Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

PrettyLitter Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
PrettyLitter

Overall Rating

4.4

362 Customer Reviews

Summary

PrettyLitter changes color to reflect your cat’s health, helping owners detect feline issues such as urinary tract infections and kidney issues early.

Write a Review

What Is PrettyLitter?

By HighYa Editorial Team

Updated on: Sep 30, 2019

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top-rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine

  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.

  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.

  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.

  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $22
  • Two cats: $42
  • Three cats: $69 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute of the selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health.

Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in its responses to each and every comment and question.

The Bottom Line on PrettyLitter: Is It Worth It?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Customer Reviews

4.4 Stars out of 362 Reviews
5 Star:79% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:9%
85% Recommend This Company
Start your review of PrettyLitter:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jul 31, 2022

No no no no

By Susan B., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

On the 4th month of subscription delivery, noted a blue change in the litter so I brought my cat to the vet. Turns out that after bloodwork and urine tests the cat was healthy. The vet told me blue was also an indication litter needed to be changed. I didn't suspect the litter was flawed. Meaning blue was not just an indicator of just one thing with this litter.

So I was stressed out about the health of my cat, future vet bills involved with a diabetic cat, my cat stressed out from going to the vet's office being poked and prodded the current vet bill, and then with the litter only lasting half the time meant double my litter bill too. I have 3 cats 4 litter boxes. That is the recommended ratio of litter boxes to cats. I get 4 bags of litter on the subscription, except for the first month. I got 3 because I kept a box with the clay clumping litter to see how my pets would react.

In reading the reviews here, yes it only lasts half the advertised times, yes it is not completely dust free, and yes the silva sand-like litter gets everywhere. I even put a grate down in front of litter boxes and it does not contain it.

Yohan was my email contact at PrettyLitter and took it upon himself to cancel my subscription because I mentioned just about all these issues. This product is not as advertised. 3 months at $80 plus the 1 month at $60-$70. Can't remember exactly what three bags cost.

Also, in all the low rates reviews PrettyLitter claims your problem is rare. That is not true. All those high reviews I bet at least half are paid reviews. Learned a big lesson when buying, "don't pay attention to the 4 and 5-star rated reviews, go to the 1-3 star ratings to get the real story behind a product". There are other litters out there, you don't need PrettyLitter since criticism from true reviews of their product isn't taken to improve the product but makes them throw you out of their program.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Product doesn't last as advertised

Product is not dust free, only less dust than clay clumping litter

Doesn't listen to customers and plays down real reviews

Posted on Jul 10, 2022

Rather dangerous

By Judith C., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

I tried PrettyLitter twice in my one-cat household. I regretted it after just a few days, when I noticed that all of us woke up to severe sinus problems without suffering any colds. Then I slid on the floor in the bathroom, which was converted with the tiny litter particles that eventually tracked through the entire house and beds when our cat jumped on them. The litter sticks to paws, floors, litter box, and mats, and is even hard to wash off. The claim that it doesn't dust is a joke if your floors, surfaces, and beds are covered with the litter dust after a few days, and even the air is filled with it. The fact that we inhaled it was very scary. I only used it a second time when I had run out of all litter and PrettyLitter was the only litter I had at home. Replaced it with regular cat litter the moment stores opened and I could purchase any. This product is unclean, unsafe, and very disappointing. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

First package came weeks too late

Litter tracked over all surfaces, beds, and couches in the house

Litter dust penetrant the air and impacted our sinuses

Posted on Jul 2, 2022

This company has shady business practices and will automatically charge you and steal from you

By Elaine W., Canada, Verified Reviewer

I ordered from PrettyLitter to try it. SUDDENLY they charged me again and again for more litter when I did NOT authorize the purchase or have any awareness that they would be doing this. They also don't seem to think they need to offer a refund for an unauthorized purchase.

The product is just fine, it's not SO amazing that I would want to be ordering it constantly.

Do not order from this company!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Won't give refund for unauthorized purchase

They trick you into a 'subscription service'

Terrible company practices

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 4, 2022

Saved Tazz

By CA W., Norco, CA, Verified Reviewer

Amazing stuff! I noticed my cat acting anxious, in and out of the litter boxes, and became concerned. I found PrettyLitter and gave it a try. Sure enough, I saw a dark orange/red at the very end of his urine stream and later he began straining as though constipated. I was able to relay that information to the Animal 24-hour Emergency Hospital and they had me rush him in where he stayed for 3 days/nights. Tazz survived this life-threatening affliction and although on meds forever, he's happy to be alive!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I like this innovative product

Tazz likes this innovative product

We like the innovative odor-free product

We like the innovative light weight product

I like the 30-day litter change of this innovative product

It tracks easily out of the litter box but is so worth it

Posted on Feb 12, 2022

Was overpowered easily by one cat

By Edward S., Utah, Verified Reviewer

The litter did not last one week. I have one cat and he is healthy.

First, when I opened the bag, the crystals were already red and pink.

Second, believe it or not, when things that can absorb liquids try to absorb liquids beyond their capacity to absorb, even crystals can clump for a short while. After a few days of allowing our cat to use the litter, over 50% of the litter was green or yellow-green with many areas and clumps of urine-soaked crystals, which said clumps were difficult to lift out because the clumps would easily dissolve. The bottom of the litter box was mostly wet.

I had to scoop out about 50% of the litter because it was soaked in urine. I would not allow my cat to walk into the litterbox with such conditions, so I had to throw it out.

PrettyLitter did control smells a bit better than the normal cat litter I use, but that was the only positive.

I emailed PrettyLitter to see if I could get my money back from their guarantee and I received an email suggesting that I had more than one cat and that maybe I did not use it correctly. Before sending an email to PrettyLitter, I predicted to my wife that PrettyLitter's response was going to be that I need to purchase 2 bags instead of just one. I was correct. If the stuff will not even last one week, why should I give more money to someone for twice as much litter?

I also did not get my money back. In my opinion, they have a horrible guarantee and, with an unsatisfactory product, are therefore, a terrible company!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Control smells a bit better than the normal cat litter I use

Guarantee

Product does not work as advertised

To settle guarantee, I was told to purchase 2x as much as I did before

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2021

Tracks and smells

By Cydney D., Oklahoma City, OK, Verified Reviewer

About the product:

1. It literally gets tracked all over my house.

2. By the end of one month my cat has basically turned the entire contents yellow and it smells after just two weeks. Since you’re only scooping poop the litter gets peed on multiple times over.

3. Shipping – it is constantly a long turnaround time.

4. Above all things – overpriced.

I like the concept but ultimately the smell and the manner of it don’t hold up to its claims. I have to sweep every day and we keep the litter in a room because it does smell.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Innovation

Marketing prowess

Product

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 15, 2021

Buyers beware

By Britt M., Oshawa, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I used PrettyLitter for about a 6-month period. It was convenient to only scoop poop but it wasn't a realistic product for a multi-cat household. To properly manage 2 cats you'd easily need to purchase 4 bags per month. It also tracked everywhere, worse than any other litter I've tried.

This is when I decided to cancel and go back to another litter I used. Or so I thought. One of their team members informed me that my subscription was cancelled when I contacted them to do so. Two months later I am charged and informed there is more PrettyLitter on the way.

Their customer service is absolutely awful. None of the support members are on the same page and you hear something different each time. After trying to contact them by email to refund the order with no response, I had to call multiple times to get through. The support member stated the previous person I spoke to "forgot" to cancel my membership. They let me know I would get my refund and to contact them for shipping labels when it arrives.

Fast forward to receiving the litter. I try contacting by live chat twice, by email twice, and by phone five times without getting a response from anyone! Finally, I get through and am told two shipping labels will be sent as soon as possible.

Fast forward again 5 days and nothing, with no way to get in touch at all. I send another email and get a response saying sorry, and that I'd need to get a box big enough for all of the litter because now they can only send me one shipping label!

Why should I have to be going out of my way to get a big enough box to ship this when it's PrettyLitter's fault it arrived in the first place and after telling me they'd send 2 shipping labels over?!

Easily the worst customer service I've ever experienced.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The litter odor was fine up until a couple of weeks

Convenient not to scoop poop

Horrible customer service

Litter tracks everywhere

Not suitable for a multi-cat household

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2021

Love this litter

By Emma A., Marysville, PA, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been receiving this litter for months and I absolutely love it and so do my fur babies Easy to clean and scoop, no dust. No dirty box smell, which is all a plus. Reached out to customer service to add a bag to a monthly order. They responded within minutes and adjusted the add-on and billing. Highly recommend.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Timely response to email

How quickly they helped with my question

Such a great product

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 27, 2021

Terrible customer service

By Deborah L., Culpeper, VA, Verified Reviewer

I have had money taken out of my account for my order and never received it. Never can get anyone to answer at customer service after calling every single day.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The litter

Terrible customer service

No one ever answers the phone

Taking your money and not sending the product

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 28, 2021

Odor and health

By Andrea B. , Mountain View, CA

I am not finding that it is keeping odor down very much longer than regular litter - crystal or normal clumping litter. Darn.

I have 3 cats, so it is hard to figure out which cat may be having a UTI.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I like the concept

Easy to find in my local Target when they are out of my favorite brands

Doesn't work as long as promised so isn't as cost effective as promised

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 6, 2021

Please let people know that you DO charge got shipping

By Jessie Lorraine W. , St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

You advertise free shipping so why was I charged for shipping? The total I paid for 1 bag of litter was $44.00, which I didn't realize until I just looked at my bank statement. Please let people know that you DO charge got shipping! I haven't received it yet but according to the tracking #, I should have it by July 5th. I won't be paying $44.00 again for 1 bag. That's terrible. You do charge for shipping.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Shipping costs are high

Showing 1-11 of 362

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.