Read 609 Freedom Debt Relief Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 472 4 star: 61 3 star: 27 2 star: 12 1 star:  37
Bottom Line: 91% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 609
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Freedom Debt Relief

    Calling Freedom Debit Relief was the best decision I have made. Every person I talked to was beyond kind and understood my situation.

    I signed up with them in August and by October all threatening phone calls stopped. By November, they already had two of my accounts in negotiations, and one was paid off in December. My credit score is on the rise!

    The website is very easy to understand, and they show you your progress. There is an option to pay extra to get your debt paid off quicker with no penalties.

    Amazing company, with amazing people that truly care.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 9, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Thank you for your phenomenal review! We strive to provide all of our clients with the best experience possible and it is great to hear this is reflected in your time with our company so far!

      Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A complete disaster from the beginning of the process to the very end.

    • Bel Air, Maryland,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with Freedom Debt Relief has been a complete nightmare. From the beginning of the process, they calculated my monthly payment incorrectly, and they then continued to contact me for additional funds to resolve the first account. That just continued.

    Then I was summons to court by the Discover credit company. Freedom Debt Relief gave me no help. I had to contact Discover's attorneys myself and resolve it, and Freedom still paid themselves for the resolution of that account.

    Then when I thought all my accounts were resolved, I noticed one small creditor was not resolved, so I have been calling Freedom Debt Relief for the past year and a half to please ESCALATE this account, so they said they did. I probably have talked to more representatives than any client ever. Many representatives told me to stop my monthly payments because of the surplus in my account.

    So I continued to call every month to check on the status of the last account and talked to managers and whoever they would promise to contact me they never did. So just this August my last account was settled. What a joke. All that time it gained so much interest. So they finally contacted me to give them more money. What a joke. They did not save me much and still took $375 for themselves for resolving the account. If I was not persistent about resolving my debt and contacting them monthly, the account would not have been touched and I would have a crap load of money in my account from monthly payments.

    After disputing this with them and I told them to check my account notes and the conversations they say they record, and that I have been diligent in trying to resolve this myself. Their response was they did not see anything about that in my account notes.

    Do yourself a favor and never do debt relief, and not with this company, and if the company says your conversation is being recorded, tell them you are recording them. I still have to pay the company $26 to be finished with them. I told them you can eat that $26 after all that I have been through. They said no and told me to have a good day. I am glad to be finished with this nightmare and would not wish this on anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Ms. Poulsen,

      We are sorry to hear about the negative experience you have had with Freedom Debt Relief. We would like the opportunity to speak with you and resolve the concerns you are having. Please let us know if you have a preferred time we may reach out to you, as well as a preferred method of contact.

      Thank you.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    What actually happens

    I became a client of Freedom Debt Relief when my only other option was to file bankruptcy. When the economy tanked, my job went from full time to two days a week. I continued to make my monthly payments by emptying my savings account while I looked for work. In the end, I reached out to Freedom Debt Relief.

    In the beginning, the lady on the phone was sympathetic. Like she understood everything that I was going through. Once I signed up, customer service changed. My agreement was for $152.00 each payday. When I went back to full time, I called to increase my payments. From what they tell you, that will help you resolve your debt faster.

    This went on for a year and a half. I never missed a payment or had any issues. After a decade of having the same bank account, I changed bank accounts. The ONLY company I forgot to advise was Freedom Debt Relief (that's because the program was seamless and you really don't think about it). When I missed the payment (after being with them for a year and a half), they didn't call and say, "Hey Ms. Anderson, is something wrong? You missed your payment." NO! I didn't realize that I missed a payment until I started getting emails from them to get back on track. After then, I realized that they quit making payments on my behalf, which in turn, canceled my settlement with the said company.

    IF they had called, I would have given them the new bank account number, and then things could have remained the same. Instead, they tell me that I'm in default and now I need to restructure my payments because I have to pay a different amount to the creditors. The best example of what happened is with American Express. I missed my payment to Freedom Debt Relief, and they did not pay American Express. The following month I was on track, and they tried to pay American Express, who rejected the payment because I defaulted on the agreement.

    This went on for over three months, meaning that American Express did not get paid for three months. I (not Freedom Debt Relief) reached out to American Express and explained what happened and even after not getting paid for three months, they honored the settlement agreement (the only thing Freedom Debt Relief did was offer to restructure my payments so they would have the money to pay American Express the full amount of the original debt).

    I got over that and stayed with the program. I shouldn't have! I am paying them $202.00 bi-weekly ($404.00 a month). I have two accounts left. One, a settlement was agreed on and I only owe them $4,080.00, and the other is for less than $1,300.00. But, they have me in the program for another 20 months. That is because they are only paying $204.00 every month for the company with the agreement. They will not be paid off for 20 months (1 year and 8 months). If they would apply more money to them, it would be paid off in 10 months.

    I asked Freedom Debt Relief to increase the payment to them (I just wanted all this behind me), Freedom Debt Relief wouldn't do that. I told them that I was considering pulling that company out of the program so I could make the payments myself. Freedom Debt Relief made that sound like the worse possible thing to do. They told me all the "worse case scenarios," although, that's not how they put it. They just said, "We'll send them a letter telling them that you are no longer in agreement with them which would void the agreement." Which means that I would have to try and negotiate with them or I would be sued for the full amount (after Freedom Debt Relief took their fees of $2,725.00 for that account), which means that it would have cost me more to pay them off.

    I FOUGHT with Freedom Debt Relief to get contact information (in the beginning of the program, you sign papers so that collectors only talk to Freedom Debt Relief and you are completely out of it). I was on the phone with them for over 30 minutes while they repeatedly and continually told me that they strongly advise against me reaching out to the collection agency.

    I finally got a phone number from them. It was the wrong number; they did not give me the number to the company they were sending payments to! However, I did find the collection agency with the account, and I was able to find contact information. I am happy to say that the account will be paid off in 8 months compared to the 20 months Freedom Debt Relief had me set up for. Of course, the collection agency just wants to get paid. When I offered them the entire $404.00 a month that I was paying Freedom Debt Relief, they were more than happy to take it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 10, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Ms. Anderson,

      We are sorry to hear about your frustrations and disappointment with our program. We would like to speak with you to resolve the concerns you are having. Please let us know the best time that someone can reach out to you, and if you prefer phone or email communication.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Slow progress

    I feel that it is taking too long to settle my accounts. I wish they had settled with Discover first. Discover is adding interest and late payments every month. I think they should have dealt with my accounts first and then continued taking my monthly payment to pay for their amount. I thought that is how it works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 20, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Ms. McGregor,

      Thank you for your honest feedback and we appreciate you expressing your concerns. Settlements are dependent on sufficient funds being available. If the funds in your dedicated account are already designated for a different creditor and settlement, we will have to wait until additional funds accumulate or are supplemented in order to obtain another settlement. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Happy with first settlement

    You were able to settle the QVC account for a fraction of what I owed them. Thanks for the great work. But for every action, there is a reaction. They closed my online account and told me I could not purchase from them anymore until they let me reopen a new account sometime later next year. Just one thing I have had that account for 20 plus years and I hate to have lost it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 7, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Mr. Sinclair,

      Thank you for your positive review and feedback! We understand the disappointment with losing the ability to use a card with a specific retailer but think of it as a positive, you don't have to worry about getting into debt on that card again. When you are able to open that line of credit again, you should be debt free and manage those funds will be much more reasonable than taking on that risk right now. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very unfortunate

    • St Louis, MO,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined Freedom Debt Relief about seven months ago. The sales pitch was excellent; I asked lots of questions and felt I understood the program and the credit score consequences, but felt the light at the end of the tunnel would be the pay off in a few years. I make my payments without a hitch.

    My first account, one of the larger ones, was settled within the first few months with a three-month payoff. I noticed fees were taken out and continued to be taken out even after the account payoff. The fees are based on the actual debt and not the settled debt, adding back on to the savings I think I am getting. Then, I am offered a "loan" that only a few select people get is what I am told. The interest rate was set at 25% and extended the term another year, also adding another $100 to what I was already paying. So, now they get 25% interest and 21% settlement fees, again with no guarantee of a timeline or settlement.

    I feel very mislead. I have lots of funds in my account, but no new settlement efforts, have a few small accounts that you would think they would get to first and quick. So, after 7 months, a 100-point drop in my credit score and only one account settled. They don't even do any type of outreach to the creditors to notify them. I gave the notice to withdraw, which took me 5 separate phone calls, and I expect they will keep some of my monies for their fees and expect the withdrawals to stop as promised. We'll see.

    It is unfortunate that they prey on folks who are wanting to get upright again, put trust in these companies to help, but to only find we are paying just as much to them. I agree with others - I could have done this on my own.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 25, 2018

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Teresa,

      We're very sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the program so far. We would like to review your account with you and hopefully resolve the concerns you are having. A member of our team will reach out to the email address associated with your review for further assistance.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Liars and thieves

    • Florida,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Upon enrolling with FDR, they were unable to broker deals for 3 accounts. They separated them and mislead us with the payments. Upon their request, we deposited $2,300,00 to begin negotiations for the 2nd account. They couldn’t secure a deal and we ended up being sued and going to court. When we advised to the judge we were in FDR, he just shook his head. He advised us to contact the credit card company and work with them without FDR. The $2300.00 was more than enough to pay off the one credit card they brokered a deal on. The leftover balance was $1900.00. At this point, they stole $1600.00 as a tip for what they’ve done for us. Being we paid that much to them the total savings on the one account was only like $300.00.

    Their customer service is one of the worst I’ve ever had experiences with. Everybody says they’ll call you back, but they never do. When they give you a name and say ask for me the next time you call. That person, of course, is never available. Please, whatever you do, stay away from these people.

    Stay away from FDR because they are shysters, thieves, and liars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 10, 2019

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Hello Danny,

      We’re so sorry to hear you have had a negative experience with Freedom Debt Relief. Could you please send us your contact information in a private message so we can look into this further and have someone contact you?


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Reliable

    Freedom Debt Relief is an excellent company that's reliable. I'm not having to worry about my creditors not being paid.

    They are a friendly and trustworthy company. At a rating from one to ten, I would give them a ten.

    So far my experience with this company has been pretty good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 8, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We are very happy to hear you are happy with your experience and look forward to assisting you with any questions, comments or concerns you may have.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Happy to be debt free

    • Warminster, PA,
    • Nov 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a call one night and was so pleased with the information I received that I signed up. I have been a member since February and have increased my monthly payment to see results happening. Everyone I speak to is courteous and helpful. Thank you Freedom Debt Relief.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 8, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      We appreciate the feedback and look forward to resolving the remainder of your debt. Please feel free to contact us at 800-655-6303 if you have any questions, comments and concerns and we would be happy to assist.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Extremely helpful

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Mar 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was hesitant at first in using Freedom Debt Relief, as with any and all debt relief programs, but they have been great, from the customer service to the ease of the website. I am hopeful of the future of my finances finally, and getting a hold of them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Dear Mr. DeLaRosa,

      Thank you for your phenomenal review of Freedom Debt Relief! We are pleased to hear about your experience with our program thus far, including use of your personalized client dashboard and interactions with our Client Services department. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com should you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Debt relief

    I think this is a good program. The people are helpful and have very good customer relations. It was easy to start; they walked you through it step by step.

    I would recommend it to anyone who would like to get out of debt.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 23, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Debt Relief

      Thank you for your outstanding review! Our client services department strives to provide world-class customer service to each and every client. We look forward to also working with you on resolving any remaining enrolled debt. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com, if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!


Showing 23-33 of 609

Write a Review for Freedom Debt Relief!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review