About Life Extension

Life Extension is a dietary supplements manufacturer that claims to offer the highest quality “award-winning, science-based” vitamins and supplements. As their name suggests, they and their Life Extension Foundation (more about this in the following section) are focused on “anti-aging research and integrative health,” and many of their supplements reflect this.

Life Extension is based out of Fort Lauderdale, FL, and claims to have been in business for more than 34 years. During this time, they claim to have reinvested $125 million into helping find cures for age-related diseases. The company is listed with the Better Business Bureau under Life Extension Foundation Buyer’s Club, Inc., and has an A+ rating, with just one closed complaint over the past three years. Unusually, despite the length of time the company has been in business, we were unable to locate any online customer reviews during our research.

Life Extension Products

By sourcing “only the highest quality raw materials from all over the world,” Life Extension claims to manufacture over 350 of the highest quality supplements available on the market, all of which are “clinically validated and tested.” In addition, the company claims that their supplements are created by scientists who analyze “thousands of scientific studies every week,” and who are “on the forefront of medical research.” In fact, the company claims to maintain a Certificate of Analysis on file for each one of their products, which guarantees “potency and purity.”

When talking about the company, it’s important to remember that the Life Extension Buyer’s Club is the consumer-focused portion, while the nonprofit Life Extension Foundation is an organization dedicated to extending human life, controlling aging, and “eradicating disease.”

At the time of this writing, the most popular Life Extension supplements included:

  • CoQ10 (Coenzyme Q10)
  • Fish Oil (Omega-3)
  • Multivitamins
  • PQQ (Pyrroloquinoline Quinone)
  • Curcumin
  • Irvingia

According to the company’s website, all Life Extension products are GMP certified, and include “dosages that accurately replicate the most successful results obtained in scientific studies for maximum efficacy.”

In addition to products, Life Extension also offers blood testing services, as well as “cutting-edge clinical trials” that you can apply for, most of which are compensated.

Life Extension Pricing & Refund Policy

With more than 350 products in their catalog, Life Extension supplements can vary greatly in price. However, based on a moderate sample size, most supplements appear to range between $10 and $82. Keep in mind that the more you buy, the lower per-bottle price you’ll pay.

During the checkout process, you’ll be required to become a Life Extension member in order to complete the purchase. As such, you’ll have six different options:

  • Monthly Membership: $6.95 per month, and only available for US customers.
  • Annual Membership: $75 for US customers ($82 for Canadian members, and $110 for international members).
  • 2-Year Membership: $135
  • 3-Year Membership: $175
  • 5-Year Membership: $250
  • Lifetime Membership: $1,500

Whichever option you choose, membership allows you to save 25%-50% when compared to health food store prices. All options other than a monthly membership will also give you access to two free bonuses:

Disease Prevention & Treatment, a 1,400-page book “that bridges the gap between cutting-edge science and mainstream medicine.”
Life Extension Directory, which details all of the company’s supplements.

US-based basic shipping costs $5.50, while 2nd Day Air is priced at $12.50 and Overnight at $21.50.

All Life Extension products come with a one-year, 100% satisfaction guarantee. You can also sign up for VIP AutoShip, which allows you to receive your favorite supplements on a recurring basis.

To set yourself up on the AutoShip program or to begin the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-226-2370, or use their online contact form.

Bottom Line: Is Life Extension a Scam?

With all of this in mind, what’s the bottom line: Is Life Extension a scam? While nothing we encountered during our research would lead us to believe this is the case, keep the following in mind:

First, Life Extension is a very big company, and has been in business for more than 34 years, so its products clearly resonate with a large percentage of the population. To drive home this fact, according to this article, as of 2009 “it had assets of over $25 million and netted more than $3 million on revenue of more than $18 million that year.”

Regardless of the company’s size though, the nutritional supplements industry is rife with unsubstantiated claims. For those with clinical studies that appear to support their claims, many are based on “thin” science, or on studies not conducted on humans. We’re not saying this is the case with Life Extension, but it’s a rampant problem within the industry. Also, when factoring in the specific makeup of individuals, keep in mind that not all supplements will work for every consumer.

Furthermore, the Life Extension Foundation has a long history of legal woes in its relationship with the FDA, many of which date back more than 25 years. On top of this, the Foundation’s tax exempt status was revoked in May 2013, although this appears to have more to do with funding than it does with anything related to their products.

Finally, we were unable to locate any legitimate online customer reviews about Life Extension, which is surprising considering the company’s age. However, the good news is that you can be a star by writing about your experience with Life Extension. So go ahead and share your experience with the world now!

Tired of Nutritional Supplements Rip-Offs? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Customer Reviews for Life Extension

Average Customer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 11 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 2
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Excellent for the last 10 years

    I've been a customer of LEF for the last ten years, and have never had anything but good experiences. You do have to get into the whole membership thing to get rewards (which bring down their high prices). But as someone who is pushing 70 years, I find that right mix of their supplements is a strong positive in my life.

    To me, LEF's products are a reasonable way to keep myself healthy and active longer than might otherwise be possible.

    To those who claim they are "extremely aggressive marketers", I disagree. Yes, they do send me a magazine each month (which usually has an interesting article or two) and some other mail, but I wouldn't call it aggressive. I'd say informative.

    Nobody is pushing me to buy anything, but there is always a tie in between their research articles and their products, with related ads following the articles in the magazine. That doesn't bother me. Some articles make sense to me, and I buy the products. Others don't, and I don't buy that item.

    What I like is that they continue to confront the FDA in areas where there are questions about the FDA's recommendations, and they articulate their reasons very clearly. Their foundation takes the medical profession to task in some areas, and for the most part, I agree with LEF.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    I ordered from Life extension because they supposedly had the product I needed in stock at a good price. I was never notified that the product was backordered but my account was immediately charged. I called customer service when the product hasn't arrived and was told that it was back ordered and that I would be credited the amount of the purchase. That never happened and they failed to respond to any further email, Voice mail or PayPal inquiries. Fortunately, for me I had not given them my credit card number and had made the purchase through PayPal. It was only because of PayPal that I got my money back. It was a horrible and time consuming endeavor. I recommend that you not buy from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Life Extension Supplements lef.org

    What about the thousands of reviews on various Life Extension products on Amazon? Or ConsumerLab.com?

    I have been noting the growing effectiveness of Life Extension's works since my 30 something children were young. And my father, my sister, the children and I have taken many supplements regularly over the years as part of a healthful regimen, to overall good health.

    I signed up to receive shipments quarterly at very good price discounts. Especially like that you can talk to someone knowledgeable, so I can figure out what set of items will keep my heart stronger, for example, or help with brain fog.

    Subscription includes a monthly magazine explaining how their supplements work in addition to the ads. Excellent company, supporting research.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Changed my Life

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Sep 15, 2015

    I have been suffering from chronic IBS for years. I have found no relief from medications from my GI or from other supplements. I got the Tranquil Tract bottle that was said to be specially made for IBS and it works. It works like magic. If I stick to it and take one in the morning and one in evening the effects are incredible. I have had maybe 2 or 3 flare ups opposed to the 20 I should've had in the last month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 40 people found this review helpful

    25-Years of Positive Experiences

    • Aug 9, 2015

    My family and many of my friends have been using Life Extension supplements and reading their materials for 25 years.

    We've had nothing but positive experiences. Having people who are chemists among us, they have checked LE's supplements over the years  and have found them to be very pure and the ingredients as claimed.

    As far as how much money LE takes in, I would hope the company would take in a lot and that it would pay its leaders (and employees) very good salaries, because they deserve it. From standing up against an Eastern European-style Stasi to designing supplements that fit the latest research, LE's leaders do an excellent job. They are the bravest of all soldiers in the fight for access to high-quality supplements.

    As far as troubles with the organization that would love to take control of supplements, the FDA, Life Extension has beat them in the courts several times by using evidence to prove their cases.

    E.g., LE introduced to Americans in the early eighties, after which they were raided by the FDA who claimed it was a toxic substance. LE fought them with the evidence showing that it was not and that it was a worthwhile supplement, and we now have access to one of the best substances ever discovered.

    There must be 2000 positive studies on CoQ10. LE will supply a ton of them to anyone who wishes.

    As far as what one of the reviewers above said about their sources not even being relevant to their articles, that is pure poppycock. I'm a speed-reader and read oodles of studies on vitamins, minerals, and herbs, and LE provides the best articles of any I read.

    Granted, the health food industry puts out a lot of fanciful propaganda trying to promote new cure-alls, but you absolutely cannot put LE in that same category.

    If you don't believe me, then check LE out for yourself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    A couple of examples of following LEF's suggestions

    • Oakland, CA,
    • Jul 22, 2015

    Two examples of using Life Extension products:

    Firstly, after reading a couple of their articles on thyroid, it made me curious and got my Doctor to check, against her wishes. Result was TSH of 6 1/2. Having read that the thyroid needed enough iodine, I got Life Extension's​ Vit D, iodine and D2. 30 days later it was 4 1/2. I then got some natural thyroid from my doctor and it is now 1 with a good range of .5 to 6. The lower the better.

    Secondly, after going to a famous Prostate Doctor(a Surgeon) for 20 years and having prostate infections along with getting up frequently at night, I saw a big article in LEF with all kinds of suggestions. The use of Finasteride apparently shrank the size enough to allow comfortable sleeping for the first time in 5 years with a PSA of 1.6!

    I hope this helps.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Great products, good prices, great customer service

    • Missouri,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    I have been using LEF supplements for several years now. The quality is excellent and I have never had a bad experience with the company or the products. I may not believe in the longevity of life by freezing after death, but the supplements I do believe in. I use my own research and my education and my ability to think, as well as my doctor's opinion, to decide whether to purchase a supplement or not. I believe LEF has good information available about the supplements they offer and why the supplements work and what they work for. However, it is ultimately your responsibility to evaluate for yourself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Legitimate and Trust Worth Supplements

    • Garden Grove, CA,
    • Jun 27, 2015

    When you compare Life Extension supplements with others that are out there, either from Health Stores or Chiropractors, Life Extension supplements stand out on their own.

    My husband and I have been using these supplements for years. We have returned some because they don't work for us and were given a refund with no problems. Their refund policy of a year speaks for itself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Life Extension is totally legit!

    • Texas,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    I discovered Life Extension about 8 years ago when my daughter was having health issues and we were going from Dr. to Dr. to identify a diagnosis. During this time, I started researching supplements and read not only the Life Extension articles but much online research. From that time forward, I have continued to research and develop the supplements that my family and I need. My mother suffered a heart attack a few years ago and was given heart medication by her physician. It caused terrible side effects and ruined her quality of life.

    I called LEF and spoke to the Doctors to see what she might take naturally. We ordered and she began to take the supplements (one being Vitamin D3 with K2) giving up the prescription meds. When my mom goes back for check ups now with her cardiologist, he is so impressed that she is doing well and the calcification in her arteries has all but disappeared. However, he thinks it is his magic meds that improved her when in fact she stopped taking the prescription days after she started. I am convinced my mom would have little quality of life if we had not discovered the natural way to treat her.

    She says he will not be her physician if she tells him she is not taking his prescription meds. I believe this is probably sad but true as our doctors do not understand the value of natural supplements. In addition, she developed osteoporosis and we discovered supplements for that as well. She is keeping up with all the grand kids and great grand kids now and getting ready to celebrate her 81st birthday.

    I have not even shared what my supplements have done for me, but just know I have never felt better! Just be assured that these supplements are not like what you buy at your local supermarket. There is no comparison. Unfortunately, most people do not know this. Help spread the word!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Full support

    Many years ago, at least 15, I happened upon this company while researching green tea extract. I became a faithful customer that day and have been ever since. Not only is the company research based, it has MDs who will discuss your "issue" for up to, I believe it is, 30 minutes. For example, I have had hypothyroidism for 40 years and until I happen to call a Life Extension MD I had NEVER been told by my doctors that I should take my meds for this in AM an hour before food; or had I had never been told by my regular MD that I should be gluten free. I have Hashimotos disease and would catch colds and such almost continuously. Once I took the gluten out of my diet I hardly ever catch stuff that goes around. This company has helped me in so many ways. Also, did you know magnesium can help with constipation? I had a friend who I taught with who would miss a week of work going for IV drips for her constipation and when I heard this I gave her a bottle of LE magnesium and she was amazed. She contacted her doctor to see what was in the drip. Guess what? It was magnesium. Why didn't her doctor just suggest she try a supplement of magnesium? MONEY. She is fine now.

    I trust these people and buy 90 percent of my supplements from them. Top notch quality. The magazine you get is filled with info. And I am sure the FDA doesn't support them. FDA is not to be trusted to give advice for what is best for the individual but is instead bought. Money is the concern of FDA. Don't buy into that nonsense. After all, the FDA allows small amounts of poisonous products as acceptable even when other countries have banned these. Don't access something just because the government has accepted it as ok. Money is their objective. Ever wonder where the old traditional food pyramid came from? The dairy industry to promote their product. Read and research for yourself. Use the brain you were given.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    New

    • Mountain Home Idaho,
    • Apr 21, 2015

    I tried these supplements for the first time a few months ago, when I found a new doctor to treat my low testosterone levels.

    I had a full work up blood draw that showed what levels were low and what ones were normal. Several were low so the doctor started me on DHEA, Pregnenolone, vitamin D3, Krill oil and Melatonin for sleep along with my testosterone. The next blood test 3 months later my showed low levels were closer to normal range. Keep in mind I was on the same supplements by other manufactures prior to this except the DHEA and Pregnenolone as those were new. My 6 month blood test showed all the levels that were low at the beginning were now at the correct range and I was feeling much better for the first time in more than ten years. I always thought that all supplements were all the same but I found out that I was very wrong and had been throwing money out the window.

    Life extension is a little expensive in comparison but if you look at the blood test results it is actually less money monthly to take these because they make a huge difference! I take a multivitamin by another manufacturer because my doctor recommends it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a review for Life Extension!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review