What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

54 Consumer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Consumer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 37 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 76% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • Excellent product and customer service!

    We've been using PrettyLitter for several months now, and I love it, as do our cats! No more potty odor, no more hefting heavy litter containers, no more nasty wet clumps to dig out, just a fresh and clean litter box. It takes less than 3 minutes to clean, the cats love it, and so do we!

    Excellent customer service, too! If you happen to reach Charles, you will find him knowledgeable, courteous, and very fond of cats and kitties. He's great!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Needed to change order

    • North Hollywood, CA,
    • Nov 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Charles was fantastic and very helpful. He understood my request and made sure everything was corrected and perfect in a quick and pleasant manner. Great customer service! I love PrettyLitter and would recommend it to anyone! Helped me find out my cat has a heart murmur and now he is on medication that can save his life, all thanks to PrettyLitter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    25% more

    I like this product and I like that I only have to scoop feces. I like that for my system, I can flush the feces. However, I think there should be about 25% more litter. I’m running into at about day 15-20 that my cat tracks more due to excess moisture. My cat is no longer a kitten, and he now has a bigger bladder. My family is on a tight budget, and I can’t afford two bags of litter for one cat. This litter is already a luxury for us.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    I’m very unhappy with this company; they don’t answer their phones or return calls. The litter lasts about two weeks, and that’s pushing it, not 30 days as they claim. I gave it a real shot, I’ve purchased eight bags, so I believe I’ve given it more of a chance than any other litter brand has gotten.

    The worst part of my experience was canceling my subscription and then charging me and sending me more litter. I have resorted to changing my account at my bank to end this! Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Tried it for a couple months, poor odor control

    • Nov 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was steered toward PrettyLitter by my daughter who tried it and said it was great. So I gave it a shot.

    I used all the recommendations on how to introduce my feline friend to PrettyLitter. Initially, it was pretty easy to get her to use it; then due to odor control, nope, no more. Certainly could not get a month out of one bag, maybe two weeks. So as the odor control was poor at best, it stunk (as my daughter eventually said as well), and I wanted to cancel.

    Two reps on different occasions tried to get me to reconsider and help solve the "problem." Nope, I wanted to cancel as one of the suggestions was two bags a month (definitely not cost effective). So while it is good in theory and, yes, it does monitor urine color (which was always healthy), both me and my daughter stopped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 13, 2017

      Cassie Cobb, Director of Customer Experience

      Thanks for reaching out to share your feedback with us Marc. I’m glad your feline friend transitioned well to PrettyLitter, but I’m sorry to hear you were having an issue with odor control. I understand your frustration, but I’m eager to determine what happened and make this right for you, as odor control is one of PrettyLitter's top compliments.

      PrettyLitter works because the super dry silica crystals absorb all the liquid and moisture when your cat urinates. A dry litter pan makes an environment where odor-causing bacteria won’t grow. Over time, the water and moisture evaporate out of the crystals, leaving the microscopic solids (and the odor) of the urine trapped inside the crystals. Odor control issues are caused by saturation of these crystals. In your case, we’d like to explore why your crystals became saturated so early on and see if we can find a solution.

      I want to make sure you get to experience PrettyLitter as intended. Odor control issues usually stem from shallow litter depth, but there are other potential causes as well. The location of your box, the number of cats using each box, urine volume per cat, as well as litter box mixing technique can all factor in.

      In the end, we want you to be able to get the full experience of PrettyLitter, a product you were excited to try and a product we are extremely proud of. Please send us an email at meow@prettylitter.co with 'Attn: Cassie' on the subject line and I’ll make it happen!

      I hope this helps, and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Definitely not what I was hoping for

    • Madison, WI,
    • Oct 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was really excited to try PrettyLitter. And when I got the litter, I was excited. This stuff is super soft, and it looks nice when you first put it in. I imagine cats love this stuff on their feet, it feels nice.

    However, the odor control, no. NOT what the product claims. I mix around the litter three times each day, and it still smells. I just put this litter in less than a week ago, it shouldn't stink. I have 2 two-pound bags in each litter box. So more than the company claims you need in a box. Both boxes have three inches depth, again, more than the company claims you need. But it stinks. I am actually concerned my cats will stop using the boxes because of the smell. So I will likely throw it out soon, after LESS THAN A WEEK.

    The company claims it is likely because I am using too little litter, but I'm not sure how they can claim that when I am using more than it says I need.

    It makes sense, you aren't scooping out the pee, you are mixing it around and around, so the smell is still there. However, the company claims that because of the design and ingredients, it's not supposed to smell. Not the case for my cats.

    Super bummed. Just not worth the price if it doesn't work. I'd be happy to buy this product and chuck it out after a week and a half every time if the price were lower. But for that price, I expect it to last a month as it says it will.

    I canceled my subscription. I do not recommend it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 3, 2017

      Marc M

      I was steered toward PrettyLitter by my daughter who tried it and told me it was great. So I gave it a shot. I used all the recommendations on how to introduce my feline friend to PrettyLitter. Initially, it was pretty easy to get her to use it. But because of odor control, nope, no more. I certainly could not get a month out of one bag, maybe two weeks. So as the odor control was poor at best, it stunk even my daughter eventually said that as well.

      I wanted to cancel it but two reps on different occasions tried to get me to reconsider and help me resolve the "problem". Nope, I still wanted to cancel as one of the suggestions was to use two bags a month. That is definitely not cost effective. So while it is good in theory and yes, it does monitor urine color (which was always healthy). Both my daughter and I stopped using PrettyLitter.

      Personally, I would not recommend.

    • Nov 10, 2017

      Cassie Cobb, Director of Customer Experience

      Hi Kelli,

      My name is Cassie, I am the Director of Customer Experience at PrettyLitter. I was unable to contact you via phone and email but I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience. Our obligation is to you and your feline family members, and your feedback means the world to us. We love that you were excited to try our product, and we are sorry to hear you didn’t have the experience you expected. I wanted to reach out personally because I can understand your frustration when using a product exactly as directed and it not living up to your expectations. Odor control is one of PrettyLitter's top compliments, so we're eager to determine what happened and committed to making this right for you.

      We want to make sure you get to experience PrettyLitter as intended in your multi-cat household. Odor control issues usually stem from shallow litter depth, but there are other potential causes as well. The location of your box, the depth of litter, the number of cats using each box, urine volume per cat, as well as litter box mixing technique all factor in. From your comment, though, I think your problem either stems from too much depth in your litter boxes, or too many kitties using one box. How many cats do you have using the two boxes you're mentioned?

      If each cat has their own litter box, then we recommend filling each of them to 2.0 inches of depth. Under-filling the box can lead to saturation which would cause an odor control issue, but over-filling the box can cause odor issues as well. Based on your review, we may have missed the mark in educating you on the proper use of our product.

      PrettyLitter works because those soft, white crystals you described actually absorb your cat's urine. Over time, the water and moisture evaporate out, leaving the microscopic solids (and the smell) of the urine trapped inside the crystals. Filling the litter box to 3 inches can actually prevent the evaporation from occurring because the extra inch of PrettyLitter is too thick to allow the lower layer crystals to evaporate. In this case, the saturated crystals would stay wet and full of urine at the bottom of the box, leading to the odor issue you're describing.

      In the end, I want you to be able to get the full experience of PrettyLitter, a product you were excited to try and a product we are extremely proud of. Please reply back to my email and I'll be happy to make it happen.

      I hope this helps, and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

      Best,

      Cassie

    • Nov 13, 2017

      Kelli G

      Hi Cassie,

      Thanks for your calls and email and thank you for attempting to try to work with me. Unfortunately, after trying the product, I really am not interested in trying it again, even for free. The odor control was awful and I don’t want to cause litter box issues for my cats.

      I’m surprised by how many calls and emails I received after leaving a review for this product considering I only was able to receive a single response to my emails I sent to the company prior to leaving this review. The one response that I did receive from the company representative was passive aggressive and intentionally deceitful (she tried to imply that if I canceled my subscription that I would be charged a fee).

      I left this part out of my review, however, it really irked me that I received multiple calls and emails after leaving a truthful negative review. Yet, I struggled to get any responses before I left a review. The passive-aggressive and deceitful response I receive was unprofessional. So I apologize but I don’t want to have anything to do with the company after my experience.

    • Nov 14, 2017

      Cassie Cobb, Director of Customer Experience

      Thank you for following up Kelli, and I appreciate your feedback. The customer is at the heart of everything we do and we take that very seriously. I was resolved to reach out to you personally because of the detail of your review. I could tell you were excited to try this product and wanted it to work but you were left with a less than positive experience.

      I wanted to make sure we did everything we could to help you get the experience you expected and the one we intended. In addition, your exchange with our support team is not the level of service we aim to provide. I can assure you we are committed to making it right.

      Thank you again for taking the time to write your experience in detail as it drives our continuous improvement. We appreciate it more than you know. Please let me know if there's anything else I can do to help, you have my contact information and I'm here to help anytime.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • PrettyLitter

    It has been a lifesaver for me and my wife. We have 3 adopted cats and being seniors, it was getting hard lugging up those heavy litter boxes. But since we found PrettyLitter, it has been a breeze, and the soiled litter goes in the toilet, so the rest is not as heavy to get rid of. And the cats love it, and one of them has been declawed, so it makes it easier for her to cover it up. Bless you for making such a great product. It is not cheap, but neither is health insurance. Keep up the good work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not so great

    Naturally, my cat had blue in the PrettyLitter. He seemed fine, so I put off going to the vet, but after 2 months of this, it was really getting to me so I took him to the vet. After "x" amount of dollars and tests, it seems that he is in great health and has NO issues. If you're really worried about your cat's urine, you can buy stuff just like PrettyLitter on Amazon to put in your litter box every few months to check it and save yourself a bundle!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Cassie Cobb, Director of Customer Experience

      Hi Keara, we appreciate your feedback on PrettyLitter, and understand you are disappointed and feeling let down. I'm sorry for what you went through but let me help. I wanted to address the potential underlying reasons why you didn't have the same fantastic experience as our other customers while using PrettyLitter. The color change can be confusing at times, therefore, we try our best to educate our customers around PrettyLitter's color changing technology.

      Cats are sensitive to temporary stress in the environment such as strangers in the house or new food diets. PrettyLitter recommends that you pay attention to the spot where the cat urinated and monitor the cat for 24-48 hours prior to taking them to the vet if a color change is observed. You mentioned that your PrettyLitter was changing color for a few months, this may have been a saturation concern and not a potential medical concern.

      PrettyLitter was designed as one bag, per cat, per month in a regular size litter box. If you were not getting two inches of depth and were experiencing a saturation issue that changed the litter a blue color, that may indicate why your cat was healthy when taken to the vet. We recommend you pay attention only to the spot where your cat urinated and not the edges of the litter in determining a color change.

      Lastly, PrettyLitter is the only health monitoring subscription litter on the market and you can not find or purchase PrettyLitter or anything like it on Amazon or Chewy.com. PrettyLitter is exclusively available on www.prettylitter.com! Please let me know how we can be of further assistance by emailing us at meow@prettylitter.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The best cat litter

    • Columbus, Ohio ,
    • Oct 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love this litter. I ordered one bag just to see if it worked. I have two cats and two litter boxes and replaced one with PrettyLitter, and now it’s the only litter box they use. I have an older cat that would not go #2 in the box and had to use puppy pads. After using PrettyLitter, he no longer uses the pads and there are no messes to pick up. And I am shocked that even after a month with 2 cats, there isn't a strong odor. Before, I was able to smell the litter but not anymore. I changed my subscription to 2 bags; for me, it’s well worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love this litter

    I switched to this a couple of months back and LOVE it! My boy has bladder problems, and this litter helps me keep an eye on it. He didn't even seem to notice the change from his old litter either. Plus, I really like not having to carry heavy bags of litter to my third story, walk-up apartment. I 100% recommend switching.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • If you love your cat, you NEED this litter

    Seriously. If you have a cat, you need this litter. It gives you indicators if your cat is having problems with their urinary tract or kidneys. It is non-clumping, so it's a MILLION times easier to clean (it seriously takes like 2 minutes compared to the 10 or more with stupid clumping litter).

    It doesn't hurt your cat if they eat it because let's face it, kittens can be kind of dumb when they're young, and older cats clean the litter out/off their paws and essentially ingest it.

    It's low dust so you don't have to worry about damaging your lungs with clay dust (which is stupid dangerous by the way, like seriously), and even if you do inhale anything it just dissolves and you'll be totally fine.

    I don't have to remember to go to the store for litter every month. It has helped us monitor our two kittens health and get them to the vet when they've needed it, and we've only had them two months.

    If you care about your cat, get this litter. I swear by it, and that will not change. I would pay even more than what they charge for this because it is such a wonderful product. It's well worth the piece of mind knowing your cat is happy AND healthy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review