Dr. Ho’s Pain Therapy System

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Dr. Ho’s Pain Therapy System

Overall Rating

2.5

20 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Dr. Ho’s Pain Therapy System is a TENS unit that is alleged to offer a drug-free method of relief for some of the most common pain conditions. Scientific support is lacking, however, and TENS doesn’t address the underlying cause of your symptoms.

Pros

  • Drug-free and non-invasive
  • Unlikely to cause harm
  • Managing pain from home is convenient
  • Favorable return policy

Cons

  • Strong evidence supporting efficacy is lacking
  • Will not address the underlying source of the pain
  • Pricy, and replacement pads can add considerable cost
  • Many comparable devices are more affordably priced
  • Reviews at Amazon are mediocre

Customer Reviews

2.5 Stars out of 20 Reviews
5 Star:35% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:60%
40% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Dr. Ho’s Pain Therapy System:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 19, 2019

Awful

By Natty P., Canada, Verified Reviewer

I was sent a faulty remote. It stopped working after months and they expect me to pay $25 plus shipping. SCAM, I will never buy stuff from TV again.

Poor business. Customer service does not understand English at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from DR-HO'S

Apr 30, 2019

Hi Natty, sorry to hear you had an issue with your remote. We have a 1-year warranty for our products. If you have your receipt, we can repair/replace your unit.

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 20, 2019

Great product

By Dianne C., New Zealand, Verified Reviewer

I’ve used this product for years, bought more gel pads, no problem. I’d never used gel pads dampened, made them dry first. Neighbour borrowing tens as she has nerve damage and numbness in foot, today she has done feeling in foot. Looking to buying a machine for herself.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from DR-HO'S

Mar 5, 2019

We are glad to hear that you are enjoying our unit! We do recommend spraying the pads with water before and after as it helps conduct the electricity, and the pads will last longer!

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 27, 2018

Works wonders!

By Susan S., Alabama, Verified Reviewer

I have purchased the Dr. Ho's TENS Unit and was so glad! It's user-friendly, easy to figure out. The TENS Unit was able to reach the intensity close to that which the chiropractor's office had! This is much better, it is there when you need, and is rechargeable like a cell phone! It gave me the quality of life, until last week when a friend came over with a friend - who stole it! I have been devastated! They knew I have cancer and severe back problems that is painful with other chronic pain conditions. Oh, please note, if you have a heart defibrillator, etc. - you cannot use a TENS unit.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from DR-HO'S

Mar 5, 2019

We are glad to hear that the unit worked for you, but we hope you get it back from your friend soon!

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 11, 2018

Great product!

By Daniella H., Timnath, CO, Verified Reviewer

I used to be a patient of Dr. Ho in Toronto and had the original pain therapy system, which helped me a lot with migraines, neck, shoulder and back pain.

It got lost as I moved around a lot. I recently had a severe muscle spasm in my mid/lower back. I remembered Dr. Ho's system and ordered a new one online. After two weeks of painkillers, muscle relaxant and a cortisone injection, I still had quite a lot of pain, until I started using the pain therapy system. As in the past, it helps me a lot, and I felt relief after just one session.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from DR-HO'S

Mar 5, 2019

It's wonderful to hear that you are getting the relief you need with our system. In addition, we are happy that you remembered us from your clinic days!

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 29, 2018

Good product

By Judy C., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I have been using this product for almost a week. I am feeling much less pain than when I started out. I am experiencing a lower back problem in the left buttocks and upper thigh. I was very skeptical, but am very pleased with the results so far. I am also doing stretching exercises, which I was unable to do before I used this device. I would recommend this product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from DR-HO'S

Mar 5, 2019

Thank you Judy! We are happy to hear that you are feeling better and can now do your stretching exercises!

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on May 27, 2018

The best

By Tamara A., Canada, Verified Reviewer

I had back pain for two weeks, so I went into a Walmart pharmacy to buy some back pain pills. I was surprised to see the Dr. Ho machine there for $159.00. I was very scared to buy it, but at that point, I would try anything. I will swear on this. That night it was working and the next day my back was good. The best money spent. I would swear on this.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from DR-HO'S

Mar 5, 2019

We are honored you took a chance on us and we are so glad that we provided you with the relief you needed!

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 30, 2018

Ask all questions you can before you buy it!

By Hector Miranda, Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

I never used the product, so I can't say that it's good or bad. I returned it because what they said that it will cost me wasn't true, and they charge me more. They will start sending product and charging to your credit card until you do something. Now I had to pay to return it via certified mail and wait for my refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 3, 2017

Like getting a tattoo

By Jen Bauer, Canada, Verified Reviewer

If you think getting a tattoo is relaxing, then this is the system for you.

I made sure I followed the instructions and dampened my pads before putting it on my skin, but every time is starts off feeling like a tattoo needle is violently attacking my skin. Very painful! A few times it would subside and eventually feel fine, however, that initial start to my treatment is so painful that I dread using the system, and if I find the courage to go ahead, I end up crying from the pain!

I have had TENS therapy at physiotherapy appointments, and it NEVER felt painful. I even bought news pads within a week of my purchase of this system to make sure I did not have a bad set of pads, but it was the same result. I have 30 days to return it for a full refund, and I am returning tomorrow with 15 days left on my return timeline. That's how painful it is!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 38 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 9, 2016

Great product

By Romulo A. Patricio, Leyte, Philippines, Verified Reviewer

I do have numbness and pain in my buttocks. My son bought the Dr. Ho's Pain Therapy System Pro through HSN in the USA. This is a great product because it relieves the pain and the numbness does not bother me that much anymore after using it. And, I like the company's proprietary auto modulating pain relieving waves which other ones do not have.

I just started using the unit over a week ago and so far it works great for me.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted
Showing 12-20 of 20

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.