Vroom

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Vroom

Overall Rating

2.3

432 Customer Reviews

Summary

Vroom is a car-buying website that helps you to buy a used or like-new car entirely online and avoid dealing with a pushy salesman. Our review will help you understand if this service is worth using.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.3 Stars out of 432 Reviews
5 Star:25% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:55%
33% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Vroom:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 11, 2020

Best solution to buy a car from overseas

By Young K., Bremerton, WA, Verified Reviewer

It was good enough and I was thankful to buy a car online, especially when I am located overseas but have to buy one for family Stateside. From searching to getting the key it was totally uncontacted service.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Uncontacted purchasing process

Least details on vehicle conditions, scratches and unidentified after market devices

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 21, 2020

Hello, we are disappointed to see your low star rating. If you could provide more information to us, we would be more than happy to look into this further. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please contact us at feedback@vroom.com at your earliest convenience. We always look for opportunities to improve so we hope to hear from you.- Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 9, 2020

Shipped wrong car

By Mark M., Capistrano Beach, CA, Verified Reviewer

Do not buy...

Worst customer service I’ve experienced in a very long time. Every department was difficult to work with. All over-promise under-deliver. Each department was shocked and surprised I had the experience right before. Sure, every department? Sounds like someone is trying to be something they are not. Zero process and procedures.

To jump to the end...they shipped me the wrong car (how?) and charged me to send it back. They also wouldn’t refund the $500. I had to get the fraud CC department involved and my lawyer. The case is still outstanding but they won’t win. They have nothing honorable to show.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Condescending

Told me I was wrong

Apologized every time

No process or procedures

No higher management who has any pull

Will literally ship you the wrong car broken and damaged

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 16, 2020

Mark, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. We welcome all feedback. If you would like to share anything additional regarding your experience, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at: feedback@vroom.com.

Posted on Dec 9, 2020

Beware!

By Jack W., Tilghman, MD, Verified Reviewer

This has been the worst auto buying experience I have ever had to endure, and I have bought about 50 cars over the years.

The driver would not drive into my neighborhood, so I had to walk a little less than a mile to meet him. Since the car arrived at dusk and was dirty, it was difficult to give it a thorough examination where the haul away had parked. After giving it as much of an inspection as I could, I went to drive it away and immediately noticed that the check engine light was on. I drove home, washed the car under lights to give it a more thorough examination, and found damage to the front spoiler. I took pictures, sent the pictures to my Vroom rep, and emailed the check engine light issue. Vroom's rep said I should take the car to a repair shop and get an estimate, which I did and sent the $2,905 estimate to the Vroom rep. It was agreed that my 7 days to decide whether to keep the car would be delayed while Vroom decided what to do. As it turned out, Vroom waited 6 days to tell me that it would pay for the repairs and that it would send me a document verifying its agreement in between 24 and 48 business hours.

With that assurance, I contracted to have the car repaired. The next day I received a document that indicated that for Vroom to pay for the repairs I would have to give it a general release of all claims I then had or might ever have against Vroom with respect to the car, a provision that would have eliminated my warranty and roadside assistance packages. The document also required me to never say anything bad about Vroom and to take down any adverse comments I might have made. When I told Vroom that I would not sign such a release or non-disparagement provision, Vroom insisted that it was necessary for me to release Vroom and agree to the non-disparagement provision in order for Vroom to pay for the repairs. I sent Vroom two alternate documents that said that if Vroom paid for the repairs I would forego my right to return the car, but Vroom has not indicated a willingness to accept either and has been silent since then. As a result, I sent the notice required by the purchase agreement by which I was able to opt-out of the arbitration provision in the contract and am preparing my lawsuit against Vroom. Amazing experience.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Failure to deliver car in advertised condition

Failure to agree to repair hidden defects

Attempting to bully me into releasing Vroom and not being able to discuss my adverse experiences without subjecting myself to potential liability, even if my complaints were entirely true

In essence, Vroom wants to muzzle its customers and to use its superior economic strength to make customers accept its misconduct in silence

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 16, 2020

Jack, we regret you had this experience with us. Customer satisfaction is at the top of our priorities so we regret to hear we left you feeling this way. If you would like to share anything additional regarding your experience, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at: feedback@vroom.com.

Posted on Dec 8, 2020

Do not buy from Vroom!

By Jasmine F., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

I would rather dump my car in the trash than trade it in for a Vroom car. The service is ridiculous. They sold me a lemon and it’s been in the shop for two weeks. They won’t get back to me. They don’t answer calls. They are always "busy". Worst service and worst cars ever. My two friends purchased from here as well. One of them was a lemon as well and the other was decent but overpriced. There are so many other places like Carvana that are great and quick. Also, Vroom adds so many “fees” which end up costing thousands.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The customer service

The lack of knowledge

The overpriced cars

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 16, 2020

Jasmine, we appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We regret to learn that you did not have a more positive experience with us. We would like the chance to talk to you further so please reach out to us at feedback@vroom.com at your earliest convenience so we can work with you to make this right. We hope to hear from you soon. - Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 8, 2020

Smooth experience

By Brian N., Virginia Beach, VA, Verified Reviewer

Vroom was a smooth experience from start to finish. Daniel was super helpful and the delivery was great. Really couldn't be happier at this point.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Customer service

Delivery

Price

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 16, 2020

Brian, we're so happy we were able to help you out. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Vroom Team.

Posted on Dec 7, 2020

Don’t buy from Vroom

By Mek O., Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

It started out great until it was time for delivery and I had the vehicle inspected, mind you, Vroom claims to do an inspection. The delivery was supposed to happen on Wednesday but the car never arrived until Friday. I spent over $1000 getting a car up to par that Vroom claimed to have inspected. Sent the bill but have not heard from a soul. Run!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Not honest about the conditions these cars are in

False advertisement

Unreliable

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 16, 2020

Hello, we're extremely disappointed to hear about your negative experience with us. Our customers mean a great deal to us and we regret that we failed to provide you with the quality service you deserve. We would like the chance to talk to you further so please reach out to us at feedback@vroom.com at your earliest convenience so we can work with you to make this right. We hope to hear from you soon. - Vroom Team

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 7, 2020

Horrible finance experience

By M D., Katy, TX, Verified Reviewer

Horrible finance customer service. Wonderful sales experience. For this reason, I recommend having an auto pre-approval before visiting. Timothy Thomas actually asked me if he could “go home now” after he showed me the buyer's order because he felt I was taking up too much of his time. If it weren’t for Alvaro, I would’ve left without purchasing my dream car.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Sales experience

Finance customer service

Lack of compassion

Treated me like I wasn’t valued

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 16, 2020

Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We regret to learn that you did not have a more positive online experience with us. We would like the chance to talk to you further so please reach out to us at location-email at your earliest convenience so we can work with you to make this right. We hope to hear from you soon. - Vroom Team

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 4, 2020

Leery at first...

By Melissa C., Wichita, KS, Verified Reviewer

I recently bought a car from Vroom because new used cars are pretty much extinct in Kansas. When I first was considering an online vehicle purchase the first thing I did was to read the reviews. 98% of the reviews on Vroom were nightmare stories. My experience with Vroom was overall good. It could have been better by being more transparent. Did the information I had to send them get delivered? Ok, I chose not to use your financing. What happens next. Have I sent all of the documents needed? Enough examples. Long story short, I love my car. The shipping only took 3 days. I love my car!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 16, 2020

Hello Melissa, thank you so much for your positive feedback. We're glad to hear we provided you with a positive experience. Feel free to reach out to us if you need any more help. We're always available to talk. -Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 2, 2020

Horrible service; not worth the cost savings

By Kristin M., Lincoln, NE, Verified Reviewer

I have had nothing but problems with Vroom since I finished paying my deposit. Communication has been horrible. My entire process:

I picked out my car and paid my deposit - no problems. I got an email saying my car would come on Friday. Friday came and went - no communication. Then on Saturday, I called Vroom and they didn't know where my car was. They called me back and said it would arrive Sunday or Monday and the driver would give me a call an hour prior. It finally arrived and the driver called me prior to 8 am and said that they would be in a location 10 minutes from my house in 10 minutes' time. I arrived onsite and my car came damaged, not detailed (pet fur), and one of the tires was low on air setting off the tire pressure sensor. I typed all this into the report, and the outsourced driver DELETED the report and I had to report it and provide pictures to Vroom.

Since Vroom doesn't have a physical location, I had to take time off work to get quotes for the damage and the detail cleaning from different providers as required by Vroom within 48 hours. Then, they had to approve the costs. Then, I had to take MORE time off work to get get the work done and the detail clean. Meanwhile, the tire pressure was not from temperature fluctuations and was a pinhole leak in the tire. I didn't even mention it to them because it wasn't worth missing more work at that point.

As if all this wasn't bad enough, I bought the car in JULY and it is now one day prior to DECEMBER and I still don't have my registration because they refuse to send the car title to my county office as required for the VIN inspection. The person I was dealing with dropped the ball and it was sent to someone else after I threatened to hire a lawyer and sue. They told me the paperwork would be processed and sent on November 10. It is November 30. No paperwork. They previously extended the registration twice. NOW, my tag is 10 days expired, no one from the three different email addresses or phone call service has returned my emails or calls for two weeks now, and I am irritated enough to come on here and write a review.

If you are buying a car and not selling, save your time and effort and go to Carmax. Maybe this review will help me get my registration finally - of which I will have to take MORE time off work to go get.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Cost

Communication

Professionalism

Not delivering required items

Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

Dec 16, 2020

Kristin, we appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We regret to learn that you did not have a more positive online experience with us. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please contact us at feedback@vroom.com at your earliest convenience. We always look for opportunities to improve so we hope to hear from you.- Vroom Team

Posted on Dec 2, 2020

Don't use Vroom

By Andrew F., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

They sold us a 2017 Ford edge with bad brakes. And when I called to get them fixed they pretended like it wasn't their fault even though it came off the truck that way. I had to replace all 4 rotors and brake pads to get them functioning properly. Then noticed the oil needed to be changed. So no telling what else they didn't do or look at in the car.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I didn't have to leave the house

Poor communication

No urgency to fix their mistakes

They sold me a car that wasn't inspected in any way

Posted on Dec 2, 2020

Worst experience ever buying a vehicle

By Michael K., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I would not even give this dealer a single star, to be honest. To put it in short, the car came late on delivery. Didn’t get any notice (24-hour or anything), so don’t believe that. The car showed up whenever it wanted to be there. When the vehicle arrived, the back windshield was cracked and the brakes and rotors needed to be replaced. Our Tesla had 63 miles on it - not even a full charge. Called Vroom about 100 times as of now, close to finishing up for them to pay for the brakes and rotors along with the back windshield. This has been going on for about a month and two weeks after purchase. Had to fight with the management team to get the rotors and brakes paid for (which was a REAL issue). Thankfully my shop had the patience to work with them after 3 requests. They did nothing to compensate me for this trouble despite not disclosing the car had been in a small fender bender. Wasn’t on Carfax and wasn’t "found" by them. Do not buy from this dealer without anticipating any problems!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Showing 45-55 of 432

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.