About Oasis Legal Finance

As their name implies, Oasis Legal Finance specializes in lawsuit and legal funding services targeted toward individuals who need to liquefy cash related to pending legal settlements.

The company claims to be the “largest and most recognized national brand in legal finance providing non-recourse lawsuit funding to consumers involved in personal injury litigation,” and to be a fast and efficient method of obtaining the cash you need.

In business since 2002, Oasis Legal Finance is based out of Chicago, IL, and is a founding member of American Legal Finance Association (ALFA).

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on 13 closed complaints over the past three years.

Based on our research, the most common complaints we encountered cited high fees, which in some instances amounted to more than the final settlement (read more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Oasis Legal Finance Works

Like Peachtree Settlement Funding, JG Wentworth, Annuity.org, and others, Oasis Legal Finance can help you liquefy future payments related to structured settlements, and turn it into a lump sum cash payment.

Unlike these other companies, though, Oasis Legal Finance specializes in lawsuit and legal funding.

For example: If you’re involved in a personal injury suit and find yourself unemployed for a period of time, your obligations don’t stop. You may have a mortgage, car note, medical and legal bills, and more, all of which need to be paid each month.

With this in mind, Oasis Legal Finance claims to have “a simple, fast and efficient streamlined funding process” that can provide you with the cash you need, in exchange for “selling” them the future payments related to a pending settlement. This is how it works:

  1. You submit your application and give Oasis Legal Finance permission to speak with your attorney, who will then contact them to see whether or not your case qualifies.
  2. Your lawyer will prepare documents relevant to your case, including retainer agreements, incident reports, medical bill summaries, and so forth.
  3. If Oasis Legal Finance’s “team of legal, business and financial professionals” deems your case to be strong, funding will proceed from there. For full details, see the company’s Funding Overview.

Oasis Legal Finance Pricing

According to the Oasis Legal Finance website applying is free, and there are no upfront costs. The company also claims that, because the process is not a traditional loan, your credit rating has no impact on your approval, which can often be obtained in 2 days.

Fees associated with your future payment purchase often vary and will need to be discussed with the company at 877-333-6675 or via an online form.

Pros

  • Claims to be the “largest and most recognized national brand in legal finance.”
  • Claims that if you don’t win your case, there’s nothing to repay.
  • Extensive website with very detailed information about the legal funding process.
  • A rating with the Better Business Bureau.

Cons

  • Numerous customer complaints involving high fees, in some instances, totaling more than the final settlement amount.

Bottom Line – Should you Use Oasis Legal Finance?

Keep in mind that, while the cash provided by Oasis Legal Finance technically doesn’t constitute a loan, if you don’t repay it quickly, large fees and high interest rates can quickly add up.

In fact, according to this NY Times article from 2011, because legal lending “remains unregulated in most states,” they are “unrestrained by laws that cap interest rates,” which “often exceed 100 percent a year.”

This means that if your case doesn’t conclude soon after taking out your “loan,” you could end up paying thousands in interest.

As a testament to this, one of the individuals mentioned in the article owed Oasis Legal Finance more than $23,000 after it took their case 18 months to settle, on a loan that originally totaled just over $9,000. To further solidify the issue, you can read about similar situations here, here, and here.

In addition, Oasis Legal Finance was sued by the State of Colorado in 2010 for alleged deceptive trade practices and unlicensed lending, which appears to have been upheld by the courts.

Ultimately, Oasis counter-sued, claiming that “the state was improperly trying to regulate them as lenders under the Uniform Consumer Credit Code.” A copy of the court documents can be found here.

What this comes down to is that if you don’t absolutely have to take out a “legal funding” loan, it’s best to avoid them altogether.

Read Next: The Minimalist Guide to Selling Your Structured Settlement

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

48 Customer Reviews for Oasis Legal Finance

Average Customer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 40
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 48
Sort reviews by:

  • Hurry up and wait

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • May 22, 2017

    Yeah, they say in as little as 24 hours, and that's correct, it takes them 24 hours to even contact your attorney and then take the weekend to make a decision and call on Monday. Although their payback is guaranteed, my attorney has allready settled the case and I am just waiting for the check to come, which may come before Oasis makes there decision. Money in a rush, don't call Oasis!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    I've contacted Oasis on Monday for an advancement, and they told me it would take 24-48 hours for a response to see if I am approved or not. The call representatives are very rude. It is now Saturday and I still have not as of yet received an answer.

    I do not understand why their representatives are rude when I am the one in need of extreme help with funding, and it seems as if they just don't care. Oasis please stop telling people it will take 24-48 hours and your client/customer have been waiting weeks for an answer.

    Lastly, they are not honest and cannot give me an accurate answer. I've called so many times to the point where one person tells me one thing and then when I call back someone else tells me something different. A guy named by David answered the phone very rudely and just horrible. Horrible, horrible, horrible experience with these guys. I asked one of their representatives if I should go back to the financial company I was using and she told me basically go right on if I feel that's what I need to do. I would think they would give you a better response than that.

    Oh well. Thanks, but no thanks Oasis!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 10, 2017

      Crystal Olsen, Public Affairs Manager

      Hi, Jasmine! I'm sorry you had such a frustrating experience, and we didn't get to work with you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Rescued

    This service is a life saver. I got hurt in an accident and can't do what I used to for a living without unbearable pain. I lost my job, place to live, credit rating and quality of life, amongst many other things. I had nowhere to turn. The other party's insurance company takes time to negotiate claims and meanwhile my life is denigrated.

    I applied for help and received it quickly. As in next day Western Union. I was able to eat, get phone service and keep my vehicle. Thanks to Oasis!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 14, 2017

      Crystal Olsen, Public Affairs Manager

      Hi Melody! Thanks so much for the review. I am glad we were able to help.

    • May 4, 2017

      Renea Rountree

      I would like to apply.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Scam of Oasis financial services

    They say you can get a loan on your lawsuit, but they are picky about what kind of lawsuits they will allow you to have in order to get one of their loans. They don't really want to help the ones that really need their services. This company is a total scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2017

      Crystal Olsen, Public Affairs Manager

      Hi Cheryl! I'm sorry you feel frustrated. I understand. Our underwriters do look at cases before offering funding and are conservative in their determinations. Feel free to give us a call back if there is a change in your case. Have a good week.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A true Oasis for me.

    This company saved my house, my cars, and my sanity. While fighting my case, my Temporary Total Disability payments were stopped, which is a tactic used by all insurance companies that forces a hurt individual to either settle for a reduced amount or lose everything they've worked for.

    I called Oasis and was promptly greeted by absolutely the most pleasant person whom listened to my problems and took my information. I then received a phone call from my case worker Kassi, and she and her team went to work approving me for funding. She and her team were absolutely my "oasis" in the middle of a desert of insurance company tactics. They provided numerous advances while my attorney was able to negotiate a larger settlement.

    With Oasis, I was able to maintain my home and keep my assets that I had accumulated over many years. Thank you Oasis, and thank you, Kassi. I would fully recommend Oasis to my friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2017

      Crystal Olsen, Public Affairs Manager

      Jeff, I'm so happy we were able to help!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A blessing

    • Woodstock, IL,
    • Feb 6, 2017

    I lost my car and job due to my accident (which wasn't my fault). I got injured on top of all that too. I lost my second income and needed cash to pay bills and get household items, and I'm a single mother of three. It took less than two days to get the money I needed. They were all very nice and professional and helped me with what I needed.

    Yes, I know I will have to pay interest (as with any other loan places), and it also depends on how much you receive from them. But I'm not worried about that right now; I'm just so glad they could help me, so thank you Oasis. And thank you much to my lawyer who referred me to them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2017

      Crystal Olsen, Public Affairs Manager

      Glad we were able to help, Sarah! Have a great week.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Bad business

    • Bastrop, TX,
    • Jan 27, 2017

    We are expecting a six-figure settlement on our case and only needed a $2,000 advance. We were declined with no explanation. We only needed a little help while we wait for our settlement, which is what they claim they do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2017

      Crystal Olsen, Public Affairs Manager

      Hi Nichole! I'm sure that was really frustrating. I apologize. Our underwriters are conservative in providing funding. Feel free to give us a call if there is a change in your case. Have a good week.

    • Mar 10, 2017

      Michelle Myers

      I got the runaround about why I could not receive my loan. The customer service representative was rude and hung up on me twice. I just wanted to talk to someone in the underwriting department. However, customer service representative told me that I couldn't talk to anyone. I just needed $1000 to help me relocate.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Lincoln ne p,
    • Jan 13, 2017

    I was left hanging for days. I kept calling only to be told it's still under review. Finally, my attorney called to say he was waiting on paper work to assure the loan was legal in my state. I called Oasis only to be told my loan was denied. My attorney never received the paperwork from Oasis. What are they hiding from the consumer?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2017

      Crystal Olsen, Public Affairs Manager

      Michael! I'm sorry our communication with you was not on point. I'll be taking a look into your case.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Rude scammers

    • Astor, FL,
    • Jan 7, 2017

    Do not call this company, the people that work there are very rude and unprofessional.

    They say that they can get you a loan in day days, but that's a lie. Tthey say they have faxed things over to my attorney, but when I finally called my attorney, he said he received nothing. When you call to ask a question, they are very rude.

    Never ever use this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2017

      Crystal Olsen, Public Affairs Manager

      Ann! I'm apologize that the customer service you recieved was less than stellar. I'll be talking a look at your case to see where things went wrong and how we can improve.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Total nonsense

    No stars! As a matter of fact -4 stars. Why? Just got off the phone with Oasis and it's now 9:25pm I will never use this company again.

    I applied and since Wednesday of last week people, it took six days to respond. Upon an earlier received call, I was approved and they were waiting on my lawyer's paperwork. This was around 5:09 pm.

    Today they said that an automated system will set up a confirmation code!

    I called back at around 9:25pm and guess what happens. Oasis tells me something went wrong with the paperwork and to call early in the morning. Really?!

    This is unacceptable. I've already waited 7 days. This is unbelievable and the sad part is no one called to tell me that something went wrong with Oasis.

    I've been waiting and waiting. Now I have to wait again. I had hopes of getting some much-needed things but they don't care. I'm so tired of the nonsense with these people!

    I will never ever use this loan service again. It's a big inconvenience! I don't want apologies or excuses, just want some results since fast and convenience isn't their thing as the ads state.

    And please don't give me apologies because that's not helping the situation at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Extremely Pleased

    I was involved in a severe car accident in January of 2016 when an elderly woman ran a red light on a highway as I was entering the intersection. The accident not only totaled my vehicle, but I have had two spinal surgeries (so far), will need an additional fusion as well as I have been unable to run my business for almost a year. Oasis has been a God-send to say the least. When I first applied in August I was approved for $6,000. In the following months, they have graciously funded me an additional 3 times. There are many mitigating factors that determine if your case is viable or not, such as the strength of the case, amount of the liability coverage from the other party, risk vs reward. Yes, the interest rate is high, however, if applicants were in a position to find funding elsewhere there would be no need for companies such as Oasis. Each time I have called I have been treated with respect, professionalism, courtesy, and even empathy. All my questions have been answered and the process is extremely easy, and the information was disclosed in detail before the transaction occurs. I would HIGHLY recommend Oasis.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 48

Write a Review for Oasis Legal Finance!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review