About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

60 Customer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  54
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 60
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No repair, multiple visits, double charge, still not fixed

    Ovens weren't working, and with Google's help, I diagnosed a bad board, called American Home Shield (AHS) to report the problem and gave them the model and serial number so they could order the part.

    The first tech shows up, takes the check and says "it's your electrical box." The second tech is the electrician, checks it out, says "no, it's the oven." The third tech has a look, says "it's the board, I need to order it." Okay, it took three visits to get to where we were on my first phone call. Through text and email, we set up visits to do the install. Two missed appointments so far, hoping the third one will work out. I work full time, this is getting annoying. Oven still not fixed.

    And the kicker is that they are sending daily emails and letters saying my account is delinquent, aggressive letters and emails. This is because I haven't paid each time another one of their incompetent techs visits and does nothing, or misses the appointment altogether? I did manage to call their 800 number one time, and a very nice lady said she'd take care of it. But obviously, she didn't.

    No way to talk to anybody since, because wait times are always "over 30 minutes," I'm not even trying. I can't log on because my password doesn't work anymore (or I forgot it), but they don't send password reset emails and I'm guessing I will never get into the account. Probably no great loss anyhow because given their track record I doubt anybody looks at anything there either.

    So, terrible customer service, terrible technicians, and terrible website. Do not use this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      Please send me an email with details. I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Extremely Far From Satisfactory Service

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Aug 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Copy & paste the link below to view my complaint against American Home Shield to the Better Business Bureau. Although, it was resolved after seven months of going back and forth on my own and five months of help from the BBB, you will see the cat and mouse game that American Home Shield played for a year, ridiculous! I thought this transaction between myself, the BBB and American Home Shield should be in the forefront instead of being buried in the pages of the BBB to afford consumers the opportunity to make decisions. Hope this helps someone.

    https://memphis.app.bbb.org/complaint/view/40130858/c/y7443h

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated against American Home Sheild. Please email me details of the issues.

      Rahul

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Never use these people

    • Bethlehem, PA,
    • Aug 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    On May 26, 2017, our upstairs air conditioning unit failed. We called, and they set up a service provider. They recharged it, and it lasted for three days. We called back they came out four days later and looked at it, and they determined that the upstairs air handler and the downstairs compressor were both unfixable and needed to be replaced.

    American Home Shield argued and told us that our out-of-pocket would be $2800 to replace the condenser, which they were not covering. We went back-and-forth. I finally paid an independent service technician to come out and diagnose the entire system, who also agree that both the air handler and the condenser needed to be replaced. On June 10th we were told by American Home Shield that they approve the condenser, but our air handler was now not approved, which had previously been approved to be replaced.

    After approximately six hours on hold and talking with people at American Home Shield in one department to another who didn't know what one division said or had agreed to, we were told that we would be receiving a new unit both upstairs and downstairs for replacement on July 18th, undulating a Payne condenser and air handler delivered and installed. After 12 hours of installation, the contractor installing the units had to come to me and tell me that the downstairs outside condenser unit did not work at all. I immediately called American Home Shield and explain the situation, and they were kind enough to tell me that it was no longer their problem, that it was a manufacturing issue, at which point I explained to them that they had not yet filled their contractual obligation to provide me with a working unit, and that unit turned on and produced air. It was still their issue and their responsibility. The customer service rep refused to discuss this with me, and in turn, the installer went to the distributor the next day and explained the situation and returned with a Lenix condenser on July 21st. The condenser was turned on and it worked only to find out that the upstairs air handler did not operate, and this was not evident until we can get the condenser to work.

    I posted on Twitter of how absolutely disgusted I was and was tired of being on hold from anywhere between 59 and 83 minutes before I could talk to somebody who couldn't do anything but tell me that they would escalate this or get me a return call, which I never heard from anyone until I put something on social media then they wanted to smooth my feathers.

    I've had two service calls now trying to get this thing to work. I finally had to call an independent contractor, which was Lowry Services, which I cannot say enough nice things about. A prompt and immediate response, and they do the work they say they're going to do right then and there. That service call cost me $1100 to wire the upstairs air handler correctly because installers managed to put the air handler on the 110 circuit instead of the 220 is required to run on.

    Daryl from customer service and the media supervisor from American Home Shield calls me and now wants to do a second opinion. I've had second opinions, I've had 3rd opinions, and fourth opinions, and we have been going on with this since May 26th. My upstairs temperature during all this has been 93° and when I explain to these people that I have people coming and one of these people is on oxygen and cannot be in 93° temperatures and 90% humidity, they informed me that did not constitute a medical emergency to try to expedite this.

    Since May 26th I have been on the phone, documented for 14+ hours with American Home Shield or the supplier trying to get this resolved. I lost 12 hours of billable time, and I have had no air conditioning upstairs in my house from May 26th through July 27th. I have been unable to utilize my office for work, which is upstairs.

    My last conversation with American Home Shield was anything but pleasant, and my last statement was "see you in court." I have every intention of suing them for what I am out of pocket, and the time, energy and effort that I have had to spend to get them to abide by their own contract. Secondly, I would like to point out that they say comparable equipment replacing a Rheem air-conditioning system with a Payne air-conditioning system, which has one of the most horrific customer service reviews of failure rates and not comparable equipment.

    They also say that they will repair or have diagnostics done within 24 to 48 hours and wants the issue diagnosed, and they should have service and repair within 24 to 48 hours, and this was not the case. We have been a customer with them since June 2005 because this warranty came when we bought the house.

    From here on forward, I will tell you that if anybody asks, I will tell them first and foremost, do not use American Home Shield. Save your money and go to somebody who is reputable and actually cares about your business and will and takes care of you the way that they promised they will. And someone who when they say they will provide you with comparable service and comparable equipment will actually do so, instead of trying to get away with the lowest form of product that they can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 9, 2017

      Debbie Hammonds

      I am going through the same situation with my central air system. It has been two months since the process started with a claim and I have no results but long hold periods. There are no contractors in my area willing to work with American Home Shield due to lack of compensation and American Home Sheild requiring contractors not to reveal the actual problem. I am seeking legal action and have several statements from contractors willing to speak on my behalf.

    • Aug 11, 2017

      Sheri Curtin

      We filed a lawsuit against them and they countered with an amount. We did not feel the amount was adequate to cover all of our expenses and repair. Their service providers improperly installed both units and are now outside of warranty because they were installed incorrectly.

      We also paid about $2000 out-of-pocket to repair and follow-up after the installation. We're still not sure of what the configuration of the upstairs air handler, as to whether or not it will actually function in the winter time and heater at home. I'm very skeptical. I've had it with this company.

    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated against American Home Sheild. Please email me details of the issues.

      Rahul

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    They sell contracts well, terrible customer service

    These people have their website all set up to sell you a contract and request a service call. That is where it ends! Their repair people are terrible. Many times have to be re-repaired. Customer Service wait time is over an hour with each call.

    They do not have enough people to service the contracts they sell! If you don't believe me, go read the posts on their Facebook page.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated against American Home Sheild. Please email me details of the issues.

      Rahul

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Terrible from start to (not) finished

    • Chesterbrook, PA,
    • Jul 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Where do I start? Let's just say that I called American Home Shield (AHS) on July 3rd to report that my wash machine was not working. Today is July 26th and still no washing machine.

    I'm a renter and at the mercy of this awful company that my landlord chose to avoid the responsibility of setting up service calls and maintaining his property. I've had two different service technicians look at the washer. The first one looked inside and took pictures. The second one actually did something. Now they tell me a washer has to be ordered from the manufacturer and will take another seven to ten days. All this on top of waiting on hold 20 minutes each time I call into this awful company.

    I could have ordered online from Home Depot and had it delivered and installed three weeks ago. But, because I'm a renter and have to use the company the landlord set up, I'm still waiting! The second technician was great-from Longlane Home Services. He's the only person who actually had some answers and so far, has done anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated against American Home Sheild. Please email me details of the issues.

      Rahul

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Over one hour waiting with only machine automated services

    The repair service is okay, but the waiting time to speak with someone about an issue is up to one hour or more. Yes, you will be on hold for over an hour for help. My fairly new A/C went out after two weeks from the precious repair (leaking Schrader valve). All the service request is automated, and there's no human interaction.

    The recent automation has someone coming in two days. I have two babies, and the house is 85 degrees. I can't simply talk to a person to request another A/C company. There's no place to email anyone and the only people to pick up the phone are in sales. They nicely tell you they can only help sell policies. If you like talking to automated machines and problem-solving for days, with no human to explain the logic, this is your warranty. I feel subhuman. Get a local company quicker.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst service I have ever had

    • California,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had this company for over ten years and when I think about the money I have spent it makes me ill. I have a dishwasher that I have had so many calls on that I could have a bought five dishwashers.

    Every time I call I am on hold forever, and then I get the runaround. It's not working again and a manager was supposed to call, and I have not heard a word. I would not ever recommend this company to anyone again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated against American Home Sheild. Please email me details of the issues.

      Rahul

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    A deceptive company. Go local.

    • Weston, Florida,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had two houses covered by American Home Shield (AHS), and we canceled one house as they took nearly a month to replace a clothes dryer, and we eventually went and bought a new one locally which seems to be what many people do out of frustration, which is deceptive.

    Our AC unit compressor needed to be replaced and significant time in a hot house waiting for them to deliver a replacement compressor is infuriating, which only supports their deceptive practices. Had we used a local HVAC company they would have replaced the compressor within 24 hours.

    The concept of a warranty is only just that while in actuality it's a deceptive company and should be prosecuted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated against American Home Sheild. Please email me details of the issues.

      Rahul

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    The absolute worst company on the planet

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had the misfortune of signing up with AHS (American Home Shield). They are the most inept and apathetic bunch of tards ever. The customer service reps are cretins and semi literate morons who can barely speak. When you call in for a service appointment, be prepared to wait 30 minutes on hold.

    Also, most important, this sham of a company has only one loser/contractor in an area. So the losers/contractors who do work for AHS are always booked for weeks ahead.

    I could go on for an hour but trust me, don't sign up. You've been warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated against American Home Sheild. Please email me details of the issues.

      Rahul

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Consumer beware!

    Consumer beware. They do not value their customers and have some of the worst customer service policies, including 90-minute hold times, constant rerouting of the call, no response to other contact methods, no explanation for what services and coverage details. This company has so many contract loopholes. When they say they cover all components, that is often not the case. Make sure to look at the G1 section of your contract, it allows them to pick and chose what they will cover.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated against American Home Sheild. Please email me details of the issues.

      Rahul

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Disreputable company

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are unresponsive, wait times to speak with a person to even request service is on average an hour. They have minimal contractors on their list even for emergencies, they have no direct contact number once you have had a bad experience and generally do not care if your issue is handled in a timely fashion.

    I had some sort of leak ongoing, and after 1.5 hours on hold to speak with someone, they told me they had hours and hours to even locate a service professional who then had greater than 24 hours to respond. They refused to authorize my hiring of an outside contractor with subsequent reimbursement. The ongoing issue has caused further issues including electrical and drywall that they refuse to cover calling them "secondary damage."

    They told me they do not care if they have bad reviews and offered no apologies or reasonable solutions whatsoever.

    This is the most disreputable company I have ever dealt with. DO NOT use them for any reason!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2017

      Rahul Raina

      I am in the process of getting a class action lawsuit initiated against American Home Sheild. Please email me details of the issues.

      Rahul

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 60

Write a Review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review