Brainly Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Brainly

Overall Rating

1.9

26 Customer Reviews

Summary

Brainly is an online collaborative learning community that claims to crowdsource knowledge and help students find answers to their homework problems. Learn how users are rating Brainly.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.9 Stars out of 26 Reviews
5 Star:3% 4 Star:7% 3 Star:19% 2 Star:15% 1 Star:53%
31% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Brainly:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 26, 2021

Accounts and questions

By Bee N., Somewherevillle, Verified Reviewer

This site has been up for so long it already has almost any question you can think of if it's school-related. So I can still use it even if I can't ask my own questions. I can't ask my own questions because when I try logging in it just says "we’re sorry, but we are not able to complete your registration at this time." But my internet is amazing and I have tried closing the tab, restarting the laptop, etc, etc. Soon I'm going to try logging in with my iPad. But I wouldn't be too surprised if that doesn't work either.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

How many questions are already on there

How there are basically none without answers

How easy it is to use

Can't make account

Can't ask questions

Can't answer questions

Posted on Jan 26, 2021

Very frustrating

By Danny R., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I’ve paid for it on my phone and I logged in on my computer and it says I need to pay to be on Brainly plus. Very disappointed with that.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Brainly, Inc.

Jan 26, 2021

Hello,

Thank you for your review. Please write an email to susbcriptions@brainly.com and our support team will help you with your subscription.

Brainly Team

Posted on Dec 3, 2020

Why give the option?

By Makala K., Nowhere, Verified Reviewer

At the beginning of my time on Brainly, everything was perfectly fine. I got the help I needed for my answers, I didn't have to watch ads for that help, etc.

Since they started shoving Brainly Plus down our throats, my questions and answers have been limited. After supposedly reaching my limit, I clicked on a button that would allow for me to watch an ad to view the answer that I needed. After clicking this though, and watching a thirty-second ad, I was greeted with no exit button and, once again, Brainly Plus popping up instead.

Why give the option to watch an advertisement if you're going to try and force us to purchase your pricy Plus feature? An absolute scam.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The ads

The scamming

Adding useless features

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 18, 2020

Cancel subscription

By Simranjeet S., Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I had tried a lot to cancel my subscription but was not able to get any option for it. It is a waste of time to email them, they don't even reply back the email. Can anybody help me in canceling my subscription as they charged me $24 for 1-year subscription?

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 22, 2020

Can't sign up

By Jovon M., Spring Hill, FL, Verified Reviewer

Every single time I run out of free uses I go to get an account and it never works, and even when I haven't used them I still cannot. I don't know if it's because of my computer or the servers but can you please fix it.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The fact that you can get any answers you need

I cannot sign up

Only limited free tries

Company Response from Brainly, Inc.

Sep 23, 2020

Hi Javon,

Send us an email to subscriptions@brainly.com so that our support team can help you with this matter.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 2, 2020

Trash learning app

By La'deismand J., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I'm 14 but if you claim to want to help us with all those ads then stop making us have to pay to help each other. While you're at it, just because we are teens doesn't mean you have to be a stereotyping and thinking we need all these ads about vaping.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It gave 1 answer free

It gave another answer free

It gave one more answer free

It was annoying

You have to pay for stuff

Ads

Company Response from Brainly, Inc.

Sep 2, 2020

Hello!

We’re sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience on Brainly with our advertisements, and appreciate your feedback on our subscription offering.

Our Brainly Plus subscription gives students unlimited access to all content including the Verified Answers, which have been vetted by Brainly's content experts, as well as access to an ad-free experience.

But, we do want to let you know that this optional to purchase as all questions, answers, and other features are still accessible for free.

We understand that this is not available to everyone, but encourage you to become more involved in our Brainly community by making positive contributions to it and perhaps answer a few questions from other students on your account and see what effect that has on your features.

Please let us know if you have any additional questions by contacting us at community@brainly.com.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 26, 2020

Terrible service, terrible quality.

By Seth C., McCrory, AR, Verified Reviewer

Hello there. Now, to say Brainly is not a very good website is like joining an already massive crowd, although I can list several reasons why my experience on Brainly wasn't enjoyable. To begin; Brainly now charges users for a subscription of Brainly Plus, you may ask, what is Brainly Plus? It's a subscription that allows you to see the answers on your question without having to watch an advertisement (which is usually OF Brainly Plus). Brainly Plus' primary problem is that it didn't work a lot of the time, some users (such as myself) have experienced errors such as answers still being blurred out, account not working, still charging after canceling, etc. The free trial is no better, you are required to type in your credit card information and when the free trial begins, more often than not, you're locked in, you still have to pay a subscription fee even if you've already canceled. In my personal opinion, Brainly has no right to charge people for information that they don't provide, unless they're giving that revenue back to the content creators.

Another problem with Brainly is the moderators, who will report users' questions for things such as: posting links, setting an Algebra question as "Algebra" and many other things. I personally believe that this is both in violation of common decency (and probably a term of service as a moderator) and in a promise of good moderation (which a lot of Brainly's bot-reviews say the moderation is). On top of all this, questions are rarely if ever answered, and usually in 3 days to a week. Answers usually contain incorrect answers, no work, or improper explanations. Above all else, in my opinion, I think Brainly is not a very efficient choice for getting past your tests unless you have enough time and money to throw at the website. I personally recommend you find different websites. I wish you all good luck out there, and if you're reading this, have a nice day!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Brainly, Inc.

Apr 1, 2020

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience on Brainly :(

We want to improve, so your feedback will be shared with the rest of the Brainly Team!

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 12, 2019

What the heck

By Jadzia G., Verified Reviewer

I can't make an account, what the heck! This is all it says "We’re sorry, but we are not able to complete your registration at this time." I've tried like a hundred times, when can I get in!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 19, 2019

It's a scam.

By Liam M., Florida, Verified Reviewer

This is an app that doesn't allow you access unless you pay for their subscription and give them money. While the cost is ludicrous, this would not normally be an issue as there are always people willing to pay for a service such as this.

However, this is a website that is primarily used by students, including children. Their entire ad platform is designed to convince you to pay for the subscription; if you don't provide credit card information, it assumes you just don't have one, and tells you that your parents can use theirs.

As for the final result, assuming you pay for it, it's a completely terrible app with not a professional insight. As this site is used by children, with unhelpful moderators that also don't know the material, this app only serves to obstruct real learning. Garbage on a gilded pedestal, locked behind a steep paywall.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 10, 2019

They scammed me

By Aisha H., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I cancel my free trial for Brainly Plus and they charged me for it. They never respond to the emails, and once I had canceled the Brainly Plus subscription that I was charged $24 was taken away when it had said that I had access for a year. Brainly is a scam and don't give them your credit card info unless you want a problem with them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 23, 2019

Greedy

By Marli C., No, Verified Reviewer

For the couple of months I've been doing online school, Brainly at first was helpful. It would give me three free answers for three different questions, and after that, I could watch ads to get more help. Now, it gives one answer and completely blocks me from seeing the problems worked out, let alone the ads. I'm really ticked off. This was the only website I could find the questions on and it was quite reliable with the help, but now it's complete garbage. They expect students to actually pay money? Nah.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 13, 2019

This app/website is not very helpful

By Aubrey C., Bryant, AR, Verified Reviewer

I use this app to help me with some of my school work and sometimes it is great to use, but the questions I have asked have either been ignored and deleted because there was no answer for it, or people spam the answer box just to get the points and I don't think it's right or fair! Also, there are some really rude people on this app/website.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 17, 2018

I will just explain why Brainly is not that helpful for others and you.

By Jacob T., Hemet, CA, Verified Reviewer

Brainly has not been the best experience for me because you may not get rid of people sending you notifications and sometimes you are not able to answer some questions. It is not the best app, and I prefer Quoro.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 19, 2018

BS answers

By C G., California, Verified Reviewer

I'm an answerer on Brainly! And, I'm probably one of the smartest minors on there. Yes, Brainly is awful when it comes to getting your questions answered. If you want help from someone that ISN'T a blind guess, good luck! You will not be finding it here.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on May 1, 2018

Reporting is dumb on here

By Leo Hernandez, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I got reported for having links on it when there are THOUSANDS of other people who also had links. And they delete my question, and it's not true that 80 percent of questions get answered, I believe it's 80 percent of them don't. I see so many of them not being answered. Overall, it is very bad and unfair, which might explain why it's free.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 18, 2018

People on here are not smart at all. They be giving you the wrong answers all the time. And I just stopped using the app. Such a let down.

By Ms Jayy Flynn, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I stopped using this app because people don't know how to answer a question right. So please update your app! And make sure that the people know their stuff. I'm in high school, and I used this app to help me with my homework. And I post a question, and I just want the right answer that's all. Heck, school is hard enough; I just wanted some help. Thank you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2018

Pretty funky and buggy

By Shukant Pal, Uttar Pradesh, India, Verified Reviewer

This site is very unprofessional. There is no concept of text formatting or even previewing your answer, especially while using math symbols. I tried to answer many questions, but in the end, I find that the answers are totally absurd because of the improper math. There isn't even an option to edit the answer. I really started hating the featureless site and decided to delete my account.

Also, most questions are improperly asked. I think this site is a waste of time for smart/brilliant students.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 13, 2018

Bad

By Bella Donato, Yuma, AZ, Verified Reviewer

My review on Brainly is bad because not only do they delete your questions, they report people who are literally asking questions like I've been reported 40 times already, and Brainly literally sucks. Why? Because I've tried ten times to write a question but Brainly thinks it contains inappropriate language when it doesn't.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2017

The website went downhill

By Michael Dallmeyer, York, PA, Verified Reviewer

Okay first off, OpenStudy came out first. That existed and annoyed people because it was very buggy, but people liked using it and sometimes wasted their money on it as well. Then about 5 years later (this year) the guys decided to close it and make Brainly, the huge new thing. I hated that because it cost points to ask a question that rarely got answered, and even if they did, sometimes it was wrong or not helpful at all. I got used to it, and I was fine until now.

They decided to add subscriptions for, wait for it, $15 a month. Overkill; it made Brainly just like all the other websites. The problem with subscriptions is you can't view "verified" answers. Verified answers are normally 100% right, however, there is a 5% chance of them being wrong. That's pretty much all, it's good unless the help you're looking for is verified, unless you want to waste 15 bucks a month.

Don't use Brainly; Peeranswer.com works just as well.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 30, 2017

Money

By Fallon Moore, Rincon, GA, Verified Reviewer

When I first started using Brainly, I loved it because I could get help with my homework for FREE. Recently, when I went back to school and came here looking for help, it said I had to pay to see verified answers. As someone who can barely afford their own medications, this made me both sad and angry. I thought I could get help for free, but apparently, I can't because I can't afford to pay $14 a month for a website I barely use. This is extremely unfair to us sad, money-less people.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 15, 2017

Run by teens

By Amanda Brittain, Florida, Verified Reviewer

My daughter wasted most of her summer trying to become a moderator. In return, she was excited to get volunteer hours to up her chances at scholarships. Little did we know that she would be managed by a bunch of teenagers looking for reasons to hand out warning points just because. One child she was reporting to is 13, which isn't even old enough to be on Brainly as a moderator. This is a horribly run company run by children.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 12, 2017

Amazing!

By Cher Stoup, San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I'm a moderator on Brainly, I have been for about three years, and I love it. Even before being a moderator, when I was just a regular user, I loved it. Everyone was super helpful, and I got answers super quick! I would definitely recommend this to friends that are either excelling in school or failing. It helps both.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 14, 2017

Good, but not too good.

By Nevaeh, Glendale, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Brainly is a "sit where you can ask and answer questions," although you can earn points, and without at least 10 points, you can no longer ask a question.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 31, 2017

Report options and answer count

By Kiyo, Stockton, CA, Verified Reviewer

I do like Brainly; it has helped me with many of my assignments. But there are some things that annoyed/bothered me while I try to help others. It would be better if there could be four answers on a question, instead of two.

The report button options for comments (replying to answers) should have an "incorrect answer" option. Because some people put the answers in the comments, hence there can only be two answers.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2017

Why did Brainly do this!

By Autumn Sullivan, Lennox, South Dakota, Verified Reviewer

I loved it until they deleted my account and would not register me in again! I love this site and they need to give me my account back.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 4, 2016

Unbelievable

By Rokaya, UK, Verified Reviewer

This is my 5th account in Brainly. After an argument on the chat with another person (she was asking me personal questions), I got removed, but not her. All I said was "stop it" and "don't ask me that". My other accounts were removed for no reason, as usual. My brother has it and is talking to the leader of the website, asking why and what happened. Even after all of this, it can be a very good site for homework, helping, but that is a very rare chance, because many people go on it just to cause DRAMA.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted
Showing 1-26 of 26

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.