What is PrettyLitter?

Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

316 Consumer Reviews for PrettyLitter

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 259 4 star: 13 3 star: 3 2 star: 15 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 316
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • LOVE PrettyLitter!

    • Utah,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this and am SO glad I did! My cat had a urinal infection about two weeks ago (she is a Calico and gets these regularly). Usually, I have NO clue about it until she is bleeding and has crystals and the vet bills start adding up. This time, the litter turned a blue/green color, I double checked with the chart they have on their website and found she had that infection. I put her on a urinary medicine (over-the-counter liquid medicine, I just mixed it in with her food) and she is doing great now! No more bladder infection! No vet bills or nasty pills to fight with her on! THANK YOU PrettyLitter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Product is great, billing practices are illegal, customer service is the worst

    • Utah,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    While the product is actually a really fantastic litter of such a quality that I would really like to have used it forever, the billing practices are completely shady and the customer service is protecting those shady practices.

    I set my account to bill every other month, yet I kept getting it every month. Each time I got it, I would log in to be absolutely positively sure that it was set to only happen every other month, yet it kept happening every month.

    They are scammers and they are not interested in solving this problem. I reached out to support and they simply argued with me. They also tried to tell me that my credit card information was no longer on file, even though I can plainly see that the information is still there by logging into my account.

    Unfortunately, although the product is fantastic, I cannot possibly recommend doing business with these evil freaks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out of 10

    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This litter is the best! I've tried several different brands but they all get an odor pretty quick but, not PrettyLitter. It lasts a very long time and you will never smell anything! We bought it after my cat was diagnosed with urinary issues and we will never switch to another litter. Another thing, you don't even have to worry about going anywhere because it comes directly to your door when it's time to change the litter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • From clumps and dust to having this is a must!

    • Clearwater, FL,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My girlfriend and I have one cat. I've been using different kinds of litter I thought was fine until I started seeing ads for PrettyLitter.

    Normally I don't pay attention to ads like that, but the color changing to know if your cat may have issues really caught my attention. With other litters, the cat would use it and right away you'd know it by the smell, and once he steps out he leaves dusty prints everywhere he goes with lots of dust on him.

    With PrettyLitter, I can honestly say I don't get hit with the stench like it used to and little to no mess from the cat! Very easy to scope up the messes also with no clumps really! Highly recommend! This will be the litter I stick with from now on!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Happy healthy "furrever" family!

    • Augusta, GA,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We love PrettyLitter! Hands down the best litter I've ever used, and I've had cats all my life. With two cats the smells can get overwhelming, and the amount of litter was ridiculous. We made the switch to PrettyLitter about half a year ago or so, and we've never turned back. Two bags last us a whole month! Our house never smells, and our cats are so very happy with the special gifts they receive from time to time. It works so well, that my dog doesn't try to eat the litter anymore. If you are debating making the switch, do it! It's not only saved us money in the long run, it has kept our little fluffy family healthy. I know this sounds crazy, but I do get excited for my monthly litter box! Thanks so much PrettyLitter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome

    • Okeechobee, FL,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very hesitant about ordering PrettyLitter, but boy am I glad I did. No more litter smells, no more cleaning dirty boxes, and my cat even likes it. Actually, he had a UTI and I didn't know it, but this litter changes colors, if there is something wrong, and his turned blue. Sure enough, UTI. Three of my neighbors decided to buy it when they saw how happy I was with it.

    If you are debating on whether or not to buy it, don't hesitate. It will be the best investment you ever made. And, every 28-30 it is at your front door, free delivery.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome!

    • Eaton Rapids, MI,
    • Mar 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love this cat litter, it does actually what it says it does, NO SMELLY URINE scoop.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing product

    • Oshkosh, WI,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love PrettyLitter. I don’t have any reason to have concerns with urinary issues for my cat, but I love this product for other reasons. I love that PrettyLitter does not have the dust that store-bought litters have. It is also great that there is not the fragrance of other litters. My favorite part is that the urine basically dissolves itself. There is no scooping of urine only of feces. This causes so much less waste of litter. There is also much less tracking of litter outside the litter box. Also, the litter is much easier to sweep up than traditional litter. It may be pricey, but I love this litter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best litter and food I've ever used!

    We have always had animals and lots of cats over my 62 years of life. NEVER have I found a cat litter that I could stand to mess with (I have a weak gag reflex), however, PrettyLitter works so very well, not only can I clean the boxes myself, but the ammonia smell is so non-existent that we can actually comfortably have a little box at the foot of our bed! The sand is a bit or a learning curve for cats that do not know how to use a box properly, but they are gaining on it. WE LOVE PrettyLitter!

    PrettyPlease cat food is by far the best dry cat food we have ever offered out cats. All five are finicky and all five took to the PrettyPlease cat food like it was caviar! We didn't even have to mix the old with the new food. We gave them each a tablespoon to try and they couldn't get enough. I have "never" seen any of my pets do this with a new food or new litter. I am so very glad that we found this company!

    Thank you for making products that are great for pets and pet parents alike.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service

    • Illinois,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I purchased this, the ad stated that the bag would last four weeks if you only have one cat. After reading reviews, I see that a lot of people have to switch litter every three weeks. I have to change every two weeks! They will not refund or send any replacement bags since I have my bag in the laundry room. I should not have it in the laundry room, kitchen or bathroom! I guess they want it in the living room or dining room or maybe even your master bedroom. I like the litter but go through it too fast.

    The customer service was the AWFUL part. Not to mention, if I ordered four bags and each should last four weeks, why did they do auto-replenish (which I didn't authorize) one month later? I shouldn't need for 3-4 months. Even in my case every two months. I would have liked to continue with the product, but cannot see how I possibly can with a company. Purchase at your own risk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 25, 2019

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thanks for sharing your experience Barb! We're sorry your experience was less than perfect. We try to make it clear that PrettyLitter is exclusively a subscription service. This is because we want members to enjoy the convenience of having litter delivered to their door each month. That being said, we'd love to make things right! Send an email to meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Marissa) and I'll be happy to help. Looking forward to talking with you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A+ for PrettyLitter from me!

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I absolutely love PrettyLitter! We’ve been using it for about a year and I couldn’t be happier. It gives me peace of mind knowing if my cat Jasmine is sick, the litter can help identify the problem. Plus, it’s super convenient on auto ship, so I know just to switch it out as soon as it comes in the mail.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 316

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review