process I face. Probably a few more days for that? Allowing Vroom all the cushion to manage sales and delivery at a comfortable pace after the sale is done, and the buyer has no recourse but to type this Customer Service and to provide a review to the various services that do such reviews. Which I fully intend to do once I hit send here. I hope the car is worth the stress of this. These folks are not transparent and forthwith about their business processes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 20, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Steven, thanks for taking the time to reach out. We're extremely sorry to hear about this experience. If we can help assist with your purchase in any way, please reach out to feedback@vroom.com with the full name and phone number used for purchase and we will escalate your concerns. Again, we apologize for the situation and looking forward to helping resolve it.

      The Vroom Team


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Untrustworthy

    • Red Oak, TX,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a used vehicle from Vroom right about 30 days ago. The process was seamless, and the vehicle was delivered on time and as described. I was thoroughly impressed by this aspect of the business.

    I have one major problem with Vroom and will not recommend the service to anyone. When you find a vehicle you like and want to purchase the vehicle, you are required to put down a $500 hold deposit to make the vehicle unavailable for purchase by someone else. If you are not using the $500 as a down payment, they claim they will return the money after purchase. I received my vehicle three weeks ago and still have not received my refund. I have talked with customer service two times in the last 21 days. Both times I have been told that they would ensure accounting would put the money back in my card and I would receive an email letting me know the transaction was complete. They are lying, and I’m thinking this is how they are paying their expenses.

    Vroom is not ethical and will not return your funds even when they say they will. Do not purchase from Vroom and avoid at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Duped!

    • Calimesa, CA,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vroom Customer Support STINKS. You never get a response to your email or phone calls. If you do, they provide you with a scripted response so vague that leaves you with a feeling you've just been SCAMMED. Save yourself the headaches, don't buy from Vroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Credit checks multiple times

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I give 2 stars because if you like a car, you pick it out, they see if you qualify, and they give you the terms as far as monthly payments, and how much down you have to give...

    But here is the bad part: If you don't agree with those terms with that car, then you pick another car, but then they run your credit again for another car, when they have already run your credit for the first car. I mean, come on guys, you keep running my credit, messing up my credit, to see what car is suitable for me. Which means they don't pre-approve! That is not fair, especially if you're trading in your current car and you still owe on it, how do I know if I'm approved or not? I won't know until they run my credit 1000 times to see what I'm approved for...WOW! Not cool for someone who is trying to rebuild credit!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    2017 Model X

    • Austin, TX,
    • Nov 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The car finally arrived on 11/13/18. When it arrived, the exterior was really dirty to the point the driver marked the car as having scratches.

    I cleaned up the car and it turns out there's a deep scratch and ding on the rear spoiler. I submitted the claim on 11/19/18 and still waiting for it to be resolved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Nov 11, 2018

    2017 Model X

    There are a lot of waiting in the dark when you purchased your vehicle through Vroom.

    After a week of getting paperwork ready, I purchased the car on October 25th, 2018. The next day, the delivery team confirmed my address.

    After that, every time I called to check on the car, they always said that it is on the final quality inspection.

    Today is November 8th and the car still is not shipped. Depending on who answered the call, they will tell you the car should arrive within 14 days or 14 business days.

    I'm on the 10th business day or 15 days and they still tell me that they are waiting on the part without releasing what kind of part.

    As a company that sells cars on the internet, they should have a way to check the status of the car online.

    And it looks like the call center doesn't have any access to this "final quality inspection." The whole process is very frustrating because there's no way to know what's been done to the car.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    2015 Subaru thru Vroom

    • California,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I had placed my deposit prior to reading all of these reviews. But I'm glad I did. The sales team was very good, although it's almost impossible to get your original rep on the phone. They're always conveniently on the phone when you call. I requested a call back 4 times, never got a single one.

    Regardless, because I'm impulsive, I sent in my contract and down payment for a 2015 Subaru STI because the numbers checked out and the contract didn't have any sketchy wordplay. I sent out the contract on Friday, October 20th.

    They emailed me that they received the contract that following Monday. I got another email later on that day saying my purchase was complete and the car is now under my ownership. They will arrange transportation after the inspection of the car, and email me a future delivery date in about 7-10 days from the day of the email.

    Fast forward 7 days, exactly on the next Monday, I get an email with a target delivery date.

    The delivery date was scheduled to be 11/3/2018 and they updated me every date via email and phone that it was still on track. Now it is Friday and I got a call at work asking if they could deliver the car a day early on that Friday instead, between 5 and 9 PM. I said yes, and the delivery showed up at 8:55 pm on a 2-car flatbed trailer behind a truck.

    The car was/is immaculate inside and out. As described. From the time I sent in the contract to the day I got the car was a complete total of 13 days. Right in their quoted timeframe.

    Basically, this review is to say that Vroom needs tweaking with communication more than anything. But they are by no means a scam. I couldn't be happier with the car and the impulsive decision I made to still buy from here despite the bad reviews. I'll wait a bit before I buy another car from here, but this particular experience was fantastic.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 112

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review