What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

83 Consumer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 59 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 78% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • Magic cat litter from outer space saves family

    • West Covina, CA,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Cat litter is a big deal. As a multi-cat owner, cat litter is in your life on a daily basis. You buy it every time you go shopping. You scoop it every day. You smell it and feel its dust on your cats. You see it tracked through your house. You dread doing it.

    We've tested dozens of litter brands over the years. All of them are horrible. I pay $13.99 per container, three containers a week. $168 a month for something I've always been unsatisfied with. We argue and fight and lie to each other about cleaning the cat box. It's been a source of family fighting for years.

    What the hell is this stuff? Magic cat litter from outer space? Do you know it doesn't smell? Do you know it doesn't create powder prints all over the house and furniture? Do you know it doesn't clump into wet masses of clay stuck to the bottom of my litter boxes! AND WHERE DOES THE PEE GO? Seriously, where is it? And how does this litter last so long? A week in, and it still looks like the litter I poured out of the bag. Wait, you're telling me it also changes color to monitor my cat's health? Are you freaking kidding me?

    I didn't believe it when I heard about this online. I ordered it. Just two bags to test. After the first day, we started scooping the litter as a group, all circled around the box in disbelief, now arguing and fighting over who was going to scoop the litter. Talking about the color, the complete lack of smell, the ease of scooping. Let me repeat; my family is fighting over who scoops the litter box. We're now on the fourth bag free bundle. I would have paid for it, but you're giving it to me for free.

    And you know what? My 11-year-old hairless Sphynx who suffers from red swollen eyes for many years and sees an actual cat eye doctor for meds hasn't had a problem since we started using PrettyLitter. It was the dust from the store brand litter.

    Thank you doesn't seem enough. Please know you have changed our family forever!

    Jason Brooks and Family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • No smell, really!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We are so pleased with Pretty Litter! We’re coming up on our first month with no odor! We have one kitty who is about 8 lbs, and we purchased a smaller, sifting-style box to ensure we have the correct depth. We haven’t smelled a thing in our tiny apartment, but our favorite thing is that our kitty doesn’t come out smelling like those over-powering clumping litters. I also have more peace of mind knowing that her digestive health and our lungs aren’t compromised from the dust other litters cause. We are hooked, and so is our Lucy-cat!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best cat litter ever!

    • Bartlett, TN,
    • Jan 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using PrettyLitter a year ago. After the first couple of weeks, I noticed a green color and took both my cats to the vet. They both had struvite crystals in their urine. My girl had a few, and my boy had "too many to count." They stated he was close to total blockage! Well, that sold me on it. Since then it's caught a few UTI's. My sister's family uses it now, and they love it because it is low tracking, easy to clean and relatively odor free. I love it for those reasons also but mainly love it because I believe it saved my boy's life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The best kitty litter out there

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really love PrettyLitter. I will admit there are some downsides - it's a little bit pricey, and it does tend to smell a little bit weird after a while. HOWEVER, it is the best kitty litter on the planet. I love the fact that it absorbs urine, and my kitty likes to kick and dig at his litter box - he needs a place to go. It's also nice that it isn't super dusty, and it actually does keep the scent down to a minimum with feces. I also really enjoy the fact that I don't have to clean the litter box nearly as often, and that's far cleaner than anything else I have used. It's also much lighter. It's really fantastic.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Easy and quick help!

    We have a two-cat household and needed to adjust our timelines a little on our subscription, and customer service made it so easy, plus got me the next batch on the way asap. This litter is phenomenal, and the customer service is amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely love PrettyLitter!

    We purchased our first home after moving to the States two years ago. Richmond, Virginia is where we live. We have a cat named Charlie. We have bought many kitty litters, thinking it would be the one that works. None did. When we ordered PrettyLitter, we had no idea how it would be and has turned out to be a miracle! It does indeed live up to every single thing said about this litter. No odor, no mess, light as a feather, only need to scoop the poop! We finally found the perfect litter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Thank God for PrettyLitter

    I’m a brand new kitty owner of two precious kittens. I discovered PrettyLitter through an ad on Facebook and decided to try it as I was dissatisfied with all of the other natural litters I tried. This stuff is AMAZING. It lasts for weeks, no odor in my house and it is so easy to clean, which I do twice a day because I’m crazy like that, though it is not necessary. I’m thrilled with the ease of delivery, and the customer service is outstanding.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love this stuff.

    This is the first time I’ve had an indoor cat, so I’ve have been trying all kinds of litter. I’ve found that no matter what the box says, it still gets stinky. Until I tried PrettyLitter. I was skeptical, but I am a true believer now. I just hit my 30-day mark with the litter and there is NO smell. It’s totally amazing. It’s nice that it changes colors if there is an issue with your pet’s health, but I would still go ahead and purchase this regardless.

    I have already recommended this to others and will continue too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It’s the Cat’s Meow!

    From the first day, I could tell a huge advancement in the quality of PrettyLitter over the other so-called "premium" traditional litters. Opening the bag, I noticed that there was no litter smell, and the dust factor is marginal to nonexistent.

    Boo Boo, my Kitty, took to it right away, and throughout her first month, the colors remained consistently in the "normal" range. During this time I noticed how much quicker it was it was to simply mix the litter to disperse the liquid waste, and I was also impressed with how much easier it is to spot the solid parts; no more caked on litter camouflage. More impressive at this point was the fact that there was no odor throughout the entire month! Shortly after my second order arrived, however, Boo Boo had a blue-hued urine sample, and a quick trip to the vet confirmed that she was sick! This early indicator to help me help my baby is by far the most important aspect!

    The science that went into PrettyLitter really has brought a product out of the sandbox and into the 21st century.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I really wanted this to work

    • Burlingame, CA,
    • Dec 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish PrettyLitter would have worked for us, but unfortunately, I gave it multiple tries and it's still a "no go."

    PrettyLitter is super lightweight and the main reason why I purchased it was so I can monitor my cat's health. Since there were so many reviews saying how there are no odors, I was really looking forward to trying it. Unfortunately, the litter box ended up smelling like pee after just a few pees. I contacted customer service and ended up going in a circle instead with no real resolution.

    I really tried to like and try this product, but I can't stand the smell and noticed my cat was going to the bathroom less.

    I would try it out for yourself though, maybe it's just my cat! There are others who love this product, so you should try it and see if it'll work for you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Easy cleaning

    • Portland, OR,
    • Dec 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have one cat and I don't feel that PrettyLitter is cheaper. If you don't stir it every day, there is also a slight urine odor by weeks 3-4. However, it is soooo easy to clean. That's why we keep ordering it. There's no scooping of gunky or cement-like chunks out of the litterbox, it's the only litter that's this easy and is totally worth it for that feature alone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 83

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review