PrettyLitter Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
PrettyLitter

Overall Rating

4.4

362 Customer Reviews

Summary

PrettyLitter changes color to reflect your cat’s health, helping owners detect feline issues such as urinary tract infections and kidney issues early.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

4.4 Stars out of 362 Reviews
5 Star:79% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:9%
85% Recommend This Company
Start your review of PrettyLitter:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Mar 30, 2021

I love everything about it

By Josh A., West Des Moines, IA, Verified Reviewer

I love everything about PrettyLitter. Because I like it when the PrettyLitter shows me my cat's health, and I like it because it smells good!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I like it when the litter is showing me my cat's health

I like it because the litter smells good

I like it because it is easy to pick up after my cat

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2021

Zero dependability, horrible customer service

By Valerie V., Mansfield, TX, Verified Reviewer

I don’t even know where to start. I’ve bad 3 shipments overall that never even came, or were 1 month at least late. I see after reading reviews that it’s more common than I thought. You can’t depend on a mail service, or PrettyLitter’s SLOW customer service to take care of your precious babies. My poor cats have peed in straight urine for so long and I feel simply CRUEL and depended on store-bought litter between my shipments and I thought, what’s the point? I’ve explained my concerns to customer service and all they offer is kindness to ship another late litter shipment. Well, your shipments don’t arrive in time, you’re not selling in stores, what are you actually doing FOR your customers? This is a business, if you can’t handle providing a service, you don’t deserve the business. Your kindness goes nowhere with me because there are no results. I’ve gone through so much headache and feeling cruel to my cats ENOUGH.

I promise you guys reading this review that there are TONS of other ppl going through this same thing that haven’t written reviews, you don't need the headache for something you need to depend on like litter. PrettyLitter shouldn’t act so surprised and say these complaints are "rare," that’s a lie. Don’t buy from this company. I’m buying from Chewy now, very dependable even with mail service (wonder how) and my cat loves having fresh litter. And the PrettyLitter itself is pretty, but tracks a lot. You must change it every 3 weeks, NO less, so it’s more expensive for that reason. Overall, even if this litter company was dependable, the quality of the litter doesn’t make up for the lack of dependability, it’s 100% not worth it.

Last thing - I emailed them to cancel my subscription and asked for a confirmation, they only replied "we are sorry for the inconvenience, please have more patience." They didn’t even confirm my cancellation, so I assumed our service was still active, and when I thought I was going to receive another shipment, nothing came. So they actually did cancel the service and I had to find out this way. Please don’t buy from this company, this review is to protect those from the lies of this company.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Litter is pretty

Color coded based on illness

Not dependable company at all

Need to change the litter so often

Horrible customer service

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 23, 2020

Good product, bad service

By Rachelle D., Montréal, Québec, Canada, Verified Reviewer

The litter is good but the subscription concept is horrible if you have to pay for shipping, not to mention it’s very pricey. Better to buy three bags in one shot and/or pause the subscription.

Unreturned and unacknowledged emails, badly functioning call center, pretty frustrating for a product I usually buy as easily as toothpaste.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Smell control

Seeing cat’s pee PH

Subscription

Customer service

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 21, 2020

Happy with product!

By Kelly C., Marion, IA, Verified Reviewer

I had only purchased 1 bag of PrettyLitter in the beginning to try as I wasn't sure if my cats would like it or use it. They actually did like the litter and nearly stopped using the other brand. I have had urinary issues multiple times with one of my cats so this would be a good monitoring system for that. I then had to increase my order to 2 bags for the next month. It is definitely worth it, thank you!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The quality of the product, works great

Free shipping to my door

The marketing concept

Odorless and health benefits

My cats prefer it over other brands of litter

Awesome customer service reps

They need to broaden their target audience

Do not want product to fail because of lack of sales

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 16, 2020

Change

By Cathy P., Summerfield, FL, Verified Reviewer

I want to receive monthly instead of every 6 weeks. Silica Gel, 2 bags. I have had excellent service but couldn't find out how to talk with you to change my order.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Litter is flushable

Couldn't find how to speak with them

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 14, 2020

Thank goodness for PrettyLitter!

By Lisa H., Tulsa, OK, Verified Reviewer

I’ve used PrettyLitter for over a year and love how easy it is to clean! I also love that you only have to change it once per month.

Last week I noticed some blue shades in our litter, which I’d never seen before. I called the vet and got a urinalysis for Jazzy right away. Sure enough, she had a urinary tract infection and bladder crystals! I wouldn't have had any idea something was wrong but thank goodness PrettyLitter alerted me!

The vet was impressed with PrettyLitter too, because he said we were able to catch the UTI early. He was pretty skeptical when I first called, but was a believer by the time I left.

This experience has made me love this litter even more than before! I highly recommend PrettyLitter to every single cat owner I meet!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2020

Fascinating concept, not as great in practice.

By Carissa S., Norfolk, VA, Verified Reviewer

Perhaps I am coddled by the ease of use my previous litter (Arm & Hammer Slide), it is with the easy lift litter pans I have that have a sifter layer built in. I appreciate the clumping of my old litter which cleared out the used litter. Pretty Litter has been very interesting and I think I will continue using it, but not as my base, instead, as a sprinkle in.

Sorry if this isn't a 100% positive review. Pretty Litter isn't good at preventing urine odor. If anything, it carries the cat ammonia urine smell strongly because it doesn't clump. I really love the idea I can tell my cat's general health! I do! But yikes, folks...don't say it is good at preventing odor. It's just okay because the poop doesn't smell.

Also, I have a kitty with kidney issues and he is compelled to try to eat it when it is unused. He's on a vet-prescribed diet.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

Mar 24, 2020

Thanks for sharing your experience Carissa. It sounds like there may have been an issue with getting the right amount of depth in your litter box. We understand that some people just prefer clumping litter, which is why we wanted to create an option that had the convenience of clumping while still having PrettyLitter's exclusive health monitoring technology, so we did! If you want to try our new clumping formula please reach out to our support team at meow@prettylitter.com or live chat with us on our website. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2020

Fabulous

By Linda P., Luling, TX, Verified Reviewer

Hi! I have 3 cats, all girls. I decided to try out Pretty Litter for my girls, they took to this litter right away! I love it...this litter dehydrates the contents very quickly. That’s a plus! I do, however, would love it if the urine can be clumped, then the litter will stay fresh, longer. The box is scooped at least 3-4 times daily when I am home. Twice daily when I am not home.

I read a review from a customer about dust. Yes, it does have dust spewing, which I believe is from the urine still in the mids of the litter.

I don’t change the litter as stated, because of cost. I feel dusting happens because of the breakdown of their urine. I may be wrong...but...I LOVE PRETTY LITTER!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 19, 2019

Every cat is different, but this is worth trying!

By Courtney G., California, Verified Reviewer

Short: I would definitely recommend PrettyLitter! Controls the odor very well and it's not nearly as gross to clean out the litter box as it is with clay litters.

Long: I started out using PrettyLitter in May of 2019 for a couple of months and thought it worked really well, but the price is a little high so I switched to a couple new kinds of litter with similar promises at a lower price point. They did not live up to the odor control claim, and one was so displeasing that my cat was trying to go elsewhere in the house. After two months of exploring, I'm back to PrettyLitter, because again, odor control works really for my cat, it's lightweight, makes the litter box less gross to clean out, and my cat has no problem using it. The health monitoring is more of a benefit than the main reason I use it. It lets me know when my cat is feeling too stressed*, which happens a lot with her (she's a high anxiety tortie).

Additional Thought: The claim that their litter is less expensive than leading competitors isn't accurate. It's a pricey litter, but it is well worth the price.

*I used to think my cat had a problem with UTI's, but after finding my new vet I learned that the high alkaline urine, which usually points to a UTI, could be (and in my cat's case it is) stress related. The litter is often blue, which was alarming at first. Now I'll just look for any other color changes going forward.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 9, 2019

Change of heart

By Angel D., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

At first I was really excited about PrettyLitter. I loved the fact I could monitor the health of my cat closely. I am a nurse and this is right up my alley.

The one problem that made me cancel my subscription was the fact the litter did not clump and I could not scoop out the urine. This ruined my whole experience. Otherwise, I would have continued to order.

Side note, my cat did enjoy the cat food I ordered through this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

Nov 12, 2019

Thanks for sharing your experience Angel. We always try to make it as clear as possible that PrettyLitter is a highly absorbent non-clumping litter. A member of our team has reached out to you directly to learn more and see if there is another option that would work perfectly for your household.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 23, 2019

Disappointed

By Jason C., New York, Verified Reviewer

PrettyLitter claims to be dust-free but it's not! Every time I scoop I can literally see the dust as if it was smoke. I have videos as well so can prove it anytime. Also, since it doesn't clump up, you can't really get the urine out. Every time I walk by the litter box, it smells bad. I clean the litter box sometimes twice a day and it's still the same thing. I've been using PrettyLitter now for almost a year and the cons outway the pros.

Yes, it's very lightweight and one bag may be good for a whole month with one cat, but the dust cancels all of that out. I have to wear something over my nose and mouth just to scoop the litter...that's pretty bad. I will be changing litter very soon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

Oct 24, 2019

Thanks for sharing your experience Jason. We're sorry to hear your experience was less than perfect. We're currently in the process of pilot testing a clumping litter and we'd love to send you a complimentary bag to see if that helps with the issues you've been experiencing around saturation and dust. A member of our team has reached out to you directly to learn more and see if our clumping option might be a good fit.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 362

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.