Read 151 Vroom Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 16 1 star:  103
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 151
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good on the front end. Not so good on the back end.

    • Klamath Falls, OR,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So easy to buy a car. The staff was knowledgable. They were quick to respond. I got my beautiful car earlier than the estimated date. The company they contracted with to deliver the car was amazing. On time. Courteous. Professional. So the front end of buying a car was fantastic. Now to the backend of the deal.

    Vroom purchased my vehicle as a trade-in. Fair price. However, they didn't contact the delivery person until the day of my delivery, to tell him they needed him to pick up the car they purchased from me. He didn't have room on his truck. I called every day to figure out what was going to happen. Every day there was an apology and a "Someone will be calling you." Nope. No phone calls. I emailed. No response. I had to store "their" car for two weeks. It was so frustrating to just be ignored over and over again with broken promises of calling. I did get my vehicle picked up today and again, the carrier was so polite, professional, and on time. So under impressed with the back end of this deal and to this day they have not responded to me. I am now awaiting the title and papers to my new car. I surely hope it goes easier than the past two weeks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 28, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Suzanne, we are disappointed to hear about the bumps in the road but are glad we ultimately earned 4 stars from you. If you need assistance again in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're happy to help. -Vroom Team.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Good delivery and pick up...but that's about all

    • Alabama,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was initially very excited about this vehicle and eagerly put down a $500 hold based on the online pictures and the repeated assurances from the sales person that the $500 would be added back in once the purchase was completed. The car was shipped very quickly, which is an anomaly according to the other reviews I read. The delivery driver was great about communicating with me during the transit from Texas and I was able to meet him a parking lot near my house for easy offloading. As soon as I saw the vehicle, I was not at all excited about the color as it didn't look much like the candy apple red vehicle that I saw on the website (it was more of a maroon red). The car arrived dirty but that was to be expected as it was on the back of a transport trailer and it was raining. During my initial inspection I discovered that repairs had been done at some point to the rear bumper and the repair paint job was easily detectable to someone familiar with auto body repair work. There was no mention of an accident in the Carfax report, but that doesn't mean anything either. Overall though, the exterior was not too bad.

    However, upon opening the doors and observing the interior, I was both surprised and disappointed by the lack of detailing and basic cleaning that went into this car. The interior was an off white color and it showed all kinds of stains and damage that I wouldn't have expected in a four year old car at that price. The deal breaker, however, was the black rubber tape (more like tar) that surrounded the inside of the top of the drivers door. Clearly, someone was trying to minimize the road noise that was coming through the top of the drivers door (right by your left ear) with horrible looking putty tape. A test drive confirmed the noise issue and I decided let my wife be the deciding vote (it was to be her car after all). She drove the car for about 25-30 miles and could not stand the road noise coming from the window.

    We decided to have the car picked up and discovered that we would not get our $500 hold money back (I can't be too mad about that because it's in the darn contract, in spite of what I was initially told). The pickup was scheduled and within a couple of days, the driver contacted me for directions and pick up date. The driver missed his initial window by about 12 hours, but he was there before noon the next day. As soon as I sent a copy of the bill of lading, Vroom began to process my check. The check arrived within a couple of days, much to my surprise.

    All in all, I would have to say that, other than the huge disappointment with the car they sent me and the loss of $500 for the privilege of test-driving their vehicle, the process was as promised. I wanted to be really mad about the $500, but that was my own stupid fault for not researching the contract more thoroughly. From what I read, the nightmare of purchasing an online vehicle may have been narrowly avoided by sending it back right away. I do NOT feel comfortable trying to buy a car on-line again...I want to SEE it and drive it without having to pay someone $500 for the privilege of looking. Anyway, I cannot say anything negative about the speed of delivery, pickup, or the reimbursement process, much to my relief, but it did cost me $500 for nothing but two weeks of anxiety and disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Jasper, IN,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What an awful business. I wanted to trade in my current vehicle and purchase one from them. They kept sending me trade-in offers via email that I could not open. Their tech support was absolutely useless. I never did get to see what they offered me. I started the purchase process on one particular vehicle 3 separate times because I never heard back from anyone about completing the purchase. Did they hire the customer service dept from Sears? I predict Vroom will be going the way of Sears very soon. Stay away from these people. I would give negative stars if they let me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Grand Cherokee 2017

    • Boca Raton, FL,
    • Aug 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a great experience with Tyrone. The people in post-sales/delivery were very nice and helpful. Car was delivered without any issues. All good. Would recommend Vroom to future buyers.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 28, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Carl, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to hear you had such a positive experience with us. Feel free to reach out to us if you need any more help. We're always available to talk. -Vroom Team.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Registration

    • Gilbert, AZ,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To start off, buying the vehicle was simple and painless. Now getting my vehicle registered is a different story. Not sure if the issue is because I purchased the vehicle out-of-state or what. Can’t reach anyone from customer service. Called twice so far and nothing. I purchased the vehicle back in June and now it’s August and my registration is expired. The funny thing is when I called last month regarding an update I was told I would receive my registration in the mail by the first week of August. I highly recommend purchasing a vehicle in-state instead of out-of-state to avoid what I’m going through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Delivered repainted vehicle

    • South Jersey, NJ,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Delivered repainted vehicle. Two auto body shops said car was involved in front end collision. None of this was disclosed prior to sale. They were, however, very attentive about returning my funds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the car. Vroom customer service is just incredibly poor. They have maybe 5 different departments you work with through the process and none of them can communicate with each other. They cannot answer simple questions like whether the car comes with 1 or 2 keys. When I communicate by email, they rarely respond. When they do respond, it’s like they didn’t read my email at all. They have such great potential if they could just figure out how to do customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience

    • Bluffton, SC,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was reluctant to buy a car online but they make lots of promises like, cars usually in 7 days or less. After giving them the full purchase price I received an email stating I would get an estimated delivery date in 3 days or less. I was also told that cars can be in the inspection phase for 24 hours but it's usually much less. At the third day I called them to inquire. They said the car was still in final inspection. This carried on through day 5. They could provide no further information and on several occasions were going to look into it and call me back that day...they never returned a promised call. I called about everyother day. At day 7, they were just waiting to get a carrier booked. Couldn't tell me when it would happen or how long they would wait on a carrier before deciding it was too long. I figured out the car was in California from the Carfax so I knew it was going to take a little longer to ship. They then sent an email saying they found a carrier and would call by the end of the day to let me know the estimated date...they never called. I called to find out the estimated date and they told me the following Sunday, which would be 16 days after purchase.

    At this point I was given different information each time I called so I continued to call. I called back later that day to ask for the carrier information so that I could get an answer straight from someone who might know what is going on. They said "well it isn't actually booked but we have the estimate". When I asked how they could have an estimate if they didn't know who was booking it, they back tracked and said it was tentatively booked. She confirmed the car had not left and didn't know when it would but she assured me they were confident on the Sunday delivery date (this call was on Monday one week before the estimated due date). Monday night I get a call that the car will be arriving in the morning about 8AM-11AM. So for three days that the car had to be on the road, they didn't even know where it was. They have zero information and 85% of the agents are rude. The other 15% are ok but they still have no answers and never follow up like they say they will (including Supervisors).

    Got the car with just enough gas to make it to the gas station. Delivery guys were super nice but late from the 3 hour delivery window. I ended up getting the car on day 11. Quite different from their 3 and 7 day advertising. And honestly, 11 days would have been fine if I was just informed, treated kindly, and they actually seemed to know what they are doing. Now I am waiting for my $500 deposit. Day 8, had to call and low and behold...they are backed up and running behind but it "should" be processed soon. I wonder how many people they just try to see if they forget about the $500 and keep. Overall, horrible experience. And their attitudes reflect the fact that they just don't give a crap about the consumer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Dallas-Fort Worth, TX,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased a vehicle through Vroom and so far the whole experience has been terrible. They received our down payment and the signed paperwork and it's like they disappeared. They were calling us prior to receiving our down payment. On July 16, 2019 we got an email that our purchase was complete and that they would provide an estimated delivery date once our vehicle shipped, which should be within 3 days from "today" they said. We called them to inquire about the vehicle, but every time the person on the other end would say they had no information on the vehicle other than what the make and year the car was that we purchased. They didn't know where the vehicle was nor when it was going to ship.

    On July 20th, we received another email that said they were prepping our ride and it was taking a little longer than expected. We did not receive the vehicle until days of calling getting nowhere and no information until finally we asked the right question "do you have the Hub number?" Apparently, this was the place the vehicle was and the people with the delivery information. Keep in mind, no one offered this information to us the number of times we called in to inquire about the vehicle. My husband and I both wondered for a moment if we got scammed because no one ever had any information.

    On the 25th someone from Vroom gave me the Hub number only after being asked for it. My husband called and the lady said she had our vehicle and would deliver it in the a.m. the next day on the 26th of July. The vehicle was finally delivered on the 26th of July. However, it arrived with one key. Also, that one key had the portion of that key missing that locked and unlocked the child lock on the doors. I have young children who don't understand how dangerous it is to unlock the door and open it during operation. This portion of they key is vital for a parent and should have been intact prior to them delivering the vehicle. Vroom's site says "Every Vroom vehicle must also pass multiple inspections for safety, mechanical, and cosmetic issues before it is sold. If a vehicle does not meet our strict retail standards, we do not list the vehicle for sale on our website." If that were true, that portion of they key would not have been missing, because that is a HUGE safety issue for any driver with young children.

    Additionally, the hands-free option the vehicle has was not working. My husband and I followed the manufacturer's instructions to attempt an update on the software, but to no avail, the hands free option was still inoperable. This is also another safety issue. We called Vroom after a couple days of attempting to remedy that situation and they said we could take the vehicle to the vehicle's make of our choice. Vroom said they would take care of the repair to fix the hands-free issue and key. We dropped the vehicle off on Monday the 29th of July. We had the vehicle for 3 days prior to being able to drop it off at a shop. Unfortunately, the service department associate needed to fix the hands-free issue would not be in until Wednesday. Vroom told us they would give us a car rental with Enterprise. However, we had to call them to get them to extend the car rental for longer than a day. They originally authorized only one day for the rental. Once they knew the associate wouldn't be in until Wednesday, they extended the rental until Friday. The service department where we dropped off the vehicle told us on Thursday (the 1st of August) that the part they needed would not come in for 3 or 4 days, but then they talked to us again and said that the part would not be in until next Thursday or Friday (8th or 9th of August) and the associate that could complete the repair, wouldn't be in until Monday the 12th of August. My husband called Vroom this morning (Friday the 2nd of August) to find out what they wanted us to do concerning the car rental (considering it was due back today) and to ensure we would still be allotted our 7 days to get to know the vehicle we purchased, after we get it back from the dealership.

    We want to be able to make a fully informed decision on whether to keep or return the vehicle. We were told they would get back with us. Vroom’s website states "You have 7 days (or 250 miles, whichever comes first) to get to know your new Vroom vehicle. Drive it to work, stuff the trunk with groceries, and park it in your garage. If you decide it’s not right, we’ll help you exchange it for something else or provide a refund." Well, we don’t get an email until 6:43 pm today (the 2nd of August) from Vroom. The email says that they will reimburse us for the deductible of the repair, but can’t extend the rental or the 7 days, and that we would need to pick the vehicle up and bring it back to the dealership when the parts arrived. Well, we can’t go pick the car up from the dealership because they are closed, and we also think it’s extremely unreasonable to force people to make an ill-informed decision on a vehicle purchase when we were promised 7 days to get to know the vehicle. We don’t know if this part that comes in is going to for sure fix the hands-free issue. This is an option we fully expect this vehicle to have. This vehicle is currently missing some of its basic essentials and functions that our family needs. If this vehicle was truly inspected as their website states, we would not have received this vehicle in the first place. We are business owners and we would not ever want our clients to have to go through the hassle we have had to go through having used Vroom. I have currently had the car rental longer than I have had the vehicle I purchased from Vroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Lexus IS200t

    • Texas,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    WOW! Definitely excited to say Vroom has exceeded my expectations in the car buying experience. Thanks to the sales guy Heber and Joe in the Texas Direct Service Shop! I went there with expectation and they conquered it. Although the shipping fee was a little high, I still felt received a good deal. I LOVE MY CAR!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Ashley, we're glad to hear you found our staff so helpful. We're glad you like your new vehicle. Feel free to reach out if there's anything further we can do for you. -Vroom Team


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    First time online buying experience success!

    • Indianapolis,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience from start to finish. All customer service was on-point. The vehicle was exactly as described and a very good price, especially as compared with Carmax and Carvana. I took one star off only due to a little delivery confusion. But will definitely purchase from here again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Carolyn, we're so happy we were able to help you out. If you have any additional questions or concerns about your new vehicle, we will be more than happy to assist you. Safe travels. -Vroom Team


Showing 23-33 of 151

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review