About Smart Nora Snoring Solution

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 7, 2017

For years, you’ve essentially had two options if you snore: wear a chinstrap or a mouthpiece, neither of which are particularly comfortable (or attractive). Sure, design enhancements have made these tried-and-true devices more effective and pleasant to use, but they all work pretty much the same way.

The Smart Nora Snoring Solution aims to turns things on its head, though—literally. Instead of using a device that attaches to your body and can actually decrease the quality of your sleep, Nora combines a bedside monitor, an under-pillow inflator, and a smartphone app.

Together, this patent pending technology promises to gently move your head when you start snoring, thereby preventing your sleeping partner from waking. Best of all, the company claims you won’t feel a thing, so your sleep won’t be impacted, regardless of your sleeping position or where your head rests on the pillow.

Even if you just started researching anti-snoring products, you probably understand that the Nora Smart Snoring Solution is unlike anything else on the market. But does that necessarily mean it’s right for you?

We’ll walk you through what we learned during our research so you can better answer this important question.

What’s the Primary Cause of Snoring?

We’ll cover a lot of ground in this review, so we won’t load you down with a lot of unnecessary science jargon right off the bat.

In a nutshell though, snoring is caused when the soft tissue (specifically the uvula) at the back of your throat relaxes as you sleep. This narrows your airway, so as air moves past, it vibrates and causes the sound that rumbles the whole house.

While this is the physical manifestation of snoring, the root cause can generally be traced back to dozens of different factors (or combinations thereof), including being overweight, age (the older you are the more likely you’ll snore), stress, alcohol and tobacco use, some medications, and much more.

Because of all these different factors, as well as the fact that snoring can indicate much more severe conditions (like sleep apnea), the first person you talk with about your snoring should be your doctor.

Given this, exactly how does the Nora system help reduce the sound of your snoring?

What Makes Nora a “Smart Snoring Solution”?

According to their website, Smart Nora can “play a significant role in enhancing your sleep continuity, and in turn your daytime performance.” Exactly how does it do this? Overall, the Nora Snoring system consists of 3 parts:

  1. A small device that looks almost like an egg sliced lengthwise, known as the bedsider. Why? Because it’ll be placed close to your bed.
  2. An inflatable pillow insert.
  3. An iOS smartphone app (an Android version is said to be in the works).

Let’s take a look at each of these individually.

Nora’s Bedsider Device

The company tells us their bedsider’s “organic shape is inspired by natural objects,” and its “smooth matte finish looks great in any setting.” We’re also told the bedsider is used to detect your snoring, but we’re not provided any technical specifications regarding exactly how it does this (microphones or other sensors used, for example).

Once your snoring reaches a certain level, the bedsider activates and begins inflating the pillow insert (more about this next). The company claims this design helps keep all electronics away from your head, making sure you sleep as naturally as possible.

You can keep Nora’s bedsider plugged in, or it’ll last up to two weeks on a single charge.

Nora’s bedsider device Nora’s bedsider device listens and activates once your snoring exceeds a certain level. Image credit: Nora.

The company tells us that Nora’s bedsider adapts to ambient noise like fans, traffic, air conditioning, or a white noise machine, and will still work equally well.

The Nora Snoring Solution Pillow Insert

According to the company, Nora’s padded pillow insert easily slips underneath your pillow, between it and the pillowcase. They claim it’ll work with all types of pillows, whether soft or firm.

Once the bedsider detects early sounds of snoring, it will activate a mini-pump that remains out of the way inside a portable case placed under your bed. This acts to inflate or deflate Nora’s insert, which will slowly, gently reposition your head, stimulate your throat muscles, and allow you to “breathe normally again.”

Because Nora’s insert is padded, we’re told that you’ll be able to comfortably put your arm under your pillow. Also, the insert rises equally across the length of your pillow, so you can put your head anywhere. Finally, you’ll be able to sleep on your back or side, while using the unit for 3 nights without charging the battery.

Nora Snoring Solution Pillow Insert Nora’s bedsider monitors your snoring and then inflates/deflates the pillow insert to activate throat muscles and decrease your snoring volume. Image credit: Nora.

Where Does Nora Snoring Solution’s App Come In?

Finally, Nora claims their companion iOS app will provide “valuable insights into your snoring and sleep patterns,” including overnight audio recordings, and also allow you to see how the system reduces your snoring over time.

Don’t have your phone nearby? Nora claims their system is fully functional without the app, although it will only help you better understand your snoring patterns.

There weren’t any app screenshots on the Nora website, although the company recently released some sneak peeks on their crowdfunding page, which appears to feature nightly and weekly statistics:

Nora Snoring Solution’s App A sneak peek of Nora’s “Nightly Statistics View.” Image credit: Nora.

Which crowdfunding page, exactly?

Does the Nora Smart Snoring Solution Have Any Reviews?

As of writing, the Nora Snoring system is set for shipping November 2016. However, the project originally got its start on Kickstarter, where it earned more than $830,000 based on an original goal of $100K.

Because of its wholly unique approach to reducing snoring, the Smart Snoring system has received a decent amount of media attention, having been featured in Gizmag, Digital Trends, NBC News, and more. Again though, since Nora hasn’t been released, none of these provide any firsthand feedback.

From a company perspective, Smart Nora, Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA and was co-founded by Behrouz Hariri. Dr. James MacFarlane, an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto, also used his experience developing “innovative sleep educational programs for sleep technologists, medical students and physicians” to help bring Nora to market, although we’re not told exactly how.

The company claims the Nora Solution was designed, prototyped, and tested over the course of a year in response to the other “impractical and expensive products out there.” Recently, Nora won Shopify’s Build a Business competition.

If there isn’t any customer feedback for Nora yet, is there any clinical evidence to support the company’s claims?

Is the Smart Nora Snoring Solution Clinically Tested?

There’s no indication of the scale of Nora’s testing, whether or not it was conducted in a clinical setting, or the overall results. However, the company tells us that Nora has been tested by users for periods ranging anywhere from two weeks to six months, and that they “have experienced a great improvement in the quality and continuity of their sleep.”

To perhaps get an idea of how Nora was tested, this 5-minute video is well worth a watch:

How Much Does Smart Nora Snoring Solution Cost?

Again, Smart Nora Snoring isn’t set to ship until November. It’s currently available for pre-order at $259, which will increase to $300 after shipping.

Money saving tip: There were a limited number of $239 pledges still remaining on Nora’s Kickstarter campaign at the time of our research. You could also enter your email address on their website to receive 10% off.

For this price, your order will include:

  • Nora Bedsider
  • Padded Pillow Insert
  • Portable Softcase
  • Universal Power Adapter
  • Mobile Application

All Nora purchases come with free shipping to the US and Canada, as well as a 100% satisfaction guarantee. However, the company indicates this is only valid “within thirty (30) days of the original purchase date.” Does this mean if you placed your pre-order today that your refund would be invalid by the time Nora ships in November?

For clarification, we emailed customer service at support@smartnora.com and received a quick response letting us know the refund policy begins from the date your Nora is received.

Nora also comes with a 1-year limited warranty against manufacturing defects. But should you even buy it in the first place?

Will Nora Make Your Home a Quieter Place?

If you live with a snorer, you know the drill: wake suddenly from your great dream, nudge/elbow/scream at the person next to you until they turn over, and repeat the process several times throughout the night. From this angle, the Nora system seems to do all the work for you, without waking anyone.

Sure, there are other anti-snoring products like mouthpieces, chinstraps, nostril inserts, and tapes, but these often leave the wearer uncomfortable and unable to get a good night’s sleep. There are also a variety of pillows that might help—but it’s all too easy to get back into your normal position and resume your snoring.

Is there anything exactly like Nora? The only thing we came across is the Snore Activated Nudging Pillow, although it looks and operates much differently than Nora—which, in our opinion (we haven’t tested either unit), appears to be much more comfortable.

Learn more: A Step-by-Step Guide to Finding an Anti-Snoring Product that Works

However, there are a couple thoughts about Nora we should point out before wrapping up:

  1. It’s unclear whether the bedsider’s detection level can be customized. After all, some people wake sooner than others. Or, is it only a one-size-fits-all solution?
  2. Based on the testing video above, the pillow insert appears to emit a low-level hum. This seems to be very quiet, but again, some sleepers wake easier than others.
  3. While all the other sleeping positions were mentioned, stomach sleeping was not. So, if this is your preferred position, you could be out of luck.

When it comes down to it, the Nora Smart Snoring Solution may not address the root cause of your snoring, but it certainly seems like a unique method of reducing the volume of your snoring—and helping others (and you) get the sleep they deserve. It can even be used for those with sleep apnea!

Just remember that Nora hasn’t been manufactured yet, and a lot can happen between now and their release date!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Customer Reviews for Smart Nora Snoring Solution

Average Customer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 75% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Product does not work. Support does not respond to emails!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Smart Nora as a Father's Day gift for my dad. When he tried it, it was uncomfortable and did not work for him, sometimes waking him up in the middle of the night.

    I tried contacting support@smartnora.com within two weeks of receiving the product to request the return information. It has been over a month, and they have never responded. The website claims a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and a 30-day return policy, but this is a false claim!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not a cure...

    • Warwickshire, United Kingdom,
    • May 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have always occasionally snored after alcohol or a large meal. As I have got older this has got louder and more common to the point it disturbs my girlfriend's sleep most nights. She has started to use earplugs. I have tried various remedies, sprays, nasal inserts, mouthpieces and most have made minor differences.

    I have looked at Nora for some time and almost ordered a few times. The lead time and import tax have been putting me off. I found an online snoring shop with one for sale in the UK I decided to go for it.

    The device looks nicely made, the holding bag is soft and protects the device well. The small sensor is nice to look at and easy to use too. It can run for a night from the battery which means I could take it camping, for example, a nice feature.

    Although the advertising shows an app, I couldn't find access to this and so I have used my own snoring app to monitor if the Nora is making a difference.

    Sadly I have come to the conclusion that the app has been withdrawn because it shows this doesn't really work as advertised. In fact, the distinct lack of genuine reviews makes me suspicious to a degree.

    However it does at least have a small impact on the volume of my snoring (sometimes).

    As you will know if you have watched the promos, when the snoring reaches a certain volume the airbag under the pillow inflates and raises your head a little and in theory stopping the snoring.

    The first few nights I was literally woken up every time it inflated. I didn't snore much that night probably because I was awake a lot. The waking has slowly decreased each day to the point where I am probably only woken a couple of times a night.

    The reality is that I snore all night just like before, I am just more often in the mild zone and not the loud zone. My partner has watched me sleep a few times and has confirmed the snoring is still there.

    I will be honest, I have felt better in the mornings this week, less foggy, more awake which may be down to the Nora helping me breath better. Of course, it could be that its just the longer days and more sun earlier waking me up.

    This then is my issue with the Smart Nora, I don't really have huge confidence it is working or if it is a placebo effect (on both of us). Getting the machine has encouraged us to monitor my snoring far more than we did before, my partner has paid more attention to it.

    Overall I feel it makes a difference but isn't the “cure” it's sold as, at least not for me. Hence my rating of 3 stars.

    Pros

    • Seems to have reduced my peak snoring volume (but still have occasional nights where I get really loud for no discernible reason).
    • My partner is convinced it has helped
    • Easy to use, quiet.

    Cons

    • I still snore for between 10 and 25% of the night.
    • It doesn't stop the snoring but can reduce the volume.
    • It triggers for birds singing early in the morning.
    • I find I have a stiff neck some mornings, I guess because it is triggered a lot and is moving my neck in the night. What could be the long-term effects of this?
    • The airbag is "creaky" when inflating and feels hard when fully inflated.
    • The pump is loud if your ear is against the pillow when it activates. This encourages you to sleep on your back which in itself increases the chance of snoring. I don't see what else could be done about this however as it is genuinely a very quiet pump.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 7, 2017

      Smart Nora, Support Team

      Hello Matt,

      We always recommend purchasing Smart Nora from us to make sure it is brand new and works perfectly. The fact that you purchased your Nora from a third party and not knowing the condition of your Nora plays a big role in its performance and ability to reduce your snoring. In addition, because you did not purchase from us and we did not know you are a Nora user you were never included in our update/newsletter flow. Which is why you are unaware of Nora's functions and the status of our app.

      Nora works for the majority of our customers and we pride ourselves on our happy customers and great reviews that we receive. The fact that you purchased Nora from a third party, never had the chance to be in our email flow to get educated about Nora doesn't discredit the reviews our customers have posted.

      No one product works for a 100% of its users. With that in mind, we offer a 30-day 100% money back guarantee to our customers. Which make Nora truly risk free. Our customers get to try it for 30 days and if they are not happy we even pay for their return shipping label.

      Feel free to contact us at support@smartnora.com and we would be more than happy to give you tips on how to best use your Nora.

      Regards,

      Team Nora

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It works simply and it simply works!

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Nora Smart Snoring Solution now for almost a month and immediately from the very first night it has done what it was designed to do. It just works.

    My wife is very happy with Nora and we are both sleeping much better ever since. I might have to switch to a flatter pillow since I was already using a very thick pillow to begin with, and the functionality of Nora has made me wake up with a sore neck some days, but most days are fine.

    That would be my only issue with the functionality of Nora. Overall, it is simply amazing how effective and SILENT it is. The weight of my head and the weight of the foam pillow are no problem for Nora. I recommend this product to all my friends.

    On an aside: the shipping was delayed through problems beyond their (the people behind Nora) control, so rather than let me wait for the shipping company to get their mess sorted out, a representative from Nora came to personally deliver a unit sitting in their office to my home. That is fantastic service and I was really impressed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Sleep with bed partner again!

    • Japan,
    • Feb 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I have slept separately for more than seven years because of my snoring. I was trying to convince myself that it was a happy thing because I can sleep peacefully, and my wife can too. But, I understand it was not good thinking when I started to use Nora Smart.

    When I started to use Nora Smart, I couldn't see any effect for a few days. But a few days later the effect dramatically appears.

    I'm measuring my sleeping condition by an iPhone app. I could see I'm snoring every night continuously with the iPhone app, but a few days later, when I started to use Nora Smart, the snoring level is dramatically reduced. Honestly, I couldn't believe the effect.

    Then I requested to my wife, "I'd like to know the effect of Nora Smart, so let's sleep together one night." So we go to sleep together one night.

    After the trial, my wife said "I have tried a lot of different things to somehow stop your snoring, but until now I was not successful. But Nora Smart is working, and I also could sleep without any disturbance!" After that, we are sleeping together every night.

    Now I can say what is happy; I can see my wife's sleeping face, and we can say "good morning" to each other in bed.

    Not sleeping peacefully is not happy; sleeping peacefully with bed partner is happy!

    I can hear the noise of infuriation and pump working several times, but it is not at such a serious level. Currently, the delay timer is only 30 minutes, but I'd like to have a 10 minutes delay too.

    Their customer support is also very good! They helped me understand how Nora Smart can work perfectly with my environment.

    I recommend this product if someone is having snoring problems like me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Best anti-snoring device ever (stomach sleeper)

    • New Zealand,
    • Feb 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using my Nora for a month now, and it is simply fantastic.

    I now sleep the whole night without being nudged, poked, or kicked due to my snoring. My constant tiredness is gone, and I wake up feeling ready to start the day. Even better, my wife is sleeping too.

    I have tried various other devices, including straps, mouthguards, tennis ball taped to t-shirts (!), and nothing worked. Yeah, ok, I probably should lose a few kilos (that would probably help).

    Initially, I was skeptical of the Nora working as stated, but the proof was in the first night's sleep. It took a bit of fiddling around to get the settings right, but once plugged in and with a test run to see how the bladder worked, we were away.

    I sleep on my stomach, with my arm under the pillow. Nora took a couple of nights to get used to, especially with the bladder resting on my arm. But that is not a major problem and, unlike the other reviewer, I certainly don't see it as a reason not to try it.

    Simply put, this works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A life-changer

    • Marlborough, MA,
    • Feb 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is amazing! I have been waking up in my own bed for three nights now, which is a record.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Miracles come in small packages

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I stumbled across the Nora Smart Snoring Solution on Facebook last fall, I was a skeptic. Both my wife and I had slept in separate rooms for the last year, and I honestly didn't expect this to ever change.

    For some reason, I clicked on the ad, watched the video and slowly started to buy into the idea: no sleep masks, nose apparatus things, etc. A microphone detects snoring activity and gently raises and adjusts your head and bingo, problem solved. It sounded almost too easy, but also was the only solution that logically seemed to make real sense.

    Pricewise, it's more expensive than the other solutions on the market, but with a 30-day money back guarantee, I was ready to give it a try (more out of curiosity than anything else).

    Nora arrived the second week of January. After being awakened for the first several days occasionally by having my head gently adjusted up and then down, I found that a week later, I was not waking up to my own snoring anymore.

    Then came the big test. I told my wife about it, and she agreed to try one night. Well, it's almost a month later, and we are still sleeping in the same room (and her without earplugs).

    I can't speak highly enough about this product. Is $300 NOT worth sleeping comfortably in the same bed with your spouse or partner? If you snore (who doesn't?), this is a minor financial investment that will become a major investment in your relationship.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work for me, but I recommend anyway

    • California,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Nora Smart Snoring Solution during its original Kickstarter campaign. I got it, tried it for a month, but it didn't really work that well for me.

    THAT SAID, I took advantage of the 30-day money-back guarantee, and the company honored its promise by giving me a full refund. So, I'm glad I tried it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Smart Nora really works!

    • Oxfordshire, UK,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Nora Smart Snoring Solution for about a month now, and it really works. I am sleeping better and longer, and my wife is very happy that my snoring has been all but eliminated.

    I would highly recommend Nora Smart to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    This is the snoring solution.

    • South Wales, UK,
    • Feb 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My brother kindly gave me the smart Nora as a gift to help with my snoring. It had become so bad that my husband could not sleep!

    The first night using Nora was interesting. It kept activating every time I started snoring. It did wake me, as I could hear the pump working as Nora inflated.

    Despite being woken slightly through the night, I woke up at 6:30 in the morning feeling very fresh. The following night was the same, and I woke up early and very refreshed.

    I am now used to the pump and am no longer woken by Nora inflating. I sleep well and am no longer tired in the day. Best of all, my husband is no longer woken up by my snoring!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Nora Is the best!

    • Frederick, MD,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    For years I wore a mouth guard and nasal strips so I could sleep through the night and not wake my partner. After years of spending hundreds on products that did not always work, in one night, Nora made the biggest impact on me! I now sleep all through the night and wake up feeling refreshed.

    I love Nora, it really works! If you want a good night's sleep and you want to be kind to your loved ones, get the Nora and experience the most restful sleep ever.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a Review for Smart Nora Snoring Solution!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review