Carvana Review: How It Works, Warranty, Financing, Returns

By Zina Kumok
Updated on: Feb 11, 2020

What Is Carvana?

Carvana is one of those ideas that sounds truly futuristic. If the writers of Back to the Future wanted to show Marty McFly buying a car in 2020, they probably would have cooked up something like this.

But like early touch screen devices that barely worked and cheap Bluetooth speakers that never seem to connect, “futuristic” doesn’t always mean “better.” So how exactly does Carvana work, and how does it stack up against the traditional car-buying process?

How It Works

The idea behind Carvana is relatively simple: you see a car, buy it, and receive it. Customers scroll through a selection of vehicles on a phone, choose the one they want, pay for it and choose a pickup option. They can either opt for home delivery or go to one of Carvana’s giant “vending machines”.

The main difference between Carvana and the traditional car-buying process is that you don’t have to go to a dealership and spend hours talking to a salesperson. There’s no negotiating, and most of the important steps happen online.

HighYa staff member J.R. Duren recently used Carvana to buy a car. He said Carvana had reasonable prices, and it was a much easier transaction than going to a dealership.

Car Selection

Like other major car-buying sites, Carvana has a wide selection ranging from the classic Toyota Camry to the impressive Tesla Model X. One significant difference between a car dealership and Carvana is that the latter doesn’t stock new cars. There are many lightly-used vehicles with a few hundred miles or so, but you can’t find a brand new car with only a handful of test-driving miles.

Carvana has gas, hybrid and electric models. Their search system includes filters such as total price, monthly payment, year, mileage, body type, engine and drivetrain.

Additional filters include features like:

  • Rear view camera
  • Blind spot sensors
  • Park assist
  • Keyless ignition
  • Leather interior

When you search for a car, Carvana will ask for your location. Some cars won’t be available near you and will have to be delivered. There may be a delivery fee associated with this. Some cars are available at a vending machine, so you can drive to pick it up without paying a delivery fee.

Because consumers have to pick a car without looking at it in person, Carvana offers a 360-degree view of both the car’s exterior and interior, as well as photos of imperfections such as scratches and dings. Every car that the company sells is accident-free and has gone through a 150-point inspection.

Cost and Financing

Carvana has its own financing department, so you can buy a car and get an auto loan at the same time. Potential customers can pre-qualify to see their interest rate before looking for a vehicle. This only counts as a soft inquiry on a credit report and won’t damage their credit score.

To pre-qualify, Carvana will ask for your name, date of birth, address and annual income. Then you’ll have to provide an email address and password to create an account. By signing up for an account, you agree to receive texts or phone calls from Carvana reps and their financing subsidiaries. Unlike traditional car dealerships, they don’t seem to be overly aggressive in reaching out.

You’ll get an email when the qualification terms are available, which can be found in your account settings under “Financing.” Terms will include the interest rate range, minimum down payment, and maximum loan term. There’s no basic range of interest rates on the Carvana website, so your best bet is to get pre-qualified.

Pre-qualifying may be useful as a baseline to compare to other banks, credit unions, and lenders. You can use the Carvana information to negotiate interest rates with other lenders.

Carvana has no credit score requirement for borrowers, but there is a minimum annual salary of $10,000. They claim to work with all types of credit scores, except for borrowers with bankruptcies on their records.

Carvana does not allow co-signers on auto loans that it initiates. If you use a third-party lender on a Carvana car, you may have a co-signer for that.

If you’re interested in buying a car and want to use outside financing, Carvana recommends that you already be pre-approved or fully approved before choosing a vehicle. They’ll ask for the lender’s information when you select a car, so you’ll need to know how much you were approved for.

What sets Carvana apart is the fixed price on every car. There’s no haggling or going back and forth with a shady salesman. This is a huge advantage for people who hate negotiating, but it’s a drawback for those who love the thrill of getting a good deal.

Trade-Ins

Like most car dealerships, Carvana accepts trade-ins and applies that value toward the final price. Even if you’re not buying a car, you can still sell your vehicle to Carvana.

First, you’ll input some basic information about the car and get a quote. Like their car-buying process, Carvana does not allow customers to negotiate the trade-in value. If they say your car is worth $2,000, you’ll only get $2,000.

To sell a trade-in, you must live within a local delivery zone. You can find a list of Carvana's locations here.

If you live outside of a local delivery zone, you won’t be eligible to trade your car in. Carvana outsources its long-distance deliveries to a third-party which is not authorized to pick up your vehicle, so all trade-ins must be local. Your only other option is to sell it on Craigslist or at a local dealership.

If you trade in your old car and change your mind about the vehicle purchased through Carvana, you can get the old one back within the seven-day return policy window.

If you have a current loan on a trade-in vehicle, you could run into trouble if the amount you’re getting from Carvana is less than the remaining balance. This is known as being underwater on your loan. You’ll have to pay off the remainder before trading the car in. Paying off your loan may be similar to what most dealerships would require.

Warranty

Carvana offers a complimentary warranty that’s good for 100 days or 4,189 miles, whichever comes first. This warranty includes roadside assistance and covers basic and powertrain parts. A small copay is due when opening a warranty claim.

The Carvana warranty is much lower than what you can find if you’re buying directly from a dealership, especially on a certified pre-owned vehicle. This is one of the major downsides to the service. Customers can purchase an extended warranty directly from Carvana, as well as gap insurance coverage.

Pick Up and Delivery

Carvana provides free delivery for customers who live in one of Carvana’s local markets, which are located in more than 25 states. Carvana is located all across the country from California to Massachusetts.

They’re also willing to meet in the middle if you live near one of their local markets, but you have to call them directly to arrange this service. It’s not clear from the website how far you would have to travel to pick up the car.

If you can’t meet them halfway, you can also choose to have the car delivered. The delivery fee varies, but is generally between $199 and $1,000 depending on where you live and where the car is coming from.

A third option is to buy a one-way plane ticket to a city with a Carvana vending machine, pick up the car and drive it back. Carvana will reimburse up to $200 for the flight and transport you from the airport to the vending machine. The reimbursement will be sent via check after the seven-day return policy window has closed.

Another major Carvana perk is that they take care of registering the car for you, as long as your state allows it. This can save the buyer a lot of time and hassle, especially if their local DMV branch is poorly-run.

Returning Your Vehicle

Carvana’s return policy allows customers to return a car within seven days. Any down payment will be refunded, but the delivery fee is always non-refundable.

Customers may drive up to 400 miles within the seven-day period, after which they’ll be charged $1 per mile. Carvana won’t accept a vehicle if it’s been modified, damaged, or changed in any way. Any accidents will also negate the return policy.

Shoppers can return the car and exchange it for another, which will also come with a seven-day return policy. Carvana allows customers to return a car up to three times, but the third vehicle will not come with a return policy.

The Bottom Line

Carvana’s appeal is simple: you can buy a car without talking to a salesperson. Anyone who doesn’t have hours to spend at the dealership or who feels uncomfortable talking to salesmen may prefer this remote car-buying experience.

It’s wise to get your own financing offers at a bank or credit union instead of blindly accepting Carvana’s terms. You never know what kind of interest rate a different lender may offer, and the difference could save you hundreds.

If you’re the type of person who loves negotiating and doesn’t mind spending hours shopping for a better price, you’re likely to get a lower price by looking at local dealerships and making them compete for your business.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Carvana:
  • 510 Customer Reviews
  • 28% Recommend This Company
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 11% 1 star: 57%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Cannot trust

    • By Michael,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It started out great; easy platform, friendly advocates. Until the car was a lemon. I did the fly and drive from Tennesse to Michigan. Pickup went well. The car had an oil consumption issue not showing on the inspection or Carfax. After dealer testing suggestion is a $5,000 repair. I paid $13k and wanted to swap out a car. Carvana agreed but said they would only give me $9,000 or $4,000 less than I paid them a few days earlier.

    Essentially they sold me a car with a bad engine and then wanted to stick their customer for the responsibility of the defect. What they did is prove the car they sold me for $13k was only worth $9k because of the defect they did not disclose. I went with Carvana because of the time savings. I have spent 20 hours dealing with this issue with Carvana, dealership, manufacturer and now the Silverlight warranty company. Carvana should have just swapped in a vehicle and taken the responsibility for the car they sold with a bad engine.

    Amazingly, they still have not even sent me the title yet, so I could not even dump the car if I wanted to do so. The business model requires trust, and you cannot trust Carvana.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 29, 2017

      Company Response from Carvana

      As an online retailer, we rely heavily on trust from our customers and we are very disappointed we have lost your trust in us. Thank you for the feedback and for telling us about your Carvana experience. We would like to sincerely apologize for selling you a vehicle with this severe of a problem occurring so early on in owning it.

      Unfortunately, we could not utilize your 7-day money back guarantee because we were notified of these issues after that time frame. However, we are certainly willing to have our After Sale Repair Team review a diagnostic report on the issues with the vehicle to see how we could help you through this along with our warranty partner, SilverRock.

      Additionally, we will be able you send you the title once your loan has been paid off, until then the lender holds onto the title. Please contact us at 800-333-4554 so we can do our best to turn this experience around.


  • Bad Brakes

    • By Tycen,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Sep 12, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Though I really loved the car buying process and the price they gave me for my trade in, I purchased a Nissan Pathfinder from Carvana and after driving it for a few days, noticed the brakes locking up on making the car extremely unsafe to drive. It's in the shop right now and Carvana says that they'll pay for the repairs. However, the fact they sold me a car with an obviously defective brakes is of big concern to me and feel like I purchased a lemon rather than a peach.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad car deal

    • By John Jones,
    • Ohio,
    • Aug 6, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They are shady after a week of waiting to get my delivery date. 2 days before set delivery I was informed the car had been sold to someone else. Still waiting to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unethical business practices

    • By Cameron,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Apr 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First, the website and purchasing process was mostly simple and painless. I actually enjoyed it! However, after completely filling out the purchase form I was called and told that I needed to give my banking information over the phone (even though I already provided it on the purchase order form). I assumed it was a scam call so I called Carvana back and learned that it was indeed them. They explained that they needed it to verify my account balance, which I understand, but the level of risk associated with doing so is extremely high as a consumer. I called my bank to explain the situation (Bank of America) and the bank told me that what was being asked of me was unethical and risky.

    They advised me not to do this. So I called to cancel my order and was told that I couldn't receive any written confirmation as to the cancellation of my order!!! So, now I have to go on faith that a 5-figure sum doesn't accidentally disappear out of my bank account. None of this "extra" info is specified in writing anywhere. It is only brought up after you have given them your bank account info on the website to purchase the car. It's like, “Oh hey, all of a sudden we need you do provide this”.

    I can't say that the company isn't legitimate, because there are a lot of written articles about how they are legit, but how can they treat a customer this way BEFORE a purchase and how can I to have good faith in them after the purchase (during the trial period) that they will follow through on their promises? Have you ever purchased something online using a secure, encrypted payment system only to have the store call you and say “Please read me your banking routing number”. Anyone who goes through with this is just asking for your identity to be stolen. A company who doesn't have the foresight to see how unethical this is probably doesn't have enough ethics to provide a quality product anyway. I'd advise against purchasing a vehicle from Carvana based on my experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 8, 2016

      Company Response from Carvana

      Cameron,

      Thank you for providing this feedback to us. We take our customer’s complaints very seriously and are very sorry to hear that you felt uneasy during the funds verification portion of our process. In order to verify customer’s down payments, we typically perform a conference call with our customers and their bank to verbally that the payment amount is available for withdrawal. We feel that it is important to note that this step can be bypassed by providing a copy of a certified check for the full payment balance, should customers feel uncomfortable. Additionally, have made every attempt to ensure that the expectations for the funds verification process are clearly stated on our website, which our customers will find on the funds verification screen: “For your security, we do not store your account information and will request it again during our verification process”. Carvana aims to be as transparent as possible with every purchase we regret to hear that your experience with us was less than ideal, and truly apologize that no written confirmation of your cancelation was not sent. It is our practice to always send a personalized email to our customers when cancelations take place, and we’re truly sorry to hear that we missed this opportunity. We have provided feedback to our team to avoid this from happening in the future, and would love to invite you back to our website in the future. If you have any questions that we can assist you with, please don’t hesitate to call us at 800-333-4554.


  • Updated review

    Buyer beware

    • By Paula G.,
    • Texas,
    • Sep 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    And their stupid response is call to get "looked" at, we have a warranty, but they fail to tell you they won't cover anything. And you have to take off work, find a dealership with a shop, weeks spent of wasted time on a piece of junk that doesn't start half the time. And they are not a company you can go and speak with someone - they are nowhere other than online so call, hold for hours, get hung up on, that is how they do business because you have no dealership to go to and speak with a person. You get no help at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Aug 16, 2019

    BUYER BEWARE

    I gave you a horrible review so please read it. You sold me a lemon. You lied about the 7-day return as I tried to return on day six, I received on a Friday at 4 pm and by the following Thursday at 7 am less than 6 full days later I was told the return option had expired and that's what you had online as well that it was too late to return. One of your selling points was that you had put new brakes on the card, however, the brakes are making a horrible noise and are old, not new, and need to be changed so your selling point was a lie. Also, I went to start the car on Thursday at 5 am for work and guess what, it wouldn't start. I was only given one eye and I had to run to get a new battery (and I do mean run since I had no car) and even now with the battery it keeps not working saying "key malfunction" so you sold me a lemon that won't even start half the time with breaks that could get me killed. I have attempted to call and be on hold for hours and keep not getting any help. I even did an online chat and after waiting hours for it to be my turn was told basically too bad and to call, which I had already tried to do. I am livid. I spent a lot of money on a car that won't work most days. I will do everything in my power to make sure no one buys from you and I go on every social media to tell people of my experience. There is no one to help you once you get the car delivered and it has made the last week of my life miserable. Their response was horrible as well with a number for me to call to spend my time getting a claim done and loss of a vehicle while they try to fix what they lied about and the issues with the car. PLEASE SAVE YOURSELF THE TROUBLE DO NOT SHOP WITH THEM.

    • Sep 16, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us regarding your concerns. During our 150-point inspection, we check to make sure that everything is operating within standards. Our vehicles also come standard with a limited 100-day warranty, so that if anything was missed during our inspection, we can rectify it. We certainly care for our customers and feel terrible whenever something as unfortunate as mechanical problems arise. We do not see that you have notified us of any mechanical issues. We apologize if there has been any miscommunication. Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions or concerns and we will be happy to help.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Misleading and not informative!

    • By Ebony Jenkins,
    • Fayetteville, TN,
    • Feb 10, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I knew it was to good to be true. I got financed through Carvana. I picked the vehicle that I thought would work for me, and sent in all the information that Carvana would need to purchase the vehicle. Then, since no one had reached out to me, I decided to reach out them, but only to find out that I would have to have insurance on the vehicle that I'm test driving, and need have my down payment within 24 hours of delivery! I knew right then that it's a scam. Nowhere does it say this on their website, even when it congratulates you on purchasing the vehicle.

    So now I'm going to have to change my bank account number first thing in the morning, it was a good thing I didn't request to take a day off from work. Oh and there was another thing that made me wonder, which was that they have an underwriter that will review my purchase. So that mean the down payment, monthly payment, and finance charges may not be what it says on the website! I am very disappointed, and told my friends and co worker about this website. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 26, 2016

      Company Response from Carvana

      Thank you for your feedback. We take our customer’s complaints very seriously and are very sorry to hear that you felt uneasy about the underwriting process. As a part of our underwriting process, we require that our customer’s send us their current proof of insurance so we can confirm they are covered. In the event that our customer does not have insurance, we do require they reach out to an insurance company to obtain a quote for the vehicle they are interested in purchasing. Our customers are then required to show valid proof of insurance at the time of delivery showing our vehicle has been added. The reason for this is to ensure our collateral is protected during the 7-day test drive period.

      We process the down payment through an automatic clearing house (ACH) withdrawal. Because this is a part of our purchase process, we confirm funds by doing a three way call with the customer and their bank to ensure the funds are available prior to delivery. Additionally, we have made every attempt to ensure that the expectations for the funds verification process are clearly stated on our website, which our customers will find on the funds verification screen: “For your security, we do not store your account information and will request it again during our verification process”. Once the vehicle is delivered to the customer and they choose to accept the vehicle, the funds are then submitted. We do not withdraw any money from our customer’s account until the vehicle delivers.

      Carvana aims to be as transparent as possible with every purchase. We regret to hear that your experience with us was less than ideal. We would love to invite you back to our website in the future. If you have any questions that we can assist you with, please don’t hesitate to call us at 1-800-333-4554.

      Sincerely,

      The Carvana Team


  • Bait and switch scamvana

    Overall Experience:

    Loved the idea of buying a car online without the hassles of visiting car lots. Plus you have 7 days to return vehicle if unsatisfied. I entered in my personal info so they could give me my APR finance rate and any down payment. There were a lot in my preferred price range with no money down. Score!

    So I took about a week, reviewing hundreds of cars and settled on a 2014 Hyundai Sonata 2.0t for 16,500. Added the extended warranty and placed the order. The day before it was to arrive, Carvana contacted me and asked me to send them copies of my social security card front and back, which I did.

    Then Danielle, a Carvana rep called me and said I must have mistyped my SS#. The last digit was off, so they ran a credit report on some other lady, and I would now need a down payment of $500. No problem, so I gave her my bank routing and account number for the transaction.

    Danielle then congratulated me and told me to have proof of insurance and my license handy when car was delivered. Ok, I said. Then I asked her, "Well, listen Danielle since I am putting a down payment on the car now, what will that make my monthly installments? I'm sure it won't go down by much, but you know, a penny saved is a penny earned" - my exact words.

    Danielle says, "Well, with the down payment and the APR of 7.76%, your payments will be $309 a month." That was higher than my original payment schedule. And the APR went up from 6.3% I did the math while on the phone with her, and they were trying to jack me for another $1000.

    Two things:

    1st. If I hadn't asked what my new monthly payments were going to be I would have never known they had adjusted the APR by one and a half basis points, until and only when I either got my first bill or if I caught it on the paper work when car was delivered.

    2nd. And this is the worst. Their claim that I had mistyped my SS# was a downright lie. You see, I went to show my father the car on Carvana website this morning, but it wasn't showing the car as sale pending. So, I clicked on (my account) to see if everything was ok with the sale. It just showed my personal info, name, income, last 4 digits of social, etc. And guess what, the SS# was correct. This occurred before I was notified there was an issue with the SS#. I still have the screen up on my computer at work.

    Look elsewhere for a car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 26, 2016

      Company Response from Carvana

      Kevin,

      Thank you so much for your review and feedback about your Carvana experience. We truly apologize for the misstep and lack of communication on our end. We believe in a stress free and transparent process and in this instance we fell short and truly regret that. We are happy to report that we have since been in full contact and were able to resolve the situation. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your Carvana experience and your vehicle. Please reach out to our Customer Advocate team if there is anything else we can do for you at 800-333-4554.


  • Too easy to be true

    Overall Experience:

    The online shopping experience was so easy and convenient. I enjoyed browsing through their stock, and the way the vehicles are presented on their site is clear and concise. The best part of the process was the ease of financing. You enter in your basic information on their site, and can play around with numbers to see your payment right up front. Nothing is hidden. That's where the easy process ended.

    Like so many other online service providers, at the point were it involves a human on the other end of the transaction, I didn't feel like anyone really owned my transaction. I was passed around to multiple people throughout the process, and hence, the level of customer service felt very disconnected, and too casual for a purchase like this. The car's engine light came on immediately, so after returning it (and going without a car for two inconvenient days), it was returned to me, and it turned out to be a minor issue. I also realized at signing, that at least half of the cars they sell are used rental cars. Run away! Mine turned out to be one of those as well, after digging up records. This became obvious after the cleaning fluids dried on the interior many weeks later, and all the stains one would expect in a rental came showing through. Right away, I also noticed that when it rains, the car ends up with an inordinate amount of moisture on the inside. I didn't realize it was a major problem until many months later, when I discovered that water is somehow entering the frame of the car, and pooling during heavy rains. When I called to try to resolve that issue, I was sent in circles, and finally promised a follow up by a manager, who then never called back. The spare key was also missing at purchase, so I had to take it to a dealership to have one made (even though they paid for it, it was still inconvenient). Finally, the manual was missing at purchase, and they told me they'd send one, but it never came. I made several calls to customer service, and every time was told that one would be on its way, but I never received it, or any follow up.

    Clearly, Carvana has customer service issues. I wouldn't tell someone to NOT use them, but I wouldn't recommend them either. One should approach them with extreme caution. This has been a poor experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excuse after Excuse

    • By Corbin Lamar-Reynolds,
    • Macon, Ga,
    • Oct 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Where do I start? How about that I know 2 people that bought a car from Carvana and didn't have to go through the ringer like I did. So I'm only 20 years old and I make well over 50k a year. I work 3 jobs and I'm a full time student; online. So like anyone else, I picked a car and started the process. I submitted all documents as asked. Once I submitted all required forms I received a phone call from Carvana. The lady on the call told me that they verified my insurance and my license, however, they couldn't verify my income. I was taken back by the statement. What do you mean you can't verify? You have 2 check stubs as asked. She told me she needed to call an office phone. I told her my supervisor doesn't have an office phone, he's mobile. He travels from store to store and has a company cellular phone. She said we have to speak with him on an office phone.

    So at that point I was like, I'm guessing she went deaf when I said he has a company cell phone. He doesn't work in a direct office​. After I got that through, I had to get her to understand that my company is very confidential when it comes to pay. She was not hearing it. She basically tried to tell me what is done, as if she works there. Hmph! Anyway, so she took down his name and number. She called him on a Sunday when no one for our company is working. However, she was able to reach him, keeping in mind it is a company cell phone which he's able to use at anytime. So she was able to verify the information that was needed. Hours later I gave a call back to get an update and the lady says we have to verify your employment. Again, I'm confused. I ask didn't my Manager do that? She basically says that his verification wasn't good enough.

    At the moment I was so over Carvana. I called them back and just cancelled the purchase because I didn't expect such a big hassle. I was telling so many of my peers and family about Carvana they was considering it. Unfortunately, I will not let them have to go through the same. I'll tell them it's easier to use a local dealership. For anyone reading this I suggest you use a local dealership.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 26, 2016

      Company Response from Carvana

      Hello Corbin,

      Thank you for reaching out to us to let know about your experience. We take our customer’s complaints very seriously and are very sorry to hear that you did not move forward with your purchase.

      Our Underwriting team is responsible for verifying all required documents before a loan can be approved. Through this process, one of the steps involved is to verify employment. Per our underwriting guidelines, the employment verification needs to be done on a company landline phone. Our employment verification consists of verifying the start date, hours worked as well as the annual income. In conjunction with an employment verification, we would then request 3 months of bank statements showing the direct deposits into your checking account if applicable.

      Customer service is something that we value and we are very sorry to hear that we missed the mark during our verifications process. Our reputation of providing positive experiences and quality service is essential to who we are as an online dealership. Again, we are sorry for any miscommunication and lack of customer service. If you have any additional questions, please feel free to reach out to our Customer Advocate Team at 1-800-333-4554.

      Sincerely,

      The Carvana Team


  • Either you get it or you don't.

    • By Erin Samels,
    • Gastonia, NC,
    • Jul 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I too was excited by how "easy" the Carvana process seemed. The cars seemed lower, not sitting in the dealership, knowing outright what the terms were awesome! But no, they will ask you for piece of paper work after piece of paper work. Photo copies are a no-go, you have to take PICTURES of things they need and then they will want to call your bank with your info and your social to verify your down payment which is odd.

    A pay stub request will turn in to a bank statement request and then multiple bank statements. If you don't have your actual social security card, order it before you start. AND if your Drivers License expires within 2 months, you have to renew it first. You will receive multiple emails from multiple people saying different things and your terms will probably change. Do yourself a favor, YES, dealerships suck but you leave with your car, and you have somewhere to go if something goes wrong. You are either approved immediately or you will get the run around. Once they ask you for the first document, just run.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Buyer beware

    • By Rebecca W.,
    • McDonough, GA,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a 2017 Toyota 4 Runner. I received a call 30 minutes before delivery to inform me that they just noticed (while detailing the vehicle) that the back bumper/rear door was damaged in transport. When I asked who handles their quality control, they couldn't give me an answer. The customer service rep told me that they would take it to the Toyota dealership that was right next door to their facility, and that customer service rep would contact me the following Monday to let me know the status of the vehicle. No one ever called me. I called Carvana four times the following week to try to find out what the extent of the damages were to the car. I also wanted to see pictures of the damages. We made a new delivery date for the following Friday.

    On the morning of the 2nd delivery, I received another call from Carvana 30 minutes before the delivery time to let me know that the car was going to be late due to a clip on the front bumper that was not attached. The customer service rep said he would have to go to the Toyota dealership to have the clip attached correctly...I called Carvana and spoke to another customer service rep about this, and also to inquire about the damage that was done during transport. He told me he would inquire about it and get back to me...he never called me back.

    The following week I called four times trying to find out about the car and the damage and the delivery. The car was delivered on January 18th. I had the car inspected by a mechanic on January the 22nd. The first words the mechanic said to me were "Did you know this car has been in a wreck?" I told the mechanic that Carvana said it had been damaged in transport, the mechanic told me that it was more than damaged. It had been in a wreck. He could see the damage under the rear bumper. He said the back door and bumper had ether been replaced or repaired, and the rear tail lights were replaced with used tail lights that didn't match the head lights.

    When my husband and I called Carvana to let them know what the mechanic said, the supervisor gave us the run around...We never received pictures of the damages, we never received papers on the extent of the damages, so needles to say we are returning the car tomorrow, and we will be waiting for our full refund. Carvana sucks. They are no better than used car salesman selling cars to unsuspecting customers. If I could give zero stars, I would...buyer beware. If you buy a car from this company, make sure you take it to a reputable mechanic for a thorough inspection.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 30, 2019

      Company Response from Carvana

      Your feedback is appreciated and it is clear that you spent a considerable amount of time to leave this thoughtful review regarding your Carvana experience. When things do not go as planned, we believe that listening to real customer experiences is the best way to learn. Your experience will be used for continuous process improvement to ensure that in the future we are upholding the excellent customer service, and vehicle quality that we take pride in delivering. While we were fully prepared to restore the vehicle condition, we understand that the issues that you experienced that caused you to lose trust in us. We are glad that you took advantage of our 7-Day Money Back Guarantee so that you were not stuck in a vehicle that did not leave you satisfied. Should you ever decide to move forward with another Carvana purchase, we would love to turn around your experience.


Showing 1-11 of 510

Write a Review for Carvana!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Carvana