What Is PrettyLitter?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top-rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine

  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.

  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.

  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.

  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute of the selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health.

Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in its responses to each and every comment and question.

The Bottom Line on PrettyLitter: Is It Worth It?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 336 PrettyLitter Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 277 4 star: 14 3 star: 3 2 star: 15 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 87% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 336
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • A+!

    • Kernville, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had PrettyLitter since November. Really like it! I did have some issues with shipping when I first signed up as I live in a rural area and have a P.O. Box and the mailman can't always find my house. All solved now, it gets sent to my box. My two giant cats took to it right away, I love only having to scoop a few little poos rather than half the contents of the box with clumping litter! I get one extra bag than I need a month so I have some extra if I need to switch it out more (it tends to get saturated a little quicker than lasting a full month, nothing to do with the litter, just two big cats). I do wish there was a way to just order a bag or two whenever you like rather than changing your subscription, but since I get a little more than I need, it has solved that. Just a heads up for anyone with huge cats that go potty non-stop like mine. But I've recommended it to a few friends and family and they love it as well! A+!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Fantastic litter!

    I bought PrettyLitter about six months ago after going through bag after bag after box of other litters promising no odor, no mess, easy cleanup. None of them came through, then I saw an ad for PrettyLitter and thought, why not? Suffice to say, it does everything promised and more! No pee clumps is the best (besides being able to check my cat's health), and odor elimination is epic. My cat had no issues with using it, and the auto-delivery is just the best. There just isn't enough room here for me to go on and on. What I do know is this, it is the only litter that ticks all the boxes for me, and that's saying a lot. If you are on the fence about trying PrettyLitter, jump off to the good side, it will not disappoint!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Good to have and saves time, money, odor, cat feet

    • Gainesville, FL,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had cats all of my life, and have tried every kind of litter on the market. PrettyLitter is by far the best cat litter I have ever purchased. This litter really does last a month. It is soft on my cats’ feet, and since I began using it my cats no longer track litter all over the house.

    PrettyLitter truly eliminates odors, and remarkably, it changes color to assist in identifying any health problem a cat may have. This feature is quite valuable. I love my cats Melody and AJake dearly, and PrettyLitter gives me a sense of comfort I can tell if there is a potential problem.

    PrettyLitter saves money and time, and I highly recommend it to all of you who, like I do, share your home with cats.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • The best!

    • Altoona, PA,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having 4 cats and running a TNR program, I highly recommend PrettyLitter 100%. No more scooping clumps all day, bad odors, and messes around the litter to clean up. Saves us a ton of money too with vet bills as two of our furbabies had urinary tract infections and without PrettyLitter we would have never known until it was possibly too late. A life saver, a money saver, and blessing for sure!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great product

    • Worcester, MA,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My cat and I both love PrettyLitter. It's wonderful to have it delivered right to my door once a month. And it actually lasts that long. I love the consistency of it and the fact that it's made so dependable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Saved my cat!

    • Palm Harbor, FL,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am so pleased with this product, not only because it is lightweight, easy to use and is delivered to my door, but because I was able to show me that my cat was having issues due to the color change in her litter box. By the time I got her into the vet, she was diagnosed with a severe UTI with blood and crystals. She was not showing any other signs of being ill. My vet was very impressed when I told her I knew because her littler box indicated something was going on. Cats are good at not showing how sick they are, so I consider this litter a real life saver. Thank you for creating this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great litter

    • Mobile, AL,
    • May 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had cats of my own for 39 years, all indoor so I know a little bit about cats and cat litters. PrettyLitter delivers what it says it does. Have I used all the litters out there, no, but I have used multiple different brands and types. I also have multiple cats that all use the same boxes.

    A few suggestions to those who have multiple cats, when scraping rather than mix the urine back in, scoop as much as you can out, it seems to work better for me. Now, I have 7 cats and they all prefer one box, even though they have multiple boxes, which makes for a lot of urine and poop, my only complaint is, I need larger bags, maybe 8-10 lbs. I do wear a mask as there is some dust and I am sensitive to dust. Great product, give it a try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Very pleased with PrettyLitter

    • Pickens, SC,
    • May 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We are a multi-cat household with multiple litter boxes. Keeping their boxes clean has become much easier.

    I have been using this litter for almost a year, and I would not want to go back to clay. As long as I keep the litter changed out frequently (sometimes a little more than once a month), I do not notice any smell. I like that it is lightweight and dust free.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Helps keep track of pH!

    • Miami, FL,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My cat's name is Timmy and he is the sweetest cat ever. He had urinary problems at one point and it got so bad that he was peeing blood. Thanks to PrettyLitter I can now keep track of his urine pH so it never happens again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • PrettyLitter BOOM

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two beautiful fluffy cats. Ragdoll and Burmese...they have long hair and litter is critical. I’ve tried every litter made. Kitten poo is foul...adult poo is big...all had its downside.

    PrettyLitter, to my surprise, took care of everything. I am thrilled. It even comes to my front door. LOVE it. Lasts longer than advertised. Try it. You don’t like it, send it to me. Lol. You’ll love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great!

    • Winfield, KS,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This litter really takes away any odor just like they said it would! My house doesn’t stink anymore! And my cats appreciate their clean feet! Do yourself a favor and please try it! Two paws up!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 336

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review