Read 166 Vroom Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 5)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 27 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 18 1 star:  109
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 45-55 of 166
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience

    • Bluffton, SC,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was reluctant to buy a car online but they make lots of promises like, cars usually in 7 days or less. After giving them the full purchase price I received an email stating I would get an estimated delivery date in 3 days or less. I was also told that cars can be in the inspection phase for 24 hours but it's usually much less. At the third day I called them to inquire. They said the car was still in final inspection. This carried on through day 5. They could provide no further information and on several occasions were going to look into it and call me back that day...they never returned a promised call. I called about everyother day. At day 7, they were just waiting to get a carrier booked. Couldn't tell me when it would happen or how long they would wait on a carrier before deciding it was too long. I figured out the car was in California from the Carfax so I knew it was going to take a little longer to ship. They then sent an email saying they found a carrier and would call by the end of the day to let me know the estimated date...they never called. I called to find out the estimated date and they told me the following Sunday, which would be 16 days after purchase.

    At this point I was given different information each time I called so I continued to call. I called back later that day to ask for the carrier information so that I could get an answer straight from someone who might know what is going on. They said "well it isn't actually booked but we have the estimate". When I asked how they could have an estimate if they didn't know who was booking it, they back tracked and said it was tentatively booked. She confirmed the car had not left and didn't know when it would but she assured me they were confident on the Sunday delivery date (this call was on Monday one week before the estimated due date). Monday night I get a call that the car will be arriving in the morning about 8AM-11AM. So for three days that the car had to be on the road, they didn't even know where it was. They have zero information and 85% of the agents are rude. The other 15% are ok but they still have no answers and never follow up like they say they will (including Supervisors).

    Got the car with just enough gas to make it to the gas station. Delivery guys were super nice but late from the 3 hour delivery window. I ended up getting the car on day 11. Quite different from their 3 and 7 day advertising. And honestly, 11 days would have been fine if I was just informed, treated kindly, and they actually seemed to know what they are doing. Now I am waiting for my $500 deposit. Day 8, had to call and low and behold...they are backed up and running behind but it "should" be processed soon. I wonder how many people they just try to see if they forget about the $500 and keep. Overall, horrible experience. And their attitudes reflect the fact that they just don't give a crap about the consumer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Dallas-Fort Worth, TX,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased a vehicle through Vroom and so far the whole experience has been terrible. They received our down payment and the signed paperwork and it's like they disappeared. They were calling us prior to receiving our down payment. On July 16, 2019 we got an email that our purchase was complete and that they would provide an estimated delivery date once our vehicle shipped, which should be within 3 days from "today" they said. We called them to inquire about the vehicle, but every time the person on the other end would say they had no information on the vehicle other than what the make and year the car was that we purchased. They didn't know where the vehicle was nor when it was going to ship.

    On July 20th, we received another email that said they were prepping our ride and it was taking a little longer than expected. We did not receive the vehicle until days of calling getting nowhere and no information until finally we asked the right question "do you have the Hub number?" Apparently, this was the place the vehicle was and the people with the delivery information. Keep in mind, no one offered this information to us the number of times we called in to inquire about the vehicle. My husband and I both wondered for a moment if we got scammed because no one ever had any information.

    On the 25th someone from Vroom gave me the Hub number only after being asked for it. My husband called and the lady said she had our vehicle and would deliver it in the a.m. the next day on the 26th of July. The vehicle was finally delivered on the 26th of July. However, it arrived with one key. Also, that one key had the portion of that key missing that locked and unlocked the child lock on the doors. I have young children who don't understand how dangerous it is to unlock the door and open it during operation. This portion of they key is vital for a parent and should have been intact prior to them delivering the vehicle. Vroom's site says "Every Vroom vehicle must also pass multiple inspections for safety, mechanical, and cosmetic issues before it is sold. If a vehicle does not meet our strict retail standards, we do not list the vehicle for sale on our website." If that were true, that portion of they key would not have been missing, because that is a HUGE safety issue for any driver with young children.

    Additionally, the hands-free option the vehicle has was not working. My husband and I followed the manufacturer's instructions to attempt an update on the software, but to no avail, the hands free option was still inoperable. This is also another safety issue. We called Vroom after a couple days of attempting to remedy that situation and they said we could take the vehicle to the vehicle's make of our choice. Vroom said they would take care of the repair to fix the hands-free issue and key. We dropped the vehicle off on Monday the 29th of July. We had the vehicle for 3 days prior to being able to drop it off at a shop. Unfortunately, the service department associate needed to fix the hands-free issue would not be in until Wednesday. Vroom told us they would give us a car rental with Enterprise. However, we had to call them to get them to extend the car rental for longer than a day. They originally authorized only one day for the rental. Once they knew the associate wouldn't be in until Wednesday, they extended the rental until Friday. The service department where we dropped off the vehicle told us on Thursday (the 1st of August) that the part they needed would not come in for 3 or 4 days, but then they talked to us again and said that the part would not be in until next Thursday or Friday (8th or 9th of August) and the associate that could complete the repair, wouldn't be in until Monday the 12th of August. My husband called Vroom this morning (Friday the 2nd of August) to find out what they wanted us to do concerning the car rental (considering it was due back today) and to ensure we would still be allotted our 7 days to get to know the vehicle we purchased, after we get it back from the dealership.

    We want to be able to make a fully informed decision on whether to keep or return the vehicle. We were told they would get back with us. Vroom’s website states "You have 7 days (or 250 miles, whichever comes first) to get to know your new Vroom vehicle. Drive it to work, stuff the trunk with groceries, and park it in your garage. If you decide it’s not right, we’ll help you exchange it for something else or provide a refund." Well, we don’t get an email until 6:43 pm today (the 2nd of August) from Vroom. The email says that they will reimburse us for the deductible of the repair, but can’t extend the rental or the 7 days, and that we would need to pick the vehicle up and bring it back to the dealership when the parts arrived. Well, we can’t go pick the car up from the dealership because they are closed, and we also think it’s extremely unreasonable to force people to make an ill-informed decision on a vehicle purchase when we were promised 7 days to get to know the vehicle. We don’t know if this part that comes in is going to for sure fix the hands-free issue. This is an option we fully expect this vehicle to have. This vehicle is currently missing some of its basic essentials and functions that our family needs. If this vehicle was truly inspected as their website states, we would not have received this vehicle in the first place. We are business owners and we would not ever want our clients to have to go through the hassle we have had to go through having used Vroom. I have currently had the car rental longer than I have had the vehicle I purchased from Vroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Lexus IS200t

    • Texas,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    WOW! Definitely excited to say Vroom has exceeded my expectations in the car buying experience. Thanks to the sales guy Heber and Joe in the Texas Direct Service Shop! I went there with expectation and they conquered it. Although the shipping fee was a little high, I still felt received a good deal. I LOVE MY CAR!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Ashley, we're glad to hear you found our staff so helpful. We're glad you like your new vehicle. Feel free to reach out if there's anything further we can do for you. -Vroom Team


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    First time online buying experience success!

    • Indianapolis,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience from start to finish. All customer service was on-point. The vehicle was exactly as described and a very good price, especially as compared with Carmax and Carvana. I took one star off only due to a little delivery confusion. But will definitely purchase from here again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 9, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Carolyn, we're so happy we were able to help you out. If you have any additional questions or concerns about your new vehicle, we will be more than happy to assist you. Safe travels. -Vroom Team


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great service

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vroom was fantastic. They knew I was going on vacation, so they delivered my vehicle quickly before I left (even a day early). When I let them know about a small issue with the vehicle, they stepped up and took care of it at their cost. I would definitely buy through Vroom again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 2, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Tom, thank you so much for your positive feedback. We're glad to hear we provided you with a positive experience and that we were able to deliver your vehicle sooner than expected. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future. Take care. -Vroom Team.


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Three-week late delivery and terrible customer service system

    • Grants Pass, OR,
    • Jul 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be careful dealing with them, know they cannot be relied upon if you really need the vehicle in a timely manner. Know they will keep you in gated customer support tiers and will not let you talk to anybody with any responsibility. They took almost a month to deliver my vehicle after promising day after day after day hour after hour after hour, they refused to give me a straight story and half the time did not know what was going on themselves. First, they forgot to book a carrier, then the carrier disappeared with the vehicle for two weeks while continuing to promise delivery later that day or tomorrow putting my whole life on hold while I waited and waited. Customer service is a joke and they never returned calls like they said they would. I had at least 30-40 calls with them. They now owe me for a rental car and other undisclosed damages to the car and are very slow to respond. What a nightmare.

    Even if the delivery went smoothly (instead of me having to go around them to get in touch with the carrier directly because they refused to give me the info so I could then find out where my car was and drive out to the middle of nowhere to get it from them to end the madness of delay after delay), the way they have their customer service set up to not give info and only certain departments do certain things and they will not let you progress to the next tier of service until they are ready is completely ridiculous, there is no personal responsibility for any employee there, they give zero cares.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Utter failure to complete registration of my car.

    • Corpus Christi, TX,
    • Jul 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased my car on June 3, 2019. Today is July 7, 2019. My car is still not registered. My home is in Colorado. I am working in Texas. I wanted to purchase a car for my work in Texas. I asked that my car be registered in Texas. The VROOM registration department insisted that I must register the car in Colorado. I have made numerous calls to various VROOM departments. Mostly I can talk to someone, who is generally sympathetic and who assures me that they will call me back with a resolution, but that has yet to happen. I do not want to return the car. I just want to re-do the purchase docs to register the car in Texas. Short of driving to Houston to sit in VROOM's store and make scene, I don't know what it is going to take to clean this mess-up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Vroom SUCKS!

    • Palm Desert, CA,
    • Jul 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unorganized delivery, rescheduled several times. Tried to deliver vehicle outside our requested delivery window of M-F, 8 am -5 pm. Delivered car on July 4, 2019 when business was CLOSED! Car was dirty, inside and outside. There was NO FUEL in the car's fuel tank, there was damage to the driver's side door, and worst of all, they delivered the car WITHOUT the KEYLESS ENTRY FOB, which controls all the door locks, trunk and alarm systems! I'm still waiting for their response to my concerns, but all I get is lies and no resolution! DON'T BUY OR SELL WITH Vroom, they don't have their stuff together!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Car with BIG problems

    • Texas,
    • Jul 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Really don’t know how to rate this dealer because the dealership itself is a good setup, the people were nice and driving four hours. The process was fairly easy, however, the car we bought was terrible. As soon as we got back home we had to take it to the manufacturer's dealership the next day. So far the water pump and thermostat and gaskets all need to be replaced and now the dealer said the horn isn’t working. They also said there could be further problems after opening up. We gave them a perfect trade and it’s marked up on their site $3800. When we addressed them they said "unfortunately we can’t tell when parts are going to break" and that they would have just done the same thing and take it to the dealer. They said they do inspections. This is a one-year-old car, I don’t know how an inspection could have missed this big problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Sorry I didn't read and heed Vroom's bad customer reviews. Beware of this company.

    • Panama City, FL,
    • Jul 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    No stars for this irresponsible company. I had to give Vroom one undeserved star so I could post.

    I am 75 years old and blindly trusted Vroom because this company appeared to be endorsed by AARP. So sorry I didn't read and heed the host of terrible customer reviews about Vroom before I did business with this company. Based on promotional materials I received through AARP, I purchased a 2017 Ford Expedition with a little less than 42,000 miles for my wife, Laura Mann, from Vroom and have had most of the various multiple nightmare experiences recounted in Vroom customer reviews. It would take too much time and space to recount them here. Please read and heed the negative customer reviews for this company. They are spot on. In addition, if you need roadside assistance, as we did, be prepared to spend at least two hours on the phone back and forth between Vroom, the warranty administrator (SafeGuard Products International, LLC) and the roadside assistance provider (SafeRide Motor Club, Inc.) getting your warranty registration numbers (which Vroom failed to provide to us before the vehicle was disabled) and then arranging for a tow truck to be dispatched. You can't just call a towing company for help. You first have to file a claim and then SafeRide notifies its selected towing company while you sit on the side of the road for another two hours or so with a disabled vehicle.

    If you have a warranty dispute under the Vroom 36 month/36,000 mile warranty (for which we paid an additional $1,950), don't think for a minute you will come out on top. After you have paid Vroom and receive the warranty paperwork, you will discover (if you read the fine print) that you have signed away your Constitutional rights of access to our court system and trial by jury. You are subject to an anti-consumer arbitration clause that discourages disputed claims and assures you are almost certain to spend more money paying arbitrators and arbitration expenses than you can ever hope to recover in disputed repair expenses under the warranty. In addition, the extended warranty contains a provision that exempts from coverage any mechanical breakdown, loss or damage that results from a "pre-existing condition". "Pre-existing condition" is defined as "...a condition that, within all reasonable probability, existed in or on the Covered Vehicle prior to the Agreement Purchase Date." This vague provision would enable the warranty obligor to deny almost any warranty claim and force the customer to the Hobsian choice of either paying for the repairs out of pocket or resorting to arbitration.

    I expect that the "Vroom Team" will make its stock reply to this post that they are sorry for the problems and will look into correcting them. Please don't bother to feed me this response, Vroom Team. Vroom obviously has no intention of altering or correcting its irresponsible business practices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service

    • Baton Rouge, LA,
    • Jul 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst customer service ever experienced.

    This is the fourth automobile I have purchased from the company formerly known as Texas Auto Direct (now known as Vroom). The automobile I purchased on April 2, 2019 was a beautiful 2017 Fiat 124 Spider. The purchase price was great at $18,480. I had my financing in order, so this should have been a very easy transaction.

    My paperwork was completed on April 2, 2019, and I hoped to take delivery by April 8, 2019 because I would be out of town after that date. This became a problem because there is really no number to call to check on your delivery date. I wasn't pleased with the communication regarding delivery, so I called their customer service and arranged to pick the vehicle up in Stafford, Texas. This was a five-hour drive for me, but I felt better knowing I would have the car prior to my vacation and wouldn’t have to deal with the poor delivery service anymore.

    It took about ten irate phone calls with their delivery team before I finally got to speak with someone in Texas that could help ensure the car was ready.

    Before pick up, I was contacted by Lupe Espindola, who assured me that the Fiat would be ready on April 6th, and that I could pick it up at 9 am and simply drop off my trade. So that is what I did. This part of the transaction went well. The car was ready on time, clean, and I left my Elantra in their parking lot, as instructed.

    After I got home, I realized I’d left my garage door opener in the old car, so I texted Lupe to see if he would mail it to me. He said he would. This was a lie.

    The next snafu was them mailing me the title and other paperwork that I needed for registration. In Louisiana, you have only so many days to register a newly purchased vehicle. The paperwork took so long that I was assessed a late fee by the state of Louisiana.

    When I DID get the paperwork, I realized that I had been charged a $499 delivery fee. After all of the hassle, I went through to go pick the car up, I was astounded that the delivery fee was charged. I e-mailed and called several times about this issue and was assured a check would be sent. This was misleading.

    The check was sent a week later; however, it went to my lender, USAA. Not to me as was suggested.

    Three months later…after a phone call from my old lender, Capital One, I found out that Vroom NEVER PAID OFF MY TRADE-IN. Capital One said I had two days to arrange for payment or they could report me to the credit agencies.

    I called the service line that I had become so familiar with over the past three months to tell them about the situation. I demanded that they pay off my old loan immediately or redeliver my Hyundai Elantra back to me. After all, I was still technically paying for it. After about 10-20 phone calls with their "service" department, I was informed that they could not wire the money that easily.

    Instead, they would have to send me a new set of paperwork via FedEx. I was assured they would call me, though, and arrange for delivery of the paperwork. Instead of calling me back like they promised, they proceeded to send the paperwork to my home address. I happened to be in California at the time, so I was pretty enraged with that. I called them back several more times to ensure that the papers were sent to the place where I was staying in California.

    They did assure me that they would go ahead and pay the balance of my trade before they received the returned paperwork. This was a lie.

    Before I received the final paperwork to have my trade-in paid off, I got a call from their DELIVERY DEPARTMENT. Amazingly, the sequence of events had set off some kind of automatic pick-up request for my old trade-in. A guy from Texas calls and asks me what day he can pick up my Hyundai Elantra! The Elantra had been dropped off in Texas THREE MONTHS EARLIER.

    This company is the worst. Their various departments don’t communicate with each other, they don’t communicate with customers, and they aren’t honest when they make promises. I called them several times after the whole ordeal to ask for some type of compensation for this disaster of a transaction, and they did nothing. Had they reached out to me and made some type of offer for all of the time and frustration they caused, I wouldn’t leave such a negative review.

    The truth is, you need to read this review and avoid the company at all costs. You might save $1000 on the price of a used car, but think about what your time and well-being are worth. You don’t want to risk it. I can only imagine how much worse it could have been if the car I received had problems. DON’T EVER BUY FROM VROOM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 45-55 of 166

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review