About American Home Shield

Based out of Memphis, TN and in business for more than 40 years, American Home Shield provides home protections plans that cover some of the most frequently-occurring system breakdowns in your home. As a sub-company of The ServiceMaster Company—which also includes brands such as Terminix and Merry Maids—American Home Shield claims to cover more than 1.4 million homeowners across 49 states, and features more than 10,000 independent home-service contractors.

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though they have a total of 3,777 closed complaints within the past three years. Despite this rating, customer satisfaction appears to be “acceptable” to “poor,” based on the online reviews we found. The most common complaints appear to be unknowledgeable contractors with poor customer service skills, and multiple calls required in order to remedy a single problem.

American Home Shield Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

American Home Shield offers four different protection plans, depending on your needs. Pricing for each plan appears to vary based on your location, so yours may be slightly different than the costs shown below:

  • Systems Plan – $32.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components within air conditioning/heating, electrical, and plumbing systems, and much more.
  • Appliance Plan – $22.00 per month – This plan covers repair/replacement of components in refrigerators, dishwashers, clothes washers/dryers, and many more household appliances.
  • Combo Plan – $42.00 per month – A combination of the Systems and Appliances plans, this is claimed to save you “an average of $14 per month” compared to purchasing the plans separately.
  • Build Your Own Plan – $36+ per month (depending on chosen coverages) – Pay for only the coverage you need by selecting at least 10 covered items.

You can also further adjust your monthly premium by choosing a different Trade Service Fee, which is the amount you’ll pay each time a repairperson is called to your home. These deductible amounts are $75, $100, and $200.

If you decide to cancel your American Home Shield Protection Plan, you can receive a full refund, less any service or claims fess, within the first 30 days. After the first 30 days have passed, you’ll be eligible for a pro-rated refund.

How American Home Shield Works

After choosing your protection plan and paying your first month’s premium, your 12-month contract will be activated 15 days thereafter. Once this occurs, you can then make a claim for a covered system by contacting American Home Shield via phone or through their website, 24-hours per day, seven days a week.

Protection plans are transferrable, meaning they can cover your new home if you move during the policy period, and are “all risk”—meaning unless something is specifically excluded by the contract, it will likely be covered. For an example contract that includes most exclusions, please click here.

If a covered system breaks down during your policy period, you simply contact American Home Shield by phone or through their website, and speak with a 24/7 service representative, who will then schedule a contractor. Even though a service representative is available at all times, your contractor will only contact you during normal business hours.

Once your scheduled contractor arrives, you’ll be required to pay your Trade Call Service Fee to them directly, which will allow them to begin diagnosing the problem. After this occurs, the contractor will contact American Home Shield to verify that the problem is covered under your plan. Then, once this is confirmed, your contractor will begin repairing or replacing your system.

While the process seems relatively straightforward, and despite the company’s claim to use quality contractors, we came across hundreds of complaints during our research citing that American Home Shield often uses unprofessional (and often unqualified) contractors first. Then, if the problem isn’t addressed satisfactorily, they’ll call in more experienced and professional contractors to complete the job. With this said, there are hundreds of additional consumer complaints which state that their problems remain unresolved after as many as 5-6 service calls—and paying the associated Trade Call Service Fee each time, on top of their monthly premium.

Pros:

  • Several different home protection plans from which to choose, with reasonable monthly pricing.
  • In business since 1971, with more than 1.4 million covered homes.
  • 24/7 customer support to file a claim.
  • Company claims to use only high-quality contractors that consistently maintain strong customer satisfaction rankings.

Cons:

  • Contractors who complete repairs are only available during normal business hours.
  • Have a tendency to send “sketchy” contractors to your home as a first resort, though they also contract with well-established companies like Sears.
  • Many customers have complained that contractors often show up just to collect their fee, and then quickly leave without adequately addressing the problem.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

21 Customer Reviews for American Home Shield

Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 17
Bottom Line: 29% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money!

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 23, 2017

    The $42-per-month fee seems like a deal for the peace of mind, but you're way better setting that money aside in savings and handling repairs using qualified professionals.

    I had the plan for almost a year when my oven broke. I called American Home Shield, and they sent a technician out (there is a 7-hour window, so I had to work from home that day) and when I explained the issue, he collected his "service fee," and then set about "inspecting" my oven. For 30 minutes he tried to get the oven door off and finally had to look it up online on his phone. He then left and said he'd be back with me in 3-5 days.

    Two weeks passed, and I didn't hear from anyone, so I called American Home Shield, and they told me that my repair has been denied. They told me that the repair guy reported that I was "missing a part" and when I called BS, they sent another technician out. When the second guy arrived, I told him the story, and he asked me if I happened to have a video of the stove breaking. WHAT?

    I invited him to leave my property immediately and set about the long voyage of trying to cancel this awful contract. I sat on hold for 45 minutes longer than the usual 45-60 minute call, to be connected to someone in their "retention" office. This woman's attitude was awful, and she took a clear satisfaction in trying to avert my cancellation by assessing me an early cancellation fee.

    This is a racket and a fleecing operation, to put it kindly. Stay far, far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not use American Home Shield

    It is always a long 20 to 30-minute wait to reach an overworked, rude customer service person. I was just on hold for 20 minutes and got a busy noise and a hang-up. The website does not work, for I tried to log on and it shows that I do not have a contract, even though I have been paying for one for over two years.

    Do not waste your time or money with this wart of a company. Also, be aware that the Consumer Affairs website showing reviews is American Home Shield's own site. I tried leaving a negative review on that site, and it was deleted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Hot water heater issue

    These people are not a good company. They are rude and they send repair people out to patch up things which then stop working. They want you to keep paying service call fees of $75 for their mistakes.

    My hot water heater is not working, so I called them on the 12/20/2016. Someone came out on 12/21/2016 to fix the problem, but on 12/27/2016 the problem got worse. I still don't have hot water, and they're telling me that they didn't send the company that came to fix it. I called that company, and they assured me the American Home Shield sent them. Now they want me to pay $75 more to send someone else out.

    I don't think this is fair, and this company is horrible. They refuse to give you numbers to a supervisor or even give you their names. Something needs to be done.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not use this company!

    I've got a water pipe that is leaking in my basement. The leak is from the kitchen sink and dishwasher line and it is leaking into the unfinished portion of the basement. When I first discovered the leak, I called American Home Sheild and told them I needed a duct person because it looked like the water was dripping from a duct. The duct guy came and let me know that water is coming from a water line that is running above the duct. For my untrained eye, I didn't know that.

    The duct guy calls American Home Shield and tells them to get a plumber out to the house. The plumber comes and says he needs the duct guy to come and take down the duct so he can repair it. Once it is repaired, the duct guy can hang the ducting back up. American Home Shield will not pay for the duct guy to come and remove the ducting, but they will pay if they had to tear down the drywall, concrete, or ceiling to get to leaking pipe!

    Someone please help me understand why they would pay to destroy building materials, but not temp remove a duct?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not what you expect

    • Canoga Park, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2017

    They have sketchy contractors who avoid doing their job just collecting their fees. They are like the stackable washer and dryer, and they will not separate to do their work. It's like you have to remove the bolts so a tire can be changed. They will do anything to avoid doing their job, saying the problem is NOT covered and trying to make you pay separate fees directly to the contractors.

    For example, Friant is NOT covered, and mold and mildew on the drum of washer NOT covered. The contractors seem to know exactly what is NOT covered and push you to pay for what is NOT covered separately. Good LUCK!

    Here's a recommendation: whatever company they send out, look up their review before agreeing for them to come out. Ask for another company. These are NOT reputable Contractors. Sketchy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    American Home Shield is garbage, I would rather take my chances without insurance

    • Manchester, MD,
    • Jan 6, 2017

    We got American Home Shield insurance when we bought the home, thinking new home, things may break, let's pay the $600 and have a piece of mind. Well, it didn't turn out quite that way.

    To put it simply, they will be quick to take your premium, however, when actual problems arise, they will look for every single possible excuse NOT to cover the claim or think of a way where you would have to pay most of the bill. Save your money and hire repairmen yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    I've been trying to convince my husband for at least 12 years to cancel this contract with this current experience I am getting my way. Our washer broke 11/16. On 11/17 we paid $75 to learn the machine was not worth fixing. We went out of the country on 11/18, and on returning expected a check in the mail toward a replacement washer. Instead, we had an email stating AHS needed a second opinion. Another service company came out 11/30. Same diagnosis. On 12/2 after business hours, received an email with a generic list attached, requesting that we respond with some general info about our washer. I called Saturday, 12/3, and waited to speak with someone for 20 minutes and was told the email request was so they could source a replacement washer -- brand, color, dimensions not guaranteed -- and at the option of AHS, they may just issue us a check. No estimated date of delivery. I feel this is a stall tactic. It cost me $40 to do 2 weeks worth of laundry; afraid I will have to do it again. My husband is finally convinced we could have replaced every appliance in the house with what we have paid in monthly premiums and "copays". I have no complaints about the quality of the two service companies that came out on this job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It is a SCAM, not legit.

    • Plano, TX,
    • Dec 14, 2016

    I bought a house 1 month ago, my agent bought a home warranty from this company. When I moved into the house, everything was working fine.

    I've recently created a plumbing service request, my toilet tank has a little leak. The plumbing guys came and said we need to change the flange. But American Home Shield company does not give them a permission to change it. I called them they said you didn't "diagnose" your toilet properly before moving into the home and the problem was there more than 6 months.

    This horrible company read me the contract Section D:

    Additional limitations and exclusions Number 3, saying AHS is not responsible or liable for mold, mildew, bio-organic growth, rot, fungus, any similar issues, or pest damage, of any nature or kind, including but not limited to: a. Damages of any kind resulting from such causes; b. Diagnosis, inspection, notification, removal, or remediation."

    Do you see anything about 6 months restriction about flange replacement? And do you know what "Diagnosis" mean?

    This company is a very BIG SCAM. I wanted to cancel my contract and their authorization service only works business hours, so don't believe 7 days 24 hours trickery. The number to get authentication is 1-877-489-8320. I called them for cancellation and still waiting for the last 45 minutes. If you've it, good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Two Months of Refrigerator Repairs and Still No Resolution

    American Home Shield has sent numerous technicians out to our home to repair our newer LG Refrigerator. The Sears Technicians have been to our home many times and replaced key components in a repetitive fashion.

    The last visit, they decided that the refrigerator could not be repaired. AHS will not honor Sears recommendation and still have no refrigerator after two months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 9, 2016

      Veronica Limon Rodriguez

      Can you please share your resolution?

      I am in the same boat, and nobody wants to service my stove.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Cunning and unreliable

    • Coppell, TX,
    • Oct 24, 2016

    I had my refrigerator service call 3 times in 3 years and it was never fixed and the service technician takes the money and the American Home Shield charges me and tells me to collect money from the technician. Now, they double charged me using the wielding the stick "if you don't pay, no more service calls".

    Their Technicians never fixed anything the first time. The service rep won't take complaints accurately, and you end up taking 2 days off because the wrong technician was sent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Billed for work not completed

    • Northern California,
    • Sep 9, 2016

    I have been with American Home Shield for just over a year. I have called in repair requests with little to no problems until now. In November my pool pump went out. I called and requested a repair to be done. The contractor they sent out tried to fix the pump and limped it along for a short time. $100 dollars gone.

    A few months later the pump quit and I called them again. The same guy responded and replaced the pump and with that another $100 dollars. A few months passed and I began noticing the pump was making a lot of noise and was leaking badly. I called a third time in less than a year and due to it being out of their warranty time 88 days, I would have to pay an additional $100 dollars for a service call.

    I was very disappointed and stated I did not under any circumstance want the same company to come out and do the work. I was told he was the only pool contractor in my area. Obviously, I did not want to have this same guy come out and work on my equipment. AHS stated they would attempt to find someone else.

    A few days went by and I got a call from my new contractor. It was the same guy! I told him I did not want him responding due to his shabby work. The next thing I know I'm getting hit with a late notice for you guessed it, $100 dollars. Now I'm fuming. I called AHS and spoke with customer service who stated they could not reverse the charges even though he did not come to my house.

    He told them the appointment had been set and I canceled him when he could have taken on another job. I told my customer service rep that I live in a gated community and would be more than happy to give her a log of who came in the gate that day and her contractor was not one of them. This went back and forth until I finally told her to just cancel my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a review for American Home Shield!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review