eSalon

eSalon

Overall Rating

1.9

22 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

eSalon’s customized hair dye line claims to allow you to find the perfect shade with help from a professional colorist. Reviews vary on whether this brand distinguishes itself from other home dye companies, though the customization features may be overstated.

Pros

  • Lots of opportunities to give personal feedback on color and adjust it
  • You’ll receive more or less dye depending on your hair needs
  • Long-lasting color for many people

Cons

  • Dye formulas aren’t as personalized as the company implies
  • A wide variance in customer reviews
  • Formulas aren’t significantly different than drugstore brands

Customer Reviews

1.9 Stars out of 22 Reviews
5 Star:13% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:27% 1 Star:54%
18% Recommend This Company
Start your review of eSalon:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Mar 27, 2019

Great color but must tweak

By Courtney J., Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

Don’t expect it to be perfect the first time, but I love this color. I have had no oil slick experience and I now have a beautiful copper dark blonde. Looks exactly like my colorist does my hair. Gorgeous color, a little drying, but I may need to go to a volume 15.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 21, 2019

Do not buy this

By Julie L., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

The hair color I purchased was supposed to be brown. I had highlights previously and told my "stylist" (the person who made my personalized color) what I wanted and sent pictures of my hair. My roots are gray, which is why I dye my hair. The color looked like a greenish-brown baby poop and mine was so fried I had to cut it off. My hairstylist laughed at me for thinking this would be ok. Do not buy this product. It also did not cover my gray.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 16, 2019

Totally dissatisfied

By Laura S., Florida, Verified Reviewer

On my third purchase of a custom color set, I wanted to change from dark amber to more of the popular mulled wine color. What I have now is a washed out ugly brunette color. The shampoo after thorough rinsing did not lather at all and after the conditioner, my hair was left a mushy oily mess. The morning after coloring my hair I had to wash my hair twice to try to get it back to somewhat normal texture. I have photos, before and after. I wish I could post them here. I have turned off my orders, I won't risk the health of my hair any longer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2019

Terrible product

By Danielle S., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

I made it pretty clear that I wanted a light ash brown. What I ended up with is light brown with A LOT of red in it. Ash brown should not have any red in it at all.

Also, others have said that it left their hair feeling waxy or oily, but I found that it left it feeling way too dry. Even drier than the boxed color you'd get at a store.

Unfortunately, I'm going to go to a salon to get the correct color. I was hoping to avoid that, which is why I tried eSalon, but I kinda feel like it's a scam. They even sent the wrong instructions and I had to ask for the correct version of them.

Use at your own risk.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 2, 2019

Not a happy camper

By Kindra S., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I love the color but very unhappy with the way it left my hair! I look like a drowned rat! My hair is so waxy and oily looking it's pathetic. I can't stand the way it feels. I've washed my hair twice and it still feels filthy!

I was so hoping this would be the magic color I was hoping for, but it's sadly not.

Darn. Don't waste your money or at the very least, don't use the shampoo and conditioner!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 4, 2019

Second time using

By Caroline L., Grand Ledge, MI, Verified Reviewer

The first time I used eSalon was many years ago, and my hair was shorter. Then I was very pleased with the outcome. Not anymore.

I totally changed my color, therefore I was pleased that an eSalon colorist called me before making my blend. She was making sure I wanted such a drastically different color.

I colored my hair today following the directions exactly. My hair is very long, to the middle of my back. It took forever to rinse my hair. Finally, I shampooed and used the conditioner supplied. I again rinsed for at least 10 minutes just to get the conditioner thinned out.

I tried blow drying my hair. It was like trying to dry waxed hair. I shampooed two more times and used no conditioner. Still a good amount of wax on my hair.

What in the world did you do with the formula of the conditioner? I love the color, but that's it. I won't use eSalon again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 24, 2019

Oil slick

By Dodie Lyn L., Grand Rapids, MI, Verified Reviewer

I tried two applications to make sure I didn’t mess up something with the first. I’ve used box dies before and have had no issues...unfortunately, that is not the case here. This product leaves a very heavy oily residue that is next to impossible to rinse out! I do not have normally oily hair. My hair is typically very dry and prone to breakage. I have rinsed, washed, and washed again...still full of grease! I can’t even blow dry my hair. I spent 20 minutes with the drier with no results! I never write reviews. Never - that’s how frustrated I am with this die. Yes, the color is great, but not the hassle afterward!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 17, 2019

Not happy customer.

By Tanya B., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

I used two applications and this product is hard to rinse out. This product is not for BLACK WOMEN, leaves a heavy residue, I looked like a rescue pup from the pound. eSalon should issue a disclaimer that it may not be suitable for all hair types instead of taking the money and running, even though it is 30 days past, I should have been able to refund my kit since I was not pleased. They present orders without your permission, I feel all they care about is the ALL MIGHTY DOLLAR. It's sad sisters, be aware, do not buy this product or buy at your own risk. The color is beautiful but not worth the headache.

eSalon, you need to do better by your customers, shame on you!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 21, 2018

Be careful about recurring packages!

By Sabine P., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered a kit this past summer and took a while to use it. The product is pretty good, though no better than something generic I would buy at a drug store. I had no idea I'd signed up for a recurring service. They don't make it obvious. So I was surprised by the email saying a shipment was ready. Though I replied right away, they went ahead and shipped the product again anyway, and immediately charged me for it. I refused the package and eventually got a refund, but they still charged for shipping! I am very dissatisfied and will never use them again. Beware.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 21, 2018

Fake reviews and destroys hair

By Cynthia C., Nibley, UT, Verified Reviewer

The reviews on the salon are all fake. After I had ordered, I saw a review with my name on it, but I didn’t write it. They recommended stuff that they should not have recommended for my hair and ended up ruining it. On top of that, I’m losing pieces every single day. I am very disappointed and will not use again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 12, 2018

Love it!

By Sandra S., New York, Verified Reviewer

I absolutely LOVE eSalon! The color I chose was SPOT ON. I couldn't be more happier.

The kit with the oil bowl and brush, cape and clips. Perfect! I am looking forward to trying the shampoos and conditioners.

I'm thinking I'll be getting eSalon until I stop coloring my hair.

A very happy customer here and...you CAN'T beat the price!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 22

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.