About Turo

You’ve always dreamed of cruising Route 66 — just not in a standard sedan. Enter Turo: This peer-to-peer carsharing service is kind of like AirBnb, except instead of allowing hosts to offer spare rooms, you can transform your idling assets into an earning machine.

For folks who are in need of wheels, Turo works to differentiate itself from the standard car rental service by promising you your pick of the lot. Whether it's an F-150 truck to help out on moving day, a Tesla for a luxurious weekend away, or a classic VW bus for a picture-perfect road trip, Turo claims to help travelers rent the car and own the adventure.

However, anyone who’s ever rented a car the knows the process comes with its fair share of hoops. Who hasn’t fretted over whether or not to buy full coverage or wondered if they missed a scratch during the initial walk around?

Let’s take a closer look to see if Turo really offers enough support to hand over keys or get you into the driver’s seat.

How To Rent a Car With Turo

With a presence in over 2,500 cities and 300 airports, the chances are that there’s an opportunity to rent with Turo wherever you’re traveling stateside.

Why would you choose Turo? They claim to offer:

  • Choice: Hundreds of unique cars for every occasion and every budget.
  • Value: The car you want, when and where you want it, at up to 30% less than traditional agencies.
  • Accessibility: The chance to book cars from home or on the go.

Feeling revved up? Here’s how Turo works.

First, you’ll need to sign up for Turo with Facebook, Google, or your email. They need to confirm your identity and eligibility so you can become an approved driver, so you might want to take this step before arriving.

Using either Turo’s app or their website, you enter your travel dates and location for locally owned cars. Once you find a set of wheels you like, you’ll have to request to rent it. The owner can either confirm or decline your request within eight hours. However, some vehicles are available immediately, thanks to a “Book Instantly” badge.

Turo claims that picking up your rental is easy, promising that many owners will deliver their vehicle to you. More so, Turo claims all you have to do is “walk around the car, show them your license, grab the keys, and drive off into the sunset.”

When you’re done? Replace the gas you’ve used, do-si-do one more walk around, and hand over the keys before planning your next adventure.

Your Responsibilities As a Turo Renter

Turo doesn’t require you to have your own insurance. Instead, they offer renters three choices to cover their physical damage obligations:

  • “Premium” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to payment of a deductible of $500. When damage is reported, the renter will be charged $500. If the total costs are less than $500, the renter will be refunded the difference.
  • Basic” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to a payment of a deductible of $3000 under the same structure described in the Premium package.
  • “Decline Coverage” Package: The renter’s financial responsibility is essentially unlimited, and is bounded only by the actual cash value of the car, plus all related costs. This means that if the car is lost, stolen, or damaged so extensively that the expected cost of repairs exceeds 75% of the actual cash value, the renter is responsible to pay the entire actual cash value of the car.

Those considering renting with Turo are encouraged to view their entire explanation of insurance and protection provisions here. Additionally, if you already have auto insurance, you’re generally covered for any physical damage or liability claims that you’re responsible for — even if you don’t own the vehicle. Of course, you should always check with your carrier before renting a car.

Note that because Turo isn’t considered a valid car rental service by many credit card companies, the coverage you might normally expect from your Visa or Mastercard may not apply.

Fine print aside, what responsibilities does a Turo renter really take on?

Much like AirBnb or Uber, Turo is based on the trust implicit in today’s growing sharing economy. Basically: You break it, you pay for it.

That means that if your Turo rental gets a flat tire, you’re responsible for fixing it — unless you can prove that the flat is the result of a defect or preexisting excessive wear.

It also means that renters are encouraged to get photo-happy with tons of “before” pics when getting the keys, since you can be held responsible for any pre-existing damage that wasn’t documented at the start of your trip.

Again, we’re assuming you’re not here to read through a thorough rundown of Turo’s fine print. So, if you’re considering car sharing through their service, we recommend studying their coverage FAQs before deciding if the service is right for you.

How To Share Your Car With Turo

Is your car collecting dust? Turo claims that a car with a market value of $18,000 could earn an owner $5,781 over 15 days of sharing per month. Sure, that estimate is averaged over a year, but Turo says they have the data to back it up.

If that potential extra income caught your attention, here’s the three ways Turo lets you earn:

  • Local pickup: You can enjoy the convenience of renting your car right out of your own driveway.
  • Deliver your car: Or earn even more by meeting guests at nearby airports and other local locations.
  • Park and earn: Drivers willing to leave their car at San Francisco (SFO) and Los Angeles (LAX) airports for two weeks at a time can earn at least a guaranteed extra $425 a month.

How it works is fairly straightforward: You create a listing for your spare car, respond to requests, meet at your chosen location, then “kick back and earn.”

Of course, Turo’s claims of easy pocket cash sounds hunky dory. But, what happens if someone takes a wrong turn into Risky Business territory with your immaculately maintained pride and joy?

Turo offers car owners coverage with a $1 million insurance policy. This includes protection against physical damage up to your car’s actual cash value for collision and most “comprehensive” causes, including theft.

This is good, because most personal lines auto insurance companies specifically exclude livery and rentals from coverage. And, if they find out you’re regularly renting your car, it can be grounds for terminating your policy—a decision that could come back to haunt you when you’re shopping around for replacement coverage (most applications ask, “Has your coverage ever been canceled or declined for underwriting reasons?”).

Heck, Turo even offers you up to $30 a day should your car get into an accident while being rented out — plus the promise that they’ll be there to guide you every step of the way.

But, what about the legality of renting out your car? Some might find Turo’s answer less reassuring. Essentially, there’s no law against doing so, but this probably wouldn’t be a risk that most standard personal lines auto carriers would knowingly insure. Turo leaves the final liability resting on your shoulders.

What Are People Saying About Turo?

Turo has a little under 700 Yelp reviews from users in their two main hubs, San Francisco and Los Angeles. In both locations, Turo averages four out of five stars.

However, that isn’t to say that those who’ve used Turo don’t have their fair share of negative feedback. In fact, if you look at Turo’s Los Angeles reviews, it’s a wonder that they scraped above a single star, given that the first page is almost exclusively complaints.

Bad reviews almost exclusively revolve around poor experiences with Turo’s customer service. Here are some highlights:

  • Johnny R. (12/22/15): Owner states that his car was returned with damage and that Turo refused to cover repairs.
  • Paul K. (1/26/16) Renter states that he was charged for cleaning when it wasn’t needed and he was left with an overall impression that Turo squeezes pennies out at every opportunity.
  • Michael C. (11/18/2015) Renter states that he used Turo without a problem, but found his account put on hold afterward and couldn’t reach customer service for an answer — up to seven days later.

Those reviews aren’t cherry picked, either — they’re one after another on page one of Turo’s Los Angeles Yelp page.

Should You Use Turo For Car Sharing?

On one hand, Wired points out that the horror stories we used to associate with peer-to-peer sharing are becoming much less prevalent. “We now worry about Airbnb’s effect on real-estate markets, or whether Uber has undue influence over local governments.”

However, sharing a car comes with far more liabilities than renting out a spare apartment!

While Turo’s concept sounds great, reviews give a solid impression that they have a few more kinks to iron out before providing a desirable service.

For owners considering sharing, realize that it’s not just the market value of your vehicle that you’re putting on the line. Despite their catchy messaging and fun-for-all attitude, it appears that they skirt over some of the more serious legal ramifications of sharing your car.

What if the driver seriously injures or, heaven forbid, kills someone in an accident? What if they drive drunk? A 1 million policy doesn’t begin to cover some of those worst-case scenarios, and Turo’s it’s-up-to-you attitude regarding legalities isn’t very reassuring.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Customer Reviews for Turo

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 29
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • Stolen car, Turo doesn't care, don't expect a call back

    Man, this is a long story, but I am going to try and cut corners for you and leave in the important information as much as possible.

    On September 16th, 2016 I rented my car out to a lady. She said that she wanted to use it for her daughter's 16th birthday. I drive a 2015 red 370Z. The lady only needed it for one day, but I'm telling you right now she only needs five minutes after she takes your keys! She had no intentions of bringing back the car.

    Turo does a HORRIBLE screening process on the people that they bring into the market (again, TURO doesn't give a "you know what" who comes in, they just want the business aka MONEY) and deny as many claims as they can. Why? Because they CAN! TURO is just as bad as the people who steal your car, 1 million dollars worth of coverage is an illusion!

    The lady had a stolen ID and a stolen phone number, which I will explain later why it's stolen. I don't know about the credit card for certain, but I'm sure that was stolen as well! Who knows. Turo doesn't want to tell you because it makes them look like they don't know what they're doing!

    To continue my story, the lady never came back the next day, and Turo said to wait it out until the next day. Easy for you to say! Guess what, she didn't come back the next day. When Turo calls me to talk to me about the situation, they say it's all MY fault that I didn't verify her ID properly. I'm talking about "David" from Turo, don't expect him to contact you unless it's convenient for him. You have to send a demand letter to the person who has taken your care at the time because you handed your keys over to the client.

    This story is about to get toasty. The house on the address is being renovated, and nobody lives there at the moment. Some rich dude is building his dream home. Guess how long it's going to take me to get a demand letter back, come on guess. Takes FOREVER since no one can reply right? I think I got a return receipt from them around the end of October.

    But WAIT! The story doesn't end because now you have to give that receipt to the police officer (detective) and I'm telling you right now, he doesn't give two "you know what" either. These guys get tons of reports for stolen cars on a DAILY basis. They filed my report and made me do a lineup which had seven pictures, including five Hispanic/Indian looking people and two white looking people. I went for the two white looking folks because the lady looked white to me. She was some country white trash that likes to steal cars because she is a bum up in life and can't work for a living.

    The two white girls in the photo lineup didn't match the person who stole my car. I'll tell you why! The detective told me that he pulled up the lady who stole my car through the phone number that she was using, and this means only one thing, she had a stolen phone number, because no one in the photo lineup was her.

    This story only gets worse. Guess what Turo had to say about this, LOL, I'm sorry, I mean Michael, who represents Turo. He didn't bother explaining his position in the company, but I'm guessing he represents the "I don't give a (you know what) community. Let me explain myself because I didn't throw that out of anywhere, I promise. Michael told me "I don't really know your situation here, but based on what I got, this claim is denied." He didn't even bother to explain himself right away, I had to dig it out of him. He told me that I didn't verify the ID and I didn't select anybody in the photo lineup with the detective.

    I know what's going through your mind because it's the same thing going through mine. He obviously doesn't give a "you know what" about me. He told me the ID he has is blurry! I sent him another one because the one I have is not blurry. How in the hell do you think I sent the "demand letter" with a blurry ID? It's impossible. They didn't care to ask me if I had a clear picture because they don't care. It's not convenient for them to ask! Remember that.

    Now, what about the lineup? Are you kidding me right now, they probably think I'm defending this lady by covering her up and not choosing the right photo. That's pretty much the vibe I got from Michael. Why in the hell would I protect that scumbag? Use your brain! Michael represents Turo, he doesn't represent you. No one is on your side on the Turo team. Remember that. A lawyer is the only person that will defend you in any claim against Turo. Michael asked me to email him on how I verified ID because apparently, they have a step by step way of doing it. They don't make that clear in the beginning because they want you to make a mistake, so that they don't claim any issues with your car. Again, it's not CONVENIENT for them to do so! Remember that.

    They expect you to know everything about this business because you're stepping into it. Turo sells themselves as an easy app to use and that almost anyone can use it to make extra money. That's the vibe I got from it, and I'm pretty sure they expect everyone to think like that. I have some advice for the people who are already using Turo and the people about to use Turo. It's more like a rule in life, don't rent out your personal vehicle to STRANGERS. The money is not worth it. I promise you that.

    I wish I never did business with Turo. I wish I could take it all back but I can't, it's too late. I can only warn you not to do it. Michael told me he would get back with me in a few days. That was on December 7th or 8th. It's December 29th, and I sent numerous emails and calls to him, so he can't say I didn't follow up. I'm in the process of hiring a lawyer to get this straightened out. Let's say the worst scenario happens and I can't get a dime from Turo. My credit score will be screwed for seven years. I would file my situation with the bank, and they will send it to the collections department, and my credit score will drop. It is hard to do anything in America with a bad credit score. Just imagine all the extra fees I will have to go through for the next seven years!!

    I'm sorry for my grammar above. I'm pretty sure some of my sentences don't make sense, but I don't have a lot of time during the day to do anything because of work. I need you to ask yourself something right now. Do you think Turo is worth the extra cash?

    My name is Marcelo Palomo. I graduated from the University of Texas in Dallas. I can't put my email address on here but that's enough for you to find me. Contact me if you have any questions because I'm pretty sure I left some stuff out on accident. I can't cuss in this review!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not use

    • Chicago,
    • Jan 8, 2017

    While I was renting, someone bumped into the rental vehicle while it was parked. The front of the license plate frame cracked, but there was no body damage.

    I offered to pay for this myself, which the owner politely declined, and said they'd take care of it, as it was about the 12th time I had rented from them with no issues. However, I come home to find that the owner reported the "damage" to Turo.

    Turo then charged me $150 just to ESTIMATE the cost of the license plate frame, and on top of that, the "independent" estimator found a scratch (not a dent, a one INCH scratch) on the front bumper, so they charged me another $400 for a BRAND new front grille and license plate frame.

    Do NOT, under any circumstances, use this service. You may become liable for costs that you are in no way responsible for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very unprofessional

    All I questioned was how do your company deny someone to rent a car when you don't ask for enough information. I was denied. I'm not arguing that, all I want to know is why. And this is the nasty response I got back. You can't speak to a live rep unless you are going through an accident or need roadside assistance. Everything else has to be done by online reps, which is the craziest thing ever. I'm not upset that I was denied, I'm more upset that they couldn't give me a response when I asked and for the response I got back. I tried to attach a photo so you wouldn't think I wrote or changed anything but I cannot in here but I do have it saved. Below is how this company has unprofessional people working for them. All they every asked for was my name address and DL#, which I had over 15 years with no tickets on my license. So what did you go by to deny me?

    Turo Membership Declined

    Hi Marquita,

    Thanks for your interest in Turo. We have reviewed the information you provided us, and we’re sorry to say we can’t approve you to rent from the Turo marketplace. While we’d love to welcome everyone to the Turo community, we need to make sure all car owners and travelers who use Turo meet certain requirements to keep the marketplace running safely and smoothly.

    We wish you the best of luck in finding a car rental, and suggest that you may want to use one of the more traditional car rental companies. We're sorry, again, that we can’t approve you to rent from Turo.

    Best,

    Turo Verification Team

    My response:

    What was the reason, how do you approve someone without asking any questions or running anything background.

    Their response:

    Hello Marquita,

    This final decision has been carefully reviewed. We are not obligated to release the details of these decisions.

    Please note that further communications from you will be read, but not responded to.

    Best Regards,

    Turo Verification Team

    My response:

    No problem it was just a question, I don't know any real business that makes decisions when you don't ask enough questions, and then when a customer has questions you respond with you will not respond back. I will be giving a bad review on how unprofessional your company is. I also will post your remarks too. Thank you for the first response but you should've went back over training when you responded the second time. Have a blessed day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Turo has been a nightmare

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Dec 21, 2016

    I have had a terrible experience with Turo. After renting a car for the weekend last September, the owner accused me of leaving several small scratches. The documentation for this was very poor, and I believe they a swirl marks, which are common on cars with 100,000 + miles. It has been over 3 months and this claim is still not resolved. I highly recommend to STAY AWAY from Turo because there is an incentive for owners to submit scam claims to collect insurance money and the company is extremely slow in resolving issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst Company Ever

    Worst customer service and horrible company. Don't use them.

    My car was STOLEN using the app, it took Turo over a week to respond to my situation, NO CALLS, NO EMAILS NOTHING. I had to write a post on their Facebook page in order to get a response which was again, NOT HELPFUL. It's now been almost 6 weeks and nothing has been resolved. I called the police to report the car stolen (without TUROs HELP), again waiting for them to do something, anything, at all. They did NOT HELP or even call me back.

    The police found my car after 3 weeks, abandoned on the side of the road (warrant out for the thief), still no help from TURO. Now I'm trying to sell the car, and guess what? Any app I use to sell the car will not allow the car to be posted because it has been reported stolen. There are also damages on the car. Again, Turo has not helped at all. Seems they don't care about their customers and don't mind their reputation being ruined.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Crap service

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Dec 10, 2016

    I rented a car and at the end of the trip, the guy basically steals money from me. It was really weird, but I wasn't all that worried about it. I paid $800 for 2 weeks for a car. Instead of handling the problem or even just recording the information, I end up getting my account disabled! Strange.

    Got the run around saying I needed to send in all sorts of information, which I did, only to get no explanation why I can't be approved. This is B.S. service.

    I'd totally rather use Get Me Around World or a better car rental service since Turo has no idea how to keep their high paying customers. Would have spent thousands. I told a ton of people about the service who had never heard of it. All good things, now I'll make sure they know it's complete nonsense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    This company is a scam. I used to rent 4 cars thru them and everything was smooth until an accident happened - a few of them. For all of them, they turned the things around that they will not cover it, and on top of that would take them 2-3 weeks to determine this, while I am loosing revenue. I have over $4000 in damages that I had to pay out of my packet, TURO collected $500 deductible from each customer even though they did not pay the claim and I was still paying them insurance. This company is a scam with horrible customer service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scammed me out of my holiday trip

    • Miami, FL,
    • Dec 4, 2016

    Be very careful. I only wish I read these reviews before trying out this app for the first time. They took my money via instant booking. I was boarding my American Airlines flight from California expecting to have car ready to go upon arrival. All seemed well at first, the owner of the vehicle responded right away saying he would be on time to drop off the rental, etc.

    NOT what happened. AS soon as the flight lands I get an email saying Turo cancelled my trip and my money will be refunded in 5 business days, basically leaving me stranded and out several hundred dollars throughout my holiday trip. So much for surprising my family.

    But wait there's more, I get 2 emails from a guy named Joshua who seemed keen on helping resolve the matter, but after two return emails providing the verification he requested the conversation goes silent. I then try customer service phone number. The first girl I speak with asks me what the problem is, yet before I could even explain, puts me on a 25+ minute hold only to hang up mid hold.

    The next person I speak with, "John," informed me there were no managers around to assist with my issue and that his supervisor is too busy to speak with me. After pushing for someone to fix this headache and demanding some type of confirmation that I'm not being scammed, he transfers me to billing and I'm now greeted by a lady named Edie who basically says the same thing. "Sorry we took your money, no one can help, breaks my heart, best of luck." I inform her too that this can not be legal to have someone sign for your program, take their money, then tell them you are still verifying them so wait a couple days before we activate your "instant booking."

    After threatening to contact authorities I finally get to speak with a supervisor named "Brianna" who seemed like she wanted to help but basically reiterated the sentiment "Yea your screwed, happy holidays." I'm still at the airport as we speak typing this so please save yourselves the trouble and RUN.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Is Turo a scam?

    For 6 days I've been emailing information trying to register and open an Account with Turo. Each day I'd get another email requesting yet more information. I responded to each email providing the information required. Today I received an email telling me my unopened Account was closed!

    Is this a scam gathering personal information or a legit car rental service?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Nov 24, 2016

    I was scammed by a member of Turo. The member took my money, but never showed up. I contacted Turo and apparently the member contacted them before I did saying I was verbally abusive. It hard to be abusive if we don't talk. Turo wouldn't do anything for me but give me $80 of the $161 I paid. This service is a huge scam and there's no protection for the customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't take the risk of renting your car out.

    • Arizona,
    • Nov 6, 2016

    Renter passed on my BMW to an unauthorized driver.

    My BMW was finally returned with thousands worth of suspension damage, body panel damage, wheel damage, & cigarette smoke damage. Turo hasn't reimbursed me yet for all the damage done. I have my own garage and they won't cover any of the damage unless I fork out my own money to have my BMW towed to BMW for a diagnostic report.

    Meanwhile I have all the before and after pictures and videos & 100% proof of the damage caused by the previous renter.

    Furthermore, my coverage stated I would be reimbursed with a rental while my car is being repaired. Well my BMW was out of service for three weeks until I received all the parts to get it back at least be driving again.

    Nothing from Turo. In the past, I have had renters cause tens of thousands in damage without proper reimbursement. It is a horrible company to rent from it is a horrible company to rent your car to. I hope they go out of business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a review for Turo!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review