• 109 Customer Reviews
  • 91% Recommend This Service
4.6 out of 5
5 star: 85% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 7%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Denial

    • By Lillie Smith,
    • Lumberton, MS,
    • May 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They say if you no longer can afford your policy, that they would buy it. Fraud advertising. paper workI have a 100,000 policy, and they received all my paperwork. Then I was denied since I Wasn't about to drop dead or meet their requirements. They have all my medical papers and I have requested them back. I have yet to receive them. This is a company seeking your information, false advertisement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cherry pickers

    • By Alan Barroso,
    • Rhode Island,
    • Jan 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They are scammers. Their only interest is to make money from your life settlement. They cherry pick. They were not interested in my insurance policies that totaled Two Hundred Thousand.

    Very pleasant in the beginning, but bad communication. They say we'll work with you, but don't.

    Don't waste your time on them. They are only interested in making money and not interested in your life situation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lies and B.S. and foot-dragging!

    Overall Experience:

    Well, I wish I would have seen this when I "trusted" Billy to get me something for my $350,000 life insurance policy. Problem is that until he and his company were nearly two months into the review, no one had the idea to check with my company and talk about "converting" the policy! Well, the idiots, "Billy" found out that we were a month late in asking that question! So we could have converted the policy with "no medical questions" to a frozen premium of about $764 for the next 35 years, which would have made the product of interest to a buyer! So because "Billy" was (is) clueless, all I got from was "sorry!"

    "Sorry" won't pay the bills! Do not trust this company; I am sorry I did!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Grateful

    • By Judy Gibson,
    • Rancho Cucamonga, CA,
    • Feb 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband's life insurance was due to expire, and we paid thousands of dollars to maintain the insurance. My husband mentioned Coventry and that they buy back the life insurance. So I looked into it and met Scott Kalbfleisch, and from start to finish, the whole process went so smooth. I understood it wouldn't be the payout that his life insurance offered, but it would be a nice settlement that would help with his continued in-home nursing and medications.

    Yes, as many of you know or will find out, that if you do outlive your insurance, then Coventry is a way to receive some compensation for all the years of monthly payments. Once my husband's insurance expired we were to receive nothing. So again thank you, Coventry, for all the help through this process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    My bad

    • By Dan J.,
    • Green Bay, WI,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Turns out the company did attempt to contact me, both via phone and email, I just missed both attempts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Oct 21, 2018

    No response

    A couple of months ago I requested an assessment of my life insurance policy, was told to expect a response in a day or so, but never heard back. The policy is a 20-year level term in the 10th year, I had my suspensions as to the current value, however, the lack of a response seems unprofessional.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Did not help.

    • By Randy S.,
    • Georgia,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently had a heart attack. I have a term policy that will expire in a year and a half. I was told that it would not be a problem and they could help. I am in need of help for some medical bills. After two weeks, I get a phone call that the policy would cost too much, after two weeks of promising they could help. I just hope I die in the next year and a half. They are a hoax.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't get your hopes up

    • By Dennis S.,
    • Ohio,
    • Jun 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My life insurance came up for review and the cost was going to go up significantly, so as advertise Coventry should be able to help by cashing at least some of my $150,000 policy. Well after weeks of waiting, they said flat no! The investment would not pay them. Now I am 67 years old with diabetes and have had two heart attacks plus stage two kidney failure, so unless you are going to die very very soon, don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The Coventry experience

    • By James L. Hawk,
    • East Tawas, MI,
    • Jan 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In contacting Coventry, I had no idea what to expect. After the initial interview, I was informed that they would like to continue the process. It was at this time I was introduced to Scott Kalbfleish, my new contact. I was so impressed with Scott from the beginning; his at-ease, personal and professional attitude put me at ease. Although the process was long and sometimes demanding, Scott always made himself available and kept me informed either by phone, email or voice mail, always returning my messages. Now that the process is complete and all parties are satisfied, I can only say good things about Coventry and it was well worth the time.

    Coventry Direct, if you could clone Scott, your company would really be on to something.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Coventry stepped up to quickly purchase my policy prior to expiration

    • By Fred Powers,
    • Pasadena, CA,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My policy was about to expire when I discovered the possibility of a life settlement program with Coventry. I had only 26 days to complete numerous detailed pages to sell my policy to Coventry, or my 25-year-old policy conversion window would end. My options were to default on converting to a whole life policy from term life at a premium increase that was four times the rate and not affordable for me at the 400% increased rates for a now 70-year-old male, or convert to a life settlement with Coventry.

    Fortunately, my inquiry was received by Scott Kalbfleisch, a very capable associate at Coventry. Scott is a true professional in every way imaginable. He courteously and efficiently assisted me in completing all the forms ON TIME and frequently offered to complete as much of the paperwork as possible. He efficiently negotiated a higher settlement amount on my behalf and checked and rechecked that all the documents were submitted completed within the short time frame and with absolute accuracy.

    Many thanks to Scott Kalbfleisch and his associates at Coventry for completing an extremely complicated life settlement for me and my family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Successful policy sale

    • By Stuart Klein,
    • California,
    • Nov 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Coventry completed conversion and purchase of a 20-year term policy that was 16 years old for me today. Chris Collins and Tyson Mayer were very professional and a true pleasure to deal with. The sale went as smooth as could be. I highly recommend this team and got the feeling they were really working for my best interest. While constrained by the reality of the secondary market, these gentlemen got me what I felt was a very good price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent experience!

    • By Cindy Rehkamp,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Tyson Mayer of Coventry walked me through the process of selling a life insurance policy that I no longer needed. What could have been a very confusing and frustrating process was made uncomplicated with Tyson's help every step of the way.

    When I received all the papers to fill out and return, Tyson helped me through what looked to be a very overwhelming process that I didn't think I could even complete. He went through everything, page by page and we got it done.

    In addition, whenever I had a question Tyson would actually answer his phone or call me back within minutes. No pushing buttons and being on hold for long periods of time which can be so frustrating.

    Coventry and Tyson worked very hard for me and helped me through a very difficult time in my life. They paid more than a fair price for my policy, and I am forever grateful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great to work with!

    • By Elaine Tirri,
    • Ocala, FL,
    • Apr 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Scott Kalbfleisch was so helpful to work with. He’s very patient and understanding to what you're needing to accomplish. He answered all my questions and stayed on top of what needed to be done. I would highly recommend Coventry and Scott Kalbfleisch. You won’t be disappointed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not what the TV ad lets you believe

    • By Robert C.,
    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Aug 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I saw the TV ad showing the older couple happy and healthy, discussing selling their policy to Coventry. The purpose of this couple selling was to have extra money for vacations, medical, and other necessities. I contacted Coventry because I have a term life insurance policy for a significant amount of money. The agent called me and we reviewed the opportunity which I told them that I was open to selling my policy. However, after going over my history being well over 60 years old they told me I was too healthy to consider buying my policy from me.

    Watching the TV ad nothing is mentioned about being on or near the deathbed. This is totally deceptive advertising as they could easily make that very clear. The FTC commission should review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Satisfied

    Overall Experience:

    Having a Term Life Insurance Policy that was due to expire in several years with no cash value my wife and I decided to review our options. We were aware of Coventry as a result of their TV commercials.

    The entire process from start to finish was about six months, at the end of which I received the negotiated price for my policy. Working with Coventry's representative (Tyson Mayer) was always a professional and enjoyable experience. Tyson kept us up to date every step of the way. The many documents requiring signatures were reviewed by two attorneys and discussed with a former insurance/financial planner. All documents and forms were approved with one minor change.

    My wife and I would strongly recommend working with Tyson Mayer to confirm your options.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Cash buy-out of life insurance policy

    Overall Experience:

    My mom, Opal Williams, just turned 90 and her life insurance premiums have become quite a burden. Mom thought her investment was a sound one, but when she turned out to live much longer than she expected, she just couldn't keep coming up with the payments. We contacted Coventry and got to work with Tyson Mayer. He listened to our situation and worked with Mom and me to help us sell the policies for a fair price. It took several months, but Tyson was diligent in his communication with us. Even when he was on vacation, Tyson returned our calls. Tyson negotiated to get us the amount of money Mom was hoping for. Tyson managed our account within our deadline and got Mom her check before the next due date of premiums.

    Since receiving the checks, Mom has been relieved of having to pay premiums and does not have to worry about finding funds if she needs extra care. I really appreciate Tyson treating us with dignity and care throughout this process. Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Life insurance

    • By Sue Megran,
    • Meridian, ID,
    • Oct 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Coventry Direct is a professional company by helping us through the process of selling our life insurance policy. Ms. Rooney was our agent and worked wholeheartedly to keep us well informed of the procedure. Thank you for the positive experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Full customer satisfaction

    Overall Experience:

    I saw Coventry Direct's ads on TV in early May. I contacted them around May 7, 2017. Mr. Tyson Mayer, Regional Vice President for Coventry, contacted me by phone on May 9, 2017. I received authorization forms on May 9, 2017, and returned them on May 15, 2017.

    Mr. Tyson contacted me May 24th and 31, 2017 to let me know he had received doctors letters and a few offers. I received an acceptable offer for my policy on 6/5/2017. Mr. Mayer mailed out my paperwork to finalize the contract 6/8/2017, and I received them June 9, 2017. I returned the documents June 12, 2017. I got the final forms on June 14, 2017.

    Mr. Mayer called me June 26, 2017, and told me that the policy title had been transferred. My check had been sent by FedEx overnight. I received the check for the policy June 26, 2017.

    During the entire process from the initial contact to the final transaction, I was completely satisfied with Coventry. Mr. Tyson Mayer was always cordial, concerned with my condition, informative, courteous, genuine, and there 24/7. I was always kept current on my status during the process. I have received follow-ups from Mr. Mayer personally. I would highly recommend Coventry to my friends, family, and the general public.

    Sincerely yours,

    Lance M. Shaffer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Patience, persistence, and professionalism

    Overall Experience:

    I wish to relate my experiences with Coventry Inc through my relationship and interaction with Mr. Scott Kalbfleisch. I learned about Coventry through an advertisement on TV. On the initial call, Scott explained everything in a logical, sequential, and understandable manner. Throughout the initial portion of medical records and HIPPA release forms, Scott ensured that the forms were sent to me on time and in a manner convenient for me. I have no printer and required paper copies via US Postal service. Scott was always accessible via phone, text, or email, which made the application process a smooth one.

    The second phase of legal documents, notarized forms, and beneficiary transfer forms was a little more involved but not due to any lack of effort by Scott. Rather, sending loose forms meant that a single document was spread out with other forms. Perhaps it was an idiosyncrasy of the Notary Public who wanted to read the document sequentially and completely, not just the notarized page. I recommend that documents be either stapled or put in one of those document holders with clear plastic front and back with a plastic slider to hold together.

    The next phase was the offer phase. I was working with one other company and wanted to be fair and impartial. The other company made a firm offer with a suspense date. I informed Scott that I needed a response from Coventry. There was a delay which exceeded the suspense date, and in absence of a valid competing offer from Coventry, I accepted in writing that offer.

    It is this phase which I believe showcases Scott's superior interpersonal skills. He showed me understanding and patience and respected my desire to be neutral and impartial. When Coventry's offer did come through, he helped me to go back to the first company for an amendment of their offer. It was this delicate balance of persistence and patience which allowed me in good conscience to accept Coventry's offer. Even now Scott is updating me as to the process of the final transfer of funds which he could opt not to do, but it is this attention to detail and follow through which elevates him to a higher plane than his competition.

    I believe Coventry Inc is fortunate to have an individual of such high caliber as part of the team.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Professionalism with a personal touch

    Overall Experience:

    I am writing this review in spite of the fact that we were unable to complete a transaction (due to details beyond Coventry's control) because I was highly impressed with the perfect blend of professionalism and friendliness projected by the two representatives with whom I interacted, specifically Tyrone Dixon and Ardit Hoxha. To have had such pleasant experiences with both representatives tells me that Coventry is doing something right as it relates to their hiring and training. So sorry we were unable to complete the deal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Liars

    • By Gerald B.,
    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After reviewing my health questions, they said that although I was 72, I wasn’t dying so they didn’t want to purchase the last 3 years of my term policy. These crooks only want terminal folks. Doesn’t say that in their ad, does it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • All fraudulent advertising and a scam.

    Overall Experience:

    Have serious and chronic medical problems halting my work as a physician. Applied to sell a $100,000 life policy. Tons of medical documentation supporting the need.

    Coventry wasted over a month collecting my Medicals for blood cancer. Heart attacks and more. I’m on disability.

    They came back refusing to buy my policy. "I’m not sick enough". They only want those on deaths bed to buy so they do not have to pay out much in premiums or a sale.

    DO NOT WASTE your time with this company. They are fraudulent with false advertisement all over.

    If you are in hospice with a week to live, they give 1/3 of the policy I hear from other dissatisfied people.

    A scam and misleading company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A blessing for many

    • By SallyB,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Aug 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I cannot recommend Coventry Direct highly enough. At a point during my husband's terminal illness, we decided to investigate the option of selling one of his insurance policies to help with our current finances. Being a life insurance agent, my husband investigated various companies who perform this service, and we ended up making a deal with Tyson Mayer at Coventry.

    Being that we are local to the headquarters, we chose to meet Tyson and his associates personally. They were very kind, professional and worked hard to give us the best offer possible and, in fact, they made it a point to do so. Once our decision was made, the process was very quick. We signed papers and got our payment within days. Having this money was very comforting to us during a very challenging and emotional time, and working with Tyson and Coventry made a very emotional and regretful situation as best as it could possibly be.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Extremely fast service

    Overall Experience:

    I had the pleasure of working with Tyson Mayer who very quickly reviewed my case and got me a decision right away. I was very satisfied with the offer I got from Coventry. Tyson helped guide me through the process and handled every aspect in a professional way and got me my money even faster than I thought I would get it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not as advertised

    • By Monica H.,
    • California,
    • Jan 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I responded to the TV commercial about selling my term life insurance. The ad says to call to see if your POLICY qualifies...turns out it has nothing to do with your policy. I was told that even though I am 66 now I didn't qualify because I am too healthy!

    But they did explain that if my health status changed (for the worse of course) then I could call back. So they apparently are only interested in buying your life insurance policy if they won't have to pay your premiums too much longer!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My take on Coventry Direct

    • By Tom,
    • Farmington, Michigan,
    • Jul 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    For me, dealing with Coventry Direct was a great experience. I was treated with respect and felt their representatives (especially Peter Herschon) truly cared about my circumstances. It was a multiple-month period with a unique parameter of being younger than their typical client. Nevertheless, they worked with me all the way and helped me receive a generous compensation for my unneeded life insurance. I would recommend Coventry Direct to anybody, especially Mr. Herschon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent service

    • By Thea W.,
    • San Benito, TX,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Coventry and its agents are awesome people to deal with.

    They are extremely professional and very easy to deal with. I was updated in a timely fashion regarding the progress of my submission of my policy. My only regret was that I did not start this process early in the life of the policy. I highly recommend Coventry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Coventry services

    • By James J.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I can't say enough about Coventry and Scott Kalbfleisch. He was very professional and informative about the company and how you help folks like myself turn term insurance (convertible) into cash now and also save a portion of the policy for the beneficiary to take care of expenses at the time of my death.

    Scott was with me the entire process and explained every detail to the fullest so it was an easy transition. Scott is definitely an asset to the company.

    Thanks again Coventry and Scott for taking such good care of me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 109

Write a Review for Coventry Direct!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Coventry Direct