Vroom

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Vroom

Overall Rating

2.3

432 Customer Reviews

Summary

Vroom is a car-buying website that helps you to buy a used or like-new car entirely online and avoid dealing with a pushy salesman. Our review will help you understand if this service is worth using.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.3 Stars out of 432 Reviews
5 Star:25% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:55%
33% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Vroom:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 23, 2020

Pretty smooth experience

By Jonathan I., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I'd recommend Vroom for sure - we got a better price for our car than any other online car-buying company, and while our personal circumstances made the process stressful, it was really pretty smooth and the Vroom team worked hard to get it done fast.

Pros:

- Great price.

- Customer service team very helpful and friendly.

- Easy process and relatively fast.

Cons:

- There are more steps to selling than the basic online rundown states.

- Getting through to customer service took 30 minutes on average (until we got to the pick-up process, then it was really fast).

Our experience:

We were selling our car on a deadline because we were leaving the country. We were also on a road trip and intending to have the car picked up from a hotel. In total, from getting a quote to pick-up took 9 days.

The Vroom team tried their best to get it all sorted before we left, but in the end, we had to leave the car with a friend for a couple of days. He just supervised the pick-up and handed over the keys.

The process was a little more involved than the basic sales-pitch makes it sound. We got the online quote ($1,000 more than their main competitor) and immediately accepted it. Filling in the online paperwork and uploading documents was pretty easy, but they ask for a Lien Release letter, which we didn't have to hand. Don't really know why they need it, the car was fully paid off. Anyway, we couldn't get it from Kia and we wasted a day waiting for it. We uploaded the other documents and went ahead without it. Turns out it made no difference, so we wasted a day of our very tight schedule.

Then we were told that they would FedEx us a package with a form to fill in, and that we would return the Title and spare keys to them by FedEx. We were never informed this was one of the steps and it broke our tight timeline, unfortunately.

The FedEx system was really pretty quick. Their package arrived Sunday and they had ours back by Tuesday. Then we had to arrange pick-up. It only took 3 days to sort out (this was in Los Angeles), but by then we'd left so we had to leave the car with a very helpful friend who handed over the key.

The check was mailed out after 2 days. They won't mail it internationally and while I was initially told a bank transfer was possible, it was never made clear whether that actually could happen. Luckily, a family member helped us with the check so we didn't have to cross that bridge.

Beginning to end it took 9 days to sell the car. That's pretty quick, but not as quick as we were intially told (5-7 days) and I chased them every day to make sure things got done asap. I don't know if it made a difference to the speed, but the customer service reps were really great, once I was able to get through to them.

If you're not doing this on a tight deadline while on a road trip, I think it would be a pretty smooth painless process. As it was for us, every minor delay was stressful, but that's just in our very specific circumstances. I felt like the Vroom team worked hard to get it done in time and work with our complex situation.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price

Customer service reps

Phone wait times

Slightly misleading advertising

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 31, 2020

Hi, it is great to read such wonderful comments about your recent experience with us. Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day! - Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 22, 2020

Would use again

By Allie C., Tyler, TX, Verified Reviewer

It wasn’t 100% smooth with Vroom but everything ended well. My husband was told incorrect information by a snarky customer service rep when he called a couple of times, but we dealt with Geovany during the sale and Brishae followed up the sale, and they were both helpful and forthright. The car came with a dirty interior, but Brishae squared this away by sending us a check to clean it with no fuss. We got a good deal on a 2019 Dodge Durango and overall, we’ll check out Vroom again for our next vehicle.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good price

Good solution to problems

Friendly

Dirty interior

Rude customer service line

Very little heads up when they brought the car

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 31, 2020

Hello, thank you for your kind review; we're happy to pass along your comments to the team. We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. If you need assistance again in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're happy to help. -Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 21, 2020

Excellent service

By Rati M., East Windsor, NJ, Verified Reviewer

Easy to access and choose Vroom car service online.

Great team to deal with and work for appropriate responses, and provided a positive attitude.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Customer service

Positive feedback

Perfect timing procedure to close the deal

No items in my list

Hard to find unlike service items

Pickup service vendor not in NJ

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 31, 2020

Hi, thank you so much for your positive comments about Vroom. If you need assistance again in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're happy to help. -Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 21, 2020

Best way to sell your car

By Evon B., Madisonville, LA, Verified Reviewer

Vroom was overall a great experience. After a few questions online, we were on our way to selling our car. Everyone at Vroom was very nice to talk to and essentially held our hand the entire way. The process was seamless.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of use

Great communication

Best offer for car

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 31, 2020

Hello, it is great to read such wonderful comments about your recent experience with us. We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you. Take care! - Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 21, 2020

Vehicle defect and financing lie

By Thomas K., Tucson, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I received the vehicle with a crack in the glass roof. The driver noticed and documented this when he picked it up from Vroom. Vroom promised a very good financing rate through Santander. One month later I still have not received any documentation from Santander. I have called Santander. They don't know who I am. This sounds like a financing bait and switch. Who knows how this will end?

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good price

No wasted time in dealership

Fair trade-in value

Have not received financial docs

Have not received title/registration

Customer service reps are retarded

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 31, 2020

Hello, we are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us. When you have an opportunity, please reach out to us at location-email so we can look into this. Thank you again for taking the time to reach out to us, and we hope to hear from you soon. - Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 19, 2020

Worst car buying experience

By Eric S., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

This was by far the worst car buying experience I have ever had. The amount of energy you put into the process to ensure you get everything done on your end is not reciprocated by Vroom. It is obvious that the system they have in place does not work, and has everything falling through the crack.

For example, I informed Vroom that I would be financing with my local credit union. I advised the representative on 11/10 that I would need a signed Purchase Agreement in order for my bank to finance. The representative advised that once I sign the DocuSign documents on my end, someone on their end will sign it and I will automatically get a copy. I signed the documents on 11/10. Waited for my signed copy, but never received. I called on 11/12 again and the representative said that she expedited my request to a supervisor and that I would be getting a signed copy by COB on 11/12. I ask if she was sure because if so, I am going to book an appointment with my bank the next day to finalize the financing. She confirmed that I will receive the paperwork by COB on 11/12. Went to bend and work up the next morning to furious because I did not receive the documents. I called Vroom back on 11/13 and demanded the signed paperwork like they promised because I had an appointment with my bank in the next 30 minutes. That's when I finally received what I needed.

This is one of many examples of how Vroom does not communicate internally. This compounded into more headaches and unnecessary stress during these already stressful times.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price

Quality of service

You speak to one rep one day, and the next day if you speak to another rep, they have no clue what is going on

They say and promise one thing, but don't deliver

The energy you put in to get things done on your end is not reciprocated by Vroom

No matter how many times you voice concern, they still don't learn

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 21, 2020

Eric, thanks for reaching out to us here at Vroom. We would like the chance to talk to you further so please reach out to us at feedback@vroom.com at your earliest convenience so we can work with you to make this right. We hope to hear from you soon. - Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 18, 2020

Worst buying experience ever. Stay far away from Vroom!

By David S., Chelsea, AL, Verified Reviewer

Complaint to Vroom:

See the below picture of the 2018 Acura MDX 5J8YD4H57JL013795. I contacted you immediately after it was delivered yesterday to return this vehicle due to the following reasons:

All tires bad below 4/32 and balding on the side of tires due to either low tire pressure or bad alignment.

All wheels curb scuffed.

The vehicle arrived dirty both inside and out with stains on seats, headliner, etc.

Dog hairs present on carpet and seats.

Dog bites and/or toenails indentations on top of doors where dogs would hang out.

Check engine light on.

Low tire pressure and/or sensor warning on.

Scratches on several locations of the vehicle.

Dent in the back quarter panel behind the rear right side wheel.

Loren, my salesperson, told me he read the notes and this vehicle comes with a spare key, which it did not, only one key fob delivered. Key fob costs $500.00 to replace.

The vehicle has a continuous amount of smoke from the exhaust while running.

This vehicle came from Manheim Auction, 145 Auction Lane, Stateville, NC. I called and talked to a lady there and she told me it was delivered from another auction house and all they did was change the oil and basic wash to take pictures.

My wife and I are so disappointed in Vroom. I read all the bad reviews but was assured that we would receive a great vehicle with no issues. We were misled and this wasted our time and money to purchase and trade ours in.

We are hereby requesting the money wired back to our bank that we took out a loan immediately! A stop and desist be placed on our trade, 2017 Mazda CX5 since it has not been picked up yet.

I want all delivery fees and down payment returned to me ASAP since the vehicle was misrepresented.

I am requesting an additional $250.00 from Vroom for wasting our time, traveling back and forth to the bank, FedEx, Bank Wire Fees, etc. This is a fair request since Vroom was not honest with us and not in good faith.

Update:

We were finally reimbursed a week after the vehicle was picked up minus my $250.00 request for wasted time. Vroom has been revoked from the BBB so beware this company continues to fail, stocks are decreasing because of poor service and faulty vehicles.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Received a bad piece of junk for $36,500.00

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 21, 2020

David, we're extremely disappointed to hear about your negative experience with us. Our customers mean a great deal to us and we regret that we failed to provide you with the quality service you deserve. We would like the chance to talk to you further so please reach out to us at feedback@vroom.com at your earliest convenience. We hope to hear from you soon. - Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 18, 2020

Beware

By Bret L., Fontana, CA, Verified Reviewer

Beware! There are many things about buying from Vroom that were frustrating, costly, and could have been handled much better. They have a complete lack of communication between their main office and their HUB facilities and "carriers" that deliver the car to you. My vehicle took over 2 weeks to deliver after I paid in full. This, I found out later, was supposedly due to an issue with the battery. The "carrier" missed my first delivery and did not even have the courtesy of calling me to tell me what was happening. I called Vroom for several days afterwards, and they could not tell me what the issue was. All they would do was blame the carrier. They kept trying to call, text, and email the carrier, but they could not reach them or tell me what had happened.

Another thing to consider is that the registration process in your state might be affected by their policy of temporarily registering all vehicles in Texas. Even though my vehicle has always been in CA and remained here, running everything through Texas really messes up things. It was going to cause me to have to take the extra steps and fees of a VIN verification and smog check. Rather than do that, I just paid the penalty fees for the expired CA registration and paid for about 5 months of past registration on a vehicle I didn't even own yet. It was about the same cost, but without the extra steps or another trip to a COVID impacted DMV with long lines.

The car was finally delivered and it was as advertised. I feel it was a pretty good price, but definitely not good enough to have dealt with all the stress and lack of communication on what was happening. The Vroom employees I dealt with on the phone were nice and understanding of my frustration, but they really could not give me any answers. I have asked for a refund of the $599 delivery fee, but I haven't heard anything back from Vroom. Vroom really needs to improve their delivery process and communication with the HUB facilities and carriers.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Vehicle price and condition

Lack of communication

Delivery delay

Extra hassle and cost of registration

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 21, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to express your concerns. We are disappointed to hear we left you feeling this way and we would appreciate the chance to discuss this matter further. When you have an opportunity, please reach out to us at feedback@vroom.com so we can look into this. We hope to hear from you soon.

Posted on Dec 18, 2020

Easy and efficient with notable regard

By Eric Y., New York, Verified Reviewer

Quickly searched, via a filter, for the car I was interested in. Confirmed it and began the process of concluding the deal with a very professional, personable, and extremely knowledgeable customer service agent by the name of Breanna.

From start to finish, she afforded an experience that was filled with trust, regard, and notable pride in her work.

Overall, this was the epitome of what one deems favorable when purchasing an automobile.

She, without question, is a true credit to her company.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy search process

Great pricing

Huge selection of makes and models to choose from

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 21, 2020

Eric, we're glad to hear you found our staff to be so supportive and helpful during your car search. Our team is always available should you require any extra help. -Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 17, 2020

Update

By William L., Traverse City, MI, Verified Reviewer

Vroom made everything right after escalating.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 14, 2020

Delivered vehicle with serious mechanical issues

By Jerry S., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

The vehicle showed up with undisclosed damage. The driver's side window made a significant crunching noise, ceased to function within the first 72 hours. The driver's door also hesitated to open. The rear right falcon door had some hinges misaligned. I sent videos, photos of the damages. There was other undisclosed cosmetic damage to the rims and trim. I am still going back and forth trying to get this resolved. Vroom has an extended warranty that would cover all these damages, but they are reluctant to transfer. Offered me $1250, but this will likely not cover the damages. It’s really hard to get in contact with the service agent and a lot (not all) of the staff are pretty rude. The sales process was generally easy. The photos of the imperfections were hard to see, so the sales rep ensured I got new ones. I insisted that I wanted to be sure the vehicle was congruent with the description. Juan was very helpful. The delivery was the best part, I read this was challenging, but it was super easy. All in all, I think they could do better at customer service and their vehicle inspections. I would look elsewhere if I was doing it over again.

Vroom promised to contact me and never did. I have since emailed and contacted the staff multiple times through the last 22 days. I have finally been added to the escalation list. I am hoping that someone will finally help me resolve this issue. I feel like I am being taken advantage of. It is really terrible.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivery was timely and exceed expectations

Purchase was easy

Poor customer service

Delivered damaged vehicle

No resolution to problem

Lack of empathy

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 21, 2020

Jerry, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. We welcome all feedback. If you would like to share anything additional regarding your experience, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at: feedback@vroom.com.

Showing 34-44 of 432

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.