About Freelancer.com

Based in Pyrmont, NSW, Australia, Freelancer.com is an online marketplace specifically designed for freelancers looking for work, and for outsourcers and crowdsourcers looking to have work completed. In business since 2004, the company claims to be the world’s largest outsourcing marketplace, with 4.5 million projects posted, and nearly 8 million verified users. Freelancer.com focuses on a wide variety of fields, including web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and according to the company, “anything else you could think of, all for the fraction of the cost.”

Freelancer.com Features

If you’re using Freelancer.com as an employer or small business, you simply sign up and post a project to begin. You’ll need to enter the project title, project details, skills you require for all applicants, in addition to pricing options (e.g. fixed budget or hourly). You will also be able to attach files relevant to your project at this time.

Once you’re ready to post your project, you’ll be given the option to further promote your listing by attaching additional classifications, such as Featured Project, Urgent Project, Private Project, NDA Required, and more. Keep in mind that these additional classifications will entail fees ranging anywhere from $9-$200, which Freelancer.com claims can increase your project’s visibility and attract up to 80% more bids. Employers on the site can also be proactive and browse through freelancers, which can be filtered by hourly rate, location, skills, and work categories, after which they can be contacted directly and invited to place a bid.

After your project has been submitted, you’ll begin receiving bids from freelancers who would like to work on your project. At this point you can review their qualifications by analyzing their portfolio and work history, overall rating, skill sets, and test scores. The hiring process is very personalized, and is completely based on your judgement and discretion.

Once your chosen freelancer has been hired, work will begin. If your project is based on a fixed price, you will generally pay the freelancer only after work has been completed. If your project will be billed on an hourly basis, Freelancer.com now offers a “Freelancer Time Track,” which ensures that every hour logged by the contractor is actually worked, by tracking their time via a software program that captures frequent screenshots.

Once the project has been completed to your satisfaction, you’ll be able to provide feedback to the contractor, as well as to rate their performance.

If you are looking for work as a freelancer, you can browse projects based on type (e.g. featured projects, projects with low bids, projects that are ending soon, etc.), and/or based on category (e.g. graphic design, web development, 3D animation, online marketing, etc.). You’ll then only place bids on projects that are relevant to your skill set.

Freelancer.com Membership Plans and Pricing

For those looking for work, Freelancer.com offers four different membership options, which range from no cost, to $49.95 per month:

  • Free
  • Basic
  • Standard
  • Premium

The primary differences between these packages are the number of bids you’re allowed, the percentage of the associated freelancer fee, as well as the number of portfolio items and skill sets you’re able to display to prospective employers. This means that if you’re just starting out, you may be able to get by just fine with a lower package. However, once your portfolio and skill sets grow, you’ll likely need to move up to a more robust package. It’s also important to note that these packages are tailored more toward freelancers, since employers will rarely need to showcase work or place bids on projects. For an informative chart displaying all Membership options and pricing, please click here.

Once your account is setup, you can easily switch between the packages and make payment via MasterCard, AMEX, Visa, Paypal, and Skrill Moneybookers.

Is Freelancer.com a Scam?

Freelancer.com is a globally acclaimed company that is backed by substantially large investors, and is staffed by legitimate management and leadership teams. As such, there are no indications that the company is a scam.

Having said this, since Freelancer.com has been in business for several years and has accumulated a wide variety of user reviews, the most common complaint is that many freelancers (as well as some employers) have claimed that they’ve experienced payment delays after a transaction has been completed, or that payments have not been processed altogether. They state their accounts are frequently frozen and undergo some sort of “investigation,” at which point Freelancer.com’s customer service is of little to no assistance. As can be imagined, when freelancers have worked for days or weeks on a project, completed them to their employers’ satisfaction, but then find that they’re unable to withdraw their funds, they become angry and immediately begin throwing around the “scam” word. To the company’s credit, when responding to these complaints, they have acknowledged that this is an ongoing problem, and that they are actively attempting an internal restructuring to address the issue.

Should You Avoid Freelancer.com?

Overall, Freelancer.com seems to have a great vision for the freelancing community, and is not necessarily a site that you should avoid. However, as a suggestion, if you do decide to sign up, be sure to contact the company directly and undergo one of their “investigations” before you begin hiring freelancers or bidding on any projects. By addressing the issue upfront, you can proactively provide them with any additional information they may need, which will help to substantially reduce the risk of running into any future problems. Another suggestion is to be careful who you hire to work on your projects—use your discretion to judge a freelancer’s character and work experience as best you can. Freelancer.com provides employers with some of the necessary tools to help discern the difference between low and high quality work, though they do not have the resources to guarantee that all work completed will match your needs. Caveat emptor.

Pros:

  • Large online marketplace for freelancers looking for work, as well as employers looking for work to be completed.
  • In business since 2004, and backed by substantial investors and legitimate management and leadership teams.
  • Wide variety of project types in field such as web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and more.
  • Easy to set up an account and bid on/post a job.
  • A good selection of payment options.

Cons:

  • Numerous users have complained of lengthy payment delays as their accounts undergo “investigation.”
  • Customer service has a reputation of being slow to offer assistance.
  • If you're a Freelancer, you are required to pay monthly payments for membership packages just to be able place more bids on projects and increase your skill-sets

Now read: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

170 Customer Reviews for Freelancer.com

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 3 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 4 2 stars: 5 1 stars: 158
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 170
Sort reviews by:

  • It's not a scam but it's a blood sucking crook!

    • Austin, TX,
    • Mar 23, 2017

    I have tried both hiring and being a freelancer here. Both experiences ended up badly. Low quality work was done by freelancers. Employers do not pay for work done by me. They let people hide their identity, and this is becoming a gathering of amateurs and crooks.

    Worst yet, Freelancer.com charges for everything upfront. Do not leave your credit card with them! If you start a project with two milestones, they charge the total amount plus a fee to the employer and charge the total fee to the freelancer. This is done once you agree to hire someone. If a project or a milestone is canceled, both sides have to go through hoops to ask for money back.

    They don't care how the transaction goes or whether you get paid. If there's a dispute, they don't care to resolve it for you because they already get paid the full amount. They will change you to resolve a dispute. This is totally nuts.

    Bottom line: stay away! I'll never do business with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst website I've ever been on.

    • Mar 17, 2017

    The bottom line is: the clients will scam you and the customer service at Freelancer.com couldn't care less.

    I can guarantee you'll feel constantly ripped off using this service, either when freelancing or employing.

    Stay far away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They stole my money

    • Turkey,
    • Mar 16, 2017

    I uploaded $30 to this website, and they delete my money without any explanation. They are thieves. I sent at least 15 message, and they did not send the money. I do not recommend this website.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • New Jersey,
    • Mar 16, 2017

    Regardless, if you are a freelancer or employer looking to hire, do not use this company. Their fees are disgusting and they charge you for everything from posting a project to depositing funds fees, fees, fees, and more fees.

    I'm not sure if they're registered to do business in the USA, but I certainly will find out, and I will draft a complaint with the New Jersey Attorney general.

    Again, do not use them unless you like to pay pointless fees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    There are much better sites out there to get freelance work

    • Texas,
    • Mar 13, 2017

    I just want to warn people about this site. I do freelance work full time, so I am familiar with a number of the freelance websites out there. I have to say that Freelancer.com is by far the worst.

    With other sites, you do NOT have to pay a monthly membership to use the full site. With this site you do. Plus, even after you pay monthly, Freelancer.com tries to squeeze out every dollar they can from you. For example, you have to pay if you want your bid highlighted, or moved to the top of the search results.

    Also, I do not believe there's nearly the number of available work on this site they claim there is. There is heavy competition for the few projects that actually pull up in the search results. It was not uncommon for me to see projects that were a few days old that had already accumulated over 30 bids.

    The way they make money is by getting desperate people to pay for the chance to get work. People figure "hey, it's an investment, I pay monthly and a little here and there to get my bids seen, but I'll make it back." But you won't. It's a mix of monthly subscription fees and micro-transactions that will slowly but surely deplete all your hard earned money. The only people making money on this site are the owners of Freelancer.com. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Incompetent staff thinks their Terms and Conditions trumps the LAW

    It's now almost a month and a half, but Freelancer.com still has my account suspended even though I was the one who was scammed by a freelancer who took someone else's work (Disney) and pawned it off as his own. I could get sued for using the banner he made because it is a copyright infringement, but Freelancer.com keeps quoting their Terms and Conditions, thinking that their small business trumps the law. They also kept telling me to do things like:

    #1. Talk with the freelancer to resolve the problem, which is literally impossible because they suspended my account, and getting a reply back from them is impossible because you can only comment once and have to wait for their reply back, which can take weeks at a time.

    #2. Submit a ticket, which is also literally impossible with a suspended account.

    I supplied them with an attachment of the work which was submitted and an image directly from Disney which matched it, so it should have taken a day at most for them to acknowledge the copyright infringement and settle my account, but they are far too incompetent for that. Instead, they just kept quoting their Terms and Conditions while conveniently ignoring their own copyright infringement policy, which they obviously don't care about as much as it says they do.

    They are the most unprofessional and incompetent company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A waste of time

    • South Wairarapa, New Zealand,
    • Mar 5, 2017

    The latest is a change to their terms and conditions, but there is nowhere for you to find out which bits have changed and I see they now plan to charge you if you don't use your account.

    This was a complete waste of time; there are better ones that have actual jobs and actually work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't waste your time

    • Kansas City, KS,
    • Feb 27, 2017

    It was easy enough to get a Freelancer to take care of a two-minute code fix, but the moment he was done, he kept badgering me about payment every 7 seconds, which inadvertently caused a triple billing in the process. And then, you have to go back to the employee to get them to release the "milestone," all of which is extremely confusing to a new user, which I was.

    I build websites and yet had a horrible time navigating the site, and ended up triple billed because it looks like you are billing once and then just confirming, but you are actually posting multiple payments and milestones for things that don't exist, and then you have a credit on the account. So, it is partly my fault for letting the employee badger me through the payment process so he could have it immediately, but, with professionals, this would never happen. In addition, when he realized he needed to release the extra milestone, he tried to force me into giving him a tip for doing so (good ethics) and of course, I didn't.

    So a $20 job, with their fees, becomes $25, and plus with two duplicates, it ends up at more than $60. Their customer service guy was nice enough but must have been taking several calls at once, and when he sorted out about two of the issues, he bailed mid-chat. After making me wait all that time, he apparently couldn't be put upon to finish the last step with me.

    Do yourself a huge favor and don't go near this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Untrustworthy

    I had a similar issue with Freelancer.com where after just signing up I was awarded a job. So without being fully aware of their terms, I accepted the project only to be charged $50.00 for a fake project.

    I received no help from their customer support there. On a second occasion being more aware, I contacted the client first, but there was no response, so I rejected that project. This happened a third time where the client awarded me a smaller job and by mistake in using their phone app, it was somehow accepted, and a $5 fee was accessed to my account. Well, it turned out that client never responded back to my messages about canceling his project, which he claimed would happen.

    After contacting customer service, they told me that my money will not be refunded. It became apparent to me that this customer is a scam. They apparently have people working with them who create these false projects only to cheat freelancers out of money. Freelancer.com is the only one who benefits here.

    Clearly, their policies are not in line with what they practice and seem to be a mill for cheating honest people out of money. I never verified my identity, which is one of their policies before you can withdraw whatever funds you have in your account and to be a trusted freelancer on their site. Although it is over $200, I am sincerely skeptical about sending them my personal information and just chalking it up as a loss.

    I am considering filing complaints with the FTC and other consumer complaint agencies knowing no action will be taken. But henceforth, I will be even more cautious about foreign online companies such as Freelancer.com, and you should be as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 9, 2017

      Cassandra

      Hello,

      Was this issue ever resolved? The same thing just happened to me, they took almost $100 from me and told me that there are no refunds.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer is great!

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Feb 19, 2017

    Freelancer is great at stealing your money!

    They certainly seem legit, I mean who would go to all this trouble to create a website like theirs just to rip people off! Ouch, I have learned my lesson, and obviously, they are part of organized crime, and another way to rip people off.

    I had someone do work for me, and I sent $250 into Freelancer to forward to the person who did the work, and Freelancer KEPT THE MONEY. Then they go through the all-too-familiar routine of saying they are verifying your identity, but they NEVER complete it, and no one ever sees that money again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam, don't waste your time!

    • Tennessee,
    • Feb 16, 2017

    First of all, they charge for EVERYTHING; certifications, jobs, you name it. I busted my butt for very little money, and when the time came that I had over the thirty dollar amount to withdraw, they said my bank account info was incorrect, which was a lie because I triple-checked before submitting.

    Your first withdrawal is held for two weeks, so imagine my irritation after waiting that long to be told it would be longer. I tried to contact their support, but they didn't respond. Their live chat is a front.

    This company is shady and will go through hoops to rip people off. Take your business to Upwork; I've yet to have a problem with them, and it's much more straightforward. Freelancer is a SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 170

Write a review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review