About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Customer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 9
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • Two Months of Refrigerator Repairs and Still No Resolution

    American Home Shield has sent numerous technicians out to our home to repair our newer LG Refrigerator. The Sears Technicians have been to our home many times and replaced key components in a repetitive fashion.

    The last visit, they decided that the refrigerator could not be repaired. AHS will not honor Sears recommendation and still have no refrigerator after two months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Cunning and unreliable

    • Coppell, TX,
    • Oct 24, 2016

    I had my refrigerator service call 3 times in 3 years and it was never fixed and the service technician takes the money and the American Home Shield charges me and tells me to collect money from the technician. Now, they double charged me using the wielding the stick "if you don't pay, no more service calls".

    Their Technicians never fixed anything the first time. The service rep won't take complaints accurately, and you end up taking 2 days off because the wrong technician was sent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Billed for work not completed

    • Northern California,
    • Sep 9, 2016

    I have been with American Home Shield for just over a year. I have called in repair requests with little to no problems until now. In November my pool pump went out. I called and requested a repair to be done. The contractor they sent out tried to fix the pump and limped it along for a short time. $100 dollars gone.

    A few months later the pump quit and I called them again. The same guy responded and replaced the pump and with that another $100 dollars. A few months passed and I began noticing the pump was making a lot of noise and was leaking badly. I called a third time in less than a year and due to it being out of their warranty time 88 days, I would have to pay an additional $100 dollars for a service call.

    I was very disappointed and stated I did not under any circumstance want the same company to come out and do the work. I was told he was the only pool contractor in my area. Obviously, I did not want to have this same guy come out and work on my equipment. AHS stated they would attempt to find someone else.

    A few days went by and I got a call from my new contractor. It was the same guy! I told him I did not want him responding due to his shabby work. The next thing I know I'm getting hit with a late notice for you guessed it, $100 dollars. Now I'm fuming. I called AHS and spoke with customer service who stated they could not reverse the charges even though he did not come to my house.

    He told them the appointment had been set and I canceled him when he could have taken on another job. I told my customer service rep that I live in a gated community and would be more than happy to give her a log of who came in the gate that day and her contractor was not one of them. This went back and forth until I finally told her to just cancel my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Unresponsive Contractor

    Placed a request through AHS for a leak (bath tub), contractor came out on a Tuesday, broke tub faucet because he couldn't figure out how to get it off, said he would be able to repair tomorrow (Wednesday), I didn't hear from him again.

    I telephoned AHS and was on hold for 22 minutes; hung up. Telephoned AHS a second time a couple of days later, spoke with Damon, who telephoned the contractor, voice message gave a second number, which was the office. Damon telephoned them and told me they were not familiar with my request, but Damon did see a note that contractor would be back to me home on Wednesday 8/10/16.

    I took off from work on 8/10/16, telephoned AHS that morning, only to have a rep call the contractor and he told her he would call me today and schedule to come out on Saturday. This is ridiculous and AHS is just so comfortable with this type of service. AHS does not seem to care that its customers are being inconvenienced and these contractors do as they please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    AHS is a total rip off

    American Home Shield never fix the issues at first step. They try to earn the money before they could fix. I was with AHS for 3 years now and my A/C had the issue and it took 3 years for them to actually fix it. Every time they send the technician, he fills it up with freon, which is good for 3 months, their warranty is 60 days. You pay for freon up to $100/lb and they pay $10/lb. You pay $75 service fee. Finally after a lot of debate, they accepted to fix the leakage. If I go through their contractor I need to pay $800, as they cover only the coil and they said it would cost them about $900 for the coil. When I asked about a buy-out option, the offered $501, saying that's what they give. I found someone who was able to do all the service for that money. (So far freon didn't leak.)

    Find an independent contractor, they give better and honest service and at a reasonable price. Don't believe AHS. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Service

    • Fort Myers, Florida ,
    • Apr 12, 2016

    If you are approached by AHS, run as soon as you can. I like to state facts, so I will keep this one simple…

    FACT 1: Dishwasher leaking and request placed online 3/21/2016.

    FACT 2: Technician from GE arrives, turns on nozzle. States nothing was wrong with the dishwasher.

    FACT 3: Ran the dishwasher on 3/27/2016 leak turns into a flood.

    FACT 4: Placed another request over the phone on 3/27/2016. I was told that a technician would not arrive until the following week.

    FACT 5: On 3/28/2016 kitchen is completely flooded – Service request ticket now placed in “escalation” status by AHS.

    FACT 6: Technician #2 from different vendor arrives on 3/29/2016, says cost to repair too high, and the dishwasher should be replaced.

    FACT 7: Technician #2 turns nozzle on to dishwasher, cabinet and kitchen flooded again.

    FACT 8: Called American Home Shield on 3/31/2016, they have not received any information from the technician.

    FACT 9: On 4/1/2016 given another number from AHS to call to order a new dishwasher. Was told while I was at work that I MUST be home to provide them with the dimensions of the old dishwasher before they could order the new dishwasher. They stated that they could not use the dimension provided by the GE technician or the second vendor they sent out.

    FACT 10: Measured dishwasher, and was told my dimensions were incorrect. My dimensions were sent to another department and someone would call me back at a later time.

    FACT 11: Received a call on 4/4/2016 from a GE technician #2 that said he fixed my dishwasher. LOL!

    FACT 12: Received a call from technician #2 on 4/4/2016 stating that they had a replacement but could not give me a date or time for the install.

    FACT 13: After several emails, several phone calls, and several days missed of work, my dishwasher was finally installed on 4/5/2016.

    These are the steps AHS uses to repair your appliances. If you choose this company BEWARE. You will lose time from work, forced to make multiple phone calls, and send many emails before your issue is resolved. I have canceled my contract after one month of using this company, and switched to another company. Like the saying goes: “Cheaper is not always better.”

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Broken appliance since September 14.

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Jan 20, 2016

    I called for service around September 11. The repair guy came out and rigged the washing machine up to run. After he left it didn't work. Called them back (American Home Shield and Sure Tech) and they told me he can come back Wednesday, and I told them I was going to Las Vegas then Chicago followed up by San Diego and would not be back till October 2nd. When I got back I called the company back, the guy came out to my house, from Sure Tech I believe, or not. He was a loaded as a wolf, so after he ran a diagnostic test, Home Shield tells me it takes 5 weeks for the parts and they offered me some buying options for $500 and $44. So here it is October and my washer is still not fixed. Sure Tech called me the Monday before Christmas and told me that they would be there between 11 and 3 Wednesday before Christmas Eve. I explained to them that I had a house full of guests, about 11 people. They never showed up and they never called. I've been calling American Home Shield to no avail. I just spoke to the supervisor tonight, January 5th, and they just turn it over to somebody to find out why it doesn't work. This month it will be four months since I first called. I don't know what's up with you guys, you started out pretty well but now I feel like somebody's fumbling the ball.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy, run far away because this is a scam and a waste of money.

    • Mansfield, TX,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    This review is lengthy and could be longer, but this is a true, honest experience we have had with AHS. We have had this service since we bought our home in 2002 with a brief six months back in 2005 when we didn't have them. We have called them out every summer for 12 years, sometimes twice and have called them out in the winter time as well. They send someone to do patch work on the ac units, we have two units in our home and both have had issue but the main unit is the one that has issues constantly. This past Tuesday, we came home to a hot house. We are in Texas and its already hot here. I called AHS and spoke to a very rude agent. I was rude too, afterward. I pay this bill every month for 12 years and pay every time someone comes out.

    They sent a company out on Wednesday. The company that came out stated it was the coils and it would need replacing as well as leaks etc. but the coils were clean. He then gave us a sales pitch for a new unit that they could install. We have kept this service for all of this time because we knew and they knew that these units are going to need replacing, not just patching up. And by the way, our electric bills in the summer run between $400 and as high as $1000 before. Our units are 1997 units.

    On Thursday, we received a call from AHS stating that our out of pocket will be $1500 and $600 of that is the freon, it uses R22. They stated that the company normally charges $60 per pound of freon but they saved me money by only charging $50 per pound. I asked them what are they paying for and how much they are paying but they claimed to not have that information. And to add salt to this, they said we could do a cash out and find our own repair person and they would pay us what they would have paid the company that gave us the estimate. That amount is $620 but you only get it when you submit the receipts showing the repairs have been done.

    I asked about canceling my service because I just bought all new appliance for the kitchen and laundry so I really don't need their service if they aren't going to pay for a new ac unit. They told me I would have to pay cancelation fees and penalties, my contract end June 26, 2014. We have wasted so much money with this company, the rates have gone up every year and the service fees have to.

    I also didn't mention that we had them to come out a few years ago to replace out garbage disposal, the guy comes out, uses a broom, it worked all of three days, I called AHS back and they said they would not send anyone else out nor fix it. We let that slide thinking our home was otherwise protected, not. If an item is covered under warranty and it breaks, how can you charge for the repercussions of the non functioning item, i.e. freon. Look all over the internet, complaint after complaint about AHS and HVAC systems and they always find a loophole to not replace.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 1, 2014

      The Newmans

      Update

      We purchased a new ac unit and had it installed 4/29/14 with a very reputable local company that isn't associated with American Home Shield. The company was very well aware of AHS due to the numerous complaints from customers that left AHS to use their services. Now, AHS is stating that they must have a paid receipt. Mind you with the amount I paid for a new unit, to pay us the piddly $600 that they claimed they would have paid for repair to their contractor. It really is not their business what I paid, just the fact that I bought a brand new HVAC which means everything was replaced and the receipt states that it was financed should be sufficient, but the AHS rep Lillian stated that it would have to have the amount. If you aren't replacing the unit, what does it matter to you what we paid? So done with this company.

       

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    You're not allowed to pick

    • Texas,
    • Jul 28, 2015

    Overall if you own a home that's old, get this insurance.

    The good: Got my washing machine fixed, dish washer fixed, heater, air conditioner, some plumbing.

    The bad: When you call you don't get to pick which company comes out. It might take the company three weeks to come out. You can call Home Shield back but they will make you stay on the phone and have you confront the company not them If the company is bad you still have to pay them even if they didn't show and you have to pay the next company that comes out.

    They have some really bad companies and even if you had a bad experience and asked Home Shield not to call them they still pick them. If you state you don't want them you still have to pay and do another work, order and that same company will be picked. The companies excuse is its who ever is available and first on he list.

    The ugly: Water leaks flooding your floor is none emergency. No heat in 0 to 30 degree weather with a new baby is a none emergency.

    Took one company a month and a half to restore our heat in the middle of winter and Home Shield was part of that problem.

    So why three stars? Over all saved money. Customer service always there, though sometimes very hard to get through. Company would be fantastic if they listened more to customers. (Sorry for any typos, written from cell phone)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    AC/Heating Unit

    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I have been a customer of American Home Shield for several years. For the last three years I have been calling in service calls to have my heating/ac unit fixed. They have replaced several parts that have went out causing all of my coolant to run out of the unit. Well, I am totally frustrated at this point because every time this happens, it costs me another $600/700 to fill back up the unit because AHS does not cover coolant. I understand the annual maintenance, but what about fixing the problem. If he coolant is running out because of a valve or something isn't putting the coolant back, then it should be fixed. The companies are putting a bandage on the problem as far as fixing and I have to suck up the biggest cost. Then I call back in to speak to a supervisor and the rep that I spoke to on the phone is completely rude and tells me that someone will call me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great service

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    After researching several home warranty companies, I chose American Home Shield. We have been with for over four years and I have decided the monthly rate is the best money I spend. They have always exceeded my expectations in service and use of qualified, experienced service venders. In fact, I have had several, separate plumbing problems and they sent the same national vender and the same service person. I have told several people of the quality I have experienced and they in turn have signed with American Home Shield.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review