What is PrettyLitter?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 329 PrettyLitter Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 269 4 star: 15 3 star: 3 2 star: 15 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 329
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Helps keep track of pH!

    • Miami, FL,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My cat's name is Timmy and he is the sweetest cat ever. He had urinary problems at one point and it got so bad that he was peeing blood. Thanks to PrettyLitter I can now keep track of his urine pH so it never happens again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • PrettyLitter BOOM

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two beautiful fluffy cats. Ragdoll and Burmese...they have long hair and litter is critical. I’ve tried every litter made. Kitten poo is foul...adult poo is big...all had its downside.

    PrettyLitter, to my surprise, took care of everything. I am thrilled. It even comes to my front door. LOVE it. Lasts longer than advertised. Try it. You don’t like it, send it to me. Lol. You’ll love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great!

    • Winfield, KS,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This litter really takes away any odor just like they said it would! My house doesn’t stink anymore! And my cats appreciate their clean feet! Do yourself a favor and please try it! Two paws up!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • PrettyLitter: rare perfection

    • Rockford, IL,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been a subscriber for 12-15 months and find it a flawless product and service. My big Maine Coon cat uses it without fail. She watches with great interest when I open the new box, dump out the old PrettyLitter (still odorless, by the way), wipe out the slight amount of dust on the bottom of the pan, and reassemble her pan for the next clean month. She christens the clean litter, I swear, with a sigh of satisfaction. From my point of view, I am not in the best physical condition at 80, and I love not dealing with huge heavy bags of litter from the store. It’s worth every penny.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Very persistent but with a good reason

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally intended to cancel my subscription with PrettyLitter, a product I really do love, due to financial limitations. However, Joyce basically was very soft but firm in her approach to know why I wished to cancel, and upon letting her know my reasons, she worked with me to find a solution that I was able to afford. As such, I now will continue to use this superior product and PrettyLitter has a continued customer. Thank you again, Joyce, for taking the time as you did to talk with me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Lexington, MA,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought four bags of PrettyLitter after seeing multiple Facebook ads and reading reviews on their website. They arrived, I opened one bag and put it into a litter box, and the next day the house was covered in very sharp crystals of litter. I have seven cats and seven litter boxes, I know how to keep litter boxes tidy and I have mats around every box, I've never experienced any litter this messy. Their customer support person wrote me back a day later suggesting I put my litter box "in a kiddy pool" or building a wall of cardboard boxes around it. At this point, even after vacuuming the whole house, I had a piece of this litter stuck in my foot and had to have it extracted by a doctor. I told this to the customer service person, said this was not what I wanted to do with my litter boxes and that I simply wanted to return the unopened bags of litter, and he responded that I could return them at my own cost and wouldn't get a full refund - this was after buying them with a "100% satisfaction guarantee".

    At that point, I put a review on their website, which they removed. This is a very bad company, I'm fairly convinced at this point that they are a scam and are removing negative reviews from their site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 15, 2019

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Christine. We hope our previous replies reached you without issue. We were able to give you a refund and your review finished pending and can be seen on our website. A member of our team has been in touch via email with you directly and if you have any other questions don't hesitate to reach out to them.


  • PrettyLitter rocks

    • Rochester, MN,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve used PrettyLitter for a month now and it’s a great product. I hate scooping litter boxes normally, but this makes it easier on me. I will definitely be ordering from now on. Keep up the good work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great new litter!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m so happy with this product. It’s the third day using it and I’m very pleased. I was instantly happy with the color changing crystals. Our cat's urine is healthy and that’s all that matters. And there is no order, so important!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Me and Tom Drooley LOVE this product!

    • Santa Cruz, CA,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the fact that the only thing that needs to be scooped out every day is the solid waste. And Tom Drooley, my fur-face purr machine, is very happy with the new scene as well. I love the auto-delivery, and he is glad to know that his litter box will always be clean and filled. I may add this product as a gift to my clients that I kitty sit for, after all, the name of my business is Have Litter Box, Will Travel, so this would be an appropriate thank you gift!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Amazing, works like a dream

    • Claremore, OK,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this for almost a year. I recently started using a layered sifting litter box system to make it easier to stir. I now have a house with zero cat order from two old cats. I have been meaning to write and let you know that we were able to get a very sick cat to the vet before my other cat got sick. I put the new one in the garage with a box of food and PrettyLitter. We suspected she was sick but no evidence until the litter turned colors. When I sifted the waste, I found wads of tapeworms that had been shed that night. I am not a cat poop inspector, but since the litter was the wrong color, I turned into one. Thank you for releasing this product and making it available at a reasonable cost.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not good for multiples - does not control odor

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This litter does not work for multiple cats, each bag is too is little, the cost is over the top. Also, the website has been down for account access for two days and they don’t respond to emails. Someone did respond via messenger, but it still isn’t addressed so I can’t cancel my next order. We tried for two cycles and the odor is escalating. We gave it plenty of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 21, 2019

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Barbara. We're sorry to hear your experience with PrettyLitter was less than perfect. It sounds like you were having issues with saturation, which can cause PrettyLitter's odor-blocking technology to weaken. That being said, we'd love the opportunity to give you the experience you deserve. Please send over an email to meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Marissa), and we'd be more than happy to help you find the perfect amount of litter for your household. Looking forward to talking with you!


Showing 1-11 of 329

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review