About Focallure

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Published on: Apr 7, 2017

Focallure is a a one-stop online shop for all of your beauty needs, offering premium products, including makeup, skin care, teeth whitening, and even a strapless push-up bra, all at not-so-premium prices.

Beyond quality and affordability, Focallure states that they stand out from other online cosmetics retailers by offering the following:

  • Cosmetics inspired by French trends. Focallure states that their makeup and skin care lines closely follow those you can find in France.
  • Selling only cruelty-free products. Focallure promises that their cosmetics haven’t been tested on animals.
  • Exceptional customer service. Focallure states that customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance and that their representatives are available 24/7 to answer questions or offer assistance.
  • Made and sold in the USA. Focallure states that their products are manufactured and shipped from the U.S., listing a company address in Las Vegas, Nevada.
  • Free shipping on all orders over $25. Focallure ships worldwide, and offers free shipping on any order over $25 both in the U.S. and internationally.

So, what kind of products does Focallure sell? The website lists four major categories of products: makeup, cleansing, teeth, and Lifting Bra-Lifty. Here’s an overview of each.

Focallure Cosmetics for Face, Lips, and Eyes

Makeup appears to be the website’s largest category consisting of exclusively Focallure-brand products. Within Focallure’s cosmetics menu, you can find subcategories listing makeup for the face, lips, eyes, and accessories.

1. Focallure Face Collection

Focallure sells three products in their face collection, each of which is available in three shades. They are a foundation stick, concealer, and face setting powder.

  • Focallure Foundation Setting Powder ($15): Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in three shades.
  • Focallure Face Contour Highlighter ($18): Claims to be non-greasy and non-creasing, as well as paraben and fragrance-free.
  • Focallure Complete Coverage Concealer ($13): Full-coverage formula that claims to be enriched with Matrixyl 3000, a compound that includes peptides to support the skin’s youthful appearance and elasticity.

2. Focallure Lipstick Collections

Focallure states that their lip colors are naturally waterproof and easy to use. There are two available formulas:

  • Focallure Matte Lipstick ($13): Chubby-pencil style lipstick that claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.
  • Focallure Matte Liquid Lipstick ($14): A liquid-to-matte formula that promises intense color and all-day wear. Also free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.

3. Focallure Eyes Collection

Focallure offers a wider range of eye makeup, including several shades of shadow palettes, eyeliners, brow filler, and false lashes:

  • Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palette ($18): Available in four tones, each palette contains 10 eyeshadows that range from matte, to shimmer, and sparkle.
  • Focallure Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil ($17): Promises to be 100% waterproof and smudge-proof, while sweat and tear-resistant.
  • Focallure Double-Take Brow Pencil ($16): Retractable brow pencil is available in three shades. Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates.
  • Focallure Long-Wear Gel Liner ($9): Long-wearing, gel-based liner is available in five unnamed shades. Some guesswork required to figure out which color you’re ordering.

4. Focallure Accessories

Focallure’s website lists a variety of cleansing and anti-aging products that appear to not be associated with the brand. These include a 5-in-1 Facial Cleansing Brush ($20.95), a Chinese-brand charcoal whitening toothpaste ($14.95), a blackhead and pimple remover ($5.99), along with many other products that all fall under the category of “beauty.”

What We Spotted When Shopping Focallure

At HighYa, we’ve reviewed the websites of hundreds of cosmetics products and brands, as well as an extensive collection articles that inform on related topics, like evaluating the difference between designer and knock-off cosmetics.

We also write about how to help you recognize potential sources for trouble when ordering online. In fact, it was just recently that we published How to Tell If an Online Store Is Legit: 11 Steps to Check Any Website—which is why several aspects of shopping Focallure stood out as possible yellow flags.

As we started our standard process of reviewing each cosmetics category, we couldn’t help but notice a that the written content describing categories had a higher than average frequency of grammatical errors.

For example, the description on the Focallure Face Collection page states:

Our mineral face collection contains natural ingredient makeup easy-to-use and defines, illuminate or enhance your requested features. Our collection has Foundation in 3 colors vary by your skin color, Highlighter and the famous Complete-Coverage® Concealer that also available in the variety of colors.“

Poor grammar alone isn’t a major red flag indicating a poor quality product. Though it’s worth noting as possibly raising questions as to whether or not Focallure was truly made and sold in the U.S. as they claim.

Moving on, as we read through Focallure’s individual product descriptions, we noticed that they sounded surprisingly similar to some of our favorite brands.

For example, here’s the description of Focallure Foundation Setting Powder from their website:

“With just five pure ingredients, Focallure Face Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

From Ulta, here’s the description of bareMinerals Matte Mineral Foundation:

“With just five pure ingredients, bareMinerals SPF 15 Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

Because the bareMinerals brand has been around for over 35 years, we’re pretty confident that they came up with this description first.

Evidence of Focallure appearing to copy cosmetics descriptions from better-known brands can be seen again and again through their website.

For example, Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palettes 1-4 all use the following description:

Loaded with 10 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Focallure could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.

This is a near verbatim use of the description for Urban Decay’s popular Naked Palette, as seen at Sephora:

Loaded with 12 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Urban Decay could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.”

To be clear, modeling your makeup after a better-known brand is the cornerstone of knockoff cosmetics. The appearance of lifting another company’s descriptions doesn’t necessarily mean that Focallure is selling poor quality products.

But it does bring their ethics into question—if Focallure did, indeed, copy the description of more popular makeup brands, can consumers trust their other promises that might be more important, such as a commitment to cruelty-free cosmetics, including sun protection, or being free of talc?

Again, just because a company appears to have copied descriptions doesn’t mean that you’ll receive a poor-quality product. But, it does bring into question the ingredients and methods used to create the product you’ll receive.

We Tried to Contact Focallure Customer Service

To give Focallure a fair chance at responding, we attempted to reach out to their customer service representatives.

Our first attempt was through their Contact page, where we found that there was only a form to request contact—and no phone number listed.

This is another potential yellow flag that we mention in our list of tips when trying to determine if a company is legit. In our experience, legitimate online retailers should list where their business is located, as well as a phone number an email to reach them.

In a final attempt to contact Focallure, we reached out to customer service through their Facebook page.

Per our interaction with the company, the representative who responded stated that no phone number was available. When pressed for any information that could confirm that they were based in the United States, the representative stopped responding. Follow-up questions regarding the product descriptions that appear to be copied were left unanswered.

Focallure Return and Refund Policy—Final or Not?

Prices for Focallure products vary with your purchase. But what if you’re unsatisfied?

To wrap up our research on Focallure, we headed to their Refund Policy page where things take a final confusing turn. At the top of the page, shoppers are told:

“All products are sold ‘as is.’ You assume the responsibility for your purchase, and no refunds will be issued. All sales are final.”

Next, customers are instructed to contact customer service if your product arrives damaged. Following is a list of products for which partial refunds are applicable, including books and CDs—of which we didn’t see any for sale on the website.

This is followed by additional info on potential refunds, and the statement that they only replace items if they are defective or damaged. If shoppers need to exchange it for the same item, to send an email at support@bestmakeupsponge.com.

Should You Order From Focallure?

Focallure certainly lists some attractive cosmetics products on their website. However, even if you look beyond the considerable number of yellow flags we noticed while exploring their products—particularly duplicate descriptions—you’re still faced with one important question:

Why order from a company that refuses to allow exchanges if you’re not satisfied?

The answer to that question is up to every consumer. However, considering that the prices listed on Focallure are within $1-$5 of the listed prices for brand name products available at your local Sephora, Ulta, or Target, we know where we’d feel more comfortable shopping.

Editor's Note: This Editorial Review was published on April 7, 2017 using publicly available information at the time of research located at www.shopfocallure.com. Information is subject to change on www.shopfocallure.com. Please visit main company website for latest details.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

420 Consumer Reviews for Focallure

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 133 4 star: 69 3 star: 19 2 star: 23 1 star:  176
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 420
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Total rip-off

    • Sweetwater, TX,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order two months ago, never received the product, and when I contacted the company, was told that the warehouse was behind. When I asked for a refund, I was told it was not possible. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Never, ever again!

    • Australia,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am still waiting for an order since the 16th of September and customer service have stopped responding to me since I brought up Federal Law, stating if your goods are not shipped within 30 days, the customer is entitled to a full refund. I will never, ever order from this site again and recommend everyone else do the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Customer,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number so that I can look into the matter. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Scam artists

    • Temecula, CA,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like everyone else, I’ve experienced the exact same thing. I have been waiting on my product since September 21st and nothing. I contacted customer support and they were useless saying since you didn’t cancel within 48 hours we can only issue a store credit. Hello idiots, if I’d known I wasn’t going to get my product within 48 hours, well then I would’ve canceled it! Any legit type of business wouldn’t handle things this way, so that lets you know they aren’t a legit business.

    Please don’t waste your time and money dealing with these con artists...you’ll regret it later. The Better Business Bureau needs to shut them down! There is no way in this world I’d recommend this company to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Customer,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number so that I can look into the matter. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT buy from this company!

    • Indiana,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order over six weeks ago, and it still hasn't shipped. The company has told me several times that it will ship in the next two days but it still has not, and they refuse to refund my money. Do not trust this store!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Customer,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number so that I can look into the matter. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Focallure customer service

    • Singapore,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Focallure Hair Removal Spray via their online store almost a month ago, and instead of receiving the item, I kept receiving emails saying is not in stock and will be there soon, etc. I wrote in two days ago asking them about it and that if there's no stock I'd like a refund, but the reply came back as their policy is that cancellation is within 48 hours and that I can only get another item in exchange instead.

    It's crap, and I think this store is a fraudulent online scam.

    Please beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Customer,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number so that I can look into the matter. Thanks.

    • Nov 5, 2018

      Muntaz W.

      Hi, Let's hope at least this is authentic and you will get back to me. (Order No. #1001280937) Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Product never delivered, merchant won't refund money, offers store credit

    • California,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made my purchase online on October 8th with my HARD EARNED money. I had given them the allotted 2-7 business days. By October 17th, I emailed them requesting a refund because the item was never delivered, and according to tracking, the item was never processed. After requesting a refund, I'm told I have to cancel an order within 48 hours of placing the order. Had I known my order would not be delivered, I would have canceled, but I gave the merchant time to ship the product that never came. The merchant tells me about their 48-hour policy, which is bogus because by the time you realize you've been ripped off, the 48 hours have expired. They only offer me a store credit, essentially forcing me to continue to shop with them and spend my money on their product. I refused because store credit was not used to buy the product, my HARD EARNED money was used. Therefore, it makes total sense for me to want a refund. The merchant has refused to refund and only gives store credit. The BBB has already been notified about their unethical practices. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Customer,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number so that I can look into the matter. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible delivery

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is terrible. I have contacted them four times to get my item delivered. They just keep saying they are backed up. It has been over a month and I still haven’t received my order. Customer service keeps telling me it is in processing and will be shipped ASAP. "Please give us a few more days." To top it off, they will charge your credit card before they ship your order. I have already paid my credit card and they will not refund it.

    This is the absolute worst online buying experience I have ever had. I would highly recommend not buying from them. One star is too high for them. It may be a SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 13, 2018

      M B.

      Agreed, this is why I use PayPal. I'm also having problems with this mob getting my money through PayPal.

    • Nov 4, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Customer,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number so that I can look into the matter. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My order never came and they are refusing to refund my money

    • Esperance, WA,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has been 4 weeks and my order has not been dispatched. I contacted them to request a refund, but they refuse. Now they say they will either ship or offer store credit as their policy only allows order cancellations within 48 hours. However, surely the onus is on them to waive that policy as they are at fault for the cancellation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Customer,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number so that I can look into the matter. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Stay away

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Over a month ago I had placed an order and still no product. Customer service offered store credit rather than a refund. Why would I want a credit to a company that is this poorly run?

    I would stay away from them at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Customer,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number so that I can look into the matter. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Do not buy from them - it's a scam!

    • New Zealand,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    One thing to say: DO NOT buy from Focallure! They are a scam!

    I wish I had read all these reviews prior to buying from Focallure. I purchased the "Finishing touch flawless brow," which is basically a pen-like equipment used to shape your eyebrow. I received my product, it was unopened and carefully sealed a few weeks later only to open and see that it had a missing component - the part that actually shapes the brow.

    After two weeks of going back and forth with their customer service team, it is very evident that this company was scamming people off of their money by providing incomplete or faulty products and then refusing to exchange or refund as their policies prevent it.

    This is my first time buying from them, and I will NEVER buy from them again.

    Keep your money - DO NOT buy from them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Customer,

      I am from customer happiness team. I see you have left a negative review about Focallure. Our company value is to put customer satisfaction as a top priority, and we are committed to our customers. I would be thankful if you can please share your order number so that I can look into the matter. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not give this company your money

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a SCAM. They took my money and never sent me anything. I am currently in the process of disputing with my credit card provider. They only respond by email and keep saying they are sending the product and never did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 1, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear customer,

      We are sorry for the delay. We're extremely sorry that you had to face such difficulties. We may not be able to change the past, but if you give us a chance we will completely make it up to you. Our customer happiness officer will contact you to know more about the issue you faced, and I can assure you that we will do our best to solve each and every issue.

    • Oct 9, 2018

      Pri V.

      This company is a SCAM! Do NOT buy from them. I wish I had seen this website before buying from them. I bought a Finishing Touch Flawless Brow which is an eyebrow shaper, pretty much like a pen in shape. I received the product but the main component, the eyebrow shaper part, was missing. I had sent photos immediately to request either a refund or exchange due to the faulty product and they insisted that I had all the components required for the product, which I clearly didn't.

      Anyway, two weeks on and I'm still battling for my money. Their customer service is TERRIBLE. They are NOT committed to providing quality products to customers and frankly, I genuinely think they are out to scam people by not providing a full product and taking people's money, and then insisting they can't give refunds as per their policies.

      Bottom line, do NOT buy from Focallure!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 420

Write a Review for Focallure!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review