What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

215 Consumer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 174 4 star: 11 3 star: 2 2 star: 9 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 215
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Best litter I've ever used

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had cats for most of my life (I'm in my 60's) so have had a LOT of experience trying various types of cat litter. My cats stay indoors, so odor has always been a primary concern. Currently, I have two cats, meaning two cat boxes. Dust has also become a significant issue. I started using PrettyLitter a little over a month ago, so am on my second shipment. I am even more pleased with this product than I had hoped I would be. No odor, no dust, lightweight, and very easy maintenance (less scooping), not to mention the ability to monitor my cats' health by watching the color.

    Yes, it's somewhat expensive, but the benefits make it worthwhile. My cats even seem to prefer it too!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love this litter!

    • Sachse, TX,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My senior cat, Jasmine, has had kidney issues since she was about 5 years old. She would get infections and I didn't know anything was wrong until she would cry while using her cat box and she had peed on my bed and I saw it was a light red color. I took her to the vet and she had stones, so got those removed. Now I can see her daily activity when cleaning her litter box and her urine was looking too yellow, so I am now giving her a supplement in her food to hopefully ward off any further issues. She seems to be doing great now but being able to monitor her urine really gives me comfort.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • My three cats love the litter!

    • Shillington, PA,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my second month (auto delivery) of PrettyLitter. My cats are loving the litter, however, I believe I am loving it more! Why? Well, I no longer have to clean up clumps of urine because it evaporates right into the litter and all that is left is the feces to clean, and with the color chart that is provided I am able to monitor the health of my cats! What more can I say, it's a win-win all the way around. I have forwarded on my Facebook page the information for PrettyLitter so all my friends can see my reaction to your product. I hope they all call to place orders for this product. Keep up the great work!

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Better than the others

    • La Plata, MO,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is way less messy and way less smelly than clay litters. I was buying Tidy Cat Lightweight before and spending the same amount with more mess and smell. I like that the urine doesn't clump and there is no ammonia smell. I like not smelling the clay smell either, and I don't want my cats licking clay off their paws or tracking it in the house. So far no blue or red hues, just yellow and green, but I am glad for that safety measure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • PrettyLitter is awesome!

    • Keithville, LA,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using PrettyLitter for about a month now and I can say that I enjoy this brand of litter. No tracking it across the house, no smell, and fairly cheap! I will always use PrettyLitter until I no longer can! Help protect your cat too and try a bag!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Wonder product!

    • Easton, MA,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had resigned myself to having to empty and clean my cat's litter box. I thought that clumping clay was a great invention, but it still meant regular trips to the trash to throw it out and a rather unpleasant urine order when I was late with that. I tried PrettyLitter on a whim: I wanted to see if it was as great as they claimed. It was all that and more!

    The litter is white little grains, a little bigger than sand. The bag was small; I doubted the claim that it was going to last a month. But last a month it did. There is NO SMELL or moisture. I simply scoop the poop and flush it, and that's it. The litter stays white and dry and odor-free and dust free. I don't know how they do it, but they do.

    The litter has an added advantage of changing colors in response to problems with your cat's urine. I found a little blue litter at the bottom of the pan and discovered that this was an indication of a pH imbalance in my cat's urine, which could lead to the development of stones. Having lost a cat to urine stones, and having paid $4K for medical care of a dog with stones, I am incredibly grateful to know that there's an issue before it becomes serious.

    It sounds ridiculous, but I am insanely pleased with this product. I posted about it on my Facebook page, and I sent an email to a friend with a cat, suggesting that he try it. There are very few products in the world that I would recommend this highly, but this gets a top review from me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • PrettyLitter

    • Hanover, PA,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical when I first saw the ad for PrettyLitter, but I was desperate to find a litter that didn’t smell up the house. From the first time I used Pretty Litter, I was so happy to see its texture and color. The cats had no hesitation on using it, and I won’t be without it.

    Thank you, PrettyLitter, for creating such a wonderful product for our feline babies!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love PrettyLitter

    • Oshkosh, WI,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using PrettyLitter after seeing a comment on Facebook by another user. I have not personally had a cat with urinary issues, but had a good friend that did, and after reading how the litter worked, by showing different colors if the cat had a medical issue, I knew this was for me! Also, our cat is and always will be an indoor cat, so a smell in a home was a concern and the review stated that she had no problem with urine odor at all! So, that did it; I decided to try it.

    From the first bag, I LOVED it! The urine is absorbed and the feces easily removed, so her litter box is always fresh! She likes it, and so do I! I also told my daughter about it, as she lives in a small apartment in Chicago and odor had been an issue. Now she is a PrettyLitter user also! Thank you, PrettyLitter, for an amazing product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Knew it was too good to be true!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two cats and have only been using PrettyLitter for two weeks tomorrow. My cats seem to like it, I love the convenience of not having to run out for litter every week and the daily scooping is a breeze. However, it has only been two weeks and the litter box smells of urine, which I never had an odor with regular litter. Plus it does cost more than what I always paid for litter. For me, it will never last a month. I knew it was too good to be true.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love it!

    • Lynnwood, WA,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have four cats, one of which has kidney stones, which is a sneaky condition and you never know when a flare-up can happen, and it can be very dangerous if gone unchecked. This litter gives me such peace of mind. It has caught two flare-ups in the earliest stage in the past year. AND with four cats you'd think you would be able to smell a litter box when you walk into my house. NOPE! Not even a little. I cannot see myself ever using another cat litter, and I have tried every litter on the market and every litterbox over the last 40 years. PrettyLitter is amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using PrettyLitter for a little while now. I love the product because it reassures me that my cats are healthy by being able to see what is going on in the litter. Compared to any other litter, none of them do that. It is smell-free, and my cats love it! Lily and Daisy say thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 215

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review