Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

PrettyLitter Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
PrettyLitter

Overall Rating

4.4

354 Customer Reviews

Summary

PrettyLitter changes color to reflect your cat’s health, helping owners detect feline issues such as urinary tract infections and kidney issues early.

Write a Review

What Is PrettyLitter?

By HighYa Editorial Team

Updated on: Sep 30, 2019

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top-rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine

  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.

  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.

  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.

  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $22
  • Two cats: $42
  • Three cats: $69 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute of the selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health.

Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in its responses to each and every comment and question.

The Bottom Line on PrettyLitter: Is It Worth It?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Customer Reviews

4.4 Stars out of 354 Reviews
5 Star:80% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:8%
86% Recommend This Company
Start your review of PrettyLitter:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Aug 27, 2021

Terrible customer service

By Deborah L., Culpeper, VA, Verified Reviewer

I have had money taken out of my account for my order and never received it. Never can get anyone to answer at customer service after calling every single day.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The litter

Terrible customer service

No one ever answers the phone

Taking your money and not sending the product

Posted on Jul 28, 2021

Odor and health

By Andrea B. , Mountain View, CA

I am not finding that it is keeping odor down very much longer than regular litter - crystal or normal clumping litter. Darn.

I have 3 cats, so it is hard to figure out which cat may be having a UTI.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I like the concept

Easy to find in my local Target when they are out of my favorite brands

Doesn't work as long as promised so isn't as cost effective as promised

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 6, 2021

Please let people know that you DO charge got shipping

By Jessie Lorraine W. , St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

You advertise free shipping so why was I charged for shipping? The total I paid for 1 bag of litter was $44.00, which I didn't realize until I just looked at my bank statement. Please let people know that you DO charge got shipping! I haven't received it yet but according to the tracking #, I should have it by July 5th. I won't be paying $44.00 again for 1 bag. That's terrible. You do charge for shipping.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Shipping costs are high

Posted on Mar 30, 2021

I love everything about it

By Josh A., West Des Moines, IA, Verified Reviewer

I love everything about PrettyLitter. Because I like it when the PrettyLitter shows me my cat's health, and I like it because it smells good!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I like it when the litter is showing me my cat's health

I like it because the litter smells good

I like it because it is easy to pick up after my cat

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2021

Zero dependability, horrible customer service

By Valerie V., Mansfield, TX, Verified Reviewer

I don’t even know where to start. I’ve bad 3 shipments overall that never even came, or were 1 month at least late. I see after reading reviews that it’s more common than I thought. You can’t depend on a mail service, or PrettyLitter’s SLOW customer service to take care of your precious babies. My poor cats have peed in straight urine for so long and I feel simply CRUEL and depended on store-bought litter between my shipments and I thought, what’s the point? I’ve explained my concerns to customer service and all they offer is kindness to ship another late litter shipment. Well, your shipments don’t arrive in time, you’re not selling in stores, what are you actually doing FOR your customers? This is a business, if you can’t handle providing a service, you don’t deserve the business. Your kindness goes nowhere with me because there are no results. I’ve gone through so much headache and feeling cruel to my cats ENOUGH.

I promise you guys reading this review that there are TONS of other ppl going through this same thing that haven’t written reviews, you don't need the headache for something you need to depend on like litter. PrettyLitter shouldn’t act so surprised and say these complaints are "rare," that’s a lie. Don’t buy from this company. I’m buying from Chewy now, very dependable even with mail service (wonder how) and my cat loves having fresh litter. And the PrettyLitter itself is pretty, but tracks a lot. You must change it every 3 weeks, NO less, so it’s more expensive for that reason. Overall, even if this litter company was dependable, the quality of the litter doesn’t make up for the lack of dependability, it’s 100% not worth it.

Last thing - I emailed them to cancel my subscription and asked for a confirmation, they only replied "we are sorry for the inconvenience, please have more patience." They didn’t even confirm my cancellation, so I assumed our service was still active, and when I thought I was going to receive another shipment, nothing came. So they actually did cancel the service and I had to find out this way. Please don’t buy from this company, this review is to protect those from the lies of this company.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Litter is pretty

Color coded based on illness

Not dependable company at all

Need to change the litter so often

Horrible customer service

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 23, 2020

Good product, bad service

By Rachelle D., Montréal, Québec, Canada, Verified Reviewer

The litter is good but the subscription concept is horrible if you have to pay for shipping, not to mention it’s very pricey. Better to buy three bags in one shot and/or pause the subscription.

Unreturned and unacknowledged emails, badly functioning call center, pretty frustrating for a product I usually buy as easily as toothpaste.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Smell control

Seeing cat’s pee PH

Subscription

Customer service

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 21, 2020

Happy with product!

By Kelly C., Marion, IA, Verified Reviewer

I had only purchased 1 bag of PrettyLitter in the beginning to try as I wasn't sure if my cats would like it or use it. They actually did like the litter and nearly stopped using the other brand. I have had urinary issues multiple times with one of my cats so this would be a good monitoring system for that. I then had to increase my order to 2 bags for the next month. It is definitely worth it, thank you!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The quality of the product, works great

Free shipping to my door

The marketing concept

Odorless and health benefits

My cats prefer it over other brands of litter

Awesome customer service reps

They need to broaden their target audience

Do not want product to fail because of lack of sales

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 16, 2020

Change

By Cathy P., Summerfield, FL, Verified Reviewer

I want to receive monthly instead of every 6 weeks. Silica Gel, 2 bags. I have had excellent service but couldn't find out how to talk with you to change my order.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Litter is flushable

Couldn't find how to speak with them

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 14, 2020

Thank goodness for PrettyLitter!

By Lisa H., Tulsa, OK, Verified Reviewer

I’ve used PrettyLitter for over a year and love how easy it is to clean! I also love that you only have to change it once per month.

Last week I noticed some blue shades in our litter, which I’d never seen before. I called the vet and got a urinalysis for Jazzy right away. Sure enough, she had a urinary tract infection and bladder crystals! I wouldn't have had any idea something was wrong but thank goodness PrettyLitter alerted me!

The vet was impressed with PrettyLitter too, because he said we were able to catch the UTI early. He was pretty skeptical when I first called, but was a believer by the time I left.

This experience has made me love this litter even more than before! I highly recommend PrettyLitter to every single cat owner I meet!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2020

Fascinating concept, not as great in practice.

By Carissa S., Norfolk, VA, Verified Reviewer

Perhaps I am coddled by the ease of use my previous litter (Arm & Hammer Slide), it is with the easy lift litter pans I have that have a sifter layer built in. I appreciate the clumping of my old litter which cleared out the used litter. Pretty Litter has been very interesting and I think I will continue using it, but not as my base, instead, as a sprinkle in.

Sorry if this isn't a 100% positive review. Pretty Litter isn't good at preventing urine odor. If anything, it carries the cat ammonia urine smell strongly because it doesn't clump. I really love the idea I can tell my cat's general health! I do! But yikes, folks...don't say it is good at preventing odor. It's just okay because the poop doesn't smell.

Also, I have a kitty with kidney issues and he is compelled to try to eat it when it is unused. He's on a vet-prescribed diet.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

Mar 24, 2020

Thanks for sharing your experience Carissa. It sounds like there may have been an issue with getting the right amount of depth in your litter box. We understand that some people just prefer clumping litter, which is why we wanted to create an option that had the convenience of clumping while still having PrettyLitter's exclusive health monitoring technology, so we did! If you want to try our new clumping formula please reach out to our support team at meow@prettylitter.com or live chat with us on our website. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2020

Fabulous

By Linda P., Luling, TX, Verified Reviewer

Hi! I have 3 cats, all girls. I decided to try out Pretty Litter for my girls, they took to this litter right away! I love it...this litter dehydrates the contents very quickly. That’s a plus! I do, however, would love it if the urine can be clumped, then the litter will stay fresh, longer. The box is scooped at least 3-4 times daily when I am home. Twice daily when I am not home.

I read a review from a customer about dust. Yes, it does have dust spewing, which I believe is from the urine still in the mids of the litter.

I don’t change the litter as stated, because of cost. I feel dusting happens because of the breakdown of their urine. I may be wrong...but...I LOVE PRETTY LITTER!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 354

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.