What Is PrettyLitter?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Sep 30, 2019

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top-rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine

  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.

  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.

  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.

  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $22
  • Two cats: $42
  • Three cats: $69 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute of the selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health.

Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in its responses to each and every comment and question.

The Bottom Line on PrettyLitter: Is It Worth It?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.


Read 343 PrettyLitter Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 281 4 star: 15 3 star: 3 2 star: 15 1 star:  29
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 343
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Change of heart

    • Ohio,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first I was really excited about PrettyLitter. I loved the fact I could monitor the health of my cat closely. I am a nurse and this is right up my alley.

    The one problem that made me cancel my subscription was the fact the litter did not clump and I could not scoop out the urine. This ruined my whole experience. Otherwise, I would have continued to order.

    Side note, my cat did enjoy the cat food I ordered through this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 12, 2019

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Angel. We always try to make it as clear as possible that PrettyLitter is a highly absorbent non-clumping litter. A member of our team has reached out to you directly to learn more and see if there is another option that would work perfectly for your household.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • New York,
    • Oct 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    PrettyLitter claims to be dust-free but it's not! Every time I scoop I can literally see the dust as if it was smoke. I have videos as well so can prove it anytime. Also, since it doesn't clump up, you can't really get the urine out. Every time I walk by the litter box, it smells bad. I clean the litter box sometimes twice a day and it's still the same thing. I've been using PrettyLitter now for almost a year and the cons outway the pros.

    Yes, it's very lightweight and one bag may be good for a whole month with one cat, but the dust cancels all of that out. I have to wear something over my nose and mouth just to scoop the litter...that's pretty bad. I will be changing litter very soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 24, 2019

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Jason. We're sorry to hear your experience was less than perfect. We're currently in the process of pilot testing a clumping litter and we'd love to send you a complimentary bag to see if that helps with the issues you've been experiencing around saturation and dust. A member of our team has reached out to you directly to learn more and see if our clumping option might be a good fit.


  • So easy!

    • New Braunfels, TX,
    • Oct 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Have been using PrettyLitter for 8 months. That's when I adopted my furry friend Cara. She took to it immediately.

    I couldn't believe how fast and easy it is to maintain on a daily basis. Cara thanks you for her gift with the latest batch.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I LOVE PrettyLitter! For more than 2 years!

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My kitties love this litter as do I. Two large boxes (one large cat, one medium cat), two boxes. 1.5 bags each box per month. Perfect.

    Change the liter once per month. Yes. Once. Not every week. Well worth it.

    Have to keep the 2 large boxes for my 25 lbs sweet, 2-year-old, tuxedo kitty, and my medium-sized, also 2-year-old, kitty who is maybe 12 lbs as they are "brothers" and share both boxes.

    Scoop daily or every other day. But no stink in my 1800 SQFT townhome. When my kittens hide with company, or not, no one knows I have cats if they don't make themselves known. And they are both neutered males but still boys and can be stinky.

    I got these babies at 4 months old. I searched for at least 2 months for the right litter that didn't make my house smell like a litter box.

    PrettyLitter is the ticket. I buy it in bulk and share it with friends when their home smells like a litter box.

    I've been a HUGE fan for more than 2 years. There are others on the market but, this IS the best!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    • Virginia,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using PrettyLitter for two months now and I LOVE IT!

    No more huge heavy bags for me to carry and no more ugly smelling litter box. I noticed that my male cat wasn't acting like himself, and didn't know why. I looked at the litter box and saw his urine had a lot of blood in it and immediately took him to the vet. I disagree that the cats do not track it out of their litter box, because they do, but it is not as much, and it isn't the big pieces it is more like sand. I have been able to scoop the dry poop and put it in my toilet as it gets dried out by the litter, and I flush it. I had my qualms when I first ordered it, but I highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    All of your litter problems are solved with PrettyLitter!

    • Millers, MD,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been using PrettyLitter for over a year and we won’t go back! My favorite part about it is that it is dust-free and easy to maintain! The urine dissolves back into the litter which keeps it clean and easy to scoop! We have 2 cats, one has kidney issues and our litter does change colors as they say it will. We use 2 bags every 2 months, which is a stretch, but if you keep it clean it will last much longer than traditional litter! It is a great value for the length of time it lasts and the benefits you get from it. I was so tired of dust clouds of litter all over our room with our old litter. Now I don’t have to worry about that, which makes this litter worth every penny to me! It is much more compact than the huge bags of litter you buy at the store, but it really goes a long way!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great but expensive

    • Durham, NC,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the litter itself. It cleans up easy, doesn't smell bad, and helped me to detect a UTI in my nineteen-year-old cat. It's so nice not to have to scoop big chunks of clay out of the litter box. All that said, it is expensive. I figured the price would be about right if the bags really did last a whole month but they don't. I get about 2 and 1/2 weeks out of two bags for my two cats.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 30, 2019

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Bethany. It sounds like your litter box might be larger than the ideal measurements for PrettyLitter, but we'd love to help you find the perfect plan that works with your budget to make sure PrettyLitter lasts you the whole month. Please send an email to meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Marissa) and someone will be available to help. Looking forward to talking to you!


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A+!

    • Kernville, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had PrettyLitter since November. Really like it! I did have some issues with shipping when I first signed up as I live in a rural area and have a P.O. Box and the mailman can't always find my house. All solved now, it gets sent to my box. My two giant cats took to it right away, I love only having to scoop a few little poos rather than half the contents of the box with clumping litter! I get one extra bag than I need a month so I have some extra if I need to switch it out more (it tends to get saturated a little quicker than lasting a full month, nothing to do with the litter, just two big cats). I do wish there was a way to just order a bag or two whenever you like rather than changing your subscription, but since I get a little more than I need, it has solved that. Just a heads up for anyone with huge cats that go potty non-stop like mine. But I've recommended it to a few friends and family and they love it as well! A+!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic litter!

    I bought PrettyLitter about six months ago after going through bag after bag after box of other litters promising no odor, no mess, easy cleanup. None of them came through, then I saw an ad for PrettyLitter and thought, why not? Suffice to say, it does everything promised and more! No pee clumps is the best (besides being able to check my cat's health), and odor elimination is epic. My cat had no issues with using it, and the auto-delivery is just the best. There just isn't enough room here for me to go on and on. What I do know is this, it is the only litter that ticks all the boxes for me, and that's saying a lot. If you are on the fence about trying PrettyLitter, jump off to the good side, it will not disappoint!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good to have and saves time, money, odor, cat feet

    • Gainesville, FL,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had cats all of my life, and have tried every kind of litter on the market. PrettyLitter is by far the best cat litter I have ever purchased. This litter really does last a month. It is soft on my cats’ feet, and since I began using it my cats no longer track litter all over the house.

    PrettyLitter truly eliminates odors, and remarkably, it changes color to assist in identifying any health problem a cat may have. This feature is quite valuable. I love my cats Melody and AJake dearly, and PrettyLitter gives me a sense of comfort I can tell if there is a potential problem.

    PrettyLitter saves money and time, and I highly recommend it to all of you who, like I do, share your home with cats.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The best!

    • Altoona, PA,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having 4 cats and running a TNR program, I highly recommend PrettyLitter 100%. No more scooping clumps all day, bad odors, and messes around the litter to clean up. Saves us a ton of money too with vet bills as two of our furbabies had urinary tract infections and without PrettyLitter we would have never known until it was possibly too late. A life saver, a money saver, and blessing for sure!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 343

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review