About Freelancer.com

Based in Pyrmont, NSW, Australia, Freelancer.com is an online marketplace specifically designed for freelancers looking for work, and for outsourcers and crowdsourcers looking to have work completed. In business since 2004, the company claims to be the world’s largest outsourcing marketplace, with 4.5 million projects posted, and nearly 8 million verified users. Freelancer.com focuses on a wide variety of fields, including web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and according to the company, “anything else you could think of, all for the fraction of the cost.”

Freelancer.com Features

If you’re using Freelancer.com as an employer or small business, you simply sign up and post a project to begin. You’ll need to enter the project title, project details, skills you require for all applicants, in addition to pricing options (e.g. fixed budget or hourly). You will also be able to attach files relevant to your project at this time.

Once you’re ready to post your project, you’ll be given the option to further promote your listing by attaching additional classifications, such as Featured Project, Urgent Project, Private Project, NDA Required, and more. Keep in mind that these additional classifications will entail fees ranging anywhere from $9-$200, which Freelancer.com claims can increase your project’s visibility and attract up to 80% more bids. Employers on the site can also be proactive and browse through freelancers, which can be filtered by hourly rate, location, skills, and work categories, after which they can be contacted directly and invited to place a bid.

After your project has been submitted, you’ll begin receiving bids from freelancers who would like to work on your project. At this point you can review their qualifications by analyzing their portfolio and work history, overall rating, skill sets, and test scores. The hiring process is very personalized, and is completely based on your judgement and discretion.

Once your chosen freelancer has been hired, work will begin. If your project is based on a fixed price, you will generally pay the freelancer only after work has been completed. If your project will be billed on an hourly basis, Freelancer.com now offers a “Freelancer Time Track,” which ensures that every hour logged by the contractor is actually worked, by tracking their time via a software program that captures frequent screenshots.

Once the project has been completed to your satisfaction, you’ll be able to provide feedback to the contractor, as well as to rate their performance.

If you are looking for work as a freelancer, you can browse projects based on type (e.g. featured projects, projects with low bids, projects that are ending soon, etc.), and/or based on category (e.g. graphic design, web development, 3D animation, online marketing, etc.). You’ll then only place bids on projects that are relevant to your skill set.

Freelancer.com Membership Plans and Pricing

For those looking for work, Freelancer.com offers four different membership options, which range from no cost, to $49.95 per month:

  • Free
  • Basic
  • Standard
  • Premium

The primary differences between these packages are the number of bids you’re allowed, the percentage of the associated freelancer fee, as well as the number of portfolio items and skill sets you’re able to display to prospective employers. This means that if you’re just starting out, you may be able to get by just fine with a lower package. However, once your portfolio and skill sets grow, you’ll likely need to move up to a more robust package. It’s also important to note that these packages are tailored more toward freelancers, since employers will rarely need to showcase work or place bids on projects. For an informative chart displaying all Membership options and pricing, please click here.

Once your account is setup, you can easily switch between the packages and make payment via MasterCard, AMEX, Visa, Paypal, and Skrill Moneybookers.

Is Freelancer.com a Scam?

Freelancer.com is a globally acclaimed company that is backed by substantially large investors, and is staffed by legitimate management and leadership teams. As such, there are no indications that the company is a scam.

Having said this, since Freelancer.com has been in business for several years and has accumulated a wide variety of user reviews, the most common complaint is that many freelancers (as well as some employers) have claimed that they’ve experienced payment delays after a transaction has been completed, or that payments have not been processed altogether. They state their accounts are frequently frozen and undergo some sort of “investigation,” at which point Freelancer.com’s customer service is of little to no assistance. As can be imagined, when freelancers have worked for days or weeks on a project, completed them to their employers’ satisfaction, but then find that they’re unable to withdraw their funds, they become angry and immediately begin throwing around the “scam” word. To the company’s credit, when responding to these complaints, they have acknowledged that this is an ongoing problem, and that they are actively attempting an internal restructuring to address the issue.

Should You Avoid Freelancer.com?

Overall, Freelancer.com seems to have a great vision for the freelancing community, and is not necessarily a site that you should avoid. However, as a suggestion, if you do decide to sign up, be sure to contact the company directly and undergo one of their “investigations” before you begin hiring freelancers or bidding on any projects. By addressing the issue upfront, you can proactively provide them with any additional information they may need, which will help to substantially reduce the risk of running into any future problems. Another suggestion is to be careful who you hire to work on your projects—use your discretion to judge a freelancer’s character and work experience as best you can. Freelancer.com provides employers with some of the necessary tools to help discern the difference between low and high quality work, though they do not have the resources to guarantee that all work completed will match your needs. Caveat emptor.

Pros:

  • Large online marketplace for freelancers looking for work, as well as employers looking for work to be completed.
  • In business since 2004, and backed by substantial investors and legitimate management and leadership teams.
  • Wide variety of project types in field such as web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and more.
  • Easy to set up an account and bid on/post a job.
  • A good selection of payment options.

Cons:

  • Numerous users have complained of lengthy payment delays as their accounts undergo “investigation.”
  • Customer service has a reputation of being slow to offer assistance.
  • If you're a Freelancer, you are required to pay monthly payments for membership packages just to be able place more bids on projects and increase your skill-sets

Now read: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

194 Customer Reviews for Freelancer.com

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 4 2 star: 5 1 star:  181
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 194
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scammed big time

    • Illinois,
    • Jul 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Freelancer.com and was hired for an hourly project, which I used their hour tracking app for and was told it was an insurance of payment. But when the employer canceled their payment method and blocked me and was refusing contact after I tried to resolve the issue, I contacted customer support four times and was told there was nothing they could do about my loss of $744 for a week's worth of work. I even submitted a substantial amount of evidence, and nothing was done. Worst customer service I've ever experienced; don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    To start with, I put up a project on this site and got someone who said they had an emergency and wanted the payment fast. So I agreed to help with the assurance of my project being done in a day. The guy stole my money and never did the work. By then I had money held by Freelancer. I explained to them my problem with the scammer I found on their platform and requested a refund. They threatened me that if they pay me back will have to take 30% of the money and after kick me off their platform, to which I said fine. A few days after they told me they're reinstating my project and can't give my money back.

    Regarding the scammer, they told me they don't deal with such issues, regardless of me giving the name of the person who scammed me, no action was taken; instead, they accused me of plotting to scam a client of theirs $10 by requesting a payment offsite. To start with, I didn't ask anyone for $10, more to add, I can't waste my time working for $10. The other question I asked them is how stupid I'd be that I'd trust their platform by depositing $90 and yet ask someone to pay me offsite $10? Mind you, they told me they don't deal with offsite payments, but I'm getting this fake accusation I was in violation and was to be punished for $10, yet the one who scammed me of my $60 did not harm.

    I've reached out ever since, asking for my money and no one responds to my messages, no email responses. As for the scammer, he's at large still, scamming many more as no follow-up or action was taken.

    To summarize, they scammed me $90, and their freelancer scammed me of $60. Making it a $150 waste. I advise everyone to stay away.

    Disgusted with this broad daylight theft.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer provides 24 hours of good service and support for all the registered users.

    • Delhi, India,
    • Jul 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is an amazing platform to get a quality pool of candidates in the stipulated timeframe. We have very few digital platforms to source interns round the year, and Freelancer is undoubtedly the best amongst all. The Freelancer team enabled us to hire the right talent suited for a particular project requirement we had at www.hecmo.com. The quality of applications received was excellent, and the process from the Freelancer team very well thought through and executed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Contest prize stolen

    I participated in a guaranteed contest (means the holder must pay even if doesn't choose a winner, and if there's no winner the prize is shared by all participants or top rated entries). At the end of the contest, there were 52 entries (seven of which were mine), and no winner was chosen (actually the holder didn't care much about the contest, he wanted a brochure but did not provide any content).

    One month later I received my share of the prize, but it was less than was due to me. After calculations, I saw that the prize was shared by 98 entries instead of 52 (I had to calculate because, for obscure reasons, the entries are hidden after the contest is locked when there's no winner, while other contests with winners remain visible). Moreover, I was charged 11.2% instead of 10%.

    I sent a ticket asking where did the 46 additional entries who shared the prize came from and why I was charged more than normal, and they responded that "auto-distribution is system generated."

    This is not the first they steal from me, but this time I'm really pissed off. If anyone here wants to sue them please contact me, I want to join.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible and ridiculously high risk

    • Bay Area, CA,
    • Jul 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went over details for a project and then accepted it. However, after I submitted the job, I wasn't paid, the employer just got his account shut off BY Freelancer.com, and I wasn't paid a single cent. Worst of all, I was still charged the 10% fee, and they won't do anything about it because it's the employer's responsibility to pay the wage, but apparently, it isn't their responsibility to try to avoid things like this from happening. Wow. After chatting with the customer service, I got a warning/reminder that I have to settle the negative balance or my account would be suspended. Amazing website. I'm disgusted.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 7, 2017

      Eileen S.,

      Hi Gianna,

      Greetings from Freelancer.com!

      This is Eileen from Freelancer.com Social Media Team. I saw your review and we would like to help resolve the current issues that you have. I will be assisting you from here on and have this sorted out accordingly.

      First, we'd like to ask you to please send us an email through [email protected] using your registered email address on your Freelancer.com account and mention my name (Eileen S.) or write "HighYa Review" on the subject line so the ticket will be assigned to me right away. We hope that you can give us a chance to turn your experience around. We will be waiting for your response.

      Have a good day!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • They won't give you your hard earned money

    • Manila, Philippines,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been waiting for at least a MONTH now, for the money I withdrew last month (June 4th), to be sent to my bank account, but it's still not sent. It was my first time withdrawing, and I know about the 15 days waiting period, so I decided to just wait for it. But it's been a month now, and I don't see any sign of the money appearing in my bank account. I've already checked my bank account for the 4th time, and still nothing. And I'm not receiving any email from them notifying me that they've already sent it. It makes me so mad because I had to wait for that long for nothing!

    I already submitted a support ticket, but they just said that they're going to transfer my concern to the "right department" that's all, and they're so slow to respond!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 6, 2017

      Suzanne,

      Hello, Nina.

      My name is Suzanne from Freelancer.com. We would like to apologize if you were not able to receive your withdrawn funds. Kindly allow me to assist you with your concern until everything has been resolved. Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback since this enabled us to ascertain the areas we need to improve on. I've sent a response to your ticket.

      I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Avoid this!

    • Helsinki, Finland,
    • Jun 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Doesn't matter if you are a freelancer or an employer. Avoid this site at all. They will suck money out of your pocket and leave you with nothing. Do not give your PayPal or credit card. They share this information with scammers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Never again

    • Poland,
    • Jun 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm an employer. I would like to be able to go back in time and never know Freelancer.com.

    1. This page is absolutely unfriendly to the user.

    2. And MOST IMPORTANT:

    They charged a credit card without any reason for the amount of 720 PLN (almost 200USD). I filed a complaint, which runs from May 21st. On May 25th and 28th, they confirmed that they would pay back this amount on our credit card, but I have to wait 10-15 business days for the refund. It's ridiculous, nowhere in the regulations can you find those rules, but I decided to wait.

    Today is June 21st, and still, we didn't get our money back and support does not respond to emails. Never again. There is no support. System errors. One big tragedy. I wish I wasn't involved in it. They shouldn't receive even one star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Incompetent fools

    • Auckland, New Zealand,
    • Jun 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted this site to work well. I hoped it would supply a decent group of competent freelancers. How wrong could I be?

    The bidders are generally terrible. Their portfolios do NOT measure up to the finished product. If you get a part decent one, they muck you around and want to increase the fees.

    My advice is to NOT waste your time. Give your work to a professional, not these incompetent bunch of fools.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 26, 2017

      Suzanne,

      Hello, Peter.

      Thank you for your feedback. This is Suzanne from Freelancer.com. We are sorry that your experience with us is not what you expected it to be. Kindly allow me to provide assistance and find solutions to your concern. I have sent an email to you. Kindly search for ticket ID: LVW-920-51116.

      I am looking forward to your response.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They care of your money, not you

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've completed over 50 projects there. I have three most memorable cases.

    The first project was to move a site to another server. The customer accepted my work and provided me with a star-star review. Some time later he contacted me and asked to modify the site's layout. This task was not part of the project, and he expected me to do that for free. I refused to do that and the customer filed a dispute against me. Freelancer.com staff withdrew money from my account for this project and returned it to the customer. They noted that I had to do this work to satisfy the customer. I guess we guys all work for free forever.

    The second project was awarded to me, and the customer received my work and disappeared. Freelancer.com staff suggested not to stop contact with the customer and did nothing to help me in this case. I worked for free again.

    The third project wasn't awarded to me, it was still opened when I uploaded my work to the customer, who disappeared right after receiving my scripts. This deceiver has dozens of five-star reviews as an employer and happily hoaxes freelancers to do work for free.

    In this case, I don't want to waste even a single minute to contact Freelancer's staff because they're good only at taking a monster commission.

    So the conclusion is that Freelancer.com staff are hard to contact, they will not ban deceivers, and they will not protect or help you in any case.

    Work with these guys at your own risk. There is no guarantee that you'll get your honestly earned money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 18, 2017

      Randolph S.,

      HI Andrei,

      This is Randolph from Freelancer.com. We know that you've had quite a few undesirable experiences on our website. We'd like to help you. Please send me an email at [email protected] with your username. Please put my name in the subject title. I hope that you can give me a chance to help.

      I will look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • They took my money and provided work that was incomplete.

    • Scranton, Pennsylvania,
    • Jun 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired someone from Freelancer a few days ago to edit some work on my novel. I paid them $250.00 because the girl seemed like she was qualified to handle the workload because she had her Masters Degree, but I found out that people can post anything they want on here, and Freelancer does not screen these people to see if they are legit.

    My work was edited with more mistakes than when I originally sent it for editing. I tried contacting Freelancer for a refund but have not heard back from them after several attempts. Their website claims they respond in less than 24 hours, but that is a complete lie.

    I would advise anyone to stay far away from this site because most of the people that are claiming they are professionals are not. It seems like anyone with internet access can make an account and claim they graduated from Harvard when in fact they could quite possibly be living in a van down by the river. So be careful of this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 194

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review