What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

242 Consumer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 193 4 star: 12 3 star: 3 2 star: 13 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 242
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Nope

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had good results at first. My kitty prefers this litter. But I don't. First of all, even when the bag would last me almost through the month (three weeks), it tracks all over the darn house. I have hardwood floors so this is not okay. Second, after about five months of using this litter, a bag only lasts me two weeks tops. I have two inches in his box, and still, it is blue jelly by the end of week two. And my house reeks. I recently changed the litter and went out of town for a week, leaving very clear instructions for his sitter. When I got back home, I was overwhelmed with the smell.

    For me, the pine and corn litters work way better at controlling odor and not tracking. Sadly, my cat is bougie and likes this dusty, sandy consistency on PrettyLitter, so I have to retrain him to use the stuff that doesn't stink and leave a mess all over my house. This stuff is way too expensive to track like it does, even if the smell wasn't an issue. Bummer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not worth the money. Creates a cloud of smelly pee dust in just a week's time.

    • Minnesota,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I have two cats and follow the recommended two bags of PrettyLitter per month. We clean the litter box every other day. After week one, every litter box cleaning creates a smelly cloud with an unpleasantry supassing any litter we have previously used. The advertisements are correct, "no clumping," instead, PrettyLitter creates a toxic flume of urine that that'll have you soon running to the nearest window gasping for fresh air.

    Plus sides - the coloration in the litter lets you know the health of your cat, and it's is easy to clean. Another downside, the litter tracks everywhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Our cat likes this litter

    • Louisville, KY,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Taffy is an 18-year-old tabby (1/2 Persian), and she has kidney problems off and on, but we can tell when she is having a problem by watching the color of what her urine shows. We like that it does not smell up the room. She and we are glad to have found this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Customer support - impressive

    • Derry, NH,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just placed my first order for PrettyLitter. I didn't review my order information before I placed my order, arggg. Now I have to deal with customer service, fun fun.

    Well, I was very wrong and extremely surprised! I didn't have to call, I just used their Chat window. I explained my issue, and just like that, she fixed it! Now, that never happens, especially when the error was MY error.

    Thank you, Beatrize, now go ask for a raise!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love the concept, but...

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the idea of this type of long-lasting, clean-smelling, low-dust litter. There are a number of non-clay litters that promise this, clumping and otherwise. I've just about tried them all. The other litter claiming 30+ days in between litter box changes is America's Best. It actually has every attribute claimed by PrettyLitter, plus it clumps nicely. But, it is beyond dusty, coating EVERYTHING within the vicinity with red dust every time my boy sifts the stuff. YUK.

    Another one actually is Nature's Miracle (and it's economical) corn-based litter. The issue there is that it sticks to the side of the box. So, when I saw this crystalline powder and all these promises, including spending no more than I currently do, I got excited to try it. Suffice it to say, it is not economical in the least when the 3-4 lb bag can't provide the requisite two to three inches of kitty litter for a large litter box. I would either need two bags or a very small litter box. My boy is big. He's not a monster (despite what I call him).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best kitty litter ever, by far

    • Charlottesville, VA,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So easy to use, dust free, very little tracking, and the cats love it. There is NO odor. Seriously, I have never allowed a kitty litter box in my bathroom before but putting PrettyLitter in a covered box with the hole in the top has resulted in NO odor and very little tracking. And by no odor, I mean not even the sickening masking scents that many litters use that I hate. The best thing is that now we can have our elderly cat into our room at night. (She's too afraid of the dog to walk around the house at night, she's the poster child of the fraidy cat.) AND the PL alerted us to a UTI she developed over the summer by changing color! Wow!

    I recommended this to my vet who was very impressed when we came in with an idea that our cat may have a UTI, and I recommend it to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Poor customer service.

    • Memphis, TN,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not even been able to try PrettyLitter and I already have a bad taste in my mouth. When I clicked place order I realized my address was wrong. So within 5 minutes, I had sent an email to them to correct it on a Saturday. I never received any type of response until Tuesday afternoon, stating I had to call and get it fixed myself. Well that might be easy enough except I never received a shipping confirmation. So I had to call customer service to get this and when I put the tracking ID in, it hasn’t even left. Information was only sent at 5:08 pm on Monday. This is ridiculous considering I sent a total of three emails before they sent this information. Even if it had already shipped, I would hope a nice customer service group would do anything in their power to help and call FedEx themselves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • We love PrettyLitter!

    • Jarrettsville, MD,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We originally ordered PrettyLitter for the fact that it could help us watch out for possible health issues with our newly adopted kittens about six months ago.

    But since then, we’ve discovered so many other wonderful benefits! First off, the fact that it’s so lightweight is a wonderful surprise. No more carrying those crazy heavy boxes of cat litter into the house from the car. I can carry an entire month's supply for our two cats into the house with ease!

    The second benefit has definitely been the lack of any kitty litter box smell in our house at all since switching to PrettyLitter! We accidentally ran out of PrettyLitter a little early once because I mixed up my dates and changed the box too early. We had to use store bought litter for thee days in a pinch. Within 12 hours of switching to the store bought litter, you could smell the cat litter box, and it was just awful. I was so thankful when our new order of PrettyLitter arrived on our doorstep. After changing the box, the litter box smell was completely eliminated. I won’t make that mistake again.

    On top of all those benefits are the wonderful free gifts that are included with our PrettyLitter shipments every couple of months. Our cats just love the cat toys we receive on occasion as gifts with our orders. In fact, I may need to find a way to order a second one of the gifts we received with our last order, b.ecause our one girl refuses to share her new favorite toy with her sister.

    We couldn’t be happier with our choice in kitty litter, and our family will be a PrettyLitter family for life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Never going back!

    • Alabama,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My cat Mia loves this litter. She’s been using it for six months now. If you are wondering how I know she likes it, she quit peeing on the couch! My house never smells, and the litter doesn’t stick to the poop making it easy to flush in the toilet. It really does last all month. I am never going back!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best litter in the world

    • Aurora, CO,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PrettyLitter is honestly one of my favorite companies ever, and completely changed my routine when it comes to looking after my cat. It could be considered a little pricey at first, but in reality, you save money, time and effort in the long run. I absolutely adore my cat and knowing that her litter will give me a heads up if something is iffy about her urine brings me so much peace of mind. It truly is a genius concept.

    Besides that, I don't have to waste time going to the store and picking between a bunch of weird smelling litter. I get a bag of PrettyLitter once a month, change the litter and I am DONE. Many people think it is weird since it doesn't clump but that honestly makes the process of cleaning the litter box/scooping poos much easier and faster. It doesn't smell at all, so you don't have to sniff overpowering scents or your cat's urine.

    When the litter wasn't enough for the size of my littler box, I called customer service and they were simply phenomenal. They customized my order and were super efficient and fast. Did I mention that every once in a while they send us a kitty toy as a surprise, just randomly? Because they do that much! I can't help recommending this litter to every single cat owner I know because this thing is AMAZING.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great product!

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was actually pretty skeptical when I first started reading about PrettyLitter. I mean, how much better could it be? But I’m completely hooked now, and we’ve been using it for several months. We have three kitties; all different ages, and they all adjusted to it immediately with no issues. It legitimately lasts all month, and cleanup is a snap. I love not having to haul litter home once every week or so, and there’s just no smell now. I haven’t had any health issues so far, but one of my guys is a 17-year-old male, so I appreciate the fact that it can help look for issues. I love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 242

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review