About Wantable

If you’re passionate about exploring the latest fashion and beauty trends, Wantable claims that their discovery commerce platform allows you to receive 4-5 full-size products each month, delivered directly to your door. In fact, the company claims that each box is specifically tailored to your tastes and preferences.

But do Wantable’s boxes really help you discover great products, and are they a good value? Let’s apply the facts and find out.

Wantable Details

According to Wantable, their personalized boxes are handpicked by their in-house stylists to perfectly suit your tastes, and unlike Beauty Box 5, each box includes 4-5 full-size products (not samples) from “unique, specialty, and premium brands.” These boxes are available across three distinct categories:

  • Makeup – Blush, eyeshadow, lipstick, eye and lip liner, and more.
  • Accessories – Earrings, rings, bracelets, scarves, sunglasses, and more.
  • Intimates – Bras, panties, socks, and more.

When you’re ready to join Wantable, the process works over 3 steps:

  1. Choose a category you’re interested in.
  2. Take a personal style quiz, which will help Wantable customize each box to suit your specific tastes and preferences (more about this below).
  3. Receive a personalized box, direct to your door.

To begin, you’ll first need to take one of Wantable’s quizzes, which will ask you several questions related to your personality and product preferences. After choosing a category, Wantable will display a set of images that you can rate based on “love” or “dislike.” As an example: For an accessories box, you’ll be shown images that fall within different categories, such as classic, glam, rock ‘n roll, boho, etc. While you can choose to not indicate your preference for as many items as you like, keep in mind that the more you items you indicate your preference for, the better Wantable will be able to customize your boxes.

After reviewing broad styles and categories, you’ll then be shown several sets of images related to specific items, such as sunglasses, rings, scarves, and more, which you’ll also need to either “love” or “dislike.” Finally, you’ll also be asked questions related to important details such as bracelet/ring sizing and hair length.

Once you reach the end of the quiz, Wantable will display the types of products you’ll receive based on your answers. If you’re not happy with the options at this point, you can retake the quiz to better dial in your preferences.

Once your boxes start arriving, you’ll find an information card inside that outlines details about each of the included products, such as their retail prices and information about the manufacturers, as well as a list of some of your most relevant preferences.

Wantable Pricing & Refund Policy

Wantable gives you the option to choose a monthly subscription for $36, or a single order for $40. As with all other discovery commerce sites, Wantable boxes are claimed to contain products that exceed the cost of what you’re paying.

If you’re dissatisfied with one of your Wantable boxes, you can send it back for a full, no-questions-asked refund. In order to begin the process, you’ll need to log into your account and click the Return Items button, at which point you’ll receive a prepaid return shipping label.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Wantable?

Wantable was founded in 2012 by Jalem Getz, and is based out of Milwaukee, WI. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, with only one closed complaint over the past three years.

Online customer reviews about Wantable appear to be primarily positive, although some of the most common complaints we encountered cited high price when compared to similar sites, the potential to receive duplicate items in different boxes, and that some month’s boxes are better than others.

It should be noted that nearly every online review we read gave Wantable very high marks for customer service. The company appears to respond very quickly to their customers, and to work diligently to provide a solution to whatever problem you may be having.

What’s the Bottom Line About Wantable?

So should you sign up for Wantable’s beauty and fashion boxes? Based on our research, it appears the company offers a ton of customization for each of their boxes, to provide a lot of value compared to what you pay, and to be intensely focused on customer service. With this said, there are some things you should keep in mind prior to signing up:

First, you’ll only be able to contact Wantable through their email address, not through the telephone, which has the potential to create delays. However, it appears that the company responds very quickly to any customer correspondence, and to always be willing to help.

Next, one of the most common complaints we encountered cited high price when compared to the competition. However, many of these same reviews also claimed that they enjoyed the high level of customization provided by Wantable, although some complained that the items in their box were far out of line with their preferences.

Finally, one detailed review we encountered during our research claimed that Wantable is just a more expensive version of Ipsy. In fact, they even claimed that they received identical items from both companies, although in different months. So if you’re subscribed to both sites, this might be something you that you infrequently encounter.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Consumer Reviews for Wantable

Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 42% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Each box is better

    • Hilo, HI,
    • Feb 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I live in Hawaii, and each box for me from Wantable has gotten better. Every box my requests have become more personalized towards me based on my review of likes or dislikes. Living here the season changes are different than on the mainland, and they have taken that into account.

    Bonus for me is that I can attach a Pinterest page to my profile, and it has been fun building a board to "shop from."

    I will continue to use the service. I keep at least one thing from each box so far, and the styling fee goes towards the cost of that item.

    Thanks Wantable. There are not many places to shop here on the Big Island for clothes, almost everything is bought online, and your personal picks have been a big help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 13, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hey Kimberly, thanks for sharing your Wantable experience! I'm happy to hear we've been able to help you build your wardrobe that suits your local island weather. You've done a great job guiding them to things you'll love. We look forward to styling you again soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Happy customer

    • Waukesha, WI,
    • Feb 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been a subscriber for 6 months. I love the apparel box the most but recently tried the fitness box and kept 3 of the 7 items. The company has been great, and I recently received a handwritten note from my stylist. I like the personal touch and quality of the products.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I want more

    I saw the ad on Facebook and was curious. I had already subscribed to a competition, but it looked intriguing. I went ahead and signed up for my first order and was pleasantly surprised. I love the quality and variety of my first style. Everything fit really well, and I love all the colors. I am looking forward to my next order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 7, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Ginny,

      Thanks for sharing your Wantable experience. We're happy to hear your first Edit was a hit! By leaving feedback and notes to your Stylist, it helps guide them and get a sense of what your unique preferences are so each Edit gets better and better. Don't forget to also check out the stream at www.wantable.com/stream, where you can make pick requests with one click. We can't wait to style you again very soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I love Wantable

    I just want to say that I absolutely love Wantable! I have tried other clothing subscription services, but Wantable really stands out.

    They listen to what your wants and needs are and style you accordingly. The “Stream” tab is very useful, and they do pay attention to it, so if you see something you like, just add it to your stream and it’s yours. I have never received something I didn’t love.

    Also, I have never experienced customer service as good as Wantable. I had some issues with my card, and they were absolutely so wonderful to work with me to get it resolved so I didn’t miss an edit. They were so friendly and professional. They really took your concerns seriously.

    I have recommended Wantable to all of my friends and family and know that if you try it, you will love it too! They are the best by far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Jan 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been subscribing to Wantable for about six months, and I have loved it so far! They listen to your feedback and make great suggestions based on what you already love and may not have thought to pick out for yourself. I love that they have a live stream of inspiration that you can request or even “dislike” so they know what not to send. I have used a few other services, and this is the only one that I am using right now.

    My favorite part of this particular service is that you get the discount if you purchase 5 out of 7 items that they send. Unlike similar services, I don’t get stuck with something I hate because the whole order is cheaper with the discount by keeping it.

    Now that I have received quite a few edits, I think I wear something from Wantable every day. Everything is really stylish and comfortable. It’s also really easy to pick out an outfit, so it saves me a lot of time in the morning. I am a mom who works long days so having an easy comfortable outfit to wear all day is everything!

    The customer service is great. When I email, I get a timely response from an actual human. Everyone I have interacted with has been very nice. They have worked with me when I needed help tracking a package, figuring out sizing, and they even helped work around my local weather! They have been very accommodating, and this has given me a lot of confidence for placing orders in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 31, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Shannon,

      Thanks for sharing such a thoughtful and detailed experience! We're so happy to hear you've enjoyed mixing and matching your items. You truly get "us"! There's nothing better than trying items on in the comfort of your own home, especially when you know the pieces selected have been carefully considered for you.

      We look forward to styling you again very soon. If you need anything in the meantime, don't hesitate to reach out to our team at hello@wantable.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rip off, beware!

    I am also a Stitch Fix member but heard a good review from a friend who got her first box and wanted to have further options to add to my wardrobe with different options.

    I received four boxes from Wantable. My very first package contained something I specifically stated I did not want in my profile (cropped pants), along with four other items also in contrast to a style I said did not want (baggy shirts, since I am petite). I complained, and they waived the next fee.

    The second box still included four baggy shirts you would have to wear something under for most and a shirt in a style I then reported I didn't like, high neck and open back. This was not an option in the profile so not their fault, the first time.

    The third box had TWO baggy shirts and a pair of pants two sizes too big. I even took photos of the clothes on and compared to the styles they sent that were correct to prove it in case they were excessively dim. Apparently, the pants were a packing error. Also in that box and the fourth and last one, it contained that high neck and back I reported hating.

    I obviously cancelled. Customer service was prompt and made continued promises but they obviously weren't the ones packing the boxes. The whole process felt fraudulent as I never received a single box that had 100% my reported size or the styles I wanted, despite my accurate profile and repeated feedback on each box, my overall description or emails every time.

    Plus I could have done without the threatening emails about charging me that day if my return was not in the mail. I was never delayed more than a couple of days and twice were due to receiving it when I was out of town and the last one I had the super flu. Apparently they don't realize pushing around the customers that can afford their boxes is not a smart thing to do!

    Since then many online friends and several neighbors and close friends have canceled due to similar problems. Their Facebook advertising is extensive, specifically targeting competitive mentions/users (it's what I do for a living), so I hope these reviews get out and put them out of business before they rip off more people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 26, 2018

      Perco

      I was totally understanding your frustration until you started talking down about the customer service agents just doing their jobs (granted, you did confirm they literally have nothing to do with the packaging). Then I saw your second to the last paragraph, and everything became crystal clear.

      Learn to have humanity and stop bullying people who have nothing to do with policy, or any of your complaints just because you 'can'. I understand that everyone grows up but not everyone matures; people like you make me glad that I don't have to work with the public in general, and people like you in exactly.

    • Jan 31, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Toni, thanks for reaching out. We geniunely appreciate your detailed review. While we're happy to see our customer advocates had worked personally with you to try to better match your style, we do understand your frustrations. We do our very best to ensure each stylist can understand, and nail your preferences. We are sorry to hear this was not the experience you received.

      In regards to the reminder emails, we are truly if that's the tone that was conveyed. It's our goal to send a reminder to all customers who may have forgotten to send their returns. We know life can be a bit busy and it's easy to forget. We want all customers to be well informed to ensure they are not billed without knowledge, and so they have an opportunity to reach out for more time if desired.

      Again, we do value your feedback and it will be shared for further review. If there is anything else we can assist with, please get in touch.

    • Jan 31, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Perco,

      Thanks for your response. We appreciate your support! We firmly believe Customer Service is the heart and soul of any company (or it should be)! Please get in touch if there's anything we can assist with anything in the future.

    • Apr 6, 2018

      Mjk98

      I had a friend who was a stylist for another company and told me that sometimes people order boxes and try to steal the merchandise, give a bogus card, and then when they're confronted with it, they write bad reviews like the one probably written up top. If you're supposed to get the box back by a certain date, you need to do that, don't you think? Every company has a policy, so if you don't think you can follow that policy, go shopping yourself. I really don't believe your story that they sent you all the wrong sizes for four boxes, it doesn't sound right. I think you're just trying to slam them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great subscription box!

    Subscription boxes are so convenient, and Wantable is one of the best ones I subscribe to! The picks for me are always on point! The prices are reasonable for the quality, much better than others I tried first.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Thanks for sharing your experience Abigail! We're happy to hear your stylists have been knocking them out of the park, and look forward to styling you again soon.

    • Jan 25, 2018

      Sherri

      I've been with one of them for probably about 2 years. I have never had an issue with them, they always get what I need. They're great people to work with, there's nothing they won't do to get you what you want, or need. I would recommend them to anyone. It's like you're the individual that they are working with and nobody else. That's how they make you feel. They are a special team, that's what I have to say about them. I will stay with them as long as they're around.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love Wantable!

    • Overland Park, KS,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love my style edits! I get a great mix of classic, easy to incorporate pieces as well as fun, standout items. The best part is being able to try clothes on at home to see how each piece meshes into your current wardrobe.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Megan, thanks for sharing your Wantable experience. We're over the moon that your Edits have been a hit. Your thoughtful notes to your stylist each month have really tailored your experience, and guide them towards the things you'll love. We look forward to styling you again very soon. Please get in touch with our customer advocates if you ever need assistance!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible, don't waste time

    • Arizona,
    • Jan 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spent a great deal of time writing "notes" to my "stylist" and going through my "stream" so they would have an idea of the type of clothes I'd like to wear. I specifically asked for no cropped pants/leggings and no tanks since I'm not a fan of showing my arms. The box arrived with two tanks and three pairs of cropped leggings. There was a sweater that was sent in a 3XL, I'm a Large, a sports bra that was WAY TOO SMALL (36Ds would never fit in it, didn't even try), and the one thing from the box brochure I thought I might wear, wasn't even in the damn box.

    I'm so annoyed and upset and disappointed. They suck. I had 4 or 5 friends on standby to sign up too, assuming I liked my first shipment. We will all be going to another company, that's certain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi LC,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We genuinely appreciate the time you took to share such a detailed and thoughtful review. Our stylists work diligently to ensure the items selected align with the preferences you've selected in your profile, and we are sorry to hear this was not the experience you had. It does sound as though there may have been a shipping and packaging error that occurred with your Edit. Your feedback has been passed along to our team for further review.

      While we know that we can't change your past experience, we would love the opportunity to make the next one better and hope you will provide us with an opportunity to restore your confidence. We aren't able to locate your account but would love if you could contact our customer advocates at hello@wantable.com, so we could better assist.

      We hope to hear from you and look forward to styling you again soon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best clothing subscription service out there!

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to give Wantable a try after several disappointing shipments from Stitch Fix and Le Tote. So glad I did! Each order (I’ve received three packages so far) include items that are reflective of my style and price. I will definitely be continuing my service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2017

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hello Dana,

      We are so happy to hear you have been loving your Wantable Edits! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! If you ever need anything, feel free to email us at hello@wantable.com or give us a call (855) 926-8225.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not what I thought it was

    • El Dorado, KS,
    • Nov 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went on to Wantable to check it out; I've seen ads for it all over Facebook. Going in, you take a styling test which gives the stylists an idea of what to pick out for you. I was so happy to be getting my items.

    When I finally received my items, I went into my account and it was asking which items I wished to keep and which I wanted to return. Except, you have to pay an outrageous amount for the items you want to keep. Nowhere during the styling or registration process does it say you have to pay $80 for a pair of leggings. I had no idea so I had to send it all back because I could not afford to keep them.

    Going in I thought it was a website like JustFab where you pay a monthly fee to get all this stuff. All this website does is make you pay somebody $20 to pick out clothing, and then you have to pay hundreds if you want to actually keep it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2017

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Alyssa,

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We're very sorry for any confusion regarding our service. While you do pay the $20 styling fee, any items you keep are an additional cost but your styling fee applies towards your purchase. This is why you select price ranges when you take the quiz, as we intend it to be that you pick the prices that work best for you.

      Your quiz preferences can be updated at any time and we're very happy to assist in changing them so you recieve items that are closer to your budget. Please get in touch with our friends at hello@wantable.com with your account details and we can take it from there!

      Either way, to truly appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It has been passed along to our team to review further, as we are always looking for ways to improve.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Wantable!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review