About Focallure

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Published on: Apr 7, 2017

Focallure is a a one-stop online shop for all of your beauty needs, offering premium products, including makeup, skin care, teeth whitening, and even a strapless push-up bra, all at not-so-premium prices.

Beyond quality and affordability, Focallure states that they stand out from other online cosmetics retailers by offering the following:

  • Cosmetics inspired by French trends. Focallure states that their makeup and skin care lines closely follow those you can find in France.
  • Selling only cruelty-free products. Focallure promises that their cosmetics haven’t been tested on animals.
  • Exceptional customer service. Focallure states that customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance and that their representatives are available 24/7 to answer questions or offer assistance.
  • Made and sold in the USA. Focallure states that their products are manufactured and shipped from the U.S., listing a company address in Las Vegas, Nevada.
  • Free shipping on all orders over $25. Focallure ships worldwide, and offers free shipping on any order over $25 both in the U.S. and internationally.

So, what kind of products does Focallure sell? The website lists four major categories of products: makeup, cleansing, teeth, and Lifting Bra-Lifty. Here’s an overview of each.

Focallure Cosmetics for Face, Lips, and Eyes

Makeup appears to be the website’s largest category consisting of exclusively Focallure-brand products. Within Focallure’s cosmetics menu, you can find subcategories listing makeup for the face, lips, eyes, and accessories.

1. Focallure Face Collection

Focallure sells three products in their face collection, each of which is available in three shades. They are a foundation stick, concealer, and face setting powder.

  • Focallure Foundation Setting Powder ($15): Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in three shades.
  • Focallure Face Contour Highlighter ($18): Claims to be non-greasy and non-creasing, as well as paraben and fragrance-free.
  • Focallure Complete Coverage Concealer ($13): Full-coverage formula that claims to be enriched with Matrixyl 3000, a compound that includes peptides to support the skin’s youthful appearance and elasticity.

2. Focallure Lipstick Collections

Focallure states that their lip colors are naturally waterproof and easy to use. There are two available formulas:

  • Focallure Matte Lipstick ($13): Chubby-pencil style lipstick that claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.
  • Focallure Matte Liquid Lipstick ($14): A liquid-to-matte formula that promises intense color and all-day wear. Also free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.

3. Focallure Eyes Collection

Focallure offers a wider range of eye makeup, including several shades of shadow palettes, eyeliners, brow filler, and false lashes:

  • Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palette ($18): Available in four tones, each palette contains 10 eyeshadows that range from matte, to shimmer, and sparkle.
  • Focallure Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil ($17): Promises to be 100% waterproof and smudge-proof, while sweat and tear-resistant.
  • Focallure Double-Take Brow Pencil ($16): Retractable brow pencil is available in three shades. Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates.
  • Focallure Long-Wear Gel Liner ($9): Long-wearing, gel-based liner is available in five unnamed shades. Some guesswork required to figure out which color you’re ordering.

4. Focallure Accessories

Focallure’s website lists a variety of cleansing and anti-aging products that appear to not be associated with the brand. These include a 5-in-1 Facial Cleansing Brush ($20.95), a Chinese-brand charcoal whitening toothpaste ($14.95), a blackhead and pimple remover ($5.99), along with many other products that all fall under the category of “beauty.”

What We Spotted When Shopping Focallure

At HighYa, we’ve reviewed the websites of hundreds of cosmetics products and brands, as well as an extensive collection articles that inform on related topics, like evaluating the difference between designer and knock-off cosmetics.

We also write about how to help you recognize potential sources for trouble when ordering online. In fact, it was just recently that we published How to Tell If an Online Store Is Legit: 11 Steps to Check Any Website—which is why several aspects of shopping Focallure stood out as possible yellow flags.

As we started our standard process of reviewing each cosmetics category, we couldn’t help but notice a that the written content describing categories had a higher than average frequency of grammatical errors.

For example, the description on the Focallure Face Collection page states:

Our mineral face collection contains natural ingredient makeup easy-to-use and defines, illuminate or enhance your requested features. Our collection has Foundation in 3 colors vary by your skin color, Highlighter and the famous Complete-Coverage® Concealer that also available in the variety of colors.“

Poor grammar alone isn’t a major red flag indicating a poor quality product. Though it’s worth noting as possibly raising questions as to whether or not Focallure was truly made and sold in the U.S. as they claim.

Moving on, as we read through Focallure’s individual product descriptions, we noticed that they sounded surprisingly similar to some of our favorite brands.

For example, here’s the description of Focallure Foundation Setting Powder from their website:

“With just five pure ingredients, Focallure Face Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

From Ulta, here’s the description of bareMinerals Matte Mineral Foundation:

“With just five pure ingredients, bareMinerals SPF 15 Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

Because the bareMinerals brand has been around for over 35 years, we’re pretty confident that they came up with this description first.

Evidence of Focallure appearing to copy cosmetics descriptions from better-known brands can be seen again and again through their website.

For example, Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palettes 1-4 all use the following description:

Loaded with 10 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Focallure could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.

This is a near verbatim use of the description for Urban Decay’s popular Naked Palette, as seen at Sephora:

Loaded with 12 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Urban Decay could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.”

To be clear, modeling your makeup after a better-known brand is the cornerstone of knockoff cosmetics. The appearance of lifting another company’s descriptions doesn’t necessarily mean that Focallure is selling poor quality products.

But it does bring their ethics into question—if Focallure did, indeed, copy the description of more popular makeup brands, can consumers trust their other promises that might be more important, such as a commitment to cruelty-free cosmetics, including sun protection, or being free of talc?

Again, just because a company appears to have copied descriptions doesn’t mean that you’ll receive a poor-quality product. But, it does bring into question the ingredients and methods used to create the product you’ll receive.

We Tried to Contact Focallure Customer Service

To give Focallure a fair chance at responding, we attempted to reach out to their customer service representatives.

Our first attempt was through their Contact page, where we found that there was only a form to request contact—and no phone number listed.

This is another potential yellow flag that we mention in our list of tips when trying to determine if a company is legit. In our experience, legitimate online retailers should list where their business is located, as well as a phone number an email to reach them.

In a final attempt to contact Focallure, we reached out to customer service through their Facebook page.

Per our interaction with the company, the representative who responded stated that no phone number was available. When pressed for any information that could confirm that they were based in the United States, the representative stopped responding. Follow-up questions regarding the product descriptions that appear to be copied were left unanswered.

Focallure Return and Refund Policy—Final or Not?

Prices for Focallure products vary with your purchase. But what if you’re unsatisfied?

To wrap up our research on Focallure, we headed to their Refund Policy page where things take a final confusing turn. At the top of the page, shoppers are told:

“All products are sold ‘as is.’ You assume the responsibility for your purchase, and no refunds will be issued. All sales are final.”

Next, customers are instructed to contact customer service if your product arrives damaged. Following is a list of products for which partial refunds are applicable, including books and CDs—of which we didn’t see any for sale on the website.

This is followed by additional info on potential refunds, and the statement that they only replace items if they are defective or damaged. If shoppers need to exchange it for the same item, to send an email at support@bestmakeupsponge.com.

Should You Order From Focallure?

Focallure certainly lists some attractive cosmetics products on their website. However, even if you look beyond the considerable number of yellow flags we noticed while exploring their products—particularly duplicate descriptions—you’re still faced with one important question:

Why order from a company that refuses to allow exchanges if you’re not satisfied?

The answer to that question is up to every consumer. However, considering that the prices listed on Focallure are within $1-$5 of the listed prices for brand name products available at your local Sephora, Ulta, or Target, we know where we’d feel more comfortable shopping.

Editor's Note: This Editorial Review was published on April 7, 2017 using publicly available information at the time of research located at www.shopfocallure.com. Information is subject to change on www.shopfocallure.com. Please visit main company website for latest details.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

408 Consumer Reviews for Focallure

Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 133 4 star: 69 3 star: 19 2 star: 23 1 star:  164
Bottom Line: 51% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 408
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Horrible

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a beauty blender at the beginning of August. As of September 15th, this product has still not arrived. I have reached out to customer service many times, and all they state is that they will "try to ship the item as soon as possible" or say they will ship it the next week and have not. I have requested a refund multiple times, and they refuse to refund my $14.95 stating they can only offer store credit as I did not cancel within 48 hours. However, their shipping policy is 2-7 business days, and I still have not received my order. I am still fighting with customer service to get this resolved.

    This company is a scam! Please do not purchase from them and take your hard earned money elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Hmm

    • Chico, CA,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just wondering how this product can be made and sold in the US when the package was sent straight from China. Also, the package says "cruelty-free." Maybe just be a typo. Maybe not. Hmmm. The product does last all day, but is not moisturizing. The same thing as Mac and I'm sure many other companies have been doing for years. Not bad though.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As of 8/30/18, no response from Pete or Katy. I’ve also found FOUR other scam companies using this address. What the heck?! I’ve realized there are a lot of counterfeit makeup coming out of China. Brands like MAC are working with international trade to stop this since it’s such an issue. Don’t purchase from Focallure or AliExpress since they peddle a lot of fake products!

    Also, no refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 30, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Sara,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number to support@shopfocallure.com so I can look into the matter.

      Regards, Focallure Team

    • Aug 31, 2018

      Sara B.

      I’ve reported this business to the BBB. It’s been almost a month and I’ve been offered “store credit” when I should get a refund. There’s no use mailing your “support” since they don’t respond. I’ve made sure to spread the word NOT to buy from this company, even though hundreds of testimonials exactly like mine are out there. You should talk to “Pete” since he’s the one not responding. Keep your counterfeit make-up!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Aug 15, 2018

    Have you actually googled their address? Scam.

    Oh boy. This place is such a scam. I ordered a product and tried to cancel before it shipped. They charged my card before I ever got a confirmation. I reached out to support because there’s no phone number all of this is through email within a half hour of ordering. Someone named Katy in sales told me I didn’t even complete my order. I told her I did and wanted to cancel. She pushed me along to Pete who did not respond after asking for the third time to cancel my order. I still got no response.

    I googled the address that Katy (who also called herself the CEO) and Pete provided in their signatures. This location is for a single family home! Also, I was charged from a location in New Mexico, but their shipping center is in Florida. This is all so terrible. I called my bank to open a dispute since this company will not respond. I also contacted the FTC and opened a claim about Focallure. There’s too many of us to let this company last.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy the lip gloss

    • Buffalo, NY,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was super excited to get the six lip glosses that I ordered from Follacure. I tried one on yesterday the lip gloss was dried out and looked like it had been used. I decided to check the rest of them and the same thing. I emailed them to have the situation rectified and they did not care!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Almost 3 months, and I have not received my items.

    • Singapore,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They apologized and said they would ship one month after my payment. It's been three months, and I still don't have my products. They gave me a DHL tracking number that I tried to call and track. DHL said that was a handled by DHL subsidiary. When I called them, they said I had to request the seller to ship again because the package was probably lost. Come on! Refund my money or send me my products!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Gold Coast, Australia,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi everyone. I honestly think this product was well worth the money, it's a great product. The product as described in details, easy to apply, lovely textures, and stays on the lips.

    Perfect for me and my skin, no irritations. Great colors, variety available. Long lasting, not having to apply all the time. I highly recommend it to others.

    Thanks guys. I will purchase more in future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not trust this company

    • East,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the makeup setting spray. So far they have not shipped my order, and when I tried to track, there was "no order found." They took my money the first day, but I cannot get my order. This place seems like a scam, so buyer beware. When I tried to contact them, I could only do so by instant messaging. They kept telling me to "be patient" and then did not respond to my questions. This experience has been frustrating and unnecessary. I think they just wanted my money with no intention of giving me my product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 30, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear K,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number to support@shopfocallure.com so I can look into the matter.

      Regards, Focallure Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy from these scammers

    • Australia,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the eyebrow micro blading pens in April. No news whatsoever about the shipping status after two weeks, so I enquired about it and was told it would take a while, so they offered me a 10% refund, which I took. Fast forward another month and still no news, so I requested a refund and the lady on the live chat just IGNORED my request and said it would get shipped the following Monday. Fast forward ANOTHER MONTH and STILL no news. By this time I had given up and just thought I'd been scammed and left it. I received an email in July saying my order had been shipped out but now haven't received it even a month later. Not sure what's going on with the shipping and DHL but now I'm being told to contact the merchant company, but I'm done with this terrible company. Judging by the other reviews, the products aren't great and arrives in a terrible condition anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 30, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Michelle,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number to support@shopfocallure.com so I can look into the matter.

      Regards, Focallure Team

    • Sep 4, 2018

      Wendy B.

      Do not order from this company. It's been three months and I have not received my makeup. I wrote to them and they did answer back by email to tell me that they were checking with there shipping partner, and to give them three days and that was five days ago. I've now asked for a refund and nothing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company

    • Massachusetts,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered for the first time a couple of weeks ago, and the site claims 1 -5 day delivery in the US. Well, weeks have gone by and still no product. I ordered the same item from eBay two weeks later, and it arrived in three days. I will never purchase from this website again. I filled a complaint with PayPal as I want my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 30, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear PJ,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number to support@shopfocallure.com so I can look into the matter.

      Regards, Focallure Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Low rating customer service, not the quality advertised

    • Washington,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Much darker and thicker strokes than advertised (I ordered grey). It appears black on skin even after slightly blotting, which ruins the details in the application. And this company does not offer returns on ANY makeup products at all, so if the color doesn’t work, you're stuck. I went back and forth with several emails, finally being offered less than I paid in store credit. I will not order with this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 6, 2018

      Tina P,

      Hello,

      We're extremely sorry that you had to face such difficulties. We may not be able to change the past but if you give us a chance, we will completely make it up to you. Our customer happiness officer will contact you to know more about the issue you faced, and I can assure you that we will do our best to solve each and every issue. Thanks.

    • Aug 10, 2018

      Sara B.

      This Tina P. person is copying and pasting the same responses to other negative comments. Pathetic!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    The company commented here that they planned to contact me and make the situation right. Well, it’s been a while and nothing. They have not reached out to me and are not answering my emails. Don’t trust them. They are all liars and this company is a scam. DO NOT BUY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Delaney,

      We're extremely sorry that you had to face such difficulties. We may not be able to change the past but if you give us a chance, we will completely make it up to you. Our Customer Happiness Officer will contact you to know more about the issue you faced, and I can assure you that we will do our best to solve each and every issue.

    • Jul 23, 2018

      Miss Delaney Nicole Kantz

      Total crap, no one has reached out to me. This issue was never resolved. I never got my product and the company REFUSED to do anything about it. No one is going to contact me, don’t believe these liars, they will NEVER make it good. Just don’t buy the product, end of story.

    • Aug 3, 2018

      Leonie D.

      I received my eyebrow tattoo pen today black but it was all dried up and had no liquid in it at all. I paid $30.94, my order number is 1001236768. This my sixth order, I am very unhappy.

    • Aug 10, 2018

      Sara B.

      This is absolutely correct! This company is a total scam. This Tina P. is copying and pasting the same responses. Just contact your bank and open a dispute. I've also contacted the FTC about this company, nothing they advertise is accurate. When I googled the address from the emails they provided, it's not a business, but a single family home in Nevada. Also, try complaining to the FTC. They crack down on companies like this.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • May 14, 2018

    Do NOT buy

    Whatever you do, do not order from this company. They waited to ship my product for almost a month. I could not speak to anyone as they do not have a phone number listed. Everyone I spoke to her via email clearly did not speak English and was using some form of a translator. I never received my product and this company refuses to issue me a refund.

    I am currently in communication with the lawyer to get my money back. Please, whatever you do, do not buy from them. I would not wish this treatment on even my worst enemy.

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-11 of 408

Write a Review for Focallure!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review