What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

35 Customer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Customer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 74% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very unhappy with PrettyLitter

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Number one complaint is that it turns completely yellow after the first use. I feel my kitties are in complete filth if I leave existing litter in their box after I clean it. It made me want to dump it out and change it completely. I love the concept, and I love the consistency of the product. But it seems not clean, and it did have an odor. I asked for a refund and they said no.

    Bad customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 16, 2017

      Arsalon A. , Director of Customer Happiness

      Hi Linda. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. My name is Arsalon, I'm the Director of Customer Happiness and I'm sorry to see that you were not able to get a proper resolution from our Customer Happiness Team. Our team has a history of high satisfaction scores, therefore, I took your review seriously and looked into the communication between you and Alex, our Customer Happiness Agent.

      Alex did not make it clear to you that PrettyLitter was designed as one bag, per cat, per month. In simple language, that means that if you have two cats then you'd need two bags of PrettyLitter to get amazing odor control all month long. I can see that you were using one bag for two cats and I'm sorry that we didn't make this more clear for you. I want to assure you that although PrettyLitter turns yellow after your cat urinates (a sign of your cat being healthy), that PrettyLitter will become white again after PrettyLitter finishes absorbing urine, eliminating odor and evaporates moisture.

      Lastly, PrettyLitter is made of high-quality silica gel and has a super-low water content. The dry environment created in the litter box by PrettyLitter allows liquid waste to be absorbed instantly. It also dries solid waste quickly thus eliminating odors. PrettyLitter is so dry it does not support the growth of bacteria or other germs as there is no moisture for them to grow or thrive in. I sent you a separate email to offer you a resolution that works for the both of us. Please let me know if you need anything else. Happy to brighten your day.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent!

    • Helendale, CA,
    • Aug 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love this litter. I have two finicky cats who love this litter. One of those cats has several health problems, and it's great to know immediately if something might be off due to the color changing aspect of this litter. It's very light and easy to clean, and I never smell anything. Furthermore, my asthma has zero issues with this litter, and I love not having to worry about litter dust getting on everything. The Facebook page was helpful, and the comments had great answers to people's questions. We're excited about this change, and I will be recommending it to everyone I know who has cats!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible and gross

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Aug 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had high hopes for this litter because of the hype. I have two cats who are healthy but older. I got the box and poured one full bag into the litter box. I scooped the poops off and stirred every day.

    After just a week the smell was horrible and there was a thick layer of disgusting gel on the bottom of the box. I scooped out as much of that as I could then added the other bag because it seemed that stirring the box like it says to do and had made nearly all of the litter smell. After just one more week, I gave up.

    I emailed the company and got no response at all (this is an ongoing problem because I emailed repeatedly after I had ordered and hadn't received a shipping confirmation and no one ever responded). I wound up dumping the entire thing and let me tell you, you need a hazmat suit to deal with this stuff. I scrubbed and used Pine-Sol in the litter box to get it clean again then went back to our former litter. Much better and no hazmat suit required, just a litter genie will do the trick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 15, 2017

      Arsalon A. , Director of Customer Happiness

      Cynthia, thank you for sharing your experience using PrettyLitter. I am the director of customer happiness, and I'm sorry for what you went through. I'm sorry you were not able to get in contact with one of PrettyLitter's smiling customer happiness agents. Odor control issues are rare, but usually, come down to the size of the litter box you are using.

      Can you please confirm how much depth you were getting in your litter box if you were removing the urine "clumps" or allowing PrettyLitter to absorb urine, eliminate odor and evaporate moisture.

      I'm happy to completely resolve your concern for you today. Can you please provide me your email address, full name on the account or order number? My direct email is arsalon@prettylitter.com. However, I can also be reached by calling 800-838-3381 or by email at meow@prettylitter.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best cat litter

    • Kansas,
    • Aug 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This cat litter is literally the best I have ever had, and I have used all the brands of cat litter out there because I have been a cat owner for 23 years. This litter does not smell, and when I say that, I am not exaggerating. You have to use it yourself to really understand what I am saying. It's great having a litter that changes color when something could be wrong with your cat's urine, too, for obvious reasons: cats don't always tell us when something is wrong. UTIs and other urinary issues can go unnoticed easily, speaking from personal experience as a cat owner who didn't know my cat had urinary issues until he just couldn't pee and it was an emergency.

    I tried this litter just because I didn't think I had anything to lose, and I'm not going back to other litters. Not only does it not smell, it's convenient having bags sent straight to your house. I also love that this is a biodegradable litter, so I don't feel bad about throwing it away when cleaning. It is just all around perfect as a cat litter for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • No more dust!

    I've only used this litter for a few days, but I no longer dread cleaning the litter box! No more odor and no more dust. No more scraping wet, heavy clumps, stirring up a dust cloud and feeling like I need a shower after. PrettyLitter is light and loose and easy to sift. Scoop the poop and stir the rest to keep it fresh!

    Just a heads up, if your litter box is larger than the size you can buy in the grocery store, you may need a bag and a half to bring it to the correct depth for it to work efficiently. Their customer service is awesome and can help you set up the right subscription planned for you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • We all love PrettyLitter

    • Palmdale, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have four cats and two rather ripe smelling boxes. Or at least they used to be. Since using PrettyLitter, there is virtually no smell (hubby is very impressed).

    Cleanup is amazing. I swish the urine clusters if needed and the litter breaks it down. It also leeches moisture from the poops so when I scoop them out, there's very little smell.

    The cats use it like normal (two took a bit to adjust but they came around). My digger still digs to China first, and my flinger happily flings it around their bathroom area. Even my rescued feral adapted to it easily.

    We are all happy little PrettyLitter converts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • We LOVE PrettyLitter

    My beautiful Scottish Fold mix was a rescue kitty. She was found in their garage with her father when she was about four weeks old. Many physical problems ensued, but she was completely cured except for chronically runny (not infected) eyes.

    I've previously purchased the cheapest, dust-free, clumping litter I could find. Then I found PrettyLitter on Facebook. It cost a bit more than I was used to paying, but the fact that I would only change the litter completely once a month was an added incentive.

    She adapted to it immediately without a transition period and seems to love it. And I love it even more!

    No more litter tracked all over, it gives me an indication of her urinary tract health, AND within a few days of introducing it to her, I noticed her eyes were dry, and they have remained so.

    Sorry that this review is so long, but I just can't say enough good things about PrettyLitter. Great customer service, great product and I have automatic delivery. No more lugging home heavy boxes of inferior litter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The litter that never gets bitter

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Up until using PrettyLitter my biggest gripe about litter was the dust that consumes the air every scoop I made. PrettyLitter makes no dust, leaves no odor, scoops easily, and last longer as well. I wholeheartedly recommend this litter to any cat owners.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great product!

    I have been using PrettyLitter for over a week and my cat adapted to it very well. I have tried numerous litters, and PrettyLitter is by far the best at masking smell and causes almost no mess. I like that it is nonclumping and I only have to buy one bag a month. I dislike having to pay for shipping when I buy items online, so I appreciate that shipping is free with PrettyLitter and I received my shipment in two days.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love PrettyLitter

    I can't express how happy I am with PrettyLitter. I have had my felines for the past 25 years. I just wish my other "girls" could have had PrettyLitter.

    My newest rescue, Sheva, who is a tabby and 2 and 1/2 years old, adapted immediately to it. No more odors and tracking of litter through the house. No more plastic bags to clean the litter. Just put the poop in the toilet and stir the litter. It's good for one month.

    I am truly blessed to have found PrettyLitter! My life and my baby girls life are much happier, and I am telling all cat owners that you can't go wrong. The best product on the market for your "feline family!"

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    LOVE this product!

    Thank you for this amazing product! My vet was so impressed that I came in when the litter turned blue. No other signs indicate she was sick. She was diagnosed with a UTI, but thank you for warning me in advance. The doctor was amazed. Mooches will be better in a few days. Thank you PrettyLitter for the early detection!

    I recommend this product to anyone who has cat(s)! Early detection is key, and this helps keep my fur babies healthy and happy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review