BarxBuddy Review: Does It Really Work?

By HighYa Editorial Team
Published on: Nov 18, 2019

The BarxBuddy Training Device is an ultrasonic dog whistle that intends to be your solution for a dog that barks too much.

The device uses two settings to grab your dog’s attention, making it more versatile than a simple dog whistle.

In our review of this device, we’ll talk about how it works, tell you how effective dog whistles really are, provide the device’s pricing and return policy, then give you our conclusion about this device’s effectiveness and value.

How to Use the BarxBuddy Training Device

This device is a handheld whistle that runs on a 9-volt battery. It has two settings on it: sound, and sound and light. To activate these settings, you’ll press an “On” button that will emit an ultrasonic sound or sound and light up to around 49 feet away.

The sound setting is intended to be the first step in your training. Whenever your dog barks, press the on button and the whistle will emit a sound you can’t hear but your dog can.

This sound grabs their attention and makes them stop whatever they’re doing, in theory. If they don’t respond to the sound alone, you can switch to sound and light and try again.

If your dog stops his or her barking, experts recommend giving them a treat to affirm the behavior. Continue to use the BarxBuddy until you sense your dog has changed their barking behavior.

This device is a welcomed relief if you’re a dog owner with a pup that barks incessantly. If you have young children who take naps, roommates or easily annoyed neighbors, barking becomes even more of a problem.

A device like this one gives you a simple way to train your dog not to bark when they shouldn’t bark.

You also get the added benefit of a sound/light combination that stubborner dogs may require.

In addition to this, an ultrasonic device doesn’t cause your dog any pain, making it a gentler alternative to spanking your dog or using a bark collar that shocks them.

Will BarxBuddy Actually Work? The Science Behind Dog Whistles and How to Use Them

To understand how you can effectively use a whistle like BarxBuddy to bark train your pup, we reached out to Russell Hartstein, a certified dog behaviorist and owner of L.A.-based Fun Paw Care.

He sees three clear advantages to dog whistles as compared to using your voice or a clicking device to train your dog:

  • Humans can’t hear them
  • Higher frequencies can, at times, travel farther than other sounds
  • Dog whistles have a distinct sound

So, if you decide to use BarxBuddy, you have the assurance that it won’t disturb sleeping children or grouchy neighbors, you have more range than if you were using your voice or a clicker, and your dog won’t be confused by what the sound means.

However, using a dog whistle isn’t simply about the advantages. You can’t expect to take your BarxBuddy home, turn it on and stop your dog from barking.

“A whistle by itself is irrelevant,” Hartstein said. “It’s how it’s used, the methodology and whether or not the whistle actually emits the right sound. And, it’s a matter of if the end-user is skilled enough to use the whistle and not harm the dog.”

Training your dog not to bark is more than simply activating a whistle when he or she barks. You need to identify the situation that causes the dog to bark. Then, when that situation arises, activate the whistle and reward your dog with a treat if he or she doesn’t bark.

It goes deeper than this, too, Hartstein told us. If your dog barks whenever someone comes to the front door, then you need to implement proximity training. Start by having someone stand far enough away from the door so that your dog doesn’t bark. Use the whistle, then give them a treat (snack, belly rub, etc.).

Then, tell the person to come slightly closer to the door and repeat: whistle and treat.

Continue to do this until the person at the door can walk up and knock without causing barking. At this point, Hartstein said, your dog associates someone coming to the door with something good happening to them.

What makes a dog-whistle purchase more involved than you may think is not just the structure and consistency you need to use it well, but the commitment to rewarding your dog in the future when they don’t bark.

For this reason, BarxBuddy’s dog whistle won’t be worth the investment for most people.

“How many parents will train their dogs appropriately and efficaciously? The answer is: pretty low,” Hartstein said.

Pricing and Return Policy

You have four purchase options ranging from $39.95 for one device to $114.95 for four devices. Shipping is free and will take three to five days to arrive at your home via USPS.

BarxBuddy gives you a 30-day, money-back guarantee for your purchase. The fine print says you’ll need to call the company at (213) 337-8656 or email them at support@barxbuddy.com to initiate the return process.

The address to which you’ll send your return is: P.O. Box 521717, Phoenix, AZ, 85072-2171.

The Bottom Line: Is BarxBuddy the Right Choice to Bark Train Your Dog?

Because training your dog not to bark requires more than just a cue like a dog whistle that implements a light, too, the BarxBuddy offers no real advantage over other whistles.

In fact, the BarxBuddy is considerably more expensive than the top-rated dog whistles on pet marketplace Chewy.com.

Achieving success in training your dog not to bark isn’t a matter of finding the best whistle, either. It’s about devoting your time to systematically and methodically training your dog to see a bark trigger (mailman, trash truck, etc.) as a sign of good things to come rather than something to be afraid of or nervous about.

If you don’t have the time for a structured training program, buying the BarxBuddy Training Device or any other dog whistle will be irrelevant. Simply blowing your whistle when your dog barks won’t solve his or her barking issues, Hartstein said.

Should you realize that you don’t have the time to bark train your dog, Hartstein recommends finding a dog behaviorist to help you. A good source of local certified behaviorists, he said, is the International Association of Animal Behavior Consultants. Other reputable certifications include Fear-Free Certified and Pet Protection Guild membership.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of BarxBuddy:
  • 85 Customer Reviews
  • 66% Recommend This Product
3.5 out of 5
5 star: 49% 4 star: 10% 3 star: 8% 2 star: 5% 1 star: 25%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Does not work!

    • By Don M.,
    • Denton, TX,
    • Oct 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    When I use it my dog comes to and sticks his nose against it. Does not stop barking or change anything she does. The only use is to use the laser light to make my cat chase it around the floor. Do not buy this!

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Does't work

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Whistle didn't work and I had to pay shipping both ways

    • By Lynn M.,
    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Oct 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The light feature comes on constantly but the whistle either didn't work at all or had no effect on my dogs. I have had 10 dogs in the last 20 years, with 4 currently, and have always had products like this work. Needed a new one and saw this. Easy to return and customer service was very nice, however, I am responsible for shipping both ways ($16 total). Not worth it for an item that may be broken. Will not recommend.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to hold
    • Arrived quickly
    • Easy to contact customer service and Andres was very pleasant
    • Product was defective, only lights worked
    • My responsibility to pay shipping both ways for a defective item
    • No offer to replace with another, so no responsibility by the company for their product

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's a miracle!

    • By Terry K.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Aug 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have an 8-month-old terrier/hound mix who barks at everything - people in the hallway of the building, dogs barking (outside, inside, on the TV), any animal appearing on the TV (he watches TV intently) - real, cartoon, painting, etc. He went on a barking binge yesterday over a picture of a cartoon dog on a van. Received the package, opened it up, put in the battery, and when some dogs appeared on the TV, hit the button and he stopped in mid-bark! I did not expect it to work that well. For the rest of the day, every time something sent him into a barking frenzy, hit the button and poof - barking stopped. I don't know how, but it works like magic! HIGHLY recommend.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Stopped him in mid bark while my other dog was unaffected
    • Instant results, still cannot believe it
    • Easy and small; it is in my pocket at the ready
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Poor

    • By Tim J.,
    • Grand Terrace, CA,
    • Jul 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased one of these a while back. It didn't work at all on my french bulldog. Whenever I would go to get it when she was barking a lot, she would see those lights and trigger her wanting to play.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • It didn't work

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cat vs. dog

    • By Susan Z.,
    • Gilbertsville, PA,
    • Jul 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Didn't work on my Cavapoo - in fact, it caused her to bark even more (non-stop); however, ironically, it does deter our two cats from fighting. Go figure!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Stops our 2 cats from fighting
    • Had no positive effect on my dog
    • Caused increased barking

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Did not work

    • By Fiona R.,
    • Perth, Western Australia, Australia,
    • Jun 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    So I ordered, took a while to come. No instructions in the box. Battery hard to install as connectors tucked away back to front so had to twist them around without disconnecting wires behind. Either I have a dud one or it’s useless. Doesn’t do anything. Have two dogs who bark a lot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It worked for us.

    • By Debbie K.,
    • Olympia, WA,
    • Jun 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I always thought these types of devices were a joke. I have a 3-year-old Pomeranian who loves to alert me when anything is out of order, she would bark non-stop when we had visitors and telling her "NO BARK" sternly was not working. So, one evening I saw an ad for BarxBuddy and it was something like 50% off and free shipping - I thought what the heck, can't hurt to try it. I was amazed, within a week she no longer barks at people or anything else. Now all I have to do is let her see it and she won't bark. My brother-in-law was surprised at the transformation and ask for info on BarxBuddy to give to a friend. The downside, she doesn't bark now to tell me when someone is here. Love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worthless

    • By William M.,
    • Roswell, GA,
    • Jun 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Does not work. Two emails and one phone call for refund ignored. Cheaply made. Battery connections do not fit the battery. Never again. Unknowledgeable customer service. Under consumer law the product is supposed to do that what it is advertised to do. I would add more to satisfy your need for characters but I have said it all.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Bad customer service
    • Inferior product
    • Inferior product
    • Will not refund
    • Cheap

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Is BarxBuddy a hoax?

    • By Peter H.,
    • Cairns, Queensland, Australia,
    • Jun 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Placed an order through the Australian website on the 3rd of June 2020. Did not receive a confirmation email but not sure if the email address was on order as auto-filled my info. Tried to email the USA email address. Email immediately rejected. Tried to email Australian email, rejected a day later. Tried to email again after that and a day later again that third email rejected. Credit card debited considerably more than price however when I contacted credit card provider they suggested that the price was likely to be in USA dollars not Australian dollars. Terms and conditions on the website indicate no responsibility for the company for anything. I am now suspecting a fraudulent website and that our money has been lost.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Web advertising indicates item is great
    • Failure to provide company working email contact details
    • Failure to provide order confirmation
    • Does not indicate USA price on Australian website
    • Failure to respond in 24 hours as promised on website

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Yes, it works!

    • By Judie M.,
    • Limerick, PA,
    • Jun 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I haven't even had the BarxBuddy a week yet, but the results right from the beginning have been incredible! My dog isn't really even a barker, but she needed to learn not to jump and push, when to drop what she shouldn't have, and other bad behaviors. She responded instantly. She is becoming an angel and she isn't being harmed in any way. I think she loves me more now! And I her.

    Pros and Cons:

    • It is what they say it is
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • A total waste of money, does not work for our Charlie

    • By Maggie J.,
    • Tasmania, Australia,
    • Jun 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Our Cavalier King Charles totally ignored this device. He will look at the red light but still barks. A waste of money in my opinion. Just wish one could get what they pay for and it actually works.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Item was not successful for us

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 85

Write a Review for BarxBuddy!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
BarxBuddy